DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 17/734,470 filed 05/02/2022.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 02/10/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
- Claims 10, 17-18 are cancelled.
- Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 21, 22, 23 are amended.
- Claims 1-9, 11-16, 19-23 are pending.
- Claims 1-9, 11-16, 19-23 are rejected.
Priority
4. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35
U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of a continuation of PCT/US2020/059735 filed 11/09/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/10/2026, 11/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
6. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 9-14, filed on 01/15/2026 for claims resubmitted 02/06/2026, with respect to Claim Objections have been considered in light of applicant’s amendments made to claim 16 on 01/15/2026 and resubmitted 02/06/2026. The claim objections for claim 16 as presented in the previous office action have been withdrawn.
7. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 10-15, filed on 02/06/2026, with respect to Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are not persuasive because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to any applicable Dependent Claims have been considered, and are not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
A. To the extent this office action continues to rely on Wu et al. (US 20200396660 A1), i.e. “Wu”, in view of YANG et al. (US 20160112923 A1), i.e. “Yang”, further in view of Wu et al. (US 20090088159 A1), i.e. “WU2”, and further in view of Deenoo et. al. (US 20220038985 A1) i.e. “Deenoo”, under the new grounds of rejection combining these references, the office respectfully contends applicant’s remarks or arguments directed to these references utilized in combination are not persuasive.
B. Applicant in applicant’s remarks, utilizing independent claim 1, indicates:
see page 11 (ln 26-33 ) that : “Wu, WU2, and Deenoo does not disclose or suggest that "receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station, at least one radio resource control configuration message for a conditional handover to a first cell or a second cell, wherein the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell for handover, wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell having the higher priority; a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; ... ””,
and furthermore indicates:
see page 13 (12-20) that “Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Wu, WU2, and Deenoo does not disclose or suggest: " ... the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: ...a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cell; based on the suspension condition being met and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover, suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority within the allowed time duration," as recited in claim 1.”,
and furthermore indicates:
see page 14 (ln 25-32), page 15 (ln 1-3) that “the cited art cannot disclose or suggest that the wireless device performs: "selecting, based on the at least one radio resource control configuration message for the conditional handover and based on the comparing, a cell from between the first cell and the second cell using a set of selection rules," in combination with: "wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: ...the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell for handover; and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cell,"”.
C. In response, since this office action is presented under new grounds of rejection, utilizing
Wu et al. (US 20200396660 A1), i.e. “Wu”, in view of YANG et al. (US 20160112923 A1), i.e. “Yang”, further in view of Wu et al. (US 20090088159 A1), i.e. “WU2”, and further in view of Deenoo et. al. (US 20220038985 A1) i.e. “Deenoo” in combination where features from Yang as utilized previously such as in the rejection of claim 23 is combined under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the rejection of each and every one of the features of claim 1 (i.e. also representative of parallel features in other independent claims 21, 22), where the combination of the references teaches claim 1 features as follows:
Wu teaches: A method (Wu FIG. 3 & ¶0037… methods, apparatus, and systems that provide a UE handover mechanism, …. referred to as conditional handover, in which at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells are indicated in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message from eNB to the UE; ¶0060… a target cell is determined by the UE itself in the procedure of UE handover);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per FIG. 3 & ¶0037 i.e. methods, mechanism, the procedure of UE handover reads on: A method .
comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station(Wu – FIG. 3 & ¶0037 see above; ¶0064… step 312, the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControlInfo IE is configured by the source eNB and transmitted to the UE );
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: i.e. per ¶0037 are indicated in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message from eNB to the UE or per ¶0064 RRCConnectionReconfiguration message configured by the source eNB and i.e. transmitted to UE reads on: receiving, by a wireless device i.e. RRCConnectionReconfiguration message from eNB to or configured by the source eNB and transmitted to reads on: from a first base station .
at least one radio resource control configuration message for a conditional handover to a first cell or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) a second cell (Wu FIG. 3 & ¶0037 see above…. wherein the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, and then a target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition is selected from the plurality of candidate cells by the UE itself ; ¶0064 See above…. The MobilityControlInfo IE defined in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is used to indicate a handover configuration related to a conditional handover command, and includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells. In one embodiment, the handover condition is configured per candidate cell);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: i.e. per ¶0037 conditional handover, in which at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells are indicated in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message or i.e. per ¶0064 MobilityControlInfo IE defined in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is used to indicate a handover configuration related to a conditional handover command reads on: at least one radio resource control configuration message for a conditional handover , where per ¶0037 i.e. at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells are indicated in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message and i.e. the handover condition is configured per candidate cell reads on: to a first cell or a second cell out of the plurality of candidate cells. Furthermore likewise per ¶0064 i.e. the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is used to indicate a handover configuration related to a conditional handover command, and includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells also reads on: to a first cell or a second cell of a plurality of candidate cells.
wherein the conditional handover comprises one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
a first handover to the first cell or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one of” and limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
a second handover to the second cell (Wu FIG. 3 & ¶0037 See above; ¶0064 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0064 includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells. In one embodiment, the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, furthermore and per ¶0037 wherein i.e. the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, and then a target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition is selected from the plurality of candidate cells reads on: wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell or a second handover to the second cell , in that the handover condition is configured per candidate cell of selected from the plurality of candidate cells discloses a corresponding first handover execution condition for a first handover for a first cell from the candidate cells that could be selected as a target cell and likewise a corresponding second handover execution condition for a second handover for a second cell from the candidate cells that could be selected as a target cell.
wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell (Wu FIG. 3 & ¶0037 See above; ¶0064 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0064 includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells. In one embodiment, the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, furthermore and per ¶0037 wherein i.e. the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, and then a target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition is selected from the plurality of candidate cells reads on: wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell , in that the handover condition is configured per candidate cell of selected from the plurality of candidate cells discloses a corresponding first handover execution condition for a first cell from the candidate cells that could be selected as a target cell.
a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell (Wu FIG. 3 & ¶0037 See above; ¶0064 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0064 includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells. In one embodiment, the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, furthermore and per ¶0037 wherein i.e. the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, and then a target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition is selected from the plurality of candidate cells reads on: a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell, in that the handover condition is configured per candidate cell of selected from the plurality of candidate cells discloses likewise a corresponding second handover execution condition for a corresponding second handover execution condition for a second cell from the candidate cells that could be selected as a target cell.
