DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is in response to the Applicant’s submission filed 26 April 2022, where:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112
4. Claims 5-7, 9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 5, line 2, and claim 16, lines 2-3, each recite “comprises minimizing the following negative log-likelihood function.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the respective claim.
Claim 9, line 2, recites “any one of the first, second, third and fourth moments.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 6 and 7 depend directly or indirectly from claim 5. Claims 17 and 18 depend directly or indirectly from claim 16. Claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 are rejected as depending from a rejected claim; further, the claims fail to cure the deficiencies of claims 5 and 17, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
5. 35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a device or system, which is a product, and thus one of the statutory categories of patentable subject matter. (35 U.S.C. § 101).
However, under Step 2A Prong One, the claim recites the limitations of “[(b)] providing a tensor codifying the probability distribution such that each configuration of the plurality of discrete random variables has its respective probability codified therein,” “[(c)] encoding the tensor into a tensor network in the form of a matrix product state,” and “[(d)] computing at least one moment of the probability distribution by processing the tensor network for sampling of the probability distribution.” The limitations of “[(b)] . . . a tensor codifying,” “[(c)] encoding,” and “[(d)] computing at least one moment,” contain activities that can practically be performed in the human mind, including, for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, and accordingly, are a mental process, (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) sub III), which is one of the groups of abstract ideas. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)). Also, because “tensor networks” are mathematical frameworks that represents high-dimensional, correlated data as a network of smaller, interconnected “tensors.” “Tensors” are mathematical objects generalizing scalars, vectors, and matrices into a multilinear object, and accordingly, are mathematical concepts, (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) sub I), and is one of the groups of abstract ideas. The claim recites more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(b)] providing a tensor codifying,” where “[(b.1)] where all probabilities are greater than or equal to zero and a sum of all probabilities is equal to one,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the claim as a whole is not integrated into a practical application, because the additional elements recited in the claim beyond the identified abstract idea include “at least one processor,” “at least one memory comprising computer program code for one or more programs,” which are generic computer components using instructions to cause a system to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites the limitation of “[(a)] receiving data including a probability distribution of a dataset or a multivariate probability distribution about a target,” which is an pre-processing insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering, (MPEP § 2106.05(g)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites more details or specifics of the additional element of “[(a)] receiving,” where “[(a.1)] the probability distribution relating to a plurality of discrete random variables,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the additional element. Further, that the “probability distribution . . . is about a target” is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to the abstract idea.
Finally, under Step 2B, the additional elements, taken alone or in combination, do not represent significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements include “at least one processor,” “at least one memory comprising computer program code for one or more programs,” which are generic computer components using instructions to cause a system to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites the limitation of “[(a)] receiving data including a probability distribution of a dataset or a multivariate probability distribution about a target,” which is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of retrieving information in memory, (MPEP § 2106.05(d) sub II.iv), which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites more details or specifics of the additional element of “[(a)] receiving,” where “[(a.1)] the probability distribution relating to a plurality of discrete random variables,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the additional element. Further, that the “probability distribution . . . is about a target” is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 1 is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 12 recites a computer-implemented method, which is a process, and thus one of the statutory categories of patentable subject matter. (35 U.S.C. § 101).
However, under Step 2A Prong One, the claim recites the limitations of “[(b)] providing a tensor codifying the probability distribution such that each configuration of the plurality of discrete random variables has its respective probability codified therein,” “[(c)] encoding the tensor into a tensor network in the form of a matrix product state,” and “[(d)] computing at least one moment of the probability distribution by processing the tensor network for sampling of the probability distribution.” The limitations of “[(b)] . . . a tensor codifying,” “[(c)] encoding,” and “[(d)] computing at least one moment,” contain activities that can practically be performed in the human mind, including, for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, and accordingly, are a mental process, (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) sub III), which is one of the groups of abstract ideas. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)). Also, because “tensor networks” are mathematical frameworks that represents high-dimensional, correlated data as a network of smaller, interconnected “tensors.” “Tensors” are mathematical objects generalizing scalars, vectors, and matrices into a multilinear object, and accordingly, are mathematical concepts, (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) sub I), and is one of the groups of abstract ideas. The claim recites more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(b)] providing a tensor codifying,” where “[(b.1)] where all probabilities are greater than or equal to zero and a sum of all probabilities is equal to one,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the claim as a whole is not integrated into a practical application, because the additional elements recited in the claim beyond the identified abstract idea include a “computer-implemented method,” which is a generic computer component using instructions to cause a system to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites the limitation of “[(a)] receiving data including a probability distribution of a dataset or a multivariate probability distribution about a target,” which is an pre-processing insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering, (MPEP § 2106.05(g)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites more details or specifics of the additional element of “[(a)] receiving,” where “[(a.1)] the probability distribution relating to a plurality of discrete random variables about a target,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the additional element. Further, that the “probability distribution . . . is about a target” is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, claim 12 is directed to the abstract idea.
