DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed July 10, 2026, claims 1-9 and 17 have been amended, claims 1 - 20 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) applicant’s arguments, see page 8 Section 2, filed July 10, 2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 112 (a) rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) applicant’s arguments, see page 9 Section 3, filed July 10, 2026, with respect to claims 1-8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 112 (b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 9 Section 4, filed July 10, 2026, with respect to claims 1-6, 8-14 and 16-20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-14 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Kodaypak et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0177687).
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 9-10, 13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub. No.:2020/0389843), in view of Li et al (US Pub. No.:2018/0123878) and further in view of Kodaypak et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0177687).
As per claim 1, Huang disclose A devices device (Fig. 4, Fig.5, device 400) comprising:
a Network Exposure Function (NEF) (see Fig.4, Fig.5, see para. 0065-0066, FIG. 5 illustrates exemplary components of NEF 260) configured to:
receive a request from a network function to establish a session for the network function and a User Equipment device (UE) ( see para. 0018, 0077, the AF device sends the request in response to the AF device selecting to communicate with the UE device / to establish a session for the network function and a User Equipment device (UE) or in response to the UE device sending an application request to the AF device (e.g., via a default network slice). The AF device sends the request to a 5G Network Exposure Function (NEF) device { receive a request from a network function} configured to interface the 5G core network with AF devices, and per para. 0019, the NEF device is configured to receive a session request from an AF device for a UE device, see also para. 0017, a 5G network is configured to dynamically select a particular network slice for a UE device based on the type of service or connection required by the UE device. For example, the particular network slice is selected based on a request from an Application Function (AF) device for a particular type of session for the UE device, the AF device is associated with an application on the UE device, see also Abstract. para. 0067-0069);
perform a query (see Fig.5, para. 0066-0069, slice manager 510 selects a particular network slice 320 for a particular UE device 110 based on a request received/perform a query from AF 250 using information stored in slice DB 520), to a slice-to-service map (see Fig. 5, slice manager 510), for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session (see Fig.5, see para. 0066-0069, slice manager 510 selects a particular network slice 320 {an identifier corresponding to a network slice} for a particular UE device 110 based on a request / perform a query, received from AF 250 using information {an identifier} stored in slice DB 520, and per para. 0067, a list of allowed network slices 320 for a particular UE device 110, that matches a service profile is stored, Fig.6, para. 0071-0072, Service type field 620 store information identifying one or more service types associated with the particular network slice 320 / service profile, service type field 620 identifies a Quality of Service (QoS) class (e.g., VoIP, real-time video, live gaming, URLLC, MTC, priority data, best effort data, etc.), a type of traffic associated with the particular network slice 320, whether the particular network slice 320 is associated with an MPN, and other types of information used to identify the types of services associated with the particular network slice 320 / a network slice that matches a service profile for the session. Each AF record 630 stores information relating to a particular AF 250 associated with the particular network slice 320, see also Fig.7, para. 0077-0080, a network slice is selected for the session request based on AF 250 and/or the one or more UE devices (block 730). Slice manager 510 of NEF 260 query and identify a network slice 320 associated with the session request based on information included in the session request / an identifier corresponding to a network slice and/or based on information stored in slice DB 520. For example, slice manager 510 identify a particular network slice record 600 that includes the particular AF 250 from which the session request was received / a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, see also Fig.6, para. 0071-0072, as shown in FIG. 6, slice DB 520 includes one or more slice records 600. Each slice record 600 stores information relating to a particular network slice 320. Slice record 600 includes a slice identifier (ID) field 610, a service type field 620, and one or more AF records 630. Slice ID field 610 includes a slice ID associated with a particular network slice 320, see also para. 0042-0047); and
establish the session, for the network function between the UE and the network slice (see para. 0067-0069, AMF interface 560 receives a notification from AMF 220 in the selected network slice 320 that UE device 110 has requested a PDU session connection using the selected network slice 320, SMF interface 570 is configured to communicate with SMF 240, SMF interface 570 receives a notification from SMF 240 in the selected network slice 320 that UE device 110 has established a PDU session with UPF 230. Slice manager 510 sends information relating to the established PDU session to AF 250 via AF interface 540 / establishing the session, see also para. 0068, ,see also para. 0074, after the particular UE device 110 connects to data network 140 using UPF 230 in a selected slice, SMF 240 provides information identifying the PDU session associated with the particular UE device 110 to slice manager 510 and slice manager 510 store the information identifying the PDU session in PDU session field 690, clearly a session is established the network function between the UE and the network slice, see also Fig.6, para. 0071-0075, Fig.7, para. 0076-0084).
Although, Huang disclose perform a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session; and it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to design a system to request a slice management function to create a network slice when a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist;
Huang however does not explicitly disclose if a reply, to the query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to create the network slice;
Li however disclose if a reply, to a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to create the network slice (see Fig.6, para. 0147-0148, based on receipt of a pre-configuration request / a reply to the query, the network slice does not exist, then the NM 20 determines that there is a need or requirement for the creation of a slice and the NM 20 initiates a slice instantiation procedure to create the network slice, the NM 20 have an SDT function (referred to as an NM (SDT)) 21 which select a suitable slice template based on the respective request (received or pre-defined)/creating a network slice that matches a service profile/slice template, see also Fig.7 para. 0150, Fig.8 para. 0151-0153, the NM 20 create slices 510 dedicated to select services upon receipt of service request. A VN Service Descriptor defining requirements from the network side is used to characterize requirements associated with known SLA services, (e.g. mapping SLA terms to network service requirements / a service profile for a session, a network slice is created to serve a plurality of services (typically services with similar traffic profiles, see para. 0090, by allowing further differentiation of traffic within a slice, such as by the use of virtual networks and service identifiers, it is possible to have fewer slices than the number of services supported).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of if a reply, to the query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to create the network slice, as taught by Li, in the system of Huang, so as to instantiate, configure and modify the parameters of existing network slices, without adversely impacting other slices while fully utilizing the resources and capabilities assigned to a given slice, see Li, paragraphs 6-10, 0090.
