DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gleason et al. (US 2014/0192257) in view of Glik et al. (US 2020/0237214), and further in view of Ollila et al. (US 2017/0140221).
Regarding claim 1, Gleason discloses, an information handling system comprising:
a processor (Para. 0017, lines 10-25);
a memory device (Para. 0017, lines 10-25);
a power management unit (PMU) (Para. 0003 and 0028, lines 21-28; describes a controller that is used to control the amount of power applied/the drive voltage to control opacity of the electrochromic glass shutter);
a camera (10) formed within a chassis (Para. 0005, lines 1-4 and Para. 0033, lines 7-14; describes an external housing wall of the information handling system (“consumer electronic device”) that is used to support the camera) of the information handling system (Para. 0033, lines 7-14 and see Fig. 1; describes a “consumer electronic device (e.g., a smartphone or a tablet computer)”), the camera including:
a lens (11) and an electronic image capture component (13);
an electrochromic glass shutter camera privacy shutter (14) formed external (see Fig. 2) to the lens (11) of the camera; the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter operatively coupled to a circuit switch (Para. 0026-0028 and see 15, 17) to receive a voltage to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass shutter between clear and dark states; as desired) to reduce light external to the chassis from reaching the camera within the chassis to prevent the electronic image capture component from capturing an image in a first state (Para. 0038-0040; discloses a dark aperture stop state) and to permit light external to the chassis to reach the electronic image capture component in a second state to permit capturing the image (Para. 0038-0040; discloses a clear state that transmits at least 95% of light), the circuit switch operatively coupled to and controlled by an embedded controller (EC) (Para. 0026-0028 and see 15, 17);
and the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer (Para. 0029, lines 3-6; discloses “an active EC medium”) having a first material coating of lithium ions (Para. 0031, lines 1-5; discloses the ion source layer stores suitable ions, for example, lithium ions that will be used for activating the EC layer) formed between a first conductive layer (17) and a second conductive layer (20).
Gleason does not explicitly disclose the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having a first material coating of lithium ions an electrochromic glass layer having a second material coating of a transition metal oxide layer on the electrochromic glass formed between a first conductive layer and a second conductive layer.
Glik teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an electrochromic glass shutter that it would have been desirable to make the electrochromic glass shutter (Para. 0061 and 0063) includes an electrochromic glass layer (Para. 0063, lines 6-23; discloses an electrochromic layer) having a first material coating of lithium ions (Para. 0063, lines 6-23; discloses an ion storage layer (e.g., lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2))) and a second material coating of a transition metal oxide layer (Para. 0063, lines 6-23; discloses a first conducting oxide layer (e.g., tungsten oxide (W03)) on the electrochromic glass formed between a first conductive layer (Para. 0063, lines 6-23; discloses a first conducting oxide layer made composed of transparent conductive oxides (TCOs)) and a second conductive layer (Para. 0063, lines 6-23; discloses a second conducting oxide layer made composed of transparent conductive oxides (TCOs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having a first material coating of lithium ions an electrochromic glass layer having a second material coating of a transition metal oxide layer on the electrochromic glass formed between a first conductive layer and a second conductive layer as taught by the electrochromic glass shutter of Glik in the electrochromic glass shutter of Gleason since Glik teaches it is known to include these features in an electrochromic glass shutter for the purpose of providing a low-cost electrochromic glass shutter with reduced color aliasing that avoids the use of moving parts while at the same time achieving improved focusing and greater depth of field.
Gleason in view of Glik does not explicitly disclose the circuit switch to receive a voltage to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to occlude light external to the chassis from reaching within the chassis in a first state and to permit light external to the chassis to reach within the chassis in a second state, and the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter formed external to the camera components including the lens of the camera and electronic image capture component including controls for exposure and image capture.
