DETAILED ACTIONAC
Status of the claims
In the communication dated October 29, 2025, claims 1-20 are pending and claims 1, 3-11, 13, 15-16 and 18-20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
The applicant arguments and amendments to the claims are persuasive. Thus, the rejection from July 30, 2025 is withdrawn. Thus, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, line 8 recites “in response to” where “to” should be cancelled from the claim.
Regarding claim 4, line 4recites “in response to” where “to” should be cancelled from the claim.
Regarding claim 5, line 8 recites “in response to” where “to” should be cancelled from the claim.
Regarding claim 6, line 4 recites “in response to” where “to” should be cancelled from the claim.
Regarding claim 7, line 8 recites “in response to” where “to” should be cancelled from the claim.
Regarding claim 8, line 4 recites “in response to” where “to” should be cancelled from the claim.
Regarding claim 9, line 8 recites “in response to” where “to” should be cancelled from the claim.
Regarding claim 10, line 4 recites “in response to” where “to” should be cancelled from the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, line 5 recites “a switching device”. It is uncertain whether this is the same switching device as recited in line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshaer et al. US20180194236A1 in view of Ichinose et al. US20140292092A1.
Regarding claim 1. Elshaer discloses a wireless charging receiver (arranged in vehicle 12; FIG. 3, 5A-7), comprising:
a receiver coil (46) configured to convert an alternating magnetic field transmitted by a transmitter to an alternating current (¶26 - AC input is received from EVSE 16 (transmitter)), and deliver the alternating current to a compensation network (coils 44/46 deliver to the compensation network 60);
the compensation network (60) being connected to the receiver coil (46) and configured to compensate the alternating current (¶26 - AC input is received from EVSE 16 (transmitter)), and then deliver the compensated alternating current to a rectifier (62) (¶ 68 - compensation network maximizes efficiency of power);
the rectifier (62) connected to the compensation network (60) and configured to rectify the compensated alternating current to a direct current, and supply the direct current to a load (¶38 - rectifier 62 converts AC output of compensation network 60 to DC output compatible with the traction battery);
the compensation network comprising a compensation circuit with a current source characteristic (FIG. 7 includes capacitors 138 and 140), so that the receiver coil and the compensation network, acting together with the transmitter, make an input end of the rectifier a constant current source (capacitors are charged using a supply capable of providing a constant current, thus, because it is capacitors providing the output to the rectifier, it follows that the input of the rectifier is a constant current).
Elshaer does not explicitly teach a controller connected to the rectifier and configured to at least one of: during turn-on of the receiver, control a switching device in the rectifier to be closed, so that the load is bypassed, and an output end of the compensation network to be short-circuited so no current flows through the load; or during turn-off of the receiver, control the switching device of the rectifier to be closed, so that the load is bypassed, and the output end of the compensation network to be short-circuited so no current flows through the load.
Ichinose discloses a controller (200) connected to the rectifier (330) and configured to during turn-off of the receiver, control a switching device (Qu, Qv, Qx, Qy) of the rectifier to be closed, so that the load is bypassed (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes) and the output end of the compensation network to be short-circuited so no current flows through the load (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes thus not current flows to the load).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Regarding claim 2. Elshaer does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to: during turn-off of the receiver, control a second-part switching device in the rectifier to be closed, so that the load is bypassed, wherein the first-part switching device is a switching device of a lower half bridge arm of the rectifier, the second-part switching device is the switching device of the lower half bridge arm of the rectifier.
Ichinose discloses the controller (200) is configured to:
during turn-off of the receiver (power receiving circuit 330), control a second-part switching device (Qx/Qy) in the rectifier (10) to be closed, so that the load is bypassed (R) (¶258 - switches Qx and Qy are turned off during the time periods II″ and V″ in which the current flows only to diodes even when semiconductor switches Qu and Qx are turned on),
wherein the first-part switching device is a switching device of a lower half bridge arm of the rectifier (Qx), and
the second-part switching device is the switching device of the lower half bridge arm of the rectifier (Qy).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Regarding claim 9. Elshaer does not explicitly disclose that the rectifier comprises a bridge arm, a switching device of a lower half bridge arm of the bridge arm is a controllable switching device, and a switching device of an upper half bridge arm of the bridge arm is a diode, during turn-on of the receiver, the controller is configured to control the controllable switching device of the rectifier to be closed, and the controller is configured to determine that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current, and in response to control a switch state of the controllable switching device based on a preset duty cycle.
