DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the application filed on January 14, 2026
Claims 1,3-6, 9,11,12,14,16, 18-20, 13, 22, 23 and 25-28 is/are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-6, 9,11,12,14,16, 18-20, 13, 22, 23 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by XU et al. (USP: 2015/0358866) in view of Velev et al. (USP 2023/0093965).
As per Claim 1 XU teaches a connection processing method, comprising:
Receiving, by a terminal, a paging from first network (Paragraph 0067, 0068 MME initiates paging of the UE);
Sending, by the terminal, a service request message to a core-network (CN) network element for responding to the paging (Paragraph 0067, 0068, 0100, 0310, 0312 A UE sends to a network an RRC connection request message for requesting an RRC connection. Examples of a case where the UE in a response message is transmitted in response to a paging message. The MME initiates paging of the UE to re-establish the bearers. the core network (CN), controls the UE and manages establishment of the bearers. The MME 30 is the control node which processes the signaling between the UE and the CN. The first message is service request ACK or SeNB addition acknowledgement. Transmits service request ACK to macro eNB1 as a response to the received service request); wherein the service request message comprises first indication information (Paragraph 0076, 0335, 0382 transmits a service deactivation message to small cell 1 to enable service 2 provided to the UE by small cell 1 to be moved to macro eNB1 (S2108). The indication may be a service deactivation message, an SeNB release request message or an information element in the service deactivation message..); and
wherein the first indication information is used for at least one of the following:
requesting not to activate, not to establish, or not to resume a user-plane resource for a data tunnel specific to the terminal; or, requesting to deactivate, release, or suspend a connection between the terminal and a first network (Paragraph 0336-0338 The service deactivation message is for service release in the small cell and may be represented as a small cell release request message or an SeNB release request message. FIG. 16 in a heterogeneous network environment, that is, to continuously support dual connectivity operation of the UE when a service provided by a specific small cell is moved to another small cell, it is necessary to solve the service path change problem illustrated in FIG. 19).
However XU doesn’t explicitly disclose Sending, by the terminal,
Velev discloses Sending, by the terminal, (Paragraph 0047, 0078, 0091, 0192 the UE 205 sends Registration Request for USIM-2 209 (e.g., including one or more informational elements like SUC1/GUTI2, etc.; see messaging 329). USIM-A determine whether to transmit the paging message based on comparing the services. the UE transmits an identifier (e.g., GUTI) received during the registration of the first USIM (USIM-1). The transceiver 625 operates under the control of the processor 605 to transmit messages, data, and other signals and also to receive messages, data, and other signals. For example, the processor 605 may selectively activate the transceiver (or portions thereof) at particular times in order to send and receive messages. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XU to include the teaching of Velev so the transceiver 625 operates under the control of the processor 605 to transmit messages, data, and other signals and also to receive messages, data, and other signals.. (See Velev Paragraph 0192).
2. (Cancelled)
As per Claim 3 XU-Velev teaches method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information is further used for at least one of the following:
indicating not transmitting data specific to a terminal;
requesting to cache data specific to the terminal;
requesting to discard data specific to the terminal;
indicating that the terminal is unreachable;
indicating that data is unable to reach the terminal;
requesting a connection between the terminal and the first network to enter a non-connected state, to enter an idle state, or to enter an inactive state;
requesting to reject activating, reject establishing, or reject resuming a connection between the terminal and the first network; requesting to return a service reject for a service request of the terminal; or requesting not to trigger paging the terminal (Paragraph 0068,0074 0127 when receiving the RRC connection reestablishment request message from the terminal and not accepting the request, the cell sends a RRC connection reestablishment reject message to the terminal. The S-GW 40 also retains information about the bearers when the UE is in idle state (known as ECM-IDLE) and temporarily buffers downlink data while the MME initiates paging of the UE to re-establish the bearers. The MME serves to keep track of the user location while the UE is in the ECM-IDLE state. ).