Ollila teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an information handling system (Fig. 8) that it would have been desirable to make the circuit switch (Para. 0033 and 0081; note, discloses using a controller to activate an electrochromic glass privacy shutter) to receive a voltage to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (Para. 0078 and see 556) to occlude light external to the chassis (544) from reaching within the chassis in a first state (Para. 0061; note, discloses blocking and rejecting light) and to permit light external to the chassis to reach within the chassis in a second state (Para. 0061; note, discloses the privacy shutter is fully transmissive to transmit light), and the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (556) formed external to the camera components (546 and 548) including the lens of the camera (546) and electronic image capture component (548) including controls (Figs. 1 and 16) for exposure and image capture (see 104 of Fig. 1 and see 2, 4 of Fig. 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the circuit switch to receive a voltage to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to occlude light external to the chassis from reaching within the chassis in a first state and to permit light external to the chassis to reach within the chassis in a second state, and the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter formed external to the camera components including the lens of the camera and electronic image capture component including controls for exposure and image capture as taught by the information handling system of Ollila in the combination of Gleason in view of Glik since Ollila teaches it is known to include these features in an information handling system for the purpose of providing a compact, fast, reliable and low power information handling system.
Regarding claim 2, Gleason, Glik and Ollila discloses and teaches as set forth above, and further Gleason discloses, the embedded controller operating below a basic input/output system (BIOS) (Para. 0003, 0026-0028 and see 15, 17) executed by the processor of the information handling system; and the EC to receive a user input (Para. 0026, Claim 9; describes a “button activated by a user of the device”) to turn on or turn off the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter between the first state and the second state (Para. 0026).
Regarding claim 3, Gleason, Glik and Ollila discloses and teaches as set forth above, and further Gleason discloses, the PMU operatively coupled to the circuit switch (Para. 0026-0028 and see Fig. 2) to control a first voltage provided across an electrochromic glass layer of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to make the electrochromic glass layer opaque (Para. 0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042).
Furthermore, Ollila teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an information handling system that it would have been desirable to make the electrochromic glass layer opaque to block external light from reaching within the chassis of the information handling system (Para. 0061; note, discloses blocking and rejecting light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the information handling system of Ollila in the combination of Gleason in view of Glik since Ollila teaches it is known to include these features in an information handling system for the purpose of providing a compact, fast, reliable and low power information handling system.
Regarding claim 4, Gleason, Glik and Ollila discloses and teaches as set forth above, and further Gleason discloses, a dedicated button used by a user (Para. 0026, Claim 9; describes a “button activated by a user of the device”) to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter between the first state and the second state (Para. 0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042), the dedicated button including a hot-key on a keyboard of the information handling system communicatively coupled to the EC (Para. 0026, Claim 9; describes a “button activated by a user of the device”).
Regarding claim 5, Gleason, Glik and Ollila discloses and teaches as set forth above, and further Gleason discloses, the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter is formed into a bezel (Para. 0005, lines 1-4 and Para. 0033, lines 7-14; describes an external housing wall of the information handling system (“consumer electronic device”) that is used to support the camera) of the information handling system external to the camera within the chassis to block external light for image capture by the electronic image capture component(see “ACTIVE EC LAYER” of Figs. 4-6) of the camera within the chassis when the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter is opaque in the first state (Para. 0005, lines 11-15, 0026-0028 and 0040-0042).
Regarding claim 6, Gleason, Glik and Ollila discloses and teaches as set forth above, and further Gleason discloses, a printed circuit board (PCB) (Para. 0003) onto which the camera is installed, the PCB including a frame (Para. 0005, lines 1-4 and Para. 0033, lines 7-14; describes an external housing wall of the information handling system (“consumer electronic device”) that is used to support the camera) formed over the camera to hold the electrochromic glass layer over the camera and external to the lens and image capture component to block image capture by the camera when the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter is opaque (Para. 0002).
Furthermore, Ollila teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an information handling system that it would have been desirable to make the electrochromic glass layer opaque to block external light from reaching within the chassis of the information handling system (Para. 0026; note, discloses the cover element 605 (Para. 0061; note, discloses blocking and rejecting light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the information handling system of Ollila in the combination of Gleason in view of Glik since Ollila teaches it is known to include these features in an information handling system for the purpose of providing a compact, fast, reliable and low power information handling system.
Regarding claim 7, Gleason, Glik and Ollila discloses and teaches as set forth above, and further Gleason discloses, a printed circuit board (PCB) (Para. 0003) onto which the camera is installed, the PCB including the circuit switch to receive input from the embedded controller to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass shutter from the first state to the second state or from the second state to the first state (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter between clear and dark states; as desired), the circuit switch (Para. 0003 and 0028, lines 21-28; describes a controller that is used to control the amount of power applied/the drive voltage to control opacity of the electrochromic glass shutter) operatively coupled to the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to send the voltage level to select the first state or the second state of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass shutter between clear and dark states; as desired).
