DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of the parent Application No. CN202110744210.1, has been filed on 06/30/2021.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-5, 9-12 and 16-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 recites,
The method, as recited in claim 1,
wherein in a cooling scenario, said target adjustment speed corresponding to said target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures comprises duration for natural temperature rise by one unit temperature and duration for cooling by one unit temperature by said HVAC system for said current room under said target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures; and
the determining a target operating mode based on a relationship between said current energy-saving level and said target adjustment speed comprises:
based on that an adjustment speed corresponding to said current energy-saving level is a first speed, said first speed comprising upper limit duration for cooling by one unit temperature and lower limit duration for natural temperature rise by one unit temperature; and
under a condition that said duration for cooling by one unit temperature is greater than said upper limit duration, determining that said temperature adjustment level is a second cooling level; and
under a condition that said duration for cooling by one unit temperature is less than said upper limit duration, determining that said temperature adjustment level is a first cooling level.
A thorough search has been conducted for the subject matter with the most relevant prior art found to be discussed.
Okita (US20180087795A1) in [0138] teaches server uses the ALD and the WFD to create prediction tables that determine the expected rate of change or slope of inside temperature for each minute of HVAC cycle time (ΔT) for the relevant range of possible pre-existing inside temperatures and outside climatic conditions. Fig. 16 teaches prediction table with expected range of change for difference between indoor and outdoor temperature. However it doesn’t teach, duration for natural temperature rise by one unit temperature and duration for cooling by one unit temperature by said HVAC system for said current room under said target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures and also doesn’t teach, determining the adjustment speed according to the current energy-saving level, which includes an upper limit duration for cooling by one unit temperature and a lower limit duration for natural temperature rise by one unit temperature; and comparing the upper limit to the duration for cooling in the target adjustment speed to determine cooling level.
JOO (US20190271483A1) in [0066] teaches, the storage unit 120 may store information on power consumption and time to reduce indoor temperature by 1 degree Celsius. [0081] teaches, the processor may identify the power and time consumed to increase or decrease the indoor temperature by the unit temperature. However it doesn’t teach, natural temperature rise by one unit temperature and also doesn’t teach, determining the adjustment speed according to the current energy-saving level, which includes an upper limit duration for cooling by one unit temperature and a lower limit duration for natural temperature rise by one unit temperature; and comparing the upper limit to the duration for cooling in the target adjustment speed to determine cooling level.
Ito (US20150219356A1) in [0117] teaches, determining operation time required to decrease the temperature by 1 degree C. (to be referred to as an operation time T hereinafter) is determined in advance on the basis of the operation characteristics of the air-conditioning apparatus A. Then, in the air-conditioning apparatus A, the operation time T is multiplied by the temperature difference between the indoor temperature at the start of the operation of the air-conditioning apparatus A and the indoor temperature set value, and a time obtained by making the earliest time in the presence-in-room start time zone earlier by this time is set as an operation start time for the air-conditioning apparatus A. However it doesn’t teach, natural temperature rise by one unit temperature and also doesn’t teach, determining the adjustment speed according to the current energy-saving level, which includes an upper limit duration for cooling by one unit temperature and a lower limit duration for natural temperature rise by one unit temperature; and comparing the upper limit to the duration for cooling in the target adjustment speed to determine cooling level.
No other art could be found which alone or in combination teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims..
Claim 9 and 16 recite similar limitations as claim 2 and are therefore would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, for the same reasons as claim 2.
Claims 3 and 10 depends on claim 2 and 9 respectively and therefore would be allowable due to their dependency.
Claim 4 recites,
The method, as recited in claim 1, wherein in a heating scenario, said target adjustment speed corresponding to said target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures comprises duration for heating by one unit temperature by said HVAC system and duration for natural temperature drop by one unit temperature for said current room under said target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures; and
said determining said target operating mode based on said relationship between said current energy-saving level and said target adjustment speed comprises:
based on that said adjustment speed corresponding to said current energy-saving level is a second speed, said second speed comprising upper limit duration for heating by one unit temperature and lower limit duration for natural temperature drop by one unit temperature; and
under a condition that said duration for heating by one unit temperature is greater than said upper limit duration, determining that said temperature adjustment level is a second heating level; and
under a condition that said duration for heating by one unit temperature is less than said upper limit duration, determining that said temperature adjustment level is a first heating level.
