DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 20 January 2026:
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 7-15 are pending
Claims 2, 4 and 6 are cancelled
Claims 16-18 are new
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Pages 8-10 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that one ordinarily skilled in the art would not be motivated to modify Chen’s insulative layer using Kuchimachi’s disclosure because Kuchimachi’s groove design is directed to a substrate layer and not an insulative layer. Applicant further notes even if such a modification occurred, one ordinarily skilled in the art would opt to not include an insulative layer so that the heating element is directly on a ceramic substrate so that “heat…can be diffused easily in the planar direction in the substrate”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that Chen’s original insulative design has grooves in part due to the substrate design itself. As shown in Figure 1, the substrate layer 1 is illustrated as having grooves which matches with the ones for the insulative layer 2 which is constructed by covering said substrate layer [0039]. As such, modifications to the substrate layer and its groove directly translates to the insulative layer and therefore, Kuchimachi’s disclosure would be applicable in the case of Chen’s substrate and insulative layer design.
Furthermore, Chen, like Kuchimachi has a double-layered substrate design wherein a heating element is sandwiched between two substrate layers (see Chen Figure 2 and Kuchimachi Figure 1). Though Chen may have an insulative layer unlike Kuchimachi, both Chen and Kuchimachi have at least one substrate layer that will be in contact with the heating element. In Chen’s case, the top substrate layer 4 does not have an insulative layer covering it like the one for substrate layer 1 and thus, implicitly means that it maintains contact with the heating element 3 to satisfy the condition of being in direct contact so that “heat…can be diffused easily in the planar direction in the substrate”.
On Pages 10-12 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant appears to be arguing that Kuchimachi’s design differs from Chen’s design as it requires an additional adhesive layer. Applicant seems to be making a parallel between the adhesive layer with Chen’s substrate layer 4 to conclude that a reduction in thickness of the adhesive layer to accommodate the protruding heating element would be applied to Chen’s substrate 4 which, in Applicant’s view, is detrimental because it would apparently reduce the ability of the substrate in protecting the heating element from wear and tear. Thus, there would be no reason for one ordinarily skilled in the art to modify Chen with Kuchimachi.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Kuchimachi’s adhesive layer is not the same as Chen’s substrate layer. It should be noted that Kuchimachi’s heater design comprises a first and second substrate layer that are bonded together via an adhesive layer (Abstract); like Chen, Kuchimachi has two distinct substrate layers wherein the adhesive layer is merely what is used to bond the two layers together. Therefore, if one were to apply Kuchimachi to Chen, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art that Kuchimachi’s adhesive layer could also be implemented into Chen’s design for the purpose of bonding two substrate layers (or in this case, two substrate and an insulative layer) together.
Alternatively, even if an adhesive layer was not applied to Chen and one ordinarily skilled in the art were to adjust the thickness of the substrate layer 4, the reduction in breakage capabilities of said substrate layer that Applicant is claiming seems to be directed to the thickness reduction for incorporating a groove structure into said substrate. However, it should be noted that even if the thickness on the inner side of the substrate is reduced, one ordinarily skilled in the art could also easily compensate this by increasing the thickness of the substrate from the outer side.
On Pages 12-13 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that modifying the substrate to include grooves would make said substrate non-planar and thus, contradict with the recitation of Claim 3 wherein the substrates should be planar.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that the overall shape of each layer is in fact planar and if one were to layer each one on top of each other, the overall structure is flat and planar such that they can be stacked. This is in alignment with Applicant’s Figures 9 and 10 wherein the substrate layer 110, though having an indented groove portion, can be considered planar as it is predominantly flat and sheet shaped such that when layered, it forms an overall flat and planar structure when stacked (see Applicant’s Specifications, [0042]; heating elements and substrates are planar such that they can be directly stacked).
On Page 14 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant preemptively argues that one ordinarily skilled in the art would not adjust Chen or Kuchimachi’s groove to be larger as it would either reduce the flatness of the protective layer 4 and concentrate friction forces on exterior surfaces to reduce service life, or reduce the amount of heat generated in a planar direction. Applicant does not provide any further supporting details or evidence for these arguments.
