DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the RCE filed on 1/23/2026 in which claims 1-5, 7-11, and 16-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 1/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11, and 16-21 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
When the at least one of the MIB or the SIB is unable to be received on at least one cell on an unlicensed frequency
“Agiwal [0073] If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250.”
“Shih [0132] The current frequency may be an unlicensed carrier frequency. If the system information does not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may apply a default value as the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency. In some of the present implementations, the default value may be zero, which means that the corresponding RAT/frequency may have the lowest priority.”
It is clear from Agiwal in view of Shih that if an SIB is missing (unable to be acquired or received) then the frequency is considered to have the lowest priority; and therefore, teaches the limitation.
For the reasons above the rejection to the claims is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, and 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal et al. (US20180317264A1) in view of Shih et al. (US20200221372A1).
As to claim 1, Agiwal teaches an apparatus for processing when acquisition of at least one of an MIB or an SIB fails, applicable to a terminal equipment side, the apparatus comprising: ([0003] These frequency bands can be licensed or unlicensed. [0165] FIG. 14 is a block diagram of a terminal according to an embodiment of the disclosure. [0072] FIG. 2 illustrates a method for on demand SI acquisition error handling according to an embodiment of the disclosure. ([0073] If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250.) Agiwal [0063] The system information is divided into minimum SI and other SI. Minimum is broadcasted. Minimum SI may comprise of MIB and one or more SIBs. Other SI can be broadcasted or provided on-demand based on the UE request. The minimum SI comprises basic information required for initial access to a cell and information for acquiring any other SI broadcast periodically or provisioned via on-demand basis))
a memory; ([0165] FIG. 14 is a block diagram of a terminal according to an embodiment of the disclosure. 1430)
processor circuitry couples to the memory and configured to, ([0165] FIG. 14 is a block diagram of a terminal according to an embodiment of the disclosure. 1420)
But does not specifically teach:
in a process of evaluation of cell reselection by a terminal equipment, or in a case where a terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when the at least one of the MIB or the SIB is unable to be received on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, consider that the frequency is the lowest priority within a predefined first time.
However Shih teaches in a process of evaluation of cell reselection by a terminal equipment, or in a case where a terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when the terminal equipment is unable to acquire essential system information on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, consider that the frequency is the lowest priority within a predefined first time. ([0132] Some rules may be required for an inter-frequency cell reselection procedure on the unlicensed spectrum(s). The current frequency may be an unlicensed carrier frequency. If the system information does not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may apply a default value as the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency. In some of the present implementations, the default value may be zero, which means that the corresponding RAT/frequency may have the lowest priority. In some of the present implementations, if the system information do not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may treat the cells on the corresponding RAT/frequency as barred during the cell reselection procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
As to claim 2, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, a number of the at least one cell is a first number, the first number being configured by a network device, or predefined, or determined by the terminal equipment. (Shih [0132] the cell reselection priority indicator may mean the lowest priority when its value is 0. In addition, a higher value of the cell reselection indicator may correspond to a higher cell reselection priority. In some of the present implementations, a cell reselection sub-priority value may be added to the value of the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding frequency or RAT. That is, the cell reselection sub-priority value and the value of the cell reselection priority indicator may constitute an absolute priority value for the concerned RAT, or constitute an absolute priority value for the concerned carrier frequency of the corresponding RAT.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
As to claim 3, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, a number of the at least one cell is a first number, the first number being greater than or equal to a second number, the second number being an integer greater than or equal to 1. (Shih [0132] The format of the cell reselection priority indicator may be N bits corresponding to a 2.sup.N value. a higher value of the cell reselection indicator may correspond to a higher cell reselection priority. In some of the present implementations, a cell reselection sub-priority value may be added to the value of the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding frequency or RAT. the UE may deprioritize a carrier frequency to be selected in the cell reselection procedure if the measurement results (e.g., the RSSI values or the channel occupancy ratio values) of such a carrier frequency is worse than the measurement results of another frequency with a lower (reselection) priority.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
As to claim 4, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein, the second number is configured by the network device, or predefined, or determined by the terminal equipment. (Shih [0132] The format of the cell reselection priority indicator may be N bits corresponding to a 2.sup.N value. a higher value of the cell reselection indicator may correspond to a higher cell reselection priority. In some of the present implementations, a cell reselection sub-priority value may be added to the value of the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding frequency or RAT. the UE may deprioritize a carrier frequency to be selected in the cell reselection procedure if the measurement results (e.g., the RSSI values or the channel occupancy ratio values) of such a carrier frequency is worse than the measurement results of another frequency with a lower (reselection) priority.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
As to claim 5, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the first time is less than or equal to a first threshold. (Agiwal [0073] If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250. Shih [0070] the UE may prohibit the highest-ranked cell from being selected as the new suitable cell for a period of time (e.g., Ta) in action 424. The length of Ta may be preconfigured in the UE (e.g., stored in a USIM and/or stored in a UICC) or configured by the cell(s) (e.g., via system information and/or via dedicated signaling). In one implementation, the maximum value of Ta may be 300 seconds.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
As to claim 7, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, for the MIB and the SIB1, numbers of the at least one cell are identical or different.
