DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takaya (US 2020/0161558 A1).
Regarding Claims 9, 11, 14, Takaya teaches a white organic electroluminescent (EL) element including an anode, a cathode, and a light-emitting layer disposed between the anode and the cathode. The light-emitting layer includes a first light-emitting layer and a second light-emitting layer. The first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer each contain a host material and a light-emitting dopant material. The first light-emitting layer contains, as the light-emitting dopant material, a green-light-emitting dopant material and a blue-light-emitting dopant material and is a dual-color light-emitting layer that emits green light and blue light. The second light-emitting layer contains, as the light-emitting dopant material, a red-light-emitting dopant material and a green-light-emitting dopant material and is a dual-color light-emitting layer that emits red light and green light (abstract).
The office notes that the above device contains two light emitting layers wherein one light emitting layer comprises a blue emitting dopant. The blue emitting dopant can be represented by BD19 (page 24).
BD19 reads on applicants’ Formula G11 wherein two A groups = CN-Phenyl; all remaining group = H (per claims 9, 11, 14).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaya (US 2020/0161558 A1) in view of Soda ( US20210134231 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Takaya teaches the OLED of claim 9 but fails to mention a photoconversion apparatus.
Soda teaches a photoelectric conversion apparatus which includes an optical unit including a plurality of lenses and an image pickup element for receiving light that has passed through the optical unit. The photoelectric conversion apparatus may include the display unit which displays information (paragraph 138). The display apparatus includes the organic light emitting element (paragraph 140).
As Soda teaches a photoelectric conversion apparatus containing an OLED and Takaya teaches an OLED, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have used the OLED of Takaya in known application areas which would have included in a photoelectric conversion apparatus as taught by Soda which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 15).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaya (US 2020/0161558 A1) in view of Aota (US 20200194720 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Takaya teaches the OLED of claim 9 but fails to mention usage in electronic equipment.
Aota teaches an electronic apparatus including a display unit including the organic light-emitting device along with a housing provided with a display unit, and a communication unit being disposed in the housing and communicating with the outside (paragraph 15).
As Aota teaches an electronic apparatus (equipment) containing an OLED and Takaya teaches an OLED, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have used the OLED of Takaya in known application areas which would have included in an electronic apparatus as taught by Aota which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 16).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaya (US 2020/0161558 A1) in view of Nishide (US 20200095180 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Takaya teaches the OLED of claim 9 but fails to mention usage in lighting apparatus.
Nishide teaches a lighting apparatus 1400 may include a housing 1401, a light source 1402, a circuit board 1403, an optical film 1404, and a light diffusion unit 1405. The light source may include the organic light-emitting element .The optical film may be a film that improves the color rendering of the light source. The light diffusion unit used for lighting up or the like effectively diffuses light from the light source and allows the light to reach a wide area. The optical filter and the light diffusion unit may be disposed on the light-emitting side of the lighting apparatus (paragraph 152).
As Nishide teaches an lighting apparatus containing an OLED and Takaya teaches an OLED, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have used the OLED of Takaya in known application areas as taught by Nishide which would have included in an lighting apparatus which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 17).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaya (US 2020/0161558 A1) in view of Mochizuki (US 20210305532 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Takaya teaches the OLED of claim 9 but fails to mention usage in moving body.
Mochizuki teaches a moving body (automobile) including a lighting unit. A light emitting device 100 can be applied to the lighting unit (paragraph 111).
As Mochizuki teaches a moving body containing an OLED and Takaya teaches an OLED, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have used the OLED of Takaya in known application areas which would have included as taught by Mochizuki a moving body which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 18).
Response to Amendment
New art is applied, which was not uncovered at the time of the previous office action.
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786