DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 09/15/2026 have been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending and under consideration.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 35. U.S.C. 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-final Office action mailed on 06/16/2025. Therefore, all 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/15/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chiasson US 2016/0058156 A1 (newly cited) in view of King US 2013/0344254 A1 (previously cited).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiasson US 2016/0058156 A1 (newly cited, hereinafter Chiasson) in view of King US 2013/0344254 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter King).
Regarding claim 1, Chiasson discloses a system 900 (Fig. 9 – device 900) for dispensing a skin formula (Par. 80 – “a device 900 for application of one or more consumer products to a surface of a user”), the system 900 (Fig. 9) comprising:
a base device 965 (Fig. 9 – removable cartridge 965) configured to dispense a formula (Par. 80 – “one or more consumer products supplied via a removable cartridge 965”) into an applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 – body 902 and applicator element 920, and Par. 82 – “delivery of one or more consumer products therein to applicator element 920”);
the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9) configured to apply the formula (Par. 45 – “An applicator element, such as applicator element 120, is a structure that is designed and configured to bring one or more consumer products into physical contact with a surface of a user to which the one or more consumer products are to be applied”), the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9) comprising:
a reservoir 905 (Fig. 9 – receptacle 905) configured to hold the formula (Par. 4 – “each of the plurality of reservoirs for holding a consumer product”),
an attachment (see annotated Fig. 9 below, and Par. 82 – “the connection”) configured to attach the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9) to the base device 965 (Fig. 9, and Par. 82 – “insertion through cover 970 include, but are not limited to, cover 970 being made of a puncturable material (e.g., a foil) and the connection to pumping element 915 including a structure for puncturing the material and providing a connection that allows delivery of one or more consumer products therein to applicator element 920, cover 970 including a connection to which a connector to pumping element 915 can insert to allow access to one or more consumer products therein, and any combinations thereof”).
Annotated Fig. 9B of Chiasson
However, Chiasson does not disclose a roller ball configured to apply the formula, and wherein the applicator, while applying the formula, is disconnected from the base device.
King, in the same field of endeavor of applicator (Title), teaches a roller ball 104 (Fig. 1A – roller ball 104) configured to apply the formula (Fig. 9A, and Par. 42 – “The roller ball 104, of a generally spherical shape, is configured to contact and to be coated with the dispensing liquid 1001 stored in the internal cavity 114 of the reservoir handle 101 and to roll within the hemispherical housing 118, when the roller ball 104 is rolled over and in contact with the contact surface 901”).
Chiasson, in another embodiment, teaches that the device includes one or more reservoirs, each for holding a consumer product or a portion thereof (Par. 34), and a consumer product may be stored in two or more reservoirs as separated components prior to application (Par. 35), and/or different consumer products can be kept separated prior to use and combined at the time (or about the time) of application (Par. 35).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the device of Chiasson to include a roller ball for application as taught by King, in order to provide a convenient and hygienic way to apply the formula, making application smoother and easier than using fingers or other types of applicators.
Furthermore, since the current device of Chiasson requires the base device/cartridge 965 to be inserted to deliver a consumer product into the applicator’s reservoirs 905, 910, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Chiasson in view of King such that the applicator’s reservoir can store the consumer products from cartridge 965 prior to application, mixing, and use, also as taught by Chiasson, in order to extend the shelf life of certain consumer products (Par. 35 of Chiasson). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capability to recognize that the consumer products from cartridge 965 has to be emptied into the reservoir 905 and removed from the applicator’s 902+920 prior to use for said storage. Therefore, the limitation “wherein the applicator, while applying the formula, is disconnected from the base device” is met.
Regarding claim 2, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses wherein the base device 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) comprises at least one cartridge 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) containing a formula (Fig. 9 of Chiasson, and Par. 80 of Chiasson).
Regarding claim 3, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 2. The combination further discloses wherein the base device 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) is further configured to dispense the formula from the at least one cartridge 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) into the applicator 902+920/140 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson modified by Fig. 1A of King, and Par. 82 of Chiasson – “delivery of one or more consumer products therein to applicator element 920”).
Regarding claim 4, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 3. The combination further discloses wherein the base device 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) further comprises a reservoir 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson, and Par. 81 of Chiasson – “a removable reservoir cartridge (such as cartridge 965) to form one or more reservoirs”), configured to hold a cleaning solution (Par. 81 of Chiasson – “a removable reservoir cartridge (such as cartridge 965) to form one or more reservoirs for holding one or more consumer products using device 900”; the reservoir is also capable of holding a cleaning solution).
