DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species 1 (figures 2a-2e, claims 1-6 and 10-20) in the reply filed on 11/28/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1 Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 20170236633).
Regarding claim 1, Park et al.(figures 9-11 and para 0070-0075) discloses a first coil-structure (310/320), comprising at least one first conductive layer (310), wherein each conductive layer is formed on a corresponding insulating layer (500), wherein the at least one first conductive layer comprises first conductive patterns for forming at least one first winding turn of a first coil (see figures 10-11), said first winding turn being an innermost winding turn of the first coil (see figures 10-11); and a second coil-structure (330/340), comprising at least one second conductive layer (330), wherein each conductive layer is formed on a corresponding insulating layer (500), wherein the at least one second conductive layer comprises second conductive patterns for forming at least one second winding turn of a second coil (see figures 10-11), said second winding turn being an innermost winding turn of the second coil (see figures 10-11); and wherein on a first vertical plane across the at least one first winding turn of the first coil-structure(see figures 10-11), a first hollow space of the at least one first winding turn of the first coil- structure(see figures 10-11), the at least one second winding turn of the second coil-structure(see figures 10-11), and a second hollow space of the at least one second winding turn of the second coil-structure(see figures 10-11), a first horizontal distance between a first middle point of a first horizontal line segment and a second middle point of a second horizontal line segment is not greater than 1µm (see figures 10-11, that disclose the horizontal distance d is zero since the vertical line passing the first middle point and the second middle point are the same because the distance first horizontal line segment extending from a first edge to a second edge of said first winding turn of the first coil is equal to the second horizontal line segment extending from a third edge to a fourth edge of said second winding turn of the second coil), wherein the first horizontal line segment extends from a first edge to a second edge of said first winding turn of the first coil across said first hollow space of the at least one first winding turn of the first coil-structure (see figures 10-11), and the second horizontal line segment extends from a third edge to a fourth edge of said second winding turn of the second coil across said second hollow space of the at least one second winding turn of the second coil-structure (see figures 10-11).
Regarding claim 18, Park et al.(figures 9-11 and para 0070-0075) discloses a first coil-structure (310/320),, comprising at least one first conductive layer (320), wherein each conductive layer is formed on a corresponding insulating layer (500), wherein the at least one first conductive layer comprises first conductive patterns for forming at least one first winding turn of a first coil (see figures 10-11); a second coil-structure (330/340), comprising at least one second conductive layer (330), wherein each conductive layer is formed on a corresponding insulating layer (500), wherein the at least one second conductive layer comprises second conductive patterns for forming at least one second winding turn of a second coil (see figures 10-11); and wherein the at least one first winding turn of the first coil-structure and the at least one second winding turn of the second coil-structure are stacked along a vertical direction (see figures 10-11),with a vertical distance between the at least one first winding turn of the first coil and the at least one second winding turn of the second coil (see figures 10-11), wherein the first coil-structure and the second coil-structure are formed according to a same set of imaging patterns, wherein the relative position of the axis of the first coil to the shape of the first coil is the same as the relative position of the axis of the second coil to the shape of the second coil(see figures 10-11)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2 Claims 1-6, 10-11, 14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muneuchi et al. (US 2018/0182533) in view of Park et al. (US 20170236633).
Regarding claim 1, Muneuchi et al.(figures 3a-6d and para 0051-0070) discloses a first coil-structure (14/21 or 31), comprising at least one first conductive layer (see figure 3b/5b), wherein the at least one first conductive layer comprises first conductive patterns for forming at least one first winding turn of a first coil (see figures 3b/5b), said first winding turn being an innermost winding turn of the first coil (see figures 3b/5b); and a second coil-structure (14/22 or 32), comprising at least one second conductive layer (figures 3b/5b),wherein the at least one second conductive layer comprises second conductive patterns for forming at least one second winding turn of a second coil (see figures 3b/5b), said second winding turn being an innermost winding turn of the second coil (see figures 3b/5b); and wherein on a first vertical plane across the at least one first winding turn of the first coil-structure(see figures 3b/5b), a first hollow space of the at least one first winding turn of the first coil- structure(see figures 3b/5b), the at least one second winding turn of the second coil-structure(see figures 3b/5b), and a second hollow space of the at least one second winding turn of the second coil-structure(see figures 3b/5b), a first horizontal distance between a first middle point of a first horizontal line segment and a second middle point of a second horizontal line segment is not greater than 1µm (see figures 3b/5b, that disclose the horizontal distance d is zero since the vertical line passing the first middle point and the second middle point are the same because the distance first horizontal line segment extending from a first edge to a second edge of said first winding turn of the first coil is equal to the second horizontal line segment extending from a third edge to a fourth edge of said second winding turn of the second coil), wherein the first horizontal line segment extends from a first edge to a second edge of said first winding turn of the first coil across said first hollow space of the at least one first winding turn of the first coil-structure (see figures 3b/5b), and the second horizontal line segment extends from a third edge to a fourth edge of said second winding turn of the second coil across said second hollow space of the at least one second winding turn of the second coil-structure (see figures 3b/5b).
