DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on March 23, 2026.
Claims 1, 3 – 10, 12, 13, 28, 30, and 31 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claim 2 has been cancelled previously.
Claims 1 and 3 – 37 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed March 23, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 3 – 28, and 32 – 37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Moon 2 as set forth in the office action filed December 23, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed March 23, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 3 – 11, 13 – 29, and 31 – 37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Moon 2 as set forth in the office action filed December 23, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed March 23, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 3 – 11, 13 – 25, 27 – 30 and 32 – 37 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Moon 2 as set forth in the office action filed December 23, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3 – 37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 refers to Formula E-a in claim 6. Claim 6 has been amended to remove Formula E-a. Therefore claim 29 lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear which atoms, if any, the claimed variables are intended to refer to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 3 – 28 and 32 – 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon 3 (WO2018021841A1) in view of Moon 2 (US20220127288A1).
As per claims 1, 3 – 5, 10 – 25, 28, and 33 – 37, Moon 3 teaches:
An electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer contains at least a first compound ([42]: “The organic electroluminescent device according to the present disclosure comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and at least one organic layer disposed between the first and second electrodes. The organic layer may comprise at least one compound of formula 1.”)
Wherein the first compound has a structure of H-L-E, wherein the H has a structure represented by Formula A-4
(Moon teaches an organic electroluminescent compound represented by formula 1
([10]). A particular compound taught by Moon 3 is compound C-1
([43]), which reads on the claimed Formula A-4 wherein Z1 to Z2 and Z6 to Z8 are CRz1, Zh1 to Zh8 are all CRzh where Rz1 and Rzh are all hydrogen; the compound is represented by H-28 in claim 5; L is a single bond as required by claim 11, namely group L-0 in claim 33; E has the structure represented by E-12
, wherein RA represents a mono-substitution of an unsubstituted aryl having 6 carbon atoms; the group is represented by E-1 in claim 10. This compound is the same as compound 1-135 in claim 12.)
Moon 3 teaches that the organic electroluminescent compound of formula 1 may be comprised in the light emitting layer as a host material and that the light-emitting layer may further comprise a dopant ([74]). Moon 3 teaches that the dopant is preferably a metalated complex of iridium ([124]). Moon 3 does not specifically teach:
Wherein the organic layer contains a second compound, wherein the second compound is a metal complex, wherein the metal is selected from a metal with a relative atomic mass greater than 40, and the metal complex comprises a ligand La which has a structure represented by Formula C
Moon 2 teaches organic light emitting devices containing a metal compound having a Formula 1
(Abstract). Moon 2 teaches that these compounds can improve the efficiency and lifespan of the organic light emitting device (Abstract). A particular compound taught by Moon 2 is compound 168
([0098]). This reads on the claimed Formula wherein ring A and ring B are each independently an aromatic ring having 6 carbon atoms; Ri represents a mono-substitution; Rii represents a non-substitution; Y represents O; X1 and X2 represent CRx; R and Rx are all hydrogen; Ri is unsubstituted alkyl having 3 carbon atoms; the compound is represented by Formula 2-1 in claim 14 and Formula 2-20 in claim 17 and ligand La3 in claim 20; the compound is of formula M(La)m(Lb)n(Lc)q in claim 21, wherein M is a metal with an atomic mass greater than 40, namely Ir as required by claim 22, m is 2, n is 1 and q is 0 and Lb is of the structure
wherein Ra and Rc are alkyl groups having 5 carbon atoms, namely Lb31
in claim 23.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a dopant, such as that of the claimed Formula, because Moon 3 teaches that Ir-based dopants are suitable dopants for use in the OLEDs and Moon 2 teaches that compounds within the scope of the claimed Formula provide improved efficiency and lifespan to the OLEDs that use them as dopants (Abstract).
As per claim 15, while compound 168 does not contain at least one of X1 to X5 to be a nitrogen as claimed, in the definitions for Formula 1, Moon 2 teaches that X1 to X4 can be selected from CR1 or N ([0012]). Furthermore Moon 2 teaches compounds, such as compound 18
, wherein the ring coordinated to the Ir-atom contains a second nitrogen atom. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a compound such as compound 168 to include a second nitrogen atom and arrive at the claimed compound.
