DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDS have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any particular reference in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
Claim Objections
Following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 lines 1-2 “a sleep state-time based schedule based on a length of time that has elapsed” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is –[[a]] the sleep state-time based schedule based on [[a]] length of time that has elapsed– in light of its respective antecedent in claim 14 lines 6-7 “track the sleep session through a sleep state-time based schedule based on a length of time that has elapsed”.
Claim 2 “engage one or more devices according to the automation instructions such that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is – engage one or more devices according to the automation instructions [[such]] in a manner that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session—to avoid intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “such that” is even required or not required.
Claim 3 “wherein engaging the one or more devices according to the automation instructions include engaging a pump to increase pressure to the at least one air chamber of the mattress such that a firmness of the mattress is increased” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is – wherein engaging the one or more devices according to the automation instructions include engaging a pump to increase pressure to the at least one air chamber of the mattress [[such]] in a manner that a firmness of the mattress is increased—to avoid intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “such that” is even required or not required.
Claim 4 “wherein engaging the one or more devices according to the automation instructions includes engaging the pump to decrease pressure to the at least one air chamber of the mattress such that the firmness of the mattress is decreased” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is – wherein engaging the one or more devices according to the automation instructions includes engaging the pump to decrease pressure to the at least one air chamber of the mattress [[such]] in a manner that the firmness of the mattress is decreased—to avoid intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “such that” is even required or not required.
Claim 19 lines 21-22 “engage one or more devices according to the automation instructions such that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is -- engage one or more devices according to the automation instructions [[such]] in a manner that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session-- to avoid intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “such that” is even required or not required.
Claim 20 lines 22-23 “engage one or more devices according to the automation instructions such that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is –engage one or more devices according to the automation instructions [[such]] in a manner that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session—to avoid intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “such that” is even required or not required
Each of claim 1 line 4, claim 19 line 4 and claim 20 line 4 “sense at least one physical phenomenon through a sleep session” needs to be clarified/corrected. A suggested correction is --sense at least one physical phenomenon of the sleeper through a sleep session--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15 in line 1 recites “the sleep state-time based schedule”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 in lines 10-13 recites “optional algorithms” which renders this claim unclear. The use of the word “optional” in the claim language renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase “optional” are part of the claimed invention and conditions under which a listed enumerated algorithm among the plurality becomes optional.
Claim 9 in lines 1-2 recites “a sleep-state schedule” which renders this claim unclear. More specifically, it is unclear as to whether claim 9 lines 1-2 “a sleep-state schedule” is the same as, different than or in addition to that recited in claim 7 line 5 “a sleep-state schedule” and if different in what way the two differ.
Claim 16 in lines 8-9 recites “a second phase” which renders this claim unclear. More specifically, it is unclear as to whether claim 16 lines 8-9 “a second phase” is the same as, different than or in addition to that recited in claim 16 line 7 and if different in what way the two differ.
Dependent claims 2-18 when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because the additional recited limitations fail to cure the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue in their respective base claims. Consequently, dependent claims 2-18 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) based on their direct/indirect dependency on their respective base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsern et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190336720 A1, hereinafter referred to as "Tsern") in view of Demirli et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190200777 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Demirli”).
As per independent Claim 1, Tsern discloses a system (Tsern in at least abstract, [0004-0011], fig. 1-7, [0016-0070] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Tsern in fig. 1-2, abstract, [0020-0021] discloses a system) comprising:
a bed having a mattress configured to support a sleeper in a sleep environment (Tsern in at least fig. 1, [0020] for example discloses a bed 111 having a mattress 113 configured to support a sleeper (see fig. 2) in a sleep environment);
a sensor system (Tsern in at least fig. 1, para. [0022-0024] discloses sensor system 115, 117, 118) configured to:
sense at least one physical phenomenon through a sleep session (Tsern in at least [0010], [0022-0024] for example discloses sense at least one physical phenomenon through a sleep session. See at least Tsern [0022] “controller may do so using information from sensors… temperature sensors 115a,b, pressure sensors 117, … biometric sensors 118”; [0023] “temperature sensors may be positioned in or adjacent the sleep surface, and provide an indication of a temperature of the sleep surface… temperature sensors are worn by the sleeper, provide an indication of a temperature of the sleeper's body”; [0024] “biometric sensors may be located in or under the sleep surface, and may provide an indication of heart rate, breathing information, or other biometric information regarding the user on the sleep surface”);
transmit sensor data to a controller based on the sensed physical phenomenon through the sleep session (Tsern in at least fig. 1, [0010], [0022-0024] for example discloses transmit sensor data to a controller 119, based on the sensed physical phenomenon through the sleep session. See at least Tsern [0010] “biometric sensors configured to provide biometric information regarding the sleeper, and the controller is further configured to determine the sleep stage of the sleeper based on the biometric information”; [0022] “components for conditioning the sleep environment are generally commanded to do so by a controller 119. In generating commands controller may do so using information from sensors, for example temperature sensors 115a,b, pressure sensors 117, and, in some embodiments, biometric sensors 118.”; [0024] “controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors”); and
the controller, wherein the controller comprises at least one processor (Tsern in at least [0022], [0024] for example discloses controller 119 comprises at least one processor. See at least Tsern [0022] “controller comprises one or more processors…controller is coupled to a network by way of wired or wireless communication circuitry… controller may be coupled (for example by a network 130 which may include the Internet) to a remote server 131”; [0024] “controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors”), the controller configured to:
receive, through the sleep session, the sensor data (Tsern in at least fig. 4-7, [0010], [0022-0024] for example discloses receive, through the sleep session, the sensor data. [0024] “controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors”);
select, from a plurality of optional algorithms (Tsern in at least fig. 4-7, [0016-0019], [0039], [0052], [0056], [0059], [0063]), a selected algorithm based on at least one of the sensor data, user input, and checking a clock (Tsern [0022] “components for conditioning the sleep environment are generally commanded to do so by a controller 119. In generating commands, the controller may do so using information from sensors, for example temperature sensors 115a,b, pressure sensors 117, and, in some embodiments, biometric sensors 118. The controller also may make use of additional information, for example time-of-day information (for example maintained by the controller), information provided by users by way of user devices, and historical usage and/or sensor information maintained by the controller.” ),
