DETAILED ACTION
This Action is non-final and is in response to the claims filed June 29th, 2026. Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11, 13-16, and 18-24 are pending, of which claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11, 13-16, and 18-24 are currently rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawing Objections
New drawings have been added, correcting the issues pointed out in the Final Office Action mailed February 27th, 2026. Therefore, the previous drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 has been amending, correcting the informality as pointed out in the Final Office Action mailed February 27th, 2026. Therefore, the previous claim objections have been withdrawn.
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant’s arguments regarding the previously cited art have been fully considered and are partially persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Applicant alleges that neither M. Stipčević (“Quantum random flip-flop and its applications in random frequency synthesis and true random number generation”, 2016) included in the IDS filed on 09/12/2022 (hereinafter “Stipčević”) or Herrmann (US 2019/0205099 A1) (hereinafter “Herrmann”) teaches merging multiple SPAD detector pulse series into one toggle path, and therefore does not teach claims 1 or 20 (Applicant Remarks: Pg. 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees. This limitation is not explicitly recited in the claims. In response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., merging multiple SPAD detector pulse series into one toggle path) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). While claim language does recite a first and second series of electrical pulses being used to generate a pulse waveform, under broadest reasonable interpretation, this could be interpreted to mean a pulse waveform for each of the series of electrical pulses for example. Furthermore, Stipčević in view of Herrmann teaches merging of pulse signals from various sources (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-6 Col. 2 Section IV interleaving of incoming pulses with Fig. 13 on Pg. 035113-7 to show the various D latches being interleaved, each of these D-latches having the construction of earlier Fig. 6 on Pg. 035113-3 and as discussed in Pg. 035113-4 Col. 1 last paragraph before Section IV, hence each D latch would have a separate SPD i.e., SPAD generating pulses respectively, various series of pulses to be interleaved and generate an output stream; Hermann: Fig. 1 pulses from different SPADs are interleaved via OR gate). The combination of Stipčević in view of Herrmann does in fact still teach claims 1 and 20 as discussed in the Office Action mailed February 27th 2026.
With respect to claim 18, Applicant alleges that Stipčević in view of Herrmann does not explicitly teach varying a dead time of receiving, which would entail controlling the quenching circuit by a plurality of selectable dead time durations (Applicant Remarks: Pgs. 11-12) Examiner agrees with Applicant.
Applicant alleges that Stipčević in view of Herrmann in view of Tseng et al. (US 2008/0062106) (hereinafter “Tseng”) does not teach adjusting a voltage threshold so that a random number of 0s approximately equal to a random number of 1s is outputted or that the voltage threshold is adjusted based on a randomized input based on an output from a second SPAD and therefore does not teach claims 13 and 22 (Applicant Remarks: Pgs. 12-13). Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed with respect to claim 18 in the Office Action mailed February 27th, 2026, Stipčević in view of Herrmann are relied upon to teach having an average number of 0s and 1s approximately equal to each other in order to have a randomized input, not Tseng. In combining with Tseng, this randomized output is made possible by having a threshold voltage being adjusted to adjust the reference voltage of the flip-flop (Tseng: ¶ 0044). In other words, Tseng is brought into the combination to teach the limitation regarding the adjustment of the voltage threshold which would be used to determine the flip-flop output. Applicant states that Tseng is related to the threshold voltage of TFT, but ¶ 0044 of Tseng discusses the threshold voltage being used to adjust the reference voltage of a flip-flop, thus influencing the output of the flip-flop. Flip-flops (or otherwise as bistable elements or latches) are the main component of the RNGs (aside from the SPADs) as taught in both Stipčević (Pg. 035113-3 Fig. 6) and Herrmann (Fig. 1). In response to applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore, Stipčević in view of Herrmann in view of Tseng does in fact teach claims 13 and 22.
Applicant also alleges that Tseng is non-analogous (Applicant Remarks: Pg. 12). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Stipčević and Herrmann teach voltage output and pulses being inputted and generated by flip-flops (or otherwise as bistable elements or latches), as does Tseng. Tseng therefore is analogous art in relation to the rest of the references used for the claim rejection.
