DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10-11 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, 17 and 19 contains the following trademark/trade names “rheocin”, “BOC polyhydroxystearic acid” and “BTC bentonite”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe, respectively, “a processed castor oil derivative of the brands Rheobyk or Rheocin”, “bentonite from the company BTC Europe” “a polyhydroxystearic acid from the company BOC Sciences” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as “a castor oil derivative”, “bentonite” and “polyhydroxystearic acid”, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 108029280-A) in view of Shigeo (FR 2681593).
In regard to claim 1, Zhou discloses a coating comprising:
a carrier, wherein the carries is an aqueous-based carrier comprising between 10% to 90% by weight of glycol or polyglycol and between 10% to 90% by weight of water and constitutes between 16% to 75% by weight of the coating (e.g. 4 parts ethylene glycol, 5 parts water, out of 32.4 parts total = 44% by weight glycol, 55% by weight water, 28% by weight of the coating) [para. 0014, step (6)];
one or more micronutrient dispersants and/or micronutrient surfactants (e.g. carboxymethyl cellulose, diatomaceous earth) [0014]; and
one or more micronutrients selected from zinc, copper, boron, and magnesium (e.g. 1 part of ferrous sulfate, 1 part of ammonium molybdate, 1 part of zinc sulfate, 0.4 parts of manganese sulfate) [0014].
Although Zhou does not explicitly describe the intended use as fertilizer coating, the preamble statement and the intended use of the emulsion composition does not limit the body of the claim(s) which fully and intrinsically set forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention. The preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention [MPEP 2111.02 II.]. Furthermore, Zhou’s seed coating composition is capable of use as a fertilizer coating [To satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431].
Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more micronutrient dispersants and/or micronutrient surfactants are those listed in the claim. Shigeo is directed to a micronutrient fertilizer coating [abstract; claims]. In order to regulate the degradation and decomposition time of the coating it is possible to use mineral particles such as clay, bentonite, diatomaceous earth [pg. 7, lines 19-29]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute an art recognized equivalent (e.g. bentonite) for the equivalent set forth in Zhou (e.g. diatomaceous earth) for the same purpose (e.g. control degradation and decomposition of the coating). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claims 1, 3 6-8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 104402580) in view of Gryzik et al. (US Patent No. 6,364,926 B1) and Shigeo (FR 2681593).
In regard to claims 1, 3 and 6-7, Yang teaches a fertilizer coating (e.g. organic fertilizer coating) [para. 0007] comprising:
an aqueous-based/oil-based carrier (e.g. mixed ethanol, turpentine, water) [0007];
one or more micronutrient dispersants and/or micronutrient surfactants (e.g. dodecyl dimethyl amine oxide) [0007]; and
one or more micronutrients (e.g. cow dung and duck manure with inherently contain zinc, copper, boron and/or magnesium) [0007],
wherein the dispersant, micronutrient, oil and water are emulsified (e.g. stirred into an emulsion) [0007],
further comprising a rheological modifier (e.g. calcium stearate) [0007].
Yang recites an appropriate amount of water [0007] but Yang does not explicitly teach wherein the coating comprises between 10% to 90% by weight of glycol or polyglycol and between 10% to 90% by weight of water and constitutes between 16% to 75% by weight of the coating.
Gryzik et al. is directed to a liquid fertilizer composition wherein the composition is dispersed in a carrier, typically water with a water miscible organic solvent. Examples of water-miscible organic solvents include ethanol and glycol [col. 6, lines 45-55]. Gryzik’s solvent comprises 0% to about 10% of the aqueous composition [col. 6, lines 58-60]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform simple substitution of Yang’s organic solvent (e.g. ethanol) with another suitable organic solvent (e.g. glycol) to yield predictable results. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the amount of coating and coating solvent components to help dissolve or disperse composition ingredients or to adjust composition viscosity [Gryzik, col. 6, lines 60-61].
Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more micronutrient dispersants and/or micronutrient surfactants are those listed in the claim. Shigeo is directed to a micronutrient fertilizer coating [abstract; claims]. In order to regulate the degradation and decomposition time of the coating it is possible to use mineral particles such as clay, bentonite, diatomaceous earth [pg. 7, lines 19-29]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute an art recognized equivalent (e.g. bentonite) for the equivalent set forth in Yang (e.g. diatomite) for the same purpose (e.g. control degradation and decomposition of the coating). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to claims 8 and 11-14, Yang teaches a method of providing micronutrients to fertilizer while reducing dust production and reducing caking tendencies (e.g. providing an oil based coating) [0007], the method comprising:
applying a coating to a fertilizer substrate (e.g. spraying the coating agent on the surface of fertilizer granules) [0008], the coating comprising
an aqueous-based/oil-based carrier (e.g. mixed ethanol, turpentine, water) [0007];
one or more micronutrient dispersants (e.g. dodecyl dimethyl amine oxide) [0007]; and
one or more micronutrients (e.g. iron) [0007],
wherein the dispersant, micronutrient, oil and water are emulsified (e.g. stirred into an emulsion) [0007],
further comprising a rheological modifier (e.g. calcium stearate) [0007].