wherein the optional algorithms include (i) a state-based algorithm and (ii) a schedule-based algorithm (Tsern in at least fig. 4-7, [0024], [0026], [0028], [0030], [0032], [0044], [0048-0049], [0056] for example discloses selecting from optional algorithms which include (i) a state-based algorithm and (ii) a schedule-based algorithm. See at least Tsern [0024] “controller uses the information from the biometric sensors to determine a sleep stage of the user…sleep stage of the user may be considered to four stages of non-REM sleep…and one stage of REM sleep… controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors.”; [0028] “controller may command the pressure adjustment component to vary surface pressures over time while the sleeper is in the bed prior to falling asleep.”; [0030] “controller commands the pressure adjustment component to change pressures at differing rates based on a sleep stage of the sleeper”; [0032] “controller commands performance of the wake-up pattern based on a target wake-up time… set by the sleeper…based on a total sleep time or other sleep metric determined by the controller; [0044] “process commands the pressure adjustment component to provide pressures of sleep pressure profiles for at least a portion of the sleep surface, with different ones of the sleep pressure profiles selected for use at any given time.”; [0056] “selected sleep pressure profile utilized by the process is selected from one of a plurality of sleep pressure profiles for the sleeper…selection of the sleep pressure profile is based on sleeper position and/or sleep stage of the sleeper.”);
update, through the sleep session, using the selected algorithm, a current sleep state of the sleeper (Tsern in at least fig. 4-7, [0022], [0024], [0030], [0046], [0053], [0060] for example discloses update, through the sleep session, using the selected algorithm, a current sleep state of the sleeper. See at least Tsern [0030] “…as the sleeper changes sleep position or sleep stage, the controller may command the pressure adjustment component to change pressures in accordance with a sleep profile for the new sleep position or sleep stage”; [0046] “controller monitors sleep performance or disruptions and/or movement using information from the biometric sensors and may modulate or change this pressure profile characteristics… based on the monitoring outcome(s)” );
track the sleep session based on the update of the current sleep state of the sleeper through the sleep session (Tsern in at least fig. 4-7, [0022] [0024], [0030], [0046], [0053], [0060] for example discloses track the sleep session based on the update of the current sleep state of the sleeper through the sleep session. see Tsern [0046] “controller monitors sleep performance or disruptions and/or movement using information from the biometric sensors and may modulate or change this pressure profile characteristics… based on the monitoring outcome(s)”; [0053] “process determines if a pressure profile change event has occurred…the process in addition … determines that the pressure profile change event has occurred upon a sleeper in the bed changing a sleep stage… sleep stages include a light sleep stage, a deep sleep stage, and a REM sleep stage”);
update, through the sleep session, using the tracking of the sleep session, a target environmental-parameter (Tsern in at least fig.1, 4-7, [0022], [0024], [0030], [0046], [0053], [0060] for example discloses update, through the sleep session, using the tracking of the sleep session, a target environmental-parameter such as audio, firmness of sleep surface. see Tsern [0022] “controller may also command play of audio, either by way of commands to an external audio device… speakers external to the bed”; [0030] “controller commands the pressure adjustment component to change pressures at differing rates based on a sleep stage of the sleeper”; [0046] “controller monitors sleep performance or disruptions and/or movement using information from the biometric sensors and may modulate or change this pressure profile characteristics… based on the monitoring outcome(s)”; [0060] “the rate of change is determined based on a sleep stage of the sleeper”); and
send, through the sleep session, automation instructions to an environmental controller based on the update of the target environmental-parameter (Tsern in at least fig. 1, 4-7, [0022], [0024], [0055], [0030], [0039], [0055] for example discloses send, through the sleep session, automation instructions to an environmental controller in remote server 131 and/or external audio device based on the update of the target environmental-parameter. See at least Tsern [0022] “controller may be coupled (for example by a network 130 which may include the Internet) to a remote server 131, …may perform various of the functions ascribed to the controller…controller may also command play of audio, either by way of commands to an external audio device, provision of wireless audio signals to speakers external to the bed”; [0030] “controller commands the pressure adjustment component to change pressures at differing rates based on a sleep stage of the sleeper…as the sleeper changes sleep position or sleep stage, the controller may command the pressure adjustment component to change pressures in accordance with a sleep profile for the new sleep position or sleep stage”; [0039] “a process for controlling firmness of a sleep surface of a bed … performed …by a controller of a bed with a pressure adjustment component… performed on a remote server coupled to the controller over a network”; [0055] “the process determines target pressures based on a selected sleep pressure profile for the sleeper”).
Tsern implicitly discloses the well-known feature of controller comprising memory but does not explicitly disclose controller comprises memory.
However, in an analogous sleep systems field of endeavor, Demirli explicitly discloses a system (Demirli in at least abstract, fig. 1-11, 17-19, abstract, [0035-0102], 0165], [0173-0174] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Demirli in at least fig. 1-3, [0035], [0038], [0058] for example discloses a system. See at least Demirli [0038] “air bed system”) comprising:
a bed having a mattress configured to support a sleeper in a sleep environment (Demirli, fig. 3); and
controller, wherein the controller comprises at least one processor and memory (Demirli, fig. 1-2, fig. 10, fig. 17, [0038] for example discloses controller 124 comprises at least one processor 136 and memory 137).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the controller of the system as taught by Tsern, a memory, as explicitly taught by Demirli. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the advantage of the including well-known feature such as a memory as memory facilitates storing data and software instructions on the memory for quick access and execution by the processor as would be occur when collecting data from a wide variety of sources such as sensors for use by algorithms to generate one or more actions to be taken by the system to enhance sleep quality (Demirli, [0165], [0173-0174]).
As per dependent Claim 2, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system further comprising the environmental controller configured to: receive the automation instructions from the controller; and engage one or more devices according to the automation instructions such that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session (Tsern in [0022], [0028-0029], [0030], [0039] for example discloses environmental controller in remote server 131 and/or external audio device configured to: receive the automation instructions from the controller 119; and engage one or more devices such as an audio device and/or sleep surface according to the automation instructions such that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session. see Tsern [0022] “controller is coupled to a network by way of wired or wireless communication circuitry… controller may be coupled (for example by a network 130 which may include the Internet) to a remote server 131, which in some embodiments may perform various of the functions ascribed to the controller herein… controller may also command play of audio, either by way of commands to an external audio device, provision of wireless audio signals to speakers external to the bed”; [0029] “controller commands the pressure adjustment component to provide a sleep pressure profile for the sleep surface upon or after the sleeper falling asleep… the sleep pressure profiles may also specify audio associated with the sleep pressure profiles for use by the controller in commanding play of audio”).
