DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1, 9, 16, 21-22, 31-34, 36-40, and 42-45 are pending in this Office Action.
Claims 1, 9, 16, 21-22, 32-33, 36, 38, 40, 42-43, and 45 are amended.
Claims 35 and 41 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 9, 16, 21-22, 31-34, 36-40, and 42-45 are rejected. This rejection is FINAL.
Previous Rejections Withdrawn
The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection is withdrawn based on applicant’s amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 03/19/2025, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 36-38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “establishing a second data link with a second device via a first data transmission interface provided by the first device” in the first limitation of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The above cited rejections are merely exemplary.
The Applicant(s) are respectfully requested to correct all similar errors.
Claims not specifically mentioned are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 16, 21, 33-34, 40, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0300195) in view of Simotas et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0128056).
As per claim 1, Kim discloses a method of screen cast control, applicable for a data transmission apparatus, and comprising:
establishing a first data link with a first device via a first data transmission interface provided by the first device (Screen casting will be taught later. Kim: Fig. 1, paragraphs 0019-0024; external source devices like laptop 215 are connected to a content transmission device 100a which communicates with a reception device 100ba connected to a display device 180a. Therefore a first device (external source device laptop 215) uses an interface to connect to a data transmission apparatus (content transmission device 100a) which connects to a data reception apparatus (content reception apparatus 100ba) with connects to a second device (display device TV 180a). Therefore the input terminal connection between the external device and the transmission device is a first data link over a first transmission interface. See also Simotas: Fig. 1, paragraphs 0071-0072; source device 110 such as laptop reaches a target device 130 via a wireless LAN 120. Examiner asserts that a person of ordinary skill would understand that the wireless LAN is reached via an access point such as a wireless router. Therefore the laptop is a first device that has a first data link with an access point over a wireless interface), wherein the first device comprises information to be cast (Kim: paragraphs 0020-0022; content data is received from external device. See also Simotas: Fig. 1, paragraphs 0070-0072; source device 110 such as laptop casts to media playback device);
acquiring the information to be cast from the first device based on the first data link (Kim: paragraph 0020; Content transmission device uses input terminals to receive content data from external devices);
determining that there is a data reception apparatus with which a communication connection has been established (Kim: Fig. 1, paragraphs 0028-0034; content transmission device is connected to content reception devices 100ba, 100bb. One of them is selected for pairing. See also Simotas: paragraph 0073-0075; target devices advertise themselves on wireless network and are discovered by a source device);
determining that the data transmission apparatus has first communication information, wherein the first communication information is communication information corresponding to the data reception apparatus (Kim: paragraph 0028; Selection of either 100ba or 100bb for reception, which suggests information corresponding to a data reception apparatus. See also Simotas: paragraph 0096-0097, 0104-0111, 0121-0132; To prevent guests in a hotel from pairing with devices in other rooms, the system performs discovery of target devices and storage of them in a database including the device name, IP address and MAC address. The system then requires a source device to enter authorization and pairing codes, which controls the discovery and pairing of devices);
establishing a first communication link with the data reception apparatus based on the first communication information (Kim: paragraph 0028; Selection of either 100ba or 100bb for reception…paragraphs 0020-0022; wireless communication between the transmission and reception devices. See also Simotas: paragraphs 0077, 0128; selection and pairing of a particular target device),
wherein the first communication link is a communication link for transmitting the information to be cast; and transmitting the information to be cast to a data reception apparatus based on the first communication link to trigger that the data reception apparatus casts the information to be cast to a second device (Kim: paragraphs 0020-0023; reception devices can receive the content data and transmit it to display device. See also Simotas: Fig. 1, paragraphs 0070-0077; casting from source through network to target device and ultimately displayed on tv),
wherein the data reception apparatus establishes a second data link with the second device via a second data transmission interface provided by the second device, and transmits the information to be cast to the second device based on the second data link (Kim: paragraphs 0020-0023; reception devices can receive the content data and transmit it to display device. See also Simotas: Fig. 1, paragraphs 0070-0077; casting from source through network to target device and ultimately displayed on tv).
