Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13, and 21-22 are pending. Claims 4, 12, and 14-20 are cancelled. Claim 22 is newly added. Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13, and 21-22 are examined herein.
Priority
The present application, filed 02/26/2026 is an RCE of U.S. Patent Application 17/730,337 filed, 04/27/2022, which claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Patent Application 63/180,327, filed 04/27/2021. The benefit is acknowledged and the claims examined herein are treated as having an effective filing date of 04/27/2021.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: Claim 1 recites “a nano/micro islands (NMIs) of gold” (line 3). This phrase improperly uses the singular article “a” with the plural noun “islands.” The phrase should read “nano/micro islands (NMIs) of gold.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informality: The phrase “ii) microfluidic reader” (line 4) lacks a proper article and therefore does not read in proper grammatical form. The phrase should read “ii) a microfluidic reader.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In particular, claims 5-8 and 22 recite limitations directed solely to the identity or type of the target protein to be detected, such as an antibody, viral protein, heart fatty acid binding (H-FABP), specific viral sources, viral variants, or antibody isotypes (IgG or IgM). These limitations do not impose any additional structural limitation on the biosensor itself, but instead merely define the nature of an analyte external to the claimed device. Since the recited target proteins are not structural components of the biosensor, the limitations of claims 5-8 and 22 do not further limit the claimed biosensor as required for dependent claim form. Accordingly. Claims 5-8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jafari et al (An azithromycin electrochemical sensor based on an aniline MIP film electropolymerized on a gold nano urchins/graphene oxide modified glassy carbon electrode. Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry, 829:27-34. 2018) in view of Radi et al (Molecularly Imprinted Poly-o-phenylenediamine Electrochemical Sensor for Entacapone. Electroanalysis. March 22, 2021, 33, 1578 – 1584.)
Regarding claim 1, Jafari teaches an electrochemical sensor based on an aniline MIP film electropolymerized on a gold nano urchins comprising the use of electropolymerized aniline to create molecularly imprinted polymers (MIP), polymerized on gold nano urchins (GNU) (nano islands with a gold core of nanorough protrusions) which transfers electric charge based on binding of the target protein, in the abstract. Jafari teaches that MIP-based electrochemical sensors may be of use in the quality control of pharmaceutical industries and/or detection of food fraud. Polyaniline (PANI) is a conductive polymer with suitable electrochemical properties which can be easily synthesized and functionalized. The PANI-based MIPs have been reported electrochemical detection methods previously in combination with other materials/nanostructures on pg. 28, left column, 1st paragraph. This meets limitations in claim 1 that nano/micro islands (NMI) core of gold spatially oriented with nanorough protrusions. Further, on pg. 28 left column, 6th paragraph, GNU (nano islands with a core of gold and nanorough protrusions) are deposited on the conductive glass, and in the 7th paragraph a layer (or film) of electropolymerized, molecularly imprinted polymers are deposited onto gold nano urchins. This meets the limitations in claim 1 that MIP are electropolymerized onto the NMI. The target, which created a built-in recognition site, was extracted from the polymer matrix to create molecular imprints at the surface, meant to recognize and bind the designated target. This meets the limitations in claim 1 of the conductive monomer of the MIP comprising a built-in recognition site of the target. On pg. 30, right column, third paragraph, it is taught that the charge transfer resistance (Rct) changes based on whether or not the target is bound to the MIP, meeting the limitations of claim 1 that there is a change in Rct of the MIP upon binding of the target. Jafari discloses MIP made a conductive polymer, polyaniline. See page 28, left column, 1st paragraph.
Jafari differs from the instant invention in failing to teach MIP consisting of a monomer that is o-phenylenediamine (o-PD).