and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cell; (Wu – FIG. 3 & ¶0064 see above; ¶0066… Once the UE receives the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message for conditional handover command, a release timer is started, and the handover procedure is required to be completed before the expiration of this in order to avoid the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message being suspended for a long period of time at the UE side. The release timer … indicated in the MobilityControlInfo IE defined in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message….the release timer is larger than the timer for the handover trigger so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s). The release timer may be configured per conditional handover command or per candidate cell; ¶0067…. step 314, the UE selects a target cell from the plurality of candidate cells in response to the target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition….more than one candidate cell which meets the corresponding handover condition, and in one embodiment the UE selects the candidate cell, which meets the corresponding handover condition firstly, as the target cell. After selecting the target cell, the UE applies the information included in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message and accesses the target cell);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0066 The release timer … indicated in the MobilityControlInfo IE defined in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message i.e. a release timer is started to avoid the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message being suspended for a long period of time where per ¶0066 the timer is applied i.e. to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) for the purposes of i.e. mobility control and hand over reads on: and a suspension condition implemented via release timer associated with mobility and handover (See ¶0067). Furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. The release timer … indicated in the MobilityControlInfo IE reads on: indicating an allowed time duration for suspending i.e. suspending per ¶0067 selecting a target cells meeting the hand over condition where more than one candidate cell which meets the corresponding handover condition within the release timer. Furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. a release timer is started, and the handover procedure is required to be completed before the expiration of this (see above), and the release timer is larger than the timer for the handover trigger and configured per ¶0066 i.e. per conditional handover command or per candidate cell , as applied to per ¶0064 i.e. includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells i.e. the release timer is large enough to allow adequate evaluation of respective handover conditions and candidate cells for selection as a handover candidate and therefore suspends handover to candidate cells evaluated until UE selects the candidate cell, which meets per ¶0067 i.e. the corresponding handover condition firstly, as the target cell within the release timer reads on: execution of the second handover to the second cell after the second execution condition is met where the second cell is any one of the candidate cells adequately evaluated. Furthermore as applied to all candidates including the first and second candidate, per ¶0066 i.e. adequate evaluation of candidate cells for section as a handover candidate reads on: for the second handover to the second cell .
obtaining a measurement of at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) received power of a serving cell(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
received power of the first cell(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
and received power of the second cell; (Wu – FIG. 3 & ¶0061 Step 302 UE measures the wireless signal strength of the neighbour cells which may be represented by RSRP and/or RSRQ ; ¶0064 see above; ¶0065… the handover condition includes a handover hysteresis threshold value and a timer for handover trigger. It is required that the signal strength of the target cell, such as the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by the handover hysteresis threshold value during the timer for the handover trigger, which is also referred as the target cell becomes offset better than a source cell during the timer for handover trigger; ¶0066 See above; ¶0067 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0065 i.e. It is required that the signal strength of the target cell, such as the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by the handover hysteresis threshold value reads on: obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell to effect i.e. the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by a threshold. Furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. the release timer is larger than the timer for the handover trigger so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) reads on: obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell where any one of the candidate cells comprise the first cell and the second cell.
comparing the measurement to at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) the received power of the serving cell(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), the received power of the first cell (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) the received power of the second cell; (Wu – FIG. 3 & ¶0061 Step 302 UE measures the wireless signal strength of the neighbour cells which may be represented by RSRP and/or RSRQ ; ¶0064 see above; ¶0065 See above; ¶0066 See above; ¶0067 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0065 i.e. It is required that the signal strength of the target cell, such as the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by the handover hysteresis threshold value reads on: comparing the measurement to at least one of the received power of the serving cell to effect that i.e. the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by a threshold. Furthermore where per ¶0061 Step 302 UE measures the wireless signal strength of the neighbour cells and per ¶0066 i.e. so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) reads on: comparing the measurement to at least one of the received power of the first cell, or the received power of the second cell such as the candidate cell(s) per ¶0064 of the plurality of candidate cells.
selecting, (Wu – FIG. 3 & ¶0066 See above; ¶0067 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: i.e. per ¶0067…. step 314, the UE selects a target cell from the plurality of candidate cells in response to the target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition reads on: selecting , where per ¶0064 i.e. the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControlInfo IE i.e. includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells. In one embodiment, the handover condition is configured per candidate cell & per ¶0066 The release timer … indicated in the MobilityControlInfo IE defined in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is used to per ¶0066 i.e. so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) associated with determining handover candidate reads on: based on the at least one radio resource control configuration message for the conditional handover . Furthermore per ¶0065 i.e. It is required that the signal strength of the target cell, such as the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by the handover hysteresis threshold value, and per ¶0066 i.e. so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) associated with determining handover candidate reads on: and based on the comparing, and ¶0067…. step 314, the UE selects a target cell reads on: a selected cell and per ¶0067 i.e. from the plurality of candidate cells reads on: from between the first cell and the second cell and furthermore i.e. per ¶0067 i.e. in response to the target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition, such as i.e. per ¶0065 i.e. It is required that the signal strength of the target cell, such as the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by the handover hysteresis threshold value and i.e. per ¶0066 i.e. so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) all reads on: using a set of selection rules .
and sending, (Wu – FIG. 2 & ¶0049 […] step 220, if the RACH-less HO is not configured, after receiving the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControlInformation, the UE performs synchronization to target eNB and accesses the target cell via RACH, following a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the MobilityControlInformation ; FIG. 3 & ¶0066 See above; ¶0067 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0067 i.e. After selecting the target cell, the UE applies the information included in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message and accesses the target cell, where in combination with the embodiment of FIG. 2 i.e. per ¶0049 i.e. after receiving the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControlInformation, the UE performs synchronization to target eNB and accesses the target cell via RACH reads on: and sending, via a radio resource associated with the selected cell from between the first cell and the second cell, following a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated reads on: a random-access preamble for a random access in the MobilityControlInformation.
