Detailed Action
This communication is in response to the Arguments and Amendments filed on 10/29/2025.
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-17, and 20-26 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 7, 8, 10, 18, and 19 are cancelled.
Any previous objection/rejection not mentioned in this Office Action has been withdrawn by the Examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Applicants have not amended the claims.
Regarding the Rejection of Claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 applicant notes the combination of Solum, Lee, and Proctor, as set forth in the Office Action, is improper and does not provide the claimed subject matter. Applicant notes The Office Action asserts that "Solum in view of Lee are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing" and "Solum in view of Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing". Office Action at page 6 and 11, respectively. Solum, Lee, and Proctor may involve signal processing; however, such an overly broad characterization of the references does not establish the required motivation to combine.
Applicant notes Rather than merely "speech processing", the claimed subject matter requires a specific architectural distribution of steps of signal processing between a communication hub device and remote network services. The cited references address fundamentally different technical problems in architecturally distributing the steps of signal processing. Solum relates to a hearing assistance system including hearing assistance devices and portable cases communicating with hearing assistance devices (e.g.,FIG.1; column 3, lines 44-49) Lee relates to a home control system including a hub device for controlling a plurality of devices such as home appliances (e.g.,FIG.1; paragraphs [0127], [0487]).
Examiner notes Solum teaches a hearing device configured to “perform real-time speech detection and/or enhancement,” (4:50-54) Lee teaches “a hub device, of controlling a device based on a voice input includes: receiving a voice input of a user; converting the received voice input into text by performing automatic speech recognition (ASR)” [0008] and Proctor teaches a “communication device” configured to “receive speech input” (32:24-25)
Applicant notes Proctor relates to a public safety communication system performing group communications with multiple types of communication devices used by first responders (e.g.,FIG. 1; column 2, lines 27-34: column 4, lines 28-40). Each of these system's processing architecture is driven by distinct design considerations and constraints representing substantially different technical problems. The Office Action provides no technical rationale explaining why one of ordinary skill in the art would apply concepts of architectural distribution of steps of signal processing across these disparate domains.
Examiner notes and Proctor teaches a “communication device” configured to “receive speech input” (32:24-25) which is not a desperate domain to Solum’s hearing device configured to “perform real-time speech detection and/or enhancement,” (4:50-54) , nor Lee’s “a hub device, of controlling a device based on a voice input includes: receiving a voice input of a user; converting the received voice input into text by performing automatic speech recognition (ASR)” [0008].
Applicant notes b. The reason for combining the references includes a mischaracterization of Lee. The Office Action asserts that modifying the device of Solum to communicate with a
network of Lee "allows for performing an operation according to a user's intention as recognized by Lee [0002]." Office Action at page 6. However, the cited paragraph [0002] of Lee states that "the hub device may determine an operation-performing device (e.g., an Internet of Things (IoT) device) for performing an operation according to a user's intention", rather than communicating with a network for the purpose of "performing an operation according to a user's intention".
Examiner notes an IoT device communicates with a network.
Applicant notes the Office Action further asserts, regarding the combination of Solum and Proctor: "it would have been prima facie obvious ... to have modified the radio transceiver, ... a processor connected to the radio receiver," Office Action at page 11. However, Applicant is unable to find in the Office Action a reason for modifying Solum to include the processor configured to (1) transmit the captured speech to the network and (2) to receive text representing the request from the network, as recited in claim 1.
Examiner notes proctor does contain this motivation in (3:3-56) which allows for a response in communications.
Applicant notes the Office Action asserts that Proctor teaches: "the processor configured to transmit the captured speech to the network, to receive text representing the request from the network, (see PROCTOR (18:22-46)'... In other words, one or more of the communication device 200, embodied in one or more of the communication devices of FIG. 1, such as the portable radio 104, the infrastructure controller 156, and/or cloud computing cluster 162 may include a natural language processing engine to analyze oral queries received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200 and provide responses to the oral queries in the form of audio data, image data, or text data.') (see PROCTOR (20:6-33)". Office Action at pages 7-8(bolding in the Office Action). However, these assertions merely alleges that a natural language processing engine may be in the network as one of the various possibilities disclosed in Proctor regarding where the natural language processing engine may reside.
According to claim 1, the speech representing the request is captured by the radio transceiver of the communication hub device and transmitted to the network for receiving the text representing the request. In other words, the speech is captured by the communication hub device (not the network) and converted into the text in the network (not the communication hub device). The Office Action cites Solum for capturing speech and Proctor for transmitting the captured speech to the network. Office Action at pages 4and8, respectively. However, Applicant is unable to find in Solum, Lee, and Proctor a teaching, suggestion, or motivation for performing these two steps in different devices (the communication hub device and the network). The merely possibility of a natural language processing engine residing in a network is not such a teaching, suggestion, or motivation.
Examiner notes Solum teaches a hearing device configured to “perform real-time speech detection and/or enhancement,” (4:50-54) Lee teaches “a hub device, of controlling a device based on a voice input includes: receiving a voice input of a user; converting the received voice input into text by performing automatic speech recognition (ASR)” [0008] and Proctor teaches a “communication device” configured to “receive speech input” (32:24-25)
Applicant notes rather than merely "speech processing", the claimed subject matter requires a specific architectural distribution of steps of signal processing between a communication hub device and remote network services. The cited references address fundamentally different technical problems in architecturally distributing the steps of signal processing. Solum relates to a hearing assistance system including hearing assistance devices and portable cases communicating with hearing assistance devices (e.g., FIG.1; column 3, lines 44-49). Lee relates to a home control system including a hub device for controlling a plurality of devices such as home appliances (e.g., FIG. 1; paragraphs [0127], [0487]). Proctor relates to a public safety communication system performing group communications with multiple types of communication devices used by first responders (e.g.,FIG.1;column lines 27-34; column 4. lines 28-40). Each of these system's processing architecture is driven by distinct design considerations and constraints representing substantially different technical problems. The Office Action provides no technical rationale explaining why one of ordinary skill in the art would apply concepts of architectural distribution of steps of signal processing across these disparate domains.
Examiner notes the cited references teach the claim limitations as proposed and the technical fields are not disparate Solum teaches a hearing device configured to “perform real-time speech detection and/or enhancement,” (4:50-54) Lee teaches “a hub device, of controlling a device based on a voice input includes: receiving a voice input of a user; converting the received voice input into text by performing automatic speech recognition (ASR)” [0008] and Proctor teaches a “communication device” configured to “receive speech input” (32:24-25)
Applicant notes the Office Action does not indicate (1) where Lee teaches "to incorporate and an information system, a processor connected to the radio receiver, generating a response to the request using captured speech and sending the response to the radio receiver" and (2) how such modifications of Solum provides "converting the captured speech into text representing the request using a network-based language processing service remote from the communication hub device". Additionally, the cited paragraph [0002] of Lee states that "the hub device may determine an operation-performing device (e.g., an Internet of Things (IoT) device) for performing an operation according to a user's intention". This statement provide no reason for modifying Solum to include
(1)or(2). c. No reason is provided for modifying Solum to include converting the captured speech into
Text representing the request using a network-based language processing service remote
from the communication hub device, as recited in claim13.
Examiner notes Lee does teach this limitation see Figure 6 element S610-S650.
Applicant notes Applicant is unable to find in Solum, Lee, and Proctor, individually or in combination, among other things, a teaching or suggestion for converting the captured speech into text representing the request using a network-based language processing service remote from the communication hub device, as recited in claim 13. Applicant is also unable to find in the Office Action a proper reason that addresses these limitations.
The Office Action asserts that "Solum does not specifically teach converting the captured speech into text representing the request using a network- based language processing service remote from the communication hub device; However, Lee does teach this limitation. (see Lee (see Lee '[0195]....')"Office Action at pages 27 (bolding in the Office Action). However, the cited paragraph [0195] of Lee merely states that "the speaker function determination model 1352 and the TV function determination model 1354 stored in the memory 1300 of the hub device 1000 may respectively correspond to a plurality of devices that are logged in by using the same account as the user account and are connected to the hub device 1000 through a network" (as also quoted in the rejection). This relates to network connectivity rather than a network-based language processing service. Thus. this alleged teaching of Lee is not a teaching or suggestion for the "network-based language processing service remote from the communication hub device" as recited in claim13.