Moon 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Moon 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved efficiency and lifespan to OLEDs that contain the compounds them as dopants (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 35 – 37, while compound 168 does not contain the additional substituents of claims 35 and 36 and does not read on any of the particularly claimed compounds in claim 37. However, in the definitions for Formula 1, Moon 2 teaches that the claimed positions can be substituted ([0022]). Moon 2 also teaches compound such as compound 174
, which contains two additional methyl substituents as required by the claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 168 above to include two methyl substituents on the bottom phenyl ring and arrive at a compound of the claimed invention. Similarly, the only difference between compound 174 above and claimed compound C79
is the extra carbon atom in the alkyl group of compound 174. Both alkyl groups fall within the definition of R and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 174 of Moon 2 and arrive at claimed compound C79.
Moon 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Moon 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved efficiency and lifespan to OLEDs that contain the compounds them as dopants (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 6 – 9, and 32, another compound taught by Moon 3 is compound C-16
([46]), wherein H-L are the same as in compound C-1. The group corresponding to the claimed E group in compound C-16 of Moon 3 is represented by Formula E-11
in claims 1 and 6, wherein RA represents two substitutions and both substitutions are an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 carbon atoms. The claimed E group in compound C-16 of Moon 3 is represented by Formula E-2
in claims 7 – 9 and 32, wherein RA represents two substitutions and both substitutions are an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 carbon atoms.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to swtich compound C-16 for compound C-1 of Moon 3 because they both fall within Formula (1) as taught by Moon 3 and are taught to be predictably suitable for use in the invention of Moon 3.
As per claim 26, Moon 3 teaches:
Wherein the device emits red light or white light ([172]: “In addition, the organic electroluminescent device of the present disclosure may emit white light by further comprising at least one light-emitting layer, which comprises a blue electroluminescent compound, a red electroluminescent compound or a green electroluminescent compound known in the field, besides the compound of the present disclosure.”)
As per claim 27, Moon 3 teaches:
A display assembly, comprising the electroluminescent device ([180]: “By using the organic electroluminescent device of the present disclosure, a display device…. Can be produced.”)
Claims 1, 3 – 28, 30 and 32 – 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO2019177407A1) in view of Moon 2 (US20220127288A1).
As per claims 1, 3 – 25, 28, 30 and 32 – 37, Kim teaches:
An electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer contains at least a first compound ([218]: “The organic electroluminescent device according to the present disclosure may comprise at least one light-emitting layer between the anode and the cathode, in which the light emitting layer may comprise a host and dopant, and the host may comprise the composition material for an organic electroluminescent device of the present disclosure. The organic electroluminescent device of the present disclosure may comprise the compound represented by formula 1 as the first host material.”)
Wherein the first compound has a structure of H-L-E, wherein the H has a structure represented by Formula A-1
(Kim teaches an organic electroluminescent compound represented by formula 1
([6]). A particular compound taught by Kim is compound C-240
([101]), which reads on the claimed Formula A-1 wherein Z1 to Z2 and Z6 to Z8 are CRz1, Zh1 to Zh8 are all CRzh where Rz1 and Rzh are all hydrogen; the compound is represented by H-1 in claim 5; L is a single bond as required by claim 11, namely group L-0 in claim 33; E has the structure represented by E-11
in claims 1 and 6, wherein RA represents two substitutions and both substitutions are an unsubstituted aryl having 6 carbon atoms; this group is represented by Formula E-2
in claims 7 – 9 and 32, wherein RA represents two substitutions and both substitutions are an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 carbon atoms; the group is represented by E-19 in claim 10. The compound is the same as compound 1-45 in claim 12.)