Although the combination of Huang and Li disclose when a reply, to a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to “create” the network slice;
The combination of Huang and Li however does not explicitly disclose request a slice management function to “instantiate” the network slice;
Kodaypak however disclose request a slice management function to “instantiate” a network slice (see Fig.5, para. 0055-0057, steps 804-806, addressing information associated with an entity of the existing core network slice is provided to an access point serving the UE so that the access point directs traffic related to the service request to the entity (reply to a query matches), and para. 0056, steps 808-810, a reply, to a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice does not match a service profile for a session, then at 808, a new core network slice is readily instantiated, the new core network slice is customized to handle the service for the class of the UE and/or is localized (e.g., located in close proximity to the UE/access point, see also Abstract, para. 0026-0027, Fig.2, 0032, based on the trigger/a query, the core network control component 108 determines whether to utilize a pre-dedicated core network slice, update the pre-dedicated core network slice, or instantiate a new core network slice of the core network slices 1-M (210.sub.1-210.sub.M; wherein M is most any natural number) to handle the requested service, 0038, 0040-0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of request a slice management function to “instantiate” a network slice, as taught by Kodaypak, in the system of Huang and Li, so that a network control component is utilized to manage (e.g., instantiate (utilized to manage existing and/or create new core network slices for serving UEs or a specific class, requesting a specific service, and/or are located within a specific area), update, delete, etc.) one or more network slices of a network, see Kodaypak, paragraphs 0026-0027.
As per claim 2, the combination of Huang, Li and Kodaypak disclose the device of claim 1.
Huang further disclose wherein the network function comprises an Application Function (AF) (see para. 0017-0018, the AF device sends the request in response to the AF device selecting to communicate with the UE device or in response to the UE device sending an application request to the AF device (e.g., via a default network slice). The AF device sends the request to a 5G Network Exposure Function (NEF) device configured to interface the 5G core network with AF devices. The NEF device is configured to include a slice manager that selects a network slice for the UE device based on the request received from the AF device).
As per claim 5, the combination of Huang, Li and Kodaypak disclose the device of claim 1.
Huang further disclose wherein the NEF is further configured to: request a second network function to store the identifier in subscription data associated with the UE (see para. 0015-0019, when a UE device is configured and activated by a wireless network, the UE device is configured to connect to one or more particular network slices. The allowed slices for the UE device is configured using a Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF) device and stored in a subscription profile, associated with the UE device, also per para. 0018, the NEF device includes a slice database (DB) that stores information relating network slices to AF devices. The NEF device receives information relating to available network slices from a NSSF device, including information identifying any newly added slices to the network, the NEF device sends an update relating to available network slices to AF devices based on information received from the NSSF device relating to the available network slices, including the information identifying any newly added slices to the network).
As per claim 9, claim 9 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 10, the combination of Huang, Li and Kodaypak disclose the method of claim 9.
Huang further disclose wherein the network function comprises an Application Function (AF) (see para. 0017-0018, he particular network slice may be selected based on a request from an Application Function (AF) device for a particular type of session for the UE device. The AF device may be associated with an application on the UE device. For example, the UE device may run a medical monitoring application and the AF device may correspond to, or interface with, a server device associated with the medical monitoring application, see also Abstract).
As per claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same way as claim 5.
As per claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Huang also disclose A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable instructions (see para. 0064, device 400 may perform certain operations relating to selection of a network slice. Device 400 may perform these operations in response to processor 420 executing software instructions contained in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 430. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device. A memory device may be implemented within a single physical memory device or spread across multiple physical memory devices. The software instructions may be read into memory 430 from another computer-readable medium or from another device. The software instructions contained in memory 430 may cause processor 420 to perform processes described herein).
As per claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same way as claim 10.
Claims 3-4, 11-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub. No.:2020/0389843), in view of Li et al (US Pub. No.:2018/0123878), in view of Kodaypak et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0177687) and further in view of Qiao et al (US Pub. No.:2019/0053147).
As per claim 3, the combination of Huang, Li and Kodaypak disclose the device of claim 1.
The combination of Huang, Li and Kodaypak however does not explicitly disclose wherein the query includes: one or more parameters to be used to look up a mapping between service profiles and network slices
Qiao however disclose wherein a query includes: one or more parameters to be used to look up a mapping between service profiles and network slices (see para. 0141-0145, 0148, a visited policy control function, VPCF, may receive, from a first network entity, a first message configured to request a network slice for a wireless device, the first message including: a network slice request indication; a required bandwidth of the network slice; an allowed latency of the network slice; a priority information of the network slice; a service provider identifier of a service provider requesting the network slice; a slice type information associated with the network slice; a charging information for the network slice; an S-NSSAI; service data flow information; a user identity; an APN identity / one or more parameters. The PCF may perform at least one of the following actions: creating/generating a network slice identifier for the network slice based on the first message / parameters to be used to look up a mapping between service profiles and network slices, also per para. 0144, At step 407, the SMF 44 may send to a UPF 43 a message (e.g. network slice establishment request) to establish the user plane including one or more of the following information: the network slicing information, the network slice ID, the policy, or the S-NSSAI / parameters to be used to look up a mapping between service profiles and network slices, see also Fig. 16, para. 0140, FIG. 16 shows an example of initiating and establishing a network slice using a VAF. At step 401, a VAF 48 may transmit to a VNEF 47 a message (e.g. network slice request message) including network slicing information. The VAF 48 may transmit the message based on a request to establish a network slice to meet one or more service requirements)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a query includes: one or more parameters to be used to look up a mapping between service profiles and network slices, as taught by Qiao, in the system of Huang, Li and Kodaypak, so that network slice ID is created or generated, the network slice ID identify a network slice., see Qiao, paragraph 0141.
