DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Amendments/Response filed on October 29, 2025. Claims 1, 4, 9, 17 and 20 have been amended. No additional claims have been added. Claims 5-7 and 21-23 have been cancelled. Claims 1-4, 8-20 and 24-27 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
The examiner fully acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 4, 9, 17 and 20 filed on October 29, 2025. The cancellation of the terms in question have been fully accepted, thus the drawing objections set forth in the previous office action are withdrawn.
The amendments to the claim 17 have addressed the 112(b) rejection previously submitted.
The applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 20 are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections set forth in the previous actions.
Previously, claim 1 was indicated as being unpatentable over Kabasawa et al. (US PG Pub NO. 20210114164) in view of Nabeya (US PG Pub No. 20070135020) and Godwin (US PG Pub No. 20150152747).
Claim 20 was indicated as being unpatentable over Kabasawa et al. (US PG Pub NO. 20210114164) in view of Motoshima et al. (US PG Pub No. 20130023186).
However, the amendments do not overcome the art of record. The rejection from the previous action will be updated to address the amended limitations as presented.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-15, filed October 29, 2025 have been fully considered.
112(b) Rejections: Applicant’s arguments/remarks considering the 112(b) rejection, regarding “slit-shaped” have been considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 20 their dependents have been considered. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features, amended in the presently filed claims, upon which applicant relies were not recited in the previously rejected claim(s).
The examiner respectfully disagrees that the art fails to meet the newly amended limitations. Kabasawa teaches in it’s disclosure “[0012] In an embodiment, the pad-temperature regulating device comprises a plurality of infrared heaters arranged in a radial direction of the polishing pad, and the controller individually controls each of the infrared heaters to partially change the surface temperature of the polishing pad.” Additionally, Nabeya teaches “[0048]:…flow rate adjusters…are provided in the pipes 33, respectively, for individually adjusting flow rates of the gas to be ejected through the ejection nozzles 32...” In light of these teachings, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to have the controller configured to individually adjust the opening and closing of the means for supplying the pad-temperature controlling gas to the polishing pad according to the temperature profile. Please see the updated rejection set forth in this action.
In pursuit of compact prosecution, the examiner would like to illuminate that, as shown in Applicant’s fig 11, the individual piezo elements are arranged in two rows used in conjunction with each other to open and close each radial section. This appears to be a distinguishing characteristic from your prior art, but does not appear in the presently filed claims. If presented, it would be considered to at least overcome the rejection of present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 12-14, 17-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabasawa et al. (US PG Pub NO. 20210114164) in view of Nabeya (US PG Pub No. 20070135020) and Godwin (US PG Pub No. 20150152747).
In regards to claim 1, Kabasawa discloses
a polishing apparatus comprising:
a polishing table (polishing table 2, fig. 1-12) which supports a polishing pad (polishing pad 3, fig. 1-12);
a polishing head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3-4) which polishes a substrate (wafer W, fig. 1, 3-4) by pressing the substrate (wafer W, fig. 1, 3-4) against a polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) of the polishing pad (polishing pad 3, fig. 1-12);
[0002] There is a polishing apparatus that holds a wafer by a top ring, rotates the wafer, and presses the wafer against a polishing pad on a rotating polishing table to polish a surface of the wafer.
a thermometer (pad-temperature measuring device 10, fig. 1, 3-4;
[0037] As shown in FIG. 1, the polishing apparatus PA includes a pad-temperature measuring device 10 for measuring the surface temperature of the polishing pad 3 (i.e., temperature of the polishing surface 3a))
which measures a temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12);
a pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; the embodiment being used is the one described in [0076] and shown in FIG. 12 wherein both the infrared heater 15 and fluid heating nozzle 30 are combined; [0076]… As shown in FIG. 12 (both), the embodiment shown in FIG. 5 (infrared heater) and the embodiment shown in FIG. 9 (heating fluid nozzle) may be combined.
[0038] FIG. 2 is a view showing the pad-temperature regulating device 5 arranged above the polishing pad 3. As shown in FIG. 2, the pad-temperature regulating device 5 is a non-contact type pad-temperature regulating device arranged above the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3.)
[0066]…includes a heating fluid nozzle 30 for spraying a heating fluid onto the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3.
[0072] As shown in FIGS. 9 and 10, the pad-temperature regulating device 5 may include a heat insulating cover 35 for covering the suction port 25a of the suction nozzle 25 and the supply port 30a of the heating fluid nozzle 30.
[0076] FIG. 12 is a view showing still another embodiment of the pad-temperature regulating device 5. As shown in FIG. 12, the embodiment shown in FIG. 5 and the embodiment shown in FIG. 9 may be combined. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 12, the reflector 16 is attached to an inner surface of the heat insulating cover 35. The embodiment shown in FIG. 2 (i.e., the embodiment in which the reflector 16 is not provided) and the embodiment shown in FIG. 9 may be combined.
which adjusts the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12);
and a controller (controller 11, fig. 1, 3, 7, 10-11; [0037]) which controls an operation of the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; [0076]) based on the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) measured by the thermometer (pad-temperature measuring device 10, fig. 1, 3-4; [0037]),
[0037] As shown in FIG. 1, the polishing apparatus PA includes a pad-temperature measuring device 10 for measuring the surface temperature of the polishing pad 3 (i.e., temperature of the polishing surface 3a) and a controller 11 for controlling the pad-temperature regulating device 5 based on the surface temperature of the polishing pad 3 measured by the pad-temperature measuring device 10. In FIG. 1, although the controller 11 is arranged outside the partition wall 7, the controller 11 may be arranged inside the partition wall 7.
wherein the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; [0076]) includes a pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078])
[0066] In the embodiment shown in FIGS. 9 and 10, the pad-temperature regulating device 5 does not include the infrared heater 15, but instead includes a heating fluid nozzle 30 for spraying a heating fluid onto the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3.