Regarding claim 8, Gleason, Glik and Ollila discloses and teaches as set forth above, and further Gleason discloses, the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (14) including: an electrochromic glass layer (“ACTIVE EC LAYER”); the first conductive layer (20) formed on a first side of the electrochromic glass layer; the second conductive layer (17) formed on a second side of the electrochromic glass layer; a first glass outer layer (see substrate under 20) formed on the first conductive layer; and a second glass outer layer (see 16) formed on the second conductive layer.
Regarding claim 9, Gleason, Glik and Ollila discloses and teaches as set forth above, and further Glik further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an electrochromic glass shutter that it would have been desirable to make the electrochromic glass layer for the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter formed external to the lens and the electronic image capture component includes the first material coating that is a lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2) layer (Para. 0063, lines 6-23; discloses an ion storage layer (e.g., lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2))) and the second material coating is a tungsten tri-oxide (W03) layer (Para. 0063, lines 6-23; discloses a first conducting oxide layer (e.g., tungsten oxide (W03)) on the electrochromic glass formed between the first conductive layer (Para. 0063, lines 6-23; discloses a first conducting oxide layer made composed of transparent conductive oxides (TCOs)) and the second conductive layer (Para. 0063, lines 6-23; discloses a second conducting oxide layer made composed of transparent conductive oxides (TCOs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the electrochromic glass shutter of Glik in the combination of Gleason in view of Ollila since Glik teaches it is known to include these features in an electrochromic glass shutter for the purpose of providing a low-cost information handling system with reduced color aliasing that avoids the use of moving parts while at the same time achieving improved focusing and greater depth of field.
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gleason et al. (US 2014/0192257) in view of Zhang (WO 2017/084547), and further in view of Ollila et al. (US 2017/0140221).
Regarding claim 10, Gleason discloses, a camera module (Figs. 1-6) formed into a bezel of an information handling system (Para. 0005, lines 1-4 and Para. 0033, lines 7-14; describes an external housing wall of the information handling system (“consumer electronic device”) that is used to support the camera) comprising:
a lens (11) and an electronic image capture component (13);
an electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (14) formed into the bezel (Para. 0005, lines 1-4 and Para. 0033, lines 7-14; describes an external housing wall of the information handling system (“consumer electronic device”) that is used to support the camera) and placed over the lens (see Figs. 2-6), wherein the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter is operatively coupled to a power management unit (PMU) (Para. 0003 and 0028, lines 21-28; describes a controller that is used to control the amount of power applied/the drive voltage to control opacity of the electrochromic glass shutter) of the information handling system; and
a circuit switch (Para. 0026-0028 and see 15, 17) to receive a voltage to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass shutter between clear and dark states; as desired) to occlude light from passing through the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to the electronic image capture component in a first state (Para. 0038-0040; discloses a dark aperture stop state) and to permit light to pass through the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to the electronic image capture component in a second state (Para. 0038-0040; discloses a clear state that transmits at least 95% of light), the circuit switch operatively coupled to and controlled by an embedded controller (EC) (Para. 0026-0028 and see 15, 17); and
the circuit switch is operatively coupled to and controlled by an embedded controller (EC) (see Figs. 2-6) switches the electrochromic glass layer between the first state and the second state applying the voltage across the electrochromic glass layer (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass shutter between clear and dark states; as desired).
Gleason does not disclose the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having embedded nanocrystals formed in the electrochromic glass that change between a first state that is opaque to occlude light to the electronic image capture component and a second state that is transparent to allow light to the electronic image capture component.
Zhang teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a camera that it would have been desirable to make the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having embedded nanocrystals formed in the electrochromic glass that change between a first state that is opaque to occlude light to the electronic image capture component and a second state that is transparent to allow light to the electronic image capture component (Page 14, lines 3-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having embedded nanocrystals formed in the electrochromic glass that change between a first state that is opaque to occlude light to the electronic image capture component and a second state that is transparent to allow light to the electronic image capture component as taught by the camera of Zhang in the camera of Gleason since Zhang teaches it is known to include these features in a camera for the purpose of providing a camera with enhanced performance and reduced errors.