As per Claim 4 XU-Velev teaches method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information further comprises at least one of the following: indication information that indicates not transmitting control-plane data, and indication information that indicates not transmitting user-plane data; or the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information that indicates requesting to cache control-plane data specific to a terminal, and indication information that indicates requesting to cache user-plane data specific to the terminal; or the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information that indicates requesting to discard control-plane data specific to the terminal, and indication information that indicates requesting to discard user-plane data specific to the terminal; or the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information indicating that the control-plane data is unable to reach the terminal, and indication information indicating that the user-plane data is unable to reach the terminal; or the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information indicating that the control-plane data is not allowed to trigger paging the terminal, or indication information indicating that the user-plane data is not allowed to trigger paging the terminal (Paragraph 0078, 0084 FIG. 4A is a diagram illustrating a radio protocol architecture for a user plane. FIG. 4B is a diagram illustrating a radio protocol architecture for a control plane. The user plane is a protocol stack for user data transmission. The E-UTRAN includes at least one base station (BS) 20 which provides a control plane and a user plane to a user equipment (UE) 10. ).
As per Claim 5 XU-Velev teaches method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information is further used for at least one of the following:
indicating whether to transmit data specific to a terminal; indicating whether to request to cache data specific to the terminal; indicating whether to request to discard data specific to the terminal; indicating whether the terminal is reachable;
indicating whether data is able to reach the terminal; indicating whether to request a connection between the terminal and the first network to enter a non-connected state, to enter an idle state, or to enter an inactive state; indicating whether to request to reject activating, whether to request to reject establishing, or whether to request to reject resuming a connection between the terminal or the first network; and indicating whether to request not to trigger paging the terminal (Paragraph 0127 0336 The service deactivation message is for service release in the small cell and may be represented as a small cell release request message or an SeNB release request message. when receiving the RRC connection reestablishment request message from the terminal and not accepting the request, the cell sends a RRC connection reestablishment reject message to the terminal. ).
As per Claim 6 XU-Velev teaches method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information indicating whether to transmit control-plane data, and indication information indicating whether to transmit user-plane data; or the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information indicating whether to request to cache control-plane data specific to a terminal, and indication information indicating whether to request to cache user-plane data specific to the terminal; or the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information indicating whether to request to discard control-plane data specific to a terminal, and indication information indicating whether to request to discard user-plane data specific to the terminal; or
the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information indicating whether the control-plane data is able to reach the terminal, and indication information indicating whether the user-plane data is able to reach the terminal; or the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information indicating whether the control-plane data triggers a paging to the terminal, or indication information indicating whether the user-plane data triggers a paging to the terminal (Paragraph 0011, 0078, 0367 indication for notifying the MME that the second message is user plane path change information, the small cell shall release the corresponding data radio bearers, and the small cell shall regard the E-RABs indicated in the E-RAB To Be Released List IE as being fully released. 0078] The E-UTRAN includes at least one base station (BS) 20 which provides a control plane and a user plane to a user equipment (UE) 10.).
7. (Cancelled)
8. (Cancelled)
As per Claim 9 XU-Velev teaches method according to claim 1, wherein the sending, by the terminal, the service request message to the CN network element comprises: in a case that a first condition is satisfied sending, by the terminal, the service request message to the CN network element (Paragraph 0066, 0100 A UE sends to a network an RRC connection request message for requesting an RRC connection. The EPC, which is also referred to as the core network (CN), controls the UE and manages establishment of the bearers. ); wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following:
it is determined that a connection to the first network remains deactivated, released, or suspended; it is determined to discard data specific to the terminal from the first network; it is determined to receive only control-plane data that is specific to the terminal and that comes from the first network, and it is determined to discard user-plane data that is specific to the terminal and that comes from the first network; it is determined not to immediately receive data that is specific to the terminal and that comes from the first network; it is determined to request the first network to continue to cache data specific to the terminal; it is determined not to activate, establish, or resume a user-plane resource for a data tunnel specific to the terminal with the first network; or it is determined not to perform data transmission with the first network (Paragraph 0009, 0366 the EPC decides to change the uplink termination point of the tunnels, it may include the E-RAB To Be Switched in Uplink List IE in the small cell path information notify response (New Message or new IE of the existing message) message to specify a new uplink transport layer address and uplink GTP-TEID for each respective E-RAB for which it wants to change the uplink tunnel termination point).
