DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 04/29/2022 and 10/08/2025 have been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I, Figs. 1-7, claims 1-14 and 16-20, without traverse in the Applicant’s response on 10/08/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
In this Office Action, claim 15 is withdrawn and claims 1-14 and 16-20 are examined.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 14, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if any of claims 4, 14, 18 and 20 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 recites, inter alia, “…further comprising: a lower insulating layer covering at least portions of an area of the first surface of the body excluding the first and second external electrodes, wherein the surface insulating layer is further disposed on the lower insulating layer”. (Emphasis added).
Claim 14 recites, inter alia, “…wherein the surface insulating layer covers at least portions of a rest surface of an outer surface of the coil portion excluding the pad part, and partially extends from an edge portion between the connection part and the pad part onto the pad part to cover at least a portion of the pad part”. (Emphasis added).
Claim 18 recites, inter alia, “…wherein the first and second external electrodes include a portion extending onto a portion of the lower insulating layer to be interposed between the portion of the lower insulating layer and a portion of the surface insulating layer in the thickness direction”. (Emphasis added).
Claim 20 recites, inter alia, “…further comprising first and second slit portions respectively formed at an edge portion between the first end surface and the first surface of the body and an edge portion between the second end surface of the body and the first surface of the body, and exposing the first and second lead-out portions, wherein the first and second external electrodes extend onto the first and second slit portions, respectively, to be connected to the first and second lead-out portions, and wherein the at least two insulating layers comprise: a slit insulating layer covering at least portions of the first and second external electrodes in the first and second slit portions; and a surface insulating layer disposed on the slit insulating layer and extending to cover at least portions of the first or second external electrodes disposed on the first surface of the body”. (Emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., (hereinafter Lim), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0118729, in view of Shimizu et al., (hereinafter Shimizu), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0182537.
Regarding Claim 1, Lim teaches (except where italicized), . a coil component (Fig. 10) comprising:
a body (100) having a first surface (106), with a first end surface (101) and a second end surface (102) opposing each other;
a coil portion (200) including first and second lead-out portions (231, 232) spaced apart from each other and disposed in the body;
first and second slit portions (R) respectively formed at an edge portion between the first end surface and the first surface of the body and an edge portion between the second end surface of the body and the first surface of the body, and exposing the first and second lead-out portions (231, 232);
first and second external electrodes (300, 400) disposed to be spaced apart from each other on the first surface of the body, and extending onto the first and second slit portions, respectively, to be connected to the first and second lead-out portions (231, 232);
a slit insulating layer (500) covering at least portions of the first and second external electrodes in the first and second slit portions; and
a surface insulating layer (cover layer 600) disposed on the slit insulating layer and extending to cover at least portions of the first or second external electrodes disposed on the first surface of the body. (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0046], [0048], [0096], [0097], [0099]).
Lim does not explicitly teach, disposed on the slit insulating layer and extending to cover at least portions of the first or second external electrodes disposed on the first surface of the body.
However, Shimizu teaches, an insulating layer (41, 42) and extending to cover (cover with folded portion 45) at least portions of the first or second external electrodes (31, 32) disposed on the first surface of the body. (Shimizu: Figs. 1, 5 and 7, para. [0039], [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cover layer of Lim to include the cover with folded portion 45 of Shimizu, the motivation being “[t]he folded portion 45...increases the peel resistance of the insulating layers 41 and 42” [0044]. (Shimizu: Figs. 1, 5 and 7, para. [0044]). Therefore, the limitations of Claim 1 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Lim in view of Shimizu further teaches, wherein the surface insulating layer includes at least one component of parylene-N (C16H14C12) (“parylene” [0080]), ethylene glycol dimethacrylate (EGDMA, C10H1404) , glycidyl methacrylate (GMA, C7H1003), 2,4,6-trivinyl-2,4,6-trimethyl cyclotrisiloxane (V3D3, C9H18O3Si3) , 2, 4,6,8-tetramethyl-2, 4,6,8-tetravinyl cyclotetrasiloxane (V4D4, C12H2404Si4) , 3,3,4,4,5,5,6,6,7,7,8,8,9,9,10,10,10-heptadecafluorodecyl methacrylate (PFDMA, C14H9F1702) , 4-vinyl-pyridine (4VP, C7H7N) , ethylene glycol diacrylate (EGDA, C1oH140.5), ethyl acrylate (EA, CSH802) , 2-hydroxyethylmethacrylate (HEMA, C6H1003), methacrylic acid (MAA, C4H602), methacrylic anhydride (MAH, C8H1003) , or divinylbenzene (DVB, C1oH10). (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0080]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Lim