Radi discloses MIP electrochemical sensor for entacapone based on an electropolymerized polyphenylenediamine (Po-PD) on a glassy carbon electrode surface. Radi discloses direct electropolymerisation of the o-phenylenediamine monomer (o-PD) was carried out with ETC as a template. See Abstract. Radi discloses their sensor is simple electrochemical approach to produce an MIP film of poly (o-PD) on a GCE surface by oxidative electropolymerization of o-PD in the presence of ETC as a template, and has been used as a recognition element for the determination of ETC. The process has a number of advantages, such that the MIP film could be directly manufactured on the sensing surface with an easy and precise controllable manner. The MIP sensor exhibits enhanced sensitivity, good repeatability, hard stability, fast response and could be regenerated. The MIP sensor showed good recognition capability and high selectivity for the target molecule in the coexistence of biologically relevant compounds. These advantages of the sensor make it a good candidate to detect ETC in real samples.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to substitute the polyaniline taught by Jafari with the o-PD taught by Radi because o-PD is well known in the art and is commercially available as a conductive polymer for use in biosensor. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to make the substitution as suggested because Radi teaches MIP made with o-PD has a number of advantages such that the MIP film could be directly manufactured on the sensing surface with an easy and precise controllable manner. The MIP sensor exhibits enhanced sensitivity, good repeatability, hard stability, fast response and could be regenerated. The MIP sensor showed good recognition capability and high selectivity for the target molecule in the coexistence of biologically relevant compounds. These advantages of the sensor make it a good candidate to detect ETC in real samples.
Regarding claim 21, Radi discloses MIPs prepared by bulk polymerization have low integration between the recognition element and the transducer which limit binding kinetics. The electropolymerisation easily creates direct contact between the polymer and the sensor surface and allows fast and controlled deposition of polymer films with adjustable thickness and tight adhesion with the conductive electrodes. See page 1578, right column. Radi further teaches optimizing the sensor by controlling the thickness of the polymer film by the number of cycles in the electropolymerization process. The maximum sensitivity of MIP-GCE has been reached after 10 cycles of polymerisation of the MIP film. Page 1582, left column, section 3.5.
While Radi discloses optimizing the sensitivity of the sensor by controlling the thickness of the polymer film, Radi does not teach a MIP layer having a thickness from 5-10 nm. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the sensor of Jafari by substituting the polyaniline with the o-PD taught by Radi and to optimize the sensitivity of the sensor by varying the thickness of the polymer layer as a matter of routine optimization of experimental conditions, namely trying different thickness by varying the number of cycles in the electropolymerization process as taught by Radi in order to uncover the optimum workable thickness necessary to achieve sensitivity. Specifically, the thickness of the polymer layer is considered to be a result effective variable, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result, in the present case, the result is an appropriate thickness of the MIP layer to achieve assay sensitivity as disclosed by Radi. Radi specifically teaches optimizing the sensor by controlling the thickness of the polymer film by the number of cycles in the electropolymerization process. The maximum sensitivity of MIP-GCE has been reached after 10 cycles of polymerisation of the MIP film. Page 1582, left column, section 3.5.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jafari in view of Radi et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gholivand et al (Materials Science and Engineering, 2016) and Metrohm (Ag/AgCl Reference electrodes, 2018).
Regarding claim 2, Jafari in view of Radi are discussed as above. Radi teaches the use of electrochemical cell with a conventional three-electrode configuration. A bare or modified GCE, a platinum wire, and an Ag/AgCl/KCl was used as working, counter and reference electrode. See page 1579, section 2.1
However, Jafari and Radi fail to teach the use of an Ag/AgCl reference electrode and a platinum wire counter electrode.
Gholivand teaches the fabrication of an electrochemical sensor based on electropolymerization of nanocomposite gold nanoparticle-molecularly imprinted polymer for determination of valganciclovir (see title). Gholivand, on pg. 595, right column, 2nd paragraph teaches the use of an Ag/AgCl reference electrode and a platinum wire used as a counter electrode for an electro chemical sensor based on electro polymerization of nanocomposite gold nanoparticle electrodeposited on conductive glass in conjunction with molecularly imprinted polymers in order to create a biosensor with good reproducibility, good repeatability, and high selectivity and sensitivity (Abstract).
