DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on page 5, “ Becker teaches an elongated slot 654 of adjustable width and not a recess defined in a housing that receives an arm of a clamp.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Becker discloses the main body portion 652 includes an elongated slot 654, which is dimensioned to receive wall portion (Col. 10, lines 7–9). Note that practically the slot 654 receives almost the whole portion of the wall 655 in order to tightly insert the device in the cart. If the slot accommodates a small portion of the wall, then the device would not have enough support to carry the device 602 on a cart.
The applicant further argues that on page 6, Becker discloses a data collection device to facilitate the consumer and retailer and modification of it with the battery pack would render Becker's invention inoperable for its intended purpose.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Becker discloses a portable data collection device which works with the rechargeable battery 806 (col. 12, lines 23-25). It is very necessary to have fully charged rechargeable batteries to maintain a smooth work flow. Thus, the base reference can be modified with the battery packs to charge the extra batteries in order to use it later time.
The applicant arguments are not persuasive; thus, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)1, 2, 8, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al. (US 6,168,079), herein after Becker, and Pickens et al. (US 9,831,695), herein after Pickens.
Regarding claim 1, Becker discloses a module (650, fig. 13) configured to be removably coupled to a mobile work cart (C, fig. 13), the module comprising:
a housing having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, a front side, and a rear side opposite the front side, the housing defining a cavity in at least the front side (see annotated fig. I),
Annotated fig. I
a clamp coupled to the rear side of the housing, the clamp including a handle portion and an arm (see annotated fig. II),
Annotated fig. II
the clamp being movable relative to the housing along a direction toward or away from the rear side between a deployed position and a retracted position, the clamp being biased toward the retracted position ( Docking member is adapted to be hanged from a thin wall portion W of cart C; Col. 10, lines 4-5, fig. 13A the arrow sign shows deployed and retracted position); wherein in the housing defines a recess (slot 654, fig. 13A) in the rear side, and wherein when the clamp is in the retracted position the arm is received within the recess (654 received the arm 655, fig. 13A). However, Becker is silent about the module is a charging module, and the housing further including a charging bay located within the cavity, the charging bay being configured to removably receive a battery pack to electrically connect the battery pack to the charging module.
Pickens discloses a charging module(520, fig. 3) and the housing further including a charging bay located within the cavity (520 include on the font portion 510, fig. 3; the battery pack receptacle/adapter 520 may be positioned in a pocket, clipped to a pocket, part of a pocket, positioned inside a utility bag, part of a wall of a utility bag (e.g., a side-wall, an end-wall, etc.), container, case, box, cooler, etc. as desired, Col. 7, lines- 4-7), the charging bay being configured to removably receive a battery pack to electrically connect the battery pack to the charging module (The at least one battery pack adapter is configured to removably couple with a particular type of battery pack used for a cordless device; Col. 5, lines 29-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Becker’s module to have the charging module to charge the battery as taught by Pickens, in order to charge the battery and use to maintain a smooth workflow by ensuring devices and equipment are always powered and ready for use.
Regarding claim 2, Becker in view of Pickens discloses the charging module of claim 1. Pickens further discloses the charging module further comprising a task light pivotably coupled to the housing at the first end (2930 is connected to one end of housing to accommodate lightning element, Col. 15, lines 35-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Becker’s module to have the charging module to charge the battery as taught by Pickens, in order to charge the battery and use to maintain a smooth workflow by ensuring devices and equipment are always powered and ready for use.
Regarding claim 8, Becker in view of Pickens discloses the charging module of claim 1. Pickens further discloses the charging module further comprising a Universal Synchronous Bus (USB) port positioned in the front side of the housing (the battery pack battery pack receptacle/adapter 520 may include one or more (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, etc.) USB connection ports 250; Col. 6, lines 34-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Becker’s module to have the charging module to charge the battery as taught by Pickens, in order to charge the battery and use to maintain a smooth workflow by ensuring devices and equipment are always powered and ready for use.
Regarding claim 21, Becker in view of Pickens discloses the charging module of claim 1. Becker further discloses wherein the handle portion and the arm are flush with the surrounding surface of the housing when the clamp is in the retracted position (fig. 13 A shows that the handle and arm are flush towards 657; see the response to argument section).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Becker’s module to have the charging module to charge the battery as taught by Pickens, in order to charge the battery and use it to maintain a smooth workflow by ensuring devices and equipment are always powered and ready for use.
Regarding claim 22, Becker in view of Pickens discloses the charging module of claim 1. Pickens discloses the charging bay is configured to receive the battery pack in a direction that is parallel to a longitudinal direction of the arm (the charging bay 520 can accommodate the battery in various direction with respect to the coupling portion, e.g. fig. 5 shows that the battery pack receive in parallel to longitudinal direction with respect to coupling portion 510).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Becker’s module to have the charging module to charge the battery in a particular dimension as taught by Pickens, in order to charge the battery in a parallel direction with the support ensures durability, security, and space-saving by keeping the unit stable.