[0068] As shown in FIGS. 9 and 10, the heating fluid nozzle 30 has a plurality of supply ports 30a arranged around the suction port 25a of the suction nozzle 25 so that the heating fluid flows toward the suction port 25a of the suction nozzle 25.
[0069] As shown in FIG. 10, the heating fluid nozzle 30 is connected to a heating fluid supply source 32. More specifically, the supply port 30a of the heating fluid nozzle 30 is arranged above the polishing surface 3a, and a connection end 30b of the heating fluid nozzle 30 is connected to the heating fluid supply source 32 via a supply line 31. A control valve 33 is connected to the supply line 31. The heating fluid nozzle 30, the supply line 31, the heating fluid supply source 32, and the control valve 33 constitute a heating mechanism 50. The pad-temperature regulating device 5 includes the heating mechanism 50.
which is disposed to be separated upward (see fig. 9 – ann. 1) from the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12), and wherein the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]) includes a longitudinal portion which extends in a substantially radial direction (see fig. 9 – ann. 1) of the polishing pad (polishing pad 3, fig. 1-12) and
an injection port (supply port 30a, fig. 9-12) which is slit-shaped (ports 30a have an opening, and the opening is considered a slit) and formed in a longitudinal direction of the longitudinal portion and injects a heating fluid toward the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12).
[0070] The controller 11 is electrically connected to the control valve 33. When the controller 11 opens the control valve 33, the heating fluid is supplied from the supply port 30a of the heating fluid nozzle 30 toward the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3 through the supply line 31. Examples of the heating fluid include high-temperature air (i.e., hot air), heated steam and superheated steam. The superheated steam means high temperature steam obtained by further heating saturated steam.
Kabasawa fails to disclose that the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; [0076]) further includes “a shutter mechanism which adjusts an opening degree of” the injection port (supply port 30a, fig. 9-12).
However, Nabeya discloses:
[0048] As shown in FIG. 3, the ejection nozzles 32 are coupled to a gas source 34 for supplying a gas, such as a compressed air or nitrogen gas, via pipes 33, respectively, so that the gas is ejected from the gas source 34 through the ejection nozzles 32. Needle valves (i.e., flow rate adjusters) 35 are provided in the pipes 33, respectively, for individually adjusting flow rates of the gas to be ejected through the ejection nozzles 32... the respective needle valves 35 are operated by commands from the controller 50.
Nabeya and Kabasawa are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of polishing pad stations with means for maintaining the pad temperature through heating and cooling elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kabasawa to incorporate the teachings of Nabeya and provide a needle valve, understood as a shutter to adjust an opening degree of the injection port responsible for ejecting gas, to functionally control the flow rate of gas for the purpose of maintaining a target temperature of the polishing pad.
Kabasawa discloses the thermometer (pad-temperature measuring device 10, fig. 1, 3-4; [0037]) is a measuring device (pad-temperature measuring device 10, fig. 1, 3-4) capable of measuring a temperature profile in a radial direction of the polishing pad (polishing pad 3, fig. 1-12),
but fails to disclose that the shutter mechanism “includes piezo elements arranged in a longitudinal direction” of the injection port (supply port 30a, fig. 9-12) of the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]).
Godwin teaches:
[0078] A valve 802 is provided at each of the distribution conduits 126a-d to control flow of fluid into and out of the heat exchange chamber 128. Each of the valves 802 can be opened and closed according to a timing pattern based on the position of the vessel 800 as it rotates in the engine. The valves 802 can be electrically controllable valves, such as solenoid valves, and can be controlled according to a program to time delivery of fluid. Alternatively or additionally, the controllable valves 802 can be actuated by mechanical, pneumatic, hydraulic, magnetic, piezo, or other technique.
While Godwin may not be considered within the same field of endeavor, it is analogous to the claimed invention as it does provide a means for controlling valve fluid flow through electrical or mechanical means. As Kabasawa as modified is silent as for the means of controlling the opening and closing of the valves that dictate flow, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kabasawa to incorporate the teachings of Godwin and provide piezo elements to functionally open and close the valves dictating fluid flow and thus the distribution of heating fluid.
As such, Kabasawa as modified would have the controller (controller 11, fig. 1, 3, 7, 10-11; [0037]) is capable to independently control ([0012], [0058]) the temperature profile in the radial direction of the polishing pad by independently controlling an expansion and contraction amount of each of the piezo elements (Nabeya teaches individually opening and closing valves for flow control; Godwin teaches piezo actuators as the means for opening and closing the valves) based at different positions along the radial direction of the polishing pad based on the temperature profile (as Kabasawa as modified discloses opening and closing the control valves based on the temperature sensor reading, it would be obvious that the inclusion of piezo elements controlling the valve flow rate would be controlled by the function of the controller).
[0012] In an embodiment, the pad-temperature regulating device comprises a plurality of infrared heaters arranged in a radial direction of the polishing pad, and the controller individually controls each of the infrared heaters to partially change the surface temperature of the polishing pad.
