DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 21 October 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant successfully argues that Ma does not adequately teach the specific solid or liquid materials recited are used for dispersing the nano-encapsulated phase-change materials. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection of claim 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 21 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that new limitations more clearly define the structural and performance features that characterize the claimed product. However, many of the examples recited are drawn to the process of making the nano-encapsulated phase-change material and not the actual product. It remains unclear how there process steps materially change the final product claimed. As Ma teaches core-shell particles with a 230 nm size and further teaches the specific materials recited in the dependent claims it is unclear exactly how the process changes the final product structurally.
Additionally, applicant discusses that the polymeric shell has high encapsulation efficiency, resistance to rupture under impact, and long-term thermal cycling stability. However, high encapsulation efficiency is not justification for a composition as it appears that the composition is the same a nanoscale capsule with a cross-linked polymeric shell. Additionally, the resistance to rupture under impact and long-term thermal cycling stability while properties of the product are not presented clearly in the specification in a way that would support that they would necessarily be present in all compositions covered by the instant claims, or that they would not be present in the art of Ma. Additionally, these properties are broad property statements and not disclosed as clear limitations in the claims.
Applicant further states that Ma does not teach that the nano-encapsulated PCM can be in a PU0based or textile compatible matrix. However, these limitations are not found in claim 11 but in claim 12 where the rejection has been withdrawn. Claim 11 is a broad claim to drawn to a matrix comprising any solid or liquid. The reaction solvent broadly reads on this claim limitation.
Accordingly, the rejections of Claims 1-9 and 11 in view of Ma have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (CN103804558, English translation provided for citations, hereinafter referred to as “Ma”).
As to Claim 1: Ma teaches a nanocapsule phase change material emulsion [0002] wherein the phase change material is in the core and there is a shell encapsulating the phase change material [0002-0004]. Ma further teaches that the particle size of the core-shell particles is 230 nm [0056]. The ratio limitation is drawn to the process of making the material and not the material itself. The ratio limitation is considered to be product by process claim limitation and is considered for the final product and not the process of attaining them. As the material of claim 1 is met by the prior art it is considered to read on the ratio as well.
As to Claim 2: Ma teaches the material of claim 1 (supra). Ma further teaches that the cross-linker can be allyl methacrylate [0023].
As to Claims 3 and 4: Ma teaches the material of claim 1 (supra), Ma further teaches that the material can include a chain transfer agent such as dodecyl mercaptan [0022].
As to Claim 5: Ma teaches the material of claim 1 (supra). Ma further teaches that the phase change material can be a C16-27 alkane [0024].
As to Claim 6: Ma teaches the material of claim 1 (supra). Ma further teaches that the phase change material can be hexadecane [0050].
As to Claim 7: Ma teaches the material of claim 1 (supra). Ma further teaches that the monomer can be styrene [0050].
As to Claim 8: Ma teaches the material of claim 1 (supra). Ma further teaches that the initiator can be potassium persulfate [0054].
As to Claim 9: Ma teaches the material of claim 1 (supra). The instant claims are drawn to specific surfactants used in the process of making the material and not the material itself. As the surfactant, or emulsifier, is there to add stability but does not appear to chemically interact in the polymerization product the washing of the material as discussed in [0045] would indicate a material of claim 1 being met without the necessary presence of the stabilizer/emulsifier. Accordingly, the instant claim limitations are considered to be product by process claims and are considered for the final product and not the process of attaining them. As the material of claim 1 is met it is considered to read on the instant claim.
As to Claim 11: Ma teaches the material of claim 1 (supra). Ma further teaches the emulsion can be dispersed without gelation or stratification thereby forming a stable matrix in liquid [0046-0047, Table 1].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767