Ichinose discloses that the rectifier comprises a bridge arm (Du/Qx and Dv/Qy), a switching device of a lower half bridge arm of the bridge arm is a controllable switching device (Qx and Qy), and a switching device of an upper half bridge arm of the bridge arm is a diode (Du and Dv) (FIG. 18),
during turn-on of the receiver (power receiving circuit 330), the controller (200) is configured to control the controllable switching device of the rectifier (10) to be closed (¶258 - switches Qx and Qy are turned off during the time periods II″ and V″ in which the current flows only to diodes even when semiconductor switches Qu and Qx are turned on), and the controller is configured to determine that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current (it is routine in the art that in order for the receiver to operate, the current must be greater than a predetermined amount), and in response to control a switch state of the controllable switching device based on a preset duty cycle (FIG. 19 illustrates the duty cycle of the switches Qx, Qy).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Regarding claim 13. Elshaer discloses a wireless charging control method, applied to a wireless charging receiver (arranged in vehicle 12; FIG. 3, 5A-7) , wherein the receiver comprises a receiver coil (46), a compensation network (60), and a rectifier (62) ; the compensation network (60) comprising a compensation circuit with a current source characteristic (FIG. 7 includes capacitors 138 and 140), the method comprising:
the receiver coil (46) and the compensation network (60), acting together with the transmitter, make an input end of the rectifier a constant current source (FIG. 7 includes compensation network includes capacitors 138 and 140 - capacitors are charged using a supply capable of providing a constant current, thus, because it is capacitors providing the output to the rectifier, it follows that the input of the rectifier is a constant current)
Elshaer does not explicitly disclose during turn-off of the receiver, control a switching device of the rectifier to be closed, so that the load is bypassed and the output end of the compensation network to be short-circuited so no current flows through the load.
Ichinose discloses that during turn-off of the receiver, control a switching device (Qu, Qv, Qx, Qy) of the rectifier (330) to be closed, so that the load is bypassed (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes) and the output end of the compensation network to be short-circuited so no current flows through the load (FIG. 1; ¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes thus not current flows to the load).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Regarding claim 14. Elshaer does not explicitly disclose that during turn-off of the receiver, controlling a second-part bridge arm switching device in the rectifier to be closed, thereby bypassing the load.
Ishinose discloses that during turn-off of the receiver (power receiving circuit 330), controlling a second-part bridge arm switching device (Qx/Qy) in the rectifier (10) to be closed, thereby bypassing the load (R) (¶258 - switches Qx and Qy are turned off during the time periods II″ and V″ in which the current flows only to diodes even when semiconductor switches Qu and Qx are turned on).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Regarding claim 20. Elshaer does not explicitly disclose that the rectifier comprises a bridge arm, a switching device of a lower half bridge arm of the bridge arm is a controllable switching device, and a switching device of an upper half bridge arm of the bridge arm is a diode; controlling a switching device to be closed comprises: controlling the controllable switching device of the rectifier to be closed, and in response to a current of a coil of the transmitter being greater than a first preset current, the controlling a switch state of the controllable switching device based on a preset duty cycle
Ichinose discloses that the rectifier comprises a bridge arm (Du/Qx and Dv/Qy), a switching device of a lower half bridge arm of the bridge arm is a controllable switching device (Qx and Qy), and a switching device of an upper half bridge arm of the bridge arm is a diode (Du and Dv) (FIG. 18),
Controlling a switching device of the rectifier (10) to be closed (¶258 - switches Qx and Qy are turned off during the time periods II″ and V″ in which the current flows only to diodes even when semiconductor switches Qu and Qx are turned on), and in response to a current of a coil of the transmitter being greater than a first preset current (it is routine in the art that in order for the receiver to operate, the current must be greater than a predetermined amount), the controlling a switch state of the controllable switching device based on a preset duty cycle (FIG. 19 illustrates the duty cycle of the switches Qx, Qy).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Claims 3, 5, 7, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshaer et al. US20180194236A1 in view of Ichinose et al. US20140292092A1 and further in view of Esteban et al. US20200177028A1.
