DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3, 15-16, 41-43, 46, 53, 68, and 75 were previously pending. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 1-3, 15-16, 41-43, 46, 53, 68, and 75 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 of applicant’s remarks:
More specifically, in reply to the last Office Action, as correctly indicated in the Office Action, Applicant argued that the skilled person would not consider a combination of the examples given in paragraph [0106] and [0107], namely use a combination of an explicit ACK (example 2 as described in [0107]) and an implicit NACK (example 1 as described in [0106]). Actually, Applicant argued that the skilled person, without knowledge of the claimed invention, would understand Cao such that for signaling the ACK/NACK, only one of the examples is used, namely either example 1 for implicitly signaling the ACK and the NACK, or explicitly signaling the ACK and the NACK.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated in the most recent Advisory Action sent out on June 26, 2026, Cao discloses in [0106], “The DCI decoded by UE 102a may have different formats and may include different information”. This illustrates a UE that is capable of being able to decode different DCIs, including DCIs with grant for retransmissions that implicitly indicate a NACK as described in [0106] and the simple format in [0107] that explicitly indicates an ACK/NACK. The invention of Cao does not lock the communication of feedback information from the base station to the UE to one particular method, but rather allows the base station a variety of ways to transmit feedback information to the UE, and subsequently allowing the UE to receive the feedback information in a variety of ways. A base station that performs HARQ feedback may choose to use a DCI with explicit feedback signaling for one UL transmission, and may choose to use a DCI with implicit feedback signaling for another UL transmission. It is not out of the ordinary for a base station that is capable of sending HARQ feedback in multiple different methods to use the multiple different methods for sending HARQ feedback. A base station that is able to send out HARQ feedback information in many different ways and a UE that is able to decode the received HARQ feedback in the many different ways allows for a more flexible system.
Applicant argues on pages 8-9 of applicant’s remarks:
In the Office Action, the Examiner outlines that he does not share this view because Cao describes in [0085] that there may be many different possibilities for signaling an ACK or a NACK and that different options are described which may be combined.
Thus, from the reference to the combination of the two or more options, the Examiner concludes that the skilled person would also consider combining the examples of [0106] and [0107]. Applicant respectfully submits that this conclusion is not justified because the description of Cao explicitly refers to the "options described below" which are the options of (1) using a dedicated ACK channel (paragraphs [0086] to [0100]), (2) using an individual ACK/NACK feedback (paragraphs [0101] to [0125]), (3) using the data channel for sending the ACK/NACK (paragraphs [0126] to [0130]), and (4) using a group ACK/NACK (paragraphs [0131] to [0178]).
Further, with reference to Fig. 17, it is described in paragraph [0179] to [0184] how an example process for signaling the ACK/NACK may be implemented and, again, step 508 illustrates the above-mentioned four options.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that without knowledge of the claimed invention, the skilled person would understand that Cao, when referring to a "combination of two or more of the options described below," refers to the above- mentioned options (1) to (4).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The citation of [0085], proves the flexibility of the base station being able to send to the UE different possibilities for signaling an ACK or a NACK for a UE that has sent a grant-free uplink transmission. As illustrated in Figure 17, the base station 100 identifies an uplink transmission from UE 102a, and determines to send an ACK or NACK using one of the four methods: 1. dedicated DL ACK channel, 2. Individual DCI, 3. In downlink data channel, or 4. As part of a group ACK. Examiner notes that for each uplink transmission, the base station can choose one of the particular methods for transmitting ACK or NACK and the UE receives the ACK or NACK using one of the corresponding methods. This does not lock in the particular method that is chosen for transmitting the ACK/NACK for all future UL transmissions.
[0085] of Cao, further discloses “Note that the ACK/NACK described herein may not always be explicitly indicated, but may include an ACK/NACK that is implicitly indicated by a scheduling grant. For example, sometimes the HARQ feedback is a scheduling grant that is scheduling a retransmission of the same transport block (TB) of the grant-free transmission, which may implicitly indicate that the previous grant-free transmission of the TB is not successful (i.e. a NACK). This recitation illustrates again the flexibility of the system to allow the base station to send not only just explicit ACK/NACK indications, but also implicit ACK/NACK indications, as well as a UE that is able to receive the different types HARQ ACK/NACK indications, and correctly decode them for determining feedback information.