Claim rejections for claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11, 13-16, and 19-24 have been maintained. New grounds of rejection have been made by Examiner that are necessitated by the amendments for claim 18. See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10-11, 19-20, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over M. Stipčević (“Quantum random flip-flop and its applications in random frequency synthesis and true random number generation”, 2016) included in the IDS filed on 09/12/2022 (hereinafter “Stipčević”) further in view of Herrmann (US 2019/0205099 A1) (hereinafter “Herrmann”).
Regarding claim 1, Stipčević teaches:
A method for generating a random number, comprising:
receiving, at a first single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD), a first series of photons (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19);
converting, by the first SPAD, the first series of photons into a first series of electrical pulses comprising a first random time interval between each pulse of the first series of electrical pulses (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19; Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 11-13 photons are emitted at random times i.e., the SPAD receives photons at random times, as such the time of receiving i.e., dead time of receiving would have random time intervals between the arrival of each photon);
generating a pulse waveform comprising each of the first series of electrical pulses and the second series of electrical pulses (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19; Pg. 035113-6 Col. 2 Section IV interleaving of incoming pulses with Fig. 13 on Pg. 035113-7 to show the various D latches being interleaved, each of these D-latches having the construction of earlier Fig. 6 on Pg. 035113-3 and as discussed in Pg. 035113-4 Col. 1 last paragraph before Section IV, hence each D latch would have a separate SPD i.e., SPAD generating pulses respectively, various series of pulses to be interleaved and generate an output stream);
generating, by an output circuit in communication with the first SPAD, an output Q signal which toggles states in response to each of the first series of electrical pulses and the second series of electrical pulses in the pulse waveform (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col. 2 Lines 12-18 output signal is generated based on the pulses of pulse waveform causing toggle states at flip-flop); and
outputting, by the output circuit a random binary stream based at least in part on the first series of electrical pulses output Q signal (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-6 Col. 1 Lines 13-21 random bit sequence i.e., random binary stream based on output signal Qi).
While Stipčević teaches a second SPAD for generating a second series of pulses, Hermann more explicitly shows the interleaving of pulses to for an output signal (Herrmann: Fig. 1 shows first SPAD 116 and second SPAD 126).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the second SPAD as taught by Herrmann with the SPAD structure and conversion as taught by Stipčević as both teachings are directed towards random number generation. The improvement of Herrmann lies in efficiency of the quantum random number generator being enhanced, and the bit rate for generating a random number is increased. (Herrmann: ¶ 0003).
Therefore, Stipčević in view of Hermann teaches:
A method for generating a random number, comprising:
receiving, at a first single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD), a first series of photons;
receiving, at a second single-photon avalanche diode (SPAD), a second series of photons;
converting, by the first SPAD, the first series of photons into a first series of electrical pulses comprising a first random time interval between each pulse of the first series of electrical pulses;
converting, by the second SPAD, the second series of photons into a second series of electrical pulses comprising a second random time interval between each pulse of the second series of electrical pulses;
generating a pulse waveform comprising the first series of electrical pulses and the second series of electrical pulses;
generating, by an output circuit in communication with the first SPAD, an output Q signal which toggles states in response to each electrical pulse in the pulse waveform;
and outputting, by the output circuit, a random binary stream based at least in part on the output Q signal.
Regarding claim 8, Stipčević in view of Hermann further teaches:
The method of claim 1,
wherein the output circuit comprises a toggle flip-flop (TFF) comprising a first clock input and a first state output (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Fig. 6 FF1 as TFF first clock input at CP and first state output at Q), and
wherein the TFF is configured to receive the pulse waveform at the first clock input and provide the output Q signal at the first state output (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19; pulse waveform obtained from SPAD and quenching circuit at CP of FF1 i.e., TFF and provides the first state output Q signal at Q).