Finally, under Step 2B, the additional elements, taken alone or in combination, do not represent significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements include “computer-implemented method,” which are generic computer components using instructions to cause a system to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites the limitation of “[(a)] receiving data including a probability distribution of a dataset or a multivariate probability distribution about a target,” which is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of retrieving information in memory, (MPEP § 2106.05(d) sub II.iv), which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites more details or specifics of the additional element of “[(a)] receiving,” where “[(a.1)] the probability distribution relating to a plurality of discrete random variables,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the additional element. Further, that the “probability distribution . . . is about a target” is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 12 is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium, which is a product, and thus one of the statutory categories of patentable subject matter. (35 U.S.C. § 101).
However, under Step 2A Prong One, the claim recites the limitations of “[(b)] providing a tensor codifying the probability distribution such that each configuration of the plurality of discrete random variables has its respective probability codified therein,” “[(c)] encoding the tensor into a tensor network in the form of a matrix product state,” and “[(d)] computing at least one moment of the probability distribution by processing the tensor network for sampling of the probability distribution.” The limitations of “[(b)] . . . a tensor codifying,” “[(c)] encoding,” and “[(d)] computing at least one moment,” contain activities that can practically be performed in the human mind, including, for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, and accordingly, are a mental process, (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) sub III), which is one of the groups of abstract ideas. (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)). Also, because “tensor networks” are mathematical frameworks that represents high-dimensional, correlated data as a network of smaller, interconnected “tensors.” “Tensors” are mathematical objects generalizing scalars, vectors, and matrices into a multilinear object, and accordingly, are mathematical concepts, (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) sub I), and is one of the groups of abstract ideas. The claim recites more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(b)] providing a tensor codifying,” where “[(b.1)] where all probabilities are greater than or equal to zero and a sum of all probabilities is equal to one,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 20 is directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the claim as a whole is not integrated into a practical application, because the additional elements recited in the claim beyond the identified abstract idea include a “non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with instructions that, when executed by at least one processor or hardware, perform or make a device,” which is a generic computer component using instructions to cause a system to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites the limitation of “[(a)] receiving data including a probability distribution of a dataset or a multivariate probability distribution about a target,” which is an pre-processing insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data gathering, (MPEP § 2106.05(g)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim also recites more details or specifics of the additional element of “[(a)] receiving,” where “[(a.1)] the probability distribution relating to a plurality of discrete random variables,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the additional element. Further, that the “probability distribution . . . is about a target” is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, claim 20 is directed to the abstract idea.