[0059] In one embodiment, the polishing apparatus PA may include a temperature sensor 27 arranged in the polishing chamber 8 (see FIG. 7). The temperature sensor 27 is electrically connected to the controller 11, and the temperature of the polishing chamber 8 measured by the temperature sensor 27 is sent to the controller 11. The controller 11 controls the temperature of the polishing chamber 8 measured by the temperature sensor 27 so that the temperature of the polishing chamber 8 is maintained at a predetermined temperature or does not exceed the predetermined temperature.
[0075] In one embodiment, the controller 11 controls the pad-temperature regulating device 5 (more specifically, control valve 28 and control valve 33) so that the flow rate of the fluid sucked by the suction nozzle 25 is equal to or higher than the flow rate of the heating fluid supplied from the heating fluid nozzle 30).
In regards to claim 2, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; [0076]) further includes a vertical movement mechanism (motor, [0078]) which moves the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]) upward and downward with respect to the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12).
[0078]…the controller 11 may control the operation of a motor (not shown) capable of adjusting the height of the infrared heater 15.
In regards to claim 8, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; [0076]) further includes a cooling mechanism (cooling device 17, fig. 1, 3-4) which includes the pad cooler which is disposed to be separated upward (see fig. 1, cooling device 17 is shown above the polishing pad) from the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) injects a cooling fluid to the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) and cools the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12).
[0051] In one embodiment, the pad-temperature regulating device 5 may include a cooling device 17 for cooling the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3 (see FIG. 1). An example of the cooling device 17 may include a cooling device that sprays gas onto the polishing surface 3a to cool the polishing surface 3a. As shown in FIG. 1, the cooling device 17 is electrically connected to the controller 11, and the controller 11 can control the cooling device 17 independently of the infrared heater 15
In regards to claim 10, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the pad cooler includes a longitudinal portion which extends in a substantially radial direction of the polishing pad (polishing pad 3, fig. 1-12), but fails to disclose
“a plurality of injection ports which is arranged in a longitudinal direction of the longitudinal portion and injects the cooling fluid toward” the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12), and also fails to disclose that the cooling mechanism (cooling device 17, fig. 1, 3-4) further includes “a shutter mechanism which comprises a shutter and adjusts an opening degree of the plurality of injection ports of the pad cooler.”
Kabasawa as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a “plurality” of injection ports. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date to provide a plurality of injection ports instead of only one, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Nabeya discloses:
[0048] As shown in FIG. 3, the ejection nozzles 32 are coupled to a gas source 34 for supplying a gas, such as a compressed air or nitrogen gas, via pipes 33, respectively, so that the gas is ejected from the gas source 34 through the ejection nozzles 32. Needle valves (i.e., flow rate adjusters) 35 are provided in the pipes 33, respectively, for individually adjusting flow rates of the gas to be ejected through the ejection nozzles 32... the respective needle valves 35 are operated by commands from the controller 50.
Nabeya and Kabasawa are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of polishing pad stations with means for maintaining the pad temperature through heating and cooling elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kabasawa to incorporate the teachings of Nabeya and provide a needle valve, understood as a shutter, to adjust an opening degree of the injection port responsible for ejecting gas, to functionally control the flow rate of gas for the purpose of maintaining a target temperature of the polishing pad.
In regards to claim 12, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; [0076]) further includes a suction mechanism (suction mechanism 40, fig. 6-7, 9-12) which is disposed above the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) and sucks air above the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12).
[0056] The suction nozzle 25 is connected to a suction device 26. More specifically, a suction port 25a of the suction nozzle 25 is disposed above the polishing surface 3a, and a connection end 25b of the suction nozzle 25 is connected to the suction device 26 via a suction line 24. A control valve 28 is connected to the suction line 24. The suction nozzle 25, the suction line 24, the control valve 28 and the suction device 26 constitute a suction mechanism 40. The pad-temperature regulating device 5 includes the suction mechanism 40.
In regards to claim 13, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; [0076]) further includes a heater (heating fluid supply source 32, fig. 10-11) which is disposed in the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30, fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]).
[0069] As shown in FIG. 10, the heating fluid nozzle 30 is connected to a heating fluid supply source 32. More specifically, the supply port 30a of the heating fluid nozzle 30 is arranged above the polishing surface 3a, and a connection end 30b of the heating fluid nozzle 30 is connected to the heating fluid supply source 32 via a supply line 31. A control valve 33 is connected to the supply line 31. The heating fluid nozzle 30, the supply line 31, the heating fluid supply source 32, and the control valve 33 constitute a heating mechanism 50. The pad-temperature regulating device 5 includes the heating mechanism 50.
[0070] The controller 11 is electrically connected to the control valve 33. When the controller 11 opens the control valve 33, the heating fluid is supplied from the supply port 30a of the heating fluid nozzle 30 toward the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3 through the supply line 31. Examples of the heating fluid include high-temperature air (i.e., hot air), heated steam and superheated steam. The superheated steam means high temperature steam obtained by further heating saturated steam.
In regards to claim 14, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the polishing table (polishing table 2, fig. 1-12) is disposed in a polishing chamber (polishing chamber 8), and wherein the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; [0076]) further includes a polishing chamber suction device (suction nozzle 25, fig. 10) which sucks air in the polishing chamber (polishing chamber 8) so that a pressure in the polishing chamber (polishing chamber 8) is maintained at a predetermined value.