However XU doesn’t explicitly disclose Sending, by the terminal,
Velev discloses Sending, by the terminal, (Paragraph 0047, 0078, 0091, 0192 the UE 205 sends Registration Request for USIM-2 209 (e.g., including one or more informational elements like SUC1/GUTI2, etc.; see messaging 329). USIM-A determine whether to transmit the paging message based on comparing the services. the UE transmits an identifier (e.g., GUTI) received during the registration of the first USIM (USIM-1). The transceiver 625 operates under the control of the processor 605 to transmit messages, data, and other signals and also to receive messages, data, and other signals. For example, the processor 605 may selectively activate the transceiver (or portions thereof) at particular times in order to send and receive messages. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XU to include the teaching of Velev so the transceiver 625 operates under the control of the processor 605 to transmit messages, data, and other signals and also to receive messages, data, and other signals.. (See Velev Paragraph 0192).
10. (Cancelled)
As per Claim 11 XU-Velev teaches method according to any one of claim 3, wherein the data specific to the terminal comprises: control-plane data specific to the terminal and user-plane data specific to the terminal (Paragraph 0009, 0027 a transport layer address field indicating an IP address used for user plane transmission or a GTP (General Packet Radio Service Tunneling Protocol)-TEID (Tunnel Endpoint Identifier) field used for user plane transmission ).
As per Claim 12 XU teaches a connection processing method, comprising:
initiating, by a core-network (CN) network element, a paging to a terminal
obtaining, by the CN network element, a service request message from the terminal for responding to the paging (Paragraph 0067, 0068, 0100, 0310, 0312 A UE sends to a network an RRC connection request message for requesting an RRC connection. Examples of a case where the UE in a response message is transmitted in response to a paging message. The MME initiates paging of the UE to re-establish the bearers. the core network (CN), controls the UE and manages establishment of the bearers. The MME 30 is the control node which processes the signaling between the UE and the CN. The first message is service request ACK or SeNB addition acknowledgement. Transmits service request ACK to macro eNB1 as a response to the received service request); and
performing, by the CN network element, a first operation according to the service request message that is obtained (Paragraph 0076, 0335, 0382 transmits a service deactivation message to small cell 1 to enable service 2 provided to the UE by small cell 1 to be moved to macro eNB1 (S2108). The indication may be a service deactivation message, an SeNB release request message or an information element in the service deactivation message..);
wherein the service request message comprises first indication information (Paragraph 0076, 0335, 0382 transmits a service deactivation message to small cell 1 to enable service 2 provided to the UE by small cell 1 to be moved to macro eNB1 (S2108). The indication may be a service deactivation message, an SeNB release request message or an information element in the service deactivation message..); wherein the first indication information is used for at least one of the following: requesting not to activate, not to establish, or not to resume a user-plane resource for a data tunnel specific to the terminal or, requesting to deactivate, release, or suspend a connection between the terminal and a first network; and the first operation comprises at least one of the following: skipping activating a user-plane resource for a data tunnel specific to a terminal, skipping establishing a user-plane resource for a data tunnel specific to a terminal, or skipping resuming a user-plane resource for a data tunnel specific to a terminal; and releasing or suspending a connection specific to the terminal (Paragraph 0336-0338 The service deactivation message is for service release in the small cell and may be represented as a small cell release request message or an SeNB release request message. FIG. 16 in a heterogeneous network environment, that is, to continuously support dual connectivity operation of the UE when a service provided by a specific small cell is moved to another small cell, it is necessary to solve the service path change problem illustrated in FIG. 19).