Finally, under Step 2B, the additional elements, taken alone or in combination, do not represent significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements include “non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with instructions that, when executed by at least one processor or hardware, perform or make a device,” which are generic computer components using instructions to cause a system to implement the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites the limitation of “[(a)] receiving data including a probability distribution of a dataset or a multivariate probability distribution about a target,” which is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of retrieving information in memory, (MPEP § 2106.05(d) sub II.iv), which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim also recites more details or specifics of the additional element of “[(a)] receiving,” where “[(a.1)] the probability distribution relating to a plurality of discrete random variables,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the additional element. Further, that the “probability distribution . . . is about a target” is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 12 is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 2 depends from claim 1. Claim 13 depends from claim 12. The claims further recite “[(e)] at least carry out the following: providing a predetermined command at least based on the computed at least one moment.” The activity of “[(e)] providing a predetermined command” is a post-processing insignificant extra-solution of transmitting data, (MPEP § 2106.05(f)), that does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Also, the activity of “[(e)] providing a predetermined command” is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of transmitting a command over a network, (MPEP § 2106.05(d) sub II.i), that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The abstract idea of these claims are not integrated into a practical application, (see MPEP § 2106.04(d)), nor do they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05 sub I; see also MPEP § 2106.05(a) – (h)), because the claims recite no more than the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 2 and 13 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 3 depends directly or indirectly from claim 1. Claim 14 depends directly or indirectly from claim 12. The claims recite more details or specifics to the additional element of ““[(e)] providing a predetermined command” where “[(e.1)] wherein the predetermined command comprises one or both of: [(e.1.1)] providing a notification indicative of the computed at least one moment to an electronic device; and [(e.1.2)] providing a command to a controlling device or system associated with the target or to the target itself when the target is either a machine or a system, the predetermined command being for changing a behavior of the target,” and accordingly, are merely more specific to the additional element. The abstract idea of these claims are not integrated into a practical application, (see MPEP § 2106.04(d)), nor do they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05 sub I; see also MPEP § 2106.05(a) – (h)), because the claims recite no more than the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 3 and 14 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 4, 5, and 8 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1. Claims 15, 16, and 19 depend directly or indirectly from claim 12. The claims recite more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(c)] encoding the tensor,” (claims 4 and 15: “[(c)] wherein encoding the tensor into the tensor network comprises [(c.3)] factorizing the tensor into the tensors of the tensor network by processing the tensor so that the following equation is solved:
where P is the resulting normalized factorization into the tensors of the tensor network, T is the encoded tensor, and ZT is a predetermined normalization factor ZT=ΣX1, . . . , xN TX 1 , . . . , xN, with X1, . . . , XN being respective N configurations of the plurality of discrete random variables of the probability distribution, TX 1 , . . . , xN being the tensor for the respective configuration,” and N being the number of discrete random variables in the plurality of discrete random variables”) and (claims 5 and 16: “[(c)] wherein encoding the tensor into the tensor network further comprises [(c.4)] minimizing the following negative log-likelihood function for each sample xi of a discrete multivariate distribution:
where each sample xi has values for each of the discrete random variables, and TXi is the tensor for the sample xi”), and (claims 8 and 19: “[(c)] wherein encoding the tensor into the tensor network further comprises [(c.4)] compressing a probability mass function into a tensor that is not negative, and minimizing the following Kullback-Leibler divergence equation:
where PX 1 , . . . , xN is a probability mass function corresponding to the probability distribution”), and accordingly, are merely more specific to the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 4, 5, 8, 15, 16, and 19 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 6 depends directly or indirectly from claim 1. Claim 17 depends directly or indirectly from claim 12. The claims recite more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(c)] encoding the tensor,” “[(c.4.1)] wherein the minimization of the negative log-likelihood function for each sample xi is calculated with local gradient-descent in which the gradient of the function is computed for all tensors of the tensor network,” and accordingly, are merely more specific to the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 6 and 17 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 7 depends directly or indirectly from claim 1. Claim 18 depends directly or indirectly from claim 12. The claims recite more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(c)] encoding the tensor,” “wherein values of the tensors of the tensor network are modified iteratively to approximate the probability distribution therein,” and accordingly, are merely more specific to the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 6 and 17 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claims 9 and 10 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1. The claims recite more details or specifics to the abstract idea of “[(d)] computing at least one moment,” (claim 9: “[(d)] wherein computing the at least one moment comprises [(d.1)] computing any one of the first, second, third and fourth moments of the probability distribution by processing the tensor network; claim 10: “[(d)] wherein computing the at least one moment comprises [(d.1)] computing a contraction of the tensor network”), and accordingly, are merely more specific to the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 9 and 10 are subject-matter ineligible.
Claim 11 depends from claim 1. The claim recites more details or specifics to the additional element of “[(a)] receiving data,” “[(a.2)] wherein the target comprises: an electrical grid, an electricity network, a portfolio of financial derivatives, a stock market, a set of patients of a hospital unit, or a system comprising one of: one or more devices, one or more machines, or a combination thereof,” and accordingly, is merely more specific to the additional element. The abstract idea of these claims are not integrated into a practical application, (see MPEP § 2106.04(d)), nor do they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, (MPEP § 2106.05 sub I; see also MPEP § 2106.05(a) – (h)), because the claims recite no more than the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 11 is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
8. Claims 1-3, 9, 10, 12-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gillman et al., "A Tensor Network Approach to Finite Markov Decision Processes," arXiv (2020) [hereinafter Gillman].