Metrohm teaches replacing calomel electrodes with silver based reference electrode. Silver/Silver chloride (Ag/AgCl) is the most widely used for potentiometric measure and can be applied for the same application as SCE. Metrohm discloses saturated calomel electrode (SCE) is based on the reaction between elemental mercury in mercury chloride and mercury is know to be a health hazard and harmful to the environment. See page 1. This meets the limitations of using a silver and composite for a reference electrode, platinum wire as a counter electrode, and conductive glass as a substrate for the NMI in the instant claim 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill in the art,
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensor taught by Jafari as modified by Radi by substituting the reference electrode made of saturated calomel electrode with the Ag/AgCl reference electrode taught by Jafari because Metrohm teaches Ag/AgCL electrodes are superior and is better for the environment. It also would have been obvious to substitute the counter electrode made of platinum flake with a counter electrode made of platinum wire as taught by Jafari because these materials are functionally equivalent and would be expected to produce the same results to obtain a biosensor which comprises gold GNU having MIP polymerized thereon. Ag/AgCl electrodes provides the advantage of a mercury-free and more environmentally friendly material while SCE contains mercury and is more susceptible to contamination. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use these materials as electrodes to achieve the same reliable results as Gholivand. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success using these materials as electrodes for their biosensor because of the good reproducibility, good repeatability, and high selectivity and sensitivity achieved.
Therefore, the invention, as claimed, is obvious.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jafari in view of Radi et al, Gholivand et al, and Metrohm as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of and Aydin et al (Trends in Analytical Chemistry, 2017).
Regarding claim 3, Jafari, Radi, Gholivand and Metrohm teach as above, but do not teach the conductive glass as a tin oxide substrate.
Aydin teaches how Indium tin oxide (ITO) is a promising material in biosensing technology. In the introduction Aydin teaches that Indium tin oxide is one of the most widely utilized transparent conductive oxide thin film and is a promising material for biosensors due to its two main properties, good electrical conductivity and optical transparency. Aydin teaches ITO is an excellent material, which has been extensively utilized in biosensor studies owing to its unique properties such as good optic transparency, wide working window, high electrical conductivity, substrate adhesion, low capacitive current, and stable electrochemical and physical features. Owing to these unique features, it can be used in electrochemical researches (pg. 310, paragraph 2). Further, Aydin teaches ITO coated glass used in biosensors in areas such as clinical diagnosis, food analysis, and environmental monitoring on pg. 310 paragraph 3. Aydin also teaches ITO is a very useful material as an electrode due to its electrical and optical properties. Materials that are utilized as electrode have an important role in the biosensor technology, because the conductivity and robustness of the electrode effect the results. ITO based electrodes have a long shelf life due to high stability of ITO coated electrodes. The most important feature of ITO electrode is its low cost. Page 314, section 4.This meets the limitations of a conductive glass substrate made of a tin oxide compound in the instant claim 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill in the art,
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the ITO coated glass substrate taught by Aydin in the sensor of Jafari as modified by Radi, Gholivand and Metrohm because of its unique properties such as good optic transparency, wide working window, high electrical conductivity, substrate adhesion, low capacitive current, and stable electrochemical and physical features. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use an ITO substrate because it is a very useful material as an electrode due to its electrical and optical properties and because the conductivity and robustness of the electrode effect the results. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of using ITO as a substrate for gold nano particles, GNU, or gold nano/micro islands due to demonstrated excellent physical, electrical, and optical properties.
Claims 5-8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jafari and Radi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gluckman (WO 2021/195626).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Jafari and Radi teaches as above, but does not teach the target protein is a viral antibody.