The office action notes that:
While Wu teaches and reads on claim features noted above including target cell selection based upon per ¶0067 i.e. “the UE selects the candidate cell, which meets the corresponding handover condition firstly” which implies application of priority to selection of candidate cells within a timer that suspends or holds back individual handovers to allow adequate evaluation do determine which candidate the corresponding handover condition firstly,
Wu does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note – See italicized portions): the first cell having the higher priority; the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; based on the suspension condition being met and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover, suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority within the allowed time duration; a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell; a lower bound of the received power of the first cell; an upper bound of the received power of the second cell;
and furthermore Wu (i.e. in a single embodiment) does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest(Note – See italicized portions): sending, a random-access preamble for a random access;
To teach portions of claim elements which Wu as referenced does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest, the office action combines teachings from Yang from a similar field of endeavor associated with handovers and hand over conditions and reciting overlapping features, where:
Yang teaches: a conditional handover to a first cell or a second cell, wherein the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell for handover, wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell or a second handover to the second cell, a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell having the higher priority; a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; ( Yang ¶0037 … the UE starts separate timers for each neighbor cell having a signal strength value above the combined value. When this condition persists for a particular time duration, (referred to as the time to trigger (TTT)), for at least one neighbor cell, the UE sends a measurement report (MR) and triggers intra- or inter-frequency handover for the neighbor cell whose TTT timer expires first; ¶0039 […] the best neighbor cell(s) may not be reported for handover/redirection//cell change order if the time to trigger (TTT) timer for the best neighbor cell(s) has not expired […] Aspects of the present disclosure are directed to delaying or postponing reporting a neighbor cell to a network when a TTT timer expires for a neighbor cell that is not the best cell ; ¶0042…. After a UE has determined a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell, and after the non-best neighbor cell's TTT timer expires, the UE does not immediately report the neighbor cell to a network. Rather, the UE delays sending a measurement report, thereby delaying switching to the non-best neighbor cell via hand-over; ¶0047 … When the TTT timer expires for the best neighbor cell(s), the UE sends a measurement report for the best neighbor cell(s)…when…the delay timer expires(and TTT timers are still running for non-best intra-RAT or inter-RAT neighbor cells), the UE sends a measurement report for a non-best neighbor cell);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0037 i.e. each neighbor cell having a signal strength value above the combined value and triggers intra- or inter-frequency handover for the neighbor cell reads on: a conditional handover where the handover is subject to conditions and rules associated with meeting per ¶0037 i.e. a signal strength value above the combined value and triggers such as TTT timer expiry. Furthermore, per ¶0037 where taught are i.e. separate timers for each neighbor cell, and where taught is i.e. the neighbor cell whose TTT timer expires first such as per ¶0042 for i.e. a non-best neighbor cell, and per ¶0047 for i.e. best neighbor cells reads on: to a first cell or a second cell. Furthermore per ¶0047 which teaches i.e. best neighbor cells reads on: wherein the first cell has a higher priority , in relation to per ¶0042 teaching i.e. a non-best neighbor cell reads on: than the second cell for handover . Furthermore per ¶0037 i.e. the neighbor cell whose TTT timer expires first such as applied individually to per ¶0047 i.e. When the TTT timer expires for the best neighbor cell(s), the UE sends a measurement report for i.e. the best neighbor for hand over reads on: wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell. Furthermore per ¶0037 i.e. the neighbor cell whose TTT timer expires first such as applied individually to per ¶0047 i.e. the delay timer expires, (and TTT timers are still running for non-best intra-RAT or inter-RAT neighbor cells), the UE sends a measurement report for a non-best neighbor cell reads on: or a second handover to the second cell. In both case conditions and rules have to be met as taught to effect handover.
and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cell(Yang ¶0037 see above; ¶0042 See above; ¶0039 See above; ¶0047 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0039 i.e. delaying or postponing reporting a neighbor cell to a network when a TTT timer expires for a neighbor cell that is not the best cell and per ¶0042 i.e. After a UE has determined a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell, i.e. and after the non-best neighbor cell's TTT timer expires, the UE does not immediately report the neighbor cell to a network i.e. the delaying or postponing reporting a neighbor cell to a network and not immediately report the neighbor cell to a network as configured for the UE reads on: and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration associated with the configured delaying prior to reporting the neighbor cell for handover. Furthermore per ¶0042 After a UE has determined a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell, and after the non-best neighbor cell's TTT timer expires i.e. the UE does not immediately report the neighbor cell to a network i.e. the delay suspends reporting to network for handover execution to a non-best neighbor cell reads on: for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell. Furthermore per ¶0042 that i.e. the delay suspends reporting to network for handover execution to a non-best neighbor cell reads on: the second cell having the lower priority, and furthermore per ¶0042 i.e. After a UE has determined a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell, and after the non-best neighbor cell's TTT timer expires i.e. the handover to the a non-best neighbor cell is delayed after trigger condition for handover execution is met reads on: after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cell.
based on the suspension condition being met and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover, suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority within the allowed time duration (Yang ¶0037 see above; ¶0042 See above; ¶0039 See above; ¶0047 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0042 i.e. After a UE has determined a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell, i.e. and after the non-best neighbor cell's TTT timer expires, the UE does not immediately report the neighbor cell to a network reads on: based on the suspension condition being met, where per ¶0042 as applied to i.e. a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell with respect to the best neighbor cell reads on: and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover , and furthermore i.e. Rather, the UE delays sending a measurement report, thereby delaying switching to the non-best neighbor reads on: suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority , per ¶0042 i.e. the UE delays sending a measurement report, thereby delaying switching reads on: within the allowed time duration since sending to execute non best cell handover due expiry of non-best TTT timer expiry is delayed i.e. within the delay time.
Furthermore, in combining Wu and Yang the office action furthermore notes that: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with teachings of Yang (i.e. teachings derived from Yang and applied to elements not explicitly taught or not strongly suggested by Wu), since Yang enables UE to determine whether a neighbor cell is a best cell based on a combination of priority level and signal strength, such as when the neighbor cell has the same priority as another neighbor cell, the determination may be based on the priority level indicated by a serving network and also based on the neighbor cell signal strength (Yang - ¶0010; ¶0041).