However XU doesn’t explicitly disclose Sending, by the terminal,
Velev discloses Sending, by the terminal, (Paragraph 0047, 0078, 0091, 0192 the UE 205 sends Registration Request for USIM-2 209 (e.g., including one or more informational elements like SUC1/GUTI2, etc.; see messaging 329). USIM-A determine whether to transmit the paging message based on comparing the services. the UE transmits an identifier (e.g., GUTI) received during the registration of the first USIM (USIM-1). The transceiver 625 operates under the control of the processor 605 to transmit messages, data, and other signals and also to receive messages, data, and other signals. For example, the processor 605 may selectively activate the transceiver (or portions thereof) at particular times in order to send and receive messages. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XU to include the teaching of Velev so the transceiver 625 operates under the control of the processor 605 to transmit messages, data, and other signals and also to receive messages, data, and other signals.. (See Velev Paragraph 0192).
As per Claim 13 XU-Velev teaches the method according to claim 12, However XU doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein before the obtaining a service request message, the method further comprises: initiating a paging to the terminal; and the obtaining a service request message comprises: obtaining the service request message for responding to the paging.
Velev discloses wherein before the obtaining a service request message, the method further comprises: initiating a paging to the terminal; and the obtaining a service request message comprises: obtaining the service request message for responding to the paging (Paragraph 0014, 0066, 0099 0116, 0124 The paging valid time can be the valid duration for the paging triggered by the radio access network, the paging valid time can be valid time for the paging associated with data for UE (also can be presented as paging valid duration). For example, the paging valid time associated with NAS data, or the paging valid time associated with data of session/QoS flow/bearer. the power-saving mode can be presented as Mobile Initiated Connection only (MICO) mode. wherein the data information comprises: power-saving mode information, data buffer information, light connection information, type information, service information, capability information and paging valid time.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XU to include a set up the prioritization of services associated with USIM-1 and USIM-2. Additionally, is it assumed that the CN paging message contains a cause value including the type of service. (See Velev Paragraph 0044).
As per Claim 14 XU-Velev teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein
the data specific to the terminal is: all data specific to the terminal; and/or
the control-plane data specific to the terminal is: all control-plane data specific to the terminal; and/or the user-plane data specific to the terminal is: all user-plane data specific to the terminal (Paragraph 0068,0074 0127 when receiving the RRC connection reestablishment request message from the terminal and not accepting the request, the cell sends a RRC connection reestablishment reject message to the terminal. The S-GW 40 also retains information about the bearers when the UE is in idle state (known as ECM-IDLE) and temporarily buffers downlink data while the MME initiates paging of the UE to re-establish the bearers. The MME serves to keep track of the user location while the UE is in the ECM-IDLE state. ).
15. (Cancelled)
As per Claim 16 XU teaches a communications device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the steps of the connection processing method are implemented, wherein the method comprises:
receiving a paging from a paging from first network (Paragraph 0067, 0068 MME initiates paging of the UE);
sending a service request message (Paragraph 0310, 0312 the first message is service request ACK or SeNB addition acknowledgement. Transmits service request ACK to macro eNB1 as a response to the received service request);
wherein the service request message comprises first indication information to a core network ( CN) network element for responding to the paging(Paragraph 0067, 0068, 0100, 0310, 0312 A UE sends to a network an RRC connection request message for requesting an RRC connection. Examples of a case where the UE in a response message is transmitted in response to a paging message. The MME initiates paging of the UE to re-establish the bearers. the core network (CN), controls the UE and manages establishment of the bearers. The MME 30 is the control node which processes the signaling between the UE and the CN. The first message is service request ACK or SeNB addition acknowledgement. Transmits service request ACK to macro eNB1 as a response to the received service request); and wherein the first indication information is used for at least one of the following: requesting not to activate, not to establish, or not to resume a user-plane resource for a data tunnel specific to the terminal; or, requesting to deactivate, release, or suspend a connection between the terminal and a first network (Paragraph 0336-0338 The service deactivation message is for service release in the small cell and may be represented as a small cell release request message or an SeNB release request message. FIG. 16 in a heterogeneous network environment, that is, to continuously support dual connectivity operation of the UE when a service provided by a specific small cell is moved to another small cell, it is necessary to solve the service path change problem illustrated in FIG. 19).