Regarding claim 23, Becker in view of Pickens discloses the charging module of claim 1. Pickens discloses the charging bay is configured to receive the battery pack in a direction that is transverse to a longitudinal direction of the arm (fig. 12 shows the transverse to a longitudinal direction of the battery pack with respect to the coupling portion 510).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Becker’s module to have the charging module to charge the battery in a particular dimension as taught by Pickens, in order to charge the battery in a parallel direction with the support ensures durability, security, and space-saving by keeping the unit stable.
Regarding claim 24, Becker in view of Pickens discloses the charging module of claim 1. Pickens discloses wherein the charging bay is configured to removably receive a 12-Volt post-type battery pack and/or an 18-Volt rail-type battery pack (The battery packs may have different voltages, such as 12V, 18V, 24V, etc; Col. 1 line 18).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Becker’s module to have the charging module to charge the battery as taught by Pickens, in order to charge the battery and use it to maintain a smooth workflow by ensuring devices and equipment are always powered and ready for use.
Claim(s)3, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 6,168,079), and Pickens (US 9,831,695) as applied to claims 1, 2 above, and further in view of Fry et al. (US 2015/0171632), herein after Fry.
Regarding claim 3, Becker in view of Pickens discloses the charging module of claim 2. However, they are silent wherein the charging module is configured to supply power to the battery pack to recharge the battery pack in a first mode, and wherein the charging module is configured to draw power from the battery pack to activate the task light in a second mode.
Fry discloses wherein the charging module is configured to supply power to the battery pack to recharge the battery pack in a first mode (The power device 10 is operable to charge the battery 14 and the battery packs 86, 90 in the AC mode and the DC mode, paragraph [0059], fig. 13), and wherein the charging module is configured to draw power from the battery pack to activate the task light in a second mode (the battery 14 is not charged in the standalone mode. However, the battery 14 (a) provides DC power to the inverter 246, which is inverted and provided to AC peripheral devices coupled to the AC power output connector 202, (b) provides DC power to the first DC output connector 194 and to the second DC output 198 to power DC peripheral devices coupled to the DC power output connectors 194, 198, paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Becker’s module in view of Pickens to charge and discharge the battery though only one module as taught by Fry, in order to have the simple design and implement, requiring fewer components and a less intricate wiring scheme compared to systems with multiple modules or a distributed architecture. This can lead to a quicker development process and reduced manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 5, Becker in view of Pickens discloses the charging module of claim 1. Pickens discloses one battery receptacle on the charging bay. However, Becker and Pickens is silent about the charging bay has two battery receptacles on accommodate two different types of the batteries.
Fry discloses wherein the charging bay (power device 1800, fig. 24) comprises a first battery receptacle and a second battery receptacle, wherein the battery pack is a battery pack of a first type (1804 battery pack in the first battery receptacle, paragraph [0087];fig. 24A), wherein the first battery receptacle is configured to removably receive the battery pack of the first type (paragraph [0087]), and wherein the second battery receptacle is configured to receive a battery pack of a second type different from the first type (the second battery packs 1808 in the second battery receptacle, fig. 24; both the batteries are different types).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Becker’s module in view of Pickens to charge different types of the battery simultaneously as taught by Fry, in order to consolidating charging needs into one module reduces the number of chargers and cables you need, leading to a more organized and clutter-free space.
Regarding claim 7, Becker in view of Pickens discloses the charging module of claim 1. However, Becker and Pickens is silent about wherein the charging bay is a first charging bay and wherein the charging module further comprises a second charging bay located within the cavity adjacent the first charging bay.
Fry discloses wherein the charging bay is a first charging bay and wherein the charging module further comprises a second charging bay located within the cavity adjacent the first charging bay (see the annotated fig III).
Annotated fig. III
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Becker’s module in view of Pickens to have multiple charging bay in a cavity as taught by Fry, in order to consolidating charging needs into one module reduces the number of chargers and cables you need, leading to a more organized and clutter-free space.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 6,168,079), and Pickens (US 9,831,695) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Phillips et al. (US 11,223,227), herein after Phillips.
Regarding claim 4, Becker in view of Pickens discloses the charging module of claim 1. However, Becker and Pickens is silent about the charging module further comprising a permanent magnet affixed to the rear side of the housing.
Phillips discloses the charging module further comprising a permanent magnet affixed to the rear side of the housing (Alternatively, or additionally, the holder 22 may comprise one or more mechanisms configured to temporarily secure the battery 20 such as, but not limited to, magnets, Col. 4, lines 59-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Becker’s module in view of Pickens to have a magnet at the rear side of the housing as taught by Phillips, in order to secure the battery pack on the charging cart as desired for the application.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 6,168,079), and Pickens (US 9,831,695) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Michaels (US 2020/0083724).
Regarding claim 6, Becker in view of Pickens discloses the charging module of claim 1. However, Becker and Pickens is silent about wherein the arm is a first arm and the clamp further comprises a second arm, each arm being located at an opposite end of the handle portion and extending perpendicular to the handle portion and parallel to each other.
Michaels discloses wherein the arm is a first arm and the clamp further comprises a second arm, each arm being located at an opposite end of the handle portion and extending perpendicular to the handle portion and parallel to each other (see the annotated fig. IV).
Annotated fig. IV
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Becker’s module in view of Pickens to have two arms clamp as taught by Michaels, in order to have a more stable and secure grip of the charging module over the working cart.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859