Yang recites an appropriate amount of water [0007] but Yang does not explicitly teach wherein the coating comprises between 10% to 90% by weight of glycol or polyglycol and between 10% to 90% by weight of water and constitutes between 16% to 75% by weight of the coating.
Gryzik et al. is directed to a liquid fertilizer composition wherein the composition is dispersed in a carrier, typically water with a water miscible organic solvent. Examples of water-miscible organic solvents include ethanol and glycol [col. 6, lines 45-55]. Gryzik’s solvent comprises 0% to about 10% of the aqueous composition [col. 6, lines 58-60]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform simple substitution of Yang’s organic solvent (e.g. ethanol) with another suitable organic solvent (e.g. glycol) to yield predictable results. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the amount of coating and coating solvent components to help dissolve or disperse composition ingredients or to adjust composition viscosity [Gryzik, col. 6, lines 60-61].
Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more micronutrient dispersants and/or micronutrient surfactants are those listed in the claim. Shigeo is directed to a micronutrient fertilizer coating [abstract; claims]. In order to regulate the degradation and decomposition time of the coating it is possible to use mineral particles such as clay, bentonite, diatomaceous earth [pg. 7, lines 19-29]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute an art recognized equivalent (e.g. bentonite) for the equivalent set forth in Yang (e.g. diatomite) for the same purpose (e.g. control degradation and decomposition of the coating). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 104402580) in view of Gryzik et al. (US Patent No. 6,364,926 B1) and Shigeo (FR 2681593) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogzewalla et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0204019 A1).
In regard to claim 4, Yang teaches the fertilizer coating of Claim 1 wherein the dispersant, micronutrient, oil and water are emulsified (e.g. stirred into an emulsion) [0007]. The reference does not explicitly disclose further stabilization vi a pickering emulsion.
Ogzewalla et al. is directed to a method for reducing dust formation and caking in fertilizer comprising coating the fertilizer with an emulsion [abstract]. Surfactants, emulsifiers or pickering emulsions can be used to create the emulsions used for coating [0030]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further stabilize the aqueous-based carrier via a pickering emulsion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply a known emulsion technique by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 8, 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zander (WO2015034375 A1) in view of Alis et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0022119 A1) and Stoller et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20160207844).
In regard to claim 8, 11 and 14, Zander discloses a method of providing micronutrients to fertilizer while reducing dust production and reducing caking tendencies (e.g. to address the problem of granules producing dust, to provide additional nutrients and/or trace elements) [pg. 1, last para. – pg. 2, 3rd para.] the method comprising:
applying a coating to a fertilizer substrate (e.g. the fertilizer core is coated with a first layer) [para. bridging pgs. 5-6], the coating comprising:
a carrier, wherein
the carrier is an aqueous-based carrier, wherein the aqueous-based carrier is emulsified with an oil-based media (e.g. a mixture of clay and an oil/water emulsion) [pg. 5, 3rd para.];
one or more micronutrient dispersants (e.g. clay) [pg. 5, 3rd para.]; and
one or more micronutrients (e.g. MgO) [pg. 5, para. 8]
Zander recites an embodiment in which glycol is added to water in the coating carrier [pg. 10, example 3] but does not explicitly teach between 10% to 90% by weight of glycol and between 10% to 90% by weight of water and wherein the carrier constitutes between 16% to 75% by weight of the coating, however, Alis et al., directed to a coated fertilizer [abstract], describes using a resin for coating fertilizer preferably in the form of an aqueous dispersion containing for example between 20% and 40% by weight of water, and optionally another solvent such as a glycol [0018]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the amount of fertilizer carrier, coating, and glycol within the aqueous-based coating. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to adjust the fertilizer release control or delay effect, as a function of the environmental conditions, and in particular the rainfall [Alis, 0017].
Zander does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more micronutrient dispersants and/or micronutrient surfactants are those listed in the claim.