However XU doesn’t explicitly disclose Sending, by the terminal,
Velev discloses Sending, by the terminal, (Paragraph 0047, 0078, 0091, 0192 the UE 205 sends Registration Request for USIM-2 209 (e.g., including one or more informational elements like SUC1/GUTI2, etc.; see messaging 329). USIM-A determine whether to transmit the paging message based on comparing the services. the UE transmits an identifier (e.g., GUTI) received during the registration of the first USIM (USIM-1). The transceiver 625 operates under the control of the processor 605 to transmit messages, data, and other signals and also to receive messages, data, and other signals. For example, the processor 605 may selectively activate the transceiver (or portions thereof) at particular times in order to send and receive messages. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XU to include the teaching of Velev so the transceiver 625 operates under the control of the processor 605 to transmit messages, data, and other signals and also to receive messages, data, and other signals.. (See Velev Paragraph 0192).
17. (Cancelled)
As per Claim 18 XU-Velev teaches the communications device according to claim 16, wherein the first indication information is further used for at least one of the following:
indicating not transmitting data specific to a terminal; requesting to cache data specific to the terminal; requesting to discard data specific to the terminal;
indicating that the terminal is unreachable; indicating that data is unable to reach the terminal; requesting a connection between the terminal and the first network to enter a non-connected state, to enter an idle state, or to enter an inactive state;
requesting to reject activating, reject establishing, or reject resuming a connection between the terminal and the first network; requesting to return a service reject for a service request of the terminal; and requesting not to trigger paging the terminal (Paragraph 0068,0074 0127 when receiving the RRC connection reestablishment request message from the terminal and not accepting the request, the cell sends a RRC connection reestablishment reject message to the terminal. The S-GW 40 also retains information about the bearers when the UE is in idle state (known as ECM-IDLE) and temporarily buffers downlink data while the MME initiates paging of the UE to re-establish the bearers. The MME serves to keep track of the user location while the UE is in the ECM-IDLE state. ).
As per Claim 19 XU-Velev teaches the communications device according to claim 16, wherein the first indication information further comprises at least one of the following: indication information that indicates not transmitting control-plane data, and indication information that indicates not transmitting user-plane data; or
the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information that indicates requesting to cache control-plane data specific to a terminal, and indication information that indicates requesting to cache user-plane data specific to the terminal; or the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information that indicates requesting to discard control-plane data specific to the terminal, and indication information that indicates requesting to discard user-plane data specific to the terminal; or the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information indicating that the control-plane data is unable to reach the terminal, and indication information indicating that the user-plane data is unable to reach the terminal; or the first indication information comprises at least one of the following: indication information indicating that the control-plane data is not allowed to trigger paging the terminal,or indication information indicating that the user-plane data is not allowed to trigger paging the terminal (Paragraph 0078, 0084 FIG. 4A is a diagram illustrating a radio protocol architecture for a user plane. FIG. 4B is a diagram illustrating a radio protocol architecture for a control plane. The user plane is a protocol stack for user data transmission. The E-UTRAN includes at least one base station (BS) 20 which provides a control plane and a user plane to a user equipment (UE) 10. ).
