DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/13/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited Yuan (WO2021227057) further in view of Li (Pub No 20230066978).
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the two different TPMI values being associated with different quantity of antenna ports.
The examiner relies on newly cited Yuan to teach the limitation.
All other arguments are fully addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 15-17, 19, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (WO2021227057) further in view of Li (Pub No 20230066978)
Regarding claim 1,
Yuan teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more control messages comprising one or more configuration parameters indicating, for a configured uplink grant: (interpreted as scheduling instructions 1352 for controlling, configuring, and scheduling UL, see para [0105]. Also see scheduling information [grant] para [0041])
a first value of a transmit precoding field, associated with a first quantity of
antenna ports; and a second value of the transmit precoding field, associated with a second quantity
of antenna ports; (interpreted as a scheduling entity can configure a UE with two TPMI configurations. Each TPMI configuration indicates the number of antenna ports, precoder codebook subset restriction type, and maximum rank. In some aspects, the TPMI configurations can configure the UE to use different numbers of antenna ports in multi-panel transmissions. In other aspects, a first TPMI configuration provides the TPMIs of a first length (or a first number of antenna ports) used for CJT, and a second TPMI configuration provides the TPMIs of a second length (or second number of antenna ports) used for NCJT, see para [0086])
sending, for the configured uplink grant, a first transport block using the first value
associated with the first quantity of antenna ports; and (interpreted as if both TPMIs 902 and 904 indicated by the DCI are of a length (e.g., a second length of 2) configured for NCJT, the UE applies NCJT in an UL transmission using a precoder selected according to the TPMIs, see para [0095])
based on receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating the second quantity of
antenna ports, sending, for the configured uplink grant, a second transport block using the second
value associated with the second quantity of antenna ports (interpreted as if both TPMIs 902 and 904 indicated by the DCI are of a length (e.g., a first length of 4) configured for CJT, the UE selects a precoder for CJT according to the TPMIs to perform UL CJT, see para [0094]. Also see transport blocks TB para [0080]).
However, Yuan does not teach control message being RRC messages
Li teaches receiving one or more radio resource (RRC) messages for a configured uplink grant. (interpreted as for a configured grant (e.g., for semi-persistent uplink), SRI and TPMI may be configured via RRC or DCI, see para [0092])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the control message taught by Yuan with the control messages being RRC taught by Li with the motivation to use a known in the art control message for setting up communications.
Regarding claim 8,
Wang teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, one or more control messages comprising one or more configuration parameters indicating at least two values for a transmit precoding field of a configured uplink grant; (interpreted as a scheduling entity can configure a UE with two TPMI configurations. Each TPMI configuration indicates the number of antenna ports, precoder codebook subset restriction type, and maximum rank. In some aspects, the TPMI configurations can configure the UE to use different numbers of antenna ports in multi-panel transmissions. In other aspects, a first TPMI configuration provides the TPMIs of a first length (or a first number of antenna ports) used for CJT, and a second TPMI configuration provides the TPMIs of a second length (or second number of antenna ports) used for NCJT, see para [0086])
sending, for the configured uplink grant, a first transport block using a first value of the at
least two values for the transmit precoding field, wherein the first value is associated with a first
quantity of antenna ports; (interpreted as if both TPMIs 902 and 904 indicated by the DCI are of a length (e.g., a second length of 2) configured for NCJT, the UE applies NCJT in an UL transmission using a precoder selected according to the TPMIs, see para [0095])
based on receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a second quantity of
antenna ports associated with a second value of the at least two values for the transmit precoding
field, setting a quantity of antenna ports of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource associated
with the configured uplink grant to the second quantity of antenna ports; and (interpreted as if both TPMIs 902 and 904 indicated by the DCI are of a length (e.g., a first length of 4) configured for CJT, the UE selects a precoder for CJT according to the TPMIs to perform UL CJT, see para [0094]. Also see transport blocks TB para [0080]. Also see UE can utilize one or more SRS resources to transmit one or more SRSs, and each SRS resource can be used to transmit a beam and can have multiple antenna ports, see para [0083]).
sending, for the configured uplink grant, a second transport block using the second value
for the transmit precoding field (interpreted as if both TPMIs 902 and 904 indicated by the DCI are of a length (e.g., a first length of 4) configured for CJT, the UE selects a precoder for CJT according to the TPMIs to perform UL CJT, see para [0094]. Also see transport blocks TB para [0080]).
However, Yuan does not teach control message being RRC messages
Li teaches receiving one or more radio resource (RRC) messages for a configured uplink grant. (interpreted as for a configured grant (e.g., for semi-persistent uplink), SRI and TPMI may be configured via RRC or DCI, see para [0092])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the control message taught by Yuan with the control messages being RRC taught by Li with the motivation to use a known in the art control message for setting up communications.