However Kim does not explicitly mention screen casting.
However Simotas teaches:
screen casting; information to be cast (Simotas: paragraph 0015; manage the casting of content from user devices to media playback devices connected to display devices…Fig. 1, paragraphs 0070-0072; source device 110 such as laptop casts to media playback device).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Simotas with the teachings as in Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to stream content to connected TVs or audio systems (Simotas: paragraphs 0003).
As per Claim 9, it is substantially similar to Claim 1, except seen from the standpoint of the data reception apparatus. It is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 16, it is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying. Further, Kim also teaches at least one processor; and a memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor; wherein, the memory is stored with instructions executable by the at least one processor, when the instructions are performed by the at least one processor, the at least one processor is configured to: (Kim: paragraph 0042, 0053, 0067, 0071; processor and memory storing program).
As per Claim 21, the modified Kim teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein establishing the first communication link based on the first communication information comprises: generating a link establishment request according to the first communication information; sending the link establishment request to the data reception apparatus to trigger establishment of the first communication link (Simotas: paragraph 0075; Discovery of target device and request to open casting session…paragraph 0077; User of source device selects which target device to connect to, which is a link according to first communication information. See also Kim: paragraph 0028; Selection of either 100ba or 100bb for reception, which suggests information corresponding to a data reception apparatus); and
establishing the first communication link with the data reception apparatus (Simotas: paragraph 0076; establishing casting sessions).
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
As per Claim 33, the modified Kim teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein acquiring the information to be cast from the first device based on the first data link comprises: sending an information acquisition request to the first device in response to a first cast instruction (Simotas: paragraph 0226; the user may instruct the local proxy server to cast streaming content from a web-based streaming channel or other similar resource to the selected target device(s). Under this scenario the target device may send a link to the local proxy server 240 (e.g. an HTTP link, or IP address, or other) instead of streaming the content itself);
receiving the information to be cast fed back by the first device based on the first data link, cast information corresponding to the information acquisition request being as the information to be cast (Simotas: paragraph 0226; Upon reception of the link, the local proxy server 240 may connect to the corresponding resource and stream the content requested by the user device 210 to the paired target device(s)).
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
As per Claim 34, the modified Kim teaches the method according to claim 33, wherein transmitting the information to be cast to the data reception apparatus to trigger that the data reception apparatus casts the information to be cast to the second device comprises: in response to a second cast instruction, generating a cast request according to the information to be cast (Simotas: paragraph 0226; the user may instruct the local proxy server to cast streaming content from a web-based streaming channel or other similar resource to the selected target device(s). Under this scenario the target device may send a link to the local proxy server 240 (e.g. an HTTP link, or IP address, or other) instead of streaming the content itself. Upon reception of the link, the local proxy server 240 may connect to the corresponding resource and stream the content requested by the user device 210 to the paired target device(s));
transmitting the cast request to the data reception apparatus based on the first communication link to trigger that the data reception apparatus obtains the information to be cast from the cast request and cast the information to be cast to the second device, wherein the first cast instruction and the second cast instruction are the same or different (Simotas: paragraph 0226; the user may instruct the local proxy server to cast streaming content from a web-based streaming channel or other similar resource to the selected target device(s). Under this scenario the target device may send a link to the local proxy server 240 (e.g. an HTTP link, or IP address, or other) instead of streaming the content itself. Upon reception of the link, the local proxy server 240 may connect to the corresponding resource and stream the content requested by the user device 210 to the paired target device(s)).