Kim teaches that the organic electroluminescent compound of formula 1 may be comprised in the light emitting layer as a host material and that the light-emitting layer may further comprise a dopant ([218]). Kim teaches that the dopant is preferably a metalated complex of iridium ([221]). Kim does not specifically teach:
Wherein the organic layer contains a second compound, wherein the second compound is a metal complex, wherein the metal is selected from a metal with a relative atomic mass greater than 40, and the metal complex comprises a ligand La which has a structure represented by Formula C
Moon 2 teaches organic light emitting devices containing a metal compound having a Formula 1
(Abstract). Moon 2 teaches that these compounds can improve the efficiency and lifespan of the organic light emitting device (Abstract). A particular compound taught by Moon 2 is compound 168
([0098]). This reads on the claimed Formula wherein ring A and ring B are each independently an aromatic ring having 6 carbon atoms; Ri represents a mono-substitution; Rii represents a non-substitution; Y represents O; X1 and X2 represent CRx; R and Rx are all hydrogen; Ri is unsubstituted alkyl having 3 carbon atoms; the compound is represented by Formula 2-1 in claim 14 and Formula 2-20 in claim 17 and ligand La3 in claim 20; the compound is of formula M(La)m(Lb)n(Lc)q in claim 21, wherein M is a metal with an atomic mass greater than 40, namely Ir as required by claim 22, m is 2, n is 1 and q is 0 and Lb is of the structure
wherein Ra and Rc are alkyl groups having 5 carbon atoms, namely Lb31
in claim 23.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a dopant, such as that of the claimed Formula, because Kim teaches that Ir-based dopants are suitable dopants for use in the OLEDs and Moon 2 teaches that compounds within the scope of the claimed Formula provide improved efficiency and lifespan to the OLEDs that use them as dopants (Abstract).
As per claim 15, while compound 168 does not contain at least one of X1 to X5 to be a nitrogen as claimed, in the definitions for Formula 1, Moon 2 teaches that X1 to X4 can be selected from CR1 or N ([0012]). Furthermore Moon 2 teaches compounds, such as compound 18
, wherein the ring coordinated to the Ir-atom contains a second nitrogen atom. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a compound such as compound 168 to include a second nitrogen atom and arrive at the claimed compound.
Moon 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Moon 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved efficiency and lifespan to OLEDs that contain the compounds them as dopants (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 35 – 37, while compound 168 does not contain the additional substituents of claims 35 and 36 and does not read on any of the particularly claimed compounds in claim 37. However, in the definitions for Formula 1, Moon 2 teaches that the claimed positions can be substituted ([0022]). Moon 2 also teaches compound such as compound 174
, which contains two additional methyl substituents as required by the claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 168 above to include two methyl substituents on the bottom phenyl ring and arrive at a compound of the claimed invention. Similarly, the only difference between compound 174 above and claimed compound C79
is the extra carbon atom in the alkyl group of compound 174. Both alkyl groups fall within the definition of R and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 174 of Moon 2 and arrive at claimed compound C79.
Moon 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Moon 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved efficiency and lifespan to OLEDs that contain the compounds them as dopants (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 26, Kim teaches:
Wherein the device emits red light or white light ([260]: “In addition, the organic electroluminescent device of the present disclosure may emit white light by further comprising at least one light-emitting layer, which comprises a blue electroluminescent compound, a red electroluminescent compound or a green electroluminescent compound known in the field, besides the compound of the present disclosure.”)
As per claim 27, Kim teaches:
A display assembly, comprising the electroluminescent device ([269]: “The present disclosure can provide a display device using the composition material for an organic electroluminescent device comprising the compound represented by formula 1 and the compound represented by formula 2.”)\
Claims 1, 3 – 28, and 31 – 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham (US20220399517A1) in view of Moon 2 (US20220127288A1).
As per claims 1, 3 – 9, 11 – 25, 28, and 31 – 37, Fleetham teaches:
An electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer contains at least a first compound ([0006]: “In one aspect, the present disclosure provides an OLED comprising an anode, a cathode, and an emissive layer, disposed between the anode and the cathode. The emissive layer comprises a phosphorescent dopant, a first host, and a second host.”)
