DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, species of biomarkers as listed in the response filed 1/22/25, and pembrolizumab as the immunotherapeutic agent in the reply filed on 1/22/25 is acknowledged.
Upon further consideration, the restriction requirement between Groups I and III is withdrawn. The restriction requirement between Groups I and II is maintained.
Claims 16-20, directed to a method of treating cancer, previously withdrawn from consideration as a result of a restriction requirement, are hereby rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 11-15, directed to a pharmaceutical composition have NOT been rejoined.
Because a claimed invention previously withdrawn from consideration under 37 CFR 1.142 has been rejoined, the restriction requirement between Groups I and III as set forth in the Office action mailed on 11/26/24 is hereby withdrawn. In view of the withdrawal of the restriction requirement as to the rejoined inventions, applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Status
The claim set filed 1/22/25 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/22/25.
Claims 1-10 and 16-20 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 7/14/22 has been considered. A signed copy is enclosed.
Applicant is advised that the listing of the references cited in a Search Report itself is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, "the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper." Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information or any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the IDS, including all "statement" requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Note: If copies of the individual references cited on the Search Report are also cited separately on the IDS (and these references have not been lined-through) these references will be considered.
Specification
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains legal phraseology in the phrase “inter alia”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Hyperlinks
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code in paragraphs [0240] and [0241]. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Trademarks
The use of the terms AVERTIN, GENTLEMACS, PERCOLL, LIVE/DEAD, TruStain, TOTALSEQ, TWEEN, CHROMIUM, GLUTAMAX, and possibly others, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “T cell are” contains improper grammar and should be amended to read “T cells are”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims contain acronyms and/or abbreviations that should be spelled out upon first occurrence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 9 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claim does not end with a period. Each claim must begin with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995). See also MPEP 608.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description
Claims 1-10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus.
The examined claims are drawn to a method of treating all types of cancer by isolating “tumor-matching” T cells ex vivo from blood obtained from a patient, expanding the cells ex vivo, and administering the expanded tumor-matching cells to the patient, thereby treating the cancer. The cells can express increased and/or decreased expression of biomarkers as listed in instant claims 3-6. The patient can also be administered an immunotherapeutic agent that can be a checkpoint inhibitor or immunomodulator, an anti-cancer agent, or a combination thereof.
The claims require specific functions of the agents and methods for which a corresponding structure is not provided. First, the claims require that the T cells are “tumor-matching” but neither the claims nor the specification provides a sufficient description of these cells to demonstrate possession of the method. The term "Tumor-matching T cells" or "TM cells" is defined as referring to T cells in a subject's blood that have common T cell receptors (TCRs) or markers with tumor infiltrating lymphocytes (e.g., T cells) in the subject's tumor ("tumor T cells") (see instant specification paragraph [0024]). The specification does not define the terms “common” with regard to TCRs or markers on T cells. These cells are defined entirely by function (i.e. “The tumor-matching T cells in the subject's blood have increased activation and tissue resident memory compared to other T cells (e.g., non-tumor- matching T cells) in the subject's blood which are enriched for quiescent markers” See instant specification paragraph [0024]), without providing any identifying structure such as cell surface markers or expression profiles that correlate with the required functions.
Second, the claims recite several genera of agents to be administered without adequately defining the agents, or providing structure that would correlate with the required functions within the claimed method. For example, the terms “immunotherapeutic agent,” “ checkpoint inhibitor” and “immunomodulator” are terms that define compounds merely by function without providing any corresponding structure. The term “immunotherapeutic agent” is defined in specification paragraph [0062] to refer to “therapeutic agents that activate or suppress the immune system.” The specification in paragraph [0063] states that the term “refers to a form of immunotherapy that targets immune checkpoints, key regulators of the immune system, that when stimulated can dampen the immune response to an immunologic stimulus.” The term “immunomodulator” is defined in specification paragraph [0064] as referring “to therapeutic agents that modulate the immune system.” These terms potentially encompass millions of compounds, and the specification does not provide adequate description of structure that would correlate with the required functions, or that would be capable of functioning in the claimed method.
The specification discloses a limited number of compounds for each genera, many of which are actually sub-genera defined entirely by function (see e.g. “PD-1 inhibitors” and similar). However, the claims are drawn to very large genera, the breadth of which are not adequately described by the small number of provided examples. The specification provides no guidance regarding which agents are capable of the required functions for the agent, or in the claimed method. Therefore, the specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that
"applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that:
...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc. , 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli , 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2datl966.
In emerging and unpredictable technologies, or for inventions characterized by factors not reasonably predictable which are known to one of ordinary skill in the art, more evidence is required to show possession. For example, disclosure of only a method of making the invention and the function may not be sufficient to support a product claim other than a product-by-process claim. See, e.g., Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d at 1169, 25 USPQ2d at 1605; Amgen, 927 F.2d at 1206, 18 USPQ2d at 1021; see also MPEP 2163.
The technology regarding transfer of expanded cells to treat cancer is extremely unpredictable and inventions involving this technology require more evidence to show possession. For example tumor infiltrating lymphocytes (TILs) are a very heterogeneous cell population, and the subpopulations that could provide the most convenient source of TILs for adoptive cell transfer (ACT) have not yet been defined (see e.g. Strizova et al (Cancer Immunology, Immunotherapy (2019) 68:1831–1838), page 1833). Morotti et al (British Journal of Cancer (2021) 124:1759–1776) teach that several challenges exist with ensuring efficacy of TIL based therapy (see e.g. page 1759, right column). Cancer heterogeneity represents a pivotal challenge for the development of neoantigen-directed-T cell therapies (see e.g. page 1760, right column). Predicting neoantigens that are shared amongst a substantial proportion of the target cell population is vital for the success of ACT, irrespective of which gene a mutation resides in (see e.g. Morotti, page 1761, left column). The identification of clonal mutations relies on the accurate computation of the prevalence of mutations in a tumor (see e.g. Morotti, page 1761, left column). This is not a trivial task and is often confounded by normal cell contamination, substantial heterogeneity and copy number alterations (see e.g. Morotti, page 1761, left column). Another key challenge is that only a few predicted neoantigens encoded by somatic non-synonymous mutations are actually immunogenic (see e.g. Morotti, page 1761, left column). Therefore challenges exist in determining the anti-tumor reactivity of neoantigen-specific T-cells, and it is important to note that not every specific neoepitope gives an immune response (see e.g. Morotti, page 1761, right column last paragraph to page 1762, left column first paragraph). It is important to note that the immunogenicity of neoantigens has been challenged (see e.g. Morotti, page 1764, right column). A study using data from The Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA) showed that neoantigen depletion, detected using HLA affinity predictions, is weak or absent in the untreated cancer genome overall (see e.g. Morotti, page 1764, right column). In a further complication, the number of expanded TCRs found ubiquitously across all tumor samples in lung cancer or paired metastatic breast and ovarian cancer implies that some level of immune surveillance directed against clonal neoantigens can be initiated early and maintained through all levels of cancer development, including metastatic progression (see e.g. Morotti, page 1764, left column). This means that the timing of initiation of immunological sculpting is an important question in applying ACT (see e.g. Morotti, page 1764, left column). As is evident through the observed lack of cancer cell elimination, immune escape mechanisms capable of preventing T-cell mediated death might be an extremely early event in cancer evolution (see e.g. Morotti, page 1764, left column).
Additionally, tumors react differently to cell transfer therapies such as adoptive cell transfer, making this type of therapy unpredictable. According to Strizova et al (Cancer Immunology, Immunotherapy (2019) 68:1831–1838), adoptive cell transfer (ACT) is a particular form of cell-based anticancer immunotherapy, which may be one potential treatment modality in metastatic diseases, where conventional therapy tends to fail (see e.g. Strizova, page 1832). ACT is a cell therapy based on immune cells extracted from the patient, processed in vitro, extensively expanded, then transferred back to the patient (see e.g. Strizova, page 1832). The following in vitro expansion of the cells allows the tumor-specific cells to be grown outside the immunosuppressive tumor microenvironment these cells encounter in vivo (see e.g. Strizova, page 1832). ACT has been shown in clinical trials to cause objective clinical responses in 40–72% of patients with metastatic melanoma. However, in addition to clearly not being capable of treating all melanoma tumors, ACT has shown limited efficacy for other tumor types such as metastatic renal cell carcinoma (mRCC; see e.g. Strizova, page 1832). Taken together, one of skill in the art would conclude that the field of cell transfer therapy is at best extremely unpredictable, requiring additional evidence to demonstrate possession of such a method.
Regarding protein and peptide agents that are encompassed by the claims, Protein chemistry is one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. This unpredictability prevents prediction of the effects that a given number or location of mutation will have on a protein. As taught by Skolnick et al (Trends Biotechnol. 2000 Jan;18(1):34-9), sequence based methods for predicting protein function are inadequate because of the multifunctional nature of proteins (see e.g. abstract). Further, just knowing the structure of the protein is also insufficient for prediction of functional sites (see e.g. abstract). Sequence to function methods cannot specifically identify complexities for proteins, such as gain and loss of function during evolution, or multiple functions possible within a cells (see e.g. page 34, right column). Skolnick advocates determining the structure of the protein, then identifying the functionally important residues since using the chemical structure to identify functional sites is more in line with how a protein actually works (see e.g. page 34, right column).
The sensitivity of proteins to alterations of even a single amino acid in a sequence are exemplified by Burgess et al. (J. Cell Biol. 111:2129-2138, 1990) who teach that replacement of a single lysine reside at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by glutamic acid led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein and by Lazar et al. (Mol. Cell. Biol., 8:1247-1252, 1988) who teach that in transforming growth factor alpha, replacement of aspartic acid at position 47 with alanine or asparagine did not affect biological activity while replacement with serine or glutamic acid sharply reduced the biological activity of the mitogen. These references demonstrate that even a single amino acid substitution will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristics of a protein.