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
As per Claim 40, the modified Kim teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein receiving the information to be cast transmitted by the data transmission apparatus based on the first communication link comprises: receiving a cast request transmitted by the data transmission apparatus (Simotas: paragraph 0075; the source device S1 110 can discover a target device T1 130 and request to cast content to T1 130, thereby opening a casting session based on the casting protocol supported by T1 130 (e.g. Google Cast, Apple Airplay, etc.), wherein the cast request is generated according to the information to be cast by the data transmission apparatus; (Simotas: paragraph 0008; Once paired and a connection is established, the user device is able to cast content, control access to network channels (e.g. Netflix™ etc.), control the operation and alter the configuration of the media playback device…paragraphs 0017; Once paired, the user can cast content from his devices to the media playback device in his room); and
obtaining the information to be cast from the cast request (Simotas: paragraph 0075; the source device S1 110 can discover a target device T1 130 and request to cast content to T1 130, thereby opening a casting session based on the casting protocol supported by T1 130 (e.g. Google Cast, Apple Airplay, etc.).
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
As per Claim 42, it is substantially similar to Claim 21 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
Claims 22, 31-32, 36-39, and 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0300195), in view of Simotas et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0128056), and further in view of Sidhu (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0044719).
As per Claim 22, the modified Kim teaches the method according to claim 1.
However the modified Kim does not explicitly mention scanning second communication information in environment, wherein the second communication information is the communication information corresponding to the data reception apparatus; and establishing a second communication link with the data reception apparatus according to the second communication information, wherein the second communication link is a communication link for transmitting the first communication information.
However Sidhu teaches:
scanning second communication information in environment (Sidhu: paragraph 0075; conveying of information include near field communications (NFC), RFID, Bluetooth, etc. Furthermore, either one device may recognize a signal from another device, indicating a desire to transmit/transfer such information. Scanning devices by using Bluetooth. See also Simotas: paragraph 0128; The pairing code may be displayed at the TV that is connected to the target device 308 that the source device 303 wants to pair with before the source device can start a content casting session. This pairing code may be created by the control server 306 and be read by the user of the source device, who then enters the code to a casting enabled application running on the source device 303…Alternative implementations may include the display at the TV connected to the target device 308 of a Quick Response (QR) code encoding the same URL, which code the user scans with his source device 303),
wherein the second communication information is the communication information corresponding to the data reception apparatus (Sidhu: paragraph 0050; a network device may detect one or more gateways upon being powered on or reset. In some embodiments, a provisioning process may occur when the network device is powered on or reset. During the provisioning process, the access device may directly communicate with the network device… direct communication between network devices 102, 104, 106 and access device 108 may occur using various communications protocols, such as Universal Plug and Play (UPnP), Bluetooth®, Zigbee®, Ultra-Wideband (UWB), WiFi-Direct, WiFi, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE). See also Simotas: paragraph 0128; The pairing code may be displayed at the TV that is connected to the target device 308 that the source device 303 wants to pair with before the source device can start a content casting session); and
establishing a second communication link with the data reception apparatus according to the second communication information, wherein the second communication link is a communication link for transmitting the first communication information (Sidhu: paragraph 0075; conveying of information include near field communications (NFC), RFID, Bluetooth, etc…paragraph 0083 and fig. 4; network device may generate a setup access point, such as setup access point 303, that allows access device 108 to connect to network device 302 on channel C1. After receiving login information (e.g. username and password or other login credentials) via access device 108 (e.g. from the user or otherwise), network device 302 may attempt to connect to gateway 110, via communication path 420, using those login credentials. However, upon attempting to connect to gateway 110, network device 302 may observe (e.g. after performing a site survey) that communication path 420 is using C2, a different channel than C1…paragraph 0088; the token identifier may include a unique ID of access device 108 in cloud 114, a UDID (unique device identifier) of access device 108, an IMEI (international mobile station equipment identity) of access device 108, a UUID (universally unique identifier) of access device 108, WiFi credentials (e.g. SSID and passphrase)).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Sidhu with the teachings as in the modified Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to ensure that the correct devices communicate either through pairing or WiFi.