Examiner notes Lee teaches “a hub device, of controlling a device based on a voice input includes: receiving a voice input of a user; converting the received voice input into text by performing automatic speech recognition (ASR)” [0008]
Applicants arguments and amendments do not overcome the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-15, 17, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solum (US Patent Number US-11019417-B2), in view Lee (US Patent Number US 20200349952 A1), and further in view of Proctor (US Patent Number US-10321278-B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Solum teaches A communication hub device (see Solum (3:44-5:53) “FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an example hearing assistance system, in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. System 100 of FIG. 1 includes hearing assistance device (HAD) 102 communicatively coupled via network 105 to portable case 104 and one or more computing devices 101....”) configured to communicate with one or more two-way radios, (see Solum (5:61-6:9) “Behind-ear portion 106A may include various other components, in addition to a rechargeable power source. For example, behind-ear portion 106A may include a radio or other communication unit to serve as a communication link or communication gateway between HAD 102 and the outside world. Such a radio may be a multi-mode radio or a software defined radio configured to communicate via various communication protocols. That is, behind-ear portion 106A may include communication components for communicating on network 105 on behalf of HAD 102 or for communicating directly with other hearing assistance devices. In addition to sometimes serving as a communication gateway, behind-ear portion 106A may perform various other advanced functions on behalf of HAD 102; such other functions are described below with respect to the additional FIGS.”) the device comprising: a radio transceiver to communicate with the one or more two-way radios, (see Solum (12:5-14) “In the example of FIG. 3, portable case 304 includes one or more input components 326, one or more output components 328, one or more processors 320, data storage device 330, system charger 332, hearing assistance device (HAD) charger 334, one or more transceivers 322, one or more antennas 324, retention structures 312A-312N, energy storage device 336, one or more communication units 338, and communication bus 340. Data storage device 330 may include interface module 442, various application modules 444, and user data 446.”) the radio transceiver including electronics configured to communicate on frequencies outside of frequencies assigned for cellular communications (see Solum (12:61-13:11) “Examples of communication units 338 include various types of receivers, transmitters, transceivers, Bluetooth radios, short wave radios, cellular data radios, wireless network radios, universal serial bus (USB) controllers, proprietary bus controllers, network interface cards, optical transceivers, radio frequency transceivers, or any other type of device that can send and/or receive information over a network. In cases where communication units 338 include a wireless transceiver, communication units 338 may be capable of operating in different radio frequency (RF) bands (e.g., to enable regulatory compliance with a geographic location at which portable case 304 is being used). For example, a wireless transceiver of communication units 338 may operate in the 900 MHz or 2.4 GHz RF bands. A wireless transceiver of communication units 338 may be a near-field magnetic induction (NFMI) transceiver, and RF transceiver, an Infrared transceiver, ultra-sonic transceiver, or other type of transceiver.”) and to capture speech representing a request in communications received from at least one radio of the one or more two-way radios; (see Solum (12:25-41) “Input components 326 are configured to receive various types of input, including tactile input, audible input, image or video input, sensory input, and other forms of input. Non-limiting examples of input components 326 include a presence-sensitive input device or touch screen, a button, a switch, a key, a microphone, a camera, or any other type of device for detecting input from a human or machine. Other non-limiting examples of input components 326 include one or more sensor components, such as a proximity sensor, a global positioning system (GPS) receiver or other type of location sensor, an accelerometer, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a temperature sensor, a barometer, a gyro, an ambient light sensor, a proximity sensor, a hydrometer sensor, a heart rate sensor, a magnetometer, a glucose sensor, an olfactory sensor, a compass, a magnetometer, an antennae for wireless communication and location sensing, a step counter, to name a few other non-limiting examples.”) wherein the radio transceiver is operable to send the response to at least one radio of the one or more two-way radios to be spoken using the at least one radio (see Solum (12:5-14) “In the example of FIG. 3, portable case 304 includes one or more input components 326, one or more output components 328, one or more processors 320, data storage device 330, system charger 332, hearing assistance device (HAD) charger 334, one or more transceivers 322, one or more antennas 324, retention structures 312A-312N, energy storage device 336, one or more communication units 338, and communication bus 340. Data storage device 330 may include interface module 442, various application modules 444, and user data 446.” (see Solum (21:57-22:18) “Other advanced functions that may be provided by behind-ear portion 406, in various examples, include communication functions enabled by communication units 438 and antennas 424. Behind-ear portion 406 may enable in-ear portion 408 to communicate with external devices, such as computing devices 101, in addition to enabling communication with other hearing instruments. For example, one of application modules 444 (e.g., a media playback application) executing at processors 420A may receive an encoded audio stream from one of computing devices 101, convert the encoded audio stream to a different format that is suitable for consumption by in-ear portion 408, and cause processors 420A to send the converted audio stream to processors 420B of in-ear portion 408 for subsequent decoding and playback to a user. Alternatively, one of application modules 444 may receive an encoded audio stream from in-ear portion 408, convert the encoded audio stream to a different format that is suitable for consumption by computing devices 101, and cause processors 420A to send the converted audio stream, via communication units 438, to computing devices 101 or portable cases 104, 204, or 304. In this way, in-ear portion 408 and behind-ear portion 406 can communicate together and with other hearing instruments using more reliable intra or inter body communication protocols while simultaneously supporting communication outside the body using cellular, LTE, Bluetooth®, Wi-FI®, and other communication protocols that are supported by external devices, such as computing devices 101.”)(see Solum (16:21-31) “Interface module 342 implements a user interface associated with portable case 304, for example, by translating inputs detected by portable case 304 to commands for performing operations or generating corresponding outputs. Interface module 342 receives information about inputs detected by input components 326 and in response, generates information for causing output components 328 to produce output. For example, interface module 342 may receive information from a microphone of input components 326, determine that a user is speaking a command to portable case 304, and perform an operation in response.
Solum does not specifically teach to communicate with a network, However Lee does teach this limitation (see Lee “[0195] According to an embodiment, the term “function determination model corresponding to the operation-performing device” refers to a model used to obtain operation information about detailed operations for performing an operation according to a determined function of the operation-performing device and a relationship between the detailed operations. In an embodiment of the disclosure, the speaker function determination model 1352 and the TV function determination model 1354 stored in the memory 1300 of the hub device 1000 may respectively correspond to a plurality of devices that are logged in by using the same account as the user account and are connected to the hub device 1000 through a network.”)
Solum in view of Lee are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified device of Solum, to incorporate to communicate with a network of Lee. Doing so allows for performing an operation according to a user's intention as recognized by Lee [0002].
Solum does not specifically teach and to communicate with an information system, However, Proctor does teach this limitation. (see Proctor “8:58-7:11) “As shown in FIG. 1, database(s) 164 may be accessible via the IP network 160 and/or the cloud computing cluster 162. As shown in FIG. 1, the databases 164 are communicatively coupled with the infrastructure RAN 152 to allow the communication devices (for example, the portable radio 104, the RSM video capture device 106, the laptop 114, and the mobile communication device 133) to communicate with and retrieve data from the databases 164 via infrastructure controller 156 and IP network 160. In some embodiments, the databases 164 are commercial cloud-based storage devices. In some embodiments, the databases 164 are housed on suitable on-premises database servers. (examiner reads information system as “databases”.”) and a processor connected to the radio transceiver, see Proctor (3:31-56) “Another embodiment provides an electronic computing device that includes an electronic processor and a communication interface communicatively coupled to the electronic processor. The electronic processor is configured to receive, via the communication interface, a query for providing a response at a first communication device, wherein the first communication device is a member of a first communication group of a plurality of communication devices, determine that the response to the query is to be provided as a group response to the plurality of communication devices including the first communication device in the first communication group, determine whether one or more of the communication devices in the first communication group do not have permission to receive the group response, and when one or more of the communication devices do not have permission to receive the group response, (i) modify the group response to generate a second response for which each of the communication devices in the first communication group has permission to receive the second response and provide, via the communication interface, the second response to at least one of the communication devices in the first communication group, and (ii) alter an output action and provide, via the communication interface, the group response to at least one of the communication devices in the first communication group in accordance with the altered output action. “) the processor configured to transmit the captured speech to the network, to receive text representing the request from the network, (see PROCTOR (18:22-46) “To use the electronic digital assistant implemented by the electronic computing device, the user 102 may, for example, provide an oral query that is received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200. The electronic computing device receives signals representative of the oral query from the microphone 220 and analyzes the signals to determine the content of the oral query. For example, the electronic computing device may include a natural language processing (NLP) engine configured to determine the intent and/or content of the oral query. The electronic computing device may also be configured to determine a response to the oral query (for example, by retrieving stored data or by requesting data from a database such as one of the databases 164) and provide the response to an output device of the communication device 200 (for example, one or more of the speaker 222 via a generated audio response and the screen 205 via a generated text-based response). In other words, one or more of the communication device 200, embodied in one or more of the communication devices of FIG. 1, such as the portable radio 104, the infrastructure controller 156, and/or cloud computing cluster 162 may include a natural language processing engine to analyze oral queries received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200 and provide responses to the oral queries in the form of audio data, image data, or text data.”) (see PROCTOR (20:6-33) “At block 415, when the electronic computing device determines (at block 410) that the response to the query is not to be provided as the group response (i.e., the subject matter of query is not relevant to any communication group associated with the user), the electronic computing device generates a response to the query and provides an individual response at the first communication device. For example, the electronic computing device determines that the oral query or the text query is not relevant to any communication group with which the user of the first communication device is a member and provides an individual response at the first communication device. The electronic computing device may generate a response based on data stored at a remote network device (for example, home address of a witness stored in the database(s) 164). In one embodiment, the electronic computing device establishes a private channel for communication with the first communication device of the user and transmits the individual response to the query on the private channel. The response may be displayed as text message via the screen 205 or alternatively played back as an audio output via speaker 222. In another embodiment, when the electronic computing device generates a response (for example, contact information stored at the static memory 216) locally at the first communication device, the electronic computing device directly outputs the response either as a text message or video message via the screen or as an audio output via speaker 222.”) to generate a response to the request using the information system and the text representing the request, and to send the response to the radio transceiver (see Proctor (3:31-56) “Another embodiment provides an electronic computing device that includes an electronic processor and a communication interface communicatively coupled to the electronic processor. The electronic processor is configured to receive, via the communication interface, a query for providing a response at a first communication device, wherein the first communication device is a member of a first communication group of a plurality of communication devices, determine that the response to the query is to be provided as a group response to the plurality of communication devices including the first communication device in the first communication group, determine whether one or more of the communication devices in the first communication group do not have permission to receive the group response, and when one or more of the communication devices do not have permission to receive the group response, (i) modify the group response to generate a second response for which each of the communication devices in the first communication group has permission to receive the second response and provide, via the communication interface, the second response to at least one of the communication devices in the first communication group, and (ii) alter an output action and provide, via the communication interface, the group response to at least one of the communication devices in the first communication group in accordance with the altered output action. “)(see Proctor (5:4-34) “Many of the devices shown in FIG. 1 (such as the portable radio 104, the RSM video capture device 106, the laptop 114, the mobile communication device 133, the infrastructure controller 156, dispatch console 158, and one or more computing devices in the cloud computing cluster 162) may be referred to as communication devices (for example, a communication device 200 as explained below with respect to FIG. 2). Although FIG. 1 shows multiple communication devices associated with the user 102, in some embodiments, the communication system 100 includes communication devices 200 of multiple users. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the communication device 200A may be associated with a first user, the communication device 200B may be associated with a second user, and the communication device 200C may be associated with a third user. Further, as shown in FIG. 2...”) (see PROCTOR (24:59-25:26) “At block 510, the electronic computing device determines whether the user query received at the first communication device corresponds to a group query that needs to be further transmitted on a group communication channel associated with a communication group (for example, first communication group 250) of the first communication device. In one embodiment, the electronic computing device processes the oral query received at the microphone 220 or a typed query received by the screen 205 and determines whether the subject matter of query is relevant to one or more communication groups with which the user of the first communication device is a member. In this embodiment, the electronic computing device analyzes the words contained in the query using NLP engine to obtain the meaning and intent of the query and determine whether the subject matter is relevant to one or more communication groups. The electronic computing device may also use additional information (such as context information obtained from data received from sensor devices and other type of information such as user's current incident assignment, location, role, communication groups, historical queries/actions, and the like) to determine whether the user query is relevant to one or more communication groups associated with the user. If it is determined that the subject matter of the query is relevant to a communication group of the user, then the electronic computing device determines that the query is a group query and further needs to be transmitted to other communication devices that are members of the same communication group as the first communication device. In another embodiment, the electronic computing device is configured, by default, to determine that a query received at the first communication device corresponds to a group query for transmission on the group communication channel for receipt by other communication devices in the group.
Solum in view of Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radio transceiver, including electronics configured to communicate on frequencies outside of frequencies assigned for cellular communications, to capture speech representing a request in communications received from at least one radio of the one or more two-way radios, sending the response to at least one radio of the one or more two-way radios of Solum, to incorporate and an information system, a processor connected to the radio receiver, generating a response to the request using captured speech and sending the response to the radio receiver of Proctor. Doing so allows for a communication device to simultaneously communicate with multiple other devices that are associated with the same communication group. This avoids the need for communication devices to repeat the same message or establish different communication sessions to communicate the same message to other devices and to assist users with providing relevant information and performing automated tasks in response to user queries so that confidential data is not received and played back by devices in the group that are not authorized to access or play back the group response as recognized by Proctor (2:26-65).
As to Claim 2, Solum in view of Lee and Further in view of Proctor teach The device of claim 1, (See Claim 1).
Furthermore, Solum teaches wherein the radio transceiver is an embedded radio module (ERM). (see Solum (24:52-67) “Each sub-portion 670 mates with another sub-portion 670 via contacts 652 and 654. Each sub-portion 670 may provide a specific functionality. Each of sub-portions 670 may be swappable for a different sub-portion. The individual components of behind-ear portion 408 shown in FIG. 4 may be distributed amongst different sub-portions 670. By mixing and matching various types of sub-portions 670, a user can customize each of behind-ear portions 606B and 606C for a particular situation. For example, sub-portion 670A may be designated as a rechargeable power supply that provides operating power to behind-ear portion, sub-portion 670B may be a radio module (i.e., ERM) that provides wireless telecommunication between the behind-ear portion and another device (such as charging case 304), and sub-portion 670C may be a sensor module that senses, e.g., one or more physiological conditions or signals.”)
As to Claim 3, Solum in view of Lee and Further in view of Proctor teach The device of claim 1, (See Claim 1).
Furthermore, Proctor teaches wherein the processor is configured to detect an intent including one or more parameters from the text representing the request, and to determine an actionable task using the intent of the speech including the one or more parameters, and to create the response using an outcome of the performance of performing the task. (see Proctor 18:22-46) “To use the electronic digital assistant implemented by the electronic computing device, the user 102 may, for example, provide an oral query that is received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200. The electronic computing device receives signals representative of the oral query from the microphone 220 and analyzes the signals to determine the content of the oral query. For example, the electronic computing device may include a natural language processing (NLP) engine configured to determine the intent and/or content of the oral query. The electronic computing device may also be configured to determine a response to the oral query (for example, by retrieving stored data or by requesting data from a database such as one of the databases 164) and provide the response to an output device of the communication device 200 (for example, one or more of the speaker 222 via a generated audio response and the screen 205 via a generated text-based response). In other words, one or more of the communication device 200, embodied in one or more of the communication devices of FIG. 1, such as the portable radio 104, the infrastructure controller 156, and/or cloud computing cluster 162 may include a natural language processing engine to analyze oral queries received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200 and provide responses to the oral queries in the form of audio data, image data, or text data.”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of claim 1 of Solum, Lee and Proctor, to incorporate the processor configured to detect an intent of the speech of Proctor. Doing so allows for a communication device to simultaneously communicate with multiple other devices that are associated with the same communication group and provides information that may aid the user in making a more informed determination of an action to take or how to resolve a situation as recognized by Proctor (1:15-17).
As to Claim 4, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach The device of claim 3, (see Claim 3).
Furthermore, Proctor teaches wherein the processor is configured to query the information system with the detected intent including the one or more parameters for responding to the request. (see Proctor 18:22-46) “To use the electronic digital assistant implemented by the electronic computing device, the user 102 may, for example, provide an oral query that is received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200. The electronic computing device receives signals representative of the oral query from the microphone 220 and analyzes the signals to determine the content of the oral query. For example, the electronic computing device may include a natural language processing (NLP) engine configured to determine the intent and/or content of the oral query. The electronic computing device may also be configured to determine a response to the oral query (for example, by retrieving stored data or by requesting data from a database such as one of the databases 164) and provide the response to an output device of the communication device 200 (for example, one or more of the speaker 222 via a generated audio response and the screen 205 via a generated text-based response). In other words, one or more of the communication device 200, embodied in one or more of the communication devices of FIG. 1, such as the portable radio 104, the infrastructure controller 156, and/or cloud computing cluster 162 may include a natural language processing engine to analyze oral queries received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200 and provide responses to the oral queries in the form of audio data, image data, or text data.”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of claim 3 of Solum, Lee and Proctor, to incorporate the processor configured to query the information system for responding to the request of Proctor. Doing so allows for a communication device to simultaneously communicate with multiple other devices that are associated with the same communication group and provides information that may aid the user in making a more informed determination of an action to take or how to resolve a situation as recognized by Proctor (1:15-17).
As to Claim 5, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach The device of claim 4, (see Claim 4).
