DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 04/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Uehlein-Proctor et al. (US 2009/0102420), herein after Uehlein-Proctor, and Lee et al. (US 2004/0129746), herein after Lee.
The applicant's arguments regarding the rejection in office action mailed on 01/29/2026 are persuasive. Thus, this action is made Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 21, 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehlein-Proctor (US 2009/0102420, and Lee (US 2004/0129746).
Regarding claim 1, Uehlein-Proctor discloses a charging module (400, paragraph [0081]) configured to be removably coupled to a mobile work cart (the charger 400 can include mounting receptacles 428 for securing the charger 400 to a work cart, paragraph [0090]), the charging module comprising:
a housing (402, fig. 12)having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, a front side, and a rear side opposite the front side, the housing defining a cavity in at least the front side, the housing further including a charging bay located within the cavity, the charging bay being configured to removably receive a battery pack to electrically connect the battery pack to the charging module (battery 200 is removably supported in a battery chamber, paragraph [0101]; see the annotated fig. I);
Annotated fig. I
Although Uehlein-Proctor discloses the mounting receptacle to mount the charging module on the cart (paragraph [0090]), however, Uehlein-Proctor does not explicitly disclose a clamp coupled to the rear side of the housing, the clamp including a handle portion and an arm, the clamp being movable relative to the housing along a direction toward or away from the rear side between a deployed position and a retracted position, the clamp being biased toward the retracted position; wherein in the housing defines a recess in the rear side, and wherein when the clamp is in the retracted position the arm is received within the recess.
Lee discloses Integrated Retractable Belt Clip (abstract) to secure the device to any object. Lee discloses a clamp coupled to the rear side of the housing, the clamp including a handle portion and an arm (the clip 26 with the portion 27, fig. 3), the clamp being movable relative to the housing along a direction toward or away from the rear side between a deployed position and a retracted position, the clamp being biased toward the retracted position (The belt clip includes a clip arm that is connected to the housing. The clip arm moves between a retracted position and a deployed position. The clip arm is flush with the housing in the retracted position. The clip arm is elevated above the housing in the deployed position, paragraph [0011]);
wherein in the housing defines a recess (25 in the housing, figs. 3-5), and wherein when the clamp is in the retracted position the arm is received within the recess (The depression has a depth sufficient so that when the engagement member is in the retracted position, the clip arm is received within the depression to such an extent that an external surface of the clip arm is substantially flush with adjacent surfaces of the housing, paragraph [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Uehlein-Proctor’s battery charger mount to include a well-known mounting clip as taught by Lee, in order to stably mount the battery charger over the cart, and preventing unintended movement or dislodgement of the battery module during transport or operation of the cart.
Regarding claim 2, Uehlein-Proctor in view of Lee discloses the charging module of claim 1. Uehlein-Proctor further discloses a task light pivotably coupled to the housing at the first end (a charge indicator at the housing, (paragraph [0092])).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Uehlein-Proctor’s battery charger mount to include a well-known mounting clip as taught by Lee, in order to stably mount the battery charger over the cart, and preventing unintended movement or dislodgement of the battery module during transport or operation of the cart.
Regarding claim 21, Uehlein-Proctor in view of Lee discloses the charging module of claim 1. Lee discloses wherein the handle portion and the arm are flush with the surrounding surface of the housing when the clamp is in the retracted position (The depression has a depth sufficient so that when the engagement member is in the retracted position, the clip arm is received within the depression to such an extent that an external surface of the clip arm is substantially flush with adjacent surfaces of the housing, paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 23, Uehlein-Proctor in view of Lee discloses the charging module of claim 1. Uehlein-Proctor further discloses wherein the charging bay is configured to receive the battery pack in a direction that is transverse to a longitudinal direction of the arm (the battery 200 is received in transverse direction, fig. 12).
Regarding claim 24, Uehlein-Proctor in view of Lee discloses the charging module of claim 1. Uehlein-Proctor further discloses wherein the charging bay is configured to removably receive a 12-Volt post-type battery pack and/or an 18-Volt rail-type battery pack (the battery 200 can include two or more battery cells 208 where each battery cells having a nominal voltage of 4 volts and the battery module 200 with three battery cells can fulfil the claim limitation, paragraph [0066]-[0067]).
Claim(s) 3, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehlein-Proctor (US 2009/0102420), and Lee (US 2004/0129746) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fry et al. (US 2015/0171632), herein after Fry.
Regarding claim 3, Uehlein-Proctor in view of Lee discloses the charging module of claim 2. However, they are silent wherein the charging module is configured to supply power to the battery pack to recharge the battery pack in a first mode, and wherein the charging module is configured to draw power from the battery pack to activate the task light in a second mode.