Examiner disagrees, noting that Chen explicitly states that the heating element is protected by the substrate layer 4 because it “prevent[s] the heating part…from being worn or damaged due to long-term contact with cigarettes”. Introducing grooves (i.e., reducing the thickness) of the substrate will not reduce the layer’s flatness, nor prevent it from functioning as a protective layer so long as it prevents contact with a cigarette and reduce damage due to contact.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to adjust the size and shape of the groove to be wider so long as it covers said heating element to prevent damage due to contact, regardless of whether or not the performance of the protection is potentially reduced.
The following rejections are maintained and new rejections are made in light of the new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 12-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Publication No. CN109068417A cited in IDS dated 28 December 2022, hereinafter referring to the provided English Translation) in view of Courbat et al (Publication No. US20200107579A1), Cui et al (Publication No. US20230100970A1), Chen (Publication No. CN208096015U, see provided English translation), and Kuchimachi (Publication No. US20180332669A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches a heating body comprising:
a first heat conduction substrate (Fig. 1; [0054]; Substrate 101);
second heat conduction substrate (Fig. 1; [0054]; Substrate 106);
and heating element (Fig. 1; [0054]; Substrate 106);
wherein the first conduction substrate, heating element, and second conduction substrate are sequentially stacked and fixedly connected (Fig. 2; [0057]);
wherein surfaces of the first heat conduction substrate and the second heat conduction substrate that are arranged close to each other both comprise planes (Liu, Figs. 1-2);
wherein the heating element comprises a first connection portion (portion 10221), a main heating portion (portion 1021), and a second connection portion (portion 10222) that are sequentially connected (Liu, Fig. 4; [0067-0069]);
wherein the first connection portion and the second connection portion are electrically connectable to an external power supply (21) such that the main heating portion is electrically connectable to the external power supply to implement heating (Liu, Fig. 4; [0063]).
Liu does not teach the following:
an outer edge of the main heating portion being flushed with an outer edge of at least one of the first heat conduction substrate and/or the second heat conduction substrate such that the at least one of the first heat conduction substrate and/or the second heat conduction substrate has a same size in a width direction as the heating element;
wherein the main heating portion comprises a plurality of transverse heating portions and a plurality of longitudinal heating portions, the plurality of transverse heating portions and the plurality of longitudinal heating portions being sequentially and alternately connected;
an edge seal member disposed between the first heat conduction substrate and the second heat conduction substrate so as to define a groove portion;
and the heating element disposed in the groove portion
and wherein a depth of the groove portion is less than a thickness of the heating element.
Regarding (I), Courbat, directed to a heating assembly for an aerosol generating device, discloses a multilayer heating element (i.e., heating body) comprising heating layers (110.1/110.2) (i.e., heating element) and a support layer (110.3) (i.e., heat conducting substrate) with an identical outer shape (Courbat, Figs. 8-9; [0110]; figures illustrate the layers having similar dimensions in the width direction, also implying that the outer shape edges are flushed; the support layer is made of solid material such as stainless steel, which is considered equivalent to a heat conducting substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the heating element and heat conducting substrates disclosed by Liu, such that at least one of the heat conducting substrates has the same size in width as the heating element as disclosed by Courbat, as both are directed to heating elements, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could substitute the known heating element dimension/design disclosed by Liu with another known heating element dimension/design disclosed by Courbat, to a similar heating body and reasonably expect to yield a modified multilayer heating body/element where said layers have the same width (and are flushed) that is functional and capable of generating heat.
Regarding (II), Cui, directed to a non-combusting heating device comprising a heater (i.e., heating body) and tobacco, discloses a heating element (120) comprising a main heating portion (121) and a first and second connection portion (Conductive portion 122) that is electrically connected to a power supply (see annotated Fig. 9, 19A-20; [0089-0090]; conduction/connection portion are shown to be on either side of the heating portion, which is equivalent to being sequentially assembled together).