As per dependent Claim 3, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein the mattress includes at least one air chamber (Tsern in [0024-0025] for example discloses the mattress includes at least one air chamber/bladder. See Tsern [0024] “pressure sensors may be located in the controller and connected via air tubes to air chambers, for example in the form of bladders, underneath the sleep surface to measure the pressure in the air chambers”; [0025] “pressure adjustment component comprises an array of controllable bladders … under the sleep surface of the bed. In some embodiments each of the controllable bladders or coils is individually adjustable, so as to provide a different level of firmness to the surface of the bed.”), wherein engaging the one or more devices according to the automation instructions include engaging a pump to increase pressure to the at least one air chamber of the mattress such that a firmness of the mattress is increased (Tsern in at least [0025], [0033], [0050] for example disclose engaging the one or more devices according to the automation instructions to increase pressure to the at least one air chamber of the mattress such that a firmness of the mattress is increased while Demirli in at least fig. 1-2, 4-5, [0036-0040] discloses engaging a pump to increase pressure to the at least one air chamber of the mattress such that a firmness of the mattress is increased. Tsern [0025] “pressure adjustment component comprises an array of controllable bladders … under the sleep surface of the bed….each of the controllable bladders … is individually adjustable, so as to provide a different level of firmness to the surface of the bed.”; [0033] “controller may command the pressure adjustment component to change pressures so as to increase firmness of the sleep surface”; [0050] “… operations include the pressure adjustment component providing increased firmness to the sleep surface…the pressure adjustment component providing increased pressure”).
As per dependent Claim 4, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein engaging the one or more devices according to the automation instructions includes engaging the pump to decrease pressure to the at least one air chamber of the mattress such that the firmness of the mattress is decreased (Tsern in [0025], [0032] for example discloses decreasing pressure to the at least one air chamber of the mattress such that the firmness of the mattress is decreased while Demirli in at least fig. 1-2, 4-5, [0036-0040] discloses engaging the pump to decrease pressure to the at least one air chamber of the mattress such that the firmness of the mattress is decreased. See at least [0025] “pressure adjustment component comprises an array of controllable bladders … under the sleep surface of the bed….each of the controllable bladders … is individually adjustable, so as to provide a different level of firmness to the surface of the bed.”; [0032] “varying pressures are provided in a wave-like form, for example increasing, for a short period of time, pressures starting at a head of a bed and proceeding to a foot of the bed, or vice-versa.”).
As per dependent Claim 5, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein the target environmental-parameter is a firmness of the mattress (Tsern in at least [0039] for example discloses target environmental-parameter is a firmness of the mattress. see at least Tsern [0039] “a process for controlling firmness of a sleep surface of a bed … performed …by a controller of a bed with a pressure adjustment component… performed on a remote server coupled to the controller over a network”;).
As per dependent Claim 6, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein the at least one physical phenomenon includes a heartrate, a respiration rate, a breathing rate, snoring, bodily movement of the sleeper, a determination that the sleeper has fallen asleep, a duration of time that has passed since sleep onset, a pressure change in the mattress, a temperature of the sleeper, and a temperature of a top surface of the mattress (Tsern in at least [0023-0024] for example discloses one physical phenomenon includes a heartrate, a respiration rate, a breathing rate, snoring, bodily movement of the sleeper, a determination that the sleeper has fallen asleep, a duration of time that has passed since sleep onset, a pressure change in the mattress, a temperature of the sleeper, and a temperature of a top surface of the mattress. See at least Tsern [0023] “temperature sensors may be positioned in or adjacent the sleep surface, and provide an indication of a temperature of the sleep surface. In some embodiments, the temperature sensors are worn by the sleeper, provide an indication of a temperature of the sleeper's body or portion of body where the sensor is worn”; [0024] “biometric sensors may be located in or under the sleep surface, and may provide an indication of heart rate, breathing information, or other biometric information regarding the user on the sleep surface”).
As per dependent Claim 7, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein the selected algorithm is the state-based algorithm (Tsern in at least fig. 6, [0023-0024]. See at least [0024] “controller uses the information from the biometric sensors to determine a sleep stage of the user…sleep stage of the user may be considered to four stages of non-REM sleep…and one stage of REM sleep”), wherein the controller is configured to: update, through the sleep session, using the sensor data, the current sleep state of the sleeper (Tsern in at least fig. 4, 6, [0024] for example discloses update, through the sleep session, using the sensor data, the current sleep state of the sleeper. See at least Tsern [0024] “controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors.”); and
track the sleep session through a sleep-state schedule based on the update of the current sleep state of the sleeper through the sleep session (Tsern in at least fig. 4, 6, [0024], [0030], [0035-0038] for example discloses track the sleep session through a sleep-state schedule based on the update of the current sleep state of the sleeper through the sleep session. See at least Tsern [0024] “controller uses the information from the biometric sensors to determine a sleep stage of the user… sleep stage of the user may be considered to four stages of non-REM sleep—stages N1, N2, N3, N4, with stages N3 and N4 considered deep non-REM sleep or “slow-wave” sleep, —and one stage of REM sleep…a user may be considered to typically undergo four full sleep cycles in a single night's sleep, with the first two sleep cycles being non-REM dominant and the last two sleep cycles being REM dominant…sleep stage of the user may be determined using information from the biometric sensors… controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors.”).
As per dependent Claim 8, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein the sleep-state schedule is defined using successive phases, each phase specifying i) one or more values for the current sleep state; and ii) one or more values for the target environmental-parameter (Tsern in fig. 4, [0024], [0053], fig. 6, [0059] for example discloses the sleep-state schedule is defined using successive phases, each phase specifying i) one or more values for the current sleep state; and ii) one or more values for the target environmental-parameter/sleep surface firmness/pressure. See Tsern [0059] “sleep positions and sleep stages provide an index for selection of a sleep pressure profile… sleep pressure profiles S.sub.1, S.sub.2, S.sub.3, S.sub.4, S.sub.5 are selected if the sleep stage of the sleeper is N1, N2, N3, N4, REM, respectively, and so on for each of the listed sleep positions and sleep stages. Each of the sleep pressure profiles specify target pressure(s) for pressure devices under a sleep surface.”).