A thorough search has been conducted for the subject matter with the most relevant prior art found to be discussed.
Okita (US20180087795A1) in [0138] teaches server uses the ALD and the WFD to create prediction tables that determine the expected rate of change or slope of inside temperature for each minute of HVAC cycle time (ΔT) for the relevant range of possible pre-existing inside temperatures and outside climatic conditions. Fig. 16 teaches prediction table with expected range of change for difference between indoor and outdoor temperature. However it doesn’t teach, duration for natural temperature drop by one unit temperature and duration for heating by one unit temperature by said HVAC system for said current room under said target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures and also doesn’t teach, determining the adjustment speed according to the current energy-saving level, which includes an upper limit duration for heating by one unit temperature and a lower limit duration for natural temperature drop by one unit temperature; and comparing the upper limit to the duration for heating in the target adjustment speed to determine heating level.
JOO (US20190271483A1) in [0066] teaches, the storage unit 120 may store information on power consumption and time to increase indoor temperature by unit temperature. [0081] teaches, the processor may identify the power and time consumed to increase or decrease the indoor temperature by the unit temperature. However it doesn’t teach, natural temperature drop by one unit temperature and also doesn’t teach, determining the adjustment speed according to the current energy-saving level, which includes an upper limit duration for heating by one unit temperature and a lower limit duration for natural temperature drop by one unit temperature; and comparing the upper limit to the duration for heating in the target adjustment speed to determine cooling level.
No other art could be found which alone or in combination teaches all the limitations of claim 4. Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims..
Claim 11 and 17 recite similar limitations as claim 4 and are therefore would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, for the same reasons as claim 4.
Claims 5 and 12 depends on claim 4 and 11 respectively and are therefore allowable due to their dependency.
Claims 7, 14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 recites,
The method, as recited in claim 6, wherein said determining said target operating mode corresponding to said temperature difference relational expression met by said current indoor temperature value, said current target temperature value, and said current outdoor temperature value based on said mapping relationship comprises:
under a condition that a result of subtracting said target temperature value from said current indoor temperature value is greater than a first threshold, and a result of subtracting said current indoor temperature value from said current outdoor temperature value is greater than a second threshold, determining that said temperature adjustment level is a second cooling level; under a condition that a result of subtracting said target temperature value from said current indoor temperature value is greater than a third threshold, and a result of subtracting said current indoor temperature value from said current outdoor temperature value is less than or equal to said second threshold, determining that said temperature adjustment level is said second cooling level, said second threshold is greater than said third threshold, and said third threshold is greater than said first threshold; and under a condition that a result of subtracting said target temperature value from said current indoor temperature value is less than or equal to said third threshold, and a result of subtracting said current indoor temperature value from said current outdoor temperature value is less than or equal to said second threshold, determining that said temperature adjustment level is a first cooling level;
or,
under a condition that a result of subtracting said target temperature value from said current indoor temperature value is less than a fourth threshold, and a result of subtracting said current indoor temperature value from said current outdoor temperature value is greater than a fifth threshold, determining that said temperature adjustment level is a second heating level; under a condition that a result of subtracting said target temperature value from said current indoor temperature value is greater than a sixth threshold, and a result of subtracting said current indoor temperature value from said current outdoor temperature value is less than or equal to said fifth threshold, determining that said temperature adjustment level is said a second heating level, said sixth threshold is less than said fourth threshold, and said fifth threshold is greater than said fourth threshold; and under a condition that a result of subtracting said target temperature value from said current indoor temperature value is less than said fourth threshold and greater than said sixth threshold, and a result of subtracting said current indoor temperature value from said current outdoor temperature value is less than or equal to said fifth threshold, determining that said temperature adjustment level is a first heating level.
A thorough search has been conducted for the subject matter with the most relevant prior art found to be discussed.