Regarding claim 3. Elshaer does not explicitly disclose the rectifier comprises plural bridge arms, and all switching devices of upper half bridge arms and lower half bridge arms of the plural bridge arms are controllable switching devices; and during turn-on of the receiver, the controller is configured to control all switching devices of the upper half bridge arms of the rectifier or all switching devices of the lower half bridge arms to be closed, so that the load is bypassed; and the controller is configured to determine that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current, and in response to (a) control a phase-shift angle between the two bridge arms to gradually increase to a preset value, (b) controls the switching devices of the upper half bridge arms and the switching devices of the lower half bridge arms to be complementarily conducted, and (c) then controls the receiver to start working
Ichinose discloses the rectifier comprises plural bridge arms (Qu/Qx) (Qv/Qy), and all switching devices of upper half bridge arms (Qu/Qv) and lower half bridge arms (Qx/Qy) of the plural bridge arms are controllable switching devices (FIG. 1); and
during turn-on of the receiver, the controller (200) is configured to control all switching devices (¶146) of the upper half bridge arms (Qu/Qv) of the rectifier or all switching devices of the lower half bridge arms (Qx/Qy) to be closed, so that the load is bypassed (¶258 - switches Qx and Qy are turned off during the time periods II″ and V″ in which the current flows only to diodes even when semiconductor switches Qu and Qx are turned on),
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Ichinose does not explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to determine that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current, and in response to (a) control a phase-shift angle between the two bridge arms to gradually increase to a preset value, (b) controls the switching devices of the upper half bridge arms and the switching devices of the lower half bridge arms to be complementarily conducted, and (c) then controls the receiver to start working
Esteban discloses that the controller (122) is configured to determine that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current (¶9 – the phase shift is adjusted in response to exceeding a current limit), and in response to
(a) control a phase-shift angle between the two bridge arms to gradually increase to a preset value (¶52 – phase shift angle of the inverter 108 can be adjusted to produce a desired phase shift angle),
(b) controls the switching devices of the upper half bridge arms and the switching devices of the lower half bridge arms to be complementarily conducted (¶52 – transistors Q1/Q2 or Q3/Q4 complementary).
Although the rectifier of Esteban is taught to be within a transmitter, and thus does not explicitly teach then controls the receiver to start working one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that in the configuration of the bridge circuit in (b), the current would be allowed to pass through the rectifier, thus allowing the receiver to charge.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the teachings of Esteban to Elshaer in order to provide high efficiency power transmission (Esteban; ¶4).
Regarding claim 5. Elshaer discloses that the rectifier (62) comprises first and second bridge arms (110a/110b and 110c/110d), all switching devices of upper half bridge arms of the first and second bridge arms are diodes (110a and 110c),
Elshaer does not explicitly disclose that all switching devices of lower half bridge arms of the first and second bridge arms are controllable switching devices, during turn-on of the receiver, the controller is configured to control all the controllable switching devices to be closed; the controller is configured to determine that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current, and in response to control duty cycles of drive signals of the controllable switching devices of the first and second bridge arms to gradually decrease to a preset value, and then controls the receiver to start working”
Ichinose the rectifier (Du/Dv/Qx/Qy) comprises first and second bridge arms (Du/Qx and Dv/Qy), all switching devices of upper half bridge arms of the first and second bridge arms are diodes (Du/Dv); all switching devices of lower half bridge arms of the first and second bridge arms are controllable switching devices (Qx/Qy), during turn-on of the receiver (due to the configuration of the circuitry, when Qx and Qv are closed, then the receiver would turn on), the controller is configured to control all the controllable switching devices to be closed (FIG. 18).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Ichinose does not explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to determine that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current, and in response to control duty cycles of drive signals of the controllable switching devices of the first and second bridge arms to gradually decrease to a preset value, and then controls the receiver to start working”
Esteban discloses that the controller is configured to determine that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current (¶9 – the phase shift is adjusted in response to exceeding a current limit), and
in response to control duty cycles of drive signals of the controllable switching devices of the first and second bridge arms to gradually decrease to a preset value (¶54- adjust the pulse width or duty cycle in one or more transistors of the inverter 108 to attain a desired voltage level in the transmitter resonator coil 202).