Gleason in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the circuit switch to receive a voltage to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to occlude light external to the chassis from reaching within the chassis in a first state and to permit light external to the chassis to reach within the chassis in a second state
Ollila teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an information handling system (Fig. 8) that it would have been desirable to make the circuit switch (Para. 0033 and 0081; note, discloses using a controller to activate an electrochromic glass privacy shutter) to receive a voltage to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (Para. 0078 and see 556) to occlude light external to the chassis (544) from reaching within the chassis in a first state (Para. 0061; note, discloses blocking and rejecting light) and to permit light external to the chassis to reach within the chassis in a second state (Para. 0061; note, discloses the privacy shutter is fully transmissive to transmit light), and the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (556) formed external to the camera components (546 and 548) including the lens of the camera (546) and electronic image capture component (548) including controls (Figs. 1 and 16) for exposure and image capture (see 104 of Fig. 1 and see 2, 4 of Fig. 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the circuit switch to receive a voltage to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to occlude light external to the chassis from reaching within the chassis in a first state and to permit light external to the chassis to reach within the chassis in a second state, and the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter formed external to the camera components including the lens of the camera and electronic image capture component including controls for exposure and image capture as taught by the information handling system of Ollila in the combination of Gleason in view of Zhang since Ollila teaches it is known to include these features in an information handling system for the purpose of providing a compact, fast, reliable and low power information handling system.
Regarding claim 11, Gleason, Zhang and Ollila discloses and teaches as forth above, and Gleason further discloses, the embedded controller to receive a user input from a software setting to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter between allowing light to pass through the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter and not allowing light to pass through the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (Para. 0026-0028, 0040-0042, and Claim 9; describes a “button activated by a user of the device”).
Regarding claim 12, Gleason, Zhang and Ollila discloses and teaches as forth above, and Gleason further discloses, the PMU operatively coupled to the embedded controller (Para. 0026-0028 and see Fig. 2) to control the voltage to the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter via the electronic circuit switch independent of the operations of the processor of the information handling system (Para. 0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042).
Regarding claim 13, Gleason, Zhang and Ollila discloses and teaches as forth above, and Gleason further discloses, a dedicated switch used by a user (Para. 0026-0028, 0040-0042, and Claim 9; describes a “button activated by a user of the device”) to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass layer of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter, the dedicated switch including a hot-key on a keyboard of the information handling system operatively coupled to the EC (Para. 0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042).
Regarding claim 14, Gleason, Zhang and Ollila discloses and teaches as forth above, and Gleason further discloses, the voltage used to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter between the first state and the second state includes: a first voltage from the circuit switch to turn the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter on in the first state and make the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter opaque (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter between clear and dark states; as desired) such that the electrochromic glass layer blocks light external to the camera module from reaching the electronic image capture component (Para. 0038-0040; discloses a dark aperture stop state); and
a second voltage from the circuit switch to turn the electrochromic glass shutter off in a second state and make the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter transparent (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass shutter between clear and dark states; as desired) such that the electrochromic glass layer passes light external to the camera module through to the electronic image capture component (Para. 0038-0040; discloses a clear state that transmits at least 95% of light).
Regarding claim 15, Gleason, Zhang and Ollila discloses and teaches as forth above, and Gleason further discloses, a printed circuit board (PCB) (Para. 0003) onto which the camera is installed, the PCB including a frame (Para. 0005, lines 1-4 and Para. 0033, lines 7-14; describes an external housing wall of the information handling system (“consumer electronic device”) that is used to support the camera) formed over the camera to hold the electrochromic glass camera privacy layer over the camera to block image collection by the camera for privacy where the electrochromic glass shutter is opaque in the first state to block light from passing behind the frame holding the electrochromic glass layer (Para. 0002).
Regarding claim 16, Gleason, Zhang and Ollila discloses and teaches as forth above, and Gleason further discloses, the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (14) including: the electrochromic glass layer (“ACTIVE EC LAYER”); a first conductive layer (20) formed on a first side of the electrochromic glass layer; a second conductive layer (17) formed on a second side of the electrochromic glass layer; a first glass outer layer (see substrate under 20) formed on the first conductive layer; and a second glass outer layer (see 16) formed on the second conductive layer.