[0074] In a polishing unit that constitutes the polishing chamber 8…Therefore, a negative pressure is formed inside the polishing unit (i.e., the polishing chamber 8), and the pressure is kept lower than that of the other units (for example, the cleaning unit). If the pad-temperature regulating device 5 continues to supply the heating fluid through the heating fluid nozzle 30, the pressure in the polishing chamber 8 may increase above a predetermined pressure. Therefore, the controller 11 monitors the pressure in the polishing chamber 8 by means such as a pressure sensor (not shown) arranged in the polishing chamber 8 and maintains the pressure in the polishing chamber 8 at an appropriate pressure. The opening/closing operation of the control valve 33 (and/or the control valve 28) may be controlled.
[0075] In one embodiment, the controller 11 controls the pad-temperature regulating device 5 (more specifically, control valve 28 and control valve 33) so that the flow rate of the fluid sucked by the suction nozzle 25 is equal to or higher than the flow rate of the heating fluid supplied from the heating fluid nozzle 30. By such control, the pad-temperature regulating device 5 can maintain the pressure in the polishing chamber 8 at an appropriate pressure …
In regards to claim 16, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the heating fluid is superheated steam.
[0070] … Examples of the heating fluid include high-temperature air (i.e., hot air), heated steam and superheated steam. The superheated steam means high temperature steam obtained by further heating saturated steam.
In regards to claim 17, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller (controller 11, fig. 1, 3, 7, 10-11; [0037]) executes a pad temperature adjustment start operation (described in paragraphs [0044-0045], [0047] and [0070]) when starting surface temperature control of the polishing pad (polishing pad 3, fig. 1-12),
and wherein the pad temperature adjustment start operation (described in paragraphs [0044-0045], [0047] and [0070]) is an operation of supplying the heating fluid having a flow rate larger than a flow rate of the heating fluid calculated and/or supplying the heating fluid having a temperature larger than a temperature of the heating fluid calculated ([0044]: Kabasawa relies on information being feedback; as such, it reacts/adjusts to the pad temperature compared setpoints; it would then be able to output a flow rate larger than an initial calculation in reaction to the need) so that the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) reaches a target temperature to the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]).
[0044] … The controller 11 controls the pad-temperature regulating device 5 (more specifically, the infrared heater 15) based on the measured surface temperature so that the surface temperature of the polishing pad 3 is maintained at a preset target temperature. For example, the controller 11 performs feedback control (more specifically, PID control) of the pad-temperature regulating device 5 based on the surface temperature measured by the pad-temperature measuring device 10.
[0045] The controller 11 includes a memory 11a for storing a program and a processer 11b for executing a calculation according to the program. The controller 11 including a computer operates according to a program electrically stored in the memory 11a. The program includes at least a command to operate the pad-temperature regulating device 5.
[0047]… The controller 11 controls the pad-temperature regulating device 5 based on the determined target temperature so that the surface temperature of the polishing pad 3 is maintained at the target temperature.
[0070] The controller 11 is electrically connected to the control valve 33. When the controller 11 opens the control valve 33, the heating fluid is supplied from the supply port 30a of the heating fluid nozzle 30 toward the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3 through the supply line 31.
In regards to claim 18, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; [0076]) further includes a heating fluid supply line (supply line 30) which supplies the heating fluid to the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]) and a flow rate regulator (control valve 33) which is disposed in the heating fluid supply line (supply line 30), and wherein the controller (controller 11, fig. 1, 3, 7, 10-11; [0037]) increases a flow rate of the heating fluid using the flow rate regulator during the pad temperature adjustment start operation.
[0070] The controller 11 is electrically connected to the control valve 33. When the controller 11 opens the control valve 33, the heating fluid is supplied from the supply port 30a of the heating fluid nozzle 30 toward the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3 through the supply line 31.
[0075] In one embodiment, the controller 11 controls the pad-temperature regulating device 5 (more specifically, control valve 28 and control valve 33) so that the flow rate of the fluid sucked by the suction nozzle 25 is equal to or higher than the flow rate of the heating fluid supplied from the heating fluid nozzle 30.
In regards to claim 19, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 17, but fails to explicitly disclose that the control (controller 11, fig. 1, 3, 7, 10-11; [0037]) “ends” the pad temperature adjustment start operation (described in paragraphs [0044-0045], [0047] and [0070]) when the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) of the polishing pad (polishing pad 3, fig. 1-12) reaches the target temperature.
Kabasawa as modified discloses that the controller maintains the target temperature, ie., supplies fluid amongst other properties in order to have the polishing pad reach the desired temperature.
[0047] The controller 11 controls the pad-temperature regulating device 5 based on the determined target temperature so that the surface temperature of the polishing pad 3 is maintained at the target temperature.
So if the pad temperature is below the desired target, the controller would supply liquid as necessary. A skilled artisan would consider it Kabasawa capable of doing the opposite: a polishing pad at the target temperature would not require heating, and the controller would cause the appropriate valve to close, ceasing the supply of heating fluid.
Claims 3, 4, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabasawa in view of Nabeya (US PG Pub No. 20070135020) and Godwin (US PG Pub No. 20150152747), and in further view of Motoshima et al. (US PG Pub No. 20200306920)
In regards to claim 3, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose that the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; [0076]) further includes “a rotating mechanism which rotates” the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]) in a horizontal direction with respect to the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12).