Regarding claim 5, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 4. The combination further discloses wherein the base device 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) is further configured to dispense a cleaning solution from the reservoir 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) into the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson, and Par. 45 of Chiasson – “An applicator element, such as applicator element 120, is a structure that is designed and configured to bring one or more consumer products into physical contact with a surface of a user to which the one or more consumer products are to be applied”).
Regarding claim 6, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 2. The combination further discloses wherein the base device 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) further comprises at least two cartridges (Fig. 9 of Chiasson, and Par. 81 of Chiasson – “Device 900 includes receptacles 905 and 910, each of which is configured to receive a removable reservoir cartridge”, thus each receptacle can receive a cartridge), wherein each cartridge 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) is configured to hold a distinct skin care formula ingredient (Par. 81 of Chiasson – “each of which is configured to receive a removable reservoir cartridge (such as cartridge 965) to form one or more reservoirs for holding one or more consumer products using device 900”).
Regarding claim 7, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 6. The combination further discloses wherein the base device 955 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) is configured to dispense one or more skin care ingredient into the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson), so that the one or more skin care ingredients mix inside the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson, and Par. 35 of Chiasson upon modification – “different consumer products can be kept separated prior to use and combined at the time (or about the time) of application”).
Regarding claim 8, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses wherein the system 900 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) further comprises a communication device (Par. 74 of Chiasson – “an applicator device connects to a remote device at manufacturer or other supplier to provide a connection for updates to firmware, software, and other information from the manufacturer or other supplier. In one such example, an update may be initiated by the remote user and/or by a user of the applicator device (e.g., via an app on a connected smartphone)”).
Regarding claim 9, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 8. The combination further discloses wherein the communication device (Par. 74 of Chiasson) is a smartphone (Par. 74 of Chiasson – “an applicator device connects to a remote device at manufacturer or other supplier to provide a connection for updates to firmware, software, and other information from the manufacturer or other supplier. In one such example, an update may be initiated by the remote user and/or by a user of the applicator device (e.g., via an app on a connected smartphone)”.
Regarding claim 10, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses wherein the system 900 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) further comprises a dispensing device 915 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson – pumping element 915) configured to be coupled to the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) with the attachment (see annotated Fig. 9B of Chiasson above) on the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson), wherein the attachment (see annotated Fig. 9B of Chiasson above) is further configured to attach the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9B of Chiasson) to the dispensing device 915 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson), and wherein the dispensing device 915 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) is configured to apply the formula (Par. 81 of Chiasson – “Device 900 is also shown with a pumping element 915 and an applicator element 920”)
However, the combination does not currently disclose administer a light therapy simultaneously.
Chiasson, in another embodiment, teaches administer a light therapy simultaneously (Par. 59 – “Device 100 may optionally include a light generating element and corresponding light generating circuitry… Such a light generating element may be positioned on a device to provide light to a surface of a subject at the same time as application of a consumer product…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dispensing device of the combination to further include light therapy function, also as taught by Chiasson, in order to provide the light activation energies required for a consumer product (Par. 59 of Chiasson).
Regarding claim 11, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 1. The combination further discloses a method of using the skin care system according to Claim 1 (see rejection of claim above), wherein the method comprises:
placing the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) into the base device 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson);
filling the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) with the formula (Par. 81 of Chiasson);
removing the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) from the base device 965 (Par. 35 of Chiasson upon modification as discussed in claim 1);
placing the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) into a dispensing device 915 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson); and
applying the formula with the applicator 902+920/104 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson modified by Fig. 1A of King).
However, the combination does not disclose while simultaneously administering light therapy with the dispensing device.
Chiasson, in another embodiment, teaches while simultaneously administering light therapy with the dispensing device (Par. 59 – “Device 100 may optionally include a light generating element and corresponding light generating circuitry… Such a light generating element may be positioned on a device to provide light to a surface of a subject at the same time as application of a consumer product…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dispensing device of the combination to further include light therapy function, also as taught by Chiasson, in order to provide the light activation energies required for a consumer product (Par. 59 of Chiasson).
Regarding claim 13, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 11. The combination further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
selecting one or more formula ingredients on an application (Par. 4 of Chiasson – “a processing element for controlling the pumping element to selectively deliver a first consumer product from a first one of the plurality of reservoirs to the applicator element…”) on a communication device (Par. 115 of Chiasson – “The pumping element… are controlled by a processing element for duration of application, dosage/amount of product applied, type of motion, etc. The user gets a visual indication of information regarding the application (including time/date of application, instance of application in a schedule/regimen, dosage/amount of application, sequence information for application, historical information regarding previous applications in the sequence, etc.) via a display of an app on their smartphone that is connected to the applicator”);
dispensing the one or more formula ingredients from one or more cartridges 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) on the base device 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) to create the formula (Par. 35 of Chiasson upon modification); and
filling the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) with the formula (Par. 35 of Chiasson upon modification).
