DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 05/27/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1 and 3 has/have been amended; no claim(s) has/have been cancelled and new claim(s) 17 has/have been added. Thus, claims 1-4 and 17 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ieda et al (JP 2001301447 A) in view of Buiting et al (US 3,636,426).
Regarding claim 1, Ieda discloses a heating apparatus, comprising:
a motor control unit, having an inverter (Fig. 1 #7 inverter device) and a controller (Fig. 1 #20 control device) that are connected to each other;
an electric heater (Fig. 1 #s16 and 18 first and second heating means);
and a motor (Fig. 1 #6 three-phase motor), having three-phase windings, wherein ends of the three-phase windings are connected to the inverter (Fig. 1 #7 inverter device).
However, Ieda does not disclose other ends of the three-phase windings are connected to a star wherein the electric heater is electrically connected between the star point and a power supply.
Nonetheless, Buiting which solves the same problem of powering the heater teaches other ends of the three-phase windings are connected to a star (Col. 3 lines 60-65 ---" When the contacts KA-KC are closed they complete the wye connection of the motor windings and establish a neutral terminal or lead as indicated at N. Protector P4 further comprises a heater H6 which is connected in series with a remote sensing thermistor TH6 between one of the supply leads (LC) and the neutral lead N.”) wherein the electric heater is electrically connected between the star point and a power supply.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electric heater being electrically connected between a star point of the motor and a power supply, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
Regarding claim 2, Ieda in view of Buiting teaches the heating apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Ieda teaches further comprising a switch (Fig. 1 #s 15 and 17 first and second electromagnetic relay) disposed between the motor (Fig. 1 #6 three-phase motor) and the electric heater (Fig. 1 #s16 and 18 first and second heating means).
Regarding claim 3, Ieda in view of Buiting teaches the heating apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Ieda teaches wherein the switch (Fig. 1 #s 15 and 17 first and second electromagnetic relay) is configured to switch the electric heater (Fig. 1 #s16 and 18 first and second heating means) and the motor (Fig. 1 #6 three-phase motor) to form a serial connection (Fig. 1 shows a serial connection between the motor, switch, and heater.) or parallel connection loop.
Regarding claim 4, Ieda in view of Buiting teaches the heating apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Ieda teaches wherein the switch (Fig. 1 #s 15 and 17 first and second electromagnetic relay) is connected to the controller (Fig. 1 #20 control device), and the controller (Fig. 1 #20 control device) controls opening and closing of the switch (Fig. 1 #s 15 and 17 first and second electromagnetic relay) (Page 5 para 3-4 “The inverter device 7 and the relays 15 and 17 are controlled by a control device 20 described later.”).
Regarding claim 17, Ieda in view of Buiting teaches the heating apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not explicitly teach wherein the electric heater is directly electrically connected to the star point.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electric heater being directly electrically connected to the star point, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 05/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Buiting et al (US 3,636,426).
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach ends of the three-phase windings are connected to a star point wherein the electric heater is electrically connected between the star point and a power supply. Examiner respectfully agrees.
However, newly cited prior art Buiting teaches ends of the three-phase windings are connected to a star point wherein the electric heater is electrically connected between the star point and a power supply. See the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOE E MILLS JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/CHRIS Q LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761