in view of Shimizu further teaches, wherein each of the first and second external electrodes includes a connection part (310, 410) disposed on the first and second slit portions to be in contact with the first and second lead-out portions, and a pad part (320, 420) extending from the connection part to the first surface of the body, and the slit insulating layer is disposed between the connection part, surfaces of each of the first and second slit portions, and the surface insulating layer. (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0066]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Lim in view of Shimizu further teaches, wherein the body further has a second surface (105) opposing the first surface of the body, and a first side surface (103) and a second side surface (104) connected to the first surface and the second surface and opposing each other, and the surface insulating layer (600) is further disposed on each of the second surface, the first side surface, and the second side surface of the body. (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0037]).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Lim in view of Shimizu further teaches, further comprising:
a substrate (insulating layer IL) disposed within the body,
wherein the first and second lead-out portions (231, 232) are disposed on a lower surface of the substrate facing the first surface of the body to be spaced apart from each other, and
the coil portion (200) further includes a first coil pattern (211) spaced apart from the first lead-out portion and disposed on a lower surface of the substrate to be connected to the second lead-out portion, a second coil pattern (212) disposed on an upper surface of the substrate, facing a second surface (105) of the body opposing the first surface of the body, and a first dummy lead-out portion (241) disposed on the upper surface of the substrate and connected to the second coil pattern. (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0046], [0096], [0097], [0099]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Lim in view of Shimizu further teaches, wherein the first and second lead-out portions are exposed to the first end surface and the second end surface of the body, respectively. (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0046]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Lim in view of Shimizu further teaches, wherein the coil portion further includes: a first via (221) penetrating through the substrate to connect the first and second coil patterns to each other; and a second via (222) penetrating through the substrate to connect the first lead-out portion and the first dummy lead-out portion to each other. (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0097], [0099]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Lim in view of Shimizu further teaches, wherein the coil portion further includes: a second dummy lead-out portion (242) disposed to be spaced apart from the second coil pattern and the first dummy lead-out portion, respectively, on the upper surface of the substrate; and a third via (223) penetrating through the substrate to connect the second lead-out portion and the second dummy lead-out portion to each other. (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0099]).
Claims 11-13, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, in view of Kang et al., (hereinafter Kang), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0304672.
Regarding Claim 11, Lim teaches (except where italicized), a coil component (Fig. 10) comprising:
a body (100) having a first surface (106), with a first end surface (101) and a second end surface (102) respectively connected to the first surface and opposing each other;
a coil portion (200) including first and second lead-out portions (231, 232) spaced apart from each other and exposed to the first end surface and the second end surface of the body, respectively;
first and second external electrodes (300, 400) disposed to be spaced apart from each other on the first surface of the body, and extending onto the first end surface and the second end surface of the body, respectively, to be connected to the first and second lead-out portions;
a lower insulating layer covering at least portions of an area of the first surface of the body excluding the first and second external electrodes; and
a surface insulating layer (cover layer 600) covering at least portions of the first and second external electrodes on the first end surface and the second end surface of the body, respectively, and disposed on the lower insulating layer on first surface of the body,
wherein the surface insulating layer covers at least portions of the first or second external electrodes disposed on the first surface of the body, and extends to cover at least portions of the first and second external electrodes from a boundary portion between each of the first and second external electrodes and the lower insulating layer. (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0046], [0048], [0096], [0097], [0099]).
Lim does not explicitly teach, a lower insulating layer covering at least portions of an area of the first surface of the body excluding the first and second external electrodes, and
the surface insulating layer... disposed on the lower insulating layer on first surface of the body
wherein the surface insulating layer covers at least portions of the first or second external electrodes disposed on the first surface of the body, and extends to cover at least portions of the first and second external electrodes from a boundary portion between each of the first and second external electrodes and the lower insulating layer.
