DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1, 3, 18 and 20 have been amended.
Claims: 16-17 and 21-22 have not been amended.
Claims: 2, 4-9 and 19 have been cancelled.
Claims: 10-15 have been withdrawn.
EXAMINER’S NOTE:
The examiner notes that applicant’s amendments incorporating only a portion of the limitations from objected claims 3 and 20 have changed the scope of the claims and necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Independent Claim 18 recites “… and wherein the second information related to the data forwarding is assigned by the CU-UP for +- inter-system direct data forwarding between a 5G system (5GS) and an evolved packet core (EPC), in case that the first information on the direct forwarding path availability in the first message is set to inter-system direct path available.” which recites a plus + sign and a dash – before the limitations reciting “inter-system direct data forwarding” and appears to be a typographical error and should instead be written as “the” as can be seen in similar limitations of independent claim 1 and will be interpreted as such (i.e. “… and wherein the second information related to the data forwarding is assigned by the CU-UP for the inter-system direct data forwarding between a 5G system (5GS) and an evolved packet core (EPC), in case that the first information on the direct forwarding path availability in the first message is set to inter-system direct path available.”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims 3 and 20 are objected as allowable because the closest prior art found fails to disclose, teach or suggest either alone or render obvious in a combined teachings of the prior art, the uniquely distinct features in the specific order, structure and combination of limitations together as a whole of the limitations recited in the dependent claims in combination with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/30/25 with regards to claims 1, 3, 16-18 and 20-22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS:
The applicant argues that … Applicant has amended claims 1 and 18 to incorporate elements from Claims 3 and 20. Based on the indication of allowability with respect to Claims 3 and 20, the Applicant respectfully submits that all pending claims are patentable (See Page 8 of Applicant Arguments filed 12/30/25).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The indicated allowability with respect to Claims 3 and 20 is for all the claim limitations to be incorporated into the base claim together with any intervening claims as was previously indicated on Page 2 of the previous office action filed on 09/30/25 and as applicant’s amendments incorporates only a portion of the limitations from objected claims 3 and 20, the claims are no longer allowable as can be seen in the new grounds of rejection presented herein due to the change of scope necessitated by the applicant’s amendments.
Therefore, the argued limitations read upon the cited references or are written broad such that they read upon the cited references, as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16-18 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Document “Method for supporting switching in mobile communication network” (CN112312495A, Published on 02/02/21, herein after referenced as Foreign) in view of NPL document “Discussion on E1AP for inter-system direct data forwarding” (3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #109-e, R3-205102; Online, 17th – 27th August 2020; Source: CATT, Nokia, Nokia Shanghai Bell, China Telecom, ZTE herein after referenced as R3-205102) in view of NPL document “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG-RAN; NG Application Protocol (NGAP) (Release 16)” (3GPP TS 38.413 V16.2.0 (2020-07) herein after referenced as 3GPP38.413) and further in view of Butehorn et al. (US Patent Publication 2004/0132451 herein after referenced as Butehorn).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 18, Foreign discloses:
A method performed by a centralized unit - control plane (CU-CP) of a target base station in a wireless communication network, the method comprising: and A centralized unit - control plane (CU-CP) of a target base station in a wireless communication network, the CU-UP comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to: (Foreign, Page 8, Paragraph 6 discloses if the gNB0 supports a separate control plane and user plane architecture, i.e., the gNB0 contains a gNB concentrated unit control plane unit gNB-CU-CP (i.e. reads on CU-CP of a target base station) and a gNB concentrated unit user plane unit gNB-CU-UP and the gNB0-CU-CP requests the gNB0-CU-UP to allocate channel information corresponding to each evolved radio access bearer E-RAB and the channel information contains transport layer addresses and channel identifications and the gNB0-CU-UP assigns channel information for data forwarding for each E-RAB requested and sends to the gNB 0-CU-CP; Foreign, Page 2, Paragraph 13 discloses when the UE is in a dual-connection state, namely, the UE establishes wireless connection (i.e. reads on wireless network) with one access node and simultaneously establishes wireless connection with the other access node; Foreign, Page 8, Paragraph 2 discloses Step 603: the AMF sends a third message to the destination node gNB0, where the third message may be a HANDOVER REQUEST message and the HANDOVER REQUEST message carries the UE identity message; Foreign, Page 1, Abstract discloses the target base station receives a third message from a core network element connected with the target base station, wherein the third message carries the UE identification information for identifying the UE; Foreign, Page 6, Paragraph 8 discloses a communication architecture is shown in which a UE is connected to a network element of a core network through an access node and the access node takes a gNB and an eNB as an example and the core network elements take the AMF and MME as examples, which provide mobility management functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for a complex device such as a base station gNB that is receiving and transmitting information to include a processor and transceiver in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
receiving, (Foreign, Page 8, Paragraph 2 discloses Step 603: the AMF (i.e. reads on from a core network) sends (i.e. reads on receiving) a third message to the destination node gNB0, where the third message may be a HANDOVER REQUEST message (i.e. reads on a handover request message) and the HANDOVER REQUEST message carries the UE identity message; Foreign, Page 1, Abstract discloses the target base station receives a third message from a core network element connected with the target base station, wherein the third message carries the UE identification information for identifying the UE; Foreign, Page 6, Paragraph 8 discloses a communication architecture is shown in which a UE is connected to a network element of a core network through an access node and the access node takes a gNB and an eNB as an example and the core network elements take the AMF and MME as examples, which provide mobility management functions).