Regarding claim 10, Stipčević in view of Hermann teaches:
The method of claim 8,
wherein the output circuit comprises a data flip-flop (DFF) comprising a second clock input, a state input, and a second state output (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Fig. 6 FF2 i.e., DFF, CP as second clock input, D as state input, Q as second state output)
wherein the DFF is configured to receive the output Q signal at the state input, receive a clock signal at the second clock input, and provide an output data signal at the second state output (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 FF2 i.e., DFF takes output Q signal from FF1 i.e., TFF, at state input D, receives a clock signal at CP and provides an output data signal at Q), and
wherein the random binary stream is based at least in part on the output data signal such that the random binary stream is based in part on the output Q signal at least by virtue of being based in part on the output data signal (Stipčević: random bit sequence based on this output data signal as discussed in Pg. 035113-6 Col. 1 Lines 13-21 random bit sequence i.e., random binary stream based on output signal Qi).
Regarding claim 11, Stipčević in view of Hermann teaches:
The method of claim 10,
wherein the clock signal comprises a regularly oscillating clock signal to the second clock input of the DFF (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-2 shows global clock input to DFF being a regularly oscillating clock signal).
Regarding claim 19, Stipčević teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
outputting, by the output circuit, a random binary stream based at least in part on the first series of electrical pulses (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19), wherein the output circuit comprises one or more of a NOT gate, an AND gate, a NAND gate, an OR gate, a NOR gate, an XOR gate, an XNOR gate, and combinations thereof (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-6 Col. 1 Lines 13-21 random bit sequence i.e., random binary stream based on output signal Qi; Pg. 035113-3 Fig. 6 shows output circuit after SPD i.e., SPAD being flip flops, flip flops as are known in the art have logic gates such as OR, NOR, NAND gates).
Stipčević does not explicitly teach:
and the second series of electrical pulses
However, Hermann teaches two or more SPADs being used for random number generation, having corresponding series of pulses for each of the two SPADs (Hermann: Fig. 1 shows first SPAD 116 and second SPAD 126; ¶ 0008, ¶ 0016, ¶ 0041).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 1 applies equally to claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Stipčević teaches:
A quantum random number generator, comprising:
single-photon avalanche diodes (SPADs), each of the SPADS configured to receive a corresponding series of photons (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19);
one or more quenching circuits in communication with each corresponding SPADs, the one or more quenching circuits configured to convert the corresponding series of photons into corresponding series of electrical pulses, each corresponding series of electrical pulses comprising corresponding random time intervals between each pulse of corresponding series of electrical pulses (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19; Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 11-13 photons are emitted at random times i.e., the SPAD receives photons at random times, as such the time of receiving i.e., dead time of receiving would have random time intervals between the arrival of each photon); and
an output circuit in communication with one or more quenching circuits (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col. 2 Fig. 6 output circuit (comprising the three FFs) takes output of SPD, the SPD containing the SPAD followed by the quenching circuit as discussed in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19), the output circuit configured to:
generate a pulse waveform based at least in part on the corresponding series of electrical pulses of each of the SPADs (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19);
generate an output Q signal which toggles states in response to each electrical pulse of the pulse waveform (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col. 2 Lines 12-18 output signal is generated based on the pulses of pulse waveform causing toggle states at flip-flop); and
output a random binary stream based at least in part on the output Q signal (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-6 Col. 1 Lines 13-21 random bit sequence i.e., random binary stream based on output signal Qi).
Stipčević does not explicitly teach the use of two or more SPADs in the circuit.
However, Hermann teaches the use of two or more SPADs in the circuit for random number generation (Hermann: Fig. 1 shows first SPAD 116 and second SPAD 126; ¶ 0008, ¶ 0016, ¶ 0041).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 1 applies equally to claim 20.
