DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment, filed May 08, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims have been fully considered. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented below by the use of the previously cited references of Reay et al (US 7,656,216) and Lam (US 5,822,598).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 – 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reay et al (US 7,656,216) in view of Lam (US 5,822,598).
Re claim 8, Reay teaches of a circuit comprising: a multimode interface having a first input and a second input (two input pins 510 and 515, Fig.5); a first receiver (#525, Fig.5, single-ended mode, Col 1, Lines 59 – 65, Col 4, Lines 13 – 40) having a signal input coupled to the first input of the multimode interface (CLK+ on pin #510, Fig.5) and a control input (from #520, Fig.5); a second receiver (#530, Fig.5, differential mode, Col 1, Lines 59 – 65, Col 4, Lines 13 – 40) having a first signal input (CLK+, Fig.5) coupled to the first input of the multimode interface (CLK+ on pin #510, Fig.5), a second signal input coupled to the second input of the multimode interface (CLK- on pin #515, Fig.5), and a control input (from #520, Fig.5), the first signal input coupled to the signal input of the first receiver (CLK+ is input to both receivers, Fig.5), and the control input of the second receiver coupled to the control input of the first receiver (output from 520 is coupled to both receivers, Figures 6 and 8); and a mode detector (#520, Fig.5) having an input (CLK-, Fig.5), coupled to the second input of the multimode interface (pin #515, Fig.5), and an output (as shown in Figures 5 – 6 and 8), the output coupled to the control input of the first receiver and to the control input of the second receiver (output from 520 is coupled to the control input of both receivers, Figures 6 and 8), the mode detector comprising: circuitry coupled to the multimode interface, the circuitry configured to determine a threshold voltage (predetermined relationship or condition, reference signal voltage, Col 2, Lines 62 – 67 to Col 3, Lines 1 – 17 and Col 4, lines 40 – 67, It would inherent that a circuitry would be required to generate the reference signal or voltage); and a comparator (#410, Fig.4 and #610, Fig.6) having a first input configured to receive the threshold voltage, a second input coupled to the first input of the multimode interface, and an output as the output of the mode detector (as shown in Figures 4 and 6); the mode detector configured to automatically detect a transmission mode of a received input signal, based on a comparison of the threshold voltage to a signal received from the first input of the multimode interface (differential or single-ended mode, Fig.6) and produce a selection signal at the output of the mode detector (output from #520, Figures 5 – 6), the selection signal being input to the control input of the first receiver and to the control input of the second receiver (as shown in Fig.5). However, Reay does not specifically teach of the selection signal being a single selection signal. Reay does not specifically teach of the circuitry configured to determine a threshold voltage is coupled between first and second voltage nodes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the inverter from the mode detector to the input of the DE receiver, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Lam teaches of a comparator (U2, Fig.2) that includes a second comparator input
coupled to a circuitry that includes a voltage divider (R5, R4, Fig.2) coupled between first and second voltage nodes (as shown in Fig.2), and wherein a reference voltage of the voltage divider provides the threshold voltage (Col 5, Lines 45 - 60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the circuitry coupled between first and second voltage nodes to generate the threshold voltage and perform an efficient voltage comparison.
Re claim 9, Reay teaches of wherein the mode detector configured to enable the first receiver and disable the second receiver responsive to the detected transmission mode of the received input signal being the single-ended transmission mode (Col 4, lines 30 – 40).
Re claim 10, Reay teaches of wherein the mode detector is further configured to enable the second receiver and disable the first receiver responsive to the detected transmission mode of the received input signal being the differential transmission mode (Col 4, lines 40 – 60).
Re claim 11, Reay teaches of wherein the mode detector is further configured to automatically detect the transmission mode of the received input signal using a voltage received at the input (a voltage compared to the threshold voltage, Col 2, Lines 62 – 67 to Col 3, Lines 1 – 17 and Col 4, lines 40 – 67).
Re claim 14, Reay and Lam teach all the limitations of claim 8 as well as Lam teaches of wherein the circuitry includes a voltage divider circuit (R5, R4, Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the circuitry include a voltage divider so as to generate the threshold voltage and perform an efficient voltage comparison.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reay in view of Devam et al (US 2011/0131356).
Re claim 12, Reay teaches all the limitations of claim 8 except of wherein a value of the threshold voltage is based on an input voltage range of the differential transmission mode.
Devam teaches of a value of the threshold voltage is based on an input voltage range of the differential transmission mode (Paragraph 0012).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the threshold voltage is based on an input voltage range of the differential transmission mode, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 7, 21 – 24 and 27 – 28 are allowed
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633