As per Claim 20 XU-Velev teaches the communications device according to claim 16, wherein the first indication information is further used for at least one of the following:
indicating whether to transmit data specific to a terminal;
indicating whether to request to cache data specific to the terminal;
indicating whether to request to discard data specific to the terminal;
indicating whether the terminal is reachable; indicating whether data is able to reach the terminal; indicating whether to request a connection between the terminal and the first network to enter a non-connected state, to enter an idle state, or to enter an inactive state; indicating whether to request to reject activating, whether to request to reject establishing, or whether to request to reject resuming a connection between the terminal and the first network; and indicating whether to request not to trigger paging the terminal (Paragraph 0011, 0078, 0367 indication for notifying the MME that the second message is user plane path change information, the small cell shall release the corresponding data radio bearers, and the small cell shall regard the E-RABs indicated in the E-RAB To Be Released List IE as being fully released. 0078] The E-UTRAN includes at least one base station (BS) 20 which provides a control plane and a user plane to a user equipment (UE) 10.).
As per Claim 21 XU-Velev teaches the method according to claim 1, However XU doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein before the sending a service request message, the method further comprises: receiving a paging; and the sending a service request message comprises: sending the service request message for responding to the received paging
Velev discloses wherein before the obtaining a service request message, the method further comprises: initiating a paging to the terminal; and the obtaining a service request message comprises: obtaining the service request message for responding to the paging ( Paragraph 0044-0046 the paging for one USIM (e.g., for USIM-1) while the UE is in Connected state with the other USIM (e.g., USIM-2). In particular, the problem is that the UE may not be able to receive the paging message for USIM-1 because the radio resources are occupied by the active communication with USIM-2. It is further assumed that there are means (in the UE internally, but also the signaling between UE and network) to set up the prioritization of services associated with USIM-1 and USIM-2. Additionally, is it assumed that the CN paging message contains a cause value including the type of service. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XU to include a set up the prioritization of services associated with USIM-1 and USIM-2. Additionally, is it assumed that the CN paging message contains a cause value including the type of service. (See Velev Paragraph 0044).
As per Claim 22 XU-Velev teaches the method according to claim 1, However XU doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the terminal is a multi-card terminal
Velev discloses wherein the terminal is a multi-card terminal (Paragraph 0045-0047 the paging for one USIM (e.g., for USIM-1) while the UE is in Connected state with the other USIM (e.g., USIM-2). In particular, the problem is that the UE may not be able to receive the paging message for USIM-1 because the radio resources are occupied by the active communication with USIM-2. various techniques are under research, such as small cell enhancement, dual connectivity, massive MIMO (Multiple Input Multiple Output), in-band full duplex, NOMA (non-orthogonal multiple access), super wideband support, or device networking ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XU to include a set up the prioritization of services associated with USIM-1 and USIM-2. Additionally, is it assumed that the CN paging message contains a cause value including the type of service. (See Velev Paragraph 0044).
As per Claim 23 XU-Velev teaches the method according to claim 12, However XU doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the terminal is a multi-card terminal
Velev discloses wherein the terminal is a multi-card terminal Paragraph 0045-0047 Please note that if a MUSIM UE operates in DSDS mode and there is an active connection to USIM-1, the connection associated with USIM-2 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XU to include a set up the prioritization of services associated with USIM-1 and USIM-2. Additionally, is it assumed that the CN paging message contains a cause value including the type of service. (See Velev Paragraph 0044).
As per Claim 24 XU-Velev teaches the communications device according to claim 16, However XU doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein before the sending a service request message, the method further comprises: receiving a paging; and the sending a service request message comprises: sending the service request message for responding to the received paging
Velev discloses wherein before the obtaining a service request message, the method further comprises: initiating a paging to the terminal; and the obtaining a service request message comprises: obtaining the service request message for responding to the paging (Paragraph 0049-0052 For example, if the USIM-1's MM context is in CM-IDLE state and MT service should be initiated, then AMF-1 requests from AMF-2 at least a) the CM state and/or b) the activated services type in order to determine whether to send paging request message to the UE using USIM-1.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XU to include a set up the prioritization of services associated with USIM-1 and USIM-2. Additionally, is it assumed that the CN paging message contains a cause value including the type of service. (See Velev Paragraph 0044).