Applicant argues on pages 9 of applicant’s remarks:
Further, it is noted that throughout the specification of Cao, reference is always made to the "ACK/NACK". Thus, it is always described how the ACK/NACK is to be signaled, and when it comes to [0106] and [0107], [0106] discloses sending the ACK/NACK implicitly, whereas [0107] signals the ACK/NACK explicitly using one bit. Within option (2) regarding the individual ACK/NACK feedback, it cannot be derived that the different examples should be combined.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated above, Cao discloses a base station capable of sending HARQ ACK/NACK information using various methods, such as transmission of HARQ ACK/NACK through individual DCI using explicit and implicit methods. Even if Cao does not explicitly recite a specific combination of a base station that sends a DCI with explicit ACK and another DCi with an implicit NACK, this specific combination can still be taught based on the UE receiving DCI with feedback information using different methods for different UL transmissions. For example, the UE can receive a first DCI for a first UL transmission using a DCI with explicit ACK signaling, and receive a second DCI for a second UL transmission using a DCI with implicit NACK signaling. As cited in [0106], the DCI decoded by UE 102a may have different formats and may include different information. This suggests the UE being able to receive different types of DCI and decode them properly in order to obtain the feedback information.
Regarding the Examiner's comment that there is "no disclosure of Cao that indicates that explicit signaling of feedback cannot be combined with implicit signaling of feedback" Applicant respectfully submits that the part referring to the combination of the options does not allow for a conclusion that an implicit signaling of the feedback should be combined with an explicit signaling as taught by the claimed invention, rather, as mentioned earlier, the reference to the combination of options means that options (1) to
(4) may be combined which, however, does not relate to combining an explicit ACK and an implicit NACK as is taught by the claimed invention. Significantly, Cao not indicating that a combination can or cannot be made does not teach the skilled person that a combination could or should be made. At best, Cao is silent on this point and, as such, cannot be looked to as teaching that which is not taught.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated above, the UE is capable of receiving DCIs with different format and including different information, decoding the different DCIs, and determining the feedback information from the corresponding DCIs. This illustrates a UE that is flexible enough to receive a DCI using explicitly ACK/NACK signaling as well as DCI using implicit ACK/NACK signaling. Being able to combine different methods as described in [0085], further shows the flexibility of the base station and the UE to send and receive HARQ feedback information in many different ways. Cao does not limit the method of transmission for HARQ ACK/NACKs to a single particular method. As further recited in [0441] of Cao, “The description and drawings are, accordingly, to be regarded simply as an illustration of some embodiments of the invention as defined by the appended claims, and are contemplated to cover any and all modifications, variations, combinations or equivalents that fall within the scope of the present invention. Therefore, although the present invention and its advantages have been described in detail, various changes, substitutions and alterations can be made herein without departing from the invention as defined by the appended claims.”
Since the object of Cao’s invention is to allow for a base station to send ACK/NACK information in various different ways and for a UE to be able to decode ACK/NACK information sent by the base station in the many different ways, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be able to conclude that the UE is capable of receiving and decoding a DCI of a first type that explicitly indicates an ACK for an UL transmission, and receiving and decoding another DCI of a second type that implicitly indicates a NACK for another UL transmission.
