Response After Non-Final
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/15/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claims 1 and 12-13 are currently amended.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered
and are respectfully found persuasive in part and unpersuasive in part.
The applicant argues the following:
[1] Title, specification, drawing, and claim objections have been addressed and should be withdrawn.
[2] Prior art of record fails to teach an included angle between first and second side faces within the claimed range.
Regarding [1], the examiner respectfully agrees and the title, specification, drawing, and claim objections raised in the non-final office action are hereby withdrawn.
Regarding [2], the examiner respectfully disagrees because Umezawa discloses the claim limitation at issue. First, the claim limitation at issue describes any cantilever that has any shape that has at least two sides forming at least a 90° between them. This includes at least a cube, a rectangular prism, a triangular prism, a trapezoid prism, and a parallelogram prism. Basically, any 3D shape that includes two identical, parallel polygonal bases will have a 90° relationship to at least two adjacent sides. This claim language is clearly exceedingly broad. Second, Umezawa teaches the following:
[0045] Each of the plurality of beam portions 120 has an outer shape that is tapered in an extending direction of the beam portion 120 when the piezoelectric transducer 100 is viewed from above. Specifically, each of the plurality of beam portions 120 preferably has, for example, a triangular or substantially triangular outer shape when the piezoelectric transducer 100 is viewed from above. In the present preferred embodiment, the triangular or substantially triangular shape is an isosceles triangle shape, for example.
Here, Umezawa teaches a cantilever beam that is an isosceles triangular prism. As explained above, while the parallel polygonal bases of the isosceles triangle prism will be isosceles triangle shaped, at issue is a beam or prism and not merely a 2D shape or a pyramid, and therefore, the isosceles triangle prism will have three square or rectangular sides. Each of these sides has a 90° relationship to each isosceles triangle shaped base. Therefore, Umezawa reads on the claim language at issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as
being anticipated by Umezawa et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210193901; hereinafter “Umezawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Umezawa discloses a piezoelectric microelectro mechanical system (MEMS) sensor, comprising: a substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination) comprising a sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102) that is configured to (Figs. 28-29) transmit (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102) a sound signal (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, transmission of 102) and that comprises (Figs. 28-29) a channel port (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, channel port of 102); and at least one cantilever (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426), that is configured to obtain (Figs. 28-29) a corresponding voltage (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, corresponding voltage obtained by 426) under (Figs. 28-29) an action (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, action of transmission of 102) of the sound signal (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, transmission of 102) and that comprises (Figs. 28-29): a target face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, target face coupled to 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/ 111 in combination) coupled to (Figs. 28-29) the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination); a second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) suspended over (Figs. 28-29) the channel port (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, channel port of 102); and a first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) that is adjacent (Figs. 28-29) to the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102), that is located (Figs. 28-29) between (Figs. 28-29) the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) and the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/ 111 in combination), and that comprises (Figs. 28-29): a first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) facing (Figs. 28-29) the target face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, target face coupled to 121, that is, 130/122/124/ 125/112/111 in combination), wherein the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) is a first outer edge (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) of the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102); and at least one second side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) coupled to the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426), wherein the at least one second side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) is at least one second outer edge (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) of the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102), wherein an included angle (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, angle between first side face of 122 in 426 and at least one of the second side faces of 122 in 426) between (Figs. 28-29) the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) and the at least one second side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) is greater than or equal to 90 degrees (Figs. 28-29; [0045]) and less than 180 degrees (Figs. 28-29; [0045]), and wherein a first area (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, area of region suspended over channel port of 102) of the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) increases (Fig. 29) in a direction (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, direction toward region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) toward (Fig. 29) the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102).
Regarding claim 2, Umezawa discloses the piezoelectric MEMS sensor of claim 1, wherein along (Figs. 28-29) a radial direction (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, radial direction of 102) of the sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102): the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) is quadrate (Figs. 28-29; [0041]; [0046]; [0049]; [0098]; [0139]), and the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) is triangular (Figs. 28-29).
Regarding claim 3, Umezawa discloses the piezoelectric MEMS sensor of claim 1, wherein along (Figs. 28-29) a radial direction (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, radial direction of 102) of the sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102), the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) is trapezoidal (Figs. 28-29; [0041]; [0046]; [0049]; [0098]; [0139]), the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) is triangular (Figs. 28-29); and the included angle (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, angle between first side face of 122 in 426 and at least one of the second side faces of 122 in 426) is greater than 90 degrees (Figs. 28-29; [0045]) and less than 180 degrees (Figs. 28-29; [0045]).