Yamada (US20210302051A1) in [0051] teaches, the control unit 8 performs the heat pump heating operation when a condition suitable for the heat pump heating operation (a heat pump heating condition) is satisfied, and performs the separate heat source heating operation when a condition suitable for the separate heat source heating operation (a separate heat source heating condition) is satisfied. Here, the control unit 8 determines whether the heat pump heating condition or the separate heat source heating condition is satisfied, on the basis of an outside air temperature Ta or an indoor load (for example, an indoor temperature difference ΔTr obtained by subtracting an indoor temperature Tr from a target indoor temperature Trt). For example, the control unit 8 performs the heat pump heating operation when the outside air temperature Ta is high (when the outside air temperature is equal to or more than a threshold outside air temperature Tat), or when the indoor load is small (when the indoor temperature difference ΔTr is less than or equal to a threshold indoor temperature difference ΔTr). But it doesn’t teach all of the limitations of claim 7.
Kohashi (US20190293311A1) [0123-0125] teaches, in step S15, the indoor temperature comparison section 210 calculates the set temperature difference Δt1 by subtracting the set temperature T1 from the indoor temperature T2, in step S16, determines whether the set temperature difference Δt1 is equal to or larger than the threshold 1 (e.g., 2° C.). When the set temperature difference Δt1 is not equal to or larger than the threshold 1 (NO in step S16), turns off the compressor 218 and the set temperature difference Δt1 is equal to or larger than the threshold 1 (YES in step S16), turns on the compressor 218. But it doesn’t teach all of the limitations of claim 7.
No other art could be found which alone or in combination teaches all the limitations of claim 7. Therefore, claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14 and 19 recite similar limitations as claim 7 and are therefore would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, for the same reasons as claim 7.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the quality of the lines and characters. 37 CFR 1.84(l) requires that all drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. See lines and texts in Fig. 2, 3, 4.
The drawings are objected to because the text is too small. 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3) requires that all numbers, letters, and reference characters measure at least 1/8 inches in height. The examiner asserts that at least some of the text in the drawings does not satisfy this requirement. Applicant is asked to print the drawings to measure and enlarge, where appropriate. Recall from 37 CFR 1.84(k) that drawings are reduced in size to two-thirds in reproduction. Hence, such small text will be difficult to read if not increased in size. See texts in Fig. 3-4.
Claim Consideration under - 35 USC § 101
Claims have been considered and found to be eligible under 35 USC § 101. Claims 1-19 fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter (claims 1-7 fall under a process and 8-19 fall under a machine). Claims 1-19 are not directed to a judicial exception because the claims don’t fall under one of the groupings of abstract ideas. Independent claim recites, determining a target adjustment speed corresponding to said target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures based on a corresponding relationship between an indoor and outdoor temperature difference of a current room and said adjustment speed at which said HVAC system controls a temperature change, which recites a step that cannot be practically performed by human mind and is not directed to a mathematical concept. Human mind is not equipped to perform the claimed steps needed to determine a target adjustment speed. Additionally, the claim recites, “controlling said HVAC system to perform a temperature adjustment operation in said target operating mode.” This limitation is directed to using the claimed steps in controlling the HVAC system to perform a temperature adjustment, which uses the claimed steps in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Additionally, by performing a temperature adjustment in the determined target operating mode which comprises at least one of a temperature adjustment level and temperature adjustment duration, HVAC system is reasonably controlled by using a magnitude relationship between the current indoor temperature and outdoor temperature, and the set temperature, and an influence of the current outdoor temperature value is considered, so that the user's comfort experience can be improved, and energy consumption is effectively reduced, as described by the published specification ¶0128. Therefore the claimed invention provides an improvement to the technical field of HVAC control. Therefore, the claims are eligible under 35 USC § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-5, 9-12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites,
based on that an adjustment speed corresponding to said current energy-saving level is a first speed, said first speed comprising upper limit duration for cooling by one unit temperature and lower limit duration for natural temperature rise by one unit temperature; and
It is unclear from the limitation as to what information is being identified/determined based on the adjustment speed corresponding to said current energy-saving level. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For the sake of compact prosecution the limitation is being interpreted to recite, “determining
Claims 9 and 16 recites similar limitation as claim 2 above and are also rejected for the same reasons as claim 2 and are interpreted in the same manner as claim 2.