(Shih [0132] the format of the cell reselection priority indicator may be N bits corresponding to a 2.sup.N value. a higher value of the cell reselection indicator may correspond to a higher cell reselection priority. In some of the present implementations, a cell reselection sub-priority value may be added to the value of the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding frequency or RAT. the UE may deprioritize a carrier frequency to be selected in the cell reselection procedure if the measurement results (e.g., the RSSI values or the channel occupancy ratio values) of such a carrier frequency is worse than the measurement results of another frequency with a lower (reselection) priority the UE may apply a default value as the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency. In some of the present implementations, the default value may be zero, which means that the corresponding RAT/frequency may have the lowest priority. In some of the present implementations, the system information do not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may treat the cells on the corresponding RAT/frequency as barred during the cell reselection procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand that multiple cells on the same frequency can have the same priority level or different priority level.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
As to claim 8, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 20, wherein, the processor circuitry is further configured to, when at least one of an MIB and an SIB1 is unable to be received on the at least one cell on the unlicensed frequency, not consider that other cells on the same frequency as the at least one cell as candidates for cell selection or cell reselection within the first time. (Shih [0132] the system information do not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency the UE may treat the cells on the corresponding RAT/frequency as barred during the cell reselection procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
As to claim 16, Agiwal teaches an apparatus for configuring parameters for acquisition of at least one of an MIB or an SIB, applicable to a network device side, the apparatus comprising: ([0170] FIG. 15 is a block diagram of a base station according to an embodiment of the disclosure. [0072] FIG. 2 illustrates a method for on demand SI acquisition error handling according to an embodiment of the disclosure.) ([0003] These frequency bands can be licensed or unlicensed. [0165] FIG. 14 is a block diagram of a terminal according to an embodiment of the disclosure. [0072] FIG. 2 illustrates a method for on demand SI acquisition error handling according to an embodiment of the disclosure. ([0073] If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250.) Agiwal [0063] The system information is divided into minimum SI and other SI. Minimum is broadcasted. Minimum SI may comprise of MIB and one or more SIBs. Other SI can be broadcasted or provided on-demand based on the UE request. The minimum SI comprises basic information required for initial access to a cell and information for acquiring any other SI broadcast periodically or provisioned via on-demand basis))
processor circuitry to configure a first number taken as the number of at least one cell for a terminal equipment, or configure a second number used for determining the first number for the terminal equipment, ([0063] The system information is divided into minimum SI and other SI. Minimum is broadcasted. Minimum SI may comprise of MIB and one or more SIBs. Other SI can be broadcasted or provided on-demand based on the UE request. The minimum SI comprises basic information required for initial access to a cell and information for acquiring any other SI broadcast periodically or provisioned via on-demand basis. The minimum SI includes at least SFN, list of PLMN, cell ID, cell camping parameters, and RACH parameters.)
so that in a process of evaluation of cell reselection or in a case where the terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when the at least one of the MIB or the SIB is unable to be received by the terminal equipment on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, the terminal equipment considers that cells on the frequency are barred within a predefined first time, or ([0073] If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250.)
But does not specifically teach:
so that in a process of evaluation of cell reselection or in a case where the terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when at least one of the MIB or the SIB is unable to be received by the terminal equipment on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, the terminal equipment considers that all cells on the frequency are barred within a predefined first time, or
so that in a process of evaluation of cell reselection or in a case where the terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when the at least one of MIB or the SIB is unable to be received by the terminal equipment on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, the terminal equipment considers that the frequency is the lowest priority within a predefined first time.