Fry discloses wherein the charging module is configured to supply power to the battery pack to recharge the battery pack in a first mode (The power device 10 is operable to charge the battery 14 and the battery packs 86, 90 in the AC mode and the DC mode, paragraph [0059], fig. 13), and wherein the charging module is configured to draw power from the battery pack to activate the task light in a second mode (the battery 14 is not charged in the standalone mode. However, the battery 14 (a) provides DC power to the inverter 246, which is inverted and provided to AC peripheral devices coupled to the AC power output connector 202, (b) provides DC power to the first DC output connector 194 and to the second DC output 198 to power DC peripheral devices coupled to the DC power output connectors 194, 198, paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Uehlein-Proctor’s module in view of Lee to charge and discharge the battery though only one module as taught by Fry, in order to have the simple design and implement, requiring fewer components and a less intricate wiring scheme compared to systems with multiple modules or a distributed architecture. This can lead to a quicker development process and reduced manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 5, Uehlein-Proctor in view of Lee discloses the charging module of claim 1. Pickens discloses one battery receptacle on the charging bay. However, Becker and Pickens is silent about the charging bay has two battery receptacles on accommodate two different types of the batteries.
Fry discloses wherein the charging bay (power device 1800, fig. 24) comprises a first battery receptacle and a second battery receptacle, wherein the battery pack is a battery pack of a first type (1804 battery pack in the first battery receptacle, paragraph [0087];fig. 24A), wherein the first battery receptacle is configured to removably receive the battery pack of the first type (paragraph [0087]), and wherein the second battery receptacle is configured to receive a battery pack of a second type different from the first type (the second battery packs 1808 in the second battery receptacle, fig. 24; both the batteries are different types).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Uehlein-Proctor’s module in view of Lee to charge different types of the battery simultaneously as taught by Fry, in order to consolidating charging needs into one module reduces the number of chargers and cables you need, leading to a more organized and clutter-free space.
Regarding claim 7, Uehlein-Proctor in view of Lee discloses the charging module of claim 1. However, Uehlein-Proctor and Lee are silent about wherein the charging bay is a first charging bay and wherein the charging module further comprises a second charging bay located within the cavity adjacent the first charging bay.
Fry discloses wherein the charging bay is a first charging bay and wherein the charging module further comprises a second charging bay located within the cavity adjacent the first charging bay (see the annotated fig III).
Annotated fig. III
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Uehlein-Proctor’s module in view of Lee to have multiple charging bay in a cavity as taught by Fry, in order to consolidating charging needs into one module reduces the number of chargers and cables you need, leading to a more organized and clutter-free space.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehlein-Proctor (US 2009/0102420), and Lee (US 2004/0129746) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Phillips et al. (US 11,223,227), herein after Phillips.
Regarding claim 4, Uehlein-Proctor in view of Lee discloses the charging module of claim 1. However, Uehlein-Proctor and Lee are silent about the charging module further comprising a permanent magnet affixed to the rear side of the housing.
Phillips discloses the charging module further comprising a permanent magnet affixed to the rear side of the housing (Alternatively, or additionally, the holder 22 may comprise one or more mechanisms configured to temporarily secure the battery 20 such as, but not limited to, magnets, Col. 4, lines 59-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Uehlein-Proctor’s module in view of Lee to have a magnet at the rear side of the housing as taught by Phillips, in order to secure the battery pack on the charging cart as desired for the application.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehlein-Proctor (US 2009/0102420), and Lee (US 2004/0129746) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Michaels (US 2020/0083724).
Regarding claim 6, Uehlein-Proctor in view of Lee discloses the charging module of claim 1. However, Uehlein-Proctor and Lee are silent about wherein the arm is a first arm and the clamp further comprises a second arm, each arm being located at an opposite end of the handle portion and extending perpendicular to the handle portion and parallel to each other.
Michaels discloses wherein the arm is a first arm and the clamp further comprises a second arm, each arm being located at an opposite end of the handle portion and extending perpendicular to the handle portion and parallel to each other (see the annotated fig. IV).
Annotated fig. IV
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Uehlein-Proctor’s module in view of Lee to have two arms clamp as taught by Michaels, in order to have a more stable and secure grip of the charging module over the working cart.
Claim(s) 8, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehlein-Proctor (US 2009/0102420), and Lee (US 2004/0129746) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pickens et al. (US 9,831,695), herein after Pickens.
Regarding claim 8, Uehlein-Proctor in view of Lee discloses the charging module of claim 1. Uehlein-Proctor further discloses an electrical input receptacle 410 (fig. 12). However, they are silent about the input port is Universal Synchronous Bus (USB) port.
Pickens discloses the charging module further comprising a Universal Synchronous Bus (USB) port positioned in the front side of the housing (the battery pack battery pack receptacle/adapter 520 may include one or more (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, etc.) USB connection ports 250; Col. 6, lines 34-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Uehlein-Proctor’s module in view of Lee to have the charging module to charge the battery as taught by Pickens, in order to charge the battery and use to maintain a smooth workflow by ensuring devices and equipment are always powered and ready for use.
Regarding claim 22, Uehlein-Proctor in view of Lee discloses the charging module of claim 1. Uehlein-Proctor and Lee do not disclose that the charging bay is configured to receive the battery pack in a direction that is parallel to a longitudinal direction of the arm.
Pickens discloses the charging bay is configured to receive the battery pack in a direction that is parallel to a longitudinal direction of the arm (the charging bay 520 can accommodate the battery in various direction with respect to the coupling portion, e.g. fig. 5 shows that the battery pack receive in parallel to longitudinal direction with respect to coupling portion 510).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Uehlein-Proctor’s module in view of Lee to have the charging module to charge the battery in a particular dimension as taught by Pickens, in order to charge the battery in a parallel direction with the support ensures durability, security, and space-saving by keeping the unit stable.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859