DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on July 15, 2026.
Claims 1, 3 – 5, 12, 20, 24 and 37 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 28 and 29 have been cancelled. Claim 2 has been cancelled previously.
Claims 1, 3 – 27, and 30 – 37 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments to the claims, filed July 15, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 29 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a join inventor regards as the invention as set forth in the office action filed April 16, 2026. Claim 29 has been cancelled.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 15, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 3 – 28, and 32 – 37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon 3 in view of Moon 2 as set forth in the office action filed April 16, 2026. Claim 28 has been cancelled.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 15, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 3 – 28, 30, and 32 – 37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Moon 2 as set forth in the office action filed April 16, 2026. Claim 28 has been cancelled.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 15, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 3 – 28, and 31 – 37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham in view of Moon 2 as set forth in the office action filed April 16, 2026. Claim 28 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3 – 27, and 30 – 37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 3 – 27, and 31 – 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20150077220A, using the provided machine translation) in view of Moon 2 (US20220127288A1).
As per claims 1, 3 – 25, and 31 – 37, Lee teaches:
An electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer contains at least a first compound ([0021]: “In addition, the present invention provides an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and one or more organic layers interposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein at least one of the one or more organic layers comprises a compound of Formula 1.”)
Wherein the first compound has a structure of H-L-E, wherein the H has a structure represented by Formula A-6
(Lee teaches an organic electroluminescent compound represented by formula 1
([0012]). A particular compound taught by Lee is compound C-2
on Page 17, which reads on the claimed Formula A-6 wherein Z1 to Z2 and Z6 to Z8 are CRz1, Zh1 to Zh8 are all CRzh where Rz1 and Rzh are all hydrogen; the compound is represented by H-54 in claim 5; L is a single bond as required by claim 11, namely group L-0 in claim 33; E has the structure represented by E-11
, wherein RA represents a dual-substitution of an unsubstituted aryl having 6 carbon atoms; the group is represented by E-2 in claim 7 and E-19
in claim 10. This compound is the same as compound 1-13
in claim 12.)
Lee teaches that the organic electroluminescent compound of formula 1 may be comprised in the light emitting layer as a host material and that the light-emitting layer may further comprise a dopant ([0027]). Lee teaches that the phosphorescent dopants include metal complex compounds such at Ir ([0004]). Lee does not specifically teach:
Wherein the organic layer contains a second compound, wherein the second compound is a metal complex, wherein the metal is selected from a metal with a relative atomic mass greater than 40, and the metal complex comprises a ligand La which has a structure represented by Formula C
Moon 2 teaches organic light emitting devices containing a metal compound having a Formula 1
(Abstract). Moon 2 teaches that these compounds can improve the efficiency and lifespan of the organic light emitting device (Abstract). A particular compound taught by Moon 2 is compound 168
([0098]). This reads on the claimed Formula wherein ring A and ring B are each independently an aromatic ring having 6 carbon atoms; Ri represents a mono-substitution; Rii represents a non-substitution; Y represents O; X1 and X2 represent CRx; R and Rx are all hydrogen; Ri is unsubstituted alkyl having 3 carbon atoms; the compound is represented by Formula 2-1 in claim 14 and Formula 2-20 in claim 17 and ligand La3 in claim 20; the compound is of formula M(La)m(Lb)n(Lc)q in claim 21, wherein M is a metal with an atomic mass greater than 40, namely Ir as required by claim 22, m is 2, n is 1 and q is 0 and Lb is of the structure
wherein Ra and Rc are alkyl groups having 5 carbon atoms, namely Lb31
in claim 23.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a dopant, such as that of the claimed Formula, because Lee teaches that Ir-based dopants are suitable dopants for use in the OLEDs and Moon 2 teaches that compounds within the scope of the claimed Formula provide improved efficiency and lifespan to the OLEDs that use them as dopants (Abstract).
As per claim 15, while compound 168 does not contain at least one of X1 to X5 to be a nitrogen as claimed, in the definitions for Formula 1, Moon 2 teaches that X1 to X4 can be selected from CR1 or N ([0012]). Furthermore Moon 2 teaches compounds, such as compound 18
, wherein the ring coordinated to the Ir-atom contains a second nitrogen atom. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a compound such as compound 168 to include a second nitrogen atom and arrive at the claimed compound.
Moon 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Moon 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved efficiency and lifespan to OLEDs that contain the compounds them as dopants (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 35 – 37, while compound 168 does not contain the additional substituents of claims 35 and 36 and does not read on any of the particularly claimed compounds in claim 37. However, in the definitions for Formula 1, Moon 2 teaches that the claimed positions can be substituted ([0022]). Moon 2 also teaches compound such as compound 174
, which contains two additional methyl substituents as required by the claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 168 above to include two methyl substituents on the bottom phenyl ring and arrive at a compound of the claimed invention. Similarly, the only difference between compound 174 above and claimed compound C79
is the extra carbon atom in the alkyl group of compound 174. Both alkyl groups fall within the definition of R and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 174 of Moon 2 and arrive at claimed compound C79.
Moon 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Moon 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved efficiency and lifespan to OLEDs that contain the compounds them as dopants (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 26, Lee teaches:
Wherein the device emits red light or white light ([0030]: “The compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 of the present invention is adopted as a material for… red phosphorescent host material.”)