As per dependent Claim 9, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein tracking the sleep session through a sleep-state schedule based on the update of the current sleep state of the sleeper through the sleep session comprises: maintaining identification of the current sleep state as a first phase of the successive phases (Tsern in at least fig. [0024], [0030], [0035-0038], [0053], [0058] for example discloses maintaining identification of the current sleep state as a first phase of the successive phases for example non-REM sleep. See at least Tsern [0053] “change event has occurred upon a sleeper in the bed changing a sleep stage… sleep stages include a light sleep stage, a deep sleep stage, and a REM sleep stage…. sleep stages include N1, N2, N3, N4, and REM sleep stages… sleep stages include N1, N2, slow wave sleep and REM sleep stages”; [0058] “sleep stages for the sleeper… sleep stages include N1, N2, N3, N4, and REM sleep stages… some of the sleep stages may be consolidated…other variations of sleep stages may be used.”); determining that the current sleep state matches the one or more values for the current sleep state specified by a second phase (Tsern in at least fig. [0024], [0030], [0035-0038], [0053] for example discloses determining that the current sleep state matches the one or more values for the current sleep state specified by a second phase such as REM sleep based on biometric sensors; [0053] “process … determines that the pressure profile change event has occurred upon a sleeper in the bed changing a sleep stage… sleep stages include a light sleep stage, a deep sleep stage, and a REM sleep stage…. sleep stages include N1, N2, N3, N4, and REM sleep stages… sleep stages include N1, N2, slow wave sleep and REM sleep stages”); and updating the identification of the current sleep state to a second phase that is successive to the first phase in the successive phases (Tsern in at least fig. 4, fig. 6, [0024], [0030], [0035-0038], [0053], [0058] for example discloses updating the identification of the current sleep state to a second phase that is successive to the first phase in the successive phases. See at least Tsern [0024] “controller uses the information from the biometric sensors to determine a sleep stage of the user… sleep stage of the user may be considered to four stages of non-REM sleep—stages N1, N2, N3, N4, with stages N3 and N4 considered deep non-REM sleep or “slow-wave” sleep, —and one stage of REM sleep…a user may be considered to typically undergo four full sleep cycles in a single night's sleep, with the first two sleep cycles being non-REM dominant and the last two sleep cycles being REM dominant. The first two sleep cycles typically include stage N1, N2, N3, N4 and REM, and the last two sleep cycles typically only include stages N1, N2, and REM. …sleep stage of the user may be determined using information from the biometric sensors… controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors.”; [0053] “process … determines that the pressure profile change event has occurred upon a sleeper in the bed changing a sleep stage”).
As per dependent Claim 10, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein the successive phases comprise i) an initial sleep phase, ii) a middle sleep phase, and iii) a near-wakeup phase (Tsern in at least fig. 4, fig. 6, [0024] for example discloses the successive phases comprise i) an initial sleep phase, ii) a middle sleep phase, and iii) a near-wakeup phase. [0024] “the sleep stage of the user may be considered to four stages of non-REM sleep—stages N1, N2, N3, N4, with stages N3 and N4 considered deep non-REM sleep or “slow-wave” sleep, —and one stage of REM sleep”).
As per dependent Claim 11, the disclosure of combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further makes obvious system wherein the initial sleep phase is at least thirty minutes after the sleeper has entered the bed (Tsern disclosure in at least fig. 4, fig. 6 [0026], [0065] makes obvious and encompasses the recited subject-matter of initial sleep phase being at least thirty minutes after the sleeper has entered the bed. See at least Tsern [0026] “ controller commands the pressure adjustment component to provide a pre-sleep pressure profile for the sleep surface for use by the sleeper upon the sleeper first entering the bed”; [0065] “the process may monitor a time taken to fall asleep once a sleeper enters the bed”).
As per dependent Claim 12, the disclosure of combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further makes obvious system wherein the near-wakeup phase is between thirty and forty minutes before an alarm set by the sleeper (Tsern in fig. 4, fig. 6, [0032] “controller may command the pressure adjustment component to change pressures to provide a wake-up pattern of varying pressures about a time the sleeper is expected to awaken… controller commands performance of the wake-up pattern based on a target wake-up time… set by the sleeper.”).
As per dependent Claim 13, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein: the initial sleep phase specifies i) an NREM sleep state for less than a threshold time period; and ii) a user-specified pressure setting (ta in at least fig. 4, fig. 6, [0022], [0024], [0059]. See at least [0022] “controller also may make use of … information provided by users by way of user devices”);
the middle sleep phase specifies i) an NREM sleep state for greater than the threshold time period; and ii) an increased pressure setting that is greater than the user-specified pressure setting (ta in at least fig. 4, fig. 6, [0024-0025], [0033], [0050]. See at least [0033] “controller may command the pressure adjustment component to change pressures so as to increase firmness of the sleep surface”; [0050] “… operations include the pressure adjustment component providing increased firmness to the sleep surface…the pressure adjustment component providing increased pressure”); and
the near-wakeup sleep phase specifies i) an REM sleep less than a threshold period of time near a scheduled wake-up time; and ii) the user-specified pressure setting (ta in at least fig. 4, fig. 6, [0024], [0049], [0059]. See [0049] “wake-up operations include the pressure adjustment component providing time-varying pressures across the sleep surface… the one or more patterns of pressure are selectable by a sleeper.”).
As per dependent Claim 14, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein the selected algorithm is the schedule-based algorithm (Tsern in at least [0006], fig. 4, [0032-0033], [0048-0050]. See at least Tsern [0032] “controller may command the pressure adjustment component to change pressures to provide a wake-up pattern of varying pressures about a time the sleeper is expected to awaken… controller commands performance of the wake-up pattern based on a target wake-up time… set by the sleeper…based on a total sleep time or other sleep metric determined by the controller”; [0006] “sleep metric for the sleeper comprises a total sleep time… total sleep time is a period of time from a time the sleeper fell asleep to a time the sleeper awoke”), wherein the controller is configured to:
update, through the sleep session, using the sensor data, a current sleeping determination for the sleeper, the sleeping determination having possible values of awake and asleep (Tsern at least [0006], fig. 4, [0033], [0048], [0050] for example discloses updating, through the sleep session, using the sensor data, a current sleeping determination for the sleeper, the sleeping determination having possible values of awake and asleep. See at least Tsern [0033] “controller may command the pressure adjustment component to change pressures so as to increase firmness of the sleep surface after the sleeper awakens … controller may command the pressure adjustment component to increase a rate of variation of pressures after the target wake-up time if the sleeper has not awoken”; [0050] “process commands the pressure adjustment component to perform arise operations upon determining that the sleeper is awake”); and
track the sleep session through a sleep state-time based schedule based on a length of time that has elapsed since the current sleep determination was updated to asleep (Tsern in at least [0006], fig. 4, [0032-0033], [0048-0050] for example discloses track the sleep session through a sleep state-time based schedule based on a length of time that has elapsed since the current sleep determination was updated to asleep. See at least Tsern [0032] “controller commands performance of the wake-up pattern based on a target wake-up time… set by the sleeper…based on a total sleep time or other sleep metric determined by the controller”; [0048] “process commands the pressure adjustment component to perform wake-up operations at a time based on a target wake up time for the sleeper… target wake-up time is a time selected by the sleeper… determined by the controller based on information of a calendar for the sleeper, for example as provided by a smartphone or other compute device of the sleeper”; [0049] “one or more patterns may increase in amplitude and/or frequency as the target wake-up time approaches, and/or after the target wake-up time has been reached”).