Regarding claim 15,
Yuan teaches a method comprising:
sending, by a base station, one or more control messages comprising one or more configuration parameters indicating at least two values for a transmit precoding field of a configured uplink grant; (interpreted as a scheduling entity can configure a UE with two TPMI configurations. Each TPMI configuration indicates the number of antenna ports, precoder codebook subset restriction type, and maximum rank. In some aspects, the TPMI configurations can configure the UE to use different numbers of antenna ports in multi-panel transmissions. In other aspects, a first TPMI configuration provides the TPMIs of a first length (or a first number of antenna ports) used for CJT, and a second TPMI configuration provides the TPMIs of a second length (or second number of antenna ports) used for NCJT, see para [0086])
receiving, for the configured uplink grant, a first transport block using a first value of the
at least two values for the transmit precoding field, wherein the first value is associated with a
first quantity of antenna ports; and (interpreted as if both TPMIs 902 and 904 indicated by the DCI are of a length (e.g., a second length of 2) configured for NCJT, the UE applies NCJT in an UL transmission using a precoder selected according to the TPMIs, see para [0095])
based on sending downlink control information (DCI) indicating a second quantity of
antenna ports associated with a second value of the at least two values for the transmit precoding
field, receiving, for the configured uplink grant, a second transport block using the second value
for the transmit precoding field. (interpreted as if both TPMIs 902 and 904 indicated by the DCI are of a length (e.g., a first length of 4) configured for CJT, the UE selects a precoder for CJT according to the TPMIs to perform UL CJT, see para [0094]. Also see transport blocks TB para [0080]).
However, Yuan does not teach control message being RRC messages
Li teaches receiving one or more radio resource (RRC) messages for a configured uplink grant. (interpreted as for a configured grant (e.g., for semi-persistent uplink), SRI and TPMI may be configured via RRC or DCI, see para [0092])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the control message taught by Yuan with the control messages being RRC taught by Li with the motivation to use a known in the art control message for setting up communications.
Regarding claim 2 and 16,
Yuan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more configuration parameters indicate, for the configured uplink grant, a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource. (interpreted as the scheduling entity (e.g., a gNB) can determine an uplink beam and precoder based on the received SRSs and provide the UE with the determined uplink beam and precoder report or indication. In some examples, the uplink beam and precoder indication may include various parameters such as an SRS resource indicator (SRI) and a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI), see para [0083])
Regarding claim 3,
Yuan teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the one or more configuration parameters indicate, for the SRS resource, the first quantity of antenna ports. (interpreted as (interpreted as the scheduling entity (e.g., a gNB) can determine an uplink beam and precoder based on the received SRSs and provide the UE with the determined uplink beam and precoder report or indication. In some examples, the uplink beam and precoder indication may include various parameters such as an SRS resource indicator (SRI) and a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI), see para [0083]. Also see scheduling entity can configure a UE with two TPMI configurations. Each TPMI configuration indicates the number of antenna ports, precoder codebook subset restriction type, and maximum rank. I
Regarding claim 4 and 17,
Yuan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the sending the first transport block further comprises sending, using a first transmission precoder corresponding to the first value, the first transmission; and the sending the second transmission further comprises sending, using a second transmission precoder corresponding to the second value, the second transmission. (interpreted if both TPMIs 902 and 904 indicated by the DCI are of a length (e.g., a second length of 2) configured for NCJT, the UE applies NCJT in an UL transmission using a precoder selected according to the TPMIs, see para [0095]. Also see if both TPMIs 902 and 904 indicated by the DCI are of a length (e.g., a first length of 4) configured for CJT, the UE selects a precoder for CJT according to the TPMIs to perform UL CJT, see para [0094]. Also see transport blocks TB para [0080]).