As per claim 27, Lee teaches:
A display assembly, comprising the electroluminescent device ([0023]: “A full-color display panel with significantly improved performance and lifespan can be manufactured.”)
Claims 1, 3 – 27, 30 and 32 – 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee 2 (US20220231228A1) in view of Moon 2 (US20220127288A1).
As per claims 1, 3 – 25, 28, 30 and 32 – 37, Lee 2 teaches:
An electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer contains at least a first compound ([0006]: “As a result of intensive research to solve the above technical problems, the present inventors found that the above objective can be achieved by an organic electroluminescent device comprising a first electrode; a second electrode facing the first electrode; a light-emitting layer between the first electrode and the second electrode; and a hole transport zone between the first electrode and the light-emitting layer, wherein the hole transport zone comprises the compound represented by the following formula 1 and the light-emitting layer comprises the compound represented by the following formula 2.”)
Wherein the first compound has a structure of H-L-E, wherein the H has a structure represented by Formula A-1
(Lee 2 teaches an organic electroluminescent compound represented by formula 2
([0012]). A particular compound taught by Lee is compound C1-5
([0109]), which reads on the claimed Formula A-6 wherein Z1 to Z2 and Z6 to Z8 are CRz1, Zh1 to Zh8 are all CRzh where Rz1 and Rzh are all hydrogen; the compound is represented by H-1 in claim 5; L is a single bond as required by claim 11, namely group L-0 in claim 33; E has the structure represented by E-11
, wherein RA represents a dual-substitution of an unsubstituted aryl having 6 carbon atoms; the group is represented by E-2 in claim 7 and E-19
in claim 10. This compound is the same as compound 1-45
in claim 12.)
Lee 2 teaches that the organic electroluminescent compound of formula 2 may be comprised in the light emitting layer as a host material and that the light-emitting layer may further comprise a dopant (See Device Example 1-1 in [0132]). Lee 2 teaches that the dopant is preferably a metalated complex of iridium ([0118]). Lee 2 does not specifically teach:
Wherein the organic layer contains a second compound, wherein the second compound is a metal complex, wherein the metal is selected from a metal with a relative atomic mass greater than 40, and the metal complex comprises a ligand La which has a structure represented by Formula C
Moon 2 teaches organic light emitting devices containing a metal compound having a Formula 1
(Abstract). Moon 2 teaches that these compounds can improve the efficiency and lifespan of the organic light emitting device (Abstract). A particular compound taught by Moon 2 is compound 168
([0098]). This reads on the claimed Formula wherein ring A and ring B are each independently an aromatic ring having 6 carbon atoms; Ri represents a mono-substitution; Rii represents a non-substitution; Y represents O; X1 and X2 represent CRx; R and Rx are all hydrogen; Ri is unsubstituted alkyl having 3 carbon atoms; the compound is represented by Formula 2-1 in claim 14 and Formula 2-20 in claim 17 and ligand La3 in claim 20; the compound is of formula M(La)m(Lb)n(Lc)q in claim 21, wherein M is a metal with an atomic mass greater than 40, namely Ir as required by claim 22, m is 2, n is 1 and q is 0 and Lb is of the structure
wherein Ra and Rc are alkyl groups having 5 carbon atoms, namely Lb31
in claim 23.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a dopant, such as that of the claimed Formula, because Lee 2 teaches that Ir-based dopants are suitable dopants for use in the OLEDs and Moon 2 teaches that compounds within the scope of the claimed Formula provide improved efficiency and lifespan to the OLEDs that use them as dopants (Abstract).
As per claim 15, while compound 168 does not contain at least one of X1 to X5 to be a nitrogen as claimed, in the definitions for Formula 1, Moon 2 teaches that X1 to X4 can be selected from CR1 or N ([0012]). Furthermore Moon 2 teaches compounds, such as compound 18
, wherein the ring coordinated to the Ir-atom contains a second nitrogen atom. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a compound such as compound 168 to include a second nitrogen atom and arrive at the claimed compound.
Moon 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Moon 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved efficiency and lifespan to OLEDs that contain the compounds them as dopants (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 35 – 37, while compound 168 does not contain the additional substituents of claims 35 and 36 and does not read on any of the particularly claimed compounds in claim 37. However, in the definitions for Formula 1, Moon 2 teaches that the claimed positions can be substituted ([0022]). Moon 2 also teaches compound such as compound 174
, which contains two additional methyl substituents as required by the claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 168 above to include two methyl substituents on the bottom phenyl ring and arrive at a compound of the claimed invention. Similarly, the only difference between compound 174 above and claimed compound C79
is the extra carbon atom in the alkyl group of compound 174. Both alkyl groups fall within the definition of R and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 174 of Moon 2 and arrive at claimed compound C79.
Moon 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Moon 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved efficiency and lifespan to OLEDs that contain the compounds them as dopants (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 26, Lee 2 teaches:
Wherein the device emits red light or white light ([0117]: “The host materials according to the present disclosure may be used as a light-emitting material for a white organic light-emitting device.”)
As per claim 27, Lee 2 teaches:
A display assembly, comprising the electroluminescent device ([0043]: “A display system or a lighting system can be manufactured using the organic electroluminescent device.”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789