transmitting, by the CU-CP to a CU-user plane (UP) of the target base station, a first message including a (Foreign, Page 8, Paragraph 6 discloses if the gNB0 supports a separate control plane and user plane architecture, i.e., the gNB0 contains a gNB concentrated unit control plane unit gNB-CU-CP and a gNB concentrated unit user plane unit gNB-CU-UP and the gNB0-CU-CP (i.e. reads on CU-CP) requests (i.e. reads on transmitting a first message including a request) the gNB0-CU-UP (i.e. reads on to a CU-UP of the target base station) to allocate channel information corresponding to each evolved radio access bearer E-RAB and the channel information contains transport layer addresses and channel identifications and the gNB0-CU-UP assigns channel information for data forwarding for each E-RAB requested and sends to the gNB 0-CU-CP (i.e. reads on and receiving, by the CU-CP from the CU-UP, a second message); Foreign, Page 8, Paragraph 2 discloses Step 603: the AMF sends a third message to the destination node gNB0, where the third message may be a HANDOVER REQUEST message and the HANDOVER REQUEST message carries the UE identity message; Foreign, Page 1, Abstract discloses the target base station receives a third message from a core network element connected with the target base station, wherein the third message carries the UE identification information for identifying the UE).
wherein the second information related to the data forwarding includes (Foreign, Page 8, Paragraph 6 discloses if the gNB0 supports a separate control plane and user plane architecture, i.e., the gNB0 contains a gNB concentrated unit control plane unit gNB-CU-CP and a gNB concentrated unit user plane unit gNB-CU-UP and the gNB0-CU-CP requests the gNB0-CU-UP to allocate channel information corresponding to each evolved radio access bearer E-RAB and the channel information contains transport layer addresses and channel identifications and the gNB0-CU-UP assigns channel information for data forwarding (i.e. reads on wherein the second information related to the data forwarding includes a transport layer address for inter-system data forwarding and wherein the second information related to the data forwarding is assigned by the CU-UP for the inter-system data forwarding) for each E-RAB requested and sends to the gNB 0-CU-CP; Foreign, Page 7, Paragraph 14 discloses in the scenario of intersystem handover from the EPS to the 5G (i.e. reads on between a 5GS and an EPC) communication system, the handover method includes the following steps:; Foreign, Page 2, Paragraph 13 discloses when the UE is in a dual-connection state, namely, the UE establishes wireless connection with one access node and simultaneously establishes wireless connection with the other access node and the two access nodes may be a gNB connected to a core network of a 5G communication system and an eNB connected to a core network of an EPS communication system).
Foreign discloses a destination base station receiving a handover request message from a core network node and the CU-CP of the destination base station transmits a request to the CU-UP of the destination base station where CU-UP assigns transport layer address for data forwarding and sends information back to the CU-UP but fails to explicitly disclose that said CU-UP receives the handover request and that the request of the CU-UP is directed towards a direct data forwarding request and includes additional information indicating direct data forwarding availability and that the allocated transport address information is an IP address that is allocated from an address space and therefore fails to disclose “receiving, by the CU-CP, a handover request message from a core network node;” and “transmitting, by the CU-CP to a CU-user plane (UP) of the target base station, a first message including a data forwarding information request, and first information on direct forwarding path availability;” and “wherein the second information related to the data forwarding includes a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) and a transport layer address for inter-system direct data forwarding,” and “and wherein the transport layer address is an internet protocol (IP) address and is assigned from an address space,” and “and wherein the second information related to the data forwarding is assigned by the CU-UP for the inter-system direct data forwarding between a 5G system (5GS) and an evolved packet core (EPC), in case that the first information on the direct forwarding path availability in the first message is set to inter-system direct path available”.