Gluckman teaches the use of molecularly imprinted polymers for the rapid detection of emerging viral outbreaks. Gluckman teaches in paragraph [0074] suitable binding monomers have functionality complimentary to the virus of a target viral genus thus, providing an active binding pocket in the final MIP. Various different physicochemical interactions between the binding monomer and the virus of a target viral genus can be exploited to prepare MIPs materials according to the disclosure. Gluckman teaches in paragraph [0075] suitable surrogates include all or part of a macromolecule associated with the target virus, such as a polysaccharide group of a glycoprotein macromolecule, or analog thereof. In some embodiments, suitable surrogates include micelles with expressed viral proteins, such as assembled proteins of viral capsid. In some embodiments, the surrogate is an antibody or portion of an antibody of the target virus. Further, Jafari does teach on pg. 28, left column, first paragraph that MIP based electrochemical sensors may be of use in the quality control of pharmaceutical industries and/or detection of food fraud. PANI is a conductive polymer with suitable electrochemical properties which can be easily synthesized and functionalized. The PANI-based MIPs have been reported electrochemical detection methods previously in combination with other materials/nanostructures allowing for a generic scaffold that can be designed for a variety of targets. This meets the limitations of the instant claims 5 and 6 of the target protein being a viral antibody.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Jafari and Radi teaches as above, but does not teach the target as a viral antibody to SARS-CoV-2.
Gluckman teaches in paragraphs [0057-0058] MIPs against emerging target viruses including novel influenza virus or a novel coronavirus [0065]. In certain embodiments, the virus is a coronavirus such as SARS-CoV (the beta coronavirus that causes severe acute respiratory syndrome, or SARS); and SARS- CoV-2 (the novel coronavirus that causes coronavirus disease 2019, or COVID-19). See paragraph [0066].This meets the limitations in the instant claims 7 and 8 of the target viral antibody being for SARS-CoV-2 and other coronaviruses. This meets limitations in the instant claims 7 and 8.
Regarding claim 22, Jafari and Radi teaches as above, but does not teach the target protein is an IgG or IgM antibody.
Gluckman teaches in paragraphs [0053] and [00208] that rapid diagnostic technologies for viral detection may be expanded to include detection of antibodies to the virus, including IgM and IgG antibodies, as recognized biomarkers of infection stage and immune responses. This meets the limitation in the instant claim 22 specifying that the antibody is an IgG or IgM.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the biosensor taught by Jafari as modified by Radi to detect a variety of targets and use molecularly imprinted polymers for the rapid detection of emerging viral outbreaks as taught by Gluckman to include viral antibodies to coronaviruses, including SARS-CoV-2 and known subclasses thereof such as IgG and IgM, because the sensor of Jafari is generic to the analytes that it may be used to detect. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use customizable MIPs to identify one or more species of coronavirus viral antibodies because of the need for new MIP technologies that can be used to selectively bind, isolate and/or label the targets with high efficiency, high capacity, and are regenerable if necessary [0006]. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success using the biosensor with MIP electropolymerized onto GNU where the charge transfer resistance changes on binding the target for the detection of corona viruses indirectly through viral antibodies towards several species as taught by Gluckman above.
Therefore, the invention, as claimed, is obvious.
Claims 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jafari and Radi et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Talukder et al (Biomed Microdevices, 2017) and espressif.com (2020).
Regarding claim 9, Jafari and Radi teach as above, but fails to teach a microfluidic readout apparatus.
Talukder teaches A portable battery powered microfluidic impedance device with a smartphone readout. Talukder teaches on pg. 5 of 15, 2nd paragraph of fabricating a biosensor with a glass substate and gold electrodes with integrated microfluidics channel which converts the electric signal from the biosensor to an analog output and converted to digital output (pg. 7 of 15 left column, 2nd paragraph) through the use of an Arduino Uno Rev3 microcomputer board which allows for analog signals, translation to digital signals for output, and interchangeable modules which allow for different functions such as wireless or visual output which would be applied to a biosensor comparable to the biosensor taught by Jafari. This meets limitations in the instant claim 9 of a biosensor combined with a microfluidic reader.
Regarding claim 10, Jafari in view of Radi teach as above, but fails to teach a multiplex device.