Although the rectifier of Esteban is taught to be within a transmitter, and thus does not explicitly teach then controls the receiver to start working one of ordinary skill in the art would that the voltage is level is adjusted to achieve a desired output, which when applied to the receiver.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the teachings of Esteban to Elshaer in order to provide high efficiency power transmission (Esteban; ¶4).
Regarding claim 7. Yeo does not explicitly disclose that the rectifier comprises a bridge arm, and all switching devices of an upper half bridge arm and a lower half bridge arm of the bridge arm are controllable switching devices; and during turn-on of the receiver, the controller is configured to control a switching device of the upper half bridge arm of the rectifier or a switching device of the lower half bridge arm to be closed; and when it is determined that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current, the controller is configured to control the switching device of the upper half bridge arm and the switching device of the lower half bridge arm to be complementarily conducted.
Ichinose discloses that the rectifier (Qu, Qv, Qx, Qy) comprises a bridge arm, and all switching devices of an upper half bridge arm and a lower half bridge arm of the bridge arm are controllable switching devices (FIG. 1; ¶22 - all of the switches are controlled by control device 200); and
during turn-on of the receiver, the controller is configured to control a switching device of the upper half bridge arm of the rectifier or a switching device of the lower half bridge arm to be closed (FIG. 2; ¶150 – a switch is turned on or closed).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Ichinose does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to determine that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current, and in response to control the switching device of the upper half bridge arm and the switching device of the lower half bridge arm to be complementarily conducted
Esteban discloses that the controller is configured to determine that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current (¶9 – the phase shift is adjusted in response to exceeding a current limit), and
in response to control the switching device of the upper half bridge arm and the switching device of the lower half bridge arm to be complementarily conducted (¶52 – transistors Q1/Q2 or Q3/Q4 complementary).
Although the rectifier of Esteban is taught to be within a transmitter, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that in the configuration of the bridge circuit in (b), the current would be allowed to pass through the rectifier, thus allowing the receiver to charge.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the teachings of Esteban to Elshaer in order to provide high efficiency power transmission (Esteban; ¶4).
Regarding claim 15. Elshaer does not explicitly disclose the rectifier comprises plural bridge arms, and all switching devices of upper half bridge arms and lower half bridge arms of the plural bridge arms are controllable switching devices; and controlling a switching device to be closed comprises: during turn-on of the receiver, controlling all switching devices of the upper half bridge arms of the rectifier or all switching devices of the lower half bridge arms to be closed, to bypass the load; in response to a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter being greater than a first preset current, controlling a phase-shift angle between the two bridge arms to gradually increase to a preset value, and controlling the switching devices of the upper half bridge arms and the switching devices of the lower half bridge arms to be complementarily conducted then controlling the receiver to start working
Ichinose discloses the rectifier comprises plural bridge arms (Qu/Qx) (Qv/Qy), and all switching devices of upper half bridge arms (Qu/Qv) and lower half bridge arms (Qx/Qy) of the plural bridge arms are controllable switching devices (FIG. 1); and
Controlling a switching device to be closed comprises:
during turn-on of the receiver, controlling all switching devices (¶146) of the upper half bridge arms (Qu/Qv) of the rectifier or all switching devices of the lower half bridge arms (Qx/Qy) to be closed, to bypass the load (R) (¶258 - switches Qx and Qy are turned off during the time periods II″ and V″ in which the current flows only to diodes even when semiconductor switches Qu and Qx are turned on),
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Ichinose does not explicitly disclose that in response to a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter being greater than a first preset current, controlling a phase-shift angle between the two bridge arms to gradually increase to a preset value, and controlling the switching devices of the upper half bridge arms and the switching devices of the lower half bridge arms to be complementarily conducted then controlling the receiver to start working.