Claims 3 and 10 depends on claim 2 and 9 respectively and are therefore rejected due to their dependency.
Claim 4 recites,
based on that said adjustment speed corresponding to said current energy-saving level is a second speed, said second speed comprising upper limit duration for heating by one unit temperature and lower limit duration for natural temperature drop by one unit temperature; and
Claim 4 recites similar language as claim 2 above and is also indefinite for the same reasons as claim 2 above. For the sake of compact prosecution the limitation is being interpreted to recite, “determining
Claims 11 and 17 recites similar limitation as claim 4 above and are also rejected for the same reasons as claim 4 and are interpreted in the same manner as claim 4.
Claims 5 and 12 depends on claim 4 and 11 respectively and are therefore rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okita (US20180087795A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Okita teaches, A temperature control method applied to a temperature controller, comprising:
obtaining a target temperature value set by a user; (¶0136 teaches retrieving desired inside temperature at TT (TempTT))
obtaining a current energy-saving level, said current energy-saving level being used to limit an adjustment speed at which a heating, ventilation, air-conditioning and cooling (HVAC) system controls a temperature change; (¶0134 teaches step 1514 the server retrieves the predetermined target time when the preconditioning is intended to have been completed (TT).)
determining a target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures based on a current indoor temperature value and a current outdoor temperature value; (¶0138 teaches, In step 1536, the server uses the ALD and the WFD to create prediction tables that determine the expected rate of change or slope of inside temperature for each minute of HVAC cycle time (ΔT) for the relevant range of possible pre-existing inside temperatures and outside climatic conditions. ¶0160 teaches, FIG. 16 shows a simple prediction table. The first column 1602 lists a series of differentials between outside and inside temperatures.)
determining a target adjustment speed corresponding to said target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures based on a corresponding relationship between an indoor and outdoor temperature difference of a current room and said adjustment speed at which said HVAC system controls a temperature change; (In step 1538, the server uses the prediction tables created in step 1536, combined with input parameters TT and Temp (TT) to determine the time at which slope ΔT intersects with predicted initial temperature PT. ¶0160 teaches, the second column 1604 lists the predicted rate of change in inside temperature ΔT)
determining a target operating mode based on a relationship between said current energy-saving level and said target adjustment speed, said target operating mode comprising at least one of a temperature adjustment level and temperature adjustment duration; and (¶0139 teaches, In step 1538, the server uses the prediction tables created in step 1536, combined with input parameters TT and Temp (TT) to determine the time at which slope ΔT intersects with predicted initial temperature PT. The time between PT and TT is the key calculated parameter: the preconditioning time interval, or PTI. ¶0145 teaches, calculating the schedule of intermediate setpoints and time intervals to be transmitted to the thermostat based on preconditioning time interval. Because thermostats cannot generally be programmed with steps of less than 1 degree F., ΔT is quantized into discrete interval data of at least 1 degree F. each. For example, if Temp (PT) is 65 degrees F., Temp (TT) is 72 degrees F., and PT is 90 minutes, the thermostat might be programmed to be set at 66 for 10 minutes, 67 for 12 minutes, 68 for 15 minutes, and so on.)
controlling said HVAC system to perform a temperature adjustment operation in said target operating mode. (¶0147 teaches, the scheduled setpoint changes are executed by the thermostat)
Regarding claim 8,
Okita teaches, A temperature controller, comprising a main control chip and a memory, wherein a computer program is stored in said memory, and when said computer program is executed by a processor, said processor is enabled to perform: (¶0134 teaches a server for controlling a just-in-time (JIT) event. ¶0092 teaches servers 106 are conventional computers. ¶0327 teaches, Each of the processes, methods, and algorithms described in the preceding sections may be embodied in, and fully or partially automated by, code modules executed by one or more computer systems or computer processors comprising computer hardware.)
obtaining a target temperature value set by a user; (¶0136 teaches retrieving desired inside temperature at TT (TempTT))
obtaining a current energy-saving level, said current energy-saving level being used to limit an adjustment speed at which a heating, ventilation, air-conditioning and cooling (HVAC) system controls a temperature change; (¶0134 teaches step 1514 the server retrieves the predetermined target time when the preconditioning is intended to have been completed (TT).)