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 20, Gillman teaches [a] device or system (Gillman, left column of p. 2, “2.1. Finite Markov Decision Processes,” first paragraph, teaches “the state of the system is a terminal state [(that is, a device or system)]”) of claim 1, [a] computer-implemented method (Gillman, right column of p. 1, “1. Introduction,” second paragraph, teaches “[g]iven the nature of the problems tackled by TNs in physics, it is natural to consider them for machine learning problems [(that is, “machine learning problems” are inherently a computer-implemented method)]”) of claim 12, and [a] non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with instructions that, when executed by at least one processor or hardware (Gillman, right column of p. 1, “1. Introduction,” second paragraph, teaches “[g]iven the nature of the problems tackled by TNs in physics, it is natural to consider them for machine learning problems [(that is, “machine learning problems” inherently includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with instructions, when executed by at least one processor or hardware )]”) of claim 20, comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code for one or more programs; the at least one processor, the at least one memory, and the computer program code (Gillman, right column of p. 1, “1. Introduction,” second paragraph, teaches “[g]iven the nature of the problems tackled by TNs in physics, it is natural to consider them for machine learning problems [(that is, “machine learning problems” inherently includes the at least one processor, the at least one memory, and the computer program code)]”) being configured to cause the device or system (Gillman, left column of p. 2, “2.1. Finite Markov Decision Processes,” first paragraph, teaches “the state of the system is a terminal state [(that is, a device or system)]”) to at least carry out the following:
[(a)] receiving data including a probability distribution of a dataset or a multivariate probability distribution about a target (Gillman, Abstract, teaches “[a]s an application [of a general tensor network formulation of finite, episodic and discrete Markov decision processes (MDPs),] we consider the issue - formulated as an RL problem - of finding a stochastic evolution that satisfies specific dynamical conditions [(that is, a probability distribution of a dataset . . . about a target)], using the simple example of random walk excursions as an illustration”; Gillman, left column of p. 3, “2.2 Tensor Networks for Hidden Markov Models,” first paragraph, teaches “[a]s suggested by the chosen notation, Eq. (11) [(that is, since the matrices are rank-2 tensors and the vector a rank-1 tensor, this can be considered a TN consisting of T + 1 tensors, where the contraction pattern is given by the usual matrix products. Performing such a contraction produces a new vector,
|
p
T
, with components,
where
|
p
0
=
∑
s
c
s
|
s
for some coefficients cs and the vectors
|
s
associated to each state s form a basis of a vector space VS),] is exactly the [tensor network representation (TNR)] for a probability distribution over states produced by a Markovian dynamics [(that is, receiving data including a probability distribution of a dataset)]. In that case, the components of Mt are equal to the probabilities of state transitions,
while the components of
|
p
0
give the initial probabilities distribution over states [(that is, receiving data including a probability distribution of a dataset)]”; Gillman, right column of p. 1, “1. Introduction,” second paragraph, teaches “using the formalism of Markov decision processes (MDPs), consisting of repeated updates according to an agent’s decision making policy and the dynamics of an environment it inhabits [(that is, “dynamics of an environment” is receiving data including a probability distribution of a dataset . . . about a target)]”;
[Examiner notes that the plain meaning of term “target” pertains to an environment in which the system is deployed, and accordingly, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “target” covers the teachings of Gillman, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111.01).]),
[(a.1)] the probability distribution relating to a plurality of discrete random variables (Gillman, left column of p. 2, “2.1 Finite Markov Decisions Processes,” first paragraph, teaches “[i]n a discrete-time, episodic, MDP, individual trajectories take the form,
where St; At and Rt are random variables for the state, action and reward, taking values st, at, and rt respectively [(that is, the probability distribution relating to a plurality of discrete random variables)]”);
[(b)] providing a tensor codifying the probability distribution such that each configuration of the plurality of discrete random variables has its respective probability codified therein (Gillman, right column of p. 2, “2.2 Tensor Networks for Hidden Markov Models,” second paragraph, teaches in a diagrammatic notation, “rank-K tensors are represented as shapes with K legs, and contractions are indicated by joining the appropriate legs together. In this notation, Eq. (11) for T = 3 [(that is, each “termination time T” is each configuration of the plurality of discrete random variables)] reads,
