DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Amendment and Remarks filed on 9/26/2025. This Action is made FINAL.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claims 13-19 are withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
(A) Applicant's arguments filed “Claim 1 recites "wherein each of at least two domain controllers of the plurality of domain controllers further comprises a second domain communications interface, and the at least two domain controllers communicate with each other through the second domain communications interface." Yuan fails to teach or suggest at least these features of claim 1.” on 9/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Para 41 and 13 of Yuan disclosed “The utility model proposes an electronic and electrical architecture based on a regional controller 30, a central computing platform 10, and Ethernet as a backbone network, as shown in FIG2” and “the control information of the central computing platform is transmitted to the regional controller via Ethernet messages, which is forwarded by the regional controller to the edge controller node or directly drives the actuator to act. The regional controller acts as a gateway to forward data and is also directly responsible for driving some actuator sensors”. In the figure 2, the regional controller 30 in front of the vehicle are connected to the regional controller 30 in middle of the vehicle which indicted a second domain communications interface. Furthermore, the regional controller acts as a gateway to forward data would encompasses two domain controllers communicate with each other through the second domain communications interface.
Claim Objections
Claim 7-8 objected to because of the following informalities:
The applicant amended the limitations “at least one of the plurality of domain controllers comprises a second power supply interface” in claim 7 and “the central controller further comprises a first power supply interface” in claim 8 however claim 7 still recited “the first power supply interface is configured to obtain electrical energy from a battery pack and/or a battery of the vehicle” and claim 8 still recited “the second power supply interface is configured to obtain electrical energy from a battery pack and/or a battery of the vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10-11, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YUAN (CN210578605U).
Regarding claim 1, YUAN teaches A control system for a vehicle, comprising:
a plurality of domain controllers (YUAN: Fig. 2 Element 30; Fig. 3 Element 40-51; Para 42 “An electronic and electrical architecture based on a regional controller 30 and a central computing platform 10, with Ethernet as a backbone network, wherein one implementation example is shown in FIG3 , wherein the core of the entire architecture includes a central computing platform system (CCM) 10 and 12 regional controllers (VIU) 40-51, and an Ethernet connection as a high-speed backbone network (Backbone); the core of power distribution and mode switching is a central electrical distribution center (PDC) 20”) , and
a central controller(YUAN: Fig. 2 Element 10; Fig. 3 Element 11-13; Para 42 “An electronic and electrical architecture based on a regional controller 30 and a central computing platform 10, with Ethernet as a backbone network, wherein one implementation example is shown in FIG3 , wherein the core of the entire architecture includes a central computing platform system (CCM) 10 and 12 regional controllers (VIU) 40-51, and an Ethernet connection as a high-speed backbone network (Backbone); the core of power distribution and mode switching is a central electrical distribution center (PDC) 20”),
wherein the plurality of domain controllers are configured to respectively obtain status information of a plurality of domains and send the status information of the plurality of domains to the central controller(YUAN: Para 52 “The regional controller 30 connects the actuators and sensors in the area with the CAN/LIN bus and I/O hard wires, and collects the sensor data and transmits it to the central computing platform for processing via Ethernet messages. At the same time, the control information of the central computing platform is transmitted to the regional controller via Ethernet messages, which is forwarded by the regional controller 30 to the edge controller node or directly drives the actuator to act. Taking the left front area controller 41 as an example, it is arranged above the left longitudinal beam of the front cabin, connecting the left front headlight module, ultrasonic radar sensor, front camera module, electronic power steering module, wiper motor, washing module, left front wheel speed sensor and active suspension module. These modules transmit information to the central computing module CCM111 through the left front area controller 41. CCM111 shares information with CCM212 and CCM313 through Gigabit Ethernet, and performs calculations and processing after aggregating sensor signals and status signals from other area controllers”),
wherein the vehicle comprises the plurality of domains, and the plurality of domain controllers are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of domains(YUAN: Para 52 “Taking the left front area controller 41 as an example, it is arranged above the left longitudinal beam of the front cabin, connecting the left front headlight module, ultrasonic radar sensor, front camera module, electronic power steering module, wiper motor, washing module, left front wheel speed sensor and active suspension module. These modules transmit information to the central computing module CCM111 through the left front area controller 41. CCM111 shares information with CCM212 and CCM313 through Gigabit Ethernet, and performs calculations and processing after aggregating sensor signals and status signals from other area controllers”),
wherein the central controller is configured to:
receive the status information of the plurality of domains from the plurality of domain controllers(YUAN: Para 52 “Taking the left front area controller 41 as an example, it is arranged above the left longitudinal beam of the front cabin, connecting the left front headlight module, ultrasonic radar sensor, front camera module, electronic power steering module, wiper motor, washing module, left front wheel speed sensor and active suspension module. These modules transmit information to the central computing module CCM111 through the left front area controller 41. CCM111 shares information with CCM212 and CCM313 through Gigabit Ethernet, and performs calculations and processing after aggregating sensor signals and status signals from other area controllers”); and
generate a domain control signal based on the status information of the plurality of domains, wherein the domain control signal is used to control operating statuses of the plurality of domains(YUAN: Para 52 “The regional controller 30 connects the actuators and sensors in the area with the CAN/LIN bus and I/O hard wires, and collects the sensor data and transmits it to the central computing platform for processing via Ethernet messages. At the same time, the control information of the central computing platform is transmitted to the regional controller via Ethernet messages, which is forwarded by the regional controller 30 to the edge controller node or directly drives the actuator to act”),
wherein the central controller comprises a plurality of first central communications interfaces(YUAN: Para 12 “The three central computing platform modules have built-in Ethernet switch chips, which have 4 fixed 100M ports and 4 configurable ports, including 100Base-T1, 100Base-Tx and 1000Base-T1. The Gigabit port is used for high-speed communication connections between central computing platforms, and the 100M port is used for communication connections between the central computing platform and the regional controller”), each of the plurality of domain controllers comprises a first domain communications interface of a plurality of first domain communications interfaces(YUAN: Para 13 “The regional controller connects the actuators and sensors in the area with the CAN/LIN bus and I/O hard wires, and collects the sensor data and transmits it to the central computing platform for processing via Ethernet messages”), the plurality of first central communications interfaces and the plurality of first domain communications interfaces form a plurality of communications interface pairs, and the central controller communicates with the plurality of domain controllers through the plurality of communications interface pairs respectively(YUAN: Para 13 “The regional controller connects the actuators and sensors in the area with the CAN/LIN bus and I/O hard wires, and collects the sensor data and transmits it to the central computing platform for processing via Ethernet messages. At the same time, the control information of the central computing platform is transmitted to the regional controller via Ethernet messages, which is forwarded by the regional controller to the edge controller node or directly drives the actuator to act. The regional controller acts as a gateway to forward data and is also directly responsible for driving some actuator sensors”), and
wherein each of at least two domain controllers of the plurality of domain controllers further comprises a second domain communications interface, and the at least two domain controllers communicate with each other through the second domain communications interface (YUAN: Fig. 2 Element 30; Para 41 “The utility model proposes an electronic and electrical architecture based on a regional controller 30, a central computing platform 10, and Ethernet as a backbone network, as shown in FIG2”; i.e. Fig. 2 indicated Ethernet network connections between the regional controllers 30 in the front section and middle section of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 3, YUAN teaches The control system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of domain controllers form a chain communications link through the second domain communications interface, the chain communications link comprises a plurality of nodes, and each of the plurality of domain controllers forms one node of the plurality of nodes(YUAN: Fig. 2 Element 30; Para 41 “The utility model proposes an electronic and electrical architecture based on a regional controller 30, a central computing platform 10, and Ethernet as a backbone network, as shown in FIG2”; i.e. Fig. 2 indicated a chain Ethernet network connections between the regional controllers 30 in the front section and middle section of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 10, YUAN teaches The control system according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of domain controllers further comprises a third domain communications interface, and each of the plurality of domain controllers communicates with an intra-domain actuator and/or a sensor of each domain controller through the third domain communications interface(YUAN: Fig. 2, 4-5; Para 13 “The regional controller connects the actuators and sensors in the area with the CAN/LIN bus and I/O hard wires, and collects the sensor data and transmits it to the central computing platform for processing via Ethernet messages. At the same time, the control information of the central computing platform is transmitted to the regional controller via Ethernet messages, which is forwarded by the regional controller to the edge controller node or directly drives the actuator to act”).
Regarding claim 11, YUAN teaches The control system according to claim 1, wherein the central controller further comprises a first extensible interface, and the first extensible interface is configured to connect to a computing device and/or a storage device(YUAN: Fig. 4; Para 46 “The vehicle motion control and in-vehicle and out-of-vehicle communication module CCM1 11 has a built-in 8-port Ethernet switch chip. The chip has 4 fixed 100M ports and 4 configurable ports. The configurable types include 100Base-T1, 100Base-Tx and 1000Base-T1. CCM1 is connected to the OBD diagnostic interface for offline and after-sales diagnosis, so its switch needs to be configured with a 100Base-Tx port”).
As per claim 20, it recites A vehicle, comprising a control system having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 4-5, 7-9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN (CN210578605U) in view of Fehr (US20050140209A1).