Wherein the first compound has a structure of H-L-E, wherein the H has a structure represented by Formula A-6
(Fleetham teaches that the second host can be represented by
([0107]). A particular compound taught by Fleetham is
on page 450, which reads on the claimed Formula A-6 wherein Z1 to Z2 and Z6 to Z8 are CRz1, Zh1 to Zh8 are all CRzh where Rz1 and Rzh are all hydrogen; the compound is represented by H-54 in claim 5; L is a single bond as required by claim 11, namely group L-0 in claim 33; E has the structure represented by E-6
, wherein RA represents a mono substitutions that is an unsubstituted aryl having 6 carbon atoms; the group is represented by E-19 in claim 10. The compound is the same as compound 1-9 in claim 12.)
Fleetham teaches that the organic electroluminescent compound of formula 1 may be comprised in the light emitting layer as a host material and that the light-emitting layer may further comprise a dopant ([Abstract]). Fleetham teaches that the dopant is preferably a metalated complex of iridium ([0118]). Kim does not specifically teach:
Wherein the organic layer contains a second compound, wherein the second compound is a metal complex, wherein the metal is selected from a metal with a relative atomic mass greater than 40, and the metal complex comprises a ligand La which has a structure represented by Formula C
Moon 2 teaches organic light emitting devices containing a metal compound having a Formula 1
(Abstract). Moon 2 teaches that these compounds can improve the efficiency and lifespan of the organic light emitting device (Abstract). A particular compound taught by Moon 2 is compound 168
([0098]). This reads on the claimed Formula wherein ring A and ring B are each independently an aromatic ring having 6 carbon atoms; Ri represents a mono-substitution; Rii represents a non-substitution; Y represents O; X1 and X2 represent CRx; R and Rx are all hydrogen; Ri is unsubstituted alkyl having 3 carbon atoms; the compound is represented by Formula 2-1 in claim 14 and Formula 2-20 in claim 17 and ligand La3 in claim 20; the compound is of formula M(La)m(Lb)n(Lc)q in claim 21, wherein M is a metal with an atomic mass greater than 40, namely Ir as required by claim 22, m is 2, n is 1 and q is 0 and Lb is of the structure
wherein Ra and Rc are alkyl groups having 5 carbon atoms, namely Lb31
in claim 23.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a dopant, such as that of the claimed Formula, because Fleetham teaches that Ir-based dopants are suitable dopants for use in the OLEDs and Moon 2 teaches that compounds within the scope of the claimed Formula provide improved efficiency and lifespan to the OLEDs that use them as dopants (Abstract).
As per claim 15, while compound 168 does not contain at least one of X1 to X5 to be a nitrogen as claimed, in the definitions for Formula 1, Moon 2 teaches that X1 to X4 can be selected from CR1 or N ([0012]). Furthermore Moon 2 teaches compounds, such as compound 18
, wherein the ring coordinated to the Ir-atom contains a second nitrogen atom. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a compound such as compound 168 to include a second nitrogen atom and arrive at the claimed compound.
Moon 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Moon 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved efficiency and lifespan to OLEDs that contain the compounds them as dopants (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 35 – 37, while compound 168 does not contain the additional substituents of claims 35 and 36 and does not read on any of the particularly claimed compounds in claim 37. However, in the definitions for Formula 1, Moon 2 teaches that the claimed positions can be substituted ([0022]). Moon 2 also teaches compound such as compound 174
, which contains two additional methyl substituents as required by the claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 168 above to include two methyl substituents on the bottom phenyl ring and arrive at a compound of the claimed invention. Similarly, the only difference between compound 174 above and claimed compound C79
is the extra carbon atom in the alkyl group of compound 174. Both alkyl groups fall within the definition of R and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 174 of Moon 2 and arrive at claimed compound C79.
Moon 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Moon 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved efficiency and lifespan to OLEDs that contain the compounds them as dopants (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 26, Fleetham teaches:
Wherein the device emits red light or white light ([0005]: “Alternatively, the OLED can be designed to emit white light.”)
As per claim 27, Fleetham teaches:
A display assembly, comprising the electroluminescent device ([0149 – 0150]: “In another aspect, the present disclosure also provides a consumer product that comprises an inventive OLED of the present disclosure… In some embodiments, the consumer product can be one of a flat panel display.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789