Furthermore, Proctor teaches wherein the request includes a question, the response includes an answer to the question, (see Proctor 18:22-46) “To use the electronic digital assistant implemented by the electronic computing device, the user 102 may, for example, provide an oral query that is received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200. The electronic computing device receives signals representative of the oral query from the microphone 220…”) and the processor is configured to understand the question, (see Proctor 18:22-46) “…and analyzes the signals to determine the content of the oral query. For example, the electronic computing device may include a natural language processing (NLP) engine configured to determine the intent and/or content of the oral query. The electronic computing device may also be configured to determine a response to the oral query (for example, by retrieving stored data or by requesting data from a database such as one of the databases 164) and provide the response to an output device of the communication device 200 (for example, one or more of the speaker 222 via a generated audio response and the screen 205 via a generated text-based response). In other words, one or more of the communication device 200, embodied in one or more of the communication devices of FIG. 1, such as the portable radio 104, the infrastructure controller 156, and/or cloud computing cluster 162 may include a natural language processing engine to analyze oral queries received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200 and provide responses to the oral queries in the form of audio data, image data, or text data.”) to define a search for the answer based on the understanding of the question, (see Proctor (18:22-46) “To use the electronic digital assistant implemented by the electronic computing device, the user 102 may, for example, provide an oral query that is received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200. The electronic computing device receives signals representative of the oral query from the microphone 220 and analyzes the signals to determine the content of the oral query. For example, the electronic computing device may include a natural language processing (NLP) engine configured to determine the intent and/or content of the oral query. The electronic computing device may also be configured to determine a response to the oral query (for example, by retrieving stored data or by requesting data from a database such as one of the databases 164) (examiner reads define a search as “retrieving stored data or by requesting data from a database”) and provide the response to an output device of the communication device 200 (for example, one or more of the speaker 222 via a generated audio response and the screen 205 via a generated text-based response). In other words, one or more of the communication device 200, embodied in one or more of the communication devices of FIG. 1, such as the portable radio 104, the infrastructure controller 156, and/or cloud computing cluster 162 may include a natural language processing engine to analyze oral queries received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200 and provide responses to the oral queries in the form of audio data, image data, or text data.”) to search the information system, (see Proctor (18:22-46) “…(for example, by retrieving stored data or by requesting data from a database such as one of the databases 164) and provide the response to an output device of the communication device 200 (for example, one or more of the speaker 222 via a generated audio response and the screen 205 via a generated text-based response). In other words, one or more of the communication device 200, embodied in one or more of the communication devices of FIG. 1, such as the portable radio 104, the infrastructure controller 156, and/or cloud computing cluster 162 may include a natural language processing engine to analyze oral queries received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200 and provide responses to the oral queries in the form of audio data, image data, or text data.”) and to generate the answer to the question using a result of the search. (see Proctor (18:22-46) “…and provide the response to an output device of the communication device 200 (for example, one or more of the speaker 222 via a generated audio response and the screen 205 via a generated text-based response). In other words, one or more of the communication device 200, embodied in one or more of the communication devices of FIG. 1, such as the portable radio 104, the infrastructure controller 156, and/or cloud computing cluster 162 may include a natural language processing engine to analyze oral queries received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200 and provide responses to the oral queries in the form of audio data, image data, or text data.”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of claim 4 of Solum, Lee and Proctor, to incorporate to defining a search for the answer based on the understanding of the question, searching the information storage system, and to generating the answer to the question using a result of the search of Proctor. Doing so allows for a communication device to simultaneously communicate with multiple other devices that are associated with the same communication group and provides information that may aid the user in making a more informed determination of an action to take or how to resolve a situation as recognized by Proctor (1:15-17).
As to Claim 6, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach The device of claim 5, (see Claim 5).
Furthermore, Proctor teaches wherein the radio transceiver is further configured to broadcast the response (see PROCTOR (2:44-65) “Electronic digital assistants are implemented in such communication systems to assist users with providing relevant information and/or performing automated tasks in response to user queries. For example, when a query is received at a particular communication device, electronic digital assistants can be automatically configured to route the query or a response to the query to communication devices that are associated with the same communication group…”) including the answer to the request using a radio channel. (see PROCTOR (13:25-37) “Infrastructure narrowband LMR wireless systems, on the other hand, operate in either a conventional or trunked configuration. In either configuration, a plurality of communication devices is partitioned into separate groups of communication devices. In a conventional narrowband system, each communication device in a group is selected to a particular radio channel (frequency or frequency & time slot) for communications associated with that communication device's group. Thus, each group is served by one channel, and multiple groups may share the same single frequency (in which case, in some embodiments, group IDs may be present in the group data to distinguish between groups using the same shared frequency).”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of claim 5 of Solum, Lee and Proctor, to incorporate to the radio transceiver is further configured to broadcast the response including the answer to the request using a radio channel of Proctor. Doing so allows for a communication device to simultaneously communicate with multiple other devices that are associated with the same communication group and provides information that may aid the user in making a more informed determination of an action to take or how to resolve a situation as recognized by Proctor (1:15-17).
As to Claim 9, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach The device of claim 1, (see Claim 1).
Furthermore, Proctor teaches wherein the processor is configured to receive an intent of the speech from the network and to determine the actionable task using the intent of the speech, the intent of the speech detected from the captured speech transmitted to the network. (see PROCTOR (20:6-33) “At block 415, when the electronic computing device determines (at block 410) that the response to the query is not to be provided as the group response (i.e., the subject matter of query is not relevant to any communication group associated with the user), the electronic computing device generates a response to the query and provides an individual response at the first communication device. For example, the electronic computing device determines that the oral query or the text query is not relevant to any communication group with which the user of the first communication device is a member and provides an individual response at the first communication device. The electronic computing device may generate a response based on data stored at a remote network device (for example, home address of a witness stored in the database(s) 164). In one embodiment, the electronic computing device establishes a private channel for communication (examiner reads actionable task as “establishes a private channel for communication”) with the first communication device of the user and transmits the individual response to the query on the private channel. The response may be displayed as text message via the screen 205 or alternatively played back as an audio output via speaker 222. In another embodiment, when the electronic computing device generates a response (for example, contact information stored at the static memory 216) locally at the first communication device, the electronic computing device directly outputs the response either as a text message or video message via the screen or as an audio output via speaker 222.”) (see PROCTOR (24:59-25:26) “At block 510, the electronic computing device determines whether the user query received at the first communication device corresponds to a group query that needs to be further transmitted on a group communication channel associated with a communication group (for example, first communication group 250) of the first communication device. In one embodiment, the electronic computing device processes the oral query received at the microphone 220 or a typed query received by the screen 205 and determines whether the subject matter of query is relevant to one or more communication groups with which the user of the first communication device is a member. In this embodiment, the electronic computing device analyzes the words contained in the query using NLP engine to obtain the meaning and intent of the query and determine whether the subject matter is relevant to one or more communication groups. The electronic computing device may also use additional information (such as context information obtained from data received from sensor devices and other type of information such as user's current incident assignment, location, role, communication groups, historical queries/actions, and the like) to determine whether the user query is relevant to one or more communication groups associated with the user. If it is determined that the subject matter of the query is relevant to a communication group of the user, then the electronic computing device determines that the query is a group query and further needs to be transmitted to other communication devices that are members of the same communication group as the first communication device. In another embodiment, the electronic computing device is configured, by default, to determine that a query received at the first communication device corresponds to a group query for transmission on the group communication channel for receipt by other communication devices in the group.”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of claim 7 of Solum Lee and Proctor, to incorporate the processor configured to receive an intent of the speech from the network and to determine the actionable task using the intent of the speech, the intent of the speech detected from the captured speech transmitted to the network of Proctor. Doing so allows for a communication device to simultaneously communicate with multiple other devices that are associated with the same communication group and provides information that may aid the user in making a more informed determination of an action to take or how to resolve a situation as recognized by Proctor (1:15-17).
As to Claim 11, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach The device of claim 1, (see Claim 1).
Furthermore, Proctor teaches wherein the processor is configured to receive from the network text representing the request converted from the captured speech, and to determine the response to the request using the text representing the request. (see PROCTOR (20:6-33) “At block 415, when the electronic computing device determines (at block 410) that the response to the query is not to be provided as the group response (i.e., the subject matter of query is not relevant to any communication group associated with the user), the electronic computing device generates a response to the query and provides an individual response at the first communication device. For example, the electronic computing device determines that the oral query or the text query is not relevant to any communication group with which the user of the first communication device is a member and provides an individual response at the first communication device. The electronic computing device may generate a response based on data stored at a remote network device (for example, home address of a witness stored in the database(s) 164). In one embodiment, the electronic computing device establishes a private channel for communication (examiner reads actionable task as “establishes a private channel for communication”) with the first communication device of the user and transmits the individual response to the query on the private channel. The response may be displayed as text message via the screen 205 or alternatively played back as an audio output via speaker 222. In another embodiment, when the electronic computing device generates a response (for example, contact information stored at the static memory 216) locally at the first communication device, the electronic computing device directly outputs the response either as a text message or video message via the screen or as an audio output via speaker 222.”) (see PROCTOR (24:59-25:26) “At block 510, the electronic computing device determines whether the user query received at the first communication device corresponds to a group query that needs to be further transmitted on a group communication channel associated with a communication group (for example, first communication group 250) of the first communication device. In one embodiment, the electronic computing device processes the oral query received at the microphone 220 or a typed query received by the screen 205 and determines whether the subject matter of query is relevant to one or more communication groups with which the user of the first communication device is a member. In this embodiment, the electronic computing device analyzes the words contained in the query using NLP engine to obtain the meaning and intent of the query and determine whether the subject matter is relevant to one or more communication groups. The electronic computing device may also use additional information (such as context information obtained from data received from sensor devices and other type of information such as user's current incident assignment, location, role, communication groups, historical queries/actions, and the like) to determine whether the user query is relevant to one or more communication groups associated with the user. If it is determined that the subject matter of the query is relevant to a communication group of the user, then the electronic computing device determines that the query is a group query and further needs to be transmitted to other communication devices that are members of the same communication group as the first communication device. In another embodiment, the electronic computing device is configured, by default, to determine that a query received at the first communication device corresponds to a group query for transmission on the group communication channel for receipt by other communication devices in the group.”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of claim 1 of Solum Lee and Proctor, to incorporate the processor configured to transmit the captured speech to the network, to receive from the network text representing the speech detected from the captured speech, and to determine the actionable task using the text representing the speech of Proctor. Doing so allows for a communication device to simultaneously communicate with multiple other devices that are associated with the same communication group and provides information that may aid the user in making a more informed determination of an action to take or how to resolve a situation as recognized by Proctor (1:15-17).