Stipčević in view of Hermann therefore teaches:
A quantum random number generator, comprising:
at least two single-photon avalanche diodes (SPADs), each of the SPADS configured to receive a corresponding series of photons;
one or more quenching circuits in communication with each corresponding one of the at least two SPADs SPADs, the one or more quenching circuits configured to convert the corresponding series of photons into corresponding series of electrical pulses, each corresponding series of electrical pulses comprising corresponding random time intervals between each pulse of corresponding series of electrical pulses; and
an output circuit in communication with one or more quenching circuits, the output circuit configured to:
generate a pulse waveform based at least in part on the corresponding series of electrical pulses of each of the at least two SPADs;
generate an output Q signal which toggles states in response to each electrical pulse of the pulse waveform; and
output a random binary stream based at least in part on the output Q signal.
Regarding claim 24, Stipčević in view of Hermann further teaches:
The method of claim 10, further comprising:
generating the random binary stream such that ones and zeros of the random binary stream correspond to respective states of the output data signal (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-2 Col. 1 Tables I and II show the bits of the random number sequence being dependent upon the states of the flip flops i.e., dependent on the state of the output data signal).
Regarding claim 25, Stipčević in view of Hermann further teaches:
The method of claim 10, wherein the output data signal is based at least in part on the output Q signal, the clock signal, and a time delay from the clock signal (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Fig. 6 output data signal from DFF at Q output depends on output Q signal from Q output of TFF, the clock signal input at CP, and time delay DLY), the method further comprising:
utilizing the time delay to further randomize the output data signal (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Fig. 6 delay element at output of DFF further delays clock input to next flip flop FF3; Pg. 035113-4 Col 1 Section IV Lines 15-24 and Col 2 Lines 5 discuss how the delay enhances randomness of output signal).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stipčević in view of Hermann, further in view of M. Stipčević ("A novel active quenching circuit for single photon detection with Geiger mode avalanche photodiodes", 2008) (hereinafter “Stipčević’08”).
Regarding claim 3, while Stipčević in view of Hermann teaches using a SPAD and quenching circuit for the conversion of photons into a pulse waveform (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19), Stipčević in view of Hermann does not explicitly teach the quenching circuit adjusting a bias voltage.
However, Stipčević’08 teaches:
adjusting a bias voltage of the SPAD using a quenching circuit responsive to photon detection by the SPAD (Stipčević’08: Pg. 2 Col. 2 Lines 13-28 bias voltage adjusted by quenching circuit).
It would have been 0bvious before the effective filing date to combine the bias voltage adjustment as taught by Stipčević’08 with the method as taught by Stipčević in view of Hermann as all teachings are directed towards random number generation. The improvement of Stipčević’08 lies avoiding sustained oscillations of the circuit which would negatively affect entropy of the system as a whole (Stipčević’08: Pg. 2 Col. 2 Line 22)
Regarding claim 4, Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of Stipčević’08 further teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the quenching circuit is configured to convert the first series of photons into the first series of electrical pulses (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at a single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 3 applies equally to claim 4.
Claims 13 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stipčević in view of Hermann further in view of Tseng (US 2008/0062106 A1) (hereinafter “Tseng”).
While Stipčević in view of Hermann teaches the method of claim 8, the TFF, and having a random binary stream with outputs of an average number of 0s and average number 1s being equal (Pg. 035113-3 Col 2 Lines 17-19 discusses average number of 0s and 1s being equal (probability is 1/2); Pg. 035113-3 Fig. 6 FF1 i.e., TFF), Stipčević in view of Hermann does not explicitly teach having an adjustable voltage threshold control input being provided to the TFF.
However, Tseng teaches:
wherein the TFF further comprises a voltage threshold control input (Tseng: ¶ 0044 adjusting threshold voltage for input to flip flop i.e., TFF in order to adjust internal reference voltage)
adjusting a voltage threshold VTHR at the voltage threshold control input (Tseng: ¶ 0044 adjusting threshold voltage for input to flip flop in order to adjust internal reference voltage).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the adjustable voltage threshold as taught by Tseng with the method as taught by Stipčević as both teachings are directed towards the usage of flip-flops for processing signals. The improvement of Tseng lies in compensating for voltage variation (Tseng: ¶ 0044).
Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of Tseng therefore teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the TFF further comprises a voltage threshold control input, the method further comprising:
adjusting a voltage threshold VTHR at the voltage threshold control input to cause the output circuit to output the random binary stream such that the random binary stream outputs an average number of 0s that is approximately equal to an average number of 1s.