Esteban discloses that in response to a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter being greater than a first preset current (¶9 – the phase shift is adjusted in response to exceeding a current limit),
controlling a phase-shift angle between the two bridge arms to gradually increase to a preset value, (¶52 – phase shift angle of the inverter 108 can be adjusted to produce a desired phase shift angle),
controlling the switching devices of the upper half bridge arms and the switching devices of the lower half bridge arms to be complementarily conducted (¶52 – transistors Q1/Q2 or Q3/Q4 complementary).
Although the rectifier of Esteban is taught to be within a transmitter, and thus does not explicitly teach controlling the receiver to start working one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that in the configuration of the bridge circuit in (b), the current would be allowed to pass through the rectifier, thus allowing the receiver to charge.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the teachings of Esteban to Elshaer in order to provide high efficiency power transmission (Esteban; ¶4).
Regarding claim 17. Elshaer discloses that the rectifier (62) comprises plural bridge arms (110a/110b and 110c/110d) , all switching devices of upper half bridge arms of the plural bridge arms are diodes (110a and 110c).
Elshaer does not explicitly disclose that all switching devices of lower half bridge arms of the plural bridge arms are controllable switching devices; the controlling a switching device to be closed comprises: controlling all the controllable switching devices to be closed when it is determined that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current, controlling duty cycles of drive signals of the controllable switching devices of the two bridge arms to gradually decrease to a preset value; then controlling the receiver to start working.
Ichinose the rectifier (Du/Dv/Qx/Qy) comprises first and second bridge arms (Du/Qx and Dv/Qy), all switching devices of upper half bridge arms of the first and second bridge arms are diodes (Du/Dv); all switching devices of lower half bridge arms of the first and second bridge arms are controllable switching devices (Qx/Qy), during turn-on of the receiver (due to the configuration of the circuitry, when Qx and Qv are closed, then the receiver would turn on), the controller is configured to control all the controllable switching devices to be closed (FIG. 18).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Ichinose does not explicitly disclose that the controlling a switching device to be closed comprises: controlling all the controllable switching devices to be closed when it is determined that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current, controlling duty cycles of drive signals of the controllable switching devices of the two bridge arms to gradually decrease to a preset value; then controlling the receiver to start working
Esteban discloses that the controlling a switching device to be closed comprises: controlling all the controllable switching devices to be closed when it is determined that a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter is greater than a first preset current (¶9 – the phase shift is adjusted in response to exceeding a current limit), and
controlling duty cycles of drive signals of the controllable switching devices of the two bridge arms to gradually decrease to a preset value (¶54- adjust the pulse width or duty cycle in one or more transistors of the inverter 108 to attain a desired voltage level in the transmitter resonator coil 202).
Although the rectifier of Esteban is taught to be within a transmitter, and thus does not explicitly teach then controls the receiver to start working one of ordinary skill in the art would that the voltage is level is adjusted to achieve a desired output, which when applied to the receiver.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the teachings of Esteban to Elshaer in order to provide high efficiency power transmission (Esteban; ¶4).
Regarding claim 19. Yeo does not explicitly disclose that the rectifier comprises a bridge arm, and all switching devices of an upper half bridge arm and a lower half bridge arm of the bridge arm are controllable switching devices; and the controlling all switching devices to be closed comprises: controlling a switching device of the lower half bridge arm of the rectifier to be closed; in response to a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter being greater than a first preset current, controlling a switching device of the upper half bridge arm and the switching device of the lower half bridge arm to be complementarily conducted; and then controlling the receiver to start working.