In Figures 9 and 19A, Cui shows the main heating body comprising a plurality of transverse heating portions and a plurality of longitudinal heating portions; wherein the plurality of transverse heating portions and the plurality of longitudinal heating portions being sequentially and alternately connected (see annotated Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the heating portion of the heating element by Liu, to have a plurality of transverse and longitudinal heating portions, wherein the plurality of transverse and longitudinal heating portions are sequentially and alternately connected as disclosed by Cui, as both are directed to heating elements for a heating device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonably substitute the known heating element heating portion design disclosed by Liu with another known heating element heating portion design as disclosed by Cui, to a similar heating body/device and predictably yield a modified heating element that comprises a heating portion with a plurality of transverse and longitudinal heating portions that are sequentially and alternately connected, such that said heating element is still capable of generating heat for the heating device.
Regarding (III-IV), Chen teaches an insulation layer (2) disposed on top of the surface of a first heating conduction substrate (Substrate 1) which insulates/protects the heating element (Sheet 3) from the first heating conduction (Substrate 1) and optionally an additional insulation layer (i.e., edge seal member) provided with a receiving groove (i.e., groove portion), disposed on the heating element (Sheet 3) and facing the second substrate (Protective Layer 4) (see Fig. 1; [0011, 0020, and 0030-0040]; discloses receiving groove for receiving/disposing and fixing the heating sheet/element).
It is construed that the insulation layer (2) which covers and insulates the heating element (Sheet 3) from other layer/substrates between the first and second substrate layers (see Fig. 1; [0040]; Substrate 1 and 4, respectively) can be defined as an edge seal member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Liu to incorporate the teachings of Chen to create additional insulation layers disposed on a groove in the first substrate layer to fix and encapsulate the heating to protect the heating element from being worn or damaged due to long-term use (Chen, [0048]); this also involves applying a known technique/teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding (V), it should be noted that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design (see MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B).
For example, Kuchimachi, directed to a heater (100) (i.e., heating body), discloses a heater structure comprising a first ceramic substrate (1), second ceramic substrate (2), and heating generating resistor (3) (i.e., heating element) between said ceramic substrate layers (Fig. 1; [0015-0016]). The substrate layers may comprise a groove section (21), wherein the depth of said groove section (21) can be less than the thickness of the heating element (3) such that said heating element’s extra thickness reduces its breakage potential while also positioning it partially outside of the groove (see Fig. 7; [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to change the size and thickness of the heating element disclosed by Modified Liu to be larger than the depth of the groove portion as disclosed by Kuchimachi as both are directed to a heating body, where Liu teaches the advantage of increasing the heating element’s thickness to lower its potential to break.
Regarding Claim 3, Liu further discloses the first heat conduction substrate (101), the second heat conduction substrate (102), and the heating element (106) all comprising planar sheet structures (Liu, see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Liu further discloses the main heating portion comprising of a first, second, and third heating sub-portion (see annotated Liu, Fig. 1 and annotated Cui, Fig. 9 below; both Liu and Cui illustrate heating elements with similar heating sub-portions);
wherein the third sub-heating portion is disposed between the first sub-heating portion and the second sub-heating portion (Fig. 4; blade tip disposed between the edges of the heating element blade structure);
and wherein other ends of the first sub-heating portion and the second sub-heating portion are connected or separated from each other, respectively (Liu, Fig. 4; 1021 is an integral piece, therefore the tip and blade edges are connected, and further connected to connection portions 10221 and 10222 respectively).
Regarding Claim 7, Modified Liu further discloses the edges of the first and second heating conduction substrates (101, 106) are flush (Liu, Figs. 1-3; [0056-0059]; implicit that substrates 101 and 106 are flush when they are stacked as they have the same dimensions).
Modified Liu does not explicitly teach the outer edges of the edge seal member (Chen, Layer 2) being flush with the first heat conduction substrate (101), and the second heat conduction substrate (106)
However, it should be noted that Chen further discloses that the insulating layer 2 (i.e., edge seal member) covers the substrate layer (1), which implies that said insulating/edge seal member will have the same dimensions as the substrate layers (Chen, see Fig. 1; [0039]; insulating/edge layer is shown to have the same dimensions as the substrate layers).
Therefore, one ordinarily skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have made the obvious choice to have Modified Liu’s insulation layer/edge seal member have the same dimensions as the first and second substrate layers, and thus having the edges of each layer be flush with each other as taught by Chen, for the purpose of protecting the heating element [0048]; this also involves applying a known technique/teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Liu further discloses the edges of the first and second heating conduction substrates (101, 106) are flush (Figs. 1-3; [0056-0059]; implicit that substrates 101 and 106 are flush when they are stacked as they have the same dimensions).