In a related field of endeavor, R3-205102 discloses:
receiving, by the CU-CP, a handover request message from a core network node; (R3-205102, Page 3, Fig. 2, step 2 shows the CU-CP of the target gNB (i.e. reads on CU-CP of a target base station) receiving a handover request message (i.e. reads on receiving a handover request message) from the core network (i.e. reads on from a core network) wherein the handover request includes IEs used to propose direct data forwarding and step 6 shows the CU-CP sending a handover request acknowledgment message to the core network wherein the handover request acknowledgment includes data forwarding response E-RAB list).
transmitting, by the CU-CP to a CU-user plane (UP) of the target base station, a first message including a data forwarding information request, and first information on direct forwarding path availability; (R3-205102, Page 3, Section Observation 2 - Proposal 2 discloses the target gNB-CU-CP should be able to inform (i.e. reads on a first message) the target gNB-CU-UP (i.e. reads on transmitting, by the CU-CP to a CU-UP of the target base station) about the mapping between the E-RABs and the QoS flow (i.e. reads on first information on direct forwarding path availability) and to request the target gNB-CU-UP to provide the per-E-RAB data forwarding address (i.e. reads on including a data forwarding information requestion) and discloses the target gNB-CU-CP should request the target gNB-CU-UP to assign the TNL addresses for these E-RABs by including one data forwarding request E-RAB list in the bearer context setup request message it sends; R3-205102, Page 2, Section Proposal 1: discloses one new optional IE namely the E-RAB ID is proposed to be added into the QoS flow item within 9.3.1.25 of TS 38.463 used to inform the gNB-CU-UP of the E-RAB to QoS flow mapping for inter-system direct data forwarding (i.e. reads on first information on direct forwarding path availability) and if the two abovementioned enhancements are adopted, 5GS-to-EPS direct data forwarding can be supported for the gNB-CU-CP/UP split architecture; R3-205102, Page 1, Section 2, Subsection Open Issue 2 discloses whether / how CU-UP should be aware whether the data forwarding is for intra-system handover of inter-system handover; R3-205102, Page 3, Fig. 2, step 3 shows the CU-CP of the target gNB sends a bearer context setup request to the CU-UP of the target gNB wherein the bearer context setup request includes data forwarding request E-RAB list; R3-205102, Page 3, Fig. 2, step 6 shows the CU-CP sending a handover request acknowledgment message to the core network, wherein the handover request acknowledgment includes data forwarding response E-RAB list and step 7 shows the core network sending a handover command to the source E-UTRAN and step 10 shows direct data forwarding being performed from the source E-UTRAN to the CU-UP; R3-205102, Page 3, Section Proposal 2 discloses for the EPC-to-5GC handover, the target gNB-CU-UP should be provided with the QoS-flow-to-DRB mapping as well and the target gNB-CU-CP should request the target gNB-CU-UP to assign the TNL addresses for these E-RABs by including one data forwarding request E-RAB list in the bearer context setup request message it sends and the gNB-CU-UP replies with the allocated TNL addresses by including one data forwarding response E-RAB list in the bearer context setup response message; R3-205102, Page 2, Fig. 1, step 4 shows the handover command received by the source gNB from the core network includes the data forwarding response E-RAB list).