As to Claim 12, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach The device of claim 1, (see Claim 1).
Furthermore, Proctor teaches wherein the radio transceiver is configured to identify the at least one radio from which the speech representing the request is received (see Proctor (15:16-41) “In accordance with some embodiments, the database(s) 164 includes information related to talk groups (e.g., talk group identifier) with which each of the communication devices (for example, communication devices 200A, 200B, 200C shown in FIG. 2) is associated. The database(s) 164 further includes information identifying security privileges (for example, permission levels 166) associated with communication devices 200 and/or corresponding users in the system 100. The database(s) 164 also includes information identifying security levels 168 for data (for example, for each restricted data) maintained at the database(s) 164. For example, the electronic digital assistant (or other computing devices in the system 100) accesses the permission level 166 of a given communication device 200 and security level 168 of the restricted data to determine whether the given communication device 200 has permission to access, receive, or play back the restricted data. In accordance with embodiments, the electronic digital assistant…”) and to broadcast the response only to that radio. (see Proctor (15:16-41) “…when responding to a query received at a given communication device 200, accesses the database(s) 164 to determine whether each communication device 200 in the communication group associated with the given communication device 200 has permission to receive the response to the query and accordingly modifies the response or alters an output action with which the response is provided (examiner interprets broadcast as “provided”) or played back at the communication devices 200.”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of claim 1 of Solum, Lee and Proctor, to incorporate a radio transceiver is configured to identify the at least one radio from which the speech representing the request is received and to broadcast the response to that radio of Proctor. Doing so allows for a communication device to simultaneously communicate with multiple other devices that are associated with the same communication group and provides information that may aid the user in making a more informed determination of an action to take or how to resolve a situation as recognized by Proctor (1:15-17).
Regarding Claim 13, Solum teaches A virtual assistant method, comprising: (see Solum (16:66-17:14) “Application modules 344 include any application or software that portable case 304 may execute to implement the functionality of portable case 304 that is described in this disclosure. For example, application modules 344 may include machine-learning or artificial intelligence software (e.g., for configuring portable case 304 or any HAD operatively and communicatively coupled to portable case 304, such as HAD 102), an Internet browser, a media player, a file system, a map or navigation program, or any other number of applications or features that portable case 304 may include. Other examples of application modules 344 include programming software for using portable case 304 as a programmer for HAD 102, a personal assistant application, a messaging or personal communication application, an audio recording application, or other application.”) communicating with a two-way radio (see Solum (5:61-6:9) “Behind-ear portion 106A may include various other components, in addition to a rechargeable power source. For example, behind-ear portion 106A may include a radio or other communication unit to serve as a communication link or communication gateway between HAD 102 and the outside world. Such a radio may be a multi-mode radio or a software defined radio configured to communicate via various communication protocols. That is, behind-ear portion 106A may include communication components for communicating on network 105 on behalf of HAD 102 or for communicating directly with other hearing assistance devices. In addition to sometimes serving as a communication gateway, behind-ear portion 106A may perform various other advanced functions on behalf of HAD 102; such other functions are described below with respect to the additional FIGS.”) using a radio transceiver of a communication hub device, (see Solum (3:44-5:53) “FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an example hearing assistance system, in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. System 100 of FIG. 1 includes hearing assistance device (HAD) 102 communicatively coupled via network 105 to portable case 104 and one or more computing devices 101....”) including receiving a radio signal carrying a speech representing a request for information made by speaking to the two-way radio, (see Solum (12:5-14) “In the example of FIG. 3, portable case 304 includes one or more input components 326, one or more output components 328, one or more processors 320, data storage device 330, system charger 332, hearing assistance device (HAD) charger 334, one or more transceivers 322, one or more antennas 324, retention structures 312A-312N, energy storage device 336, one or more communication units 338, and communication bus 340. Data storage device 330 may include interface module 442, various application modules 444, and user data 446.”) the two-way radio operating in a frequency band outside of frequency ranges assigned for cellular communications; (see Solum (12:61-13:11) “Examples of communication units 338 include various types of receivers, transmitters, transceivers, Bluetooth radios, short wave radios, cellular data radios, wireless network radios, universal serial bus (USB) controllers, proprietary bus controllers, network interface cards, optical transceivers, radio frequency transceivers, or any other type of device that can send and/or receive information over a network. In cases where communication units 338 include a wireless transceiver, communication units 338 may be capable of operating in different radio frequency (RF) bands (e.g., to enable regulatory compliance with a geographic location at which portable case 304 is being used). For example, a wireless transceiver of communication units 338 may operate in the 900 MHz or 2.4 GHz RF bands. A wireless transceiver of communication units 338 may be a near-field magnetic induction (NFMI) transceiver, and RF transceiver, an Infrared transceiver, ultra-sonic transceiver, or other type of transceiver.”) capturing the speech by processing the received radio signal using the radio transceiver; (see Solum (12:25-41) “Input components 326 are configured to receive various types of input, including tactile input, audible input, image or video input, sensory input, and other forms of input. Non-limiting examples of input components 326 include a presence-sensitive input device or touch screen, a button, a switch, a key, a microphone, a camera, or any other type of device for detecting input from a human or machine. Other non-limiting examples of input components 326 include one or more sensor components, such as a proximity sensor, a global positioning system (GPS) receiver or other type of location sensor, an accelerometer, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a temperature sensor, a barometer, a gyro, an ambient light sensor, a proximity sensor, a hydrometer sensor, a heart rate sensor, a magnetometer, a glucose sensor, an olfactory sensor, a compass, a magnetometer, an antennae for wireless communication and location sensing, a step counter, to name a few other non-limiting examples.”) (see Solum (12:5-14) “(60) In the example of FIG. 3, portable case 304 includes one or more input components 326, one or more output components 328, one or more processors 320, data storage device 330, system charger 332, hearing assistance device (HAD) charger 334, one or more transceivers 322, one or more antennas 324, retention structures 312A-312N, energy storage device 336, one or more communication units 338, and communication bus 340. Data storage device 330 may include interface module 442, various application modules 444, and user data 446.” (see Solum (21:57-22:18) “Other advanced functions that may be provided by behind-ear portion 406, in various examples, include communication functions enabled by communication units 438 and antennas 424. Behind-ear portion 406 may enable in-ear portion 408 to communicate with external devices, such as computing devices 101, in addition to enabling communication with other hearing instruments. For example, one of application modules 444 (e.g., a media playback application) executing at processors 420A may receive an encoded audio stream from one of computing devices 101, convert the encoded audio stream to a different format that is suitable for consumption by in-ear portion 408, and cause processors 420A to send the converted audio stream to processors 420B of in-ear portion 408 for subsequent decoding and playback to a user. Alternatively, one of application modules 444 may receive an encoded audio stream from in-ear portion 408, convert the encoded audio stream to a different format that is suitable for consumption by computing devices 101, and cause processors 420A to send the converted audio stream, via communication units 438, to computing devices 101 or portable cases 104, 204, or 304. In this way, in-ear portion 408 and behind-ear portion 406 can communicate together and with other hearing instruments using more reliable intra or inter body communication protocols while simultaneously supporting communication outside the body using cellular, LTE, Bluetooth®, Wi-FI®, and other communication protocols that are supported by external devices, such as computing devices 101.”)(see Solum (16:21-31) “Interface module 342 implements a user interface associated with portable case 304, for example, by translating inputs detected by portable case 304 to commands for performing operations or generating corresponding outputs. Interface module 342 receives information about inputs detected by input components 326 and in response, generates information for causing output components 328 to produce output. For example, interface module 342 may receive information from a microphone of input components 326, determine that a user is speaking a command to portable case 304, and perform an operation in response.