Kabasawa fails to explicitly disclose a rotating mechanism, however does disclose that capacity to accommodate rotating the heating element, as it discloses that the heater may be configured to change the angle of the fluid nozzle, “changing the angle” understood as having a pivot point about which some partial rotation occurs:
[0078] … When changing the angle at which the heating fluid is applied to the polishing surface 3a, the controller 11 may control the operation of a motor (not shown) capable of changing the angle of the heating fluid nozzle 30.
Further, Motoshima teaches using an actuator to rotate heat exchanger through a connection to a pivot arm:
[0020] In an embodiment, the pivoting mechanism includes; a shaft coupled to the heat exchanger through an arm; an actuator configured to rotate the shaft to pivot the arm and the heat exchanger with respect to the surface of the polishing pad; a cam mechanism configured to convert a rotational movement of the shaft into a turning movement of the heat exchanger
[0075] The pad-temperature regulating apparatus 5 includes a heat exchanger 11…
Kabasawa and Motoshima are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of polishing apparatus with polishing pads, temperature measuring and temperature regulating devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kabasawa as modified with a means for rotating the pad heater as taught by Motoshima, using the disclosed pad-temperature regulating device, based on intended use, size and scale of the device, and basic engineering principles, to best suit the intended function of controlling the pad heater so that it may rotate and access different regions of the polishing pad, in order to maintain the desired target temperature.
In regards to claim 4, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose that the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12; [0076]) further includes “an actuator which rotates” the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]) about a longitudinal axis (understood as the center point about which the pad heater will rotate/pivot) of the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]).
Kabasawa as modified fails to explicitly disclose a rotating mechanism, however does disclose that capacity to accommodate rotating the heating element, as it discloses that the heater may be configured to change the angle of the fluid nozzle, “changing the angle” understood as having a pivot point about which some partial rotation occurs ([0078]).
Further, Motoshima teaches using an actuator to rotate heat exchanger through a connection to a pivot arm:
[0020] In an embodiment, the pivoting mechanism includes; a shaft coupled to the heat exchanger through an arm; an actuator configured to rotate the shaft to pivot the arm and the heat exchanger with respect to the surface of the polishing pad; a cam mechanism configured to convert a rotational movement of the shaft into a turning movement of the heat exchanger
[0075] The pad-temperature regulating apparatus 5 includes a heat exchanger 11…
Kabasawa and Motoshima are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of polishing apparatus with polishing pads, temperature measuring and temperature regulating devices. Therefore, Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kabasawa as modified with a means adjusting the angle of the pad heater as taught by Motoshima, using the disclosed pad-temperature regulating device, based on intended use, size and scale of the device, and basic engineering principles, to best suit the intended function of controlling the pad heater so that it may rotate and change the angle at which fluid is applied to the polishing surface, allowing for access different regions of the polishing pad, in order to maintain the desired target temperature.
In regards to claim 11, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 8, but fails to disclose that the cooling mechanism (cooling device 17, fig. 1, 3-4) further includes “a guide plate which is attached to the pad cooler and an actuator which rotates the guide plate.”
Motoshima discloses:
[0039] In a preferred aspect of the present invention, the polishing apparatus further comprises a mechanism for adjusting a direction of the gas ejection nozzle cover and/or a mechanism for adjusting a direction of the gas direction adjustment plate.
[0200] FIGS. 24A, 24B and 24C are views showing mechanisms for adjusting the directions of the gas direction adjustment plates 136…
[0201] In the example shown in FIG. 24A, one side of a triangle-shaped gas direction adjustment plate 136 is fixed to a shaft 137, and the upper end of the shaft 137 is coupled to a servomotor or a rotary actuator 138. With this arrangement, when the servomotor or the rotary actuator 138 is operated, the gas direction adjustment plate 136 is swung about the shaft 137 to change the gas guide angle (.theta.3) of the gas direction adjustment plate 136…
Kabasawa and Motoshima are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, polishing units with means for regulating polishing pad temperature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kabasawa as modified to incorporate the guide plate described by Motoshima in order to keep the temperature regulating units free of slurry residue, as “the flow direction of the gas ejected from the gas ejection nozzle can be controlled by the gas direction adjustment plate, and thus the gas can be flowed along the polishing pad and the polishing pad can be cooled efficiently (Motoshima [0035]).
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabasawa in view of Nabeya (US PG Pub No. 20070135020) and Godwin (US PG Pub No. 20150152747), and in further view of Ono et al. (US PG Pub No. 20120190273)
In regards to claim 9, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the cooling mechanism (cooling device 17, fig. 1, 3-4) includes a pad cooler which is disposed to be separated upward (see fig. 1, cooling device 17 is shown above the polishing pad;
[0051]…the pad-temperature regulating device 5 may include a cooling device 17 for cooling the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3 (see FIG. 1). An example of the cooling device 17 may include a cooling device that sprays gas onto the polishing surface 3a to cool the polishing surface 3a.)
from the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12), and wherein the pad temperature adjusting device (pad-temperature regulating device 5, fig. 1-12), but fails to disclose “an actuator which rotates the pad cooler about a longitudinal axis” of the pad cooler.
Kabasawa as modified fails to explicitly disclose a rotating mechanism for the cooling mechanism.