As per claim 4, the combination of Huang, Li, Kodaypak and Qiao disclose the device of claim 3.
Huang further disclose wherein the mapping is stored in a network component, and wherein the network component does not include a Unified Data Management (UDM) or a Unified Data Repository (UDR) (see para. 008, the NEF device is configured to include a slice manager that selects a network slice for the UE device based on the request received from the AF device. The NEF device includes a slice database (DB) that stores information relating network slices to AF devices).
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As per claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub. No.:2020/0389843), in view of Li et al (US Pub. No.:2018/0123878), in view of Kodaypak et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0177687) and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0199570).
As per claim 6, the combination of Huang, Li and Kodaypak disclose the device of claim 5.
Huang further disclose wherein the second network function comprises a Unified Data Management (UDM) (see para. 0015, the allowed slices for the UE device may be configured using a Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF) device and stored in a subscription profile, associated with the UE device, in a Unified Data Management (UDM) device).
The combination of Huang, Li and Kodaypak however does not explicitly disclose wherein the UDM is configured to request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to add the identifier to the subscription data for the UE.
Lee however disclose wherein a UDM is configured to request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to add the identifier to subscription data for a UE (see Fig.1, para. 0040, the UDM 145 is an NF that stores and manages UE subscription information, as shown UDM 135 requesting to UDR 150 via interface N35 to add subscription data. The UDR 150 is an NF that stores and manages data, and UE subscription information stored in the UDR 150 is used. The UDR 150 stores the UE subscription information and provide the UE subscription information to the UDM 145. In addition, the UDR 150 stores operator policy information and provide the operator policy information to the PCF 140).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a UDM is configured to request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to add the identifier to subscription data for a UE, as taught by Lee, in the system of Huang, Li and Kodaypak, so as to provides an efficient communication method and device in a wireless communication system supporting network slicing, see Lee, paragraphs 8-13.
As per claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same way as claim 6.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2012/0236776), in view of Li et al (US Pub. No.:2018/0123878), in view of Kodaypak et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0177687) and further in view of Li et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0388036, herein after Li036).
As per claim 8, the combination of Huang, Li and Kodaypak disclose the device of claim 5.
The combination of Huang and Li however does not explicitly disclose wherein the NEF is further configured to: request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to enter the identifier for the network function, and wherein the network function includes an Application Function (AF).
Li036 however disclose wherein a NEF is further configured to: request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to enter the identifier for the network function, and wherein the network function includes an Application Function (AF) (see Fig.3, para. 0043, the subscription data {the identifier for the network function} is stored in a Unified Data Repository with the UDM 312, which uses such data upon reception of request from AMF 306 or SMF 308 and an Application Function (“AF”) 316 stores the application information in the Unified Data Repository via Network Exposure Function (“NEF”) 316. The UPF 310 communicates with the data network 318).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a processor is further configured to: request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to enter the identifier for the network function, and wherein the network function includes an Application Function (AF), as taught by Li036, in the system of Huang, Li and Kodaypak, so as to provide an Application Function (“AF”) 316 to store application information in an Unified Data Repository via NEF, see Li036`, paragraph 43.
As per claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same way as claim 8.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection:
Claims 1-2, 5, 9-10, 13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub. No.:2020/0389843), in view of Wang et al (US Pub. No.:2018/0310169), and further in view of Kodaypak et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0177687).