Ichinose discloses that the rectifier (Qu, Qv, Qx, Qy) comprises a bridge arm, and all switching devices of an upper half bridge arm and a lower half bridge arm of the bridge arm are controllable switching devices (FIG. 1; ¶22 - all of the switches are controlled by control device 200); and
the controlling all switching devices to be closed comprises:
controlling a switching device of the lower half bridge arm of the rectifier to be closed (FIG. 2; ¶150 – a switch is turned on or closed).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Ichinose does not explicitly disclose that in response to a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter being greater than a first preset current, controlling a switching device of the upper half bridge arm and the switching device of the lower half bridge arm to be complementarily conducted.
Esteban discloses that in response to a current of a transmitter coil of the transmitter being greater than a first preset current (¶9 – the phase shift is adjusted in response to exceeding a current limit), and
controlling a switching device of the upper half bridge arm and the switching device of the lower half bridge arm to be complementarily conducted (¶52 – transistors Q1/Q2 or Q3/Q4 complementary).
Although the rectifier of Esteban is taught to be within a transmitter, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that in the configuration of the bridge circuit, the current would be allowed to pass through the rectifier, thus allowing the receiver to charge.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the teachings of Esteban to Elshaer in order to provide high efficiency power transmission (Esteban; ¶4).
Claims 4, 6, 8, 10, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshaer et al. US20180194236A1 in view of Ichinose et al. US20140292092A1 and Esteban et al. US20200177028A1 in further view of Ueta US20190068077A1.
Regarding claim 4. Yeo does not explicitly disclose that during turn-off of the receiver, and the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current, and in response to (a) control a phase-shift angle between the two bridge arms to gradually decrease until all the switching devices of the upper half bridge arms of the rectifier are closed or all the switching devices of the lower half bridge arms are closed, so that the load is bypassed; and then (b) the controller is configured to controls the receiver to enter the off state.
Esteban discloses that in response to (a) control a phase-shift angle between the two bridge arms to gradually decrease until all the switching devices of the upper half bridge arms of the rectifier are closed or all the switching devices of the lower half bridge arms are closed, so that the load is bypassed (¶53 – when the phase angle is at zero degrees then the coil current may be at a low level); and then
(b) the controller is configured to controls the receiver to enter the off state (¶53 – when the phase angle is at zero degrees then the coil current may be at a low level – because the coil current is at a low level, the receiver is turned to an off state).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the teachings of Esteban to Elshaer in order to provide high efficiency power transmission (Esteban; ¶4).
Esteban does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current.
Ueta discloses that the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current (¶6 – control circuit turns off the switching element unit of the rectifier when a current flowing is smaller than a predetermined threshold value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the limits of Ueta to Elshaer in order to provide improved synchronous rectification (Ueta; ¶6).
Regarding claim 6. Elshaer does not explicitly teach that during turn-off of the receiver, the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current, and in response to control duty cycles of drive signals of the controllable switching devices of the first and second bridge arms to gradually increase until all the controllable switching devices are closed, and then control the receiver to enter the off state.
Ichinose teaches that during turn-off of the receiver, in response to control duty cycles of drive signals of the controllable switching devices of the first and second bridge arms to gradually increase until all the controllable switching devices are closed (FIG. 19 and 22 illustrates the cycle increasing) (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes), and
then control the receiver to enter the off state (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes thus not current flows to the load thus turning off charging and the receiver being in an “off” state).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Ichinose does not explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current.
Ueta discloses that the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current (¶6 – control circuit turns off the switching element unit of the rectifier when a current flowing is smaller than a predetermined threshold value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the limits of Ueta to Elshaer in order to provide improved synchronous rectification (Ueta; ¶6).
Regarding claim 8. Elshaer discloses that during turn-off of the receiver, and the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current, and in response to control the switching device of the lower half bridge arm of the rectifier to be closed, so that the load is bypassed; and then the controller is configured to control the receiver to enter the off state.
Ichinose discloses that during turn-off of the receiver, in response to control the switching device of the lower half bridge arm of the rectifier to be closed, so that the load is bypassed (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes); and
then the controller is configured to control the receiver to enter the off state (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes thus not current flows to the load thus turning off charging and the receiver being in an “off” state).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Ichinose does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current.