However, Ono teaches an actuator arm for rotating a cooling mechanism about its “own axis”, understood as a longitudinal axis:
[0039] Above the polishing pad 14 is disposed a nozzle support arm 22 which extends parallel to the polishing surface 14a of the polishing pad 14 approximately in the radial direction of the polishing pad 14. As shown in FIG. 2, to the bottom of the nozzle support arm 22 are mounted cooling nozzles 24 as a cooling device, which communicate with the interior of the nozzle support arm 22 and cool the polishing pad 14 by blowing compressed air as a dry gas toward the polishing pad 14. Each cooling nozzle 24 has a nozzle opening …
[0040] The nozzle support arm 22 is connected to a compressed air supply line 26 extending from a compressed air supply source... After passing though the pressure control valve 28 and the flow meter 30, compressed air flows into the nozzle support arm 22 and is blown toward the polishing pad 14 from the openings 24a of the cooling nozzles 24. The nozzle support arm 22 is rotatable about its own axis by a servomotor 31. The blow direction of compressed air (dry gas), blown from the nozzle openings 24a of the cooling nozzles 24, can be adjusted by rotating the nozzle support arm 22.
Kabasawa and Ono are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of polishing apparatus with polishing pads, temperature measuring and temperature regulating devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kabasawa as modified with a means for adjusting the angle of the pad cooler in light of the teachings of Ono, using the disclosed pad-temperature regulating device, based on intended use, size and scale of the device, and basic engineering principles, to best suit the intended function of controlling the pad cooler so that it may rotate and change the angle at which fluid is applied to the polishing surface, allowing for access different regions of the polishing pad, in order to maintain the desired target temperature, as “the temperature of the polishing pad is controlled so that surface irregularities of the surface to be polished, the number of defects or the amount of unpolished metal can be minimized. This can prevent an unpolished portion from remaining in a scattered state on the surface to be polished after polishing without entailing a significant lowering of the polishing rate (Ono [0011]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabasawa in view of Nabeya (US PG Pub No. 20070135020) and Godwin (US PG Pub No. 20150152747), and in further view of Maruyama et al. (US PG Pub No. 20190126428).
In regards to claim 15, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising “a cleaning device which cleans” the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]) at a retreat position on a side of the polishing pad (polishing pad 3, fig. 1-12).
However, Maruyama discloses:
[0055] The pad-temperature regulating apparatus 5 further includes a plurality of cleaning nozzles 60 for spraying pure water onto a side surface 11a of the heat exchanger 11 to clean the heat exchanger 11. These cleaning nozzles 60 are directed toward the side surface 11a. In this embodiment, two cleaning nozzles 60 are provided, while three or more cleaning nozzles 60 may be provided. The cleaning nozzles 60 are provided to remove the slurry, used for polishing the wafer W, from the side surface 11a of the heat exchanger 11 with a jet of pure water.
[0077] As shown in FIG. 9C, after the water polishing process, the heat exchanger 11 is moved upward by the elevating mechanism 20 to separate the heat exchanger 11 from the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3. The pure water is sprayed from the cleaning nozzles 60 to the side surface 11a of the heat exchanger 11 to wash away the slurry adhering to the side surface 11a of the heat exchanger 11. During the cleaning with the cleaning nozzles 60, dressing of the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3 may be performed by a dresser (not shown).
Kabasawa and Maruyama are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, polishing units with means for regulating polishing pad temperature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Kabasawa to incorporate the cleaning nozzles of Maruyama in order to keep the temperature regulating units free of slurry residue, which would result from being in proximity of the polishing pad during polishing operation extending operational lifespan and improving efficiency.
Claims 20, 24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabasawa et al. (US PG Pub NO. 20210114164) in view of Nabeya (US PG Pub No. 20070135020) and Godwin (US PG Pub No. 20150152747).
In regards to claim 20, Kabasawa as modified discloses
a polishing method of polishing a substrate (wafer W, fig. 1, 3-4) by pressing the substrate (wafer W, fig. 1, 3-4) against a polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) of a polishing pad (polishing pad 3, fig. 1-12) while adjusting a temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) using a pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]) disposed to be separated upward from the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12),
wherein when starting temperature control of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12), a pad temperature adjustment start operation (described in paragraphs [0044-0045], [0047] and [0070]) is executed so that the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) reaches a target temperature,
wherein the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) is maintained at the target temperature by injecting a heating fluid from an injection port (supply port 30a, fig. 9-12)
[0070] The controller 11 is electrically connected to the control valve 33. When the controller 11 opens the control valve 33, the heating fluid is supplied from the supply port 30a of the heating fluid nozzle 30 toward the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3 through the supply line 31
which is slit-shaped and formed in a longitudinal portion of the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]) based on the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) measured by a thermometer (pad-temperature measuring device 10, fig. 1, 3-4; [0037]) measuring the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) during polishing of the substrate (wafer W, fig. 1, 3-4), and
wherein the pad temperature adjustment start operation is an operation of supplying the heating fluid having a flow rate larger than a flow rate of the heating fluid calculated and/or the heating fluid having a temperature larger than a temperature of the heating fluid calculated ([0044], see note in claim 17 rejection) so that the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) reaches the target temperature to the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]),
wherein maintaining the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) at the target temperature is executed by at least one of an operation of adjusting the temperature and/or the flow rate of the heating fluid ([0070], ([0075]),
capable of an operation of adjusting a vertical movement of the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078])
[0078] … When changing the distance between the infrared heater 15 and the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3, the controller 11 may control the operation of a motor (not shown) capable of adjusting the height of the infrared heater 15 (as Kabasawa has capacity to adjust the height of the infrared heater, a skilled artisan would consider it capable of adjusting the height of the heating supply nozzles as well).
with respect to the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12), an operation of adjusting a rotation operation in a horizontal direction of the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]) with respect to the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12), and an operation of adjusting a rotation operation of rotating the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]) about a longitudinal axis of the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]).