Further, Miosge (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2015 Sep 15;112(37):E5189-98) teach that Short of mutational studies of all possible amino acid substitutions for a protein, coupled with comprehensive
functional assays, the sheer number and diversity of missense mutations that are possible for proteins means that their functional importance must presently be addressed primarily by computational inference (see e.g. page E5189, left column). However, in a study examining some of these methods, Miosge shows that there is potential for incorrect calling of mutations (see e.g. page E5196, left column, top paragraph). The authors conclude that the discordance between predicted and actual effect of missense mutations creates the potential for many false conclusions in clinical settings where sequencing is performed to detect disease-causing mutations (see e.g. page E5195, right column, last paragraph). The findings in their study show underscore the importance of interpreting variation by direct experimental measurement of the consequences of a candidate mutation, using as sensitive and specific an assay as possible (see e.g. page E5197, left column, top paragraph). Additionally, Bork (Genome Research, 2000,10:398-400) clearly teaches the pitfalls associated with comparative sequence analysis for predicting protein function because of the known error margins for high-throughput computational methods. Bork specifically teaches that computational sequence analysis is far from perfect, despite the fact that sequencing itself is highly automated and accurate (p. 398, column 1). One of the reasons for the inaccuracy is that the quality of data in public sequence databases is still insufficient. This is particularly true for data on protein function. Protein function is context dependent, and both molecular and cellular aspects have to be considered (p. 398, column 2). Conclusions from the comparison analysis are often stretched with regard to protein products (p. 398, column 3). Further, although gene annotation via sequence database searches is already a routine job, even here the error rate is considerable (p. 399, column 2). Most features predicted with an accuracy of greater than 70% are of structural nature and, at best, only indirectly imply a certain functionality (see legend for table 1, page 399). As more sequences are added and as errors accumulate and propagate it becomes more difficult to infer correct function from the many possibilities revealed by database search (p. 399, paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). The reference finally cautions that although the current methods seem to capture important features and explain general trends, 30% of those features are missing or predicted wrongly. This has to be kept in mind when processing the results further (p. 400, paragraph bridging cols 1 and 2).
Kulmanov et al (Bioinformatics, 34(4), 2018, 660–668), teach that there are key challenges for protein function prediction methods (see e.g. page 661, left column). These challenges arise from the difficulty identifying and accounting for the complex relationship between protein sequence structure and function (see e.g. page 661, left column). Despite significant progress in the past years in protein structure prediction, it still requires large efforts to predict protein structure with sufficient quality to be useful in function prediction (see e.g. page 661, left column). Another challenge is that proteins do not function in isolation. In particular higher level physiological functions that go beyond simple molecular interactions will require other proteins and cannot usually be predicted by considering a single protein in isolation (see e.g. page 661, left column). Due to these challenges it is not obvious what kinds of features should be used to predict the functions of a protein and whether they can be generated efficiently for a large number of proteins, such as the vast genus therapeutics encompassed by the instant claims (see e.g. page 661, left column).
Regarding small molecule inhibitors of a particular protein target, the prediction of binding to a target, much less the inhibitory activity, is highly unpredictable. According to Guido et al (Curr Med Chem. 2008;15(1):37-46), accurately predicting the binding affinity of new drug candidates remains a major challenge in drug discovery (see page 37). There are a vast number of possible compounds that may bind a particular target, many of which have likely not been discovered. Relying on virtual screening also lends unpredictability to the art regarding identification of molecules that would be capable of the required functions of the instant claims. Guido et al teach that there are two main complex issues with predicting activity for a small molecule: accurate structural modeling and/or correct prediction of activity (see page 40). As taught by Clark et al (J. Med. Chem., 2014, 57 (12), pp 5023–5038), even when guided by structural data, developing selective structure-activity relationships has been challenging owing to the similarities of the enzymes (see page 5028). Therefore, it is impossible for one of skill in the art to predict that any particular encompassed small molecule therapeutic would function to inhibit a particular protein, especially a particular protein family member, or treat disease.
Regarding nucleic acid based therapeutics, the efficacy of any possible DNA or RNA based therapeutic modality is highly unpredictable. This unpredictability stems from an inability to predict the effects of any particular sequence the expression or function of any target. As taught by Aagaard et al (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews 59 (2007) 75–86), the development of RNAi based therapeutics faces several challenges, including the need for controllable or moderate promoter systems and therapeutics that are efficient at low doses (see page 79), the ability of an unpredictable number of sequences to stimulate immune responses, such as type I interferon responses (see page 79), competition with cellular RNAi components (see page 83), the side effect of suppressing off targets (see page 80), and challenging delivery (see page 83). The success of antisense strategies, including anti-RNA and anti-DNA strategies are also highly unpredictable. Warzocha et al (Leukemia and Lymphoma (1997) Vol. 24. pp. 267-281) teach that the efficacy of antisense effects varies between different targeted sites of RNA molecules and three dimensional RNA structures (see page 269), while DNA-targeting strategies have numerous problems including a restricted number of DNA sequences that can form triple helices at appropriate positions within genes and the inaccessibility of particular sequences due to histones and other proteins (see page 269). These references demonstrate that variation in RNA or DNA based therapeutics will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristics of the intended therapeutic. McKeague et al (J Nucleic Acids. 2012;2012:748913. Epub 2012 Oct 24) teach that aptamers have particular challenges because unlike antibodies or molecular imprinted polymers, their tertiary structure is highly dependent on solution conditions and they are easily degraded in blood. Further, they have less chemical diversity than other antagonist molecules (see page 2), and have issues associated with determining the Kd measurements for a given molecule (see page 13). Given the teachings of Aagaard et al, Warzocha et al, and McKeague et al, nucleic acid therapeutics could not be predicted based on the targets selected or similarities to the disclosed example therapeutics. Therefore, it is impossible for one of skill in the art to predict that any particular encompassed nucleic acid based therapeutic, such as oligonucleotide aptamers, RNAi molecules and antisense oligonucleotides, would function to decrease expression or function of a target gene or protein, or treat disease.
Regarding the encompassed antibodies and fragments thereof, the functional characteristics of antibodies (including binding specificity and affinity are dictated on their structure. Amino acid sequence and conformation of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin. For example, Vajdos et al. (J Mol Biol. 2002 Jul 5;320(2):415-28 at 416) teaches that, “ … Even within the Fv, antigen binding is primarily mediated by the complementarity determining regions (CDRs), six hypervariable loops (three each in the heavy and light chains) which together present a large contiguous surface for potential antigen binding. Aside from the CDRs, the Fv also contains more highly conserved framework segments which connect the CDRs and are mainly involved in supporting the CDR loop conformations, although in some cases, framework residues also contact antigen. As an important step to understanding how a particular antibody functions, it would be very useful to assess the contributions of each CDR side-chain to antigen binding, and in so doing, to produce a functional map of the antigen-binding site." The art shows an unpredictable effect when making single versus multiple changes to any given CDR. For example, Brown et al. (J Immunol. 1996 May;156(9):3285-91 at 3290 and Tables 1 and 2), describes how the VH CDR2 of a particular antibody was generally tolerant of single amino acid changes, however the antibody lost binding upon introduction of two amino changes in the same region.
Recently, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) decided Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017), which concerned adequate written description for claims drawn to antibodies. The Federal Circuit explained in Amgen that when an antibody is claimed, 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) requires adequate written description of the antibody itself even when preparation of such an antibody would be routine and conventional. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79. A key role played by the written description requirement is to prevent “attempt[s] to preempt the future before it has arrived.” Ariad at 1353, (quoting Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d at 1171). Upholding a patent drawn to a genus of antibodies that includes members not previously characterized or described could negatively impact the future development of species within the claimed genus of antibodies. In the instant application, neither the art nor the specification provide a sufficient representative number of antibodies or a sufficient structure-function correlation to meet the written description requirements.
The prior art recognizes that the antigen binding by antibodies requires precise orientation of the complementarity determining region (CDR) loops in the variable domain to establish the correct contact surface. For example, Vattekatte, (PeerJ. 2020 Mar 6:8:e8408. doi: 10.7717/peerj.8408. eCollection 2020.) teach that antigen binding in heavy chain only antibodies, (HCAbs) is mediated by only three CDR loops from the single variable domain (VHH) at the N-terminus of each heavy chain, (see abstract). The Vattekatte et al further teach that the amino acid length distribution in different regions of VHH (see Fig. S7) shows diversity in CDR lengths, and that most diversity in CDR3, (see page 7 and 19). However, the prior art also recognizes that a single protein can be bound by a very large and structurally diverse genus of antibodies (i.e., there is no common structural relationship even for antibodies that bind to the same protein, epitope, or overlapping epitopes). For example, Edwards et al. (Mol Biol. 2003 Nov 14;334(1):103-18) teach that over 1,000 different antibodies to a single protein can be generated, all with different sequences, and representative of almost the entire extensive heavy and light chain germline repertoire (42/49 functional heavy chain germlines and 33 of 70 V-lambda and V-kappa light chain germlines), and with extensive diversity in the HCDR3 region sequences (that are generated by VDJ germline segment recombination) as well (see table 2, figure 2).
Lloyd et al. (Protein Eng Des Sel. 2009 Mar;22(3):159-68. Epub 2008 Oct 29.) teach that a large majority of VH/VL germline gene segments are used in the antibody response to an antigen, even when the antibodies were selected by antigen binding, (abstract). The Lloyd et al reference further teaches that in their studies, of the 841 unselected and 5,044 selected antibodies sequenced, all but one of the 49 functional VH gene segments was observed, and that there are on average about 120 different antibodies generated per antigen (page 167, column 1). Said reference also teaches that a wide variety of VH and VL pairings further increase diversity. (page 159, column 2).
Goel et al. (J Immunol. 2004 Dec 15;173(12):7358-67) teach that three mAbs that bind to the same short (12-mer) peptide, exhibit diverse V gene usage, indicating their independent germline origin. Said reference further teaches that two of these mAbs recognize the same set of amino acid residues defining the epitope (alternate amino acid residues spread over the entire sequence), however, the relative contribution of each set of residues in the peptide showed significant variation. The reference notes that all of the mAbs do not show any kind of V gene restriction among themselves, implying variable paratope structure, despite that two of these mAbs bind to the peptide through a common set of residues. (See entire reference).
Khan et al. (J Immunol (2014) 192 (11): 5398–5405) teach that two structurally diverse germline mAbs recognizing overlapping epitopes of the same short peptide do so in different topologies, the antibodies possessing entirely different CDR sequences. Said reference teaches that unrelated mAbs structurally adjust to recognize an antigen, indicating that the primary B cell response is composed of BCRs having a high degree of structural adaptability. Said reference also teaches that the common epitope(s) also adopt distinct conformations when bound to different mAbs, with the higher degree of structural plasticity inherent to the mAbs. Said reference further teaches “It has been shown that both the framework region and the CDRs have a considerable amount of inherent conformational plasticity...Therefore, it is not surprising that distinct germline Abs recognize the same epitope by rearranging the CDR conformations. This may well have implications of Ag specificity beyond the naive BCR repertoire, because Kaji et al... .have shown in a recent report that the B cell memory can contain both germline-encoded and somatically mutated BCRs.” (See entire reference).
Poosarla et al. (Biotechnol Bioeng. 2017 June ; 114(6): 1331–1342) teach substantial diversity in designed mAbs (sharing less than 75% sequence similarity to all existing natural antibody sequences) that bind to the same 12-mer peptide, binding to different epitopes on the same peptide. Said reference further teaches “most B-cell epitopes... in nature consist of residues from different regions of the sequence and are discontinuous...de novo antibody designs against discontinuous epitopes present additional challenges...". (See entire reference.)