In regards to claim 2, YUAN teaches The control system according to claim 1.
Yet YUAN do not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of domain controllers form a ring communications link through the second domain communications interface, the ring communications link comprises a plurality of nodes, and each of the plurality of domain controllers forms one node of the plurality of nodes.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fehr teaches wherein the plurality of domain controllers form a ring communications link through the second domain communications interface, the ring communications link comprises a plurality of nodes, and each of the plurality of domain controllers forms one node of the plurality of nodes(Fehr: Fig. 1 Element 120; Para 20 “FIG. 1 illustrates within a vehicle 10 a power, ground and communication architecture 100 that includes a plurality of hubs 105, 110 and 115. The hubs 105, 110 and 115 are joined by standardized wire harness segments in a web-type structure. While a plurality of the wire harness segments are shown in FIG. 1 and used to interconnect the hubs 105, 110 and 115, only one is identified as wire harness segment 120. Throughout this disclosure, reference to wire harness segment 120 in either the singular or plural refers to the one or more wire harness segments used to interconnect the hubs 105, 110 and 115”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control system for a vehicle of YUAN with the feature of wherein the plurality of domain controllers form a ring communications link through the second domain communications interface, the ring communications link comprises a plurality of nodes, and each of the plurality of domain controllers forms one node of the plurality of nodes disclosed by Fehr. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “The web-type arrangement of the architecture allows potentially for dynamic rearrangement to effect repairs in the event of a power fault” (Fehr: Para 15).
In regards to claim 4, YUAN teaches The control system according to claim 1, wherein the central controller further comprises a plurality of first power source interfaces(YUAN: Fig. 3 Element 11-13; Para 53 “The central electrical distribution center 20 is connected to the positive pole of the 12V low-voltage battery 52 to provide primary power distribution and protection for the three central computing platforms 11-13 and the 12 regional controllers 40-51”), each of the plurality of domain controllers further comprises a second power source interface of a plurality of second power source interfaces(YUAN: Fig. 3 Element 11-13; Para 53 “The central electrical distribution center 20 is connected to the positive pole of the 12V low-voltage battery 52 to provide primary power distribution and protection for the three central computing platforms 11-13 and the 12 regional controllers 40-51”), the plurality of first power source interfaces and the plurality of second power source interfaces form a plurality of power source interface pairs, and the central controller performs electrical energy transmission with the plurality of domain controllers through the plurality of power source interface pairs respectively(YUAN: Fig. 3; Para 53 “The central electrical distribution center 20 is connected to the positive pole of the 12V low-voltage battery 52 to provide primary power distribution and protection for the three central computing platforms 11-13 and the 12 regional controllers 40-51”) and Fehr further teaches wherein each of at least two domain controllers of the plurality of domain controllers further comprises a third power source interface, and the at least two domain controllers perform electrical energy transmission with each other through the third power source interface (Fehr: Fig. 1 Element 120; Para 20 “FIG. 1 illustrates within a vehicle 10 a power, ground and communication architecture 100 that includes a plurality of hubs 105, 110 and 115. The hubs 105, 110 and 115 are joined by standardized wire harness segments in a web-type structure. While a plurality of the wire harness segments are shown in FIG. 1 and used to interconnect the hubs 105, 110 and 115, only one is identified as wire harness segment 120. Throughout this disclosure, reference to wire harness segment 120 in either the singular or plural refers to the one or more wire harness segments used to interconnect the hubs 105, 110 and 115”; Para 21 “The ports 212, 213, 214, 215 are configured for interconnecting a hub with another hub. Each port 212-215 may have a power and ground connection and a communication connection 216”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references YUAN and Fehr as in Claim 2 above.
In regards to claim 5, the combination of YUAN and Fehr teaches The control system according to claim 4, and Fehr further teaches wherein the plurality of domain controllers form a ring electrical energy link through the third power source interface, the ring electrical energy link comprises a plurality of nodes, and each of the plurality of domain controllers forms one node of the plurality of nodes(Fehr: Fig. 1 Element 120; Para 20 “FIG. 1 illustrates within a vehicle 10 a power, ground and communication architecture 100 that includes a plurality of hubs 105, 110 and 115. The hubs 105, 110 and 115 are joined by standardized wire harness segments in a web-type structure. While a plurality of the wire harness segments are shown in FIG. 1 and used to interconnect the hubs 105, 110 and 115, only one is identified as wire harness segment 120. Throughout this disclosure, reference to wire harness segment 120 in either the singular or plural refers to the one or more wire harness segments used to interconnect the hubs 105, 110 and 115”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references YUAN and Fehr as in Claim 2 above.