As such, the examiner maintains that the prior art teaches the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 15, 16, 41, 42, 46, 53, 68, 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0274563 A1 to Wong et al. (hereinafter “Wong”) in view of US 2018/0123765 A1 to Cao et al. (hereinafter “Cao”)
Regarding Claim 1, Wong teaches A user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system comprising one or more base stations, the UE comprising: (Figure 1, illustrates a wireless communication system comprising mobile terminal devices (i.e. UE), and base stations)
one or more antennas or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, and a transceiver, a processor, and a memory, wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor to cause the UE to: (Figure 6 and [0077], illustrates communication device comprising transceiver, controller and antenna. [0162], discloses memory)
monitor in an RRC_INACTIVE state or in an RRC_IDLE state one or more paging occasions, ([0048], discloses In a typical currently deployed network, idle mode terminal devices are configured to monitor for paging messages periodically. For terminal devices operating in a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode this occurs when they wake up for their DRX awake time. Paging signals for a specific terminal device are transmitted in defined frames (Paging Frames)/sub-frames (Paging Occasions) which for a given terminal device may be derived from the International Mobile Subscriber Identifier (IMSI) of the terminal device, as well as paging related DRX parameters established in system information transmitted within the network. [0046], discloses RRC IDLE state)
perform one or more uplink, UL, transmissions to the base station without entering an RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g., using a configured grant, CG, or pre- configured resources, ([0062]-[0063], discloses transmitting signals in pre-configured uplink resources (PUR) in idle and/or connected mode. [0081], further discloses uplink data transmission from a communications device which is in a non-connected mode (i.e. idle mode). This uplink data transmission can be performed using PUR or uplink EDT over message 3)
monitor one or more paging occasions following the one or more UL transmissions for a message from the base station, the message being associated with feedback information, e.g., HARQ feedback formation, for the one or more UL transmissions (Examiner notes that examples in claim language are non-limiting. [0081], discloses a “downlink transmission opportunity” may be provided after an uplink data transmission from a communications device which is in a non-connected mode (i.e. idle mode). This uplink data transmission can be performed using PUR or uplink EDT over message 3. Figure 7 and [0082], illustrates sub-paging occasions at 72, 73, 74, and 75 that occur after UL transmission is performed in step 71. The network can therefore transmit an application layer acknowledgement (or any corresponding application layer downlink message) (i.e. feedback information from the base station) to the UE during one of these 4 sub-POs 72, 73, 74, 75.)
Wong does not explicitly teach determine a successful receipt, ACK, of the one or more UL transmissions at the base station when the message is of a first type, and determine a non-successful receipt, NACK, of the one or more UL transmissions at the base station, when the message is a second type, and
wherein the message of the first type is a first DCI comprising feedback indicating a successful receipt, ACK, and the message of the second type is a second DCI different from the first DCI, the second DCI comprising no feedback but scheduling information for a retransmission.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Cao discloses in [0085], discloses There are many different possibilities for signaling an ACK or a NACK (when used) to a UE that has sent a grant-free uplink transmission. Different options are described below. A combination of two or more of the options described below may be used. [0106], discloses The DCI decoded by UE 102a may have different formats and may include different information. As one example, the DCI may include a grant for a retransmission, indicating to the UE 102a that the base station did not successfully decode the initial grant-free uplink transmission. In such instances, a NACK may not be explicitly included in the DCI since a NACK is implicit by virtue of the fact that the DCI includes a grant for a retransmission (i.e. second type DCI message indicating NACK comprising no feedback but scheduling information for a retransmission). [0107], discloses in some embodiments, the DCI has a relatively simple format, e.g. does not include information for a grant. As an example, the DCI could be as simple a one bit: ‘0’ for ACK and ‘1’ for NACK, or vice versa (i.e. first type DCI message indicating ACK)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong to include the above limitations as suggested by Cao, as allowing for different possibilities for signaling an ACK or NACK as indicated in [0085] allows for a more flexible system.
Regarding Claim 2, Wong/Cao teaches The user device, UE, of claim 1, wherein Wong further teaches the feedback information comprises a feedback for a single UL transmission or a bundled feedback for a plurality of UL transmissions or a feedback for a number of HARQ processes. ([0103], discloses wherein the downlink signal comprises an application layer acknowledgement of the transmitted user plane data.)
