DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 01/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all pending claims recite subject matter related to a heating apparatus. This is not found persuasive because the independent claims disclose different inventions and do not overlap in scope.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/28/2022 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ieda et al (JP 2001301447 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ieda discloses a heating apparatus, comprising:
a motor control unit, having an inverter (Fig. 1 #7 inverter device) and a controller (Fig. 1 #20 control device) that are connected to each other;
an electric heater (Fig. 1 #s16 and 18 first and second heating means);
and a motor (Fig. 1 #6 three-phase motor), having three-phase windings, wherein ends of the three-phase windings are connected to the inverter (Shown in figure 1), other ends of the three-phase windings are connected to a connection point (Shown in the figure below), and the connection point (Shown in the figure below) is connected to the electric heater (Fig. 1 #s16 and 18 first and second heating means).
Regarding claim 2, Ieda teaches the heating apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Ieda teaches further comprising a switch (Fig. 1 #s 15 and 17 first and second electromagnetic relay) disposed between the motor (Fig. 1 #6 three-phase motor) and the electric heater (Fig. 1 #s16 and 18 first and second heating means).
Regarding claim 3, Ieda teaches the heating apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Ieda teaches wherein the switch (Fig. 1 #s 15 and 17 first and second electromagnetic relay) is configured to switch the electric heater (Fig. 1 #s16 and 18 first and second heating means) and the motor (Fig. 1 #6 three-phase motor) to form a serial connection (Fig. 1 shows a serial connection between the motor, switch, and heater.) or parallel connection loop.
Regarding claim 4, Ieda teaches the heating apparatus as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Ieda teaches wherein the switch (Fig. 1 #s 15 and 17 first and second electromagnetic relay) is connected to the controller (Fig. 1 #20 control device), and the controller (Fig. 1 #20 control device) controls opening and closing of the switch (Fig. 1 #s 15 and 17 first and second electromagnetic relay) (Page 5 para 3-4 “The inverter device 7 and the relays 15 and 17 are controlled by a control device 20 described later.”).
Conclusion
/JOE E MILLS JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3761