Solum does not specifically teach converting the captured speech into text representing the request using a network- based language processing service remote from the communication hub device; However, Lee does teach this limitation. (see Lee (see Lee “[0195] According to an embodiment, the term “function determination model corresponding to the operation-performing device” refers to a model used to obtain operation information about detailed operations for performing an operation according to a determined function of the operation-performing device and a relationship between the detailed operations. In an embodiment of the disclosure, the speaker function determination model 1352 and the TV function determination model 1354 stored in the memory 1300 of the hub device 1000 may respectively correspond to a plurality of devices that are logged in by using the same account as the user account and are connected to the hub device 1000 through a network.”)
Solum in view of Lee are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Solum, to incorporate and an information system, a processor connected to the radio receiver, generating a response to the request using captured speech and sending the response to the radio receiver of Lee. Doing so allows for performing an operation according to a user's intention as recognized by Lee [0002].
Solum does not specifically teach parsing the text representing the request; and generating a response to the request based on the parsed text representing the request However, Proctor does teach this limitation (see Proctor 19:40-20:5) “(80) At block 410, the electronic computing device determines whether a response to the query is to be provided as a group response. In one embodiment, the electronic computing device processes the oral query received at the microphone 220 or a typed query (examiner interprets text as “typed query”) received by the screen 205 and determines whether the subject matter (e.g., intent and/or content of the query) of the query is relevant to one or more communication groups with which the user of the first communication device is a member. In this embodiment, the electronic computing device analyzes the words (examiner interprets parsed text as “analyzes the words”) contained in the query…”) using a processor of the communication hub device the response to be spoken using the two-way radio. (see Proctor 19:40-20:5) “At block 410, the electronic computing device determines whether a response to the query is to be provided as a group response. In one embodiment, the electronic computing device processes the oral query received at the microphone 220 or a typed query (examiner interprets text as “typed query”) received by the screen 205 and determines whether the subject matter (e.g., intent and/or content of the query) of the query is relevant to one or more communication groups with which the user of the first communication device is a member. (Examiner notes that the communication device(s) are described in (5:52-6:55) as radio transceiver(s) used to “communicate with one another and/or with the infrastructure”) In this embodiment, the electronic computing device analyzes the words (examiner interprets parsed text as “analyzes the words”) contained in the query using NLP engine to obtain the meaning of the query and determine whether the subject matter is relevant to one or more communication groups. The electronic computing device may also use additional information (such as context information obtained from data received from sensor devices and other type of information such as user's current incident assignment, location, role, communication groups, and/or historical queries/actions) to determine whether the user query is relevant to one or more communication groups associated with the user. If it is determined that the subject matter of the query is relevant to a particular communication group associated with the user, then the electronic computing device determines that the response to the query is to be provided as a group response. In another embodiment, the electronic computing device is configured to determine that a response to a query is to be provided as a group response if the query is received during a talk group communication, for example, when the PTT switch was activated to initiate a user query. In this case, the electronic computing device automatically detects that the user intends to ask a question to other members of the talk group and therefore determines that the response to the query is also to be provided as a group response in the talk group.”)
Solum in view of Lee and Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified communicating with a two-way radio using a radio transceiver of a communication hub device, receiving a radio signal carrying a speech representing a request for information made by speaking to the two-way radio operating in a frequency band outside of frequency ranges assigned for cellular communications and capturing the speech using the radio transceiver of Solum, to incorporate converting the captured speech into text representing the speech; parsing the text; and generating a response to the request based on the parsed text using a processor of the communication hub device of Proctor. Doing so allows for a communication device to simultaneously communicate with multiple other devices that are associated with the same communication group. This avoids the need for communication devices to repeat the same message or establish different communication sessions to communicate the same message to other devices and to assist users with providing relevant information and performing automated tasks in response to user queries so that confidential data is not received and played back by devices in the group that are not authorized to access or play back the group response as recognized by Proctor (2:26-65) and provides information that may aid the user in making a more informed determination of an action to take or how to resolve a situation as recognized by Proctor (1:15-17).
As to Claim 14, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach The method of claim 13, (see Claim 13).
Furthermore, Proctor teaches further comprising broadcasting at least part of the response using a radio channel of the radio transceiver to be received by one or more two-way radios including the two-way radio from which the radio signal is received. (see Proctor (15:16-41) “In accordance with some embodiments, the database(s) 164 includes information related to talk groups (e.g., talk group identifier) with which each of the communication devices (for example, communication devices 200A, 200B, 200C shown in FIG. 2) is associated. The database(s) 164 further includes information identifying security privileges (for example, permission levels 166) associated with communication devices 200 and/or corresponding users in the system 100. The database(s) 164 also includes information identifying security levels 168 for data (for example, for each restricted data) maintained at the database(s) 164. For example, the electronic digital assistant (or other computing devices in the system 100) accesses the permission level 166 of a given communication device 200 and security level 168 of the restricted data to determine whether the given communication device 200 has permission to access, receive, or play back the restricted data. In accordance with embodiments, the electronic digital assistant…”) (see Proctor (15:16-41) “…when responding to a query received at a given communication device 200, accesses the database(s) 164 to determine whether each communication device 200 in the communication group associated with the given communication device 200 has permission to receive the response to the query and accordingly modifies the response or alters an output action with which the response is provided (examiner interprets broadcasting as “provided”) or played back at the communication devices 200.”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of claim 13 of Solum, Lee and Proctor, to incorporate broadcasting at least part of the response using a radio channel of the radio transceiver to be received by one or more two-way radios including the two-way radio from which the radio signal is received of Proctor. Doing so allows for a communication device to simultaneously communicate with multiple other devices that are associated with the same communication group and provides information that may aid the user in making a more informed determination of an action to take or how to resolve a situation as recognized by Proctor (1:15-17).
As to Claim 15, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach The method of claim 14, (see Claim 14).
Furthermore, Proctor teaches wherein generating the response to the request based on the parsed text comprises: identifying an information system from multiple information systems based on the parsed text representing the request; (see PROCTOR (24:59-25:26) “At block 510, the electronic computing device determines whether the user query received at the first communication device corresponds to a group query that needs to be further transmitted on a group communication channel associated with a communication group (for example, first communication group 250) of the first communication device. In one embodiment, the electronic computing device processes the oral query received at the microphone 220 or a typed query received by the screen 205 and determines whether the subject matter of query is relevant to one or more communication groups with which the user of the first communication device is a member. In this embodiment, the electronic computing device analyzes the words contained in the query using NLP engine to obtain the meaning and intent of the query and determine whether the subject matter is relevant to one or more communication groups. The electronic computing device may also use additional information (such as context information obtained from data received from sensor devices and other type of information such as user's current incident assignment, location, role, communication groups, historical queries/actions, and the like) to determine whether the user query is relevant to one or more communication groups associated with the user. If it is determined that the subject matter of the query is relevant to a communication group of the user, then the electronic computing device determines that the query is a group query and further needs to be transmitted to other communication devices that are members of the same communication group as the first communication device. In another embodiment, the electronic computing device is configured, by default, to determine that a query received at the first communication device corresponds to a group query for transmission on the group communication channel for receipt by other communication devices in the group.”) querying the identified information system based on the request; and generating the response using an outcome of the query. (see Proctor 18:22-46) “To use the electronic digital assistant implemented by the electronic computing device, the user 102 may, for example, provide an oral query that is received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200. The electronic computing device receives signals representative of the oral query from the microphone 220 and analyzes the signals to determine the content of the oral query. For example, the electronic computing device may include a natural language processing (NLP) engine configured to determine the intent and/or content of the oral query. The electronic computing device may also be configured to determine a response to the oral query (for example, by retrieving stored data or by requesting data from a database such as one of the databases 164) and provide the response to an output device of the communication device 200 (for example, one or more of the speaker 222 via a generated audio response and the screen 205 via a generated text-based response). In other words, one or more of the communication device 200, embodied in one or more of the communication devices of FIG. 1, such as the portable radio 104, the infrastructure controller 156, and/or cloud computing cluster 162 may include a natural language processing engine to analyze oral queries received by the microphone 220 of the communication device 200 and provide responses to the oral queries in the form of audio data, image data, or text data.”)
Solum Lee and further in view of in view of Proctor are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of claim 14 of Solum, Leeand Proctor, to incorporate identifying an information system based on the parsed text, querying the identified information system based on the request. and generating the response using an outcome of the query of Proctor. Doing so allows for a communication device to simultaneously communicate with multiple other devices that are associated with the same communication group and provides information that may aid the user in making a more informed determination of an action to take or how to resolve a situation as recognized by Proctor (1:15-17).
As to Claim 17, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach The method of claim 15 (see Claim 15).