Stoller et al. is directed to a mixtures for use as a fertilizer [abstract]. The mixtures include a chemically inert agent acting as a dispersant such as clay, bentonite, kaolins, attapulgite or the like [para. 0008]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute an art recognized equivalent (e.g. bentonite) for the equivalent set forth in Zander (e.g. clay, generally) for the same purpose (e.g. as a dispersant). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to claim 13, Zander discloses the method of claim 8 where the coating further comprises an oil phase stabilized through a rheological modifier (e.g. a mixture of clay and an oil/water emulsion) [pg. 5, 3rd para.].
In regard to claim 15, Zander discloses the method of claim 8 where the coating is applied to the fertilizer substrate by dosing a controlled amount of the coating onto a bed of the fertilizer substrate and tumbling or mixing (e.g. weighing and coating in a rotating coating drum) [all examples, pgs. 9-15].
In regard to claim 16, Zander discloses the method of claim 8 where the coating is applied to the fertilizer substrate by applying the coating onto the fertilizer substrate as a top coat, without mixing (e.g. urea granules are coated, then the magnesium oxide is added to start coating again) [all examples, pgs. 9-15].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zander (WO2015034375 A1) in view of Alis et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0022119 A1) and Stoller et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20160207844), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ogzewalla et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0204019 A1).
In regard to claim 10, Zander teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the aqueous-based carrier is emulsified with an oil-based media (e.g. a mixture of clay and an oil/water emulsion) [pg. 5, 3rd para.].
The reference does not explicitly disclose further stabilization vi a pickering emulsion.
Ogzewalla et al. is directed to a method for reducing dust formation and caking in fertilizer comprising coating the fertilizer with an emulsion [abstract]. Surfactants, emulsifiers or pickering emulsions can be used to create the emulsions used for coating [0030]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further stabilize the aqueous-based carrier via a pickering emulsion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply a known emulsion technique by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tapley et al. (US Patent No. 5,914,101) in view of Shacknai et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2002/0132015 A1).
In regard to claims 17-18, Tapley et al. is directed to a method of producing a stabilized aqueous dispersion, the method comprising:
adding micronutrients (e.g. zinc oxide) to an aqueous carrier (e.g. a stabilized aqueous dispersion of particulate zinc oxide comprises water) [col. 1, lines 18-20], wherein the aqueous-based carrier comprises glycol or polyglycol and water (e.g. when polyethylene glycol is used to stabilize the emulsion it is normally necessary to hydrate solid polyethylene glycol by stirring with water) [col. 3, lines 35-39] and constitutes between 16% to 75% by weight of the composition (e.g. aqueous phase B is ~ 69.6%) [col. 7, example 6];
dispersing the zinc oxide in the aqueous-based carrier (e.g. dispersion of zinc oxide) [col. 7, example 6];
adding an oil-based media (e.g. phase A-oil phase was added to phase B-aqueous phase) [col. 8, line 10]; and
emulsifying the oil-based media and the aqueous-based carrier with dispersed micronutrients to produce the composition (e.g. mixed using a rotor/stator mixer for 2 minutes) [col. 8, lines 10-11].
Although Tapley et al. does not describe the method as producing a “fertilizer coating”, the body of the present claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention (e.g. as a fertilizer coating), rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Therefore, the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction [MPEP 2111.02].
Tapley et al. disclose a content of micronutrients (e.g. zinc oxide) between 40% -75%. Tapley et al. disclose a glycol present in an amount in the range of 1.5 to 7.0 % by weight with respect to the weight of zinc oxide. Tapley disclose the amount of zinc oxide and glycol to be an art recognized result effective variable depending on the intended storage stability (e.g. the stabilizing agent is a polyalkylene glycol and the amount of glycol can be varied according to the intended end use) [col. 3, lines 22-34] (e.g. the dispersions of the invention are particularly useful when they contain a relatively high proportion of zinc oxide since this allows a user to have flexibility in producing the formulations in which the dispersions are used. Useful stabilized dispersions contain at least 40 per cent zinc oxide by weight and preferably the amount of zinc oxide is at least 50 per cent by weight. Particularly useful stabilized dispersions contain at least 60 per cent zinc oxide by weight. Normally, it is impractical to prepare a dispersion containing more than 75 per cent zinc oxide by weight) [col. 1, lines 42-51]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to formulate a composition with glycol stabilizer and zinc oxide within the claimed amounts through routine experimentation Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that there the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Tapley does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more micronutrient dispersants and/or micronutrient surfactants are those listed in the claim.
Shacknai et al. is directed to a compositions for the delivery of an active ingredient [abstract]. The compositions include a swelling clay including bentonite [0020]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute an art recognized equivalent (e.g. bentonite) for the equivalent set forth in Tapley (e.g. swelling clay, generally) for the same purpose (e.g. as a dispersant). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/29/2025, have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s amendments to the claims necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 November 3, 2025