Muneuchi et al. does not expressly discloses a teaching wherein each conductive layer is formed on a corresponding insulating layer.
Park et al. (para 0053 and figures 10-11) discloses a teaching wherein each conductive layer is formed on a corresponding insulating layer (500).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein each conductive layer is formed on a corresponding insulating layer as taught by Park et al to the inductive device of Muneuchi et al. so as to enhance electrical performance by preventing signal loss, and protects the wire from environmental damage while also reducing the chances of a short circuit occurring.
Regarding claim 2, Muneuchi et al.(figures 5a-5b and para 0066) discloses wherein the first coil-structure is disposed over a top surface of a magnetic sheet (38), and the second coil-structure is disposed over a bottom surface of the magnetic sheet (38), wherein the first coil-structure and the second coil-structure are on two opposite sides of the magnetic sheet.
Regarding claim 3, Muneuchi et al.(figures 3a-6d and para 0051-0070) discloses wherein on a second vertical plane across the at least one first winding turn of the first coil-structure(see figures 3b/5b), a first hollow space of the at least one first winding turn of the first coil-structure(see figures 3b/5b), the at least one second winding turn of the second coil- structure(see figures 3b/5b), and a second hollow space of the at least one second winding turn of the second coil- structure(see figures 3b/5b), a second horizontal distance between a third middle point of a third horizontal line segment and a fourth middle point of a fourth horizontal line segment is not greater than 1um, wherein the third horizontal line segment extends from a fifth edge to a sixth edge of said first winding turn of the first coil across said first hollow space of the at least one first winding turn of the first coil-structure, (see figures 3b/5b, that disclose the horizontal distance d is zero since the vertical line passing the first middle point and the second middle point are the same because the distance horizontal line segments extending from a fifth edge to a sixth edge of said first winding turn of the first coil is equal to the horizontal line segments extending from a seventh edge to a eight edge of said second winding turn of the second coil), and the fourth horizontal line segment extends from a seventh edge to an eighth edge of said second winding turn of the second coil across said second hollow space of the at least one second winding turn of the second coil-structure, wherein the second vertical plane is perpendicular to the first vertical plane. (see figures 3b/5b)
Regarding claim 4, Muneuchi et al.(figures 5a-5b and para 0061-0067) discloses wherein the coupled inductor further comprises a first magnetic body (31) and a second magnetic body (32), wherein the first magnetic body is disposed on the top surface of the magnetic sheet to encapsulate the at least one first winding turn of the first coil, and wherein the second magnetic body is disposed on the bottom surface of the magnetic sheet to encapsulate the at least one second winding turn of the second coil.
Regarding claim 5, Park et al.(figures 9-11 and para 0070-0075) discloses wherein the at least one first conductive layer comprises a first plurality of conductive layers, wherein each conductive layer of the first plurality of conductive layers is formed sequentially on a corresponding insulating layer starting from a first bottom insulating layer. wherein the first winding turn of the first coil in formed on and in contact with the first bottom insulating layer (see figures 10-11).
Muneuchi et al.(figures 4b) disclosing the conductive layer is contacting the top surface of the magnetic sheet (38) and Park et al. disclose the conductive layers being coated with an insulating material; The combination of Muneuchi et al.in view of Park et al creates a teaching wherein the first bottom insulating layer is in contact with the top surface of the magnetic sheet. It would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the first bottom insulating layer is in contact with the top surface of the magnetic sheet so as to enhance electrical performance by preventing signal loss, and protects the wire from environmental damage while also reducing the chances of a short circuit occurring.
Regarding claim 6, Park et al.(figures 9-11 and para 0070-0075) discloses wherein the at least one first conductive layer comprises a first plurality of conductive layers, wherein each conductive layer of the first plurality of conductive layers is formed sequentially on a corresponding insulating layer starting from a first bottom insulating layer(see figures 10-11). wherein the first plurality of conductive layers are located between the first bottom insulating layer and a first top insulating layer of the first coil- structure, wherein the first winding turn of the first coil in formed on and in contact with the first bottom insulating layer. (see figures 10-11).
Muneuchi et al.(figures 4b) disclosing the conductive layer is contacting the top surface of the magnetic sheet (38) and Park et al. disclose the conductive layers being coated with an insulating material; The combination of Muneuchi et al.in view of Park et al creates a teaching wherein the first bottom insulating layer is in contact with the top surface of the magnetic sheet. It would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the first bottom insulating layer is in contact with the top surface of the magnetic sheet so as to enhance electrical performance by preventing signal loss, and protects the wire from environmental damage while also reducing the chances of a short circuit occurring.