As per claim 1, Huang disclose A device (Fig. 4, Fig.5, device 400) comprising:
a Network Exposure Function (NEF) (see Fig.4, Fig.5, see para. 0065-0066, FIG. 5 illustrates exemplary components of NEF 260) configured to:
receive a request from a network function to establish a session for the network function and a User Equipment device (UE) ( see para. 0018, 0077, the AF device sends the request in response to the AF device selecting to communicate with the UE device / to establish a session for the network function and a User Equipment device (UE) or in response to the UE device sending an application request to the AF device (e.g., via a default network slice). The AF device sends the request to a 5G Network Exposure Function (NEF) device { receive a request from a network function} configured to interface the 5G core network with AF devices, and per para. 0019, the NEF device is configured to receive a session request from an AF device for a UE device, see also para. 0017, a 5G network is configured to dynamically select a particular network slice for a UE device based on the type of service or connection required by the UE device. For example, the particular network slice is selected based on a request from an Application Function (AF) device for a particular type of session for the UE device, the AF device is associated with an application on the UE device, see also Abstract. para. 0067-0069);
perform a query (see Fig.5, para. 0066-0069, slice manager 510 selects a particular network slice 320 for a particular UE device 110 based on a request received/perform a query from AF 250 using information stored in slice DB 520), to a slice-to-service map (see Fig. 5, slice manager 510), for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session (see Fig.5, see para. 0066-0069, slice manager 510 selects a particular network slice 320 {an identifier corresponding to a network slice} for a particular UE device 110 based on a request / perform a query, received from AF 250 using information {an identifier} stored in slice DB 520, and per para. 0067, a list of allowed network slices 320 for a particular UE device 110, that matches a service profile is stored, Fig.6, para. 0071-0072, Service type field 620 store information identifying one or more service types associated with the particular network slice 320 / service profile, service type field 620 identifies a Quality of Service (QoS) class (e.g., VoIP, real-time video, live gaming, URLLC, MTC, priority data, best effort data, etc.), a type of traffic associated with the particular network slice 320, whether the particular network slice 320 is associated with an MPN, and other types of information used to identify the types of services associated with the particular network slice 320 / a network slice that matches a service profile for the session. Each AF record 630 stores information relating to a particular AF 250 associated with the particular network slice 320, see also Fig.7, para. 0077-0080, a network slice is selected for the session request based on AF 250 and/or the one or more UE devices (block 730). Slice manager 510 of NEF 260 query and identify a network slice 320 associated with the session request based on information included in the session request / an identifier corresponding to a network slice and/or based on information stored in slice DB 520. For example, slice manager 510 identify a particular network slice record 600 that includes the particular AF 250 from which the session request was received / a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, see also Fig.6, para. 0071-0072, as shown in FIG. 6, slice DB 520 includes one or more slice records 600. Each slice record 600 stores information relating to a particular network slice 320. Slice record 600 includes a slice identifier (ID) field 610, a service type field 620, and one or more AF records 630. Slice ID field 610 includes a slice ID associated with a particular network slice 320, see also para. 0042-0047); and
establish the session, for the network function between the UE and the network slice (see para. 0067-0069, AMF interface 560 receives a notification from AMF 220 in the selected network slice 320 that UE device 110 has requested a PDU session connection using the selected network slice 320, SMF interface 570 is configured to communicate with SMF 240, SMF interface 570 receives a notification from SMF 240 in the selected network slice 320 that UE device 110 has established a PDU session with UPF 230. Slice manager 510 sends information relating to the established PDU session to AF 250 via AF interface 540 / establishing the session, see also para. 0068, ,see also para. 0074, after the particular UE device 110 connects to data network 140 using UPF 230 in a selected slice, SMF 240 provides information identifying the PDU session associated with the particular UE device 110 to slice manager 510 and slice manager 510 store the information identifying the PDU session in PDU session field 690, clearly a session is established the network function between the UE and the network slice, see also Fig.6, para. 0071-0075, Fig.7, para. 0076-0084).
Although, Huang disclose perform a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session; and it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to design a system to request a slice management function to create a network slice when a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist;
Huang however does not explicitly disclose if a reply to the query, for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that satisfies the requirements of the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to create the network slice;
Wang however disclose if a reply to the query, for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that satisfies the requirements of the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to create the network slice (see Fig.2, para. 0018, 0048-0051, in step 200, the application management apparatus 21 {a Network Exposure Function (NEF) } sends a network slice creation request to the network slice management apparatus 22 {a slice management function} based on requirements of different applications / if a reply to the query indicates that the network slice does not exist, so that the network slice management apparatus 22 creates network slices for the requirements of the applications, in step 203, the processor 223 generates a network slice based on the network slice feature of the network slice creation request. Also per para. 0051, The foregoing step 200 to step 207 is considered as a process of creating a network slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of if a reply to the query, for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that satisfies the requirements of the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to create the network slice, as taught by Wang, in the system of Huang, so as to provide a network slice management system that correctly find a network element in a network slice of a core network and to “create” a network slice based on a request, see Wang, paragraphs 17-18.
Although the combination of Huang and Wang disclose when a reply, to a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to “create” the network slice;
The combination of Huang and Wang however does not explicitly disclose request a slice management function to “instantiate” the network slice;
Kodaypak however disclose request a slice management function to “instantiate” a network slice (see Fig.5, para. 0055-0057, steps 804-806, addressing information associated with an entity of the existing core network slice is provided to an access point serving the UE so that the access point directs traffic related to the service request to the entity (reply to a query matches), and para. 0056, steps 808-810, a reply, to a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice does not match a service profile for a session, then at 808, a new core network slice is readily instantiated, the new core network slice is customized to handle the service for the class of the UE and/or is localized (e.g., located in close proximity to the UE/access point, see also Abstract, para. 0026-0027, Fig.2, 0032, based on the trigger/a query, the core network control component 108 determines whether to utilize a pre-dedicated core network slice, update the pre-dedicated core network slice, or instantiate a new core network slice of the core network slices 1-M (210.sub.1-210.sub.M; wherein M is most any natural number) to handle the requested service, 0038, 0040-0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of request a slice management function to “instantiate” a network slice, as taught by Kodaypak, in the system of Huang and Wang, so that a network control component is utilized to manage (e.g., instantiate (utilized to manage existing and/or create new core network slices for serving UEs or a specific class, requesting a specific service, and/or are located within a specific area), update, delete, etc.) one or more network slices of a network, see Kodaypak, paragraphs 0026-0027.
As per claim 2, the combination of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak disclose the device of claim 1.
Huang further disclose wherein the network function comprises an Application Function (AF) (see para. 0017-0018, the AF device sends the request in response to the AF device selecting to communicate with the UE device or in response to the UE device sending an application request to the AF device (e.g., via a default network slice). The AF device sends the request to a 5G Network Exposure Function (NEF) device configured to interface the 5G core network with AF devices. The NEF device is configured to include a slice manager that selects a network slice for the UE device based on the request received from the AF device).
As per claim 5, the combination of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak disclose the device of claim 1.