Zhang teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a camera that it would have been desirable to make the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having embedded nanocrystals formed in the electrochromic glass that change between a first state that is opaque to occlude light from passing to the electronic image capture component and a second state that is transparent to allow light to pass to the electronic image capture component (Page 14, lines 3-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having embedded nanocrystals formed in the electrochromic glass that change between a first state that is opaque to occlude light from passing to the electronic image capture component and a second state that is transparent to allow light to pass to the electronic image capture component as taught by the camera of Zhang in the combination of Gleason in view of Ollila since Zhang teaches it is known to include these features in a camera for the purpose of providing a camera with enhanced performance and reduced errors.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gleason et al. (US 2014/0192257) in view of Zhang (WO 2017/084547) in view of Glik et al. (US 2020/0237214), and further in view of Ollila et al. (US 2017/0140221).
Regarding claim 17, Gleason discloses, a camera module formed in a bezel (Para. 0005, lines 1-4 and Para. 0033, lines 7-14; describes an external housing wall of the information handling system (“consumer electronic device”) that is used to support the camera) of an information handling system comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (Para. 0003);
a camera (10);
a power circuit formed on the PCB and operatively coupled to the camera (Para. 0003 and 0028, lines 21-28; describes a controller that is used to control the amount of power applied/the drive voltage to control opacity of the electrochromic glass shutter);
a frame (Para. 0005, lines 1-4, Para. 0033, lines 7-14 and see Figs. 1-6; describes an external housing wall of the information handling system (“consumer electronic device”) that is used to support the camera) formed over the camera; and
an electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (14) having an electrochromic glass layer (Para. 0029, lines 3-6; discloses “an active EC medium”) with a voltage-controlled opacity (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass shutter between clear and dark states; as desired) disposed on the frame and over an aperture of the camera to block image capture by the camera when the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter is made opaque to prevent light reaching the aperture and the camera (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter between clear and dark states; as desired), wherein the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer (Para. 0029, lines 3-6; discloses “an active EC medium”) having a first material coating of lithium ions (Para. 0031, lines 1-5; discloses the ion source layer stores suitable ions, for example, lithium ions that will be used for activating the EC layer) formed between a first conductive layer (17) and a second conductive layer (20).
Gleason does not disclose the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having embedded nanocrystals formed in the electrochromic glass that change between a first state that is opaque to occlude light to the electronic image capture component and a second state that is transparent to allow light to the electronic image capture component.
Zhang teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a camera that it would have been desirable to make the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having embedded nanocrystals formed in the electrochromic glass that change between a first state that is opaque to occlude light to the electronic image capture component and a second state that is transparent to allow light to the electronic image capture component (Page 14, lines 3-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having embedded nanocrystals formed in the electrochromic glass that change between a first state that is opaque to occlude light to the electronic image capture component and a second state that is transparent to allow light to the electronic image capture component as taught by the camera of Zhang in the camera of Gleason since Zhang teaches it is known to include these features in a camera for the purpose of providing a camera with enhanced performance and reduced errors.
Gleason in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having a first material coating of lithium ions an electrochromic glass layer and a second material coating of a transition metal oxide layer such that a first voltage across the electrochromic glass layer with the first material coating and the second material coating causes a first state of opacity blocking light from reaching the aperture of the camera and a second voltage across the electrochromic glass layer with the first material coating and the second material coating causes a second state that is transparent to permit light to reach the aperture of the camera.
Glik teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an electrochromic glass shutter (Para. 0061 and 0063) that it would have been desirable to make the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having a first material coating of lithium ions an electrochromic glass layer (Para. 0063, lines 6-23; discloses an ion storage layer (e.g., lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2))) and a second material coating of a transition metal oxide layer (Para. 0063, lines 6-23; discloses a first conducting oxide layer (e.g., tungsten oxide (W03)) such that a first voltage across the electrochromic glass layer with the first material coating and the second material coating causes a first state of opacity blocking light from reaching the aperture of the camera (Para. 0062-0063) and a second voltage across the electrochromic glass layer with the first material coating and the second material coating causes a second state that is transparent to permit light to reach the aperture of the camera (Para. 0062-0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrochromic glass shutter includes an electrochromic glass layer having a first material coating of lithium ions an electrochromic glass layer and a second material coating of a transition metal oxide layer such that a first voltage across the electrochromic glass layer with the first material coating and the second material coating causes a first state of opacity blocking light from reaching the aperture of the camera and a second voltage across the electrochromic glass layer with the first material coating and the second material coating causes a second state that is transparent to permit light to reach the aperture of the camera as taught by the electrochromic glass shutter of Glik in the combination of Gleason in view of Zhang since Glik teaches it is known to include these features in an electrochromic glass shutter for the purpose of providing a low-cost electrochromic glass shutter with reduced color aliasing that avoids the use of moving parts while at the same time achieving improved focusing and greater depth of field.