Regarding claim 4, Umezawa discloses the piezoelectric MEMS sensor of claim 2, wherein the at least one cantilever (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426) further comprises (Figs. 28-29): a plurality of electrodes (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 123/124) comprising (Figs. 28-29) a first electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 123) and a second electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 124) that are configured to obtain (Figs. 28-29) the corresponding voltage (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, corresponding voltage obtained by 426); and a piezoelectric thin film unit (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, unit comprising 122); structure comprising (Figs. 28-29): at least one layer of piezoelectric thin film (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 122); a first surface (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first surface of 122) on which (Figs. 28-29) the first electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 123) is disposed (Figs. 28-29); and a second surface (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second surface of 122) that is opposite (Figs. 28-29) to the first surface (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first surface of 122) and on which (Figs. 28-29) the second electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 124) is disposed (Figs. 28-29).
Regarding claim 6, Umezawa discloses the piezoelectric MEMS sensor of claim 4, wherein the piezoelectric thin film structure (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, structure comprising 122) further comprises (Figs. 28-29) a third surface (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, third surface of 122) facing (Figs. 28-29) the sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102), and wherein the at least one cantilever (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426) further comprises (Figs. 28-29) a support layer (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 125) that is attached to (Figs. 28-29) the third surface (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, third surface of 122) and that comprises (Figs. 28-29) an end portion (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, end portion of 125) that is coupled (Figs. 28-29) to the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination).
Regarding claim 7, Umezawa discloses the piezoelectric MEMS sensor of claim 6, wherein the piezoelectric thin film structure (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, structure comprising 122) is coupled(Figs. 28-29), using (Figs. 28-29) the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426), to the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination).
Regarding claim 8, Umezawa discloses the piezoelectric MEMS sensor of claim 6, further comprising (Figs. 28-29) a gap (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 427) between (Fig. 29) the piezoelectric thin film structure (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, structure comprising 122) and the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination), and wherein the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) is of the piezoelectric thin film structure (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, structure comprising 122).
Regarding claim 9, Umezawa discloses the piezoelectric MEMS sensor of claim 1, wherein a second area (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second area of region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) of the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) is less than or equal to 50% (Figs. 28-29) of a third area (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, third area of 426 that is 50% or more of the second area of region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) of the at least one cantilever (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426) along (Figs. 28-29) a radial direction (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, radial direction of 102) of the sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102).
Regarding claim 10, Umezawa discloses the piezoelectric MEMS sensor of claim 1, wherein the at least one cantilever (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426) comprises (Figs. 28-29) four cantilevers (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426) and wherein the piezoelectric MEMS sensor (Figs. 28-29, 400) further comprises (Figs. 28-29) a gap (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 401) between any two adjacent cantilevers (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426) of the four cantilevers (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426).
Regarding claim 11, Umezawa discloses the piezoelectric MEMS sensor of claim 1, wherein the at least one second side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) comprises (Figs. 28-29) two second side faces (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, two second side faces of 122 in 426).
Regarding claim 16, Umezawa discloses the terminal device of claim 14, wherein the at least one cantilever (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426) further comprises (Figs. 28-29): a plurality of electrodes (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 123/124) comprising (Figs. 28-29) a first electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 123) and a second electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 124) that are configured to obtain (Figs. 28-29) the corresponding voltage (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, corresponding voltage obtained by 426); and a piezoelectric thin film structure (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, structure comprising 122) comprising (Figs. 28-29): at least one layer of piezoelectric thin film (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 122); a first surface (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first surface on which 123 is disposed) on which the first electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 123) is disposed (Figs. 28-29); and a second surface (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second surface on which 124 is disposed opposite first surface) that is opposite (Figs. 28-29)to the first surface (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first surface on which 123 is disposed) and on which (Figs. 28-29) the second electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 124) is disposed (Figs. 28-29).
Regarding claim 18, Umezawa discloses the terminal device of claim 16, wherein the piezoelectric thin film structure (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, structure comprising 122) further comprises (Figs. 28-29) a third surface (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, third surface of structure comprising 122) facing (Figs. 28-29) the sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102), and wherein the at least one cantilever (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426) further comprises (Figs. 28-29) a support layer (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 125) that is attached (Figs. 28-29) to the third surface (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, third surface of structure comprising 122) and that comprises (Figs. 28-29) an end portion (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, end portion of 125) that is coupled to (Figs. 28-29) the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination).
Regarding claim 19, Umezawa discloses the terminal device of claim 18, wherein the piezoelectric thin film structure (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, structure comprising 122) is coupled (Fig. 29), using (Fig. 29) the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426), to the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination).
Regarding claim 20, Umezawa discloses the terminal device of claim 18, wherein the piezoelectric MEMS sensor (Figs. 28-29, 400) further comprises (Figs. 28-29) a gap (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 427) between (Fig. 29) the piezoelectric thin film structure (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, structure comprising 122) and the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination), and wherein the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) is of the piezoelectric thin film structure (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, structure comprising 122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Umezawa in view of Diest et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11256331; hereinafter “Diest”).