Modified Liu does not explicitly teach outer edges of the edge seal member (Chen, Insulation Layer 2), the first heat conduction substrate (Liu, 101), and the second heat conduction substrate (Liu, 106) form an accommodating space, and wherein the main heating portion (Liu, portion 1021) is accommodated in the accommodating space.
However, Chen further teaches the first conduction substrate (Substrate 1), second conduction substrate (Protective layer 4) and edge seal member (interpreted as insulating layer 2 as described above) form an accommodating space for the main heating portion [0037], for the purpose of protecting the heating element (Chen, [0048]).
Therefore, one ordinarily skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have made the choice to have the insulation layer/edge seal member have the same dimensions as the first and second substrate layers, and thus having edges that are flush in the invention of Liu, as taught by Chen, for the purpose of protecting the heating element [0048]; this also involves applying a known technique/teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Liu teaches an edge seal member as claimed in Claim 7.
Liu additionally discloses the use of ceramic and ceramic glaze to optionally create insulation layers (e.g., layers 107, 108) between the first and second substrates (Fig. 2; [0057]). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to construct the edge seal member using the materials disclosed by Liu for the purpose of protecting the heating element (for motivation see Chen, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 12, Liu further discloses each of the first heat conduction substrate (101) and the second heat conduction substrate (102) comprises a mounting portion (mounting base 103) (Liu, Fig. 4; [0075-0077]);
and an insertion portion (i.e., blade-like structure) (Liu, Fig. 1; [0051]);
a width of the insertion portion being less than a width of the mounting portion (Liu, Figs. 4-5; blade structure has a triangular-shaped tip with a smaller width than the mounting portion);
wherein insertion portions on the first heat conduction substrate (101) and the second heat conduction substrate (106) together comprise an insert-connection portion of the heating body (Liu, Fig. 1; [0051]);
and wherein the insert-connection portion is at least partially insertable into a to-be-heated element to heat the to-be-heated element (Liu, Fig. 1; [0051]).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu further teaches a side of the mounting portion of the second heat conduction substrate (106) away from the insertion portion comprises an opening (notches 1064) such that at least partial regions of the first connection portion (10221) and the second connection portion (10222) are exposed from the opening (Figs. 1-4; [0055, 0062, and 0095]; substrate 106 with notches 1064 exposes the heating element at the mounting base 103, subsequently exposing connection portions 10221/10222 and conductive portions 1022/1023).
Regarding Claim 15, Modified Liu teaches an electronic vaporization device, comprising:
the heating body claimed in Claim 1;
a vaporization/aerosol generating device body (Liu, 23);
and a power supply (Liu, 21) disposed in the vaporization device body;
wherein the heating body (Liu, 1) is mounted on the vaporization device body:
wherein the power supply is electrically connected to the heating body so as to provide power to the heating body (Liu, [0083]);
and wherein the heating body is configured to heat and vaporize a to-be-heated element/smoking article upon insertion (Liu, Fig. 6; [0083]).
Regarding Claim 16, Modified Liu further discloses the edge seal member (i.e., insulation layer) has a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (See Claim 1 Rejection for modifying Liu with Chen’s insulation layer as an edge seal; Chen, see annotated Fig. 1; the surface facing the substrate layer 4 that does not form the groove is considered the first surface; the surface opposite and facing the substrate layer 2 is considered the second surface).
wherein the edge seal member is planar such that the first surface and the second surface are each entirely flat (Chen, see Fig. 1; surfaces are flat);
and wherein an entirety of the first surface of the edge seal member is configured to abut against a flat inner surface of the first heat conduction substrate (Chen, see Figs. 1, 4; the substrate and insulative/edge layer are shown to be flushed flat when assembled, implying that the entirety of the first and second surfaces abut against their corresponding substrate layers);
and an entirety of the second surface of the edge seal member is configured to abut against a flat inner surface of the second heat conduction substrate (Chen, see Figs. 1, 4; the substrate and insulative/edge layer are shown to be flushed flat when assembled, implying that the entirety of the first and second surfaces abut against their corresponding substrate layers).
