DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lewis et al. (US 8593827).
Re Clm 1: Lewis et al. disclose a rod structure (figs 1-8) used in an electronic device (see Technical Field and Background of Specification), comprising: an engaging rod (12), comprising a rod (12), wherein the rod comprises an assembly portion (36, portion of the rod at pivoting point) and a push portion (right end portion of 12, see element 48), the rod is pivotally assembled at an engaged object (16, at engaged object hole 38 via pivot screw 34) via the assembly portion (see figs 3-5), and the push portion is for pushing a pushed object (14); and a fastener (including latch element of rod entering engaged object), for engaging the engaging rod at the engaged object (see figs), wherein when the fastener is engaged with or disengaged from the engaged object, the engaging rod is for causing the push portion to push against the pushed object (see figs 6-8 for engagement and pushing), wherein the assembly portion and the fastener are disposed at different position along the rod and spaced apart from each other (see figs), and a distance between the assembly portion and the fastener on the rod is greater than a distance between the assembly portion and the push portion on the rod (see figs).
Re Clm 2: Lewis et al. disclose a rod structure (figs 1-8) used in an electronic device (see Technical Field and Background of Specification), comprising: an engaging rod (12), comprising a rod (12), wherein the rod comprises an assembly portion (36, portion of the rod at pivoting point), the rod is pivotally assembled at an engaged object (16, at engaged object hole 38 via pivot screw 34) via the assembly portion (see figs 3-5); and a fastener (including latch element of rod entering engaged object), for engaging the engaging rod at an engaged object (16, at engaged object hole 38 via pivot screw 34), wherein the assembly portion and the fastener are disposed at different positions along the rod and spaced apart from each other (see figs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (US 8593827) in view of Wang (US 9441653).
Re Clms 3 and 4: Lewis et al. fail to disclose wherein the fastener comprises an engaging portion, a body, a trigger portion and an clastic element; the engaging portion is for engaging at a counterpart engaging portion of the engaged object, the body is for assembling at the rod of the engaging rod, the trigger portion is located at the body, the engaging portion passes through the body and is movably assembled at the trigger portion, the elastic element is disposed between the engaging portion and the body, the trigger portion is for being triggered to prompt the engaging portion to be elastically moved or moved up and down in the body; and wherein the engaging portion comprises a head, and the head is for elastically sandwiching or engaging the counterpart engaging portion of the engaged object via an elastic force of the elastic element.
Wang, however, teaches a fastener in a rod structure (elements 1-4) of an electronic device, wherein the fastener comprises an engaging portion (2), a body (1), a trigger portion (3) and an elastic element (4); the engaging portion is for engaging at a counterpart engaging portion of the engaged object (20, see figs 2 and 3), the body is for assembling at a rod of the engaging rod (1 is assembled on rod 10), the trigger portion is located at the body (see figs), the engaging portion passes through the body and is movably assembled at the trigger portion (at 322), the elastic element is disposed between the engaging portion and the body (see spring 4 location), the trigger portion is for being triggered to prompt the engaging portion to be elastically moved or moved up and down in the body (via spring 4); the engaging portion comprises a head (221), and the head is for elastically sandwiching or engaging the counterpart engaging portion of the engaged object via an elastic force of the elastic element (see figs 2 and 3). This is taught for the purpose of more securely and precisely locking the rod structure with the engaged structure with minimal effort.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have replaced the locking latch fastener of Lewis et al. with the fastener type of Wang by simple substitution with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of more securely and precisely locking the rod structure with the engaged structure with minimal effort.
Re Clms 5 and 6: Lewis et al. as modified above by Wang discloses wherein the trigger portion and the engaging portion are assembled by a pivotal connection in between (see Wang, pivotal connection at 322), and the trigger portion is for being triggered between an engaging state (see Wang, fig 2) and a lifted state (see Wang, fig 3); in the engaging state, the engaging portion is engaged at the counterpart engaging portion of the object (see Wang, fig 2), the trigger portion is movably assembled at an engaging height between a pivotal portion of the engaging portion and the body; in the lifted state, the engaging portion is disengaged from the counterpart engaging portion of the object (see Wang, fig 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678