However, Kang teaches (Fig. 10), a lower insulating layer (insulating layer 600) covering at least portions of an area of the first surface of the body excluding the first and second external electrodes (310, 330, 410, 430), and
the surface insulating layer... disposed on the lower insulating layer on first surface of the body
wherein the surface insulating layer (cover layer 700) covers at least portions of the first or second external electrodes (310, 330, 410, 430) disposed on the first surface (bottom) of the body, and extends to cover at least portions of the first and second external electrodes (330, 430) from a boundary portion between each of the first and second external electrodes and the lower insulating layer. (Kang: Figs. 1, 2 and 10, para. [0061], [0080], [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the body of Lim to include the lower insulating layer (600) and surface insulating layer (700) of Kang, the motivation being to provide a desired Q factor [0061], and “to prevent electrical connection between the first to fourth sidewall portions 521, 522, 523, and 524 and the external electrodes 300 and 400” [0080], respectively. (Kang: Figs. 1, 2 and 10, para. [0061], [0080]). Therefore, the limitations of Claim 11 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Lim in view of Kang further teaches, further comprising: a substrate (IL) disposed within the body. (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0051]).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Lim in view of Kang further teaches (Fig. 12), wherein the coil portion further includes:
a first coil pattern disposed on a lower surface of the substrate facing the first surface of the body and connected to the second lead-out portion;
a second coil pattern disposed on an upper surface of the substrate, facing a second surface of the body opposing the first surface of the body, and connected to the first lead-out portion; and
a first via penetrating through the substrate to connect the first and second coil patterns to each other, and
each of the first and second external electrodes includes a connection part disposed on the first end surface and the second end surface of the body to be in contact with the first and second lead-out portions, and a pad part extending from the connection part onto the first surface of the body. (Lim: Fig. 12, para. [0099]).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Lim in view of Kang further teaches, wherein the coil portion (200) is a winding coil wound with a metal wire whose surface is coated with a coating part (“an insulating layer” [0083]). (Lim: Fig. 12, para. [0083]).
Regarding Claim 16, Lim teaches (except where italicized), a coil component (Fig. 10) comprising:
a body (100) having a first surface (106), with a first end surface and a second end surface (101, 102) opposing each other;
a coil portion (200) including at least one coil pattern (211), and first and second lead-out portions (231, 232) spaced apart from each other and extending to the first and second end surfaces, respectively;
first and second external electrodes (310, 330, 410, 430) disposed to be spaced apart from each other on the first surface of the body, and bending toward the first and second lead-out portions to be connected to the first and second lead-out portions (231, 232), respectively; and
at least two insulating layers disposed on the first surface the body and overlapping each other in a thickness direction. (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0046], [0048], [0096], [0097], [0099]).
Lim does not explicitly teach, at least two insulating layers disposed on the first surface the body and overlapping each other in a thickness direction.
However, Kang teaches (Fig. 10), at least two insulating layers (600, 700) disposed on the first surface (106) the body and overlapping each other in a thickness direction. (Kang: Figs. 1, 2 and 10, para. [0061], [0080], [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the body of Lim to include the lower insulating layer (600) and surface insulating layer (700) of Kang, the motivation being to provide a desired Q factor [0061], and “to prevent electrical connection between the first to fourth sidewall portions 521, 522, 523, and 524 and the external electrodes 300 and 400” [0080], respectively. (Kang: Figs. 1, 2 and 10, para. [0061], [0080]). Therefore, the limitations of Claim 16 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Lim in view of Kang further teaches, wherein the at least two insulating layers comprise:
a lower insulating layer (600) covering at least portions of an area of the first surface (106) of the body excluding the first and second external electrodes (310, 330, 410, 430); and
a surface insulating layer (700) disposed to cover the lower insulating layer and at least portions of the first and second external electrodes (330, 430), the motivation being to provide a desired Q factor [0061], and “to prevent electrical connection between the first to fourth sidewall portions 521, 522, 523, and 524 and the external electrodes 300 and 400” [0080], respectively. (Kang: Figs. 1, 2 and 10, para. [0061], [0080]).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Lim in view of Kang further teaches, wherein:
the surface insulating layer (Lim: 600) includes a first portion (Lim: first portion of 600) covering the first and second external electrodes on the first end surface and the second end surface of the body, respectively, and a second portion (Kang: 700) disposed on the lower insulating layer (Kang: 600) on the first surface of the body,
the first portion (Lim: first portion of 600) of the surface insulating layer extends from an outermost side of the coil component to cover at least portions of the first and second external electrodes (Lim: 310, 410) in the thickness direction, and
the second portion (Kang: 700) of the surface insulating layer extends to cover at least portions of the first and second external electrodes (Kang:330, 430) from a boundary portion between each of the first and second external electrodes and the lower insulating layer, the motivation being to provide a desired Q factor [0061], and “to prevent electrical connection between the first to fourth sidewall portions 521, 522, 523, and 524 and the external electrodes 300 and 400” [0080], respectively. (Lim: Figs. 8-12, para. [0046], [0048]), (Kang: Figs. 1, 2 and 10, para. [0061], [0080]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi (US 20160268038).
Conclusion
/MALCOLM BARNES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
12/01/2025