Gleason, Zhang and Glik does not explicitly disclose the circuit switch to receive a voltage to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to occlude light external to the chassis from reaching within the chassis in a first state and to permit light external to the chassis to reach within the chassis in a second state, and the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter formed external to the camera components including the lens of the camera and electronic image capture component including controls for exposure and image capture.
Ollila teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an information handling system (Fig. 8) that it would have been desirable to make the circuit switch (Para. 0033 and 0081; note, discloses using a controller to activate an electrochromic glass privacy shutter) to receive a voltage to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (Para. 0078 and see 556) to occlude light external to the chassis (544) from reaching within the chassis in a first state (Para. 0061; note, discloses blocking and rejecting light) and to permit light external to the chassis to reach within the chassis in a second state (Para. 0061; note, discloses the privacy shutter is fully transmissive to transmit light), and the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter (556) formed external to the camera components (546 and 548) including the lens of the camera (546) and electronic image capture component (548) including controls (Figs. 1 and 16) for exposure and image capture (see 104 of Fig. 1 and see 2, 4 of Fig. 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the circuit switch to receive a voltage to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to occlude light external to the chassis from reaching within the chassis in a first state and to permit light external to the chassis to reach within the chassis in a second state, and the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter formed external to the camera components including the lens of the camera and electronic image capture component including controls for exposure and image capture as taught by the information handling system of Ollila in the combination of Gleason, Zhang and Glik since Ollila teaches it is known to include these features in an information handling system for the purpose of providing a compact, fast, reliable and low power information handling system.
Regarding claim 18, Gleason, Zhang, Glik and Ollila discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Gleason further discloses, a cable connection (see annotated Fig. 2 below) operatively coupling the camera and electrochromic glass layer to an embedded controller (EC) operating below a basic input/output system (BIOS) (Para. 0003, 0026-0028 and see 15, 17) executed by the processor of the information handling system (Para. 0026-0028 and 0040-0042).
Regarding claim 19, Gleason, Zhang, Glik and Ollila discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Gleason further discloses, the PMU operatively coupled to the EC and the PCB (see annotated Fig. 2 above), the EC to control the voltage (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass shutter between clear and dark states; as desired) to the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter via a circuit switch (Para. 0026-0028 and see 15, 17).
Regarding claim 20, Gleason, Zhang, Glik and Ollila discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Gleason further discloses, a circuit switch (Para. 0026-0028 and see 15, 17) operatively coupled to the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter with a first voltage sent to the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to switch to the first state to turn it opaque and occlude light to an image capture component of the camera (Para. 0038-0040; discloses a dark aperture stop state), and a second voltage sent to the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter to switch to the second state to make the electrochromic glass layer transparent (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass shutter between clear and dark states; as desired) and transmit light to the image capture component of the camera (Para. 0038-0040; discloses a clear state that transmits at least 95% of light), the circuit switch to receive input from the EC to change the opacity of the electrochromic glass camera privacy shutter between the first state and the second state (Para. 0004-0005, lines 11-15 and 0040-0042; describes a variable voltage that is used to change the active electrochromic glass shutter between clear and dark states; as desired).
Furthermore, Ollila teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an information handling system that it would have been desirable to make the electrochromic glass layer opaque to block external light from reaching within the chassis of the information handling system (Para. 0026; note, discloses the cover element 605 (Para. 0061; note, discloses blocking and rejecting light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the information handling system of Ollila in the combination of Gleason, Zhang and Glik since Ollila teaches it is known to include these features in an information handling system for the purpose of providing a compact, fast, reliable and low power information handling system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 06/10/2026