determining a target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures based on a current indoor temperature value and a current outdoor temperature value; (¶0138 teaches, In step 1536, the server uses the ALD and the WFD to create prediction tables that determine the expected rate of change or slope of inside temperature for each minute of HVAC cycle time (ΔT) for the relevant range of possible pre-existing inside temperatures and outside climatic conditions. ¶0160 teaches, FIG. 16 shows a simple prediction table. The first column 1602 lists a series of differentials between outside and inside temperatures.)
determining a target adjustment speed corresponding to said target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures based on a corresponding relationship between an indoor and outdoor temperature difference of a current room and said adjustment speed at which said HVAC system controls a temperature change; (In step 1538, the server uses the prediction tables created in step 1536, combined with input parameters TT and Temp (TT) to determine the time at which slope ΔT intersects with predicted initial temperature PT. ¶0160 teaches, the second column 1604 lists the predicted rate of change in inside temperature ΔT)
determining a target operating mode based on a relationship between said current energy-saving level and said target adjustment speed, said target operating mode comprising at least one of a temperature adjustment level and temperature adjustment duration; and (¶0139 teaches, In step 1538, the server uses the prediction tables created in step 1536, combined with input parameters TT and Temp (TT) to determine the time at which slope ΔT intersects with predicted initial temperature PT. The time between PT and TT is the key calculated parameter: the preconditioning time interval, or PTI. ¶0145 teaches, calculating the schedule of intermediate setpoints and time intervals to be transmitted to the thermostat based on preconditioning time interval. Because thermostats cannot generally be programmed with steps of less than 1 degree F., ΔT is quantized into discrete interval data of at least 1 degree F. each. For example, if Temp (PT) is 65 degrees F., Temp (TT) is 72 degrees F., and PT is 90 minutes, the thermostat might be programmed to be set at 66 for 10 minutes, 67 for 12 minutes, 68 for 15 minutes, and so on.)
controlling said HVAC system to perform a temperature adjustment operation in said target operating mode. (¶0147 teaches, the scheduled setpoint changes are executed by the thermostat)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okita (US20180087795A1) in view of Song (US20080028780A1).
Regarding claim 6,
Okita doesn’t teach, The method, as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining a mapping relationship between a preset temperature difference relational expression and an operating mode, said preset temperature difference relational expression comprising a magnitude relational expression among a preset indoor temperature value, a target temperature value, and an outdoor temperature value; and (Song in ¶0034 teaches, operating air conditioner based on calibration coefficients (operating mode). ¶0038 teaches, calibration coefficients for the indoor temperature, for the outdoor temperature and for a difference between the indoor temperature and the target temperature are pre-stored in the form of tables. ¶0062 teaches, calibration coefficients for an indoor temperature, for an outdoor temperature and for a difference in temperature (i.e., a difference between the indoor temperature and a target temperature) are read out from the pre-stored tables)
determining a target operating mode corresponding to a temperature difference
relational expression met by said current indoor temperature value, said current target temperature value, and said current outdoor temperature value based on said mapping relationship. (Song in ¶0045 teaches, the control block 308 determines calibration coefficients FT.sub.ai for the indoor temperature, FT.sub.ao for the outdoor temperature and FdT for a difference dT between the indoor temperature and the target temperature (user set temperature), with reference to tables of calibration coefficients stored in the memory block 309)
Song is an art in the area of interest as it teaches controlling a start-up operation of an air conditioner. A combination of Song with Okita would allow the system to obtain the claimed mapping relationship and determine target operating mode based on the mapping relationship. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Song with Okita. One would have been motivated to do so because by doing so air conditioner compressor can be operated at a reference frequency when power is on and by decreasing an increase rate of a discharge pressure of the compressor, optimal compressor operation conditions can be realized, and thus the existing problems that the compressor may be damaged or a discharge pipe may crack due to an excessive increase in discharge temperature and pressure of the compressor can be prevented efficiently, as taught by Song in ¶0063.
