DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on February 12, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 9 and 20 are cancelled.
Claims 1-8, 10-17, 19, 25-26, and 30 are amended.
Claims 1-8 10-19, and 21-30 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 16-19, 23, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al (US 2022/0113400 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Manolakos teaches a vehicle wireless device, comprising (0098, 0106):
one or more processors [0096-0100];
And one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors and storing one or more processor-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the vehicle wireless device to [0096-0100]:
receive, at the vehicle wireless device and from a network entity (0096-0097),
control message that indicates one or more timing parameters for a radar reference signal timing pattern [0104, 0187-0189],
one or more rules for determining the one or more timing parameters for the radar reference signal timing pattern, or both [0101-0105],
wherein the one or more timing parameters indicate a first quantity of repetitions of a radar reference signal symbol and a second quantity of repetitions of a cyclic prefix (CP) sub-symbol in each repetition of the radar reference signal symbol [0102 and 0156-0157, 0179-0182 for different sets of symbols];
and transmit from the vehicle wireless device a radar reference signal that includes the first quantity of repetitions of the radar reference signal symbol and the second quantity of repetitions of the CP sub-symbol in each repetition of the radar reference signal symbol according to the one or more timing parameters for the radar reference signal timing pattern [0101-0102 and 0156, 0179-0182].
Regarding Claim 2, Manolakos teaches the one or more processor-readable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors to transmit the radar reference signal further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the vehicle wireless device [0179-0181]:
transmit the radar reference signal comprising one or more radar reference signal sub-symbols [0179-0181].
Regarding Claim 3, Manolakos teaches wherein the one or more processor-readable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the vehicle wireless device to receive one or more reflections of the radar reference signal based at least in part on transmitting the radar reference signal [0179-0181];
and perform one or more processing operations on the one or more reflections of the radar reference signal using a plurality of sampling windows [0181],
wherein a quantity of sampling windows is equal to the second quantity of repetition of the CP sub-symbol [0181, 0207-0209].
Regarding Claim 4, Manolakos teaches the one or more processor-readable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors to transmit the radar reference signal are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the vehicle wireless device to [0182-0184]:
transmit a third quantity of repetitions of the radar reference signal based at least in part on a timing parameter of the one or more timing parameters [0182-1084].
Regarding Claim 5, Manolakos teaches the one or more processor-readable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors to transmit the third quantity of repetitions of the radar reference signal, are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the vehicle wireless device to [0182-0184]:
transmit the third quantity of repetitions of the radar reference signal, wherein repetitions of the radar reference signal are separated by one or more sub-symbols, separated by one or more guard intervals, or a combination thereof [0161, 0181-0184 for cyclic prefix as a guard band for the reference signals].
Regarding Claim 6, Manolakos teaches the one or more processor-readable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors to receive the control message are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the vehicle wireless device to: receive, from the network entity [0187-0189],
the control message comprising one or more performance parameters [0188 for trancing performance (parameters)].
Regarding Claim 7, Manolakos teaches the one or more processor-readable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors to receive the control message are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the vehicle wireless device: receive, from the network entity, the control message comprising [0187-0188]
the one or more timing parameters for the radar reference signal timing pattern [0180-0185 for using time gaps and time slots (patterns)],
wherein the one or more timing parameters are based at least in part on one or more performance parameters [0180-0188].
Regarding Claim 8, Manolakos teaches wherein the one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the vehicle wireless device transmit, to the network entity [0180-0188],
one or more performance parameters, wherein receiving the control message is based at least in part on transmitting the one or more performance parameters [0180-0188].
Regarding Claim 10, Manokalos teach wherein the one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the vehicle wireless device configure the radar reference signal timing pattern based at least in part on the one or more rules received from the network entity [0178-0180].
Regarding Claim 13 and 23, Manolakos teaches a rule of the one or more rules specifies if CPs with different durations are allowed within a slot [0100-0102].
Regarding Claim 16, Manolakos discloses a network entity, comprising [0098, 0106]:
one or more processors [0096-0100];
and one or more memories coupled with one or more processors and storing one or more processor-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to [0096-0100]:
establish a connection with a vehicle wireless device [0096-0097];
and transmit, to the vehicle wireless device, (page 1301 right column figure 2, and page 1301, right column last paragraph to page 1302 left column first two paragraphs for communicating cooperative signals for remote sensing),
and based at least in part on establishing the connection with the vehicle wireless device, wherein a control message that indicates one or more timing parameters for a radar reference signal timing pattern [0104, 0187-0189],
one or more rules for determining the one or more timing parameters for the radar reference signal timing pattern, or both [0102 and 0156, 0182],
and wherein the one or more timing parameters indicate a first quantity of repetitions of a radar reference signal symbol and a second quantity of repetitions of a cyclic prefix (CP) sub-symbol in each repetition of the radar reference signal symbol [0101-0102 and 0156, 0179-0182].
Regarding Claim 17, Manolakos discloses wherein the one or more processor-readable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors to transmit the control message are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to [0180-0188]:
transmit, to the vehicle wireless device, the control message comprising one or more performance parameters [0180-0188].
Regarding Claim 18, Manolakos discloses wherein the one or more timing parameters for the radar reference signal timing pattern are based at least in part on one or more performance parameters [0180-0188].
Regarding Claim 19, Manolakos discloses wherein the one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to receive, from the vehicle wireless device, one or more performance parameters [0180-0188],
wherein the one or more processor-readable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to individually or collectively cause the network entity to transmit the control message is based at least in part on receiving the one or more performance parameters [0180-0188].