Furthermore, Proctor teaches wherein parsing the text representing the request comprises identifying an intent including one or more parameters from the text representing the request, and generating the response to the request based on the parsed text representing the request comprises determining a task based on the identified intent including the one or more parameters.
(see PROCTOR (24:59-25:26) “At block 510, the electronic computing device determines whether the user query received at the first communication device corresponds to a group query that needs to be further transmitted on a group communication channel associated with a communication group (for example, first communication group 250) of the first communication device. In one embodiment, the electronic computing device processes the oral query received at the microphone 220 or a typed query received by the screen 205 and determines whether the subject matter of query is relevant to one or more communication groups with which the user of the first communication device is a member. In this embodiment, the electronic computing device analyzes the words contained in the query using NLP engine to obtain the meaning and intent of the query and determine whether the subject matter is relevant to one or more communication groups. The electronic computing device may also use additional information (such as context information obtained from data received from sensor devices and other type of information such as user's current incident assignment, location, role, communication groups, historical queries/actions, and the like) to determine whether the user query is relevant to one or more communication groups associated with the user. If it is determined that the subject matter of the query is relevant to a communication group of the user, then the electronic computing device determines that the query is a group query and further needs to be transmitted to other communication devices that are members of the same communication group as the first communication device. In another embodiment, the electronic computing device is configured, by default, to determine that a query received at the first communication device corresponds to a group query for transmission on the group communication channel for receipt by other communication devices in the group.”)
As to Claim 22, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach 22. The device of claim 1,
Furthermore, Lee teaches comprising a single communication hub device including the radio transceiver and the processor. (see Lee [0322] “In operation S1040, the hub device 1000 obtains operation information about an operation to be performed by the operation-performing device 4000a, based on the intent. In an embodiment of the disclosure, the processor 1200 (see FIG. 2) of the hub device 1000 may obtain the operation information about at least one detailed operation related to the intent and the parameters, by using the action plan management module 1354b of the TV function determination model 1354. The action plan management module 1354b may manage information about detailed operations of the operation-performing device 4000a and a relationship between the detailed operations. The processor 1200 of the hub device 1000 may plan detailed operations to be performed by the operation-performing device 4000a and an execution order of the detailed operations based on the intent and the parameters by using the action plan management module 1354b, and may obtain operation information.”) (see Lee [0350] “The hub device 1000 and the plurality of devices (e.g., the first and second devices 4100a and 4200a) may be connected through a LAN, a WAN, a VAN, a mobile radio communication network, a satellite communication network, or a combination thereof. Examples of the wireless communication method may include, but are not limited to, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, BLE, Zigbee, WFD, UWB, IrDA, and NFC.”)
Solum in view of Lee are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified device of Solum, to incorporate comprising a single communication hub device including the radio transceiver and the processor of Lee. Doing so allows for performing an operation according to a user's intention as recognized by Lee [0002].
As to Claim 23, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach 23. The device of claim 22,
Furthermore, Lee teaches wherein the communication hub device is configured to communicate with the information system through a wired connection. (see Lee [0322] “In operation S1040, the hub device 1000 obtains operation information about an operation to be performed by the operation-performing device 4000a, based on the intent. In an embodiment of the disclosure, the processor 1200 (see FIG. 2) of the hub device 1000 may obtain the operation information about at least one detailed operation related to the intent and the parameters, by using the action plan management module 1354b of the TV function determination model 1354. The action plan management module 1354b may manage information about detailed operations of the operation-performing device 4000a and a relationship between the detailed operations. The processor 1200 of the hub device 1000 may plan detailed operations to be performed by the operation-performing device 4000a and an execution order of the detailed operations based on the intent and the parameters by using the action plan management module 1354b, and may obtain operation information.”) (see Lee [0350] “The hub device 1000 and the plurality of devices (e.g., the first and second devices 4100a and 4200a) may be connected through a LAN, a WAN, a VAN, a mobile radio communication network, a satellite communication network, or a combination thereof. Examples of the wireless communication method may include, but are not limited to, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, BLE, Zigbee, WFD, UWB, IrDA, and NFC.”)
Solum in view of Lee are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified device of Solum, to incorporate the communication hub device is configured to communicate with the information system through a wired connection of Lee. Doing so allows for performing an operation according to a user's intention as recognized by Lee [0002].
As to Claim 24, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach 24. The device of claim 12
Furthermore, Lee teaches, wherein the radio transceiver is configured to identify the at least one radio from which the speech representing the request is received by recognizing a voice of the speech representing the request. (see Lee [0165] “[0008] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, a method, performed by a hub device, of controlling a device based on a voice input includes: receiving a voice input of a user; converting the received voice input into text by performing automatic speech recognition (ASR); determining an operation-performing device based on the text, by using a device determination model; identifying a device that stores a function determination model corresponding to the determined operation-performing device, from among a plurality of devices connected to the hub device; and providing at least part of the text to the identified device.”)
Solum in view of Lee are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified device of Solum, to incorporate the radio transceiver is configured to identify the at least one radio from which the speech representing the request is received by recognizing a voice of the speech representing the request of Lee. Doing so allows for performing an operation according to a user's intention as recognized by Lee [0002].
As to Claim 25, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach 25. The method of claim 13,
Furthermore, Lee teaches further comprising: communicating with multiple two-way radios using the radio transceiver; identifying from the multiple two-way radios, using the radio transceiver, the two-way radio from which the radio signal is received; and transmitting the response to the request only to the identified two-way radio. (see Lee [0165] “[0008] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, a method, performed by a hub device, of controlling a device based on a voice input includes: receiving a voice input of a user; converting the received voice input into text by performing automatic speech recognition (ASR); determining an operation-performing device based on the text, by using a device determination model; identifying a device that stores a function determination model corresponding to the determined operation-performing device, from among a plurality of devices connected to the hub device; and providing at least part of the text to the identified device.”)
Solum in view of Lee are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified device of Solum, to incorporate communicating with multiple two-way radios using the radio transceiver; identifying from the multiple two-way radios, using the radio transceiver, the two-way radio from which the radio signal is received; and transmitting the response to the request only to the identified two-way radio of Lee. Doing so allows for performing an operation according to a user's intention as recognized by Lee [0002].
Claim 16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solum (US Patent Number US-11019417-B2), in view Lee (US Patent Number US 20200349952 A1), and further in view of Proctor (US Patent Number US-10321278-B2) and further in view of Kumar (US Patent Number US 10069781 B2).
As to Claim 16, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach The method of claim 15, (see Claim 15).
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of and Proctor do not teach wherein capturing the speech comprises capturing an audible message including a question regarding inventory status of an item, and querying the identified information system comprises searching for an answer from an inventory system. However, Kumar does teach this limitation (see Kumar (9:49-10:6) “In one embodiment, computer 120 is able to access database 125 over network 135. Network 135 may be a local area network, a wireless network, the Internet or another computer network. In one embodiment, database 125 is a component part of computer 120 and network 135 is not required for computer 120 to access database 125. Database 125 may comprise an inventory of product or any other type of information. For example, in a retail setting a customer may use a device to communicate with an associate regarding whether the retail setting has a particular product in stock. The associate may use key terms to query computer 120 regarding whether the product is in stock. Computer 120 may convert the associate's voice to text and recognize the command regarding whether the product is in stock. Computer 120 then queries database 125 and sends a response back to the associate and/or customer. The response may be sent back using an audible signal or a signal to be displayed on a screen at the user device. Similar examples may be constructed around product location databases, workforce scheduling systems, on-floor zone assignments, time clock systems or other information systems used for operations and reporting. Alternatively, computer 120 may recognize a command based on the converted text without a user saying key terms. Users may or may not explicitly identify themselves to the system.”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor and Kumar are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of claim 15 of Solum, Lee and Proctor, to incorporate capturing the speech comprises capturing an audible message including a question regarding inventory status of an item, and querying the identified information system comprises searching for an answer from an inventory system of Kumar. Doing so allows for many different types of devices, systems, and/or objects to be networked including devices with electronics, software, sensors, and connectivity to enable the devices to collect and gather data to be exchanged over the network. as recognized by Kumar (1:12-17).