Regarding Claim 3, Wong/Cao teaches The user device, UE, of claim 1, wherein Wong further teaches the UE is to monitor a paging occasion not only for a paging-related message but also for a feedback related message. (([0048], discloses terminal devices are configured to monitor for paging messages (i.e. paging related) periodically during paging occasions. [0081]-[0082], discloses monitoring sub-paging occasions for application layer acknowledgement (i.e. feedback related message))
Regarding Claim 15, Wong/Cao teaches the user device, UE, of claim 1, wherein Cao further teaches the second DCI comprises the same length as the first DCI but comprises additional information, like an additional information, IE, comprising one or more bits for differentiating the second DCI and the first DCI, or the included CRC is scrambled with an RNTI other than P-RNTI, or comprises a different length as the paging DCI. ([0110], discloses In general, the DCI used for HARQ feedback (ACK/NACK or grant) with respect to a grant-free transmission may be associated with the GF C-RNTI or GB C-RNTI (i.e. scrambled with an RNTI other than P-RNTI). Examiner notes a UE-specific RNTI (i.e. C-RNTI) is different from a paging RNTI) Examiner maintains same motivation as indicated in Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 16, Wong/Cao teaches The user device, UE, of claim 1, wherein,
Wong further teaches in case the feedback information comprises scheduling information for a retransmission one or more of the following is indicated: - a time factor indicating when to perform the retransmission with respect to the paging occasion at which the message is received, ([0084], the communications device is configured to receive (e.g. from the infrastructure equipment) an indication that the communications device should monitor one or more further sub POs located later in time to the one or more sub POs of the preconfigured set of downlink radio resources. This arrangement is beneficial if the server needs additional time to provide the application layer message to the device or the eNodeB received the application layer message but unable to schedule the message to the UE. This said indicator (i.e. time factor) can be signalled using a DCI via an MPDCCH in the common search space for paging or using a DL EDT)
Cao further teaches an exact time/frequency allocation of the retransmission. ([0106], discloses the DCI may include a grant (i.e. scheduling information) for a retransmission, indicating to the UE 102a that the base station did not successfully decode the initial grant-free uplink transmission. [0124], further discloses A scheduling grant, indicating the resource, including time-frequency resource, MCS, reference signal, MA signature, etc. that the UE will use for the following transmissions or retransmissions) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 41, Wong teaches A base station, BS, for a wireless communication system, (Figure 1, illustrates a wireless communication system comprising mobile terminal devices and base stations) the BS comprising:
one or more antennas or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, and a transceiver; a processor, and a memory, wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor to cause the UE to: (Figure 6 and [0077], illustrates infrastructure device comprising transceiver, controller and antenna. [0162], discloses memory)
receive one or more uplink, UL, transmissions from a user device, UE, ([0062]-[0063], discloses transmitting signals in pre-configured uplink resources (PUR) in idle and/or connected mode. [0081], further discloses uplink data transmission from a communications device which is in a non-connected mode (i.e. idle mode). This uplink data transmission can be performed using PUR or uplink EDT over message 3)
the UE being in an RRC_INACTIVE state or in an RRC_IDLE state and not entering an RRC_CONNECTED state for the transmission, ([0048], discloses In a typical currently deployed network, idle mode terminal devices are configured to monitor for paging messages periodically. For terminal devices operating in a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode this occurs when they wake up for their DRX awake time. Paging signals for a specific terminal device are transmitted in defined frames (Paging Frames)/sub-frames (Paging Occasions) which for a given terminal device may be derived from the International Mobile Subscriber Identifier (IMSI) of the terminal device, as well as paging related DRX parameters established in system information transmitted within the network. [0046], discloses RRC IDLE state) and
transmit, following the one or more UL transmissions, a message to the UE at one or more paging occasions monitored by the UE, the message being associated with feedback information, (Examiner notes that examples in claim language are non-limiting. [0081], discloses a “downlink transmission opportunity” may be provided after an uplink data transmission from a communications device which is in a non-connected mode (i.e. idle mode). This uplink data transmission can be performed using PUR or uplink EDT over message 3. Figure 7 and [0082], illustrates sub-paging occasions at 72, 73, 74, and 75 that occur after UL transmission is performed in step 71. The network can therefore transmit an application layer acknowledgement (or any corresponding application layer downlink message) (i.e. feedback information from the base station) to the UE during one of these 4 sub-POs 72, 73, 74, 75.)
Wong does not explicitly teach transmit, responsive to a successful receipt, ACK, of the one or more UL transmissions at the base station, a message of a first type, and transmit, responsive to a non-successful receipt, NACK, of the one or more UL transmissions at the base station, a message is a second type including scheduling information for a retransmission, and
wherein the message of the first type is a first DCI comprising feedback indicating a successful receipt, ACK, and the message of the second type is a second DCI different from the first DCI, the second DCI comprising no feedback but scheduling information for a retransmission.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Cao discloses in [0085], discloses There are many different possibilities for signaling an ACK or a NACK (when used) to a UE that has sent a grant-free uplink transmission. Different options are described below. A combination of two or more of the options described below may be used. [0106], discloses The DCI decoded by UE 102a may have different formats and may include different information. As one example, the DCI may include a grant for a retransmission, indicating to the UE 102a that the base station did not successfully decode the initial grant-free uplink transmission. In such instances, a NACK may not be explicitly included in the DCI since a NACK is implicit by virtue of the fact that the DCI includes a grant for a retransmission (i.e. second type DCI message indicating NACK comprising no feedback but scheduling information for a retransmission). [0107], discloses in some embodiments, the DCI has a relatively simple format, e.g. does not include information for a grant. As an example, the DCI could be as simple a one bit: ‘0’ for ACK and ‘1’ for NACK, or vice versa (i.e. first type DCI message indicating ACK)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong to include the above limitations as suggested by Cao, as allowing for different possibilities for signaling an ACK or NACK as indicated in [0085] allows for a more flexible system.