Ueta discloses that the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current (¶6 – control circuit turns off the switching element unit of the rectifier when a current flowing is smaller than a predetermined threshold value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the limits of Ueta to Elshaer in order to provide improved synchronous rectification (Ueta; ¶6).
Regarding claim 10. Elshaer does not explicitly disclose that wherein during turn-off of the receiver, the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current, and in response to control the controllable switching device to be closed, so that the load is bypassed; and then control the receiver to enter the off state.
Ichinose discloses that during turn-off of the receiver, in response to control the controllable switching device to be closed, so that the load is bypassed (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes).; and
then control the receiver to enter the off state (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes thus not current flows to the load thus turning off charging and the receiver being in an “off” state).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Ichinose does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current.
Ueta discloses that the controller is configured to determine that a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current (¶6 – control circuit turns off the switching element unit of the rectifier when a current flowing is smaller than a predetermined threshold value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the limits of Ueta to Elshaer in order to provide improved synchronous rectification (Ueta; ¶6).
Regarding claim 16. Elshaer does not explicitly disclose that in response to a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current, controlling a phase-shift angle between the two bridge arms to gradually decrease until all the switching devices of the upper half bridge arms of the rectifier are closed or all the switching devices of the lower half bridge arms are closed, to bypass the load.
Esteban discloses that controlling a phase-shift angle between the two bridge arms to gradually decrease until all the switching devices of the upper half bridge arms of the rectifier are closed or all the switching devices of the lower half bridge arms are closed, to bypass the load (¶53 – when the phase angle is at zero degrees then the coil current may be at a low level); and then
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the teachings of Esteban to Elshaer in order to provide high efficiency power transmission (Esteban; ¶4).
Esteban does not explicitly disclose in response to a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current.
Ueta discloses that in response to a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter is less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current (¶6 – control circuit turns off the switching element unit of the rectifier when a current flowing is smaller than a predetermined threshold value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the limits of Ueta to Elshaer in order to provide improved synchronous rectification (Ueta; ¶6).
Regarding claim 18. Elshaer does not explicitly teach that in response to a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter being less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current, controlling, by a controller, duty cycles of drive signals of the controllable switching devices of the plural bridge arms to gradually increase until all the controllable switching devices are closed, and then controlling the receiver to enter the off state.
Ichinose teaches that duty cycles of drive signals of the controllable switching devices of the plural bridge arms to gradually increase until all the controllable switching devices are closed (FIG. 19 and 22 illustrates the cycle increasing) (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes), and
then controlling the receiver to enter the off state (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes thus not current flows to the load thus turning off charging and the receiver being in an “off” state).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Ichinose does not explicitly disclose that in response to a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter being less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current.
Ueta discloses that in response to a current of the transmitter coil of the transmitter being less than a second preset current and greater than the first preset current (¶6 – control circuit turns off the switching element unit of the rectifier when a current flowing is smaller than a predetermined threshold value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the limits of Ueta to Elshaer in order to provide improved synchronous rectification (Ueta; ¶6).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshaer et al. US20180194236A1 in view of Ichinose et al. US20140292092A1 and Olson et al. US20160197571A1
Regarding claim 11. Elshaer discloses a wireless charging system (FIG. 3, 5A-7), comprising:
a transmitter (16) comprising:_
an inverter (54) configured to invert a direct current to an alternating current (Inverter DC-AC 54), and deliver the alternating current to a transmitter compensation network (58);
the transmitter compensation network (58) connected to the inverter (54) and configured to compensate the alternating current (¶35 – “The DC-AC inverter 54 may generate a high frequency AC waveform”), and then deliver the compensated alternating current to a transmitter coil (44) (FIG. 3, 5A-7);