Regarding claim 13,
Okita doesn’t teach, The temperature controller, as recited in claim 8, further comprising:
obtaining a mapping relationship between a preset temperature difference relational expression and an operating mode, said preset temperature difference relational expression comprising a magnitude relational expression among a preset indoor temperature value, a target temperature value, and an outdoor temperature value; and (Song in ¶0034 teaches, operating air conditioner based on calibration coefficients (operating mode). ¶0038 teaches, calibration coefficients for the indoor temperature, for the outdoor temperature and for a difference between the indoor temperature and the target temperature are pre-stored in the form of tables. ¶0062 teaches, calibration coefficients for an indoor temperature, for an outdoor temperature and for a difference in temperature (i.e., a difference between the indoor temperature and a target temperature) are read out from the pre-stored tables)
determining a target operating mode corresponding to a temperature difference relational expression met by said current indoor temperature value, said current target temperature value, and said current outdoor temperature value based on said mapping relationship. (Song in ¶0045 teaches, the control block 308 determines calibration coefficients FT.sub.ai for the indoor temperature, FT.sub.ao for the outdoor temperature and FdT for a difference dT between the indoor temperature and the target temperature (user set temperature), with reference to tables of calibration coefficients stored in the memory block 309)
Song is an art in the area of interest as it teaches controlling a start-up operation of an air conditioner. A combination of Song with Okita would allow the system to obtain the claimed mapping relationship and determine target operating mode based on the mapping relationship. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Song with Okita. One would have been motivated to do so because by doing so air conditioner compressor can be operated at a reference frequency when power is on and by decreasing an increase rate of a discharge pressure of the compressor, optimal compressor operation conditions can be realized, and thus the existing problems that the compressor may be damaged or a discharge pipe may crack due to an excessive increase in discharge temperature and pressure of the compressor can be prevented efficiently, as taught by Song in ¶0063.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okita (US20180087795A1) in view of Hildebrand (US5729474A).
Regarding claim 15,
Okita teaches, A temperature control system, comprising an HVAC system, …..and a temperature controller, wherein said temperature controller is connected to said HVAC system through a control line; (¶0099 and Fig. 2 teaches, a temperature control system including HVAC units 110 and server 106 connected to the HVAC units and thermostat)
said temperature controller is configured to perform: (¶0134-¶0139 teaches server performing the below steps)
obtaining a target temperature value set by a user; (¶0136 teaches retrieving desired inside temperature at TT (TempTT))
obtaining a current energy-saving level, said current energy-saving level being used to limit an adjustment speed at which a heating, ventilation, air-conditioning and cooling (HVAC) system controls a temperature change; (¶0134 teaches step 1514 the server retrieves the predetermined target time when the preconditioning is intended to have been completed (TT).)
determining a target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures based on a current indoor temperature value and a current outdoor temperature value; (¶0138 teaches, In step 1536, the server uses the ALD and the WFD to create prediction tables that determine the expected rate of change or slope of inside temperature for each minute of HVAC cycle time (ΔT) for the relevant range of possible pre-existing inside temperatures and outside climatic conditions. ¶0160 teaches, FIG. 16 shows a simple prediction table. The first column 1602 lists a series of differentials between outside and inside temperatures.)
determining a target adjustment speed corresponding to said target difference between indoor and outdoor temperatures based on a corresponding relationship between an indoor and outdoor temperature difference of a current room and said adjustment speed at which said HVAC system controls a temperature change; (In step 1538, the server uses the prediction tables created in step 1536, combined with input parameters TT and Temp (TT) to determine the time at which slope ΔT intersects with predicted initial temperature PT. ¶0160 teaches, the second column 1604 lists the predicted rate of change in inside temperature ΔT)
determining a target operating mode based on a relationship between said current energy-saving level and said target adjustment speed, said target operating mode comprising at least one of a temperature adjustment level and temperature adjustment duration; and (¶0139 teaches, In step 1538, the server uses the prediction tables created in step 1536, combined with input parameters TT and Temp (TT) to determine the time at which slope ΔT intersects with predicted initial temperature PT. The time between PT and TT is the key calculated parameter: the preconditioning time interval, or PTI. ¶0145 teaches, calculating the schedule of intermediate setpoints and time intervals to be transmitted to the thermostat based on preconditioning time interval. Because thermostats cannot generally be programmed with steps of less than 1 degree F., ΔT is quantized into discrete interval data of at least 1 degree F. each. For example, if Temp (PT) is 65 degrees F., Temp (TT) is 72 degrees F., and PT is 90 minutes, the thermostat might be programmed to be set at 66 for 10 minutes, 67 for 12 minutes, 68 for 15 minutes, and so on.)