As per dependent Claim 15, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein the sleep state-time based schedule is defined using successive phases, each phase specifying i) one or more values for the current sleep determination; and ii) one or more values for the target environmental-parameter (Tsern in at least fig. 4, [0039-0050] for example disclose the sleep state-time based schedule is defined using successive phases, each phase specifying i) one or more values for the current sleep determination such as pre-sleep, in sleep, wake-up; and ii) one or more values for the target environmental-parameter such as pre-sleep pressure operations, in sleep pressure operations and wake up pressure operations. ).
As per dependent Claim 16, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein tracking the sleep session through a sleep state-time based schedule based on a length of time that has elapsed since the current sleep determination was updated to asleep comprises: maintaining identification of the current sleep determination as a first phase of the successive phases (Tsern in at least fig. 4, [0041] for example discloses maintaining identification of the current sleep determination as a first phase such as pre-sleep phase of the successive phases. See at least Tsern [0041] “process commands the pressure adjustment component to provide pressures of the pre-sleep pressure profile(s) in response to receiving an indication that the sleepers, or at least one of them in some embodiments, have gotten into the bed.”); determining that the current sleep determination matches the one or more values for the current sleep determination specified by a second phase (Tsern in at least fig. 4, [0044] for example discloses determining that the current sleep determination matches the one or more values for the current sleep determination specified by a second phase such as In Sleep phase. See at least Tsern [0044] “the use of the sleep pressure profiles… may be done upon the sleeper falling asleep …sleep pressure profiles may be used in response to an indication from the biometric sensors that the sleeper has fallen asleep.”); and updating the identification of the current sleep determination to a second phase that is successive to the first phase in the successive phases(Tsern in at least fig. 4, [0044-0046] for example discloses updating the identification of the current sleep determination to a second phase that is successive to the first phase in the successive phases. See at least Tsern [0046] “process commands the pressure adjustment component to provide pressures of different ones of the sleep pressure profiles as the sleeper changes sleep position or the sleeper changes sleep stage… process commands the pressure adjustment component to provide pressures of a pressure profile(s) that varies over time in response to receiving an indication from biometric sensors that the sleeper… is asleep…controller monitors sleep performance or disruptions and/or movement using information from the biometric sensors and may modulate or change this pressure profile characteristics… based on the monitoring outcome(s”)).
As per dependent Claim 17, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein the controller is at least one of a home automation device, a mobile device, and a remote server that is in data communication with the sensor system and the environmental controller (Tsern in fig. 1, [0022], [0048] for example discloses the controller is at least one of a home automation device, a mobile device, and a remote server 131 that is in data communication with the sensor system and the environmental controller. Also, see Demirli in fig. 3, 17-18, [0064-0068]).
As per dependent Claim 18, the combination of Tsern and Demirli as a whole further discloses system wherein the controller includes the environmental controller (Tsern in at least for example discloses the controller includes the environmental controller functionality. Demirli in at least fig. 3, 10, 17-18 ref. numbers 1008-1004, “controller array”. see at least Tsern [0022] “controller may also command play of audio, either by way of commands to … audio signals to speakers (not shown) of the bed. The speakers of the bed may be (not shown) within or inset in a frame of the bed or of a portion of the bed”).
As per independent Claim 19, Tsern discloses a system (Tsern in at least abstract, [0004-0011], fig. 1-7, [0016-0070] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Tsern in fig. 1-2, abstract, [0020-0021] discloses a system ) comprising:
a bed having a mattress configured to support a sleeper in a sleep environment (Tsern in at least fig. 1, [0020] for example discloses a bed 111 having a mattress 113 configured to support a sleeper (see fig. 2) in a sleep environment);
a sensor system (Tsern in at least fig. 1, para. [0022-0024] discloses sensor system 115, 117, 118) configured to:
sense at least one physical phenomenon through a sleep session(Tsern in at least [0010], [0022-0024] for example discloses sense at least one physical phenomenon through a sleep session. See at least Tsern [0022] “controller may do so using information from sensors… temperature sensors 115a,b, pressure sensors 117, … biometric sensors 118”; [0023] “temperature sensors may be positioned in or adjacent the sleep surface, and provide an indication of a temperature of the sleep surface… temperature sensors are worn by the sleeper, provide an indication of a temperature of the sleeper's body”; [0024] “biometric sensors may be located in or under the sleep surface, and may provide an indication of heart rate, breathing information, or other biometric information regarding the user on the sleep surface”);
transmit sensor data to a controller based on the sensed physical phenomenon through the sleep session (Tsern in at least fig. 1, [0010], [0022-0024] for example discloses transmit sensor data to a controller 119, based on the sensed physical phenomenon through the sleep session. See at least Tsern [0010] “biometric sensors configured to provide biometric information regarding the sleeper, and the controller is further configured to determine the sleep stage of the sleeper based on the biometric information”; [0022] “components for conditioning the sleep environment are generally commanded to do so by a controller 119. In generating commands controller may do so using information from sensors, for example temperature sensors 115a,b, pressure sensors 117, and, in some embodiments, biometric sensors 118.”; [0024] “controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors”);
the controller, wherein the controller comprises at least one processor (Tsern in at least [0022], [0024] for example discloses controller 119 comprises at least one processor. See at least Tsern [0022] “controller comprises one or more processors…controller is coupled to a network by way of wired or wireless communication circuitry… controller may be coupled (for example by a network 130 which may include the Internet) to a remote server 131”; [0024] “controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors”), the controller configured to:
receive, through the sleep session, the sensor data(Tsern in at least fig. 4-7, [0010], [0022-0024] for example discloses receive, through the sleep session, the sensor data. [0024] “controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors”);
update, through the sleep session, using the sensor data, a current sleep state of the sleeper (Tsern in at least fig. 4, 6, [0023-0024] for example discloses update, through the sleep session, using the sensor data, the current sleep state of the sleeper. See at least Tsern [0024] “controller uses the information from the biometric sensors to determine a sleep stage of the user…sleep stage of the user may be considered to four stages of non-REM sleep…and one stage of REM sleep…controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors.”);
track the sleep session through a sleep-state schedule based on the update of the current sleep state of the sleeper through the sleep session(Tsern in at least fig. 4, 6, [0024], [0030], [0035-0038] for example discloses track the sleep session through a sleep-state schedule based on the update of the current sleep state of the sleeper through the sleep session. See at least Tsern [0024] “controller uses the information from the biometric sensors to determine a sleep stage of the user… sleep stage of the user may be considered to four stages of non-REM sleep—stages N1, N2, N3, N4, with stages N3 and N4 considered deep non-REM sleep or “slow-wave” sleep, —and one stage of REM sleep…a user may be considered to typically undergo four full sleep cycles in a single night's sleep, with the first two sleep cycles being non-REM dominant and the last two sleep cycles being REM dominant…sleep stage of the user may be determined using information from the biometric sensors… controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors.”);
update, through the sleep session, using the tracking of the sleep session, a target environmental-parameter (Tsern in at least fig.1, 4-7, [0022], [0024], [0030], [0046], [0053], [0060] for example discloses update, through the sleep session, using the tracking of the sleep session, a target environmental-parameter such as audio, firmness of sleep surface. see Tsern [0022] “controller may also command play of audio, either by way of commands to an external audio device… speakers external to the bed”; [0030] “controller commands the pressure adjustment component to change pressures at differing rates based on a sleep stage of the sleeper”; [0046] “controller monitors sleep performance or disruptions and/or movement using information from the biometric sensors and may modulate or change this pressure profile characteristics… based on the monitoring outcome(s)”; [0060] “the rate of change is determined based on a sleep stage of the sleeper”); and
send, through the sleep session, automation instructions to an environmental controller based on the update of the target environmental-parameter(Tsern in at least fig. 1, 4-7, [0022], [0024], [0055], [0030], [0039], [0055] for example discloses send, through the sleep session, automation instructions to an environmental controller in remote server 131 and/or external audio device based on the update of the target environmental-parameter. See at least Tsern [0022] “controller may be coupled (for example by a network 130 which may include the Internet) to a remote server 131, …may perform various of the functions ascribed to the controller…controller may also command play of audio, either by way of commands to an external audio device, provision of wireless audio signals to speakers external to the bed”; [0030] “controller commands the pressure adjustment component to change pressures at differing rates based on a sleep stage of the sleeper…as the sleeper changes sleep position or sleep stage, the controller may command the pressure adjustment component to change pressures in accordance with a sleep profile for the new sleep position or sleep stage”; [0039] “a process for controlling firmness of a sleep surface of a bed … performed …by a controller of a bed with a pressure adjustment component… performed on a remote server coupled to the controller over a network”; [0055] “the process determines target pressures based on a selected sleep pressure profile for the sleeper”); and
the environmental controller configured to: receive the automation instructions; and engage one or more devices according to the automation instructions such that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session(Tsern in [0022], [0028-0029], [0030], [0039] for example discloses environmental controller in remote server 131 and/or external audio device configured to: receive the automation instructions and engage one or more devices such as an audio device and/or sleep surface according to the automation instructions such that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session. see Tsern [0022] “controller is coupled to a network by way of wired or wireless communication circuitry… controller may be coupled (for example by a network 130 which may include the Internet) to a remote server 131, which in some embodiments may perform various of the functions ascribed to the controller herein… controller may also command play of audio, either by way of commands to an external audio device, provision of wireless audio signals to speakers external to the bed”; [0029] “controller commands the pressure adjustment component to provide a sleep pressure profile for the sleep surface upon or after the sleeper falling asleep… the sleep pressure profiles may also specify audio associated with the sleep pressure profiles for use by the controller in commanding play of audio”).
Tsern implicitly discloses the well-known feature of controller comprising memory but does not explicitly disclose controller comprises memory.
However, in an analogous sleep systems field of endeavor, Demirli explicitly discloses a system (Demirli in at least abstract, fig. 1-11, 17-19, abstract, [0035-0102], 0165], [0173-0174] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Demirli in at least fig. 1-3, [0035], [0038], [0058] for example discloses a system. See at least Demirli [0038] “air bed system”) comprising:
a bed having a mattress configured to support a sleeper in a sleep environment (Demirli, fig. 3); and
controller, wherein the controller comprises at least one processor and memory (Demirli, fig. 1-2, fig. 10, fig. 17, [0038] for example discloses controller 124 comprises at least one processor 136 and memory 137).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the controller of the system as taught by Tsern, a memory, as explicitly taught by Demirli. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the advantage of the including well-known feature such as a memory as memory facilitates storing data and software instructions on the memory for quick access and execution by the processor as would be occur when collecting data from a wide variety of sources such as sensors for use by algorithms to generate one or more actions to be taken by the system to enhance sleep quality (Demirli, [0165], [0173-0174]).