However Shih teaches so that in a process of evaluation of cell reselection or in a case where the terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when the at least one of MIB or the SIB is unable to be received by the terminal equipment on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, the terminal equipment considers that all cells on the frequency are barred within a predefined first time, or so that in a process of evaluation of cell reselection or in a case where the terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when the at least one of MIB or the SIB is unable to be received by the terminal equipment on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, the terminal equipment considers that the frequency is the lowest priority within a predefined first time. ([0132] Some rules may be required for an inter-frequency cell reselection procedure on the unlicensed spectrum(s). The current frequency may be an unlicensed carrier frequency. If the system information does not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may apply a default value as the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency. In some of the present implementations, the default value may be zero, which means that the corresponding RAT/frequency may have the lowest priority. In some of the present implementations, if the system information do not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may treat the cells on the corresponding RAT/frequency as barred during the cell reselection procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
As to claim 17, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein, the first number is greater than or equal to the second number, and the second number is an integer greater than or equal to 1. (Shih [0132] The format of the cell reselection priority indicator may be N bits corresponding to a 2.sup.N value. a higher value of the cell reselection indicator may correspond to a higher cell reselection priority. In some of the present implementations, a cell reselection sub-priority value may be added to the value of the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding frequency or RAT. the UE may deprioritize a carrier frequency to be selected in the cell reselection procedure if the measurement results (e.g., the RSSI values or the channel occupancy ratio values) of such a carrier frequency is worse than the measurement results of another frequency with a lower (reselection) priority.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
As to claim 18, Agiwal in view of Shih teach the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein, the processor circuitry configures the first number or the second number in a broadcast manner and/or by a dedicated signaling. (Agiwal [0063] The system information is divided into minimum SI and other SI. Minimum is broadcasted. Minimum SI may comprise of MIB and one or more SIBs. Other SI can be broadcasted or provided on-demand based on the UE request. The minimum SI comprises basic information required for initial access to a cell and information for acquiring any other SI broadcast periodically or provisioned via on-demand basis. The minimum SI includes at least SFN, list of PLMN, cell ID, cell camping parameters, and RACH parameters.)
As to claim 19, Agiwal teaches a terminal equipment, comprising: processor circuitry configured to, ([0165] FIG. 14 is a block diagram of a terminal according to an embodiment of the disclosure. [0072] FIG. 2 illustrates a method for on demand SI acquisition error handling according to an embodiment of the disclosure.) ([0003] These frequency bands can be licensed or unlicensed. [0165] FIG. 14 is a block diagram of a terminal according to an embodiment of the disclosure. [0072] FIG. 2 illustrates a method for on demand SI acquisition error handling according to an embodiment of the disclosure. ([0073] If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250.) Agiwal [0063] The system information is divided into minimum SI and other SI. Minimum is broadcasted. Minimum SI may comprise of MIB and one or more SIBs. Other SI can be broadcasted or provided on-demand based on the UE request. The minimum SI comprises basic information required for initial access to a cell and information for acquiring any other SI broadcast periodically or provisioned via on-demand basis))
in a process of evaluation of cell reselection by the terminal equipment, or in a case where the terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when at least one of MIB or the SIB is unable to be received on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, consider that cells on the frequency are barred within a predefined first time, or ([0073] If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250.)
But does not specifically teach:
in a process of evaluation of cell reselection by the terminal equipment, or in a case where the terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when the at least one of MIB or the SIB is unable to be received on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, consider that all cells on the frequency are barred within a predefined first time, or configured to, in a process of evaluation of cell reselection by the terminal equipment, or in a case where the terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when the at least one of MIB or the SIB is unable to be received on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, consider that the frequency is the lowest priority within a predefined first time.
However Shih teaches in a process of evaluation of cell reselection by the terminal equipment, or in a case where the terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when the at least one of MIB or the SIB is unable to be received on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, consider that all cells on the frequency are barred within a predefined first time, or configured to, in a process of evaluation of cell reselection by the terminal equipment, or in a case where the terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when the at least one of MIB or the SIB is unable to be received on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, consider that the frequency is the lowest priority within a predefined first time.