Huang further disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: request a second network function to store the identifier in subscription data associated with the UE (see para. 0015-0019, when a UE device is configured and activated by a wireless network, the UE device is configured to connect to one or more particular network slices. The allowed slices for the UE device is configured using a Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF) device and stored in a subscription profile, associated with the UE device, also per para. 0018, the NEF device includes a slice database (DB) that stores information relating network slices to AF devices. The NEF device receives information relating to available network slices from a NSSF device, including information identifying any newly added slices to the network, the NEF device sends an update relating to available network slices to AF devices based on information received from the NSSF device relating to the available network slices, including the information identifying any newly added slices to the network).
As per claim 9, claim 9 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 10, the combination of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak disclose the method of claim 9.
Huang further disclose wherein the network function comprises an Application Function (AF) (see para. 0017-0018, he particular network slice may be selected based on a request from an Application Function (AF) device for a particular type of session for the UE device. The AF device may be associated with an application on the UE device. For example, the UE device may run a medical monitoring application and the AF device may correspond to, or interface with, a server device associated with the medical monitoring application, see also Abstract).
As per claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same way as claim 5.
As per claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Huang also disclose A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable instructions (see para. 0064, device 400 may perform certain operations relating to selection of a network slice. Device 400 may perform these operations in response to processor 420 executing software instructions contained in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 430. A computer-readable medium may be defined as a non-transitory memory device. A memory device may be implemented within a single physical memory device or spread across multiple physical memory devices. The software instructions may be read into memory 430 from another computer-readable medium or from another device. The software instructions contained in memory 430 may cause processor 420 to perform processes described herein).
As per claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same way as claim 10.
Claims 3-4, 11-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub. No.:2020/0389843), in view of Wang et al (US Pub. No.:2018/0310169), in view of Kodaypak et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0177687) and further in view of Qiao et al (US Pub. No.:2019/0053147).
As per claim 3, the combination of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak disclose the device of claim 1.
The combination of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak disclose wherein the query includes: one or more parameters to be used to look up a mapping between service profiles and network slices.
Qiao however disclose wherein a query includes: one or more parameters to be used to look up a mapping between service profiles and network slices (see Fig. 16, para. 0140, FIG. 16 shows an example of initiating and establishing a network slice using a VAF. At step 401, a VAF 48 may transmit to a VNEF 47 a message (e.g. network slice request message) including network slicing information. The VAF 48 may transmit the message based on a request to establish a network slice to meet one or more service requirements, see also para. 0141-0145, 0148, a visited policy control function, VPCF, may receive, from a first network entity, a first message configured to request a network slice for a wireless device, the first message including at least one of: a network slice request indication; a required bandwidth of the network slice; an allowed latency of the network slice; a priority information of the network slice; a service provider identifier of a service provider requesting the network slice; a slice type information associated with the network slice; a charging information for the network slice; an S-NSSAI; service data flow information; a user identity; an APN identity; and/or the like. The PCF may perform at least one of the following actions: creating/generating a network slice identifier for the network slice based on the first message / a network slice does not exist by using a mapping between services and network slice and creating one, also per para. 0144, At step 407, the SMF 44 may send to a UPF 43 a message (e.g. network slice establishment request) to establish the user plane including one or more of the following information: the network slicing information, the network slice ID, the policy, or the S-NSSAI)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a query includes: one or more parameters to be used to look up a mapping between service profiles and network slices, as taught by Qiao, in the system of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak, so that network slice ID is created or generated, the network slice ID identify a network slice., see Qiao, paragraph 0141.
As per claim 4, the combination of Huang, Wang, Kodaypak and Qiao disclose the device of claim 3.
Huang further disclose wherein the mapping is stored in a network component, and wherein the network component does not include a Unified Data Management (UDM) or a Unified Data Repository (UDR) (see para. 008, the NEF device is configured to include a slice manager that selects a network slice for the UE device based on the request received from the AF device. The NEF device includes a slice database (DB) that stores information relating network slices to AF devices).
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As per claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub. No.:2020/0389843), in view of Wang et al (US Pub. No.:2018/0310169), in view of Kodaypak et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0177687) and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0199570).
As per claim 6, the combination of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak disclose the device of claim 5.
Huang further disclose wherein the second network function comprises a Unified Data Management (UDM) (see para. 0015, the allowed slices for the UE device may be configured using a Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF) device and stored in a subscription profile, associated with the UE device, in a Unified Data Management (UDM) device).
The combination of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak however does not explicitly disclose wherein the UDM is configured to request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to add the identifier to the subscription data for the UE.
Lee however disclose wherein a UDM is configured to request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to add the identifier to subscription data for a UE (see Fig.1, para. 0040, the UDM 145 is an NF that stores and manages UE subscription information, as shown UDM 135 requesting to UDR 150 via interface N35 to add subscription data. The UDR 150 is an NF that stores and manages data, and UE subscription information stored in the UDR 150 is used. The UDR 150 stores the UE subscription information and provide the UE subscription information to the UDM 145. In addition, the UDR 150 stores operator policy information and provide the operator policy information to the PCF 140).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a UDM is configured to request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to add the identifier to subscription data for a UE, as taught by Lee, in the system of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak, so as to provides an efficient communication method and device in a wireless communication system supporting network slicing, see Lee, paragraphs 8-13.
As per claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same way as claim 6.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2012/0236776), in view of Wang et al (US Pub. No.:2018/0310169), in view of Kodaypak et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0177687) and further in view of Li et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0388036).
As per claim 8, the combination of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak disclose the device of claim 5.