the transmitter coil (44) connected to the transmitter compensation network (58) and configured to transmit the compensated alternating current in a form of an alternating magnetic field (¶37 – “The voltage or energy output by the transmitter coil 44, e.g., via an oscillating magnetic field, may induce current in the receiver coil 46 of the vehicle 12“); and
a transmitter controller (100/98) connected to the inverter (54) and configured to:
control closing of a controllable switching device (FIG. 6) of the inverter 54, so that the transmitter coil (44) generates a transmit current needed by the receiver (¶58-59 – coil parameter estimator 100 transmits operating parameters which controls the inverter 54); and
a receiver (arranged in vehicle 12; FIG. 3, 5A-7), comprising:
a receiver coil (46) configured to convert an alternating magnetic field transmitted by a transmitter to an alternating current (¶26 - AC input is received from EVSE 16 (transmitter)), and deliver the alternating current to a compensation network (coils 44/46 deliver to the compensation network 60);
the compensation network (60) being connected to the receiver coil (46) and configured to compensate the alternating current (¶26 - AC input is received from EVSE 16 (transmitter)), and then deliver the compensated alternating current to a rectifier (62) (¶ 68 - compensation network maximizes efficiency of power);
the rectifier (62) connected to the compensation network (60) and configured to rectify the compensated alternating current to a direct current, and supply the direct current to a load (¶38 - rectifier 62 converts AC output of compensation network 60 to DC output compatible with the traction battery);
the compensation network comprising a compensation circuit with a current source characteristic (FIG. 7 includes capacitors 138 and 140), so that the receiver coil and the compensation network, acting together with the transmitter, make an input end of the rectifier a constant current source (capacitors are charged using a supply capable of providing a constant current, thus, because it is capacitors providing the output to the rectifier, it follows that the input of the rectifier is a constant current).
Elshaer does not explicitly teach receive a turn-on request or turn-off request sent by a receiver controller of the receiver or send a turn-on request or turn-off request to the receiver controller; the receiver controller connected to the rectifier and configured to at least one of: during turn-on of the receiver, control a switching device in the rectifier to be closed, so that the load is bypassed, and an output end of the compensation network to be short-circuited so no current flows through the load; or during turn-off of the receiver, control the switching device of the rectifier to be closed, so that the load is bypassed, and the output end of the compensation network to be short-circuited so no current flows through the load.
Ichinose discloses the receiver controller (200) connected to the rectifier (330) and configured to during turn-off of the receiver, control a switching device (Qu, Qv, Qx, Qy) of the rectifier to be closed, so that the load is bypassed (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes).and the output end of the compensation network to be short-circuited so no current flows through the load (¶236 – when switches Qu and Qx are turned off, current only flows through the diodes thus not current flows to the load).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply a well-known rectifier, as taught by Ishinose, to the rectifier of Elshaer in order to reduce losses caused by only diode configurations which reduces a power efficiency (¶18 of Ishinose).
Ichinose does not explicitly teach to receive a turn-on request or turn-off request sent by a receiver controller of the receiver or send a turn-on request or turn-off request to the receiver controller.
Olson discloses to receive a turn-on request or turn-off request sent by a receiver controller of the receiver or send a turn-on request or turn-off request to the receiver controller (¶86 – transmitting controller 402 and receiving controller 404 communicated with each other to coordinate the transmission of wireless power; ¶87 – receiving controller 404 sends a request for power to transmitting controller 402, thus receiving a turn-on request from the receiver controller).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide communication between the controllers, as taught by Olson, to the system of Elshaer in order to provide the accurate amount of power to avoid overcharging or undercharging (Olson; ¶9-10).
Regarding claim 12. Elshaer discloses that the transmitter controller is further configured to send a current of the transmitter coil to the receiver controller (¶37 - The voltage or energy output by the transmitter coil 44, e.g., via an oscillating magnetic field, may induce current in the receiver coil 46 of the vehicle 12; ¶59-61 – lookup table 98 adjusts the switching frequency of inverter 54 which controls the switches of the inverter which controls the current to the compensation network 58).
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kotani et al. US20170326995A1 disclose a transmitter and receiver having a capacitor as a compensation circuit.
Abidi et al. US20170353048A1 disclose a transmitter and receiver having a capacitor as a compensation circuit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859