As per Claim 31, the modified Kim teaches the method according to claim 22, further comprising: receiving the first communication information fed back by the data reception apparatus based on the second communication link (Sidhu: paragraph 0075; various other methods of conveying information, such as SSID/password information, may be used. Exemplary methods of such conveying of information include near field communications (NFC), RFID, Bluetooth, etc…paragraphs 0085-0090; gateway WIFI SSID/password (i.e. first communication information) may be transmitted using NFC, RFID, Bluetooth, etc. (i.e. second communication link)).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Sidhu with the teachings as in the modified Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to allow selecting a channel based on which channel has the most amount of bandwidth across which the network device may be able to communicate and also be able to choose a channel based on a different set of criteria than another network device on the same network so as to choose a channel based on the priorities that, either based on its current status or based on a predetermined set of criteria, would most benefit that device at that time (Sidhu: paragraph 0082).
As per Claim 32, the modified Kim teaches the method according to claim 31, further comprising: storing the first communication information (Simotas: paragraph 0097; The first database, or a second database, at the control server 306 may store data relating to the source devices allowed to discover, pair and cast content to the media playback devices in each guest room…paragraphs 0104-0109; databases 323 also stores communication information like device type (e.g. Google Chromecast, Apple TV, etc., name, IP address, MAC address, etc…paragraph 0117; The local proxy server 305 maintains the associations between authorized source devices and target media playback devices (or groups of playback devices))
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
As per Claim 36, the modified Kim teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein establishing the first communication link based on the first communication information comprises: receiving a link establishment request transmitted by data transmission apparatus (Simotas: paragraph 0075; Discovery of target device and request to open casting session. Paragraph 0077; User of source device selects which target device to connect to, which is a link according to first communication information. See also Kim: paragraph 0028; Selection of either 100ba or 100bb for reception, which suggests information corresponding to a data reception apparatus);
establishing the first communication link (Simotas: paragraph 0076; establishing casting sessions).
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
However the modified Kim does not explicitly teach obtaining first communication information from the link establishment request; in response to the first communication information being same as the first communication information previously transmitted by the data reception apparatus.
However Sidhu teaches:
obtaining first communication information from the link establishment request (First see Simotas: paragraph 0128; The pairing code may be displayed at the TV that is connected to the target device 308 that the source device 303 wants to pair with before the source device can start a content casting session. This pairing code may be created by the control server 306 and be read by the user of the source device, who then enters the code to a casting enabled application running on the source device 303…Alternative implementations may include the display at the TV connected to the target device 308 of a Quick Response (QR) code encoding the same URL, which code the user scans with his source device 303. Alternatively, the media playback device or the TV may transmit a Radio Frequency (RF), visual, or audio code that is captured by the source device 303 and is then transmitted to the local proxy server 305. See also paragraphs 0073-0077; target devices advertise themselves, are discovered, and can be selected for reception. Then see Sidhu: paragraph 0075; various other methods of conveying information, such as SSID/password information, may be used. Exemplary methods of such conveying of information include near field communications (NFC), RFID, Bluetooth, etc…paragraphs 0085-0090; gateway WIFI SSID/password (i.e. first communication information) may be transmitted using NFC, RFID, Bluetooth, etc. (i.e. second communication link). The devices may authenticate either by agreeing on a pairing code or by sharing SSID/password information);
in response to the first communication information being same as the first communication information previously transmitted by the data reception apparatus (First see Simotas: paragraph 0129; Upon entry (or capture) at the source device 303 of the pairing code, the pairing code is transmitted to the local proxy server 305 together with a request to register 339 the source device. This request is unicasted 340 to the local proxy server 305 and then received 343 by the control server 306 where it is checked against the target device-room mapping table by reading a hotel administration database 346…paragraphs 0130-0131; When the pairing code matches a record in the Device Room mapping table 349, the source device 303 is registered 350 by associating the source device MAC address with the Room # that is associated with that pairing code. The user may then be instructed to press a button or select a virtual button displayed at the TV for starting a casting session. In response to the user pressing the button on the TV, the TV may switch its input to the HDMI input connecting the target device. Then see Sidhu: paragraph 0075; various other methods of conveying information, such as SSID/password information, may be used. Exemplary methods of such conveying of information include near field communications (NFC), RFID, Bluetooth, etc…paragraphs 0085-0090; gateway WIFI SSID/password (i.e. first communication information) may be transmitted using NFC, RFID, Bluetooth, etc. (i.e. second communication link). The devices may authenticate either by agreeing on a pairing code or by sharing SSID/password information).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Sidhu with the teachings as in the modified Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to ensure that the correct devices communicate either through pairing or WiFi.