Regarding claim 22, while Stipčević teaches the structure of the SPAD and converting from a series of photons to a pulse waveform (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19; Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 11-13 photons are emitted at random times i.e., the SPAD receives photons at random times, as such the time of receiving i.e., dead time of receiving would have random time intervals between the arrival of each photon), as well as logic gates in the output circuit (Pg. 035113-3 Fig. 6 flip-flops having logic gates in output circuit) Stipčević does not explicitly teach a second SPAD.
However, Herrmann teaches a first and second SPAD being used for the conversion of photons to electrical pulses (Herrmann: Fig. 1 shows first SPAD 116 and second SPAD 126).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 1 applies equally to claim 22.
Stipčević in view of Hermann does not explicitly teach an adjustable voltage threshold.
However, Tseng teaches and adjustable voltage threshold (Tseng: ¶ 0044 adjusting threshold voltage for input to flip flop in order to adjust internal reference voltage).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 13 applies equally to claim 22.
Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of Tseng therefore teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the TFF further comprises a voltage threshold control input, the method further comprising:
adjusting a voltage threshold V THR, at the voltage threshold control input, based on a randomized input, wherein the randomized input is based at least in pa1t on an output from a second SPAD.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of Tseng, further in view of Lo et al. (5732139) (hereinafter “Lo”).
While Stipčević in view of Hermann teaches the method of claim 8 and a TFF for random number generation (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Fig. 6 FF1 i.e., TFF), Stipčević in view of Hermann does not explicitly teach adjusting a voltage threshold that is used for having an average number of 0s and an average number of 1s that are unequal.
However, Tseng teaches a voltage threshold control input that is adjustable (Tseng: ¶ 0044 adjusting threshold voltage for input to flip flop in order to adjust internal reference voltage).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 13 applies equally to claim 14.
Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of Tseng does not explicitly teach having an average number of 0s and an average number of 1s that are unequal.
However, Lo teaches unequal probabilities for random bit generation (Lo: Col. 12 Lines 9-28) i.e., having an average number of 1s and an average number of 0s that are unequal to each other.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the unequal probabilities for random bit generation as taught by Lo with the adjustable voltage threshold as taught by Tseng and the method as taught by Stipčević in view of Hermann as all teachings are directed towards digital design and voltage control. The improvement of Lo lies in allowing a user to choose probabilities and increase customizability for the various applications (Lo: Col 8 Lines 10-17).
Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of Tseng in view of Lo therefore teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the TFF further comprises a voltage threshold control input, the method further comprising:
adjusting a voltage threshold VTHR at the voltage threshold to cause the output circuit to output the random binary stream such that the random binary stream outputs an average number of 0s that is unequal to an average number of 1s.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stipčević in view of Hermann further in view of Pinter et al. (US 2021/0299879 A1) (hereinafter “Pinter”).
Regarding claim 15, while Stipčević in view of Hermann teaches the method of claim 1, Stipčević in view of Hermann does not explicitly teach the source of photons being in thermal equilibrium.
However, Pinter teaches:
emitting the first series of photons from a source in thermal equilibrium (Pinter: ¶ 0442 having a source in thermal equilibrium for photons to be produced from; ¶ 0457 thermal equilibrium is suitable for random number generation in order to have equal probability of 1s and 0s being generated).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the source in thermal equilibrium as taught by Pinter with the method as taught by Stipčević in view of Hermann as all teachings are directed towards processing of photons. The improvement of Pinter lies in ensuring equal probability of outcomes and further enhance entropy (Pinter: ¶ 0457).
Regarding claim 16, Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of Pinter further teaches:
The method of claim 15, wherein the source comprises one or more of a light-emitting diode (LED), a pulsed laser, and a combination thereof (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), the SPD containing laser components, in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19; Pg. 035113-3 Fig. 4 further shows light source providing photons as LED).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stipčević in view of Hermann, in view Stipčević’08, further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2023/0043119 A1) (hereinafter “Cheng”).