As per independent Claim 20, Tsern discloses a system (Tsern in at least abstract, [0004-0011], fig. 1-7, [0016-0070] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Tsern in fig. 1-2, abstract, [0020-0021] discloses a system ) comprising:
a bed having a mattress configured to support a sleeper in a sleep environment(Tsern in at least fig. 1, [0020] for example discloses a bed 111 having a mattress 113 configured to support a sleeper (see fig. 2) in a sleep environment);
a sensor system (Tsern in at least fig. 1, para. [0022-0024] discloses sensor system 115, 117, 118) configured to:
sense at least one physical phenomenon through a sleep session(Tsern in at least [0010], [0022-0024] for example discloses sense at least one physical phenomenon through a sleep session. See at least Tsern [0022] “controller may do so using information from sensors… temperature sensors 115a,b, pressure sensors 117, … biometric sensors 118”; [0023] “temperature sensors may be positioned in or adjacent the sleep surface, and provide an indication of a temperature of the sleep surface… temperature sensors are worn by the sleeper, provide an indication of a temperature of the sleeper's body”; [0024] “biometric sensors may be located in or under the sleep surface, and may provide an indication of heart rate, breathing information, or other biometric information regarding the user on the sleep surface”);
transmit sensor data to a controller based on the sensed physical phenomenon through the sleep session(Tsern in at least fig. 1, [0010], [0022-0024] for example discloses transmit sensor data to a controller 119, based on the sensed physical phenomenon through the sleep session. See at least Tsern [0010] “biometric sensors configured to provide biometric information regarding the sleeper, and the controller is further configured to determine the sleep stage of the sleeper based on the biometric information”; [0022] “components for conditioning the sleep environment are generally commanded to do so by a controller 119. In generating commands controller may do so using information from sensors, for example temperature sensors 115a,b, pressure sensors 117, and, in some embodiments, biometric sensors 118.”; [0024] “controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors”);
the controller, wherein the controller comprises at least one processor (Tsern in at least [0022], [0024] for example discloses controller 119 comprises at least one processor. See at least Tsern [0022] “controller comprises one or more processors…controller is coupled to a network by way of wired or wireless communication circuitry… controller may be coupled (for example by a network 130 which may include the Internet) to a remote server 131”; [0024] “controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors”), the controller configured to:
receive, through the sleep session, the sensor data(Tsern in at least fig. 4-7, [0010], [0022-0024] for example discloses receive, through the sleep session, the sensor data. [0024] “controller determines the sleep stage of the user by using one or more of its processors to compute the sleep stage based on information from the biometric sensors”);
update, through the sleep session, using the sensor data, a current sleeping determination for the sleeper, the sleeping determination having possible values of awake and asleep (Tsern in at least [0006], fig. 4, [0032-0033], [0048-0050] for example discloses update, through the sleep session, using the sensor data, a current sleeping determination for the sleeper, the sleeping determination having possible values of awake and asleep. See at least Tsern [0032] “controller may command the pressure adjustment component to change pressures to provide a wake-up pattern of varying pressures about a time the sleeper is expected to awaken… controller commands performance of the wake-up pattern based on a target wake-up time… set by the sleeper…based on a total sleep time or other sleep metric determined by the controller”; [0033] “controller may command the pressure adjustment component to change pressures so as to increase firmness of the sleep surface after the sleeper awakens … controller may command the pressure adjustment component to increase a rate of variation of pressures after the target wake-up time if the sleeper has not awoken”; [0050] “process commands the pressure adjustment component to perform arise operations upon determining that the sleeper is awake”; [0006] “sleep metric for the sleeper comprises a total sleep time… total sleep time is a period of time from a time the sleeper fell asleep to a time the sleeper awoke”);
track the sleep session through a sleep-state schedule based on a length of time that has elapsed since the current sleep determination was updated to asleep (Tsern in at least [0006], fig. 4, [0032-0033], [0048-0050] for example discloses track the sleep session through a sleep-state schedule based on a length of time that has elapsed since the current sleep determination was updated to asleep. See at least Tsern [0032] “controller commands performance of the wake-up pattern based on a target wake-up time… set by the sleeper…based on a total sleep time or other sleep metric determined by the controller”; [0048] “process commands the pressure adjustment component to perform wake-up operations at a time based on a target wake up time for the sleeper… target wake-up time is a time selected by the sleeper… determined by the controller based on information of a calendar for the sleeper, for example as provided by a smartphone or other compute device of the sleeper”; [0049] “one or more patterns may increase in amplitude and/or frequency as the target wake-up time approaches, and/or after the target wake-up time has been reached”);
update, through the sleep session, using the tracking of the sleep session, a target environmental-parameter(Tsern in at least fig.1, 4-7, [0022], [0024], [0030], [0046], [0053], [0060] for example discloses update, through the sleep session, using the tracking of the sleep session, a target environmental-parameter such as audio, firmness of sleep surface. see Tsern [0022] “controller may also command play of audio, either by way of commands to an external audio device… speakers external to the bed”; [0030] “controller commands the pressure adjustment component to change pressures at differing rates based on a sleep stage of the sleeper”; [0046] “controller monitors sleep performance or disruptions and/or movement using information from the biometric sensors and may modulate or change this pressure profile characteristics… based on the monitoring outcome(s)”; [0060] “the rate of change is determined based on a sleep stage of the sleeper”); and
send, through the sleep session, automation instructions to an environmental controller based on the update of the target environmental-parameter(Tsern in at least fig. 1, 4-7, [0022], [0024], [0055], [0030], [0039], [0055] for example discloses send, through the sleep session, automation instructions to an environmental controller in remote server 131 and/or external audio device based on the update of the target environmental-parameter. See at least Tsern [0022] “controller may be coupled (for example by a network 130 which may include the Internet) to a remote server 131, …may perform various of the functions ascribed to the controller…controller may also command play of audio, either by way of commands to an external audio device, provision of wireless audio signals to speakers external to the bed”; [0030] “controller commands the pressure adjustment component to change pressures at differing rates based on a sleep stage of the sleeper…as the sleeper changes sleep position or sleep stage, the controller may command the pressure adjustment component to change pressures in accordance with a sleep profile for the new sleep position or sleep stage”; [0039] “a process for controlling firmness of a sleep surface of a bed … performed …by a controller of a bed with a pressure adjustment component… performed on a remote server coupled to the controller over a network”; [0055] “the process determines target pressures based on a selected sleep pressure profile for the sleeper”); and
the environmental controller configured to: receive the automation instructions; and engage one or more devices according to the automation instructions such that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session (Tsern in [0022], [0028-0029], [0030], [0039] for example discloses environmental controller in remote server 131 and/or external audio device configured to: receive the automation instructions and engage one or more devices such as an audio device and/or sleep surface according to the automation instructions such that the sleep environment of the sleeper is updated through the sleep session. see Tsern [0022] “controller is coupled to a network by way of wired or wireless communication circuitry… controller may be coupled (for example by a network 130 which may include the Internet) to a remote server 131, which in some embodiments may perform various of the functions ascribed to the controller herein… controller may also command play of audio, either by way of commands to an external audio device, provision of wireless audio signals to speakers external to the bed”; [0029] “controller commands the pressure adjustment component to provide a sleep pressure profile for the sleep surface upon or after the sleeper falling asleep… the sleep pressure profiles may also specify audio associated with the sleep pressure profiles for use by the controller in commanding play of audio”).
Tsern implicitly discloses the well-known feature of controller comprising memory but does not explicitly disclose controller comprises memory.