The office furthermore notes that: While Wu in view of Yang teaches: A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station, at least one radio resource control configuration message for a conditional handover to a first cell or a second cell, wherein the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell for handover, wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell or a second handover to the second cell, wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell having the higher priority; a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cellbased on the suspension condition being met and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover, suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority within the allowed time duration; obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell, received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell; comparing the measurement to at least one of the received power of the serving cell, the received power of the first cell, or the received power of the second cell; selecting, configuration message for the conditional handover and based on the comparing, a
Wu in view of Yang does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly teach (Note i.e. see italicized portions): a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell; a lower bound of the received power of the first cell; an upper bound of the received power of the second cell;
and furthermore Wu in view of Yang (i.e. Wu i.e. in a single embodiment) does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest(Note – See italicized portions): sending, a random-access preamble for a random access;
To teach portions of claim elements which Wu in view of Yang as referenced does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest, the office action combines teachings from WU2 from a similar field of endeavor associated with handovers and handover conditions and reciting overlapping features, where:
WU2 which also teaches: A method (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0042 […] a method 360 […] block 370, a sequence of RATS is specified […] The specification of the sequence might be made by a network component sending a first list of RATs to a UE. The first list might specify a prioritized order in which the listed RATs should have their radio conditions tested);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0042 i.e. a method.
comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station, at least one control configuration message for a conditional handover to a first cell or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) a second cell, (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0034 […] The network 306 might then send the UE 10 the priority list 308 ; ¶0035 […] the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second[…] the order of measurement might be reversed and/or measurements of additional RATs, not shown, might be specified […] Standard handoff procedures might then take place to hand the existing call off to the cell 102 that is using the second RAT 304 ; ¶0042 See above; ¶0036 […] if additional RATs are listed in the priority list 308, the UE 10 continues making measurements of the radio conditions of the additional RATs in the order specified in the priority list 308 until a RAT with adequate radio conditions is found );
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0042 i.e. sending a first list of RATs to a UE and per ¶0034 i.e. network 306 might then send the UE 10 reads on: comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station , where per ¶0042 i.e. a first list of RATs and per ¶0034 i.e. the priority list 308 reads on: at least one control configuration message, where per ¶0042 i.e. The first list might specify a prioritized order in which the listed RATs should have their radio conditions tested and Thereafter, any communication handoffs or other related processes may occur and per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second […] Standard handoff procedures might then take place reads on: for a conditional handover where handover is subject to conditions at least associated with prioritized order. Furthermore per ¶0036 i.e. UE 10 continues making measurements of the radio conditions of the additional RATs in the order specified in the priority list 308 until a RAT with adequate radio conditions is found reads on: to a first cell among cell on the list in the condition the first cell is adequate, where per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list. Furthermore, per ¶0035 i.e. to hand the existing call off to the cell 102 that is using the second RAT 304 reads on: or a second cell in that conditions based upon priority might checked for a first cell or a second cell or others on the on the list, and where furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
furthermore WU2 specific to this rejection teaches: wherein the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell, (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0035 […] the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first reads on: wherein the first cell has a higher priority and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second reads on: than the second cell. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second […] Standard handoff procedures might then take place reads on: reads on: wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover i.e. per ¶0036 UE 10 continues making measurements of the radio conditions of the additional RATs in the order specified in the priority list 308 until a RAT with adequate radio conditions is found i.e. among cell on the list in the condition the first cell is adequate reads on: to a first cell. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) a second handover to the second cell, (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0035 Standard handoff procedures might then take place to hand the existing call off to the cell 102 that is using the second RAT 304 reads on: wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a second handover to the second cell. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
wherein the at least one control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell having the higher priority; (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 […] As a user of one of the UEs 10 moves, the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate, and control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102. Radio condition parameters might include one or more of signal strength, path loss, propagation delay, received reference symbol power, and other signal quality parameters known to one of skill in the art. Several nearby cells 102 might be available to receive the handoff, and several different types of RAT might be available in each of the cells 102 […] the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; ¶0036 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify reads on: wherein the at least one control configuration message comprises: that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first where i.e. the radio conditions of the first RAT 302 fall below a quality threshold reads on: a first execution condition where per ¶0023 i.e. the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate, and control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102 and i.e. Several nearby cells 102 might be available to receive the handoff and several different types of RAT might be available in each of the cells 102 and per ¶0036 i.e. UE 10 continues making measurements of the radio conditions of the additional RATs in the order specified in the priority list 308 until a RAT with adequate radio conditions is found i.e. among cell on the list in the condition the first cell is adequate i.e. applied in ¶0035 to a first cell 102 with first priority reads on: for the first handover to the first cell per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first having the higher priority. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; (WU2 – FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0035 i.e. and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second and i.e. that the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 are above the quality threshold reads on: a second execution condition per ¶0023 i.e. where per ¶0023 i.e. the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate, and control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102 and i.e. Several nearby cells 102 might be available to receive the handoff and several different types of RAT might be available in each of the cells 102 i.e. applied in ¶0035 to a second cell 102 with second priority reads on: for the second handover to the second cell i.e. the second RAT 304 is to be checked second having a lower priority than the first cell . Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell, received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell; (WU2 – FIG.1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0023 i.e. a user of one of the UEs 10 moves, the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate reads on: obtaining a measurement of at least one of where i.e. the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs, and i.e. control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102. Radio condition parameters might include one or more of signal strength, path loss, propagation delay, received reference symbol power, and other signal quality parameters reads on: received power of , i.e. the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session reads on: a serving cell. Furthermore per FIG. 3 per ¶0023 i.e. Several nearby cells 102 might be available to receive the handoff, and several different types of RAT might be available in each of the cells 102 and i.e. the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs reads on: [[the]] received power of the first cell, and [[the]] received power of the second cell. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
comparing the measurement to at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell, (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0023 i.e. a user of one of the UEs 10 moves, the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate reads on: comparing the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell where i.e. the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs, and i.e. control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
a lower bound of the received power of the first cell, (WU2 – FIG.1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0023 i.e. a user of one of the UEs 10 moves, the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate, and i.e. control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102 and where i.e. the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs and per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first where i.e. the radio conditions of the first RAT 302 fall below a quality threshold reads on: comparing the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the first cell. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
an upper bound of the received power of the second cell; (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0023 i.e. a user of one of the UEs 10 moves, the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate, and i.e. control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102 and where i.e. the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs and per ¶0035 i.e. and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second and i.e. that the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 are above the quality threshold reads on: or an upper bound of the received power of the second cell. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
selecting, (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0023 i.e. and control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102 and per ¶0035 i.e. The UE 10 would find the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 adequate and would stop taking measurements and i.e. Standard handoff procedures might then take place to hand the existing call off to the cell 102 that is using the second RAT 304 reads on: selecting, where per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second reads on: based on the at least one control configuration message for the conditional handover , and per ¶0035 i.e. specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second and i.e. UE 10 would find the radio conditions of the first RAT 302 inadequate and The UE 10 would find the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 adequate reads on: and based on the comparing i.e. i.e. Standard handoff procedures might then take place to hand the existing call off to the cell 102 that is using the second RAT 304 reads on: a selected cell from between the first cell and the second cell . Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
using a set of selection rules (WU2 – FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0023 i.e. the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate and per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second, and i.e. the radio conditions of the first RAT 302 fall below a quality threshold, UE 10 would find the radio conditions of the first RAT 302 inadequate and i.e. that the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 are above the quality threshold, The UE 10 would find the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 adequate reads on: using a set of selection rules. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.