Regarding claim 5, Umezawa teaches the piezoelectric MEMS sensor of claim 4, further comprising the first electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 123) and the second electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 124) along an axial direction (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, axial direction of 102) of the sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102). Umezawa does not teach further comprising a third electrode disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the piezoelectric thin film structure wraps the third electrode.
Diest, however, does teach further comprising a third electrode (Figs. 3/5/10; Fig. 3, 115) disposed between (Fig. 3) the first electrode (Figs. 3/5/10; Fig. 3, 130a) and the second electrode (Figs. 3/5/10; Fig. 3, 130b), wherein the piezoelectric thin film structure (Figs. 3/5/10; Fig. 3, 105/145/110 in combination; [Abstract]; [Column 8, lines 4-19]; [Column 27, lines 16-30]; [Column 32, lines 40-54]) wraps (Fig. 3) the third electrode (Figs. 3/5/10; Fig. 3, 115).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Umezawa to include the third electrode of Diest because it would provide vertical connection or connection through a first schoopage layer to a first common electrode thereby improving connectivity (Diest [Column 8, lines 4-19]; [Column 12, lines 65-67]).
Regarding claim 12, Umezawa teaches a piezoelectric microelectromechanical system (MEMS) microphone, comprising (Figs. 28-29): a piezoelectric MEMS sensor (Figs. 28-29, 400) comprising (Figs. 28-29): a substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination) comprising (Figs. 28-29) a sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102) that is configured to (Figs. 28-29) transmit (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102) a sound signal (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, transmission of 102) and that comprises (Figs. 28-29) a channel port (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, channel port of 102); and at least one cantilever (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426) that is configured to obtain (Figs. 28-29) a corresponding voltage (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, corresponding voltage obtained by 426) under (Figs. 28-29) an action (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, action of transmission of 102) of the sound signal (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, transmission of 102) and that comprises (Figs. 28-29): a target face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, target face coupled to 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination) coupled to the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination); a second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) suspended over (Figs. 28-29) the channel port (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, channel port of 102); and a first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) that is adjacent (Figs. 28-29) to the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102), that is located between (Figs. 28-29) the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) and the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination), and that comprises (Figs. 28-29): a first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) facing (Figs. 28-29) the target face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, target face coupled to 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination), wherein the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) is a first outer edge (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) of the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102); and at least one second side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) coupled to (Figs. 28-29) the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426), wherein the at least one second side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) is at least one second outer edge (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) of the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102), wherein an included angle (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, angle between first side face of 122 in 426 and at least one of the second side faces of 122 in 426) between (Figs. 28-29) the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) and the at least one second side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) is greater than or equal to 90 degrees (Figs. 28-29; [0045]) and less than 180 degrees (Figs. 28-29; [0045]), and wherein a first area (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, area of region suspended over channel port of 102) of the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) increases (Fig. 29) in a direction (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, direction toward region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) toward (Fig. 29) the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102). Umezawa does not teach an amplification circuit electrically coupled to the piezoelectric MEMS sensor and configured to obtain and amplify the corresponding voltage.
Diest, however, does teach an amplification circuit (Figs. 3/5/10; [Column 13, lines 55-56]) electrically coupled (Figs. 3/5/10; [Column 13, lines 55-56]) to the piezoelectric MEMS sensor (Figs. 3/5/10; [Abstract]; [Column 27, lines 16-30]) and configured to obtain (Figs. 28-29) and amplify (Figs. 3/5/10; [Column 13, lines 55-56]) the corresponding voltage (Figs. 3/5/10; [Column 32, lines 40-54] – corresponding voltage obtained by “multilayer bender”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Umezawa to include the amplification circuit of Diest because it would provide a passive state until the control system provides a measurement thereby improving power use efficiency and control (Diest [Column 13, lines 48-57]).