Regarding claim 5,
Yuan teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: determining the first transmission precoder based on: a quantity of layers of the first transport block; and precoding information of the first transmission; and determining the second transmission precoder based on: a quantity of layers of the second transmission; and precoding information of the second transmission. (Interpreted as the scheduling entity evaluates the different precoding matrices in the codebook based on the received SRS, then determines the SRS resource, precoding matrix, and signals the corresponding SRI and TPMI to the UE in corresponding DCI fields. FIGs. 7 and 8 illustrate two exemplary tables of precoding information and numbers of layers used for selecting a codebook based on values (e.g., TPMI) indicated in the DCI fields. The UE can select the precoding matrix for a UL transmission based on the precoder parameters received from the scheduling entity, see para [0084])
Regarding claim 6 and 19,
Yuan teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising:
setting, based on the receiving the DCI, a quantity of antenna ports of an SRS resource associated with the configured uplink grant to the second quantity of antenna ports. (Interpreted as the scheduling entity evaluates the different precoding matrices in the codebook based on the received SRS, then determines the SRS resource, precoding matrix, and signals the corresponding SRI and TPMI to the UE in corresponding DCI fields. FIGs. 7 and 8 illustrate two exemplary tables of precoding information and numbers of layers used for selecting a codebook based on values (e.g., TPMI) indicated in the DCI fields. The UE can select the precoding matrix for a UL transmission based on the precoder parameters received from the scheduling entity, see para [0084])
Regarding claim 9,
Yuan teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the one or more configuration parameters indicate, for the configured uplink grant, the SRS resource. (interpreted as the scheduling entity (e.g., a gNB) can determine an uplink beam and precoder based on the received SRSs and provide the UE with the determined uplink beam and precoder report or indication. In some examples, the uplink beam and precoder indication may include various parameters such as an SRS resource indicator (SRI) and a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI), see para [0083])
Regarding claim 10,
Yuan teaches the method of claim 8, wherein: the sending the first transport block further comprises sending, using a first transmission precoder corresponding to the first value, the first transmission; and the sending the second transport block further comprises sending, using a second transmission precoder corresponding to the second value, the second transmission. (interpreted as if both TPMIs 902 and 904 indicated by the DCI are of a length (e.g., a second length of 2) configured for NCJT, the UE applies NCJT in an UL transmission using a precoder selected according to the TPMIs, see para [0095]. If both TPMIs 902 and 904 indicated by the DCI are of a length (e.g., a first length of 4) configured for CJT, the UE selects a precoder for CJT according to the TPMIs to perform UL CJT, see para [0094]. Also see transport blocks TB para [0080])
Regarding claim 11,
Yuan teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: determining the first transmission precoder based on: a quantity of layers of the first transport block; and precoding information of the first transmission; and determining the second transmission precoder based on: a quantity of layers of the second transmission; and precoding information of the second transmission. (interpreted as for example, the rank (and therefore, the number of data streams) assigned to a particular UE on the downlink may be determined based on the rank indicator (RI) transmitted from the UE to the base station. The RI may be determined based on the antenna configuration (e.g., the number of transmit and receive antennas) and a measured signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINR) on each of the receive antennas. The RI may indicate, for example, the number of layers that may be supported under the current channel conditions, see para [0059])
Regarding claim 21,
Wang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first quantity of antenna ports is different from the second quantity of antenna ports. (interpreted as the terminal may send the PUSCHs by using a same port, or may send the PUSCHs by using different ports, where the port may be an SRS port for sending an SRS, or may be a port for sending a PUSCH, see para [0020])
Regarding claim 22,
Wang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the one or more configuration parameters further comprises:
receiving, in a message, the one or more configuration parameters.
Claim(s) 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (WO2021227057) further in view of Li (Pub No 20230066978) and Zhou (Pub No 20210037484)
Regarding claim 7,
Wang teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: sending a wireless device capability message indicating: a maximum quantity of antenna ports for one or more antenna panels at the wireless device.
Zhou teaches further comprising sending a wireless device capability message indicating: a maximum quantity of antenna ports for one or more antenna panels at the wireless device. (interpreted as one or more MIMO parameters indicating a first maximum number of antenna (layers, ports, TRPs, panels, and/or the like) based on which the UE perform MIMO processing (transmission or reception) in the PS operation, one or more first cross-slot scheduling indicator indicating whether cross-slot scheduling is configured or not when the UE is in the PS operation, see para [0292])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the number of antennas taught by Wang to further include the maximum antenna as taught by Zhou since it would have been a simple modification providing expected results of providing upper limits in parameters for communication
Regarding claim 13,
Wang teaches the method of claim 8, however does not teach further comprising: sending a wireless device capability message indicating: a first maximum quantity of antenna ports for a first antenna panel at the wireless device; and a second maximum quantity of antenna ports for a second antenna panel at the wireless device.