The combination of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak however does not explicitly disclose wherein the NEF is further configured to: request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to enter the identifier for the network function, and wherein the network function includes an Application Function (AF).
Li however disclose wherein a NEF is further configured to: request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to enter the identifier for the network function, and wherein the network function includes an Application Function (AF) (see Fig.3, para. 0043, the subscription data {the identifier for the network function} is stored in a Unified Data Repository with the UDM 312, which uses such data upon reception of request from AMF 306 or SMF 308 and an Application Function (“AF”) 316 stores the application information in the Unified Data Repository via Network Exposure Function (“NEF”) 316. The UPF 310 communicates with the data network 318).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a NEF is further configured to: request a Unified Data Repository (UDR) to enter the identifier for the network function, and wherein the network function includes an Application Function (AF), as taught by Li, in the system of Huang, Wang and Kodaypak, so as to provide an Application Function (“AF”) 316 to store application information in an Unified Data Repository via NEF, see Li, paragraph 43.
As per claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same way as claim 8.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Third Rejection:
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub. No.:2020/0389843), in view of Qiao et al (US Pub. No.:2019/0053147) and further in view of Kodaypak et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0177687).
As per claim 1, Huang disclose a device (Fig. 4, Fig.5, device 400) comprising:
a Network Exposure Function (NEF) (see Fig.4, Fig.5, see para. 0065-0066, FIG. 5 illustrates exemplary components of NEF 260) configured to:
receive a request from a network function to establish a session for the network function and a User Equipment device (UE) ( see para. 0018, 0077, the AF device sends the request in response to the AF device selecting to communicate with the UE device / to establish a session for the network function and a User Equipment device (UE) or in response to the UE device sending an application request to the AF device (e.g., via a default network slice). The AF device sends the request to a 5G Network Exposure Function (NEF) device { receive a request from a network function} configured to interface the 5G core network with AF devices, and per para. 0019, the NEF device is configured to receive a session request from an AF device for a UE device, see also para. 0017, a 5G network is configured to dynamically select a particular network slice for a UE device based on the type of service or connection required by the UE device. For example, the particular network slice is selected based on a request from an Application Function (AF) device for a particular type of session for the UE device, the AF device is associated with an application on the UE device, see also Abstract. para. 0067-0069);
perform a query (see Fig.5, para. 0066-0069, slice manager 510 selects a particular network slice 320 for a particular UE device 110 based on a request received/perform a query from AF 250 using information stored in slice DB 520), to a slice-to-service map (see Fig. 5, slice manager 510), for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session (see Fig.5, see para. 0066-0069, slice manager 510 selects a particular network slice 320 {an identifier corresponding to a network slice} for a particular UE device 110 based on a request / perform a query, received from AF 250 using information {an identifier} stored in slice DB 520, and per para. 0067, a list of allowed network slices 320 for a particular UE device 110, that matches a service profile is stored, Fig.6, para. 0071-0072, Service type field 620 store information identifying one or more service types associated with the particular network slice 320 / service profile, service type field 620 identifies a Quality of Service (QoS) class (e.g., VoIP, real-time video, live gaming, URLLC, MTC, priority data, best effort data, etc.), a type of traffic associated with the particular network slice 320, whether the particular network slice 320 is associated with an MPN, and other types of information used to identify the types of services associated with the particular network slice 320 / a network slice that matches a service profile for the session. Each AF record 630 stores information relating to a particular AF 250 associated with the particular network slice 320, see also Fig.7, para. 0077-0080, a network slice is selected for the session request based on AF 250 and/or the one or more UE devices (block 730). Slice manager 510 of NEF 260 query and identify a network slice 320 associated with the session request based on information included in the session request / an identifier corresponding to a network slice and/or based on information stored in slice DB 520. For example, slice manager 510 identify a particular network slice record 600 that includes the particular AF 250 from which the session request was received / a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, see also Fig.6, para. 0071-0072, as shown in FIG. 6, slice DB 520 includes one or more slice records 600. Each slice record 600 stores information relating to a particular network slice 320. Slice record 600 includes a slice identifier (ID) field 610, a service type field 620, and one or more AF records 630. Slice ID field 610 includes a slice ID associated with a particular network slice 320, see also para. 0042-0047); and
establish the session, for the network function between the UE and the network slice (see para. 0067-0069, AMF interface 560 receives a notification from AMF 220 in the selected network slice 320 that UE device 110 has requested a PDU session connection using the selected network slice 320, SMF interface 570 is configured to communicate with SMF 240, SMF interface 570 receives a notification from SMF 240 in the selected network slice 320 that UE device 110 has established a PDU session with UPF 230. Slice manager 510 sends information relating to the established PDU session to AF 250 via AF interface 540 / establishing the session, see also para. 0068, ,see also para. 0074, after the particular UE device 110 connects to data network 140 using UPF 230 in a selected slice, SMF 240 provides information identifying the PDU session associated with the particular UE device 110 to slice manager 510 and slice manager 510 store the information identifying the PDU session in PDU session field 690, clearly a session is established the network function between the UE and the network slice, see also Fig.6, para. 0071-0075, Fig.7, para. 0076-0084).