Rabia, et al. (Biochem Eng J. 2018 Sep 15:137:365-374. Epub 2018 Jun 5) teach what effects mutations can have on an antibody's stability, solubility, binding affinity and binding specificity. Rabia et al. report that an increase in antibody affinity can be associated with a decrease in stability (p. 366, col. 2 last paragraph; Fig. 2). Rabia et al. thus teach that affinity and specificity are not necessarily correlated and that an increase in affinity does not indicate an increase in specificity (Fig. 3; p. 368, col. 1, section 3,1st full paragraph to col. 2, 2nd full paragraph).
Therefore, neither the art nor the specification provide a sufficient representative number of antibodies or a sufficient structure-function correlation to meet the written description requirements.
Applicant is reminded that generally, in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus (Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen- Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956 (Fed. Cir. 2002); Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly Co., 119 F.3d 1559 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). A patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017) at page 1358). An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products — “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361).
MPEP § 2163.02 states, “[a]n objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, 'does the description clearly allow person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed’”. The courts have decided: the purpose of the "written description" requirement is broader than to merely explain how to "make and use"; the Applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art, that as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is for purposes of the “written description” inquiry, whatever is now claimed. See Vas-Cath, Inc v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Federal Circuit, 1991).
Furthermore, the written description provision of 35 USC §112 is severable from its enablement provision; and adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993). And Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. Moreover, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. However, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; nor has Applicant shown the invention was “ready for patenting” by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; nor has the Applicant described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant were in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Therefore for all these reasons the specification lacks adequate written description, and one of skill in the art cannot reasonably conclude that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed.
Enablement
Claims 1-9 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating metastatic melanoma with the claimed method, does not reasonably provide enablement for treating all types of tumors with the claimed method. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
As a general rule, enablement must be commensurate with the scope of claim language. MPEP 2164.08 states, “The Federal Circuit has repeatedly held that “the specification must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation’.” In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)” (emphasis added). The “make and use the full scope of the invention without undue experimentation” language was repeated in 2005 in Warner-Lambert Co. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Inc., 75 USPQ2d 1865, and Scripps Research Institute v. Nemerson, 78 USPQ2d 1019 asserts: “A lack of enablement for the full scope of a claim, however, is a legitimate rejection.” The principle was explicitly affirmed most recently in Auto. Tech. Int’l, Inc. v. BMW of N. Am., Inc., 501 F.3d 1274, 84 USPQ2d 1108 (Fed. Cir. 2007), Monsanto Co. v. Syngenta Seeds, Inc., 503 F.3d 1352, 84 U.S.P.Q.2d 1705 (Fed. Cir. 2007), and Sitrick v. Dreamworks, LLC, 516 F.3d 993, 85 USPQ2d 1826 (Fed. Cir. 2008). See also In re Cortright, 49 USPQ2d 1464, 1466 and Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Rhone-Poulenc Rorer Inc., 49 USPQ2d 1370.
The factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure meets the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, have been described in In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Among these factors are: (1) the nature or the invention; (2) the state of the prior art; (3) the relative skill of those in the art; (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art; (5) the breadth of the claims; (6) the amount of direction or guidance presented; (7) the presence or absence of working examples; and (8) the quantity of experimentation necessary. When the above factors are weighed, it is the examiner’s position that one skilled in the art could not practice the invention without undue experimentation. Some experimentation is not fatal; the issue is whether the amount of experimentation is “undue”; see In re Vaeck, 20 USPQ2d 1438, 1444.
(1) The nature of the invention and (5) The breadth of the claims:
The examined claims are drawn to a method of treating all types of cancer by isolating “tumor-matching” T cells ex vivo from blood obtained from a patient, expanding the cells ex vivo, and administering the expanded tumor-matching cells to the patient, thereby treating the cancer. The cells can express increased and/or decreased expression of biomarkers as listed in instant claims 3-6. The patient can also be administered an immunotherapeutic agent that can be a checkpoint inhibitor or immunomodulator, an anti-cancer agent, or a combination thereof.
The claims are broad and inclusive of all types of cancer or neoplasia in humans generally. The breadth of the claim exacerbates the complex nature of the subject matter to which the present claims are directed. The claims are extremely broad due to the vast number of possible cancer types and tumor cell growth mechanisms represented by the terms “treating a cancer in a subject”. Cancer is not a single disease, or cluster of closely related disorders. There are hundreds of cancers, which have in common only some loss of controlled cell growth. Cancers are highly heterogeneous at both the molecular and clinical level, something seen especially in, for example, the cancers of the breast, brain and salivary glands. They can occur in pretty much every part of the body. Here are some assorted categories:
A. CNS cancers cover a very diverse range of cancers in many categories and subcategories. There are an immense range of neuroepithelial tumors. Gliomas, the most common subtype of primary brain tumors, most of which are aggressive, highly invasive, and neurologically destructive tumors are considered to be among the deadliest of human cancers. These are any cancers which show evidence (histological, immunohistochemical, ultrastructural) of glial differentiation. These fall mostly into five categories. There are the astrocytic tumors (astrocytomas): pilocytic astrocytoma (including juvenile pilocytic astrocytoma, JPA, and pediatric optic nerve glioma) diffuse astrocytomas (including fibrillary astrocytomas, protoplasmic astrocytomas and gemistocytic astrocytomas), anaplastic astrocytomas (including adult optic nerve glioma), Glioblastoma multiforme (GBM), gliosarcoma and giant cell glioblastoma, and pleomorphic xanthoastrocytoma. GBM exists in two forms, primary and secondary, which have very different clinical histories and different genetics, but GBM is considered to be one clinical entity. Second, there are the oligodendroglial tumors (oligodendrogliomas): low grade oligodendroglioma and anaplastic oligodendroglioma. Third, there is oligoastrocytomas (“mixed glioma”), a type of tumor with both astrocytoma & oligodendroglioma features. The fourth type is the ependymomas, which are intracranial gliomas, including papillary ependymoma, myxopapillary ependymoma, tanycytic ependymoma, anaplastic ependymoma and subependymal giant-cell astrocytomas. A fifth type is the gangliogliomas (glioneuronal tumors or glioneurocytic tumors), which have both glial and neuronal components, and are extremely varied, based in part on what types of glial and what types of neuronal components are present. These include Papillary Glioneuronal Tumor (PGNT), a range of supratentorial gangliogliomas, assorted intramedullary spinal cord gangliogliomas, pineal ganglioglioma, hypothalamic ganglioglioma, cerebellar ganglioglioma, ganglioglioma of the right optic tract, rosetted glioneuronal tumor (“glioneurocytic tumor with neuropil rosettes”), composite pleomorphic xanthoastrocytoma (PXA)-ganglioglioma, desmoplastic ganglioglioma (both infantile (DIG) and non- infantile), angioganglioglioma, and others. There are also some glial tumors which do not comfortably fit into these five categories, notably astroblastoma, gliomatosis cerebri, and chordoid glioma, which is found solely in the hypothalamus and anterior third ventricle. Other neuroepithelial tumors include astrocytic tumors (e.g. astrocytomas) oligodendroglial tumors, ependymal cell tumors (e.g. myxopapillary ependymoma), mixed gliomas (e.g. mixed oligoastrocytoma and ependymo-astrocytomas) tumors of the choroid plexus(choroid plexus papilloma, choroid plexus carcinoma), assorted neuronal and neuroblastic tumors (e.g. gangliocytoma, central neurocytoma, dysembryoplastic neuroepithelial tumor, esthesioneuroblastoma, olfactory neuroblastoma, olfactory neuroepithelioma, and neuroblastomas of the adrenal gland), pineal parenchyma tumors (e.g. pineocytoma, pineoblastoma, and pineal parenchymal tumor of intermediate differentiation), embryonal tumors (e.g. medulloepithelioma, neuroblastoma, ependymoblastoma, atypical teratoid/rhabdoid tumor, desmoplastic medulloblastoma, large cell medulloblastoma, medullomyoblastoma, and melanotic medulloblastoma) and others such as polar spongioblastoma and gliomatosis cerebri. A second Division is tumors of the meninges. this includes tumors of the meningothelial cells, including meningiomas (meningothelial, fibrous (fibroblastic), transitional (mixed), psammomatous, angiomatous, microcystic, secretory, lymphoplasmacyte-rich, metaplastic, clear cell, chordoid, atypical, papillary, rhabdoid, anaplastic meningioma) and the non- meningioma tumors of the meningothelial cells (malignant fibrous histiocytoma, leiomyoma, leiomyosarcoma, rhabdomyoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, chondroma, chondrosarcoma, osteoma, osteosarcoma, osteochondroma, haemangioma, epithelioid haemangioendothelioma, haemangiopericytoma, angiosarcoma, kaposi sarcoma). There are also mesenchymal, non-meningothelial tumors (liposarcoma, (intracranial) solitary fibrous tumor, and fibrosarcoma) as well as primary melanocytic lesions (diffuse melanocytosis, melanocytoma, malignant melanoma, and meningeal melanomatosis). A third division is the tumors of cranial and spinal nerves. This includes cellular schwannomas, plexiform schwannomas and the melanotic schwannomas (e.g. psammomatous melanotic schwannoma , neuro-axial melanotic schwannoma, dorsal dumb-bell melanotic schwannoma). There is also Perineurioma (Intraneural and Soft tissue) and malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumor (MPNST), including Epithelioid, MPNST with divergent mesenchymal differentiation, and MPNST with epithelial differentiation. A fourth division are germ cell tumors, including germinoma, embryonal carcinoma, yolk sac tumor, choriocarcinoma, and teratoma (mature teratoma, immature teratoma, and teratoma with malignant transformation). A fifth division are the tumors of the sellar Region, viz. pituitary adenoma, pituitary carcinoma, granular cell myoblastoma and craniopharyngiomas (adamantinomatous and papillary). Yet another division are local extensions from regional tumors, including paraganglioma, chodroma, chordoma, and chondrosarcoma. There are also Primitive Neuroectodermal Tumors (PNETs) including medulloblastomas, medulloepitheliomas, ependymoblastomas and polar spongioblastomas. There are Vascular brain Tumors e.g. the hemangioblastomas, there is CNS Lymphoma (which can be primary or secondary) and Meningeal Carcinomatosis. There are lymphoma and haemopoietic neoplasms including malignant lymphomas (which can be primary or secondary), plasmacytoma, and granulocytic sarcoma. And there are many, many others.