In regards to claim 7, the combination of YUAN and Fehr teaches The control system according to claim 4, and YUAN further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of domain controllers comprises a second power supply interface, and the first power supply interface is configured to obtain electrical energy from a battery pack and/or a battery of the vehicle(YUAN: Fig. 3; Para 53 “The central electrical distribution center 20 is connected to the positive pole of the 12V low-voltage battery 52 to provide primary power distribution and protection for the three central computing platforms 11-13 and the 12 regional controllers 40-51”).
In regards to claim 8, the combination of YUAN and Fehr teaches The control system according to claim 4, and YUAN further teaches wherein the central controller further comprises a first power supply interface, and the second power supply interface is configured to obtain electrical energy from a battery pack and/or a battery of the vehicle(YUAN: Fig. 3; Para 53 “The central electrical distribution center 20 is connected to the positive pole of the 12V low-voltage battery 52 to provide primary power distribution and protection for the three central computing platforms 11-13 and the 12 regional controllers 40-51”).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of YUAN and Fehr teaches The control system according to claim 4, and YUAN further teaches wherein each of the plurality of domain controllers further comprises a fourth power source interface, and each of the plurality of domain controllers performs electrical energy transmission with an intra-domain actuator and/or a sensor of each domain controller through the fourth power source interface(YUAN: Fig. 2, 4-5; Para 54 “The regional electrical components adopt a power distribution mode of centralized power supply and local power supply. All electrical components follow the principle of proximity and are connected to power lines from their respective regional controllers 40-51, rather than from the central electrical distribution center 20. The regional controller 30 is centrally powered by the central electrical distribution center 20 through a power line, and meets the power supply needs of all electrical components in the area”).
In regards to claim 12, the combination of YUAN and Fehr teaches The control system according to claim 4, and Fehr further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of domain controllers further comprises a second extensible interface, and the second extensible interface is configured to connect to a computing device and/or a storage device(Fehr: Fig. 1 Element 120; Para 20 “FIG. 1 illustrates within a vehicle 10 a power, ground and communication architecture 100 that includes a plurality of hubs 105, 110 and 115. The hubs 105, 110 and 115 are joined by standardized wire harness segments in a web-type structure. While a plurality of the wire harness segments are shown in FIG. 1 and used to interconnect the hubs 105, 110 and 115, only one is identified as wire harness segment 120. Throughout this disclosure, reference to wire harness segment 120 in either the singular or plural refers to the one or more wire harness segments used to interconnect the hubs 105, 110 and 115”; Para 21 “The ports 212, 213, 214, 215 are configured for interconnecting a hub with another hub. Each port 212-215 may have a power and ground connection and a communication connection 216”; Para 21 “With reference to FIG. 2, an exemplary hub or node 200 may have a processor 202, including a control program stored either in an internal memory or in an associated memory providing central intelligence”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references YUAN and Fehr as in Claim 2 above.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN (CN210578605U) in view of Fehr (US20050140209A1) further in view of Ballard(US20090016216A1).
In regards to claim 1, the combination of YUAN and Fehr teaches The control system according to claim 4.
Yet the combination of YUAN and Fehr do not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of domain controllers form a chain electrical energy link through the third power source interface, the chain electrical energy link comprises a plurality of nodes, and each of the plurality of domain controllers forms one node of the plurality of nodes
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ballard teaches wherein the plurality of domain controllers form a chain electrical energy link through the third power source interface, the chain electrical energy link comprises a plurality of nodes, and each of the plurality of domain controllers forms one node of the plurality of nodes (Ballard: Fig. 9 Element 118a and 118b; Para 46 “VController 112 is coupled to VCE power source 114 for power (dotted line) and to VSwitches 116 a and 116 b for VNet data communications (solid lines). VSwitch 116 a supplies VNet data and power to VModule 118 a, which in turn supplies VNet data and power to daisy chained VModule 118 b”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control system for a vehicle of the combination of YUAN and Fehr with the feature of wherein the plurality of domain controllers form a chain electrical energy link through the third power source interface, the chain electrical energy link comprises a plurality of nodes, and each of the plurality of domain controllers forms one node of the plurality of nodes disclosed by Ballard. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “The ability to daisy chain VSwitches 116 eliminates the need to run separate VNet cables 120 and VPower cables 122 from each VSwitch back to the VController 112 and the VCE power source 114, respectively, in the VCE 100” (Ballard: Para 44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Paryani (US20170150361A1) disclosed any messages between domains or between the center hub and an ECU may be communicated using a medium security level. The medium security level may include a subset of the security protocols used for the high security level.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/ANSHUL SOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667