([0132] Some rules may be required for an inter-frequency cell reselection procedure on the unlicensed spectrum(s). The current frequency may be an unlicensed carrier frequency. If the system information does not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may apply a default value as the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency. In some of the present implementations, the default value may be zero, which means that the corresponding RAT/frequency may have the lowest priority. In some of the present implementations, if the system information do not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may treat the cells on the corresponding RAT/frequency as barred during the cell reselection procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
As to claim 20, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the processor circuitry is further configured to, in a process of evaluation of cell reselection by a terminal equipment, or in a case where a terminal equipment applies system information acquisition procedure, when the at least one of MIB or the SIB is unable to be received on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, consider that all cells on the frequency are barred within a predefined first time.
(Agiwal [0073] If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250.)
(Shih [0132] Some rules may be required for an inter-frequency cell reselection procedure on the unlicensed spectrum(s). The current frequency may be an unlicensed carrier frequency. If the system information does not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may apply a default value as the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency. In some of the present implementations, the default value may be zero, which means that the corresponding RAT/frequency may have the lowest priority. In some of the present implementations, if the system information do not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may treat the cells on the corresponding RAT/frequency as barred during the cell reselection procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
As to claim 21, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein, when at least one of an MIB and an SIB1 is unable to be recevied on the at least one cell on the unlicensed frequency, not consider that other cells on the same frequency as the at least one cell as candidates for cell selection or cell reselection within the first time. (Agiwal [0073] If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250.)
(Shih [0132] Some rules may be required for an inter-frequency cell reselection procedure on the unlicensed spectrum(s). The current frequency may be an unlicensed carrier frequency. If the system information does not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may apply a default value as the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency. In some of the present implementations, the default value may be zero, which means that the corresponding RAT/frequency may have the lowest priority. In some of the present implementations, if the system information do not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency, the UE may treat the cells on the corresponding RAT/frequency as barred during the cell reselection procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal in view of Shih as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US20200413450A1).
As to claim 9, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 20, wherein, the processor circuitry is further configured to, when cell status "barred" is indicated or to be treated as when the cell status is "barred", and when the cell is to be treated as when the cell status "barred" due to an the MIB being unable to be received and the cell is an NR-U cell, exclude the cell and/or other cells on the same frequency as a candidate for cell selection or cell reselection within the first time, and/or
(Agiwal [0063] The system information is divided into minimum SI and other SI. Minimum is broadcasted. Minimum SI may comprise of MIB and one or more SIBs. Other SI can be broadcasted or provided on-demand based on the UE request. The minimum SI comprises basic information required for initial access to a cell and information for acquiring any other SI broadcast periodically or provisioned via on-demand basis [0073] If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250.)
(Shih [0132] the system information do not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency the UE may treat the cells on the corresponding RAT/frequency as barred during the cell reselection procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
But does not specifically teach:
when cell status "barred" is indicated or to be treated as when the cell status is "barred", when the MIB being unable to be received and when the cell is to be treated as when the cell status "barred" due to an SIB1 being unable to be received and the cell is an NR-U cell, exclude the cell and/or other cells on the same frequency as a candidate for cell selection or cell reselection within the first time.
However Kim teaches when cell status "barred" is indicated or to be treated as when the cell status is "barred", when the terminal equipment acquires the MIB and when the cell is to be treated as when the cell status "barred" due to being unable to acquire an SIB1 and the cell is an NR-U cell, exclude the cell and/or other cells on the same frequency as a candidate for cell selection or cell reselection within the first time. ([0106] In step 5-20, when the MIB is successfully received, the UE acquires a subCarrierSpacingCommon field and a pdcch-ConfigSIB1 field from the received MIB. [0107] In step 5-25, the UE determines whether acquisition of SIB1 is successful. [0112] In step 5-50, the UE determines whether the intraFreqReselection field stored in the MIB is configured as Not Allowed. [0113] In step 5-55, if the intraFreqReselection field is configured as Not Allowed, the UE may not consider, as a cell reselection candidate, other cells of the frequency to which the cell belongs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection method of Agiwal in view of Shih with the methods from Kim in order to acquire a cell for communication that supports the corresponding UE.
As to claim 10, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 20, wherein, the processor circuitry is further configured to: when cell status "barred" is indicated or to be treated as when the cell status is "barred", and when the at least two cells on a frequency are to be treated as when the cell status "barred" due to an MIB being unable to be received and the at least two cells are NR-U cells, exclude other cells on the same frequency as the at least two cells as candidates for cell selection or cell reselection within the first time, and/or
(Agiwal [0063] The system information is divided into minimum SI and other SI. Minimum is broadcasted. Minimum SI may comprise of MIB and one or more SIBs. Other SI can be broadcasted or provided on-demand based on the UE request. The minimum SI comprises basic information required for initial access to a cell and information for acquiring any other SI broadcast periodically or provisioned via on-demand basis [0073] If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250.)