Although, Huang disclose perform a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session; and it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to design a system to request a slice management function to create a network slice when a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist;
Huang however does not explicitly disclose if a reply, to the query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to create the network slice;
Qiao however disclose if a reply, to the query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist (see Fig.13, para. 0126-0127, At step 102, based on receiving the network slice request message from the HAF 17, that the network slice does not exist ,a message (e.g. network slice request message) may be sent to a VPCF 15 including one or more of the following information: the network slicing information, the policy, or the S-NSSAI. The message may include the service data flow information, the user identity, and/or the APN identity, if applicable), request a slice management function to create the network slice (see Fig.13, para. 0126-0128, at step 103, based on receiving the network slice request message from the HPCF 16, the VPCF 15 perform at least one of the following actions. A network slice ID may be created or generated. The network slice ID may identify a network slice. The network slice ID maybe per wireless device, per PLMN, or per operator. The network slice ID may unique be per wireless device, per PLMN, or per operator. The network slice ID may be unique per PLMN and uniqueness may be guaranteed. A message (e.g. network slice establishment request message) may be sent to a SMF 14 including one or more of the following information: the network slicing information, the network slice ID, the policy, or the S-NSSAI, see also para. 0129, after receiving the network slice establishment request message from the VPCF 15: allocate the PDU session ID if the PDU session may be established together with the network slice establishment, and/or send a message (e.g. network slice establishment request message) to an AMF 12 including one or more of the following information: the network slicing information, the network slice ID, the policy, or the S-NSSAI. The message may include the service data flow information, the user identity, the APN identity, and/or PDU session ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of if a reply, to the query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to create the network slice, as taught by Qiao, in the system of Huang, so as create a network slice, see Qiao, paragraphs 0128.
Although the combination of Huang and Qiao disclose when a reply, to a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to “create” the network slice;
The combination of Huang and Qiao however does not explicitly disclose request a slice management function to “instantiate” the network slice;
Kodaypak however disclose request a slice management function to “instantiate” a network slice (see Fig.5, para. 0055-0057, steps 804-806, addressing information associated with an entity of the existing core network slice is provided to an access point serving the UE so that the access point directs traffic related to the service request to the entity (reply to a query matches), and para. 0056, steps 808-810, a reply, to a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice does not match a service profile for a session, then at 808, a new core network slice is readily instantiated, the new core network slice is customized to handle the service for the class of the UE and/or is localized (e.g., located in close proximity to the UE/access point, see also Abstract, para. 0026-0027, Fig.2, 0032, based on the trigger/a query, the core network control component 108 determines whether to utilize a pre-dedicated core network slice, update the pre-dedicated core network slice, or instantiate a new core network slice of the core network slices 1-M (210.sub.1-210.sub.M; wherein M is most any natural number) to handle the requested service, 0038, 0040-0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of request a slice management function to “instantiate” a network slice, as taught by Kodaypak, in the system of Huang and Qiao, so that a network control component is utilized to manage (e.g., instantiate (utilized to manage existing and/or create new core network slices for serving UEs or a specific class, requesting a specific service, and/or are located within a specific area), update, delete, etc.) one or more network slices of a network, see Kodaypak, paragraphs 0026-0027.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Fourth Rejection:
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub. No.:2020/0389843), in view of Livanos et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0396298) and further in view of Kodaypak et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0177687).
As per claim 1, Huang disclose a device (Fig. 4, Fig.5, device 400) comprising:
a Network Exposure Function (NEF) (see Fig.4, Fig.5, see para. 0065-0066, FIG. 5 illustrates exemplary components of NEF 260) configured to:
receive a request from a network function to establish a session for the network function and a User Equipment device (UE) ( see para. 0018, 0077, the AF device sends the request in response to the AF device selecting to communicate with the UE device / to establish a session for the network function and a User Equipment device (UE) or in response to the UE device sending an application request to the AF device (e.g., via a default network slice). The AF device sends the request to a 5G Network Exposure Function (NEF) device { receive a request from a network function} configured to interface the 5G core network with AF devices, and per para. 0019, the NEF device is configured to receive a session request from an AF device for a UE device, see also para. 0017, a 5G network is configured to dynamically select a particular network slice for a UE device based on the type of service or connection required by the UE device. For example, the particular network slice is selected based on a request from an Application Function (AF) device for a particular type of session for the UE device, the AF device is associated with an application on the UE device, see also Abstract. para. 0067-0069);
perform a query (see Fig.5, para. 0066-0069, slice manager 510 selects a particular network slice 320 for a particular UE device 110 based on a request received/perform a query from AF 250 using information stored in slice DB 520), to a slice-to-service map (see Fig. 5, slice manager 510), for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session (see Fig.5, see para. 0066-0069, slice manager 510 selects a particular network slice 320 {an identifier corresponding to a network slice} for a particular UE device 110 based on a request / perform a query, received from AF 250 using information {an identifier} stored in slice DB 520, and per para. 0067, a list of allowed network slices 320 for a particular UE device 110, that matches a service profile is stored, Fig.6, para. 0071-0072, Service type field 620 store information identifying one or more service types associated with the particular network slice 320 / service profile, service type field 620 identifies a Quality of Service (QoS) class (e.g., VoIP, real-time video, live gaming, URLLC, MTC, priority data, best effort data, etc.), a type of traffic associated with the particular network slice 320, whether the particular network slice 320 is associated with an MPN, and other types of information used to identify the types of services associated with the particular network slice 320 / a network slice that matches a service profile for the session. Each AF record 630 stores information relating to a particular AF 250 associated with the particular network slice 320, see also Fig.7, para. 0077-0080, a network slice is selected for the session request based on AF 250 and/or the one or more UE devices (block 730). Slice manager 510 of NEF 260 query and identify a network slice 320 associated with the session request based on information included in the session request / an identifier corresponding to a network slice and/or based on information stored in slice DB 520. For example, slice manager 510 identify a particular network slice record 600 that includes the particular AF 250 from which the session request was received / a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, see also Fig.6, para. 0071-0072, as shown in FIG. 6, slice DB 520 includes one or more slice records 600. Each slice record 600 stores information relating to a particular network slice 320. Slice record 600 includes a slice identifier (ID) field 610, a service type field 620, and one or more AF records 630. Slice ID field 610 includes a slice ID associated with a particular network slice 320, see also para. 0042-0047); and
establish the session, for the network function between the UE and the network slice (see para. 0067-0069, AMF interface 560 receives a notification from AMF 220 in the selected network slice 320 that UE device 110 has requested a PDU session connection using the selected network slice 320, SMF interface 570 is configured to communicate with SMF 240, SMF interface 570 receives a notification from SMF 240 in the selected network slice 320 that UE device 110 has established a PDU session with UPF 230. Slice manager 510 sends information relating to the established PDU session to AF 250 via AF interface 540 / establishing the session, see also para. 0068, ,see also para. 0074, after the particular UE device 110 connects to data network 140 using UPF 230 in a selected slice, SMF 240 provides information identifying the PDU session associated with the particular UE device 110 to slice manager 510 and slice manager 510 store the information identifying the PDU session in PDU session field 690, clearly a session is established the network function between the UE and the network slice, see also Fig.6, para. 0071-0075, Fig.7, para. 0076-0084).