Regarding Claim 17, Modified Liu’s groove portion is shown to have a contiguous lateral width that generally matches with the overall lateral width of the heating element (Chen, see Fig. 1; Modifying Liu with Chen’s insulating layer will construct a receiving groove that matches the heating element).
Modified Liu does not disclose the groove portion having a laterally contiguous width that is at least as large as a maximum overall lateral width of the heating element. However, it should be noted that change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design (see MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B).
In this case, Cui, directed to directed to a non-combusting heating device comprising a heater (i.e., heating body) and tobacco, discloses a heating element (120) encased between two casing plates (111/112) (i.e., substrate layers) to form a seamless structure with no to little space between said components [0045], wherein the first casing plate (111) is shown to have a groove structure with a laterally contiguous width that is at least as large as the overall lateral width of the heating element (120) (see Figs. 5, 7, 9 and 20; the casing plate is shown to have a width that matches the heating element; as Cui discloses a nearly seamless fit, this implies that the dimensions are near matching).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the substrate and insulative layer disclosed by Modified Chen, such that the groove portion has a laterally contiguous width that is at least as large as a maximum overall lateral width of the heating element as disclosed by Cui, as both are directed to a heating element/body, where one ordinarily skilled in the art can apply one heating element/body groove design as disclosed by Cui, to another heating element/body design disclosed by Modified Chen to yield a heating body that has its substrate fully encasing a heating element such that it is able to isolate and protect said heating element from contact with a cigarette.
Regarding Claim 18, Modified Liu further discloses wherein the groove portion comprises, at any given position along its length, a contiguous lateral width that is at least as large as an overall lateral width of the heating element at the given position (Chen, see Fig. 1; [0048]; when Liu is modified by Chen to have the insulating layer with groove portions, said groove portions covers the heating element and are shown to have a width that matches the specific shape of said heating element).
Claims 10, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Publication No. CN109068417A cited in IDS dated 28 December 2022, hereinafter referring to the provided English Translation) in view of Courbat et al (Publication No. US20200107579A1), Cui et al (Publication No. US20230100970A1), Chen (Publication No. CN208096015U, see English translation), and Kuchimachi (Publication No. US20180332669A1) as applied to Claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Zhang (Publication No. CN207544334U, see English translation) .
Regarding Claim 10, Liu further discloses the heating element (102) comprising a first connection portion (10221), a main heating portion (1021), and a second connection portion (10222) that are sequentially connected (Fig. 4; [0060]);
wherein the first connection portion and the second connection portion are electrically connectable to an external power supply such that the main heating portion is electrically connectable to the external power supply to implement heating (Liu, Fig. 4; [0080]).
Liu does not teach the first and/or second substrate comprising a groove to accommodate the main heating portion.
However, Zhang teaches a heating body/device comprising a first and second [substrate] ceramic sheet and heating sheet/element, wherein the ceramic sheets have grooves etched on the inner surfaces to encapsulate the heating element (Zhang, [0020, 0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to heating body disclosed in Liu with the teachings disclosed by Zhang to create a groove on the surface of the first conduction substrate (and/or the second conduction substrate) so that the heating element can be encapsulated, increasing the stability and heating efficiency of the heating portion (Zhang, [0021]); this also involves applying a known technique/teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 11, Liu further discloses the edges of the first and second heating conduction substrates are flush (Figs. 1-3; [0056-0059]; implicit that substrates 101 and 106 are flush when they are stacked since they have the same dimensions).
Regarding Claim 14, Modified Liu does not teach the surface of the first heat conduction substrate opposite of the second heat conduction substrate comprising a groove configured to accommodate the heating element.
However, Zhang teaches a heating body/device comprising a first and second [substrate] ceramic sheet and heating sheet/element, wherein the ceramic sheets have grooves etched on the inner surfaces to encapsulate the heating element (Zhang, [0020, 0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating body disclosed by Liu with the teachings disclosed by Zhang to create a groove on the surface of the first conduction substrate (and/or the second conduction substrate) so that the heating element can be encapsulated, increasing the stability and heating efficiency of the heating portion (Zhang, [0021]); this also involves applying a known technique/teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755