(Shih [0132] the system information do not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency the UE may treat the cells on the corresponding RAT/frequency as barred during the cell reselection procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
But does not specifically teach:
when cell status "barred" is indicated or to be treated as when the cell status is "barred", and when the MIB is acquired and the at least two cells on a frequency are to be treated as when the cell status "barred" due to an SIB1 being unable to be received and the at least two cells are NR-U cells, exclude other cells on the same frequency as the at least two cells as candidates for cell selection or cell reselection within the first time.
However Kim teaches when cell status "barred" is indicated or to be treated as when the cell status is "barred", and when the MIB is acquired and the at least two cells on a frequency are to be treated as when the cell status "barred" due to an SIB1 being unable to be received and the at least two cells are NR-U cells, exclude other cells on the same frequency as the at least two cells as candidates for cell selection or cell reselection within the first time. ([0106] In step 5-20, when the MIB is successfully received, the UE acquires a subCarrierSpacingCommon field and a pdcch-ConfigSIB1 field from the received MIB. [0107] In step 5-25, the UE determines whether acquisition of SIB1 is successful. [0112] In step 5-50, the UE determines whether the intraFreqReselection field stored in the MIB is configured as Not Allowed. [0113] In step 5-55, if the intraFreqReselection field is configured as Not Allowed, the UE may not consider, as a cell reselection candidate, other cells of the frequency to which the cell belongs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection method of Agiwal in view of Shih with the methods from Kim in order to acquire a cell for communication that supports the corresponding UE.
As to claim 11, Agiwal in view of Shih teaches the apparatus according to claim 20, wherein, the processor circuitry is further configured to when the terminal equipment is in an idle state, or in an inactive state, or in a connected state while a timer T311 is running, when an MIB being unable to be received on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, consider the at least one cell as barred and perform barring as when intraFreqReselection in the MIB is set to not allowed, and/or
(Agiwal [0063] The system information is divided into minimum SI and other SI. Minimum is broadcasted. Minimum SI may comprise of MIB and one or more SIBs. Other SI can be broadcasted or provided on-demand based on the UE request. The minimum SI comprises basic information required for initial access to a cell and information for acquiring any other SI broadcast periodically or provisioned via on-demand basis [0073] Referring to FIG. 2, similar to Embodiment 1, the UE (in idle/inactive state) initiates on demand SI acquisition If the SIB(s) which the UE is not able to acquire are the essential SIB(s) then the UE shall declare SI acquisition failure and start the pre-defined timer. While the timer is running the UE considers the camped cell as barred for pre-defined duration at operation 250.)
(Shih [0132] the system information do not include the cell reselection priority indicator for the corresponding RAT/frequency the UE may treat the cells on the corresponding RAT/frequency as barred during the cell reselection procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection procedure of Agiwal with the cell reselection procedure of Shih in order to provide a high-quality cell for communication.
But does not specifically teach:
when the terminal equipment is in an idle state or in an inactive state or in a connected state while a timer T311 is running, when the MIB being unable to be received and an SIB1 being unable to be received on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, consider the at least one cell as barred and perform barring as when intraFreqReselection in the MIB is set to not allowed.
However Kim teaches when the terminal equipment is in an idle state or in an inactive state or in a connected state while a timer T311 is running, when the terminal equipment acquires the MIB and is unable to acquire the anSIB1 on least one cell on an unlicensed frequency, consider the at least one cell as barred and perform barring as when intraFreqReselection in the MIB is set to not allowed. ([0106] In step 5-20, when the MIB is successfully received, the UE acquires a subCarrierSpacingCommon field and a pdcch-ConfigSIB1 field from the received MIB. [0107] In step 5-25, the UE determines whether acquisition of SIB1 is successful. [0112] In step 5-50, the UE determines whether the intraFreqReselection field stored in the MIB is configured as Not Allowed. [0113] In step 5-55, if the intraFreqReselection field is configured as Not Allowed, the UE may not consider, as a cell reselection candidate, other cells of the frequency to which the cell belongs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell reselection method of Agiwal in view of Shih with the methods from Kim in order to acquire a cell for communication that supports the corresponding UE.
Conclusion
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465