However, in an analogous sleep systems field of endeavor, Demirli explicitly discloses a system (Demirli in at least abstract, fig. 1-11, 17-19, abstract, [0035-0102], 0165], [0173-0174] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More specifically, Demirli in at least fig. 1-3, [0035], [0038], [0058] for example discloses a system. See at least Demirli [0038] “air bed system”) comprising:
a bed having a mattress configured to support a sleeper in a sleep environment (Demirli, fig. 3); and
controller, wherein the controller comprises at least one processor and memory (Demirli, fig. 1-2, fig. 10, fig. 17, [0038] for example discloses controller 124 comprises at least one processor 136 and memory 137).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the controller of the system as taught by Tsern, a memory, as explicitly taught by Demirli. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the advantage of the including well-known feature such as a memory as memory facilitates storing data and software instructions on the memory for quick access and execution by the processor as would be occur when collecting data from a wide variety of sources such as sensors for use by algorithms to generate one or more actions to be taken by the system to enhance sleep quality (Demirli, [0165], [0173-0174]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and/or the claims.
Prior art US 20190201269 A1 to Sayadi et al discloses bed system including sleep stage detecting features similar to that disclosed and claimed. More specifically, Sayadi discloses a first bed comprising: a first mattress; a first pressure sensor in communication with the first mattress to sense pressure applied to the first mattress; and a first controller in data communication with the first pressure sensor, the first controller configured to: receive, from the first pressure sensor, first pressure readings indicative of the sensed pressure of the inflatable chamber; and transmit the first pressure readings to a remote server such that the remote server is able to generate one or more sleep-state classifiers that, when run by a controller on incoming pressure readings, provide a sleep-state vote; a second bed comprising: a second mattress; a second pressure sensor in communication with the second mattress to sense pressure applied to the second mattress; and a second controller in data communication with the second pressure sensor, the controller configured to: receive the one or more sleep-state classifiers; run the received sleep-state classifiers on second pressure readings in order to collect one or more sleep-state votes from the running sleep-state classifiers; determine, from the one or more sleep-state votes, a sleep-state of a user on the second bed; responsive to the determined sleep-state, operate the bed system according to the determined sleep-state.
Prior art US 20160100696 A1 to Palashewski et al. discloses system can include a bed having a mattress, a sensor, and the data processing device similar to that disclosed and claimed. The sensor is configured to sense a feature of the mattress and transmit readings to a data processing device. The data processing device includes a processor and is configured to receive the readings from the sensor and determine if the readings i) indicate a user presence on the mattress and ii) indicate the user intends to sleep. The data processing device is configured to transmit a command to a peripheral controller responsive to determining that the readings i) indicate user presence on the mattress and ii) indicate the user intends to sleep.
Prior art US 20180125256 A1 to Tsern et al. discloses bed that integrates sensors and other inputs to detect specific sleep environment conditions including point-specific pressure and/or temperature conditions similar to that disclosed and claimed. The bed includes a controller for commanding actuator or other devices to adjust these conditions. The controller may do so based on reference patterns for conditions and profiles of desired conditions. Information regarding the conditions may be provided to a remote computer, which may analyze the conditions and provide revised profiles of desired conditions.
Prior art US 20110010014 A1 to Oexman et al. discloses a system for controlling a bedroom environment that includes an environmental data collector configured to collect environmental data relating to the bedroom environment; a sleep data collector configured to collect sleep data relating to a person's state of sleep; an analysis unit configured to analyze the collected environmental data and the collected sleep data and to determine an adjustment of the bedroom environment that promotes sleep of the person; and a controller configured to effect the adjustment of the bedroom environment similar to that disclosed.
Prior art US 20160242562 A1 to Karschnik et al. discloses mattress that include one or more layers of foam material, an adjustable air layer including an air bladder, and a valve similar to that disclosed. The valve can be fluidically connected to the air bladder and configured to regulate pressure of the air bladder in response to actuation.
Prior art US 20120296156 A1 to Auphan discloses sleep system that aids in achieving a sleep goal through the control of an environment near a person similar to that disclosed. The sleep system includes a processor capable of executing instructions used for controlling one or more aspects of the environment and a memory capable of holding the instructions. Upon executing the instructions, the sleep system receives a sleep goal for the person that includes varying the nearby environment. The processor may further execute instructions to create settings that vary at least one environmental condition of the environment over time as it relates to one or more cycles of a sleep architecture for the person. Varying at least one environmental condition near the person experiencing one or more cycles of the sleep architecture influences the quality of the person's sleep. The sleep system may further adjust at least one environmental condition in the vicinity of the person in accordance with the sleep architecture for the person.
Prior art US 20200100682 A1 to Abreu et al. discloses sleep enhancement system for assistance, monitoring, informing, and improving sleep habits of a user similar to that disclosed. A utilized monitoring device gathers user's vital signs for transmission to a smart device while an environment sensor gathers information from the surroundings which is then sent to an environment transmitter. Signals from the smart device and environment transmitter are transmitted to a processor by wireless transmission such as by electromagnetic waves, radio waves, infrared, sound or by being reported by audio or visual transmission. Signals are stored for current or future commands to control the environment, smart devices, and appliances for a user.
Prior art US 11253079 B1 to Kahn et al. discloses smart sleep system comprising a mattress including a plurality of pressure zones, each pressure zone separately adjustable for firmness, a sensor to sense a user's position on the mattress, a processing system to determine pressure for each of the plurality of pressure zones based on data from the sensor, and a controller to adjust one or more of the pressure zones based on the determination similar to that disclosed.
Prior art US 20130234823 A1 to Kahn et al. discloses sleep sensing system comprising a sensor to obtain real-time information about a user, a sleep state logic to determine the user's current sleep state based on the real-time information similar to that disclosed. The system further comprising a sleep stage selector to select an optimal next sleep state for the user, and a sound output system to output sounds to guide the user from the current sleep state to the optimal next sleep state.
Prior art US 9005101 B1 to Van Erlach discloses a method and system enabling delivery of a sleep therapy via smart sleep system/bed similar to that disclosed.. The method includes receiving a value of a parameter measured by physical sensors while a mammal is in contact with a first subset of the physical sensors. A second subset of the physical sensors, whose received value differs from a predetermined reference value of an environmental parameter, is determined. A physical part subset of the second subset, corresponding to a specified body part, is determined by utilizing the second subset and virtual data for identifying virtual sensors spatially distributed to map a space occupied by the mammal's body parts.
/SUNITA REDDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791