Regarding Claim 42, Wong/Cao teaches The base station, BS, of claim 41, wherein Wong further teaches the feedback information comprises a feedback for a single UL transmission or a bundled feedback for a plurality of UL transmissions or a feedback for a number of HARQ processes regardless of the number of actually performed UL transmissions in the related period. ([0103], discloses wherein the downlink signal comprises an application layer acknowledgement of the transmitted user plane data.)
Regarding Claim 46, Wong/Cao teaches The base station, BS, of claim 41, wherein
Cao further teaches differentiating the second DCI and the first DCI, the second DCI comprises the same length as the first DCI but comprises additional information, like an additional information element, IE, comprising one or more bits, or comprises a different length as the first DCI. ([0109], discloses the individual DCI may be transmitted together with other information for the UE, e.g. additional data to be transmitted to the UE and/or a grant to send a retransmission of a current transport block (TB) or new transmission of a new TB.) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 41 above.
Regarding Claim 53, Wong/Cao teaches The base station, BS, of claim 41, wherein,
Wong further teaches the second DCI indicates one or more of the following: - a time factor indicating when to perform the retransmission with respect to the paging occasion at which the message is received, ([0084], the communications device is configured to receive (e.g. from the infrastructure equipment) an indication that the communications device should monitor one or more further sub POs located later in time to the one or more sub POs of the preconfigured set of downlink radio resources. This arrangement is beneficial if the server needs additional time to provide the application layer message to the device or the eNodeB received the application layer message but unable to schedule the message to the UE. This said indicator (i.e. time factor) can be signalled using a DCI via an MPDCCH in the common search space for paging or using a DL EDT)
Cao further teaches - an exact time/frequency allocation of the retransmission, - an information element, IE, indicating either a single or bundled feedback. ([0106], discloses the DCI may include a grant (i.e. scheduling information) for a retransmission, indicating to the UE 102a that the base station did not successfully decode the initial grant-free uplink transmission. [0124], further discloses A scheduling grant, indicating the resource, including time-frequency resource, MCS, reference signal, MA signature, etc. that the UE will use for the following transmissions or retransmissions. [0165], further discloses in some embodiments, there may be a specific 1-bit field indicating that the ACK/NACK is a group ACK/NACK ) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in claim 41 above.
Regarding Claim 68, Wong teaches a method for wireless communication system,
the wireless communication system comprising one or more base stations, and a user device, (Figure 1, illustrates a wireless communication system comprising mobile terminal devices (i.e. UE), and base stations) UE, being in an RRC_INACTIVE state or in an RRC_IDLE state, the method comprising: monitoring, by the UE, one or more paging occasions, ([0048], discloses In a typical currently deployed network, idle mode terminal devices are configured to monitor for paging messages periodically. For terminal devices operating in a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode this occurs when they wake up for their DRX awake time. Paging signals for a specific terminal device are transmitted in defined frames (Paging Frames)/sub-frames (Paging Occasions) which for a given terminal device may be derived from the International Mobile Subscriber Identifier (IMSI) of the terminal device, as well as paging related DRX parameters established in system information transmitted within the network. [0046], discloses RRC IDLE state)
performing, by the UE, one or more uplink, UL, transmissions to the base station without entering an RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g., using a configured grant, CG, or pre-configured resources, ([0062]-[0063], discloses transmitting signals in pre-configured uplink resources (PUR) in idle and/or connected mode. [0081], further discloses uplink data transmission from a communications device which is in a non-connected mode (i.e. idle mode). This uplink data transmission can be performed using PUR or uplink EDT over message 3)
monitoring, by the UE, one or more paging occasions following the one or more UL transmissions for a message from the base station, the message being associated with feedback information, (Examiner notes that examples in claim language are non-limiting. [0081], discloses a “downlink transmission opportunity” may be provided after an uplink data transmission from a communications device which is in a non-connected mode (i.e. idle mode). This uplink data transmission can be performed using PUR or uplink EDT over message 3. Figure 7 and [0082], illustrates sub-paging occasions at 72, 73, 74, and 75 that occur after UL transmission is performed in step 71. The network can therefore transmit an application layer acknowledgement (or any corresponding application layer downlink message) (i.e. feedback information from the base station) to the UE during one of these 4 sub-POs 72, 73, 74, 75.)
