DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01 December 2022 was filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 10 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 November 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4 and 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 8: “wire deposition components 122” should read:
-- wire deposition components --
In claim 1, line 9: “positioning components 124 that includes” should read:
-- positioning components that include --
In claim 4, line 1, “wherein the wire metal core is approximately between 1 µm to 500 µm.” should read:
-- wherein the wire metal core diameter is between 1 µm to 500 µm. --
In claims 8-9, the limitation: “ferromagnet” should read:
-- ferromagnetic material --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 1, line 11, “a mechanism that activates the adhesive coating”
In claim 5, “a control module configured to control the wire plotting platform”
In claim 6, “the control module is configured to integrate the actuation of the applicator head with actuation of a base platform”
The claim limitation(s) has/have been presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it/they meet(s) the following 3-prong analysis:
(A) The claim limitation(s) use the phrase “means for” or “step for” or a generic replacement. Prong A is met because: the claim element “mechanism in claim 1 and “control module” in claims 5-6, which are generic place holder for “means”.
(B) The “means for” or “step for” is modified by functional language: Prong B is met because: the generic place holder “mechanism that activates”, and “control module” are modified by functional language “configured to control”.
(C) The phrase “means for” or “step for” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for achieving the specified function. Prong C is met because: the claim element “mechanism” and “control module” are not further modified by sufficient structure of material for performing the claimed function “activates the adhesive coating” in claim 1, “control the wire plotting platform” in claim 5 and “configured to integrate the actuation of the applicator head” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation in lines 11-12, “a bonding module, comprising a mechanism that activates the adhesive coating, such that the wire anneals to itself or to other components” renders claim indefinite because it is unclear what does “activates the adhesive coating such that the wire anneals to itself” mean. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known from the recited limitations in lines 3-5 “a wire comprising an interior metal core and an adhesive coating” that, the wire comprises an adhesive coating. If so, it is unclear what does “activates adhesive coating” mean. Further, the recited limitation “a wire plotting platform, that shapes and deposits the wire in a moving region of wire deposition”, reads that the wire comprising an adhesive coating is deposited in the moving region of a plotting platform. Therefore, it is unclear how “a mechanism that activates the adhesive coating” anneals wire to itself. What does “the wire anneals to itself or to other components” mean. If the wire comprising an interior metal core and an adhesive coatings, what does the “other components” mean. Furthermore, the recited preamble “a system for an additive platform for a wire-wound power transmission construct” is confusing because a person of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the “additive platform” as, a stage or a flat horizontal surface that is usually higher than the adjoining area: such as a raised flooring. See, merriam-webster.com.
As best understood, it appears that the limitation “a bonding module, comprising a mechanism that activates the adhesive coating, such that the wire anneals to itself or to other components” actually intends that a bonding module, comprising a heating mechanism that thermally activates the adhesive coating of the wire such that the disposed wire bonds to a previously disposed wire segment, or the like.
In claim 2, the limitation “the wire anneals to itself or to other components” renders claim indefinite because of the above reasons.
In claim 6, the limitation “the control module is configured to integrate the actuation of the applicator head with actuation of a base platform” is confusing. What does “integrate the actuation of the applicator head” mean. Would it be a control module moves the applicator head in a third direction or the like?
Claims 2-11 depend on claim 1. Therefore, claims 1-11 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mark (US 20140291886).
Regarding claim 1, Mark teaches, a system for an additive platform (three dimensional printer, see annotated Fig. 1 below) for a wire-wound power transmission construct (three dimensional printing processes may be used to…construct a part with inductors, capacitors, antennae, transformers, para. [0253]) comprising:
[AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (wire disposition components)][AltContent: textbox (wire plotting platform)]
Annotated Fig. 1, Mark.
a wire (filament 2, Fig. 1) comprising:
an interior metal core (core 6, Fig. 1, appropriate core filaments include those materials which impart a desired property, such as structural, conductive (electrically and/or thermally), para. [0136], the core is made from copper or another appropriate electrically or optically conductive material, para. [0148]) and
an adhesive coating (polymer 4, a polymer 4 that coats or impregnates an internal continuous core 6, para. [0141]);
a wire plotting platform (build platen 16), that shapes and deposits the wire in a moving region of wire deposition (after being heated in the heated extrusion nozzle 10, the continuous core reinforced filament 2 is extruded onto a build platen 16 to build successive layers 14 to form a final three dimensional structure, para. [0143]), comprising:
wire deposition components
positioning components
a bonding module (heated extrusion nozzle 10 and the heating mechanism, Fig. 1, para. [0142]), comprising a mechanism (suitable heater may be employed to heat the nozzle, para. [0142]) that activates the adhesive coating, such that the wire anneals to itself or to other components, in the region of wire deposition concurrent to deposition of the wire (extrusion temperature is greater than the melting temperature of the polymer 4, but is less than the decomposition temperature of the resin and the melting or decomposition temperature of the core 6…After being heated in the heated extrusion nozzle 10, the continuous core reinforced filament 2 is extruded onto a build platen 16 to build successive layers 14 to form a final three dimensional structure, para. [0142-0143]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mark as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiao (US 20170145586).
[AltContent: textbox (laser module)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 2, Xiao.