B. Leukemia is any malignant neoplasm of the blood-forming tissues. Leukemia can arise from many different sources. These include viruses such as EBV, which causes Burkitt's lymphoma, and HTLV-1, linked to certain T cell leukemias. Others are linked to genetic disorders, such as Fanconi's anemia, which is a familial disorder, and Down's Syndrome. Other leukemias are caused by exposure to carcinogens such as benzene, and some are actually caused by treatment with other neoplastic agents. Still other leukemias arise from ionizing radiation, and many are idiopathic. Leukemias also differ greatly in the morphology, degree of differentiation, body location (e.g. bone marrow, lymphoid organs, etc.) There are dozens of leukemias. There are B-Cell Neoplasms such as B-cell prolymphocytic leukemia and Hairy cell leukemia (HCL, a chronic Lymphoid leukemia). There are T-Cell Neoplasms such as T-cell prolymphocytic leukemia, aggressive NK cell leukemia, adult T cell leukemia/lymphoma (ATLL), and T-cell granular Lymphocytic leukemia. There are different kinds of acute myeloid leukemias (undifferentiated AML, acute myeloblastic, acute myelomonocytic leukemia, acute monocytic leukemias, acute monoblastic, acute megakaryoblastic (AmegL), acute promyelocytic leukemia (APL), and erythroleukemia). There is also lymphoblastic leukemia, hypocellular acute myeloid leukemia, Ph-/BCR- myeloid leukemia, and acute basophilic leukemia. Chromic leukemias include chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL, which exists in a B-cell and a T-cell type), prolymphocytic leukemia (PLL), large granular lymphocytic leukemia (LGLL, which goes under several other names as well), chronic myelogenous leukemia(CML), chronic myelomonocytic leukemia (CMML), chronic neutrophilic leukemia, chronic eosinophilic leukemia (CEL), and many others.
C. Carcinomas of the Liver include hepatocellular carcinoma, combined hepatocellular cholangiocarcinoma, cholangiocarcinoma (intrahepatic), bile duct cystadenocarcinoma and undifferentiated carcinoma of the liver. There is also cancer of the blood vessels in the liver (hemangioendothelioma), primary non-hodgkin's lymphoma of the liver, undifferentiated liver sarcoma (also known as undifferentiated embryonal sarcoma), primary pleomorphic liver sarcoma, angiosarcoma of the liver, and primary malignant melanoma of the liver. Most liver cancers are secondary, especially those originating in the breast, lung, or gallbladder, as well as both Hodgkin's or non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
D. The main types of lung and pleural cancer are small cell (i.e. oat cell, including combined oat cell), adenocarcinomas, bronchioloalveolar carcinomas (nonmucinous, mucinous, and mixed mucinous and nonmucinous or indeterminate cell type), acinar, papillary carcinoma, solid adenocarcinoma with mucin, adenocarcinoma with mixed subtypes, well-differentiated fetal adenocarcinoma, mucinous (colloid) adenocarcinoma, mucinous cystadenocarcinoma, signet ring adenocarcinoma, and clear cell adenocarcinoma), squamous cell (papillary, clear cell, small cell and basaloid), mesothelioma (including epithelioid, sarcomatoid, desmoplastic and biphasic) and large cell carcinoma (which include large-cell neuroendocrine carcinoma, combined large-cell neuroendocrine carcinoma, basaloid carcinoma, clear cell carcinoma lymphoepithelioma-like carcinoma, and large-cell carcinoma with rhabdoid phenotype). In addition there are also the carcinomas with pleomorphic, sarcomatoid or sarcomatous elements, including carcinomas with spindle and/or giant cells, spindle cell carcinoma, carcinosarcoma and pulmonary blastoma. The non-small cell lung carcinomas also include adenosquamous carcinoma, the carcinoid tumor (both typical carcinoid and atypical carcinoid) as well as carcinomas of salivary-gland type, including mucoepidermoid carcinoma and adenoid cystic carcinoma. There are some soft tissue tumors including localized fibrous tumor (formerly called benign fibrous mesothelioma); epithelioid haemangioendothelioma; pleuropulmonary blastoma (which occurs three fairly different substituted-types); chondroma; calcifying fibrous pseudotumor of the visceral pleura); congenital peribronchial myofibroblastic tumors, diffuse pulmonary lymphangiomyomatosis and desmoplastic round cell tumor. There are assorted bronchial adenomas (e.g. adenoid cystic carcinomas, mucoepidermoid carcinomas, mucous gland adenomas, and oncocytomatous bronchial mucous gland adenoma) as well as other adenomas, including papillary adenoma. There are some papillomas, including squamous cell papilloma and glandular papilloma. There is also malignant melanoma of the lung, cylindroma (cylindroadenoma), some germ cell tumors, thymoma and sclerosing haemangioma and many others as well. Lung cancers are quite diverse. Thus, for example, oat cell carcinoma, Signet ring adenocarcinoma, pleuropulmonary blastoma, cylindroma, and malignant mesothelioma really have very little in common, other than being cancers of the lung.
E. Thyroid cancer comes in four forms: papillary thyroid cancer, follicular thyroid cancer, anaplastic thyroid cancer, and medullary thyroid cancer.
F. Cancer of the skin cells is melanoma. Malignant melanomas come in form fundimental forms, superficial spreading melanoma, Nodular melanoma, lentigo maligna melanoma and acral melanoma. These sometime occur in amelanotic form, such as in desmoplastic melanoma. There are also a very wide range of carcinomas of the skin, most notably the basal cell carcinomas (BCC), including superficial BCC, nodular BCC (solid, adenoid cystic), infiltrating BCC, sclerosing BCC (desmoplastic, morpheic), fibroepithelial BCC, BCC with adnexal differentiation, follicular BCC, eccrine BCC, basosquamous carcinoma, keratotic BCC, pigmented BCC, BCC in basal cell nevus syndrome, micronodular BCC. Another important family is the squamous cell carcinomas (SCC) which include spindle cell (sarcomatoid) SCC, acantholytic SCC, verrucous SCC, SCC with horn formation, and lymphoepithelial SCC, along with less well classified SCCs such as papillary SCC, clear cell SCC, small cell SCC, posttraumatic (e.g., Marjolin ulcer) and metaplastic (carcinosarcomatous) SCC. Another family is the eccrine carcinomas including sclerosing sweat duct carcinoma (syringomatous carcinoma, microcystic adnexal carcinoma), malignant mixed tumor of the skin (malignant chondroid syringoma), porocarcinoma, malignant nodular hidradenoma, malignant eccrine spiradenoma, mucinous eccrine carcinoma, adenoid cystic eccrine carcinoma, and aggressive digital papillary adenoma/adenocarcinoma. Other carcinomas of the skin include epidermal carcinomas, Paget disease, mammary Paget disease, merkel cell carcinoma (neuroendocrine cancer of the skin), extramammary paget disease adnexal carcinomas, apocrine carcinoma, sebaceous carcinoma, tricholemmocarcinoma and malignant pilomatricoma (matrical carcinoma). There are also skin sarcoma’s, most notably Kaposi's sarcoma, but also granulocytic sarcoma of the skin, fibroblastic/myofibroblastic sarcoma of the skin, primary extraosseus Ewing's sarcoma of the skin. There is also lymphoma of the skin, called cutaneous T cell lymphoma (CTCL) which includes mycosis fungoides, reticulum cell sarcoma of the skin and Sezary syndrome.
G. There are many types of colorectal cancers. The carcinomas include adenocarcinoma; mucinous adenocarcinoma; signet-ring cell carcinoma; small cell carcinoma; adenosquamous carcinoma; medullary carcinoma; choriocarcinoma; and undifferentiated carcinoma. The malignant lymphomas include marginal zone B-cell lymphoma of mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue type; mantle cell lymphoma; Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma; Burkitt lymphoma; and Burkitt-like/atypical Burkitt lymphoma. There are also some carcinoid tumors, sarcomas (including GISTs, leiomyosarcoma, hemangiosarcoma, angiosarcoma, Kaposi sarcoma, fibrosarcoma, neurofibrosarcoma and Leiomyosarcoma), primary plasmacytoma of the colonand primary malignant melanoma of the colon. A wide variety of cancers are secondary to the colon, e.g. ovarian carcinoma.
H. Renal carcinomas comprise the papillary renal cell carcinoma (which has two subtypes, type 1 and type 2, with very different prognostic values), clear cell renal carcinoma, chromophobe renal carcinoma, collecting duct renal carcinoma, and some unclassified carcinomas. Renal sarcomas include leiomyosarcoma, fibrosarcoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, malignant fibrous histiocytoma, liposarcoma of the kidney, malignant hemangiopericytoma, angiosarcoma of the kidney, osteosarcoma, synovial sarcoma, chondrosarcoma of the kidney, malignant mesenchymoma, and clear cell sarcoma of the kidney. Lymphomas include Primary Renal Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, primary renal MALT lymphoma, primary renal Hodgkin's lymphoma, and secondary renal lymphomas, which can be of either Hodgkin's or Non-Hodgkin's type. Other kidney cancers include transitional cell carcinoma, Wilms Tumor, malignant rhabdoid tumor of the kidney, renal melanoma, primitive neuroectodermal tumor of the kidney, neuroepithelial tumor of the kidney, and congenital mesoblastic nephroma, some renal adenomas, and oncocytomas.
I. Prostate Cancer is not a single disease or group of very closely related disorders, but ranges over a very wide variety of cancer types. It embraces various adenocarcinomas of the prostate, including prostatic ductal adenocarcinoma, adenocarcinoma with paneth-like cells, clear cell adenocarcinoma, foamy gland adenocarcinoma, adenocarcinoma of Cowper’s glands, and atrophic adenocarcinoma. It includes a huge variety of carcinomas, including mucinous carcinomas of the prostate, prostatic carcinoma of xanthomatous type, signet ring cell carcinoma of the prostate, neuroendocrine small cell carcinoma of the prostate, and other small cell carcinomas of the prostate, adenosquamous and squamous cell carcinomas, basaloid and adenoid cystic carcinoma, sarcomatoid carcinoma of the prostate, lymphoepithelioma-like carcinoma of the prostate, urothelial (transitional cell) carcinoma (which can be primary in the prostate gland or represent secondary spread from the urinary bladder), basaloid carcinoma, pseudohyperplastic carcinoma, and primary carcinoma of the seminal vesicles. There are also assorted sarcomas of the prostate, including Angiosarcoma, Embryonal rhabdomyosarcoma, Stromal sarcoma, Synovial sarcoma, Leiomyosarcoma, and chondrosarcoma of the prostate, which can be primary or secondary to the prostate. Also included is prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (PIN), phyllodes tumor of the prostate, primitive peripheral neuroectodermal tumor (PNET) and malignant fibrous histiocytoma. There are also lymphomas, which are usually secondary, but primary ones include diffuse large B-cell lymphoma. The great majority of this list is not treatable with pharmaceuticals.