and wherein the second information related to the data forwarding is assigned by the CU-UP for the inter-system direct data forwarding between a 5G system (5GS) and an evolved packet core (EPC), in case that the first information on the direct forwarding path availability in the first message (R3-205102, Page 3, Section Observation 2 - Proposal 2 discloses the target gNB-CU-CP should be able to inform (i.e. reads on a first message) the target gNB-CU-UP about the mapping between the E-RABs and the QoS flow (i.e. reads on in case that the first information on the direct forwarding path availability in the first message) and to request the target gNB-CU-UP to provide the per-E-RAB data forwarding address and discloses the target gNB-CU-CP should request the target gNB-CU-UP to assign (i.e. reads on is assigned by the CU-UP) the TNL addresses (i.e. reads on second information includes a tunnel identifier and reads on the second information related to the data forwarding) for these E-RABs by including one data forwarding request E-RAB list in the bearer context setup request message it sends and the gNB-CU-UP replies (i.e. reads on receiving, by the CU-CP from the CU-UP a second message) with the allocated TNL addresses (i.e. reads on including second information related to data forwarding, wherein the second information includes a tunnel) by including one data forwarding response E-RAB list in the bearer context setup response message; R3-205102, Page 3, Fig. 2, step 4 shows the CU-UP of the target base station sending a bearer context setup response (i.e. reads on a second message) to the CU-CP of the target base station wherein the bearer context setup response includes data forwarding response E-RAB list; R3-205102, Page 2, Section Proposal 1: discloses one new optional IE namely the E-RAB ID is proposed to be added into the QoS flow item within 9.3.1.25 of TS 38.463 used to inform the gNB-CU-UP of the E-RAB to QoS flow mapping for inter-system direct data forwarding (i.e. reads on in case that the first information on the direct forwarding path availability in the first message) and if the two abovementioned enhancements are adopted, 5GS-to-EPS direct data forwarding (i.e. reads on for inter-system direct data forwarding between a 5G system 5GS and an evolved packet core EPC) can be supported for the gNB-CU-CP/UP split architecture).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Foreign to incorporate the teachings of R3-205102 for the purpose of conforming to the guidelines of a known and accepted standard as well as providing the system with a means to implement the system with direct data forwarding functionality (R3-205102, Page 3, Section Observation 2 - Proposal 2) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of destination base station receiving a handover request from the core network and the CU-CP transmitting a request to the CU-UP and receiving a response back from the CU-UP as taught by Foreign) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of destination base station receiving a handover request from the core network and the CU-CP transmitting a request to the CU-UP and receiving a response back from the CU-UP, wherein the CU-CP receives the handover request from the core network and the request transmitted to the CU-UP includes a data forwarding information request and includes direct forwarding path availability and wherein the CU-CP also transmit a handover request acknowledgment message to the core network that includes the data forwarding response and receive the direct data forwarding as taught by R3-205102) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of destination base station receiving a handover request from the core network and the CU-CP transmitting a request to the CU-UP and receiving a response back from the CU-UP (i.e. as taught by Foreign & R3-205102) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Foreign in view of R3-205102 fails to disclose “wherein the second information related to the data forwarding includes a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) and a transport layer address for inter-system direct data forwarding,” and “and wherein the transport layer address is an internet protocol (IP) address and is assigned from an address space,” and “wherein the second information related to the data forwarding is assigned, in case that the first information on the direct forwarding path availability is set to an inter-system direct path available”.
In a related field of endeavor, 3GPP38.413 discloses:
wherein the second information related to the data forwarding includes a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) and a transport layer address for inter-system direct data forwarding; and wherein the transport layer address is an internet protocol (IP) address (3GPP38.413, Page 230, Section 9.3.2.2 discloses UP transport layer information and this IE is used to provide the user plane transport layer information associated with a PDU session and it corresponds to an IP address and a GTP tunnel endpoint identifier and the CHOICE UP transport layer information includes the endpoint IP address which is the transport layer address and GTP-TEID (i.e. reads on wherein the second information includes a tunnel endpoint identifier TEID and a transport layer address, and the transport layer address is an internet protocol IP address); 3GPP38.413, Pages 206-207, Section 9.3.1.121 discloses data forwarding response E-RAB list and this IE is used at inter-system HO to provide DL data forwarding (i.e. reads on related to the data forwarding) address information if direct data forwarding is applied and the data forwarding response E-RAB list includes DL forwarding UP TNL information which is UP transport layer information 9.3.2.2).