Furthermore, in combining Wu in view of Yang with WU2 the office action furthermore notes that: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang with teachings of WU2 (i.e. teachings derived from WU2 and applied to elements not explicitly taught or not strongly suggested by Wu and Yang as referenced), since WU2 enables procedures where radio conditions of priority list of RATs are measured in sequence until a RAT with adequate or a threshold radio conditions is found, which may save battery power by eliminating unnecessary measurements of radio conditions (WU2 - ¶0026).
The office furthermore notes that: While WU in view of Yang and WU2 teaches: A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station, at least one radio resource control configuration message for a conditional handover to a first cell or a second cell, wherein the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell for handover, wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell or a second handover to the second cell, wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell having the higher priority; a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cellbased on the suspension condition being met and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover, suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority within the allowed time duration obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell, received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell; comparing the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell, a lower bound of the received power of the first cell, or an upper bound of the received power of the second cell; selecting, of selection rules; and sending,
Where the office action further notes that Wu teaches and sending, via a radio resource associated with the selected cell from between the first cell and the second cell, a random-access preamble for a random access, as noted above i.e. via a combination of embodiments between FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 (See above),
and therefore furthermore the office action notes that Wu in view of Yang and WU2 (i.e. Wu in a single embodiment) does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): sending, a random-access preamble for a random access;
To teach portions of claim elements which Wu in view of Yang and WU2 as referenced does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest, the office action combines teachings from Deenoo from a similar field of endeavor associated with conditional handovers and handover conditions and reciting overlapping features, where:
Deenoo which also teaches: A method (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0098)
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: diagram for i.e. reads on: A method for providing uplink based forward mobility.
comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0099 )
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: a WTRU, while connected to the source gNB, i.e. a WTRU may receive reads on: receiving, by a wireless device forward mobility configuration information that may inform the WTRU that forward mobility may be allowed, i.e. FIG. 2 depicts receipt of forward mobility configuration information from the Source GNB reads on: from a first base station.
at least one radio resource control configuration message (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0099)
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0099 The forward mobility configuration may be provided as i.e. a part of RRC message for RRC connection setup, reconfiguration messages reads on: at least one radio resource control configuration message .
for a conditional handover to a first cell or a second cell, (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0099)
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0099 i.e. The WTRU may i.e. monitor for one or more potential candidate non-serving cells based on a criterion reads on: for a conditional handover (i.e. conditional criterion for choosing non serving cell(s) for forward mobility or handover to non serving Cell) i.e. potential candidate non-serving cells reads on: a first cell or a second cell, where the resource control configuration message (RRC connection setup, reconfiguration messages) triggers WTRU to monitor for one or more potential candidate non-serving cells based on a criterion.
wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0109… The configuration, which may be received from a serving cell, may be based on a characteristic of a measurement object; ¶0110…The configuration, which may be received from a serving cell…in an RRC setup or reconfiguration message);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0110 i.e. The configuration received in RRC setup or reconfiguration message reads on: wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message, and per ¶0109 i.e. The configuration based on a characteristic of a measurement object reads on: comprises a measurement object.
a first execution condition for handover to a first cell; a second execution condition for handover to a second cell; (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0118 Forward mobility may be triggered based on one or more measurements; ¶0119 if a non-serving cell may be better than a source cell, and the source cell may be above a threshold, the WTRU may transmit a measurement report to the serving cell and attempt an uplink based forward mobility (e.g. a best effort uplink based forward mobility)… may be configured, if the non-serving cell has further desirable qualities, ….having a number of good beams higher than the serving cell…., a number of good beams in a non-serving cell may be higher than a number of good beams in a serving cell…; ¶0120… if the serving cell is lower than a threshold and multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility towards the best non-serving cell in terms of signal quality, channel occupancy and/or number of good beams, until success or RLF whichever is earlier);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0120 i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: a first execution condition for handover to a first cell; a second execution condition for handover to a second cell where the multiple non-serving cells comprise a first and second cell each with at least a threshold execution condition triggering forward mobility to a non serving cell.
and a condition for execution of the second handover to the second cell after the second execution condition is met; (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0118 -¶0119 See above; ¶0120 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0120 if the serving cell is lower than a threshold and multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility towards the best non-serving cell in terms of signal quality, channel occupancy and/or number of good beams i.e. prioritizing by the best non-serving cell in terms of signal quality, channel occupancy and/or number of good beams reads on: and a condition for execution of the second handover to the second cell where the best non-serving cell among the multiple non-serving cells is interpreted as the second cell among many second cells, where i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility reads on after the second execution condition is met cell.
obtaining a measurement of at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
received power of a serving cell, received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell; comparing the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell, a lower bound of the received power of the first cell (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) an upper bound of the received power of the second cell (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0120 see above)
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: per ¶0120 i.e. if the serving cell is lower than a threshold reads on: obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell and i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell , the WTRU may attempt forward mobility towards the best non-serving cell in terms of signal quality, channel occupancy and/or number of good beams. Furthermore i.e. if the serving cell is lower than a threshold reads on: comparing the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell the received power of the serving cell, and i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: or an upper bound of the received power of the second cell .
selecting, (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0099; ¶0188; ¶0120 see above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: Per ¶0118 Forward mobility may be triggered based on one or more measurements and per ¶0120 if multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility to a non serving cell reads on: selecting, where per ¶0099 The forward mobility configuration may be provided reads on: based on the at least one radio resource control configuration message for the conditional handover, where per ¶0120 i.e. if the serving cell is lower than a threshold and i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: and based on the comparing, i.e. the WTRU may attempt forward mobility to a non serving cell reads on: a selected cell from between the first cell and the second cell where at least a cell is selected from among non serving cells. Furthermore i.e. if the serving cell is lower than a threshold and i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: per using a set of selection rules, where each of multiple non-serving cells comprising the first cell and second cell are at least above one measurement threshold execution condition triggering forward mobility of the one or more measurements i.e. conditional trigger condition based handover i.e. rules.