Although, Huang disclose perform a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session; and it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to design a system to request a slice management function to create a network slice when a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist;
Huang however does not explicitly disclose if a reply, to the query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to create the network slice;
Livanos however disclose if a reply, to the query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to create the network slice (see Fig.7, para. 0059, CSMF 740 is part of NEF 150, AS 180 utilize the Nb REST Identity Provisioning” API with the NEF. AS 180 sends to CSMF 740 of the NEF a communication service description according to a communication service request. CSMF 740 of the NEF receives the communication service description and select network service requirements according to such description. CSMF 740 of the NEF translates the selected network service requirements into slice-specific requirements. CSMF 740 send the slice-specific requirements to NSMF 592. At NSMF 592, a selected one of a plurality of network slice templates (NSTs) 732 to be used to create NSI 722 according to the slice-specific requirements. The selected NST 732 provides the created NSI 722 with required instance specific policies and configurations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of if a reply, to the query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to create the network slice, as taught by Li, in the system of Huang, so as to provide efficient methods and apparatus for use in identity assignment, provisioning, and/or network slice orchestration in a mobile network, see Livanos, paragraphs 0003, 0019-0023.
Although the combination of Huang and Livanos disclose when a reply, to a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice that matches a service profile for the session, indicates that the network slice does not exist, request a slice management function to “create” the network slice;
The combination of Huang and Livanos however does not explicitly disclose request a slice management function to “instantiate” the network slice;
Kodaypak however disclose request a slice management function to “instantiate” a network slice (see Fig.5, para. 0055-0057, steps 804-806, addressing information associated with an entity of the existing core network slice is provided to an access point serving the UE so that the access point directs traffic related to the service request to the entity (reply to a query matches), and para. 0056, steps 808-810, a reply, to a query for an identifier corresponding to a network slice does not match a service profile for a session, then at 808, a new core network slice is readily instantiated, the new core network slice is customized to handle the service for the class of the UE and/or is localized (e.g., located in close proximity to the UE/access point, see also Abstract, para. 0026-0027, Fig.2, 0032, based on the trigger/a query, the core network control component 108 determines whether to utilize a pre-dedicated core network slice, update the pre-dedicated core network slice, or instantiate a new core network slice of the core network slices 1-M (210.sub.1-210.sub.M; wherein M is most any natural number) to handle the requested service, 0038, 0040-0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of request a slice management function to “instantiate” a network slice, as taught by Kodaypak, in the system of Huang and Livanos, so that a network control component is utilized to manage (e.g., instantiate (utilized to manage existing and/or create new core network slices for serving UEs or a specific class, requesting a specific service, and/or are located within a specific area), update, delete, etc.) one or more network slices of a network, see Kodaypak, paragraphs 0026-0027.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Obaidi et al (US Pub. No.: 20210297846) – see Abstract, para. 0022, 0058, “Operation 405 may be followed by operation 407. Operation 407 illustrates analyzing the service profile for the first device and the configured sets of services for the instantiated network instances. For example, the service profile (also referred to as a network slice profile) may be generated based on one more selectable parameters that have been established by the network provider. Selectable parameters may be provided for each of a number of categories such as latency, security, quality of service, storage, and the like. Operation 407 may be followed by operation 409. Operation 409 illustrates based on the analyzing, determining if the service profile matches a configured set of services for one of the instantiated network instances. Operation 409 may be followed by operation 411. Operation 411 illustrates, based on the analyzing, determining if the service profile matches a configured set of services for one of the instantiated network instances.”.
EP4301047A2 – see para. 0039, “FIG. 3 is provided to illustrate a network architecture 300 in which the resources of the operator network 302 are divided into a set of logical planes, a user plane (UP) 304, a control plane (CP) 306 and a management plane (MP) 308. The UP 304 is typically focussed on packet transport, but certain functions including packet filtering and traffic shaping can be performed in the UP 304, although this is typically performed based on instructions from a network function in the CP 306. Functions in the MP 308 receive input from network functions within the customer domain 310 about the policies that should be enforced by the network control functions in the control plane 306. When Operator Network 302 supports network slicing, functions within MP 308 is responsible for slice design and creation. It should be understood that a single MP 308 may be used to provide management functionality for a plurality of network slices that each have different control and user planes.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469