As suggested by the chosen notation, Eq. (11) is exactly the TNR for a probability distribution over states produced by a Markovian dynamics. In that case, the components of Mt are equal to the probabilities of state transitions,
while the components of
|
p
0
give the initial probability distribution over states”),
[(b.1)] where all probabilities are greater than or equal to zero and a sum of all probabilities is equal to one (Gillman, left column of p. 3, “2.2 Tensor Networks for Hidden Markov Models,” first paragraph, teaches “Any vector
|
p
t
∈
V
S
, that is a convex combination of the particular basis
|
s
, can be interpreted as a probability distribution over states via their components
s
p
t
=
p
t
s
. This implies their normalization as
-
s
p
t
=
1
, where
-
s
|
is the flat-vector for the basis,
-
s
|
=
∑
s
s
|
”) [(that is, “normalization” is where all probabilities are greater than or equal to zero)]”;
[Examiner notes the plain meaning of the term “greater than or equal to zero and a sum of all probabilities is equal to one” is that of a normalized data where data values are transformed to a specific range, such as 0 to 1, based on the minimum and maximum values in the dataset, and accordingly, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “greater than or equal to zero and a sum of all probabilities is equal to one” covers the teachings of Gillman, which is not inconsistent with the Applicant’s disclosure. (MPEP § 2111.01)];
[(c)] encoding the tensor into a tensor network in the form of a matrix product state (Gillman, left column of p. 3, “2.2 Tensor Networks for Hidden Markov Models,” second paragraph, teaches “[a] more complicated TNR relevant for dynamics is offered by the matrix product state (MPS) representation - also known as the tensor train decomposition (Oseledets, 2011) – of HMMs”),
[(c.1)] where an external index of each tensor of the tensor network represents one discrete random variable of the plurality discrete random variables, and [(c.2)] an internal index or internal indices of each tensor of the tensor network represents correlation between the tensor and the corresponding adjacent tensor of the tensor network (Specification at p. 2, lines 20-23, teaches “[a]s known in the art, the tensors of an MPS have an external index, and one or two internal indices, depending on whether the tensor is at an end of the MPS or not. The external index, also referred to as physical dimension, of each tensor is representative of a respective discrete random variable, hence the MPS has as many tensors as discrete random variables are in the probability distribution. Further, the internal index or indices, also referred to as virtual dimension or dimensions, are representative of the correlation between adjacent tensors;
[Examiner notes that, in view of Applicant’s disclosure, the term “matrix product state” inherently includes “an external index” and “an internal index or internal indices”]); and
[(d)] computing at least one moment of the probability distribution (Gillman, right column of p. 3, “2.3 Tensor Networks for Time Integrated Observables,” first paragraph, teaches that “[w]hen considering dynamics described by an [Hidden Markov Model (HMM)], one is often interested in time integrated observables. Such objects can be represented easily in terms of [tensor networks (TNs)], which in turn allows for the [tensor network representation (TNR)] of averages or higher-order moments [(that is, computing at least one moment of the probability distribution)]”).
[Examiner notes that the Specification at p. 2, lines 28-29, teaches “[b]y operating the tensor network as known in the art, different data can be sampled from the probability distribution since it is encoded in the tensor network itself [(that is, processing the tensor network for sampling of the probability distribution)]”).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Gillman teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12, respectively, as described above in detail.
Gillman teaches -
wherein the at least one processor, the at least one memory, and the computer program code are configured to further cause the device or system to
[(e)] at least carry out the following: providing a predetermined command at least based on the computed at least one moment (Gillman, left column of p. 7, “5.1 Conditioned Dynamics and FMDPs,” first & second paragraphs, teaches that “[a]n elementary example of rare events are \stochastic excursions’ (Majumdar & Orland, 2015), where a simple random walker is conditioned to stay above a certain line and at a given time must return to this line. . . . For an episode with fixed termination time, T, the positions of the random walker are encoded in S={-T, . . . , -1, 0, 1, +T} such that |S| = 2T+1. The action space is Α = {0; 1}, where a = 0, 1 [(that is, “action a = 0, 1” is at least carry out the following: providing a predetermined command at least based on the computer at least one moment)] correspond to a down/up move of the walker, respectively”).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Gillman teaches all of the limitations of claims 2 and 13, respectively, as described above in detail.