As per Claim 37, the modified Kim teaches the method according to claim 36, prior to receiving the link establishment request transmitted by the data transmission apparatus, comprising: previously transmitting the first communication information to the data transmission apparatus (Sidhu: paragraph 0081; when the access device 108 later pairs or connects to network device 302, it may do so on the WLAN channel, C1, that the network device designated as the most beneficial channel for the network device to communicate across or otherwise use. paragraph 0075; conveying of information include near field communications (NFC), RFID, Bluetooth, etc…paragraph 0083 and fig. 4; network device may generate a setup access point, such as setup access point 303, that allows access device 108 to connect to network device 302 on channel C1. After receiving login information (e.g. username and password or other login credentials) via access device 108 (e.g. from the user or otherwise), network device 302 may attempt to connect to gateway 110, via communication path 420, using those login credentials. See also Simotas, paragraph 0128; The pairing code may be displayed at the TV that is connected to the target device 308 that the source device 303 wants to pair with before the source device can start a content casting session).
The same motivation to combine as the parent claim applies here.
As per Claim 38, the modified Kim teaches the method according to claim 37, further comprising: broadcasting second communication information (Simotas: paragraph 0075; the source device S1 110 (i.e. first device) can discover a target device T1 130 and request to cast content to T1 130, thereby opening a casting session based on the casting protocol supported by T1 130 (e.g. Google Cast, Apple Airplay, etc. and Sidhu: paragraph 0075; conveying of information include near field communications (NFC), RFID, Bluetooth, etc.),
wherein the second communication information is the communication information corresponding to the data reception apparatus (Sidhu: paragraph 0050; a network device may detect one or more gateways upon being powered on or reset. In some embodiments, a provisioning process may occur when the network device is powered on or reset. During the provisioning process, the access device may directly communicate with the network device… direct communication between network devices 102, 104, 106 and access device 108 may occur using various communications protocols, such as Universal Plug and Play (UPnP), Bluetooth®, Zigbee®, Ultra-Wideband (UWB), WiFi-Direct, WiFi, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE));
establishing a second communication link according to the second communication information, wherein the second communication link is a communication link for transmitting the first communication information (Sidhu: paragraph 0075; conveying of information include near field communications (NFC), RFID, Bluetooth, etc…paragraph 0083 and fig. 4; network device may generate a setup access point, such as setup access point 303, that allows access device 108 to connect to network device 302 on channel C1. After receiving login information (e.g. username and password or other login credentials) via access device 108 (e.g. from the user or otherwise), network device 302 may attempt to connect to gateway 110, via communication path 420, using those login credentials. However, upon attempting to connect to gateway 110, network device 302 may observe (e.g. after performing a site survey) that communication path 420 is using C2, a different channel than C1…paragraph 0088; the token identifier may include a unique ID of access device 108 in cloud 114, a UDID (unique device identifier) of access device 108, an IMEI (international mobile station equipment identity) of access device 108, a UUID (universally unique identifier) of access device 108, WiFi credentials (e.g. SSID and passphrase)).
The same motivation to combine as the parent claim applies here.
As per Claim 39, it is substantially similar to Claim 37, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 43, it is substantially similar to Claim 22 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 44, it is substantially similar to Claim 31 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 45, it is substantially similar to Claim 32 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARINA J GARCIA-CHING/Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449