Kabasawa discloses the thermometer (pad-temperature measuring device 10, fig. 1, 3-4; [0037]) is a measuring device (pad-temperature measuring device 10, fig. 1, 3-4) capable of measuring a temperature profile in a radial direction of the polishing pad (polishing pad 3, fig. 1-12),
but fails to disclose that the shutter “includes piezo elements arranged” in a longitudinal direction of the injection port (supply port 30a, fig. 9-12) of the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]), and
“wherein the flow rate of the heating fluid is adjusted by adjusting an expansion and contraction amount of each piezo element based on the temperature profile.”
Godwin teaches:
[0078] A valve 802 is provided at each of the distribution conduits 126a-d to control flow of fluid into and out of the heat exchange chamber 128. Each of the valves 802 can be opened and closed according to a timing pattern based on the position of the vessel 800 as it rotates in the engine. The valves 802 can be electrically controllable valves, such as solenoid valves, and can be controlled according to a program to time delivery of fluid. Alternatively or additionally, the controllable valves 802 can be actuated by mechanical, pneumatic, hydraulic, magnetic, piezo, or other technique.
Further Kabasawa as modified discloses opening and closing the control valves based on the temperature sensor reading. As such, a skilled artisan would find it obvious that the inclusion of piezo elements controlling the valve flow rate would be controlled by the function of the controller.
[0059] In one embodiment, the polishing apparatus PA may include a temperature sensor 27 arranged in the polishing chamber 8 (see FIG. 7). The temperature sensor 27 is electrically connected to the controller 11, and the temperature of the polishing chamber 8 measured by the temperature sensor 27 is sent to the controller 11. The controller 11 controls the temperature of the polishing chamber 8 measured by the temperature sensor 27 so that the temperature of the polishing chamber 8 is maintained at a predetermined temperature or does not exceed the predetermined temperature.
[0075] In one embodiment, the controller 11 controls the pad-temperature regulating device 5 (more specifically, control valve 28 and control valve 33) so that the flow rate of the fluid sucked by the suction nozzle 25 is equal to or higher than the flow rate of the heating fluid supplied from the heating fluid nozzle 30).
While Godwin may not be considered within the same field of endeavor, but it is analogous to the claimed invention as it does provide a means for controlling valve fluid flow through electrical or mechanical means. As Kabasawa as modified is silent as for the means of controlling the opening and closing of the valves that dictate flow, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kabasawa to incorporate the teachings of Godwin and provide piezo elements to functionally open and close the valves dictating fluid flow and thus the distribution of heating fluid.
As such, Kabasawa as modified would have the controller (controller 11, fig. 1, 3, 7, 10-11; [0037]) is capable to independently control ([0012], [0058]) the temperature profile in the radial direction of the polishing pad by independently controlling an expansion and contraction amount of each of the piezo elements (Nabeya teaches individually opening and closing valves for flow control; Godwin teaches piezo actuators as the means for opening and closing the valves) based at different positions along the radial direction of the polishing pad based on the temperature profile (as Kabasawa as modified discloses opening and closing the control valves based on the temperature sensor reading, it would be obvious that the inclusion of piezo elements controlling the valve flow rate would be controlled by the function of the controller).
In regards to claim 24, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing method according to claim 20, wherein maintaining the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) at the target temperature is executed by the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]) and a cooling mechanism (cooling device 17, fig. 1, 3-4 [0051]) for cooling the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) by injecting a cooling fluid to the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12).
In regards to claim 26, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing method according to claim 20, wherein the pad temperature adjustment start operation is an operation of increasing the flow rate of the heating fluid using a flow rate regulator disposed in a heating fluid supply line supplying the heating fluid to the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]).
[0044] … The controller 11 controls the pad-temperature regulating device 5 (more specifically, the infrared heater 15) based on the measured surface temperature so that the surface temperature of the polishing pad 3 is maintained at a preset target temperature.
[0045] The controller 11 includes a memory 11a for storing a program and a processer 11b for executing a calculation according to the program. The controller 11 including a computer operates according to a program electrically stored in the memory 11a. The program includes at least a command to operate the pad-temperature regulating device 5.
[0070] The controller 11 is electrically connected to the control valve 33. When the controller 11 opens the control valve 33, the heating fluid is supplied from the supply port 30a of the heating fluid nozzle 30 toward the polishing surface 3a of the polishing pad 3 through the supply line 31.
[0075] In one embodiment, the controller 11 controls the pad-temperature regulating device 5 (more specifically, control valve 28 and control valve 33) so that the flow rate of the fluid sucked by the suction nozzle 25 is equal to or higher than the flow rate of the heating fluid supplied from the heating fluid nozzle 30.
In regards to claim 27, Kabasawa as modified discloses
the polishing method of claim 20, when the temperature of the polishing surface of the polishing pad reaches the target temperature (described in paragraphs [0044-0045], [0047] and [0070]), the pad temperature adjust start operation is ended ([0066-0078]); reaching the target temperature is considered a completion of the operation).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabasawa, Nabeya, and Godwin in further view of Motoshima et al. (US PG Pub No. 20200306920).