furthermore Deenoo specific to this rejection teaches: and sending, (Deenoo ¶0121… The WTRU may send an uplink indication; ¶0123… uplink indication may include the Cell ID of the non-serving cell where the WTRU may perform a forward handover…. the identity of one more measured beams (e.g. the best measured beams…. The indication may permit the non-serving cell to transmit to the WTRU a dedicated configuration (e.g. CFRA resources) to perform the random access; ¶0124…The WTRU may monitor a non-serving cell for a handover command ; ¶0129… WTRU may monitor two or more non-serving cells …. for the handover command; ¶0130… WTRU may perform UL access in the non-serving cell for forward mobility. To perform UL access in the non-serving cell, the WTRU may be configured to acquire resources in the non-serving cell, for example, by transmitting an UL signal (e.g. RA preamble or SRS) to obtain the resources in the non-serving cell);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes, discloses, teaches, and reads on subject claim limitations as follows: WTRU may perform UL access in the non-serving cell for forward mobility i.e. by transmitting an UL signal (e.g. RA preamble or SRS) reads on: sending , where to obtain the resources in the non-serving cell i.e. UL signal e.g. RA preamble reads on: via a radio resource, i.e. to obtain the resources in the non-serving cell for forward mobility that meets threshold including the best prioritized non serving cell reads on: associated with the selected cell from between the first cell and the second cell, where WTRU may monitor two or more non-serving cells, and furthermore i.e. transmitting RA preamble reads on: a random-access preamble i.e. RA reads on: for a random access .
Furthermore, in combining Wu in view of Yang and WU2 with Deenoo the office action furthermore notes that: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang and WU2 with teachings of Deenoo (i.e. teachings derived from Deenoo and applied to elements not explicitly taught or not strongly suggested by Wu in view of Yang and WU2 as referenced) , since Deenoo enables dedicated CFRA resource set signaling and selection procedure, beneficial for WTRUs with low mobility or a well-defined path (e.g. drones, high speed trains etc.) (Deenoo - ¶0132).
D. As such, the office action respectfully contends that applicant’s remarks or arguments as cited and directed to WU, WU2, and Deenoo are not persuasive since Wu in view of Yang and WU2 with Deenoo as relied upon, teaches and reads on each and every limitation of claim 1 in combination (i.e. also representative of parallel features in other independent claims 21, 22) as presented in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection presented herein (See office action).
E. Furthermore, with the rejection of claim 1 presented under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Yang and WU2 with Deenoo (See office action) in combination, the office action respectfully contends that any applicant arguments against Wu, WU2, or Deenoo are directed against the references individually, and one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references used to address the rejection of applicant’s claims (See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986)). This office action combines teachings from Yang in addition to teachings from Wu, Wu2 and Deenoo.
F. Applicant is respectfully directed to the new grounds of rejection of claims now presented under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Yang and WU2 with Deenoo, where the disclosure of each and every limitation of the now presented Claim 1 ((i.e. also representative of parallel features in other independent claims 21, 22) is taught and rejected.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
9. Claims 1, 15, 16, 21, 22, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20200396660 A1), i.e. “Wu”, in view of YANG et al. (US 20160112923 A1), i.e. “Yang”, further in view of Wu et al. (US 20090088159 A1), i.e. “WU2”, and further in view of Deenoo et. al. (US 20220038985 A1) i.e. “Deenoo”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Wu teaches: A method (Wu FIG. 3 & ¶0037… methods, apparatus, and systems that provide a UE handover mechanism, …. referred to as conditional handover, in which at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells are indicated in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message from eNB to the UE; ¶0060… a target cell is determined by the UE itself in the procedure of UE handover; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : per FIG. 3 & ¶0037 i.e. methods, mechanism, the procedure of UE handover reads on: A method )
comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station(Wu – FIG. 3 & ¶0037 see above; ¶0064… step 312, the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControlInfo IE is configured by the source eNB and transmitted to the UE ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0037 are indicated in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message from eNB to the UE or per ¶0064 RRCConnectionReconfiguration message configured by the source eNB and i.e. transmitted to UE reads on: receiving, by a wireless device i.e. RRCConnectionReconfiguration message from eNB to or configured by the source eNB and transmitted to reads on: from a first base station ),
at least one radio resource control configuration message for a conditional handover to a first cell or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) a second cell(Wu FIG. 3 & ¶0037 see above…. wherein the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, and then a target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition is selected from the plurality of candidate cells by the UE itself ; ¶0064 See above…. The MobilityControlInfo IE defined in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is used to indicate a handover configuration related to a conditional handover command, and includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells. In one embodiment, the handover condition is configured per candidate cell; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0037 conditional handover, in which at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells are indicated in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message or i.e. per ¶0064 MobilityControlInfo IE defined in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is used to indicate a handover configuration related to a conditional handover command reads on: at least one radio resource control configuration message for a conditional handover , where per ¶0037 i.e. at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells are indicated in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message and i.e. the handover condition is configured per candidate cell reads on: to a first cell or a second cell out of the plurality of candidate cells. Furthermore likewise per ¶0064 i.e. the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is used to indicate a handover configuration related to a conditional handover command, and includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells also reads on: to a first cell or a second cell of a plurality of candidate cells),
wherein the conditional handover comprises one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
a first handover to the first cell or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one of” and limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
a second handover to the second cell (Wu FIG. 3 & ¶0037 See above; ¶0064 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0064 includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells. In one embodiment, the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, furthermore and per ¶0037 wherein i.e. the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, and then a target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition is selected from the plurality of candidate cells reads on: wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell or a second handover to the second cell , in that the handover condition is configured per candidate cell of selected from the plurality of candidate cells discloses a corresponding first handover execution condition for a first handover for a first cell from the candidate cells that could be selected as a target cell and likewise a corresponding second handover execution condition for a second handover for a second cell from the candidate cells that could be selected as a target cell ),
wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell (Wu FIG. 3 & ¶0037 See above; ¶0064 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0064 includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells. In one embodiment, the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, furthermore and per ¶0037 wherein i.e. the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, and then a target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition is selected from the plurality of candidate cells reads on: wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell , in that the handover condition is configured per candidate cell of selected from the plurality of candidate cells discloses a corresponding first handover execution condition for a first cell from the candidate cells that could be selected as a target cell );
a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell (Wu FIG. 3 & ¶0037 See above; ¶0064 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0064 includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells. In one embodiment, the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, furthermore and per ¶0037 wherein i.e. the handover condition is configured per candidate cell, and then a target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition is selected from the plurality of candidate cells reads on: a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell, in that the handover condition is configured per candidate cell of selected from the plurality of candidate cells discloses likewise a corresponding second handover execution condition for a corresponding second handover execution condition for a second cell from the candidate cells that could be selected as a target cell );