As per Claim 25 XU-Velev teaches the communications device according to claim 16, However XU doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the terminal is a multi-card terminal
Velev discloses wherein the terminal is a multi-card terminal (Paragraph 0045-0047 Please note that if a MUSIM UE operates in DSDS mode and there is an active connection to USIM-1, the connection associated with USIM-2 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XU to include a set up the prioritization of services associated with USIM-1 and USIM-2. Additionally, is it assumed that the CN paging message contains a cause value including the type of service. (See Velev Paragraph 0044).
As per Claim 26 XU-Velev teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the CN network element comprises a mobility management entity (MME), or an access mobility management function (AMF) (Paragraph 0010, 0027, 0066, 0067 The MME 30 is the control node which processes the signaling between the UE and the CN. The method further comprises transmitting a second message for notifying service user plane path change to an MME (Mobility Management Entity); and receiving a response for the second message from the MME. The processor is configured to transmit a second message for notifying service user plane path change to an MME and to receive a response to the second message from the MME. ).
As per Claim 27 XU-Velev teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the CN network element comprises a mobility management entity (MME), or an access mobility management function (AMF) (Paragraph 0010, 0027, 0066, 0067 The MME 30 is the control node which processes the signaling between the UE and the CN. The method further comprises transmitting a second message for notifying service user plane path change to an MME (Mobility Management Entity); and receiving a response for the second message from the MME. The processor is configured to transmit a second message for notifying service user plane path change to an MME and to receive a response to the second message from the MME. ).
As per Claim 28 XU-Velev teaches the communications device according to claim 16, wherein the CN network element comprises a mobility management entity (MME), or an access mobility management function (AMF) (Paragraph 0010, 0027, 0066, 0067 The MME 30 is the control node which processes the signaling between the UE and the CN. The method further comprises transmitting a second message for notifying service user plane path change to an MME (Mobility Management Entity); and receiving a response for the second message from the MME. The processor is configured to transmit a second message for notifying service user plane path change to an MME and to receive a response to the second message from the MME. ).
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on January 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
In the remarks, at page 13-17 the Applicant argues in substance that:
Remark: “Xu does not disclose, teach or suggest the foregoing features "receiving, by a terminal, a paging from a first network; sending, by the terminal, a service request message to a core-network (CN) network element for responding to the paging" of amended claim 1”
Response: In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s representative’s assertions. The Examiner has thoroughly reviewed Applicants' representative’s arguments but firmly believes that the cited references to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitation. Applicant’s representative’s are reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Examiner appreciates applicant’s representative’s explanation however, Xu explicitly states that the MME transmits the paging message to all base stations (i.e., eNodeBs) in its current tracking area (TA). Thereafter, eNBs start to page the UE over the radio interface. On receipt of a paging message, the UE performs a certain procedure which results in changing the UE to ECM-CONNECTED state. This procedure is called a ‘Service Request Procedure’. UE-related information is thereby created in the E-UTRAN, and the bearers are re-established. The MME is responsible for the re-establishment of the radio bearers and updating the UE context in the eNodeB.... Example from Donovan (Paragraph 0083 See FIG. 3, the eNB may perform functions of selection for the gateway (for example, MME), routing toward the gateway during a radio resource control (RRC) activation, scheduling and transmitting of paging messages, scheduling and transmitting of broadcast channel (BCH) information, dynamic allocation of resources to the UEs in both uplink and downlink, configuration and provisioning of eNB measurements, radio bearer control, radio admission control (RAC), and connection mobility control in LTE_ACTIVE state. In the EPC, and as mentioned above, the gateway may perform functions of paging origination, LTE_IDLE state management, ciphering of the user plane, System Architecture Evolution (SAE) bearer control, and ciphering and integrity protection of NAS signaling)
Therefore Xu and Velev reference teaches the claim limitation as currently presented.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SYED ALI whose telephone number is (571)270-3681. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Asad Nawaz can be reached on 571-272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov . Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468