DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation “a pair of opposed grooves facing away from the rigid orientation plate” in claim 1 is not shown or disclosed in manner in which the claims are written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 10, 12, 16, 18, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 3355181) in view of Boeve (US 7070187).
Regarding claims 1, Olson discloses a gasket plate Fig. 1 comprising: a rigid orientation plate 40 defining an opening therethrough at a predetermined location and retaining at least one seal 42 in the opening at the predetermined location in the orientation plate with a tongue and groove arrangement 44, 45 circumscribing the opening and the seal at a first interface between the rigid orientation plate and the seal; and a rigid insert 43 placed inside the seal such that the seal interposes the insert and the orientation plate, the seal retaining the rigid insert; wherein the tongue and groove arrangement 44, 45 comprises a tongue uninterruptedly circumscribing the seal and fitted into a groove uninterruptedly circumscribing the opening; and wherein the first interface between the rigid orientation plate and the seal comprises a vertical cross section of complementary curved surfaces. However, Olson fails to disclose a pair of opposed grooves facing away from the rigid orientation plate. Boeve, a gasket plate assembly 10 Fig. 1, discloses the use of a pair of opposed grooves (110, 120 of Annotated Fig. 3B, below) facing away from a rigid orientation plate 14. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the seal of Olson with opposed grooves as taught by Boeve in order to provide the necessary flexibility of the seal thus ensuring a more secure seal.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses a gasket plate Fig. 1 comprising: a planar orientation plate 40 having a thickness and defining a passage through the thickness, the passage defining a passage wall; an elastomeric seal 42 abutting the passage wall; and a rigid annular insert 43 contacting the elastomeric seal and retaining the seal against the passage; wherein the passage wall defines a groove 45 that is curved in vertical cross section uninterruptedly circumscribing the passage that receives a tongue 44 protruding from and uninterruptedly circumscribing an outer perimeter of the elastomeric seal.
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses wherein the elastomeric seal 42 comprises a rubber and is vulcanized to the insert.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses wherein the insert 43 stretches the elastomeric seal 42 and presses it into the passage wall.
Regarding claim 10, the combination discloses wherein the rigid insert 43 defines a groove 45 that receives part of the elastomeric seal 42.
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses a gasket plate (10 of Goeve) comprising: an orientation plate 14 having a thickness and a plurality of passages 20, 22 defined therethrough, wherein each passage has: an elastomeric seal 42 in the passage; a rigid, annular insert 43 contacting the elastomeric seal and preventing collapse of the elastomeric seal away from a passage wall; and a tongue and groove interface 44, 45 between the elastomeric seal and the passage wall; wherein the tongue and groove interface comprises a tongue 44 circumscribing the seal fitted into a groove 45 circumscribing the passage; and wherein the tongue and groove interface comprises complementary curves defined continuously at a contact point between the tongue and the groove Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses wherein the elastomeric seal 42 is bonded to the insert 43.
Regarding claim 18, the combination discloses wherein the elastomeric seal 42 is circular.
Regarding claim 20, the combination discloses wherein the elastomeric seal 42 defines upper and lower tongues 47 on upper and lower surfaces thereof, respectively, facing away from a plane of the orientation plate.
Regarding claim 21, the combination discloses wherein the elastomeric seal comprises upper and lower groves 110, 120 facing away from the orientation plate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pat. 5700017 to Tensor is disclosed to illustrate a seal assembly having a rigid insert 86 and a seal 30 in an opening of gasket plate 22.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675