and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cell (Wu – FIG. 3 & ¶0064 see above; ¶0066… Once the UE receives the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message for conditional handover command, a release timer is started, and the handover procedure is required to be completed before the expiration of this in order to avoid the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message being suspended for a long period of time at the UE side. The release timer … indicated in the MobilityControlInfo IE defined in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message….the release timer is larger than the timer for the handover trigger so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s). The release timer may be configured per conditional handover command or per candidate cell; ¶0067…. step 314, the UE selects a target cell from the plurality of candidate cells in response to the target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition….more than one candidate cell which meets the corresponding handover condition, and in one embodiment the UE selects the candidate cell, which meets the corresponding handover condition firstly, as the target cell. After selecting the target cell, the UE applies the information included in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message and accesses the target cell;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0066 The release timer … indicated in the MobilityControlInfo IE defined in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message i.e. a release timer is started to avoid the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message being suspended for a long period of time where per ¶0066 the timer is applied i.e. to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) for the purposes of i.e. mobility control and hand over reads on: and a suspension condition implemented via release timer associated with mobility and handover (See ¶0067). Furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. The release timer … indicated in the MobilityControlInfo IE reads on: indicating an allowed time duration for suspending i.e. suspending per ¶0067 selecting a target cells meeting the hand over condition where more than one candidate cell which meets the corresponding handover condition within the release timer. Furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. a release timer is started, and the handover procedure is required to be completed before the expiration of this (see above), and the release timer is larger than the timer for the handover trigger and configured per ¶0066 i.e. per conditional handover command or per candidate cell , as applied to per ¶0064 i.e. includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells i.e. the release timer is large enough to allow adequate evaluation of respective handover conditions and candidate cells for selection as a handover candidate and therefore suspends handover to candidate cells evaluated until UE selects the candidate cell, which meets per ¶0067 i.e. the corresponding handover condition firstly, as the target cell within the release timer reads on: execution of the second handover to the second cell after the second execution condition is met where the second cell is any one of the candidate cells adequately evaluated. Furthermore as applied to all candidates including the first and second candidate, per ¶0066 i.e. adequate evaluation of candidate cells for section as a handover candidate reads on: for the second handover to the second cell) ;
obtaining a measurement of at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) received power of a serving cell(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
received power of the first cell(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
and received power of the second cell(Wu – FIG. 3 & ¶0061 Step 302 UE measures the wireless signal strength of the neighbour cells which may be represented by RSRP and/or RSRQ ; ¶0064 see above; ¶0065… the handover condition includes a handover hysteresis threshold value and a timer for handover trigger. It is required that the signal strength of the target cell, such as the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by the handover hysteresis threshold value during the timer for the handover trigger, which is also referred as the target cell becomes offset better than a source cell during the timer for handover trigger; ¶0066 See above; ¶0067 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : per ¶0065 i.e. It is required that the signal strength of the target cell, such as the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by the handover hysteresis threshold value reads on: obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell to effect i.e. the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by a threshold. Furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. the release timer is larger than the timer for the handover trigger so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) reads on: obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell where any one of the candidate cells comprise the first cell and the second cell);
comparing the measurement to at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) the received power of the serving cell(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), the received power of the first cell (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) the received power of the second cell (Wu – FIG. 3 & ¶0061 Step 302 UE measures the wireless signal strength of the neighbour cells which may be represented by RSRP and/or RSRQ ; ¶0064 see above; ¶0065 See above; ¶0066 See above; ¶0067 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : per ¶0065 i.e. It is required that the signal strength of the target cell, such as the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by the handover hysteresis threshold value reads on: comparing the measurement to at least one of the received power of the serving cell to effect i.e. the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by a threshold. Furthermore where per ¶0061 Step 302 UE measures the wireless signal strength of the neighbour cells and per ¶0066 i.e. so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) reads on: comparing the measurement to at least one of the received power of the first cell, or the received power of the second cell such as the candidate cell(s) per ¶0064 of the plurality of candidate cells );
selecting, (Wu – FIG. 3 & ¶0066 See above; ¶0067 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. i.e. per ¶0067…. step 314, the UE selects a target cell from the plurality of candidate cells in response to the target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition reads on: selecting , where per ¶0064 i.e. the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControlInfo IE i.e. includes at least one handover condition and a plurality of candidate cells. In one embodiment, the handover condition is configured per candidate cell & per ¶0066 The release timer … indicated in the MobilityControlInfo IE defined in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is used to per ¶0066 i.e. so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) associated with determining handover candidate reads on: based on the at least one radio resource control configuration message for the conditional handover . Furthermore per ¶0065 i.e. It is required that the signal strength of the target cell, such as the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by the handover hysteresis threshold value, and per ¶0066 i.e. so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) associated with determining handover candidate reads on: and based on the comparing, and ¶0067…. step 314, the UE selects a target cell reads on: a selected cell and per ¶0067 i.e. from the plurality of candidate cells reads on: from between the first cell and the second cell and furthermore i.e. per ¶0067 i.e. in response to the target cell meeting the corresponding handover condition, such as i.e. per ¶0065 i.e. It is required that the signal strength of the target cell, such as the RSRP and/or RSRQ, is better than that of the source cell by the handover hysteresis threshold value and i.e. per ¶0066 i.e. so as to adequately evaluate the signal strength of the candidate cell(s) all reads on: using a set of selection rules);
and sending, (Wu – FIG. 2 & ¶0049 […] step 220, if the RACH-less HO is not configured, after receiving the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControlInformation, the UE performs synchronization to target eNB and accesses the target cell via RACH, following a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the MobilityControlInformation ; FIG. 3 & ¶0066 See above; ¶0067 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0067 i.e. After selecting the target cell, the UE applies the information included in the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message and accesses the target cell, where in combination with the embodiment of FIG. 2 i.e. per ¶0049 i.e. after receiving the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the MobilityControlInformation, the UE performs synchronization to target eNB and accesses the target cell via RACH reads on: and sending, via a radio resource associated with the selected cell from between the first cell and the second cell, following a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated reads on: a random-access preamble for a random access in the MobilityControlInformation).
