DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been filed in this application. Applicant is reminded that each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of a patent application has a duty of candor and good faith in dealing with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, which includes a duty to disclose to the Office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability. 37 CFR 1.56.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 11/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/04/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the stepper motor (claims 3 and 5) the control panel (claim 7), controlled chip (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The word “comprises” in lines 3 and 8 should be “comprising” to be grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (hereinafter Hong) CN-105733942-A.
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses a system for automatic nucleic acid extraction and qualitative analysis, comprising: a magnetic rotary mixer (mixing module 3), comprises: a plurality of magnetic rods (magnetic rods 206) for generating magnetism, configured to be retractable from the magnetic rotary mixer; a plurality of spin shaft (gear shaft 303) for mounting tips (isolation sleeve 5), and the plurality of magnetic rods extend therein as shown in at least Figs. 1, 2, 4 and 5; an auto stage, comprises: a plate holder (reaction material fixed seat/ reaction consumable 704), which allows a plate (reaction material 6) place thereon; a mixer holder (base 301) to hold the magnetic rotary mixer over the plate holder; and a heat plate for heating the plate, (In specific implementation process, the reaction material fixed seat is also provided with a heating block base, a heating block base is provided with a heat insulation block, heat insulation block is provided with a heating block, the reaction material 6 is fixed on the upper part of the heating block). See whole document.
Hong does not explicitly disclose that the heat plate is disposed under the plate holder.
However, Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a heat plate under the plate holder, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.04 (VI-C).
Regarding claim 2, the plate holder is capable of moving horizontally via linear motor 702 as shown in at least Figs. 1, 7 and 9.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the mixer holder is vertically movable via linear motor 202 and rotary motor 302 as shown in at least Figs. 1, 7 and 9.
Regarding claim 6, Hong discloses wherein the magnetic rotary mixer comprises 8 spin shafts (gear shaft 303) as shown in Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses wherein the plate has 96 wells as shown in at least Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 9, Hong discloses a cover shell (motor mounting plate 401) as shown in at least Figs. 1 and 6.
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses wherein the spin shaft is rotated by a motor (rotary motor 302) as shown in at least Figs. 2 and 5.
Claims 3, 5, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong CN-105733942-A as applied above to claims 1-2, 4, 6 and 8-10, and in view of Corey et al. (hereinafter Corey) US 2016/0129445.
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses wherein the plate holder is moved by a linear motor 702. However, Hong does not disclose that the linear motor is a stepper motor.
Corey discloses the use of a stepper motor as discussed in at least paragraph 259.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make a simple substitution of one known element for another motivated by an expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, Hong discloses wherein the mixer holder is moved linear motor 202 and rotary motor 302. However, Hong does not disclose that the linear and or rotary motor is a stepper motor.
Corey discloses the use of a stepper motor as discussed in at least paragraph 259.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make a simple substitution of one known element for another motivated by an expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein the magnetic rotary mixer further comprises a control panel for controlling a condition of the nucleic acid extraction.
Corey discloses a control console 402, in one embodiment, includes a display panel 404 presenting a graphical user interface and comprising a touchscreen by which a user may input information to the control console 402 and/or by which information can be presented to the user as discussed in at least paragraph 266.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hong with a control panel as taught by Corey in order to perform and monitor one or more automated or semi-automated processes.
Regarding claim 11, Hong does not explicitly disclose a controlled chip.
Corey discloses a controlled chip (printed circuit board) with preset programs as discussed in at least paragraphs 257-258 and 365-366.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hong with a controlled chip as taught by Corey in order to perform one or more automated or semi-automated processes.
Conclusion
/LYDIA EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796