controlling said HVAC system to perform a temperature adjustment operation in said target operating mode. (¶0147 teaches, the scheduled setpoint changes are executed by the thermostat)
Okita doesn’t teach, A temperature control system, comprising …, an outdoor sensor…..(Okita in ¶0020 teaches remote sensor. However it doesn’t explicitly teach an outdoor sensor. Hildebrand in Column 5 Line 61- Column 6 Line 11 teaches ambient temperature sensed by the temperature sensor 22 outside the zone 18 (e.g., the air temperature outside the building in which the zone 18 is defined).)
said outdoor sensor is configured to acquire an outdoor temperature value and provide said outdoor temperature value to said temperature controller; and (Okita in ¶0137 teaches server retrieves outside temperature. However it doesn’t explicitly teach receiving outside temperature from an outdoor sensor. Hildebrand in Column 5 Line 61- Column 6 Line 11 teaches ambient temperature sensed by the temperature sensor 22 outside the zone 18 (e.g., the air temperature outside the building in which the zone 18 is defined). The digital value derived in conventional manner by the energy management apparatus 2 from the sensor 22 is stored in memory 10 in the digital computer.)
Hildebrand is an art in the area of interest as it relates to heating, ventilating and air conditioning (HVAC) equipment and methods pertaining to its use (see Column 1 Line 5-7). A combination of Hildebrand with Okita would allow acquiring outdoor temperature from an outdoor sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the HVAC system of Okita the ability to receive outdoor temperature from an outdoor temperature sensor as taught by Hildebrand since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okita (US20180087795A1) in view of Hildebrand (US5729474A) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Song (US20080028780A1).
Regarding claim 18,
Okita and Hildebrand doesn’t teach, The temperature control system, as recited in claim 15, further comprising:
obtaining a mapping relationship between a preset temperature difference relational expression and an operating mode, said preset temperature difference relational expression comprising a magnitude relational expression among a preset indoor temperature value, a target temperature value, and an outdoor temperature value; and (Song in ¶0034 teaches, operating air conditioner based on calibration coefficients (operating mode). ¶0038 teaches, calibration coefficients for the indoor temperature, for the outdoor temperature and for a difference between the indoor temperature and the target temperature are pre-stored in the form of tables. ¶0062 teaches, calibration coefficients for an indoor temperature, for an outdoor temperature and for a difference in temperature (i.e., a difference between the indoor temperature and a target temperature) are read out from the pre-stored tables)
determining a target operating mode corresponding to a temperature difference relational expression met by said current indoor temperature value, said current target temperature value, and said current outdoor temperature value based on said mapping relationship. (Song in ¶0045 teaches, the control block 308 determines calibration coefficients FT.sub.ai for the indoor temperature, FT.sub.ao for the outdoor temperature and FdT for a difference dT between the indoor temperature and the target temperature (user set temperature), with reference to tables of calibration coefficients stored in the memory block 309)
Song is an art in the area of interest as it teaches controlling a start-up operation of an air conditioner. A combination of Song with Okita and Hildebrand would allow the system to obtain the claimed mapping relationship and determine target operating mode based on the mapping relationship. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Song with Okita and Hildebrand. One would have been motivated to do so because by doing so air conditioner compressor can be operated at a reference frequency when power is on and by decreasing an increase rate of a discharge pressure of the compressor, optimal compressor operation conditions can be realized, and thus the existing problems that the compressor may be damaged or a discharge pipe may crack due to an excessive increase in discharge temperature and pressure of the compressor can be prevented efficiently, as taught by Song in ¶0063.
Conclusion
/ISTIAQUE AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116