Regarding claim 15, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 11. The combination further discloses wherein the method further comprises identifying the formula in the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) with the dispensing device (Fig. 9 of Chiasson, and Par. 83 – “Cartridge 965 includes an identification element 975 and device 900 includes one or more identification reader elements 980 positioned to be able to read an identification element 975 when a cartridge, such as cartridge 965 is placed in a receptacle 905, 911”).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiasson in view of King as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Attal et al. US 2023/0189957 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Attal).
Regarding claim 12, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 11. However, the combination does not disclose wherein the method further comprises cleaning the applicator with a cleaning solution dispensed from the base device.
Attal, in the same field of endeavor of application device (Abstract), teaches wherein the method further comprises cleaning the applicator with a cleaning solution dispensed from the base device (Par. 197 – “in order to clean the application cap, a user fills the washing compartment with a cleaning fluid, e.g., water, connects the compartment to the cap and squeezes the compartment thereby streaming cleaning fluid”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of the combination to further include the step of cleaning the applicator with a cleaning solution dispensed from the base device, as taught by Attal, in order to effectively deliver therapeutic agents to the skin, providing moisturizing, soothing, and medicinal benefits and remove debris that may cause skin irritation.
Claims 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiasson in view of King as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Hunter et al. US 2022/0212031 A1 (previously cited, hereinafter Hunter).
Regarding claim 14, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 11. The combination further discloses wherein method further comprises:
administering light therapy with the dispensing device (Par. 59 of Chiasson upon modification as discussed in claim 11 – “Device 100 may optionally include a light generating element and corresponding light generating circuitry… Such a light generating element may be positioned on a device to provide light to a surface of a subject at the same time as application of a consumer product…”).
However, the combination does not disclose wherein the light therapy comprises emitting two or more wavelengths simultaneously.
Hunter, in the same field of endeavor of device for implementing therapeutic treatment (Title), teaches wherein the light therapy comprises emitting two or more wavelengths simultaneously (Par. 11 – “the control system is further configured to send administered light treatment information to the server, the administered light treatment information comprising one or more of a wavelength of light and a dose of light associated with administered light treatment”, and Par. 37 – “Light, or phototherapeutic light, may be administered at one or more wavelengths with one or more corresponding doses to induce one or more biological effects for recipient tissue”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of the combination to further include light therapy with two or more wavelengths simultaneously as taught by Hunter, in order to induce one or more biological effects for recipient tissue (Par. 37 of Hunter).
Regarding claim 16, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 11. The combination further discloses wherein the method further comprises dispensing the formula from the base device 965 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson) based into the applicator 902+920 (Fig. 9 of Chiasson).
However, the combination does not disclose taking a photo of a user's skin with the communication device; uploading the photo into an application on the communication device; applying an algorithm to the photo to detect one or more skin features; sensing one or more environmental conditions with one or more sensors; recommending the formula based on the one or more skin features, and the one or more environmental conditions.
Hunter, in the same field of endeavor of device for implementing therapeutic treatment (Title), teaches taking a photo of a user's skin with the communication device 16 (Fig. 1, and Par. 66 – “the illumination device 12 may include one or more of a camera 38 and one or more sensors 40 configured for capturing images or other diagnostic information of the body tissue 36…”);
uploading the photo into an application on the communication device 16 (Fig. 1, and Par. 66 – “the illumination device 12 may include one or more of a camera 38 and one or more sensors 40 configured for capturing images or other diagnostic information of the body tissue 36 that may be relayed back to the server 14 for analysis”);
applying an algorithm (Par. 61 – “a database 22 and/or an artificial intelligence library 24”) to the photo to detect one or more skin features (Par. 61 – “The artificial intelligence library 24 may be continually updated and refined based on populated data to continuously improve the ability of the server-side application 20 to provide malady detection… the artificial intelligence library 24 may refer to a collection of data (e.g., images and/or sensor data) that correspond to previously identified characteristics of body tissues, including but not limited to the presence of pathogens, diseases, cancerous or pre-cancerous lesions, tumors or polyps, accumulation of fluid, and inflammation, among other tissue characteristics and conditions”);
sensing one or more environmental conditions with one or more sensors 40 (Par. 66);
recommending the formula based on the one or more skin features, and the one or more environmental conditions (Par. 59 – “the local device application 17 may be configured to collect sensor data from one or more of the illumination devices 12 and/or user feedback that may be used by the server 14 and/or local device 16 to determine appropriate treatment protocols”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of the combination to further include the steps of using captured photos, and using an algorithm to said photos for treatment recommendations, as taught by Hunter, in order to generate treatment protocols for illumination devices based on diagnostic information (Abstract). The method also compiles regional and/or global information related to phototherapeutic usage (Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Chiasson in view of King discloses the invention of claim 11. However, the combination does not disclose wherein the method further comprises setting up a user profile with the communication device.