Regarding claim 13, Umezawa teaches a terminal device, comprising (Figs. 28-29): an audio system comprising (Figs. 28-29): a piezoelectric MEMS sensor (Figs. 28-29, 400) comprising (Figs. 28-29): a substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination) comprising (Figs. 28-29) a sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102) that is configured to (Figs. 28-29) transmit (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102) a sound signal (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, transmission of 102) and that comprises (Figs. 28-29) a channel port (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, channel port of 102); and at least one cantilever (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 426) that is configured to obtain (Figs. 28-29) a corresponding voltage (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, corresponding voltage obtained by 426) under (Figs. 28-29) an action (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, action of transmission of 102) of the sound signal (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, transmission of 102) and that comprises (Figs. 28-29): a target face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, target face coupled to 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination) coupled to (Figs. 28-29) the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination); a second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) suspended over (Figs. 28-29) the channel port (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, channel port of 102); and a first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) that is adjacent to (Figs. 28-29) the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102), that is located between (Figs. 28-29) the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) and the substrate (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination), and that comprises (Figs. 28-29): a first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) facing (Figs. 28-29) the target face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, target face coupled to 121, that is, 130/122/124/125/112/111 in combination), wherein the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) is a first outer edge (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) of the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102); and at least one second side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) coupled to (Figs. 28-29) the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426), wherein the at least one second side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) is at least one second outer edge (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) of the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102), wherein an included angle (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, angle between first side face of 122 in 426 and at least one of the second side faces of 122 in 426) between (Figs. 28-29) the first side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, first side face of 122 in 426) and the at least one second side face (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, second side faces of 122 in 426) is greater than or equal to 90 degrees (Figs. 28-29; [0045]) and less than 180 degrees (Figs. 28-29; [0045]), and wherein a first area (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, area of region suspended over channel port of 102) of the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) increases (Fig. 29) in a direction (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, direction toward region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) toward (Fig. 29) the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102). Umezawa does not teach one or more piezoelectric microelectromechanical system (MEMS) microphones and an amplification circuit electrically coupled to the piezoelectric MEMS sensor and configured to obtain and amplify the corresponding voltage; and an audio circuit electrically coupled to the one or more piezoelectric MEMS microphones.
Diest, however, does teach one or more piezoelectric microelectromechanical system (MEMS) microphones (Fig. 10, 1020; [Column 41, lines 12-14]; Figs. 3/5/10; [Abstract]; [Column 27, lines 16-30]) and an amplification circuit (Figs. 3/5/10; [Column 13, lines 55-56]) electrically coupled (Figs. 3/5/10; [Column 13, lines 55-56]) to the piezoelectric MEMS sensor (Fig. 10, 1040; [Column 40, lines 63-67]; Figs. 3/5/10; [Abstract]; [Column 27, lines 16-30]) and configured to obtain (Figs. 3/5/10) and amplify (Figs. 3/5/10) the corresponding voltage (Figs. 3/5/10; [Column 32, lines 40-54] – corresponding voltage obtained by “multilayer bender”); and an audio circuit (Figs. 3/5/10; Fig. 10, 1000) electrically coupled (Fig. 10) to the one or more piezoelectric MEMS microphones (Fig. 10, 1020; [Column 41, lines 12-14]; Figs. 3/5/10; [Abstract]; [Column 27, lines 16-30]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Umezawa to include the amplification circuit of Diest because it would provide a passive state until the control system provides a measurement thereby improving power use efficiency and control (Diest [Column 13, lines 48-57]).
Regarding claim 14, Umezawa as modified teaches the terminal device of claim 13, wherein along (Figs. 28-29) a radial direction (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, radial direction of 102) of the sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102): the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) is quadrate (Figs. 28-29; [0041]; [0046]; [0049]; [0098]; [0139]), and the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) is triangular (Figs. 28-29).
Regarding claim 15, Umezawa as modified teaches the terminal device of claim 13, wherein along (Figs. 28-29) a radial direction (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, radial direction of 102) of the sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102), the first region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region adjacent to region suspended over channel port of 102) is trapezoidal (Figs. 28-29; [0041]; [0046]; [0049]; [0098]; [0139]), the second region (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, region suspended over channel port of 102) is triangular (Figs. 28-29); and the included angle (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, angle between first side face of 122 in 426 and at least one of the second side faces of 122 in 426) is greater than 90 degrees (Figs. 28-29; [0045]) and less than 180 degrees (Figs. 28-29; [0045]).
Regarding claim 17, Umezawa teaches the terminal device of claim 16, wherein the piezoelectric MEMS sensor (Figs. 28-29, 400) further comprising (Figs. 28-29) the first electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 123) and the second electrode (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 124) along an axial direction (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, axial direction of 102) of the sound entry channel (Figs. 28-29; Fig. 29, 102). Umezawa does not teach further comprising a third electrode disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the piezoelectric thin film structure wraps the third electrode.
Diest, however, does teach further comprising a third electrode (Figs. 3/5/10; Fig. 3, 115) disposed between (Fig. 3) the first electrode (Figs. 3/5/10; Fig. 3, 130a) and the second electrode (Figs. 3/5/10; Fig. 3, 130b), wherein the piezoelectric thin film structure (Figs. 3/5/10; Fig. 3, 105/145/110 in combination; [Abstract]; [Column 8, lines 4-19]; [Column 27, lines 16-30]; [Column 32, lines 40-54]) wraps (Fig. 3) the third electrode (Figs. 3/5/10; Fig. 3, 115).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Umezawa to include the third electrode of Diest because it would provide vertical connection or connection through a first schoopage layer to a first common electrode thereby improving connectivity (Diest [Column 8, lines 4-19]; [Column 12, lines 65-67]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time
policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
9 January 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837