Wong does not explicitly teach determine, by the UE, a successful receipt, ACK, of the one or more UL transmissions at the base station when the message is of a first type, and determine, by the UE, a non-successful receipt, NACK, of the one or more UL transmissions at the base station, when the message is a second type, and
wherein the message of the first type is a first DCI comprising feedback indicating a successful receipt, ACK, and the message of the second type is a second DCI different from the first DCI, the second DCI comprising no feedback but scheduling information for a retransmission.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Cao discloses in [0085], discloses There are many different possibilities for signaling an ACK or a NACK (when used) to a UE that has sent a grant-free uplink transmission. Different options are described below. A combination of two or more of the options described below may be used. [0106], discloses The DCI decoded by UE 102a may have different formats and may include different information. As one example, the DCI may include a grant for a retransmission, indicating to the UE 102a that the base station did not successfully decode the initial grant-free uplink transmission. In such instances, a NACK may not be explicitly included in the DCI since a NACK is implicit by virtue of the fact that the DCI includes a grant for a retransmission (i.e. second type DCI message indicating NACK comprising no feedback but scheduling information for a retransmission). [0107], discloses in some embodiments, the DCI has a relatively simple format, e.g. does not include information for a grant. As an example, the DCI could be as simple a one bit: ‘0’ for ACK and ‘1’ for NACK, or vice versa (i.e. first type DCI message indicating ACK)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong to include the above limitations as suggested by Cao, as allowing for different possibilities for signaling an ACK or NACK as indicated in [0085] allows for a more flexible system.
Regarding Claim 75, Wong/Cao teaches the user device, UE of claim 1, wherein the second DCI does not include an explicit feedback of the successful receipt, ACK, or of the non-successful receipt, NACK, of the one or more UL transmissions at the base station. ([0106], discloses The DCI decoded by UE 102a may have different formats and may include different information. As one example, the DCI may include a grant for a retransmission, indicating to the UE 102a that the base station did not successfully decode the initial grant-free uplink transmission. In such instances, a NACK may not be explicitly included in the DCI since a NACK is implicit by virtue of the fact that the DCI includes a grant for a retransmission (i.e. second type DCI message indicating NACK comprising no feedback but scheduling information for a retransmission)) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong/Matsuda in view of US 2022/00232608 A1 (foreign priority date of Mar. 28, 2019) to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”)
Regarding Claim 43, Wong/Matsuda teaches The base station, BS, of claim 41, wherein
Wong teaches in [0084], receiving an indication that the communications device should monitor one or more further sub POs located later in time to the one or more sub POs of the preconfigured set of downlink radio resources. This arrangement is beneficial if the server needs additional time to provide the application layer message to the device or the eNodeB received the application layer message but unable to schedule the message to the UE, but Wong/Matsuda does not explicitly teach the BS is not to transmit the message, in case there is a paging of the UE from the radio access network or from the core network at the paging occasion, or in case there is a data transmission or reception at the paging occasion.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kim discloses in [0381]-[0384], when PUR SS collides (i.e. in case there is a transmission/reception or paging at the paging occasion) with a paging SS (e.g., Type1-CSS) or a paging PDSCH. In this instance, the PUR SS means a search space monitored for DL feedback information and/or DL assignment during and/or after PUR (re)transmission, and the paging PDSCH is a PDSCH used to send a paging message, i.e., a PDSCH assigned by a PDCCH. In addition, a base station includes paging indication information and information scheduling a corresponding paging PDSCH in DCI (e.g., DCI with CRC scrambled by PUR-RNTI) for DL feedback monitoring or DL assignment transmitted on the PUR SS and may transmit it to the UE. In this instance, the DCI may indicate a location of the paging SS, and the location may be given as an offset value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong/Matsuda to include the above limitations as suggested by Kim, in order to achieve efficient PUR transmission as indicated in [0024] of Kim.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENKEY VAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477