J. Penile carcinoma is usually a squamous cell carcinoma (including cancinoma in situ or Bowen disease), but there is also penile clear cell carcinoma, and sarcomatoid carcinoma. There is also primary reticulum cell sarcoma of the penis, Kaposi sarcoma of the penis, and Paget disease o the Penis.
K. The carcinomas of the extrahepatic bile ducts are of numerous types, including carcinoma in situ, adenocarcinoma, papillary adenocarcinoma, adenocarcinoma (intestinal-type), mucinous adenocarcinoma, clear cell adenocarcinoma, signet ring cell carcinoma, adenosquamous carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, small cell carcinoma (oat cell carcinoma) and undifferentiated carcinoma of the extrahepatic bile ducts.
L. Breast cancers come in great variety. The most important category of breast cancers is the ductal cancers. These come in an assortment of types. Presently, these are divided into the following categories: intraductal (in situ); invasive with predominant intraductal component; invasive, NOS; Comedo; Inflammatory (IBC); medullary with lymphocytic infiltrate; mucinous carcinoma (colloid carcinoma); papillary carcinoma; scirrhous; tubular; and other. Another category is the Lobular breast cancers, which can be in situ, Invasive with predominant in situ component, and Invasive. There is Paget’s disease of the nipple, which can be also with intraductal carcinoma or with invasive ductal carcinoma. There is adenomyoepithelioma , a dimorphic tumor characterized by the presence of both epithelial and myoepithelial cells. There is lymphoma of the breast (which exists in both Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma of the breast and Hodgkin's disease of the breast forms). There are some sarcomas, including giant cell sarcoma of the breast, leiomyosarcoma of the breast, angiosarcoma of the breast, cystosarcoma phylloides, and liposarcoma of the breast. There are carcinoid tumors which can be primary carcinoid tumors of the breast, or can arise from nonmammary sources. There are breast salivary gland-like tumors, including acinic cell carcinoma, oncocytic carcinoma (mammary epithelial oncocytoma), and mucoepidermoid carcinoma. Other rare carcinomas include spindle cell carcinoma of the breast, squamous cell carcinoma of the breast, secretory carcinoma of the breast (juvenile secretory carcinoma), metaplastic carcinoma of the breast (a heterogeneous group of invasive breast cancers including types with squamous differentiation and those with heterologous elements), invasive micropapillary carcinoma of the breast, adenoid cystic carcinoma of the breast, cribriform carcinoma, myofibroblastoma of the breast (benign spindle stromal tumor of the breast) and glycogen-rich clear cell carcinoma of the breast. There are also nonmammary tumors, primarily adenocarcinomas, that can metastasize to the breast including bronchogenic carcinomas, malignant melanomas (primary and secondary), rhabdomyosarcomas, malignant mesotheliomas, thyroid carcinomas, renal cell carcinomas, malignant lymphomas, and gastrointestinal carcinomas (including those from the stomach, pancreas, esophagus, and colon). Complicating the treatment of breast carcinomas is the fact that a significant proportion of mammary carcinomas are not monoclonal.
M. Ovarian cancers are a heterogeneous group of tumors. The most important are the epithelial tumors. These are themselves fairly diverse, the categories being serous cystomas (serous benign cystadenomas, serous cystadenomas with proliferating activity of the epithelial cells and nuclear abnormalities but with no infiltrative destructive growth and serous cystadenocarcinomas); mucinous cystomas (divided the same three ways); clear cell tumors (mesonephroid tumors, again divided the same way), endometrioid tumors (similar to adenocarcinomas in the endometrium: endometrioid benign cysts, endometrioid tumors with proliferating activity of the epithelial cells and endometrioid adenocarcinomas), mixed mesodermal (now considered to be carcinomas with areas of sarcomatous differentiation), transitional cell carcinoma, the Brenner tumor, and mixed epithelials. Second, there are the granulosa-stromal cell tumors. These include the granulosa cell tumor (which exists in juvenile and adult forms) and the tumors in the thecoma-fibroma sub-group. This sub-group also includes thecoma-fibroma group typical: thecoma and luteinized thecoma, as well as fibroma, cellular fibroma, fibrosarcoma, stromal tumor with minor sex cord elements, sclerosing stromal tumor, signet ring cell stromal tumor and others. Third, there are the Sertoli stromal cell tumors: Sertoli-Leydig cell tumor of the ovary (which comes in three different levels of differentiation, as well as a retiform version); Sertoli cell tumor (tubular androblastoma), and Stromal- Leydig cell tumor. Fourth are the Sex cord-stromal tumors of mixed or unclassified cell types: sex cord tumor with annular tubules, gynandroblastoma of the ovary (composed of sex cord and stromal cells of both ovarian and testicular types), and sex cord-stromal tumor NOS. Fifth, there are the steroid cell tumors: Ovarian Leydig cell tumor, which comes in hilus and non-hilar types, Stromal luteoma, and steroid cell tumor, NOS. Sixth, there is an assortment of Germ Cell Tumors. These include dysgerminoma; yolk sac tumors (endodermal sinus tumor, and polyvesicular vitelline tumor, hepatoid and others); embryonal carcinoma; polyembryoma; choriocarcinoma, gonadoblastoma and a wide variety of teratomas. These tetromas include immature, cystic (dermoid cyst), retiform (homunculus), and Monodermal, including struma ovarii, carcinoid (insular and trabecular), struma carcinoid, mucinous carcinoid, neuroectodermal tumors, sebaceous tumors and others. There are also the teratocarcinomas which come in many mixture types. Finally, there are assortments of other tumors which do not fit into the above categories. There is Tumors of Rete Ovarii (which can be adenomatoid tumor or a mesothelioma). There are some tumors of uncertain origin, including small cell carcinoma, tumors of probable wolffian origin, a hepatoid carcinoma and oncocytoma. There are some soft tissue tumors not specific to ovary, and there are assorted malignant lymphomas and leukemias which land up in the ovaries.
N. Testicular cancers. All of the germ cell tumors listed above except for dysgerminoma also appears as cancers of the testis. In addition, seminoma itself as well as spermatocytic seminoma and choriocarcinoma of the testis are germ cell cancers of the testis. There are both juvenile and adult forms of the Granulosa cell tumor, as well as other cancers of the gonadal stroma, including leiomyomas, and neurofibromas. In addition to the germ cell cancers, there are the Sex cord-gonadal stromal tumors, including Sertoli cell tumor, Leydig cell tumor, and mixed form called Sertoli-Leydig cell tumor, and Gynandroblastoma of the testis. There are both adenomas and adenocarcinomas of collecting ducts and rete testis. There are a range of secondary tumors of the testis, most commonly Lymphomas, but also leukemic infiltration of the Testis, and metastatic cancers from the prostate or lung.
O. Paratesticular cancers (cancers of the spermatic cord, epididymis, vestigial remnants, and tunica vaginalis) are commonly classified separately from testicular cancers, and are rather varied. These include rhabdomyosarcoma of the spermatic cord (which can occur in embryonal, alveolar, and pleomorphic subtypes), liposarcomas, leiomyosarcomas, ovarian-type epithelial tumors, the desmoplastic small round cell tumor, the melanotic neuroectodermal tumor of infancy, primary paratesticular neuroblastoma, primary hematopoietic tumors of the paratesticular structures, plasmacytoma and granulocytic sarcoma of the paratestis, malignant schwannoma, malignant fibrous histiocytoma, malignant spermatic cord fibrosarcoma, and pleomorphic hyalinizing angiectatic tumor. There are also an assortment of secondary tumors, especially from the prostate, testis, kidney, and stomach.
P. Cancers of the vulva are mostly squamous carcinoma, but these also include melanoma, Bartholin's Adenocarcinoma, basal cell carcinoma and some sarcomas.
Q. Vaginal cancers are primarily squamous carcinoma, but some are adenocarcinoma, melanoma of the vagina; sarcoma of the vagina, bowen's disease and germ cell tumors.
R. The most important of the cancers of the uterus are the Endometrial Carcinomas. The great majority of these are endometrioid; others include uterine papillary serous tumor (upst), clear cell carcinoma, mucinous and squamous. There is also plexiform tumorlet, Intravenous leiomyomatosis, benign metastasizing leiomyoma, leiomyomatosis peritonealis disseminate and leiomyosarcoma. Endometrial Tumors include endometrial stromal nodule, endolymphatic stromal myosis, and endometrial stromal sarcoma. There are the mixed tumors: Müllerian adenosarcoma and Malignant mixed mesodermal tumors (MMMT). Other sarcomas are rhabdosarcoma, osteosarcoma, chondrosarcoma and hemangiopericytoma. Some uterine cancers are secondary, starting in e.g. the tissue that begins to develop immediately after conception: epithelioid trophoblastic tumor, choriocarcinoma , and placental site trophoblastic tumors (PSTT).
S. There are several main types of stomach cancers, which are very different from each other. (1) Lymphomas of the stomach are found in the wall of the stomach. These come in two main categories. One is the Non-Hodgkin's lymphomas of the stomach, including MALT lymphoma, and assorted Large Cell Lymphoma of the Stomach such as anaplastic Ki-1 (CD30) positive large cell lymphoma. The other is Hodgkin Lymphoma in the Stomach. These include both lymphomas which are primary to the stomach, and nodal lymphomas that have spread to the stomach from e.g. the spleen or liver and are thus secondary. There are Tertiary gastric lymphomas as well. (2) Gastric stromal tumors (GISTs) develop from the tissue of the stomach wall. There are an assortments of these; GISTs vary from cellular spindle cell tumors to epithelioid and pleomorphic ones. (3) Carcinoid tumors are tumors of hormone-producing cells of the stomach. These are classified into are classified into those that are associated with hypergastrinemic states (type 1, atrophic gastritis, pernicious anemia); Zollinger-Ellison syndrome [ZES] tumors (type 2), and tumors without hypergastrinemia (type 3 or sporadic). (4) Carcinoma of the Stomach exists in five types: papillary, tubular, mucinous, signet-ring cell adenocarcinoma and undifferentiated carcinoma. (5) Soft tissue sarcomas, most notably leiomyosarcoma of the stomach.
T. Cancer of the esophagus is most commonly a squamous cell carcinoma or an adenocarcinoma. However, melanomas, both primary and secondary can occur, and spindle cell carcinoma and Kaposi’s sarcoma can also occur in the esophagus. There is also primary oat cell carcinoma of the esophagus, choriocarcinoma of the esophagus, carcinoid tumor of the esophagus, adenosquamous carcinoma of the esophagus and the related mucoepidermoid carcinoma of the esophagus, and cylindroma of the esophagus. In addition, verrucous carcinomas and pseudosarcomas of the esophagus have been reported.