wherein the second information related to the data forwarding is assigned, in case that the first information on the direct forwarding path availability is set to an inter-system direct path available (3GPP38.413, Page 56, 5th paragraph discloses in case of inter-system handover from E-UTRAN, if the PDU session resource setup request transfer IE contains the direct forwarding path availability IE (i.e. reads on in case that the first information on the direct forwarding path availability) set to “direct path available” (i.e. reads on is set to an inter-system direct path available), the target NG-RAN node shall if supported and if it accepts downlink data forwarding for the QoS flows mapped to an E-RAB of an admitted PDU session, include the DL forwarding UP TNL information IE (i.e. reads on wherein the second information related to the data forwarding is assigned) in the data forwarding response E-RAB list IE; 3GPP38.413, Page 186, Section 9.3.1.64 discloses direct forwarding path availability and this IE indicates whether a direct forwarding path is available; 3GPP38.413, Pages 206-207, Section 9.3.1.121 discloses data forwarding response E-RAB list and this IE is used at inter-system HO to provide DL data forwarding address information if direct data forwarding is applied and the data forwarding response E-RAB list includes DL forwarding UP TNL information which is UP transport layer information 9.3.2.2; 3GPP38.413, Page 230, Section 9.3.2.2 discloses UP transport layer information and this IE is used to provide the user plane transport layer information associated with a PDU session and it corresponds to an IP address and a GTP tunnel endpoint identifier and the CHOICE UP transport layer information includes the endpoint IP address which is the transport layer address and GTP-TEID; 3GPP38.413, Page 20, Line 38 discloses UP user plane).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Foreign in view of R3-205102 to incorporate the teachings of 3GPP38.413 for the purpose of conforming to the guidelines of a known and accepted standard as well as providing the system with a means to include an information element that allows the system to identify when direct forwarding path is available in order to be able to allocate forwarding tunnels (3GPP38.413, Page 56, 5th paragraph & Page 186, Section 9.3.1.64) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of sending a request that includes direct forwarding path information and receiving tunnel address information in a data forwarding response E-RAB list as taught by R3-205102) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of sending a request that includes direct forwarding path information and receiving tunnel address information in a data forwarding response E-RAB list, wherein the direct forwarding path information includes direct forwarding path availability information set to direct forwarding path is available and wherein the E-RAB list response includes transport layer IP address and TEID as taught by 3GPP38.413) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of sending a request that includes direct forwarding path information and receiving tunnel address information in a data forwarding response E-RAB list (i.e. as taught by R3-205102 & 3GPP38.413) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Foreign in view of R3-205102 and further in view of 3GPP38.413 fails to disclose “an internet protocol (IP) address and is assigned from an address space,”.
In a related field of endeavor, Butehorn discloses:
an internet protocol (IP) address and is assigned from an address space, (Butehorn, [0239] discloses C2 assigns a set of IP addresses from its own address space to use to map to IP addresses from host in C1 and at this point the system is capable of establishing communication between the different private addressing domains of network 1503 and network 1517).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Foreign in view of R3-205102 and further in view of 3GPP38.413 to incorporate the teachings of Butehorn for the purpose of providing the system with a means to establish communication between different networks (Butehorn, [0239]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of assigning addresses as taught by Foreign) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of assigning addresses, wherein the address is assigned from the own address space as taught by Butehorn) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of assigning addresses (i.e. as taught by Foreign & Butehorn) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 16 and claim 21, Foreign in view of R3-205102 in view of 3GPP38.413 and further in view of Butehorn discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1) and The CU-UP of claim 18, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: (see claim 18).
transmitting, by the CU-CP to the core network, a handover request acknowledge message including third information related to the data forwarding (R3-205102, Page 3, Fig. 2, step 6 shows the CU-CP sending a handover request acknowledgment message to the core network, wherein the handover request acknowledgment includes data forwarding response E-RAB list; R3-205102, Page 3, Section Proposal 2 discloses the gNB-CU-UP replies with the allocated TNL addresses by including one data forwarding response E-RAB list in the bearer context setup response message).
Regarding claim 17 and claim 22, Foreign in view of R3-205102 in view of 3GPP38.413 and further in view of Butehorn discloses:
The method of claim 16, further comprising: (see claim 16) and The CU-UP of claim 18, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: (see claim 18).
receiving, by the CU-UP from a source base station, a data based on the third information related to the data forwarding (R3-205102, Page 3, Fig. 2, step 6 shows the CU-CP sending a handover request acknowledgment message to the core network, wherein the handover request acknowledgment includes data forwarding response E-RAB list and step 7 shows the core network sending a handover command to the source E-UTRAN and step 10 shows direct data forwarding being performed from the source E-UTRAN to the CU-UP; R3-205102, Page 3, Section Proposal 2 discloses for the EPC-to-5GC handover, the target gNB-CU-UP should be provided with the QoS-flow-to-DRB mapping as well and the target gNB-CU-CP should request the target gNB-CU-UP to assign the TNL addresses for these E-RABs by including one data forwarding request E-RAB list in the bearer context setup request message it sends and the gNB-CU-UP replies with the allocated TNL addresses by including one data forwarding response E-RAB list in the bearer context setup response message; R3-205102, Page 2, Fig. 1, step 4 shows the handover command received by the source gNB from the core network includes the data forwarding response E-RAB list).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645