DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7,10, 12, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olson (US 3355181).
Regarding claims 1, Olson discloses a gasket plate Fig. 1 comprising: a rigid orientation plate 40 defining an opening therethrough at a predetermined location and retaining at least one seal 42 in the opening at the predetermined location in the orientation plate with a tongue and groove arrangement 44, 45 circumscribing the opening and the seal at a first interface between the rigid orientation plate and the seal; and a rigid insert 43 placed inside the seal such that the seal interposes the insert and the orientation plate, the seal retaining the rigid insert; wherein the tongue and groove arrangement 44, 45 comprises a tongue uninterruptedly circumscribing the seal and fitted into a groove uninterruptedly circumscribing the opening; and wherein the first interface between the rigid orientation plate and the seal comprises a vertical cross section of complementary curved surfaces. Regarding claim 5, Olson discloses a gasket plate Fig. 1 comprising: a planar orientation plate 40 having a thickness and defining a passage through the thickness, the passage defining a passage wall; an elastomeric seal 42 abutting the passage wall; and a rigid annular insert 43 contacting the elastomeric seal and retaining the seal against the passage; wherein the passage wall defines a groove 45 that is curved in vertical cross section uninterruptedly circumscribing the passage that receives a tongue 44 protruding from and uninterruptedly circumscribing an outer perimeter of the elastomeric seal.
Regarding claim 6, Olson discloses wherein the elastomeric seal 42 comprises a rubber and is vulcanized to the insert.
Regarding claim 7, Olson discloses wherein the insert 43 stretches the elastomeric seal 42 and presses it into the passage wall.
Regarding claim 10, Olson discloses wherein the rigid insert 43 defines a groove 45 that receives part of the elastomeric seal 42.
Regarding claim 12, Olson discloses a gasket plate Fig. 1 comprising: an orientation plate 40 having a thickness and a plurality of passages defined therethrough, wherein each passage has: an elastomeric seal 42 in the passage; a rigid, annular insert 43 contacting the elastomeric seal and preventing collapse of the elastomeric seal away from a passage wall; and a tongue and groove interface 44, 45 between the elastomeric seal and the passage wall; wherein the tongue and groove interface comprises a tongue 44 circumscribing the seal fitted into a groove 45 circumscribing the passage; and wherein the tongue and groove interface comprises complementary curves defined continuously at a contact point between the tongue and the groove Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 16, Olson discloses wherein the elastomeric seal 42 is bonded to the insert 43.
Regarding claim 18, Olson discloses wherein the elastomeric seal 42 is circular.
Regarding claim 20, Olson discloses wherein the elastomeric seal 42 defines upper and lower tongues 47 on upper and lower surfaces thereof, respectively, facing away from a plane of the orientation plate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675