U. Cancers of the spleen which are primary are commonly divided into vascular, lymphoid and non-lymphoid. Vascular tumors include hemangiosarcoma, lymphangiosarcoma, hemangioendothelial sarcoma and malignant hemangiopericytoma of the spleen, all of which are considered malignant. Lymphoid tumors include both Hodgkin's and Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, plasmacytoma and Castleman's tumor. Nonlymphoid tumors are more diverse, and include malignant fibrous histiocytoma, fibrosarcomas, leiomyosarcomas, malignant teratomas, and Kaposi's sarcoma of the spleen.There are also metastatic tumors, secondary to tumors most typically from the lung, stomach, pancreas, liver, breast and colon. These are typically adenocarcinomas or squamous cell carcinomas, but large cell carcinoma, small cell carcinoma, hepatocellular carcinoma, melanoma, mesothelioma and choriocarcinoma are known as well.
V. Salivary gland carcinomas arguably represent the most heterogeneous group of tumors of any tissue in the body. The main four histopathologic types are: (1) mucoepidermoid carcinoma (2) adenoid cystic carcinoma (which has three histologic types: cribriform, tubular, and solid), (3) adenocarcinoma which includes acinic cell carcinoma, polymorphous low-grade adenocarcinoma, Sebaceous Lymphadenocarcinoma, adenocarcinoma not otherwise specified (NOS), Mucinous adenocarcinoma, and cystadenocarcinoma; (4) salivary duct carcinoma. In addition, there is an adenosquamous carcinoma, lymphoepithelial carcinoma, epithelial–myoepithelial carcinoma, basal cell adenocarcinoma, sebaceous carcinoma, oncocytic carcinoma, myoepithelial carcinoma, and clear cell carcinoma of the salivary glands NOS (hyalinizing clear cell carcinoma). In addition to the carcinomas, there are some adenomas, including carcinoma ex-pleomorphic adenoma, pleomorphic salivary adenoma, canalicular adenoma, oxyphilic adenoma, papillary cystadenoma, lymphadenoma, sebaceous adenoma, basal cell adenoma, and ductal cystadenoma. There are two ductal papillomas: inverted ductal papilloma and intraductal papilloma. There is also an assortment of perinatal salivary gland tumors. There are a group of haematolymphoid salivary Tumors: Hodgkin lymphoma, Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma and extranodal marginal zone B-cell lymphoma. In addition, there is a salivary haemangioma, warthin tumor, salivary carcinosarcoma, sialadenoma papilliferum, oncocytoma, and myoepithelioma of the salivary glands, Low-Grade Cribriform Cystadenocarcinoma (LGCCC), and sialoblastoma.
W. Cancers of the Heart (including pericardium, valves, etc.) include a wide range of primary cardiac sarcomas, including angiosarcomas, undifferentiated sarcomas, osteosarcomas, fibrosarcomas, malignant fibrous sarcomas, histiocytomas, leiomyosarcomas, myxosarcomas, synovial sarcomas, neurofibrosarcomas, rhabdomyosarcomas, reticulum cell sarcomas, desmoplastic small round cell tumors, and liposarcomas. Primary heart tumors also include atrial myxoma, rhabdomyoma, papillary fibroelastoma of the endocardium, and teratoma. There is also Purkinje cell hamartoma of the conduction tissue. In the Pericardium, there is also malignant schwannoma, aberrant synoviosarcoma, neurofibroma and aberrant thymoma. Secondary tumors of the heart are more common, and can arrive by many pathways. For example, bronchogenic carcinoma can arrive by direct extension or by a combination of lymphatic and hematogenous dissemination. breast, lung and esophagus carcinomas, hodgkin and non-hodgkin lymphomas, melanomas, mesothelioma, renal cell carcinoma, leukemias, Kaposi sarcoma and osteosarcomas are the most common forms, but there are many more.
X. Odontogenic tumors are cancers of the jaw derived from primordial tooth-forming tissues. The epithelial tumors include squamous odontogenic tumor, adenomatoid odontogenic tumor, calcifying epithelial odontogenic tumor (Pindborg tumor), and ameloblastoma. And adamantinoma and adamantinomatous craniopharyngioma are included here as well. The mixed odontogenic tumors include ameloblastic fibro-odontoma, and ameloblastic fibroma. The mesenchymal odontogenic tumors include cementoblastoma, and odontogenic myxoma. There is also ameloblastic fibrosarcoma, granular cell ameloblastic fibroma, ameloblastic sarcoma, malignant ameloblastoma, ameloblastic carcinoma, clear cell odontogenic carcinoma, odontoameloblastoma and squamous odontogenic tumors.
Y. Cancers of the oral cavity and oropharynx, including the tongue is most commonly squamous cell carcinoma and Verrucous carcinoma. There are also lymphomas of the tonsils and base of the tongue, Nasopharyngeal carcinoma (which exists in three subtypes), as well as neurofibroma, schwannoma and rhabdomyoma of the mouth. In addition, HPV-positive oropharyngeal cancer is now considered a distinct disease entity. Salivary gland cancers and odontogenic tumors are discussed separately above.
Z. Cancers of the lymph glands are of course the lymphomas. There are also carcinomas of the lymph nodes, including large cell carcinoma of the lymph nodes, metastatic squamous cell carcinoma of the lymph nodes, primary neuroendocrine carcinoma of the lymph nodes and Merkel cell carcinoma of the lymph nodes. There is also generalized reticulum cell sarcoma of the lymph nodes, Kaposi's sarcoma of the lymph nodes and lymph node melanoma.
AA. Cancers of the adrenal glands include adrenocortical carcinoma, pheochromocytoma, adrenal neuroblastoma, and adrenal ganglioneuroma.
AB. Cancer of the eye is a very loose category, as the set of cancers involved depends very much on which structure of the eye or its adnexa is involved. Choroidal tumors include choroidal melanoma, ciliary body melanoma choroidal osteoma and metastatic choroidal tumors, including tumors from the lung, breast, prostate, kidney, thyroid and blood. Eyelid tumors include basal cell carcinoma, malignant melanoma of the eyelid, sebaceous carcinoma of the eyelid and squamous carcinoma of the eyelid. Iris tumors include iris melanoma, malignant iris melanocytoma, and anterior uveal metastasis, most commonly from breast, lung, prostate, skin, kidney, colon and thyroid. Optic nerve tumors include juxtapapillary choroidal melanoma (choroidal melanoma affecting the optic nerve), circumpapillary metastasis with optic neuropathy, and optic nerve melanocytoma. Retinal tumors include retinal pigment epithelium tumors, and retinoblastoma. Conjunctival tumors are quite varied, and include conjunctival kaposi's sarcoma, epibulbar dermoid, lymphoma of the conjunctiva, pigmented conjunctival tumors (a malignant melanoma), and squamous carcinoma (including intraepithelial neoplasia of the conjunctiva). Infiltrative intraocular tumors include chronic lymphocytic leukemia, infiltrative choroidopathy and intraocular lymphoma. Orbital tumors include adenoid cystic carcinoma of the lacrimal gland, lymphangioma of the orbit, orbital pseudotumor, and orbital rhabdomyosarcoma. Optic nerve gliomas are mentioned above in cancers of the brain.
AC. Cervical cancers. There are many different categories and sub-categories of cervical cancers. The majority of cervical cancers are Squamous Cell Carcinomas. These come in numerous types: large cell nonkeratinizing type; large cell keratinizing type; basaloid; verrucous; warty; papillary; lymphoepithelioma-like; and squamotransitional, Early invasive (microinvasive) squamous cell carcinoma; Squamous intraepithelial neoplasia (including Cervical intraepithelial neoplasia and Squamous cell carcinoma in situ). There are also a variety of adenocarcinomas, the most important of which are the mucinous adenocarcinoma, which include the endocervical, intestinal, signet-ring cell, minimal deviation, and villoglandular. There is also endometrioid adenocarcinoma, clear cell adenocarcinoma, serous adenocarcinoma, mesonephric adenocarcinoma, Early invasive adenocarcinoma, and adenocarcinoma in situ. In addition, there are neuroendocrine carcinomas, divided into Small cell, large cell, classical carcinoid and atypical carcinoid. Other epithelial tumors include adenosquamous carcinoma, mixed adenosquamous carcinomas, which can be either well-differentiated or poorly differentiated, the latter including glassy cell carcinoma, adenoid cystic carcinoma, adenoid basal carcinoma and undifferentiated carcinoma. There are also some mixed carcinoma with signet-ring cells, and other types of other poorly differentiated mixed carcinomas. This group includes tumors sometimes called apudomas or argyrophil cell carcinomas. There are also an assortment of mesenchymal tumors of the cervix, including leiomyosarcoma; endometrioid stromal sarcoma, low grade; undifferentiated endocervical sarcoma; sarcoma botryoides; alveolar soft part sarcoma, angiosarcoma of the cervix, malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumor of the cervix; cervical leiomyoma; and rhabdomyoma of the cervix. There are also some mixed epithelial and mesenchymal tumors, including carcinosarcoma (malignant müllerian mixed tumor), adenosarcoma, Wilms tumor, typical and atypical polypoid adenomyoma, and papillary adenofibroma of the cervix. There are also melanocytic tumors, including primary malignant melanoma of the cervix and blue naevus of the cervix. There are also germ cell type tumors, including yolk sac tumor, dermoid cyst, and mature cystic teratoma of the cervix. There is also primary choriocarcinoma of the cervix, which does not fit well into any category. There are also numerous cancers secondary to the cervix.
AD. Gestational Trophoblastic Neoplasia is cancer of the placenta; it actually derives from the conceptus rather than from the pregnant woman. It has three different forms: choriocarcinoma, placental site trophoblastic tumor, epithelioid trophoblastic tumor
AE. Cancer of the throat is a loose term, depending on the particular structure. Cancers of the oropharynx are discussed above in cancers of the oral cavity. Hypopharyngeal cancer is usually a form of squamous cell carcinoma, including basaloid squamous cell carcinoma, superficial spreading cancer, sebaceous cancer, adenosquamous cancer, and signet-ring and verrucous types. Less common forms of hypopharyngeal cancer include adenocarcinoma, lymphoma, and sarcoma. Nasopharyngeal cancer is usually a carcinoma, and is commonly divided into three types: keratinizing squamous cell carcinoma, non-keratinizing carcinoma, and undifferentiated carcinoma. There are also rhabdomyosarcomas and lymphomas as well.