Regarding clam 2, though, Mark teaches selective laser sintering, Mark does not explicitly teach a laser module directed at the region of wire deposition, enabled to heat the wire. However, Xiao teaches an additive manufacturing system in Figs. 1 and 2, including a coated wire 20, a wire plotting platform 12 and bonding module, in which, the system of claim 1, wherein the bonding module comprises a laser module (laser system 54 and 56, see annotated Fig. 2), directed at the region of wire deposition, enabled to heat the wire (material 20, material 20 may include powders, solid wires, cored wires, tubular wires, coated wires, para. [0014]) such that the wire anneals to itself or to other components in the region of deposition (controller 32 may also control a power source 34...provided to the additive manufacturing tool 16 to melt the one or more materials 20 into the droplets 18…, the power source 34 may include, but is not limited to,…laser, para. [0018]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Xiao, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the additive manufacturing system of Mark and to replace the heating system in Fig. 1 with a laser module as Xiao taught in Fig. 2 so that it enables to selectively heating and/or melting the wire coating and the wire metal core at a desired temperature.
Regarding clam 3, Mark in view of Xiao teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Mark further teaches, the system of claim 2, wherein the wire plotting platform includes a feeding mechanism (see annotated Fig. 10 below, feed material, which in this example is a continuous core reinforced filament 2a,…is removed from a spool 38 and passed through a feeding mechanism, Figs. 8 and 10, para. [0161]) that draws the wire and feeds it to a plotting head (printer head 70, see Fig. 10 below) of the wire plotting platform.
[AltContent: textbox (base platform)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (feed mechanism)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (plotting head)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (applicator head)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 10, Mark.
Regarding clam 4, Mark in view of Xiao teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Mark further teaches, the system of claim 2, wherein the wire metal core is
Regarding clam 5, Mark in view of Xiao teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Mark further teaches, the system of claim 2, further comprising a control module (controller 20, Fig. 1) configured to control the wire plotting platform wherein an applicator head (extrusion nozzle 10, see annotated Fig. 10) of the wire plotting platform deposits the wire in a 2D winding pattern (extrusion nozzle 10 may be controlled by a controller 20 to deposit the continuous core reinforced filament 2 in the desired location and direction… controller 20 may use the sensed X, Y, and/or Z positions and movement information to control subsequent movements of the heated extrusion head or platen, para. [0143]).
Regarding clam 6, Mark in view of Xiao teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 5. Mark further teaches, the system of claim 5, wherein the system further comprises a third degree of freedom (X, Y, and/or Z positions and movement information, para. [0143]), wherein the control module is configured to integrate the actuation of the applicator head with actuation of a base platform (see platen 16, annotated Fig. 10), enabling construction of a 3D winding pattern (controller 20 may use the sensed X, Y, and/or Z positions and movement information to control subsequent movements of the heated extrusion head or platen…a laser range finder 15, or other appropriate sensor, is used to scan the section ahead of the heated extrusion nozzle in order to correct the Z height of the nozzle, para. [0143]).
Regarding clam 7, Mark in view of Xiao teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Mark further teaches, the system of claim 2, wherein the wire further comprises an insulating layer (the multi-element printer head would lift, while commensurately extruding the conductive core and insulating jacket, para. [0243]) situated on the exterior of the metal core (Note: Mark teaches insulating jacket, which is exterior to the metal core).
Regarding clams 8-9, modified Mark does not teach a ferromagnet. However, Xiao further teaches, the system of claim 2, wherein
Claim 8. The metal core comprises a ferromagnet (material 20 supplied by the feeder 22 may be one of a variety of metallic materials that include,…nickel, para. [0014], Note: nickel is a ferromagnetic material).
Claim 9. The system of claim 9, wherein the ferromagnet comprises mu-metal (see nickel para. [0014] Note: nickel is a mu-metal).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Xiao, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the additive manufacturing system of Mark and to replace the filament 2 in Fig. 1 with a coated nickel wire as Xiao taught in Fig. 2 that it enables in manufacturing a high magnetic permeability transformer core.
Regarding clam 10, Mark in view of Xiao teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Mark further teaches, the system of claim 2, further comprising a multifilar interleaving transformer construct (electrically conductive continuous cores may be used to construct a part with inductors, capacitors, antennae, transformers, para. [0253]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mark in view of Xiao as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hidaka (WO 2019107236).
Regarding claim 11, modified Mark does not teach a wireless power transformer. However, Hidaka teaches a method of 3d printing a transformer including a wireless power transformer (inductor and a transformer in electronic devices such as portable information terminals and wireless communication devices, para. [0135]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Hidaka, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the additive manufacturing system of Mark and a wireless power transformer as Hidaka taught para. [0135] so that it enables in manufacturing a high efficiency transformer by reducing the loss as Hidaka disclosed in para. [0009].
Conclusion
Prior art Lu (US 20220266341) teaches an additive manufacturing platform including a wire a wire plotting platform and a bonding module including a mechanism that activates the wire.
Prior art Narayanan (US 11084275) teaches an additive manufacturing system having wire feeding unit, a wire plotting platform and a bonding module.
Prior art Jones (US 10322470) teaches an additive manufacturing platform including wire disposition platform, and bonding module.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729