As a customizable microcomputer the device taught by Talukder is capable of supporting a wide variety of tests allowing for wide panels of biomarkers including proteins, nucleic acids, and various cell types or pieces (Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Jafari, Radi and Talukder teach as above, but fail to teach a WIFI adapter for transferring the read-out signals from the microfluidic reader to a platform.
Talukder taches a device that can be modified according to the ESP8266 datasheet which teaches the use of a WIFI adapter used for wireless communication that can be attached to the Arduino Uno Rev3 as taught by Talukder. This meets the limitations in the instant claim 11 of using a WIFI adapter to transfer data from the biosensor.
Regarding claim 12, Jafari in view of Radi teach as above, but fails to teach a BLE adapter in conjunction with their biosensor.
Talukder teaches on pg. 11 of 15 - right column, instead of USB, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) was used to eliminate any wires attaching the readout hardware to the mobile platform. BLE is a relatively new wireless communication standard that aims to reduce power usage, cost, bandwidth, and complexity that other technologies could not optimize. BLE is the perfect choice for a medical Internet-of-things device which allows for wireless transfer of data to both computers and smartphones and similar devices. This meets the limitations of using Bluetooth communication in the instant claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Jafari teaches as above, but doesn’t teach the use of a computer or smartphone in conjunction with their biosensor.
Talukder teaches in Fig. 9 - a Mobile Data Interface. From left to right, the LIA output feeds into an Arduino Uno, which samples the data. The serial output of the UNO is coupled with the HM-10 BLE module, which sends the data to a phone. All of the communication is controlled with a mobile interface on the phone. This meets the limitations of using a computer of smartphone for obtaining results in the instant claim 13.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the readout device, taught by Talukder, that can receive data from a biosensor, taught by Jafari as modified by Radi, allowing the microcomputer to read the analog electrical signals from the biosensor in place of the potentiostat/galvanostat used by Jafari (pg. 28, 5th paragraph) for the electrochemical measurements caused by the Rct of binding conformation changes of one or more targets of interest. For this same Arduino device to have the capability to add WIFI and Bluetooth adapters, it would have been obvious to do so to use a wireless protocol such as WIFI or Bluetooth, and to send the data to a smartphone of computer as taught by Talukder espressif.com. Talukdar teaches using these technologies, a combination of biosensor and mobile phone technologies, with no compromise to performance when compared to state-of-the-art benchtop analysis and data acquisition systems (Talukder, conclusion). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a reader that can obtain data from a biosensor which is then communicated to a computer or smartphone, to expand availability, reduce power usage, cost, bandwidth and complexity. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success when integrating the device of Talukder into a biosensor because of comparable performance when compared to more expensive technologies.
Therefore, the invention as claimed, is obvious.
For the reasons stated above, all claims are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
First, Applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to combine the teachings of Jafari et al. with Radi et al. because Radi et al. teaches away from nanostructured gold sensing interfaces by disclosing polishing of the electrode surface prior to electropolymerization of the o-phenylenediamine monomer. This argument is not persuasive. Radi et al.’s disclosure of polishing the electrode surface represents a routine prepatory step commonly employed in electrochemical sensor fabrication to ensure reproducibility and cleanliness of the sensing surface. Such surface preparation does not constitute a teaching that nanostructured electrodes should be avoided, nor does Radi et al. criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the use of nanostructured conductive substrates. Rather, Radi et al. merely describes one suitable electrode preparation procedure for its particular embodiment. A PHOSITA would have understood that the surface preparation step disclosed by Radi et al. could be modified or omitted when employing alternative sensing architectures such as the nanostructured gold morphology taught by Jafari et al. Under the flexible approach mandated by KSR Rationales for Obviousness (MPEP 2143), known techniques may be combined according to known methods to yield predictable results. Substituting the electropolymerized polyaniline MIP of Jafari with the electropolymerized o-phenylenediamine MIP taught by Radi et al. represents a predictable variation involving substitution of one known functional monomer for another in a known sensor architecture. Accordingly, Radi et al. does not teach away from the claimed invention, and the combination remains proper.