Regarding Claim 26, Zhang teaches a method for wireless communications at a vehicle wireless device, comprising [0098, 0106]:
receiving, at the vehicle wireless device and from a network entity [0096-0100]
control message that indicates one or more timing parameters for a radar reference signal timing pattern [0104, 0187-0189],
one or more rules for determining the one or more timing parameters for the radar reference signal timing pattern, or both [0101-0105],
wherein the one or more timing parameters indicate a first quantity of repetitions of a radar reference signal symbol and a second quantity of repetitions of a cyclic prefix (CP) sub-symbol in each repetition of the radar reference signal symbol [0102 and 0156, 0182];
and transmitting from the vehicle wireless device a radar reference signal that includes the first quantity of repetitions of the radar reference signal symbol and the second quantity of repetitions of the CP sub-symbol in each repetition of the radar reference signal symbol according to the one or more timing parameters for the radar reference signal timing pattern [0101-0102 and 0156, 0182].
Regarding Claim 27, Manolakos teaches transmitting the radar reference signal comprising one or more cyclic prefix (CP) sub-symbols and one or more radar reference signal sub-symbols [0182-0184].
Regarding Claim 28, Manolakos teaches receiving one or more reflections of the radar reference signal based at least in part on transmitting the radar reference signal [0179-0181]
and performing one or more processing operations on the one or more reflections of the radar reference signal using a plurality of sampling windows [0181, 0207-0209],
wherein a quantity of sampling windows is equal to the second a quantity repetitions of the CP sub-symbol [0181, 0207-0209].
Regarding Claim 29, Manolakos teaches transmitting the radar reference signal further comprises [0182-0184]:
transmitting a third quantity of repetitions of the radar reference signal based at least in part on a timing parameter of the one or more timing parameters [0182-0184].
Regarding Claim 30, Manolakos discloses a method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising [0096, 0106]:
establishing a connection with a vehicle wireless device [0096-0102];
and transmitting, to the vehicle wireless device, and based at least in part on establishing the connection with the vehicle wireless device [0098-0106]
wherein a control message that indicates one or more timing parameters for a radar reference signal timing pattern [0104, 0187-0189],
one or more rules for determining the one or more timing parameters for the radar reference signal timing pattern, or both [0102 and 0156, 0182],
and wherein the one or more timing parameters indicate a first quantity of repetitions of radar reference signal symbol and a second quantity of repetitions of a cyclic prefix (CP) sub-symbol in each repetition of the radar reference signal symbol [0101-0102 and 0156, 0179-0182].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 14, 15, 21, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos et al (US20220113400A1) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, in view of Zhang et al (IEEE, 2021).
Regarding Claim 11 and 21, Manlakos fails to explicitly teach a rule of the one or more rules is based at least in part on a polynomial and one or more performance parameters are inputs to the polynomial.
Zhang teaches a rule of the one or more rules is based at least in part on a polynomial and one or more performance parameters are inputs to the polynomial (page 1298, equations 4-7 for using polynomials).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the wireless communication techniques, as disclosed by Manolakos, further including the parameter calculations as taught by Zhang for the purpose to allow high power efficiency can be achieved (Zhang, page 1298, right column, Section C).
Regarding Claim 14 and 25, Manlakos fails to explicitly teach the vehicle wireless device comprises a joint communication radar.
Zhang teaches the wireless device is a joint communication radar associated with a user equipment (UE) (page 1306, left col, 2nd paragraph for RSU to vehicle communication).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the wireless communication techniques, as disclosed by Manolakos, further including the parameter calculations as taught by Zhang for the purpose to allow high power efficiency can be achieved (Zhang, page 1298, right column, Section C).
Regarding Claim 15 and 24, Manlakos fails to explicitly teach the network entity is a roadside unit.
Zhang teaches the network entity is a roadside unit (page 1306, left col, 2nd paragraph for RSU to vehicle communication).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the wireless communication techniques, as disclosed by Manolakos, further including the parameter calculations as taught by Zhang for the purpose to allow high power efficiency can be achieved (Zhang, page 1298, right column, Section C).
Claims 12 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos et al (US20220113400A1), as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Yi et al (US 2021/0360616 Al).
Regarding Claim 12 and 22, Manolakos fails to explicitly teach a rule of the one or more rules comprises a restriction on a value of the one or more timing parameters for the radar reference signal timing pattern.
Yi has a wireless device may communicate using a plurality of wireless resources (abstract) and teaches a rule of the one or more rules comprises a restriction on a value of the one or more timing parameters for the radar reference signal configuration [0132].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the wireless communication techniques, as disclosed by Zhang, further including the timing calculations as taught by Yi for the purpose to perform scheduling, scheduling information reporting, and/or priority handling between wireless devices [Yi, 0252].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
On applicant’s arguments page 10, last paragraph, the applicant states that Manolakos is directed to a radar controller and uses base stations. The examiner respectfully disagrees: the vehicle wireless device and network entity are broad functional roles and Manokalos teaches the same communication relationships (network-controlled radar signaling) between wireless nodes [Manolakos 0106-0108 for using wireless communication signals for an OFDM waveform].
On applicant’s arguments page 11, second paragraph, the applicant states that Manolakos fails to teach a second quantity of repetitions of a cyclic prefix. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Manolakos teaches using CP as a part of the transmission configuration and the radar reference signals are transmitted repeatedly with defined periodicity, inherently resulting in corresponding repetition of CP sub-symbols with each signal repetition [Manokalos,0348 and 0351-0352].
Conclusion
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648