AF. Cancer of the thymus is normal a carcinoma, called thymoma, including Type C, also called thymic carcinoma, and a clear cell carcinoma of the thymus. There are also a series of germ cell tumors of the thymus as well as both Hodgkin and non-Hodgkin lymphomas. There are also carcinoid tumors of the Kulchitsky cells.
AG. Fallopian Tube Cancer most commonly takes the form of a papillary serous adenocarcinoma. There are also leiomyosarcomas (arising from smooth muscle in the fallopian tubes), squamous cell carcinoma, choriocarcinoma, and transitional cell carcinomas. Secondary cancers are more common, and come from the ovaries, the endometrium, the GI tract, the peritoneum, and the breast.
AH. Bladder cancers. Most cases of bladder cancers are transitional cell (urothelial) carcinoma, which includes non-invasive papillary urothelial carcinoma, flat urothelial carcinoma in situ (CIS), superficially invasive urothelial carcinoma, and muscle invasive tumors. Adenocarcinomas of the bladder include Primary Adenocarcinoma (urachal and non-urachal), Prostatic adenocarcinoma, Gastro-intestinal adenocarcinomas and Clear cell carcinoma. Squamous cell carcinomas include Verrucous carcinomas, and a secondary squamous cell carcinoma of the bladder, from the cervix. Small cell carcinomas include Primary small cell carcinoma of the bladder and the secondary small cell carcinoma ('reserve cell carcinoma') of the lung. Lymphomas include the primary lymphomas (Low grade B-cell lymphoma of MALT type, High grade B-cell lymphoma, and T-cell lymphoma), as well as secondary lymphomas, including mantle cell lymphomas. Melanomas include Primary Malignant melanoma of the bladder, and secondary ones. The sarcomas of the bladder are leiomyosarcoma, osteosarcoma and rhabdomyosarcoma. There is also a primary primitive neuroectodermal tumour (PNET) of the bladder, Paraganglioma (which can metastasize), nephrogenic adenoma, metastatic renal cell carcinoma of the bladder, and both primary and secondary (from the uterus) choriocarcinoma of the bladder.
AI. Cancers of the gallbladder are most commonly adenocarcinomas, including non papillary adenocarcinoma, papillary adenocarcinoma, and mucinous adenocarcinoma. There is also squamous cell, adenosquamous, and oat cell carcinoma, of the gallbladder. Primary non-Hodgkin's lymphoma of the gallbladder, exists in both MALT and non-MALT forms. Primary neuroendocrine tumors (NETs) of the gallbladder can be of either large-cell or small-cell type. Primary gallbladder sarcoma (PGBS) include Leiomyosarcomas, myxofibrosarcomas, epithelioid angiosarcomas, and botryoid embryonal rhabdomyosarcomas. There is also primary malignant melanoma of the gall bladder, although secondary melanoma of the gallbladder is much more common.
(2) The state of the prior art and (4) The predictability or unpredictability of the art:
While the state of the art is relatively high with regard to the treatment of specific cancer types, the state of the art with regard to treating cancer broadly is underdeveloped. In particular, there is no known anticancer agent that is effective against all cancer cell types. The cancer treatment art involves a very high level of unpredictability. While the state of the art is relatively high with regard to the treatment of specific cancers with specific agents, it has long been underdeveloped with regard to the treatment of cancers broadly. The lack of significant guidance from the present specification or prior art with regard to the actual treatment of all cancer cells in a mammal, including a human subject, with the claimed active ingredient makes practicing the claimed invention unpredictable.
The technology regarding transfer of expanded cells to treat cancer is extremely unpredictable and inventions involving this technology require undue experimentation to produce therapeutic results. For example, tumor infiltrating lymphocytes (TILs) are a very heterogeneous cell population, and the subpopulations that could provide the most convenient source of TILs for adoptive cell transfer (ACT) have not yet been defined (see e.g. Strizova et al (Cancer Immunology, Immunotherapy (2019) 68:1831–1838), page 1833). Morotti et al (British Journal of Cancer (2021) 124:1759–1776) teach that several challenges exist with ensuring efficacy of T cell based therapy (see e.g. page 1759, right column). For example, cancer heterogeneity represents a pivotal challenge for the development of neoantigen-directed-therapies (see e.g. page 1760, right column). Predicting neoantigens that are shared amongst a substantial proportion of the target cell population is vital for the success of ACT, irrespective of which gene a mutation resides in (see e.g. Morotti, page 1761, left column). The identification of clonal mutations relies on the accurate computation of the prevalence of mutations in a tumor (see e.g. Morotti, page 1761, left column). This is not a trivial task and is often confounded by normal cell contamination, substantial heterogeneity and copy number alterations (see e.g. Morotti, page 1761, left column). Another key challenge is that only a few predicted neoantigens encoded by somatic non-synonymous mutations are actually immunogenic (see e.g. Morotti, page 1761, left column). Therefore challenges exist in determining the anti-tumor reactivity of neoantigen-specific T-cells, and it is important to note that not every specific neoepitope gives an immune response (see e.g. Morotti, page 1761, right column last paragraph to page 1762, left column first paragraph). It is important to note that the immunogenicity of neoantigens has been challenged (see e.g. Morotti, page 1764, right column). A study using data from The Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA) showed that neoantigen depletion, detected using HLA affinity predictions, is weak or absent in the untreated cancer genome overall (see e.g. Morotti, page 1764, right column). In a further complication, the number of expanded TCRs found ubiquitously across all tumor samples in lung cancer or paired metastatic breast and ovarian cancer implies that some level of immune surveillance directed against clonal neoantigens can be initiated early and maintained through all levels of cancer development, including metastatic progression (see e.g. Morotti, page 1764, left column). This means that the timing of initiation of immunological sculpting is an important question in applying ACT (see e.g. Morotti, page 1764, left column). As is evident through the observed lack of cancer cell elimination, immune escape mechanisms capable of preventing T-cell mediated death might be an extremely early event in cancer evolution (see e.g. Morotti, page 1764, left column).
Additionally, tumors react differently to cell transfer therapies such as adoptive cell transfer, making this type of therapy unpredictable. According to Strizova et al (Cancer Immunology, Immunotherapy (2019) 68:1831–1838), adoptive cell transfer (ACT) is a particular form of cell-based anticancer immunotherapy, which may be one potential treatment modality in metastatic diseases, where conventional therapy tends to fail (see e.g. Strizova, page 1832). ACT is a cell therapy based on immune cells extracted from the patient, processed in vitro, extensively expanded, then transferred back to the patient (see e.g. Strizova, page 1832). The following in vitro expansion of the cells allows the tumor-specific cells to be grown outside the immunosuppressive tumor microenvironment these cells encounter in vivo (see e.g. Strizova, page 1832). ACT has been shown in clinical trials to cause objective clinical responses in 40–72% of patients with metastatic melanoma. However, in addition to clearly not being capable of treating all melanoma tumors, ACT has shown limited efficacy for other tumor types such as metastatic renal cell carcinoma (mRCC; see e.g. Strizova, page 1832). Taken together, one of skill in the art would conclude that the field of cell transfer therapy is at best extremely unpredictable, requiring undue experimentation to reasonably practice the claimed method.
With regard to cancer treatment, Bally et al. (US 5,595,756) stated, “Despite enormous investments of financial and human resources, no cure exists for a variety of diseases. For example, cancer remains one of the major causes of death. A number of bioactive agents have been found, to varying degrees, to be effective against tumor cells. However, the clinical use of such antitumor agents has been highly compromised because of treatment-limiting toxicities” (col. 1, lines 17-24).
Sporn et al, “Chemoprevention of Cancer,” Carcinogenesis, Vol. 21 (2000), 525-530, teaches the magnitude of mortality of cancers and that mortalities are in fact still rising and that new approaches to a variety of different cancer are critically needed. Sporn et al also teaches that “given the genotype and phenotype heterogeneity of advanced malignant lesions as they occur in individual patients, one wonders just exactly what are the specific molecular and cellular targets for the putative cure.”
Furthermore, the art indicates the difficulties in going from in vitro to in vivo for drug development for treatment of cancers. Auerbach et al (Cancer and Metastasis Reviews, 2000, 19: 167-172) indicates that one of the major problems in angiogenesis research has been the difficulty of finding suitable methods for assessing the angiogenic response. For example, the 96 well rapid screening assay for cytokinesis was developed in order to permit screening of hybridoma supernatants…In vitro tests in general have been limited by the availability of suitable sources for endothelial cells, while in vivo assays have proven difficult to quantitate, limited in feasibility, and the test sites are not typical of the in vivo reality (see p. 167, left column, 1st paragraph). Gura T (Science, 1997, 278(5340): 1041-1042, encloses 1-5) indicates that “the fundamental problem in drug discovery for cancer is that the model systems are not predictive at all” (see p. 1, 2nd paragraph). Furthermore, Gura T indicates that the results of xenograft screening turned out to be not much better than those obtained with the original models, mainly because the xenograft rumors don’t behave like naturally occurring tumors in humans—they don’t spread to other tissues, for example (see p. 2, 4th paragraph). Further, when patient’s tumor cells in Petri dishes or culture flasks and monitor the cells’ responses to various anticancer treatments, they don’t work because the cells simply fail to divide in culture, and the results cannot tell a researcher how anticancer drugs will act in the body (see p. 3, 7th paragraph). Furthermore, Jain RK (Scientific American, July 1994,58-65) indicates that the existing pharmacopoeia has not markedly reduced the number of deaths caused by the most common solid tumors in adults, among them cancers of the lung, breast, colon, rectum, prostate and brain (see p. 58, left most column, 1st paragraph). Further, Jain RK indicates that to eradicate tumors, the therapeutic agents must then disperse throughout the growths in concentrations high enough to eliminate every deadly cells…solid cancers frequently impose formidable barriers to such dispersion (see p. 58, bottom of the left most column continuing onto the top of the middle column). Jain RK indicates that there are 3 critical tasks that drugs must do to attack malignant cells in a tumor: 1) it has to make its way into a microscopic blood vessel lying near malignant cells in the tumor, 2) exit from the vessel into the surrounding matrix, and 3) migrate through the matrix to the cells. Unfortunately, tumors often develop in ways that hinder each of these steps (see p. 58, bottom of right most column). Further, as taught by HogenEsch et al (J Control Release. 2012 December 10; 164(2): 183–186.) There is no single cell culture or in vivo cancer model that faithfully predicts the efficacy of
anticancer drugs in human clinical trials. Cell culture approaches offer the advantage of human-derived cell lines or tissue fragments from primary tumors, but cannot mimic the complexity of the reciprocal interaction between the growing tumor and the co-evolving microenvironment. Xenografts in immunodeficient mice have limited added value over cell culture models as the lack of an intact immune system and insufficient interactions between the human tumor cells and mouse stromal cells do not recapitulate human cancers. Thus, the art recognizes that going from in vitro studies to in vivo studies for cancer drug developments are difficult to achieve.