Gillman teaches -
[(e.1)] wherein the predetermined command comprises one or both of:
[(e.1.1)] providing a notification indicative of the computed at least one moment to an electronic device; and
[(e.1.2)] providing a command to a controlling device or system associated with the target or to the target itself when the target is either a machine or a system, the predetermined command being for changing a behavior of the target (Gillman, left column of p. 7, “5.1 Conditioned Dynamics and FMDPs,” first & second paragraphs, teaches that “[a]n elementary example of rare events are \stochastic excursions’ (Majumdar & Orland, 2015), where a simple random walker is conditioned to stay above a certain line and at a given time must return to this line. . . . For an episode with fixed termination time, T, the positions of the random walker are encoded in S={-T, . . . , -1, 0, 1, +T} such that |S| = 2T+1. The action space is Α = {0; 1}, where a = 0, 1 [(that is, “action a = 0, 1” is providing a command to a controlling device or system associated with the target itself)] correspond to a down/up move of the walker, respectively [(that is, “the down/up move of the walker” is the predetermined command being for changing a behavior of the target)]”).
Regarding claim 9, Gillman teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above in detail.
Gillman teaches -
[(d)] wherein computing the at least one moment comprises
[(d.1)] computing any one of the first, second, third and fourth moments of the probability distribution by processing the tensor network (Gillman, right column of p. 3, “2.3 Tensor Networks for Time Integrated Observables,” first paragraph, teaches “When considering dynamics described by an HMM, one is often interested in time integrated observables. Such objects can be represented easily in terms of TNs, which in turn allows for the TNR of averages or higher-order moments”).
Regarding claim 10, Gillman teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above in detail.
Gillman teaches -
[(d)] wherein computing the at least one moment comprises
[(d.1)] computing a contraction of the tensor network (Gillman, right column of p. 2, “2.2. Tensor Networks for Hidden Markov Models,” first paragraph, teaches “A TN is a collection of tensors contracted together in a given pattern, typically specified by a graph. . . . Since the matrices are rank-2 tensors and the vector a rank-1 tensor, this can be considered a [tensor network (TN)] consisting of T + 1 tensors, where the contraction pattern is given by the usual matrix products. Performing such a contraction produces a new vector,
|
P
T
[(that is, computing a contraction of the tensor network )]”).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
12. Claims 4-8 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gillman et al., "A Tensor Network Approach to Finite Markov Decision Processes," arXiv (2020) [hereinafter Gillman] in view of Glasser et al., “Expressive power of tensor-network factorizations for probabilistic modeling,” arXiv (2019) [hereinafter Glasser].
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Gillman teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 12, respectively, as described above in detail.
Though Gillman teaches a tensor network representation for dynamics of a matrix product state (MPS) representation (also known as the tensor train decomposition), Gillman, however, does not explicitly teach -
[(c)] wherein encoding the tensor into the tensor network comprises
[(c.3)] factorizing the tensor into the tensors of the tensor network by processing the tensor so that the following equation is solved:
where P is the resulting normalized factorization into the tensors of the tensor network, T is the encoded tensor, and ZT is a predetermined normalization factor ZT=ΣX1, . . . , xN TX 1 , . . . , xN, with X1, . . . , XN being respective N configurations of the plurality of discrete random variables of the probability distribution, TX 1 , . . . , xN being the tensor for the respective configuration, and N being the number of discrete random variables in the plurality of discrete random variables
But Glasser teaches -
[(c)] wherein encoding the tensor into the tensor network comprises
[(c.3)] factorizing the tensor into the tensors of the tensor network by processing the tensor so that the following equation is solved:
where P is the resulting normalized factorization into the tensors of the tensor network, T is the encoded tensor, and ZT is a predetermined normalization factor ZT=ΣX1, . . . , xN TX 1 , . . . , xN, with X1, . . . , XN being respective N configurations of the plurality of discrete random variables of the probability distribution, TX 1