While Stipčević in view of Hermann in view Stipčević’08 teaches the method of claim 3 and a quenching circuit (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Col 1 Lines 3-10 receiving of photons at single photon detector (SPD), in order to generate random train of pulses i.e., pulse waveform, SPD further specified as a SPAD in Pg. 035113-3 Col. 1 Lines 16-19) as well as random time intervals between arrival of photons , Stipčević in view of Hermann, in view Stipčević’08 does not explicitly teach varying a dead time by random time intervals and having selectable dead time durations.
However, Cheng teaches having selectable dead time durations that are selected at random (Cheng: ¶ 0036).
In combining Chen with Stipčević in view of Hermann in view Stipčević’08, the quenching circuit as taught by Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of Stipčević’08 (as discussed with respect to claim 3), would vary a dead time by having a plurality of selectable dead time durations as taught by Cheng.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the selectable dead times as taught by Cheng with the method as taught by Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of Stipčević’08 as all teachings are directed towards digital design. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings because doing so would allow for configurability as well as to increase randomness, if preferred by the user (Cheng: ¶ 0036).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stipčević in view of Hermann further in view of Carlson (6954770).
While Stipčević in view of Hermann teaches the quantum random number generator of claim 20, Stipčević in view of Hermann does not explicitly teach the data output signal being generated by sampling the output Q signal based on a clock input.
However, Carlson teaches:
generate a data output signal by sampling the output Q signal based on a clock input (Carlson: Col. 2 Lines 52-67 sampling device samples output signal synchronously from entropy source i.e., SPAD with quenching circuit; Col. 3 Lines 48-54 this sampling device is driven by a clock signal, Col. 2 Lines 41-47 to output a random bit stream for a random number); and
generate the random binary stream based at least in part on the data output signal such that the random binary stream is based at least in part on the output Q signal by virtue of being based at least in part on the data output signal (Carlson: Col. 2 Lines 52-67 sampling device samples output signal synchronously from entropy source i.e., SPAD with quenching circuit; Col. 3 Lines 48-54 this sampling device is driven by a clock signal, Col. 2 Lines 41-47 to output a random bit stream for a random number).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the clocked sampling for the output signal as taught by Carlson with the quantum random number generator as taught by Stipčević in view of Hermann as all teachings are directed towards random number generation. The improvement of Carlson lies in producing a robust random number (Carlson: Col. 2 Lines 22-31).
Claims 23 and 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of Tseng further in view of Carey et al. (9007096) (hereinafter “Carey”).
Regarding claim 23, while Stipčević in view of Hermann teaches the method of claim 10 and a TFF for random number generation (Stipčević: Pg. 035113-3 Fig. 6 FF1 i.e., TFF), Stipčević in view of Hermann does not explicitly teach a voltage threshold control input and an averaging circuit.
However, Tseng teaches a voltage threshold control input that is adjustable (Tseng: ¶ 0044 adjusting threshold voltage for input to flip flop in order to adjust internal reference voltage).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 13 applies equally to claim 23.
Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of Tseng does not explicitly teach having an averaging circuit upon which the voltage threshold control input depends on.
However, Carey teaches voltage averaging of output signal that is used to determine a voltage reference i.e., voltage threshold, (Carey: Col 11 Lines 32-56) the determining of a voltage reference being adjusting through a control input for example.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the averaging as taught by Carey with the adjustable voltage threshold control input and the method as taught by Stipčević in view of Hermann as all teachings are directed towards digital design. The improvement of Carey lies in balancing input voltages which can therefore increase entropy (Carey: Col. 11 Lines 32-56).
Regarding claim 26, while Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of in view of Tseng teaches the method of claim 13, Stipčević in view of Hermann in view of in view of Tseng does not explicitly teach the voltage threshold being a percentage.
However, Carey teaches voltage threshold as a percentage of range of pulses (Carey: Col. 11 Lines 32-56).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 23 applies equally to claim 26.
Conclusion
/M.D.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2151
/James Trujillo/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2151