In regards to claim 25, Kabasawa discloses
the polishing method according to claim 24, wherein the cooling mechanism (cooling device 17, fig. 1, 3-4) includes a pad cooler which is disposed to be separated upward (see fig. 1, cooling device 17 is shown above the polishing pad) from the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12), wherein the pad cooler includes a longitudinal portion which extends in a substantially radial direction of the polishing pad (polishing pad 3, fig. 1-12),
but fails to disclose “and a plurality of injection ports which is arranged in a longitudinal direction of the longitudinal portion” and injects the cooling fluid toward the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12), and
fails to disclose that wherein a step of maintaining the temperature of the polishing surface (polishing surface 3a, fig. 1-12) at the target temperature is executed by further adding at “least one of an operation of adjusting a rotation operation of rotating the pad cooler about a longitudinal axis of the pad cooler, an operation of adjusting an opening degree of the plurality of injection ports of the pad cooler by a shutter, and an operation of adjusting a rotation operation of a guide plate attached to the pad cooler.”
Kabasawa discloses the claimed invention except for a “plurality” of injection ports. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date to provide a plurality of injection ports instead of only one, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B) St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Nabeya discloses:
[0048] As shown in FIG. 3, the ejection nozzles 32 are coupled to a gas source 34 for supplying a gas, such as a compressed air or nitrogen gas, via pipes 33, respectively, so that the gas is ejected from the gas source 34 through the ejection nozzles 32. Needle valves (i.e., flow rate adjusters) 35 are provided in the pipes 33, respectively, for individually adjusting flow rates of the gas to be ejected through the ejection nozzles 32... the respective needle valves 35 are operated by commands from the controller 50.
Nabeya and Kabasawa are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of polishing pad stations with means for maintaining the pad temperature through heating and cooling elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kabasawa to incorporate the teachings of Nabeya and provide a needle valve to adjust an opening degree of the injection port responsible for ejecting gas, to functionally control the flow rate of gas for the purpose of maintaining a target temperature of the polishing pad.
Kabasawa fails to explicitly disclose a rotating mechanism, however does disclose that capacity to accommodate rotating the heating element.
[0078] … When changing the angle at which the heating fluid is applied to the polishing surface 3a, the controller 11 may control the operation of a motor (not shown) capable of changing the angle of the heating fluid nozzle 30.
Pursuant of MPEP 2144.04.III, (In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958)), the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Kabasawa with a means for automating the manual process of adjust the angle of the pad cooler, using the disclosed pad-temperature regulating device, based on intended use, size and scale of the device, and basic engineering principles, to best suit the intended function of controlling the pad cooler so that it may rotate and change the angle at which fluid is applied to the polishing surface, allowing for access different regions of the polishing pad, in order to maintain the desired target temperature.
Motoshima discloses:
[0034] In a preferred aspect of the present invention, at least one gas direction adjustment plate for controlling a flow direction of the gas ejected from the gas ejection nozzle is provided inside the gas ejection nozzle cover, and the gas direction adjustment plate comprises a plate-like member extending from the gas ejection nozzle cover toward the polishing pad.
[0038] According to the present invention, the angle of the flat plate-like gas direction adjustment plate is set, for example, in the range of 15 to 45 degrees, and thus the polishing pad can be cooled by high cooling capacity.
[0039] In a preferred aspect of the present invention, the polishing apparatus further comprises a mechanism for adjusting a direction of the gas ejection nozzle cover and/or a mechanism for adjusting a direction of the gas direction adjustment plate.
[0200] FIGS. 24A, 24B and 24C are views showing mechanisms for adjusting the directions of the gas direction adjustment plates 136…
[0201] In the example shown in FIG. 24A, one side of a triangle-shaped gas direction adjustment plate 136 is fixed to a shaft 137, and the upper end of the shaft 137 is coupled to a servomotor or a rotary actuator 138. With this arrangement, when the servomotor or the rotary actuator 138 is operated, the gas direction adjustment plate 136 is swung about the shaft 137 to change the gas guide angle (.theta.3) of the gas direction adjustment plate 136…
Kabasawa and Motoshima are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, polishing units with means for regulating polishing pad temperature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kabasawa to incorporate the guide plate described by Motoshima in order to keep the temperature regulating units free of slurry residue, as “the flow direction of the gas ejected from the gas ejection nozzle can be controlled by the gas direction adjustment plate, and thus the gas can be flowed along the polishing pad and the polishing pad can be cooled efficiently (Motoshima [0035]).”
Kabasawa fails to disclose that “the flow rate of the heating fluid is adjusted by a shutter capable of adjusting an opening degree” of the injection port (supply port 30a, fig. 9-12) of the pad heater (heating fluid nozzle 30; fig. 9-12; [0066-0078]).
However, Nabeya discloses:
[0048] As shown in FIG. 3, the ejection nozzles 32 are coupled to a gas source 34 for supplying a gas, such as a compressed air or nitrogen gas, via pipes 33, respectively, so that the gas is ejected from the gas source 34 through the ejection nozzles 32. Needle valves (i.e., flow rate adjusters) 35 are provided in the pipes 33, respectively, for individually adjusting flow rates of the gas to be ejected through the ejection nozzles 32... the respective needle valves 35 are operated by commands from the controller 50.
Nabeya and Kabasawa are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of polishing pad stations with means for maintaining the pad temperature through heating and cooling elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kabasawa to incorporate the teachings of Nabeya and provide a needle valve, understood as a shutter to adjust an opening degree of the injection port responsible for ejecting gas, to functionally control the flow rate of gas for the purpose of maintaining a target temperature of the polishing pad.
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723