Regarding claim 10, Muneuchi et al.(figures 3a-6d and para 0051-0070) discloses wherein the first magnetic body comprises a first unitary magnetic body that encapsulates the at least one first winding turn of the first coil and extends into the first hollow space of the first coil.
Regarding claim 11, Muneuchi et al.(figures 3a-6d and para 0051-0070) discloses wherein the second magnetic body comprises a second unitary magnetic body that encapsulates the at least one second winding turn of the second coil and extends into the second hollow space of the first coil.
Regarding claim 14, Park et al.(para 0061) discloses wherein each of the at least one first conductive layer is formed by a film process.
Regarding claim 16, Muneuchi et al.(figures 3a-6d and para 0051-0066) wherein each of the first magnetic body and the second magnetic body is formed by a first material, and the magnetic sheet is formed by a second material that is different from the first material.
Regarding claim 19, Muneuchi et al.(figures 5a-5b and para 0066) discloses wherein the first coil-structure is disposed over a top surface of the magnetic sheet (38), and the second coil-structure is disposed over a bottom surface of the magnetic sheet, wherein the first coil-structure and the second coil-structure are on two opposite sides of the magnetic sheet.
Regarding claim 20, Muneuchi et al.(figures 5a-5b and para 0066) discloses wherein the coupled inductor further comprises a first magnetic body and a second magnetic body, wherein the first magnetic body is disposed on the top surface of the magnetic sheet to encapsulate the at least one first winding turn of the first coil, and wherein the second magnetic body is disposed on the bottom surface of the magnetic sheet to encapsulate the at least one second winding turn of the second coil.
3 Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muneuchi et al. (US 2018/0182533) in view of Park et al. (US 20170236633) in further view of Yoshioka et al. (US 20170345551).
Regarding claim 12, the modified inductive of Muneuchi et al.(figures 3a-6d and para 0051-0070) a third insulating layer is formed on a first conductive layer comprising the first winding turn being formed on the first insulating layer (see Park et al figures 10-11). The modified inductive of Muneuchi et al does not expressly discloses wherein the third insulating layer encapsulates the first winding turn and extends into an unpatterned area of the first conductive layer.
Yoshioka et al. (figures 3-4) discloses a teaching of designing an insulating layer encapsulates winding turn and extends into an unpatterned area of the conductive layer.(see figure 4)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design an insulating layer encapsulating a winding turn and extending into an unpatterned area of the conductive layer as taught by Yoshioka et al to the inductive device of Muneuchi et al. so as to reduce the chances of a short circuit occurring.
Regarding claim 13, the modified inductive of Muneuchi et al.(figures 3a-6d and para 0051-0070) a fourth insulating layer is formed on a conductive conductive layer comprising the second winding turn being formed on the fourth insulating layer (see Park et al figures 10-11). The modified inductive of Muneuchi et al does not expressly discloses wherein the fourth insulating layer encapsulates the second winding turn and extends into an unpatterned area of the first conductive layer.
Yoshioka et al. (figures 3-4) discloses a teaching of designing an insulating layer encapsulates winding turn and extends into an unpatterned area of the conductive layer.(see figure 4)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design an insulating layer encapsulating a winding turn and extending into an unpatterned area of the conductive layer as taught by Yoshioka et al to the inductive device of Muneuchi et al. so as to reduce the chances of a short circuit occurring.
4. Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muneuchi et al. (US 2018/0182533) in view of Park et al. (US 20170236633) in further view of Park et al. (US 2016/0180995).
Regarding claim 15, the modified inductive of Muneuchi et al.(figures 3a-6d and para 0051-0070) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly discloses wherein the first magnetic body is formed by a first material, and the magnetic sheet is formed by a second material that is different from the first material.
Park et al. (para 0041-0044) discloses a teaching of designing magnetic portions/segments are made of different materials.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein magnetic portions/segments are made of different materials. taught by Park et al to the inductive device of Muneuchi et al. so as allow the capability of the inductive device advantages like enhanced efficiency, reduced losses, suitability for specific frequencies, lower cost, and better performance in extreme conditions (heat, radiation), allowing the user to tailor devices for specific applications the inductive device would be implemented into.
Regarding claim 17, the modified inductive of Muneuchi et al.(figures 3a-6d and para 0051-0070) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly discloses wherein the first magnetic body is formed by a first material, the magnetic sheet is formed by a second material, and the second magnetic body is formed by a third material, wherein the first material, the second material, and the third material are different from each other.
Park et al. (para 0041-0044) discloses a teaching of designing magnetic portions/segments are made of different materials.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein magnetic portions/segments are made of different materials. taught by Park et al to the inductive device of Muneuchi et al. so as allow the capability of the inductive device advantages like enhanced efficiency, reduced losses, suitability for specific frequencies, lower cost, and better performance in extreme conditions (heat, radiation), allowing the user to tailor devices for specific applications the inductive device would be implemented into.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837