Given Bally et al teaching of treatment-limiting toxicities in clinical use, Sporn’s teaching that the cancer progression is heterogeneous as it progresses, both in genotype and phenotype, Auerbach et al teaching that one of the major problems in angiogenesis research has been the difficulty of finding suitable methods for assessing the angiogenic response, Gura’s teaching that the models are unpredictable, and Jain’s teaching that the existing pharmacopoeia has not markedly reduced the number of deaths caused by the most common solid tumors in adults, among them cancers of the lung, breast, colon, rectum, prostate and brain demonstrates that the treatment of cancer is highly unpredictable, if even possible for many cancers.
(6) the amount of direction or guidance presented; (7) the presence or absence of working examples:
As stated above, ACT has been shown in clinical trials to cause objective clinical responses in 40–72% of patients with metastatic melanoma, therefore treatment of metastatic melanoma is found to be enabled.
The instant specification teaches single cell RNA sequencing to track tumor-relevant T cell responses, using the TCR as a molecular barcode for paired tumor and blood samples to characterize tumor matching blood CD8+ T cells that shared TCR sequences with TIL population in mice. The specification further describes obtaining transcriptional signatures of tumor-matching CD8+ T cells in the blood to identify markers for enrichment via flow cytometry. Further analysis was conducted with machine learning and other computational tools to identify cell surface markers. The same types of analysis was also conducted on samples from checkpoint treatment-naïve advanced melanoma human patients. However, the specification never administers any “tumor-matching” cells to a patient to treat cancer, and in fact does not demonstrate any treatment of cancer with any agent. There is no evidence of therapeutic effect in the specification; the only evidence presented in the working examples provide in vitro characterization of cells that were never actually tested for therapeutic activity. One of skill in the art would therefore be required to engage in an enormous amount of experimentation to identify the characteristics of “tumor-matching” T cells, identify a method for expansion of these cells that does not affect the “tumor-matching” characteristics of the cells, then administer these cells to a tumor to treat all types of cancer. This amounts to undue experimentation, especially given the known unpredictability in the field of cell transfer therapy.
In conclusion, the claimed invention does not provide enablement for the claimed method. Thus for the reasons outlined above, the specification is not considered to be enabling for one skilled in the art to make and use the claimed invention as the amount of experimentation required is undue, due to the broad scope of the claims, the lack of guidance and working examples provided in the specification. Therefore, the specification is not representative of the instant claims and the specification is not fully enabled for the instant claims. In view of the above, one of skill in the art would be forced into undue experimentation to practice the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-6, 17 and 18 recite the term “tumor-matching”, which renders the claim scope indefinite. The term "Tumor-matching T cells" or "TM cells" is defined as referring to T cells in a subject's blood that have common T cell receptors (TCRs) or markers with tumor infiltrating lymphocytes (e.g., T cells) in the subject's tumor ("tumor T cells") (see instant specification paragraph [0024]). The term “common” is relative, and not defined in the specification. The specification does not set forth criteria to identify “common” TCRs or markers, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 3, 5, 6, 16-18 recite “NKG2D” and “KLRK1”. These are names for the same gene product. See NCBI record for “KLRK1” downloaded from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/gene/22914 on 4/15/25; last updated on 8/7/25). The scope of the claim is indefinite because the differences between the proteins encompassed by the terms is unclear.
The terms “increased” and “decreased” in claims 3, 5, 6, and 16-18 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “increased” and “decreased” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 and 16 recites the broad recitation “anti-cancer agent”, and the claim also recites “immunotherapeutic” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 8 and 19 recites the broad recitation “immunomodulator”, and the claim also recites “checkpoint inhibitor” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In claim 8 and 19, the term “checkpoint inhibitor” renders the claims indefinite. Specification paragraph [0063] states that "checkpoint inhibitor" refers to “a form of immunotherapy that targets immune checkpoints, key regulators of the immune system, that when stimulated can dampen the immune response to an immunologic stimulus.” The specification does not define “key regulators of the immune system”, which is a relative phrase that does not provide comparison to establish what regulators are “key”. Further the term ”dampen” is also a relative term. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of the terms, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Further, the available art demonstrates varying definitions for the term. The National Cancer Institute (downloaded from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/types/immunotherapy/checkpoint-inhibitors on 10/30/23) states that “Immunotherapy drugs called immune checkpoint inhibitors work by blocking checkpoint proteins from binding with their partner proteins. This prevents the “off” signal from being sent, allowing the T cells to kill cancer cells.” Some medical professionals define “immune checkpoint inhibitors” as “monoclonal antibodies that prevent this immunosuppression by blocking the engagement of these checkpoint molecules, thereby reinvigorating the antitumor immune response” (see Himmel et al, CMAJ 2020 June 15;192:E651; entire reference). In contrast, others include small molecules in the definition of “checkpoint inhibitor” and suggest that small molecule inhibitors “target immune checkpoints in several ways, such as blocking signaling between tumorigenic factors, building immune tolerance, and direct inhibition via epigenetic repression of immune inhibitory molecules” (see Smith et al (Am J Transl Res 2019;11(2):529-541, especially abstract and first page). This indicates that the term “checkpoint inhibitor” does not have a standard accepted definition in the art. Because the term is also not defined in the specification, the limitation renders the claim indefinite.
In claim 8 and 19, the term “immunomodulator” renders the claims indefinite. Specification paragraph [0064] states that "immunomodulator" refers to “therapeutic agents that modulate the immune system.” The specification does not define “modulation”, which is a relative phrase that does not provide comparison to establish what criteria must be met for “modulation”. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree of the terms, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims depending from the rejected claims do not remedy the deficiency and therefore are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 2019/0262399 A1; filed 9/7/17; published 8/29/19).
The instant claims are directed to a method of treating cancer in a patient in need thereof comprising isolating tumor-matching T cells from blood obtained from the patient, expanding the isolated T cells ex vivo to produce expanded tumor-matching T cells, and administering the expanded cells to the patient to treat the cancer. The cells can be CD8+ T cells. The tumor-matching cells can have an increased expression of KLRD1, NKG2D, KLRK1, CXCR3, CD39, LGAS1, and/or LGALS3. The tumor-matching cells can have a decreased expression of LTB, CCR7, GYPC, and/or FLT3LG. The method can further comprise administering an additional agent such as pembrolizumab. The cancer can be melanoma.
Regarding the limitations of instant claim 1, Wang teaches a method of isolating from a biological sample an immune cells or immune cell population, in vitro expanding the immune cell, and administering the expanded immune cell to a subject (see e.g. claim 18, 35, 49, 68, 72; paragraph [0155]). The immune cell can be characterized by a signature, and can be present in a pharmaceutical composition (see e.g. claim 14, 34, 49, 68). The cells obtained can display tumor specificity (i.e. “tumor-matching”, see e.g. paragraph [0183], [0238], [0248], claim 42, 49, and 52). The cell can be used in a method for eliciting an immune response in a subject (see e.g. claim 34, 49, 73; paragraph [0050], [0157]). The cell can comprise an immune cell signature (see e.g. paragraph [0157]. The isolated cell can be used to treat a tumor or cancer (see e.g. paragraph [0067]-[0069], and claim 73, 78, 79). The T cells can be isolated from blood samples (see e.g. paragraph [0162]).
Regarding the limitation of instant claim 2, the cells can comprise CD8+ T cells (see e.g. claim 41, 52).
Regarding the limitations of instant claims 3-5, the cells can have altered expression of KLRK1 (see e.g. paragraph [0063], [0197], [0204], claim 49), an altered expression of LGALS1 (see e.g. paragraph [0063], [0197]-[0200], claim 49), and an altered expression of CCR7 (see e.g. paragraph [0054]-[0057], and claim 49)). The term “altered expression” denotes that the modification of the immune cell alters, i.e., changes or modulates, the expression of the recited gene(s) or polypeptides (see e.g. paragraph [0210]). The term “altered expression” encompasses any direction and any extent of said alteration, and specifically encompasses both increase (e.g., activation or stimulation) or decrease (e.g., inhibition) of expression (see e.g. paragraph [0210]).
Regarding the limitations of instant claims 7-9, the method can further comprise administration of an additional agent, such as a chemotherapeutic or biotherapeutic agents (see e.g. paragraphs [0708]-[0709]). The agent can be pembrolizumab (see e.g. paragraph [0709]).
Regarding the limitations of instant claim 10, the cells can be isolated from melanoma (see e.g. paragraph [0830]), and can be administered to subjects with melanoma (see e.g. paragraph [0247] and [0883])
Regarding the limitations of instant claims 16, 17, and 19-20, Wang teaches a method of isolating from a biological sample an immune cells or immune cell population, in vitro expanding the immune cell, and administering the expanded immune cell to a subject (see e.g. claim 18, 35, 49, 68, 72; paragraph [0155]). The immune cell can be characterized by a signature, and can be present in a pharmaceutical composition (see e.g. claim 14, 34, 49, 68). The cells obtained can display tumor specificity (i.e. “tumor-matching”, see e.g. paragraph [0183], [0238], [0248], claim 42, 49, and 52). The cell can be used in a method for eliciting an immune response in a subject (see e.g. claim 34, 49, 73; paragraph [0050], [0157]). The cell can comprise an immune cell signature (see e.g. paragraph [0157]. The isolated cell can be used to treat a tumor or cancer (see e.g. paragraph [0067]-[0069], and claim 73, 78, 79). The cells can comprise CD8+ T cells (see e.g. claim 41, 52). The cells can have altered expression of KLRK1 (see e.g. paragraph [0063], [0197], [0204], claim 49), an altered expression of LGALS1 (see e.g. paragraph [0063], [0197]-[0200], claim 49), and an altered expression of CCR7 (see e.g. paragraph [0054]-[0057], and claim 49)). The term “altered expression” denotes that the modification of the immune cell alters, i.e., changes or modulates, the expression of the recited gene(s) or polypeptides (see e.g. paragraph [0210]). The term “altered expression” encompasses any direction and any extent of said alteration, and specifically encompasses both increase (e.g., activation or stimulation) or decrease (e.g., inhibition) of expression (see e.g. paragraph [0210]). The method can further comprise administration of an additional agent, such as a chemotherapeutic or biotherapeutic agents (see e.g. paragraphs [0708]-[0709]). The agent can be pembrolizumab (see e.g. paragraph [0709]).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ANDREA K MCCOLLUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1674