DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, received 07 April 2026, is reviewed and entered. This Office Action is a non-final rejection.
Status of Claims
Amended
1
Withdrawn
11-20
Canceled
3 and 10
Pending
1-2, 4-9, and 11-20
Presented for Examination
1-2 and 4-9
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
102 Rejections
The amendments to claim 1 overcome the 102 rejections in view of Scheibchen and the rejections are withdrawn. The amendments necessitated a new interpretation of Scheibchen, as set forth in the 103 rejections below.
The arguments with respect to the Rotzin reference are drawn to newly amended claims and are addressed in the rejections below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 01 July 2024 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first and second portions of the bottom edge (claim 1; providing an existing figure with reference numbers/ lead lines for the first and second portions of the bottom edge and/ or the boundaries of the air trip/ groove would be sufficient to overcome the objection) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “wherein the groove extends continuously from a first portion of a bottom edge of the helmet, over a top of the helmet, and to a second portion of the bottom edge of the helmet” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The new matter is “wherein the groove extends continuously from a first portion of a bottom edge of the helmet, over a top of the helmet, and to a second portion of the bottom edge of the helmet” in claim 1. In Applicant’s 4/7/26 Remarks, it appears Applicant is intending this recitation to mean the air trip/ groove starts and ends at the bottom edge and not spaced from the bottom edge as disclosed by the prior art references. The originally filed disclosure is silent as to this feature. It is not clear from the figures if the groove 205 extends from the bottom edge or if it starts/ ends spaced from the bottom edge. FIG 2D is annotated below to show how 205 may have any number of start/ end points that are either at the bottom edge or spaced from the bottom edge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rotzin (US 5023958 A).
As to claim 1, Rotzin discloses a helmet (title) comprising:
an energy absorbing layer (Internal foam liners 37); and
an outer shell mounted to an exterior surface of the energy absorbing layer such that the outer shell is an outermost layer of the helmet (single piece foam-only body 11 which includes 17; fig 5b shows the outer shell 11 mounted to the energy absorbing layer 37; FIGS 1-4 show 11 is the outermost layer), wherein the outer shell includes an air trip that is positioned to reduce an effect of air resistance on the helmet (at 15, capable of reducing an effect of air resistance on the helmet), wherein the air trip comprises a continuous groove recessed into formed in the outer shell (15 alone or both elements 15 in combination), and wherein the groove extends continuously from a first portion of a bottom edge of the helmet, over a top of the helmet, and to a second portion of the bottom edge of the helmet (see annotated FIG 1 below).
As to claim 2, Rotzin discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the continuous groove has a u- shaped cross-section (fig 3).
As to claim 4, Rotzin discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the air trip has a first curved transition that transitions from the outer shell into a front portion of the air trip (encircled by Examiner in annotated fig 3 below).
Figure A An interpretation of Rotzin where the continuous groove is both elements 15 in combination
Figure B An interpretation of Rotzin where the continuous groove is one of elements 15 alone
As to claim 5, Rotzin discloses the helmet of claim 4, wherein the air trip has a second curved transition that transitions from the outer shell into a back portion of the air trip (encircled by Examiner in annotated fig 3 above).
As to claim 6, Rotzin discloses the helmet of claim 4, wherein the first curved transition has a first radius of curvature that differs from a second radius of curvature of a bottom of the groove (fig 3).
As to claim 7, Rotzin discloses the helmet of claim 5, wherein the first curved transition has a first radius of curvature and the second curved transition has a second radius of curvature, and wherein the first radius of curvature is the same as the second radius of curvature (fig 3, where the continuous groove is both elements 15 in combination).
As to claim 8, Rotzin discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the air trip is at an angle of 90 degrees relative to an outer surface of the outer shell of the helmet (relative to at least a portion of the outer surface, see annotated fig 3 below).
As to claim 9, Rotzin discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the air trip is at an angle of greater than or less than 90 degrees relative to the outer shell of the helmet (relative to at least a portion of the outer surface, see annotated fig 3 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheibchen (US 3280402 A).
As to claim 1, Scheibchen discloses a helmet (combination of 11, 13, 15, and 5’’) comprising:
an energy absorbing layer (combination of webbing 11 and rubber strap 15; at least 15 is resilient and acts as a cushion as disclosed in col 2 line 10-15); and
an outer shell mounted to an exterior surface of the energy absorbing layer such that the outer shell is an outermost layer of the helmet (pad 5’’ is mounted to the exterior of 11 via 13 as shown in FIG 3 and described in col 1 line 65 – col 2 line 1), wherein the outer shell includes an air trip that is positioned to reduce an effect of air resistance on the helmet (at 9, capable of reducing an effect of air resistance on the helmet), wherein the air trip comprises a continuous groove recessed into formed in the outer shell (9).
Scheibchen does not disclose the groove extends continuously from a first portion of a bottom edge of the helmet, over a top of the helmet, and to a second portion of the bottom edge of the helmet.
Scheibchen does disclose the groove extends continuously from a first portion of a bottom edge of the helmet and over a top of the helmet (see annotated FIG 3 below) but FIG 3 only shows a first portion of a bottom edge of the helmet so it cannot be determined that the groove also extends to a second portion of the bottom edge of the helmet.
However, one of ordinary skill would have understood that the helmet is likely symmetrical and the side view shown in FIG 3 is identical to the opposite side view not shown in the figures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a symmetrical helmet which would result in the groove 9 also extending to a second portion of the bottom edge of the helmet that is identical to the first portion, only on the opposite side of the helmet, in order to protect both sides of the wearer’s head equally.
As to claim 2, Scheibchen discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the continuous groove has a u- shaped cross-section (fig 3).
As to claim 8, Scheibchen discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the air trip is at an angle of 90 degrees relative to an outer surface of the outer shell of the helmet (relative to at least a portion of the outer surface at the peak of the outer shell, see annotated fig 3 below).
As to claim 9, Scheibchen discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the air trip is at an angle of greater than or less than 90 degrees relative to the outer shell of the helmet (relative to at least a portion of the outer surface adjacent the air trip, see annotated fig 3 below).
Conclusion
SALLY HADEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/SALLY HADEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732