Applicant further argues that o-phenylenediamine provides improved functional group density, ultrathin film formation, and enhanced suitability for protein-scale imprinting compared to aniline-based MIPs. These arguments are also not persuasive. The discovery of advantages or improved properties of an otherwise obvious substitution does not render the claimed subject matter non-obvious in the absence of evidence demonstrating unexpected results or criticality of the claimed parameters. Applicant has not provided comparative data or other objective evidence establishing that the alleged benefits rise to the level of unexpected results sufficient to overcome the prima facie case of obviousness.
With respect to claim 21, Applicant’s arguments regarding the desirability of ultrathin o-phenylenediamine films are likewise unpersuasive. Radi et al. teaches that the thickness of electropolymerized MIP films may be controlled by adjusting electropolymerization conditions, including the number of cycles, in order to optimize sensor sensitivity. Film thickness therefore constitutes a recognized result-effective variable, and routine optimization of such variables to achieve desired performance characteristics would have been within the ordinary skill of the art. The claimed thickness range represents no more than the predictable result of such routine optimization.
Second, Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 2 and 3 rely solely on the contention that independent claim 1 is patentable. Since the rejection of claim 1 is maintained for the reasons discussed above, the arguments directed to claims 2 and 3 are likewise not persuasive.
Moreover, the additional electrode configuration and substrate limitations recited in claims 2 and 3 represent well-known and routinely used components in electrochemical biosensor systems. The cited prior art collectively teaches the use of Ag/AgCl reference electrodes, platinum counter electrodes, and conductive glass substrates including indium tin oxide. The selection of such conventional materials would have been obvious design choices yielding predictable performance benefits.
Third, Applicant argues that Radi et al. relates only to detection of small-molecule pharmaceutical compounds and therefore would not have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the disclosed sensor framework to detection of viral antigens or antibodies. This argument is not persuasive. The claims at issue are directed to a biosensor apparatus, and the recitation of a particular analyte species merely defines the intended use or field of application of the device rather than imparting a structural distinction. Molecularly imprinted electrochemical sensor architectures were known to be adaptable to detection of a wide range of analytes through appropriate template selection. The cited references teach generic MIP-based sensing platforms capable of selective recognition of various target molecules.
Furthermore, Gluckman et al. explicitly teaches that molecularly imprinted recognition systems may be employed in rapid diagnostic technologies for emerging viral infections and that such diagnostic approaches may include detection of viral antigens as well as antibodies, including IgM and IgG antibodies recognized in the medical community as indicators of infection stage and immune response. Accordingly, the selection of viral antibodies — including subclasses such as IgG or IgM — as target analytes represents no more than the predictable use of known biomarker species with a known sensor architecture.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the suitability of the claimed device for detection of macromolecular targets in biological matrices such as saliva or blood are likewise unpersuasive because such operational contexts do not structurally distinguish the claimed biosensor from the prior-art devices. The cited art demonstrates that nanostructured electrochemical MIP sensors provide increased surface area and improved sensitivity, thereby rendering them reasonably expected to function for a variety of biomolecular detection applications.
Lastly, Applicant again relies on the alleged patentability of claim 1. Since claim 1 remains unpatentable for the reasons discussed above, the arguments directed to dependent apparatus claims 9–11 and 13 are not persuasive. Talukder et al. teaches portable microfluidic impedance-based sensing systems incorporating electronic signal processing and wireless communication modules for transmission of biosensor read-out data to mobile platforms such as smartphones or computers. Integration of such known microfluidic reader architectures with the biosensor framework taught by Jafari et al. as modified by Radi et al. would have been an obvious design modification motivated by the desire to provide portable, low-cost diagnostic devices with real-time data transmission capabilities, yielding predictable results.
Therefore, for the reasons set forth above, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive, and the rejections of claims 1–3, 5–11, 13, 21, and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are therefore maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/E.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/BAO-THUY L NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1677 March 11, 2026