As to Claim 20, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor and further in view of Kumar teach The method of claim 13,
Furthermore, Kumar teaches wherein parsing the text representing the request comprises parsing the text representing the request to detect an intent including one or more parameters using the network-based language processing service. (see Kumar (4:38-53) “The communications may be monitored by a computer system associated with a radio base station or a wireless network that acts as a central hub for the user communications. The computer system may convert audible, voice or speech communications to a text or machine-compatible format using standard and well-known techniques. Decoding the spoken words (examiner reads parsing the text as “Decoding the spoken words”) may determine commands, identify keywords, and count keywords spoken or listened to. The decoded text may be used to derive additional context information from the communication. The computer system may also store some or all of the communication including the time and geographic location of the device at the time of the communication, the audible portion of the communication, the current context of the user, the decisions made by inference and policy, and the text format of the communication.”) (see Kumar (9:49-10:6) “In one embodiment, computer 120 is able to access database 125 over network 135. Network 135 may be a local area network, a wireless network, the Internet or another computer network. In one embodiment, database 125 is a component part of computer 120 and network 135 is not required for computer 120 to access database 125. Database 125 may comprise an inventory of product or any other type of information. For example, in a retail setting a customer may use a device to communicate with an associate regarding whether the retail setting has a particular product in stock. The associate may use key terms to query computer 120 regarding whether the product is in stock. Computer 120 may convert the associate's voice to text and recognize the command regarding whether the product is in stock. Computer 120 then queries database 125 and sends a response back to the associate and/or customer. The response may be sent back using an audible signal or a signal to be displayed on a screen at the user device. Similar examples may be constructed around product location databases, workforce scheduling systems, on-floor zone assignments, time clock systems or other information systems used for operations and reporting. Alternatively, computer 120 may recognize a command based on the converted text without a user saying key terms. Users may or may not explicitly identify themselves to the system.”) (see Kumar (4:38-53) “The communications may be monitored by a computer system associated with a radio base station or a wireless network that acts as a central hub for the user communications. The computer system may convert audible, voice or speech communications to a text or machine-compatible format using standard and well-known techniques. Decoding the spoken words (examiner reads parsing the text as “Decoding the spoken words”) may determine commands, identify keywords, and count keywords spoken or listened to. The decoded text may be used to derive additional context information from the communication. The computer system may also store some or all of the communication including the time and geographic location of the device at the time of the communication, the audible portion of the communication, the current context of the user, the decisions made by inference and policy, and the text format of the communication.”) (see Kumar (4:38-53) “The communications may be monitored by a computer system associated with a radio base station or a wireless network that acts as a central hub for the user communications. The computer system may convert audible, voice or speech communications to a text or machine-compatible format using standard and well-known techniques. Decoding the spoken words (examiner reads parsing the text as “Decoding the spoken words”) may determine commands, identify keywords, and count keywords spoken or listened to. The decoded text may be used to derive additional context information from the communication. The computer system may also store some or all of the communication including the time and geographic location of the device at the time of the communication, the audible portion of the communication, the current context of the user, the decisions made by inference and policy, and the text format of the communication.”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor in view of Kumar are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Solum, Lee, Proctor and Kumar, to incorporate wherein parsing the text comprises parsing the text to detect an intent of the speech using the network-based service of Kumar. Doing so allows for many different types of devices, systems, and/or objects to be networked including devices with electronics, software, sensors, and connectivity to enable the devices to collect and gather data to be exchanged over the network. as recognized by Kumar (1:12-17).
As to Claim 21, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor and further in view of Kumar teach The method of claim 13
Furthermore, Kumar teaches wherein parsing the text representing the request comprises: receiving the text representing the request from the network-based language processing service using the communication hub device; (see Kumar (4:38-53) “The communications may be monitored by a computer system associated with a radio base station or a wireless network that acts as a central hub for the user communications. The computer system may convert audible, voice or speech communications to a text or machine-compatible format using standard and well-known techniques. Decoding the spoken words (examiner reads parsing the text as “Decoding the spoken words”) may determine commands, identify keywords, and count keywords spoken or listened to. The decoded text may be used to derive additional context information from the communication. The computer system may also store some or all of the communication including the time and geographic location of the device at the time of the communication, the audible portion of the communication, the current context of the user, the decisions made by inference and policy, and the text format of the communication.”) (see Kumar (9:49-10:6) “In one embodiment, computer 120 is able to access database 125 over network 135. Network 135 may be a local area network, a wireless network, the Internet or another computer network. In one embodiment, database 125 is a component part of computer 120 and network 135 is not required for computer 120 to access database 125. Database 125 may comprise an inventory of product or any other type of information. For example, in a retail setting a customer may use a device to communicate with an associate regarding whether the retail setting has a particular product in stock. The associate may use key terms to query computer 120 regarding whether the product is in stock. Computer 120 may convert the associate's voice to text and recognize the command regarding whether the product is in stock. Computer 120 then queries database 125 and sends a response back to the associate and/or customer. The response may be sent back using an audible signal or a signal to be displayed on a screen at the user device. Similar examples may be constructed around product location databases, workforce scheduling systems, on-floor zone assignments, time clock systems or other information systems used for operations and reporting. Alternatively, computer 120 may recognize a command based on the converted text without a user saying key terms. Users may or may not explicitly identify themselves to the system.”) (see Kumar (4:38-53) “(28) The communications may be monitored by a computer system associated with a radio base station or a wireless network that acts as a central hub for the user communications. The computer system may convert audible, voice or speech communications to a text or machine-compatible format using standard and well-known techniques. Decoding the spoken words (examiner reads parsing the text as “Decoding the spoken words”) may determine commands, identify keywords, and count keywords spoken or listened to. The decoded text may be used to derive additional context information from the communication. The computer system may also store some or all of the communication including the time and geographic location of the device at the time of the communication, the audible portion of the communication, the current context of the user, the decisions made by inference and policy, and the text format of the communication.”) and parsing the text representing the request to detect an intent including one or more parameters using the processor of the processor of the communication hub device. (see Kumar (4:38-53) “The communications may be monitored by a computer system associated with a radio base station or a wireless network that acts as a central hub for the user communications. The computer system may convert audible, voice or speech communications to a text or machine-compatible format using standard and well-known techniques. Decoding the spoken words (examiner reads parsing the text as “Decoding the spoken words”) may determine commands, identify keywords, and count keywords spoken or listened to. The decoded text may be used to derive additional context information from the communication. The computer system may also store some or all of the communication including the time and geographic location of the device at the time of the communication, the audible portion of the communication, the current context of the user, the decisions made by inference and policy, and the text format of the communication.”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor in view of Kumar are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Solum, Lee, Proctor and Kumar, to incorporate parsing the text, receiving the text representing the speech from the network-based service using the communication hub device and parsing the text to detect an intent of the speech using the processor of the processor of the communication hub device of Kumar. Doing so allows for many different types of devices, systems, and/or objects to be networked including devices with electronics, software, sensors, and connectivity to enable the devices to collect and gather data to be exchanged over the network. as recognized by Kumar (1:12-17).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solum (US Patent Number US-11019417-B2), in view Lee (US Patent Number US 20200349952 A1), and further in view of Proctor (US Patent Number US-10321278-B2) and further in view of Walker (US Patent Number US 20100275267 A1).
As to Claim 26, Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor teach 26. The method of claim 13,
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor do not specifically teach further comprising communicating with multiple two-way radios in a merchandise warehouse or retail store However Walker does teach this limitation (see Walker [0010] Applicants have recognized that, in some situations, it may be advantageous to provide a "retail and/or social hotspot" to provide any or all of a myriad of services and/or functionality to consumers. A retail and social hotspot may, for example, provide an attractive, exciting, and functional location at which consumers (and/or the public generally) may meet, socialize, conduct various types of transactions, etc. In some embodiments, retail and social hotspots may provide various functionality such as (i) local shopping applications, (ii) e-commerce and/or digital retailing applications, (iii) entertainment applications, (iv) social networking applications, (v) consumer health applications, (vi) financial services applications, (vii) informational and/or connectivity applications, (viii) telecommunications applications, (ix) food service applications, (x) building and/or workplace applications, (xi) advertising and/or media platform applications, and/or (xii) personal and/or group hobby and/or collecting applications. using the radio transceiver, the multiple two-way radios including the two-way radio from which the radio signal is received. (see Walker [0087] “…1). The communication device 624 may, for example, comprise any type or configuration of communication port, cable, modem, and/or signal transceiver that is or becomes known or practicable.”) (see Walker [0018] Some embodiments described herein are associated with a "network device". As used herein, the term "network device" may generally refer to any device that can communicate via a network. Examples of network devices include a PC, a workstation, a server, a printer, a scanner, a facsimile machine, a copier, a PDA, a storage device (e.g., a disk drive), a hub, a router, a switch, and a modem or a wireless phone. In some embodiments, network devices may comprise one or more network components, such as a Static Random Access Memory (SRAM) device or module, a network processor, and/or a network communication path, connection, port, or cable. Some examples of network devices may include, but are not limited to, servers or controllers, customer devises, vending machines, input devices, output devices, and peripheral devices.”)
Solum in view of Lee and further in view of Proctor and Walker are in the same field of endeavor of speech processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of claim of Solum, Lee, and Proctor, to incorporate parsing the text, receiving the text representing the speech from the network-based service using the communication hub device and parsing the text to detect an intent of the speech using the processor of the processor of the communication hub device of Kumar. Doing so allows for information to be tracked over the network. as recognized by Walker [0040].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTEN MICHELLE MASTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659