Hunter, in the same field of endeavor of device for implementing therapeutic treatment (Title), teaches the method further comprises setting up a user profile (Par. 76 – “a user identification (ID) with the diagnostic information”) with the communication device (Par. 68 – “the other tissue diagnostics 42 may include information provided by a user and/or a medical professional based on a physical examination and/or diagnostic tests administered to the body tissue 36 and the corresponding user”, and Par. 73 – “a more simplified version of the system 10 may include a configuration where a user may click-through a menu or simply press pre-configured buttons on the illumination device 12 and/or the local device 16 to select a particular treatment program”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of the combination to further set up a user profile as taught by Hunter, in order to provide a local artificial intelligence library so that treatment protocols may be provided without having to first communicate with the server (Par. 73 of Hunter).
Regarding claim 18, Chiasson in in view of King in view of Hunter discloses the invention of claim 17. However, the combination does not currently disclose wherein setting up the user's profile comprises answering a user questionnaire, wherein the user questionnaire gives the user a series of inputs, and wherein the series of inputs include past skin treatment, desired skin quality, or skin concern.
Hunter, in the same field of endeavor of device for implementing therapeutic treatment (Title), teaches wherein setting up the user's profile comprises answering a user questionnaire (Par. 73 – “a user may progress through one or more steps on the illumination device 12 and/or the local device 16 to provide images or other diagnostic information via the illumination device 12 or via off-the-shelf test kits or other in-office procedures”), wherein the user questionnaire gives the user a series of inputs, and wherein the series of inputs include past skin treatment, desired skin quality, or skin concern (Par. 76).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of the combination to further include setting up user profiles via questionnaires as taught by Hunter, in order to obtain and associate medical history, demographics with the diagnostic information (Par. 76 of Hunter).
Regarding claim 19, Chiasson in view of King in view of Hunter discloses the invention of claim 17. However, the combination does not currently disclose wherein the method further comprises diagnosing one or more skin conditions with an AI algorithm.
Hunter, in the same field of endeavor of device for implementing therapeutic treatment (Title), teaches wherein the method further comprises diagnosing one or more skin conditions with an AI algorithm (Par. 61 – “a database 22 and/or an artificial intelligence library 24”, and Par. 61 – “The artificial intelligence library 24 may be continually updated and refined based on populated data to continuously improve the ability of the server-side application 20 to provide malady detection… the artificial intelligence library 24 may refer to a collection of data (e.g., images and/or sensor data) that correspond to previously identified characteristics of body tissues, including but not limited to the presence of pathogens, diseases, cancerous or pre-cancerous lesions, tumors or polyps, accumulation of fluid, and inflammation, among other tissue characteristics and conditions”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of the combination to further include the step of diagnosing the skin conditions with an AI algorithm, as taught by Hunter, in order to generate treatment protocols for illumination devices based on diagnostic information (Abstract). The method also compiles regional and/or global information related to phototherapeutic usage (Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Chiasson in view of King in view of Hunter discloses the invention of claim 17. However, the combination does not currently disclose wherein the method further comprises accepting user feedback of the user's favorite formulations to improve the algorithm.
Hunter, in the same field of endeavor of device for implementing therapeutic treatment (Title), teaches wherein the method further comprises accepting user feedback (Par. 73 – “the local artificial intelligence library may be periodically synchronized with the artificial intelligence library 24 of the server 14 according to routine intervals”) of the user's favorite formulations to improve the algorithm (Par. 92 – “systems of the present disclosure may also have manual functions where designated or authorized personnel can update diagnostic information and/or databases or artificial intelligence libraries”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of the combination to further include the step of updating formulations for the algorithm as taught by Hunter, such that the server may be capable of monitoring patient habits and compliance with treatment protocols (Par. 92 of Hunter).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUYNH DAO LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781