Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 6/9/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of CN212637189U (“Xia”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20220203855A1 Lee et al ("Lee") in view of US20150115890A1 Dickinson et al ("Dickinson") and CN212637189U (“Xia”).
As per claims 1 and 11, Lee teaches the limitations of the system and method:
A system for establishing an ambient requirement in an electric aircraft (Lee at least the abstract, [0046], [0029]: “aircraft”)
an electric aircraft port on an electric aircraft, wherein the electric aircraft port is configured to removably mate to a charging connecter (Lee at least [0036] charging connector 101, inlet 201)
a sensor configured to generate a datum of a battery of the electric aircraft; and a controller communicatively connected to the sensor (Lee at least [0045-0046]: “sensing module”, [0036] CP signal, FIG. 1)
Lee does not disclose:
the electric aircraft port comprises: a sensor configured to generate a datum of a battery of the electric aircraft; and a controller communicatively connected to the sensor, wherein the controller is configured to: receive the datum from the sensor; determine, as a function of the datum, an ambient requirement for the battery, wherein the ambient requirement comprises a ventilation requirement; and transmit the ambient requirement to another component for implementation.
However, Dickinson teaches the aforementioned limitation implemented on a vehicle (Dickinson at least the abstract, FIG. 2, FIG. 3, claim 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee with the aforementioned limitations taught by Dickinson with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve charging efficiency in a vehicle (Dickinson [0007]).
Lee does not disclose:
an electric vehicle charging port on an exterior of the vehicle
Xia teaches the aforementioned limitation (Xia at least the abstract: “battery temperature, charging fault etc to real-time transmission shows to display screen department, and the user can see the various information that charge outside the car directly perceivedly like this, in time knows the situation of charging, has improved the convenience”, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee with the aforementioned limitations taught by Xia with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve the convenience of viewing pertinent charging information for a user.
As per claims 2 and 12, Lee in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Lee additionally teaches:
the datum comprises a voltage datum. (Lee at least [0054])
As per claims 3 and 13, Lee in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Lee additionally teaches:
the voltage datum is stored in a database. (Lee at least [0031]: “telematics server”)
As per claims 4 and 14, Lee in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Lee additionally teaches:
the voltage datum comprises a state of charge datum. (Lee at least [0036], [0037-0041])
As per claims 5 and 15, Lee in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Lee does not disclose:
the datum is based on an ambient temperature of the battery.
Dickinson teaches the aforementioned limitation (Dickinson at least [0059]).
As per claims 7 and 17, Lee in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Lee additionally teaches:
the ambient requirement comprises a thermal requirement. (Lee at least [0046]: “inlet temperature sensing module”)
As per claims 8 and 18, Lee in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Lee additionally teaches:
the ambient requirement is stored in a database. (Lee at least [0031])
As per claims 9 and 19, Lee in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Lee does not disclose:
the system further comprises an ambience implementation system, and the another component is the ambience implementation system.
Dickinson teaches the aforementioned limitation (Dickinson at least the abstract: “fan”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee with the aforementioned limitations taught by Dickinson with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
As per claims 10 and 20, Lee in combination with the other references teaches the invention as described above. Lee does not disclose:
the controller is configured to control the ambience implementation system.
Dickinson teaches the aforementioned limitation (Dickinson at least the abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee with the aforementioned limitations taught by Dickinson with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these references is the same as above in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20230241990A1 teaches a battery temperature display on a charging plug handle.
/O.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 3669 /NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669