Zhou teaches further comprising sending a wireless device capability message indicating: a first maximum quantity of antenna ports for a first antenna panel at the wireless device; and a second maximum quantity of antenna ports for a second antenna panel at the wireless device. (interpreted as one or more MIMO parameters indicating a first maximum number of antenna (layers, ports, TRPs, panels, and/or the like) based on which the UE perform MIMO processing (transmission or reception) in the PS operation, one or more first cross-slot scheduling indicator indicating whether cross-slot scheduling is configured or not when the UE is in the PS operation… The third configuration parameters may comprise at least one of: one or more third SSs and/or one or more third CORESTs on which the UE monitors PDCCHs in the non-PS operation, one or more second DCI formats with which the UE monitors PDCCHs in the non-PS operation, one or more MIMO parameters indicating a second maximum number of antenna (layers, ports, TRPs, panels, and/or the like) based on which the UE perform MIMO processing (transmission or reception) in the non-PS operation, one or more second cross-slot scheduling indicator indicating whether cross-slot scheduling is configured or not when the UE is in the non-PS operation, and/or the like. The, see para [0292])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the number of antennas taught by Wang to further include the maximum antenna as taught by Zhou since it would have been a simple modification providing expected results of providing upper limits in parameters for communication
Claim(s) 12, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (WO2021227057) further in view of Li (Pub No 20230066978) and Zhu (Pub No 20230283430)
Regarding claim 12 and 18,
Yuan teaches The method of claim 8, however does not teach further comprising: receiving a control command indicating activation of a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for the SRS resource, wherein the first TCI state indicates a first reference signal associated with a first antenna panel, of a plurality of antenna panels, at the wireless device, and wherein the DCI indicates activation of a second TCI state for the SRS resource, and wherein the second TCI state indicates a second reference signal associated with a second antenna panel, of the plurality of antenna panels, at the wireless device.
Zhu teaches further comprising: receiving a control command indicating activation of a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for the SRS resource, wherein the first TCI state indicates a first reference signal associated with a first antenna panel, of a plurality of antenna panels, at the wireless device, and wherein the DCI indicates activation of a second TCI state for the SRS resource, and wherein the second TCI state indicates a second reference signal associated with a second antenna panel, of the plurality of antenna panels, at the wireless device. (interpreted as In certain embodiments, if the UE 406 receives the DCI 412 (e.g., a DCI format 0_1) from the first TRP 402 scheduling a PUSCH transmission with the following information: {UL-TCI=2, SRI=SRS1}, based on the UL-TCI field, the UE 406 may transmit the PUSCH transmission with a TX spatial filter (e.g., TX beam) corresponding to CSI-RS2 (see Table 9 correlation), see para [0082]. Also if the UE 406 receives the DCI 412 (e.g., a DCI format 0_1) from the first TRP 402 scheduling a PUSCH transmission with the following information: {UL-TCI=8, SRI=SRS2}, based on the UL-TCI field, the UE 406 may transmit the PUSCH transmission using the TX spatial filter of SRS2 from UE panel 2 and/or UE resource group 2, see para [0083]. Also see In SRS1 may be configured on antenna panel 1 and/or resource group 1, and SRS2 and SRS3 may be configured on antenna panel 2 and/or resource group 2, see para [0085])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the number of antennas taught by Wang to further include the maximum antenna as taught by Zhu with the motivation being to indicate uplink configurations for transmitting.
Regarding claim 14,
Wang teaches the method of claim 8, however does not teach wherein the DCI indicates activation of a TCI state, for the SRS resource, indicating a reference signal associated with an antenna panel, of a plurality of antenna panels, at the wireless device, and wherein the reference signal being associated with the antenna panel comprises receiving or transmitting the reference signal with the antenna panel.
Zhu teaches wherein the DCI indicates activation of a TCI state, for the SRS resource, indicating a reference signal associated with an antenna panel, of a plurality of antenna panels, at the wireless device, and wherein the reference signal being associated with the antenna panel comprises receiving or transmitting the reference signal with the antenna panel. (interpreted as In certain embodiments, if the UE 406 receives the DCI 412 (e.g., a DCI format 0_1) from the first TRP 402 scheduling a PUSCH transmission with the following information: {UL-TCI=2, SRI=SRS1}, based on the UL-TCI field, the UE 406 may transmit the PUSCH transmission with a TX spatial filter (e.g., TX beam) corresponding to CSI-RS2 (see Table 9 correlation), see para [0082]. Also if the UE 406 receives the DCI 412 (e.g., a DCI format 0_1) from the first TRP 402 scheduling a PUSCH transmission with the following information: {UL-TCI=8, SRI=SRS2}, based on the UL-TCI field, the UE 406 may transmit the PUSCH transmission using the TX spatial filter of SRS2 from UE panel 2 and/or UE resource group 2, see para [0083]. Also see In SRS1 may be configured on antenna panel 1 and/or resource group 1, and SRS2 and SRS3 may be configured on antenna panel 2 and/or resource group 2, see para [0085])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the number of antennas taught by Wang to further include the maximum antenna as taught by Zhu with the motivation being to indicate uplink configurations for transmitting.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 20,
The prior art of record do not teach The method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving a wireless device capability message indicating a plurality of maximum quantity of antenna ports for a plurality of antenna panels at a wireless device; and sending an indication of a value of the at least two values for the transmit precoding field, wherein the value is based on a lowest maximum quantity of antenna ports among the plurality of maximum quantity of antenna ports.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461