While Wu teaches and reads on claim features noted above including target cell selection based upon per ¶0067 i.e. “the UE selects the candidate cell, which meets the corresponding handover condition firstly” which implies application of priority to selection of candidate cells within a timer that suspends or holds back individual handovers to allow adequate evaluation do determine which candidate the corresponding handover condition firstly,
Wu does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note – See italicized portions): the first cell having the higher priority; the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; based on the suspension condition being met and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover, suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority within the allowed time duration; a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell; a lower bound of the received power of the first cell; an upper bound of the received power of the second cell;
and furthermore Wu (i.e. in a single embodiment) does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest(Note – See italicized portions): sending, a random-access preamble for a random access;
To teach portions of claim elements which Wu as referenced does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest, the office action combines teachings from Yang from a similar field of endeavor associated with handovers and hand over conditions and reciting overlapping features, where:
Yang teaches: a conditional handover to a first cell or a second cell, wherein the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell for handover, wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell or a second handover to the second cell, a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell having the higher priority; a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; ( Yang ¶0037 … the UE starts separate timers for each neighbor cell having a signal strength value above the combined value. When this condition persists for a particular time duration, (referred to as the time to trigger (TTT)), for at least one neighbor cell, the UE sends a measurement report (MR) and triggers intra- or inter-frequency handover for the neighbor cell whose TTT timer expires first; ¶0039 […] the best neighbor cell(s) may not be reported for handover/redirection//cell change order if the time to trigger (TTT) timer for the best neighbor cell(s) has not expired […] Aspects of the present disclosure are directed to delaying or postponing reporting a neighbor cell to a network when a TTT timer expires for a neighbor cell that is not the best cell ; ¶0042…. After a UE has determined a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell, and after the non-best neighbor cell's TTT timer expires, the UE does not immediately report the neighbor cell to a network. Rather, the UE delays sending a measurement report, thereby delaying switching to the non-best neighbor cell via hand-over; ¶0047 … When the TTT timer expires for the best neighbor cell(s), the UE sends a measurement report for the best neighbor cell(s)…when…the delay timer expires(and TTT timers are still running for non-best intra-RAT or inter-RAT neighbor cells), the UE sends a measurement report for a non-best neighbor cell;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : per ¶0037 i.e. each neighbor cell having a signal strength value above the combined value and triggers intra- or inter-frequency handover for the neighbor cell reads on: a conditional handover where the handover is subject to conditions and rules associated with meeting per ¶0037 i.e. a signal strength value above the combined value and triggers such as TTT timer expiry. Furthermore, per ¶0037 where taught are i.e. separate timers for each neighbor cell, and where taught is i.e. the neighbor cell whose TTT timer expires first such as per ¶0042 for i.e. a non-best neighbor cell, and per ¶0047 for i.e. best neighbor cells reads on: to a first cell or a second cell. Furthermore per ¶0047 which teaches i.e. best neighbor cells reads on: wherein the first cell has a higher priority , in relation to per ¶0042 teaching i.e. a non-best neighbor cell reads on: than the second cell for handover . Furthermore per ¶0037 i.e. the neighbor cell whose TTT timer expires first such as applied individually to per ¶0047 i.e. When the TTT timer expires for the best neighbor cell(s), the UE sends a measurement report for i.e. the best neighbor for hand over reads on: wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell. Furthermore per ¶0037 i.e. the neighbor cell whose TTT timer expires first such as applied individually to per ¶0047 i.e. the delay timer expires, (and TTT timers are still running for non-best intra-RAT or inter-RAT neighbor cells), the UE sends a measurement report for a non-best neighbor cell reads on: or a second handover to the second cell. In both first cell and second cell cases, conditions and rules have to be met as taught to effect handover);
and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cell(Yang ¶0037 see above; ¶0042 See above; ¶0039 See above; ¶0047 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0039 i.e. delaying or postponing reporting a neighbor cell to a network when a TTT timer expires for a neighbor cell that is not the best cell and per ¶0042 i.e. After a UE has determined a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell, i.e. and after the non-best neighbor cell's TTT timer expires, the UE does not immediately report the neighbor cell to a network i.e. the delaying or postponing reporting a neighbor cell to a network and not immediately report the neighbor cell to a network as configured for the UE reads on: and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration associated with the configured delaying prior to reporting the neighbor cell for handover.
Furthermore per ¶0042 After a UE has determined a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell, and after the non-best neighbor cell's TTT timer expires i.e. the UE does not immediately report the neighbor cell to a network i.e. the delay suspends reporting to network for handover execution to a non-best neighbor cell reads on: for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell. Furthermore per ¶0042 that i.e. the delay suspends reporting to network for handover execution to a non-best neighbor cell reads on: the second cell having the lower priority, and furthermore per ¶0042 i.e. After a UE has determined a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell, and after the non-best neighbor cell's TTT timer expires i.e. the handover to the a non-best neighbor cell is delayed after trigger condition for handover execution is met reads on: after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cell) ;
based on the suspension condition being met and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover, suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority within the allowed time duration (Yang ¶0037 see above; ¶0042 See above; ¶0039 See above; ¶0047 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : per ¶0042 i.e. After a UE has determined a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell, i.e. and after the non-best neighbor cell's TTT timer expires, the UE does not immediately report the neighbor cell to a network reads on: based on the suspension condition being met, where per ¶0042 as applied to i.e. a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell with respect to the best neighbor cell reads on: and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover , and furthermore i.e. Rather, the UE delays sending a measurement report, thereby delaying switching to the non-best neighbor reads on: suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority , per ¶0042 i.e. the UE delays sending a measurement report, thereby delaying switching reads on: within the allowed time duration since sending to execute non best cell handover due expiry of non-best TTT timer expiry is delayed i.e. within the delay time);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu with teachings of Yang, since Yang enables UE to determine whether a neighbor cell is a best cell based on a combination of priority level and signal strength, such as when the neighbor cell has the same priority as another neighbor cell, the determination may be based on the priority level indicated by a serving network and also based on the neighbor cell signal strength (Yang - ¶0010; ¶0041).
While Wu in view of Yang teaches: A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station, at least one radio resource control configuration message for a conditional handover to a first cell or a second cell, wherein the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell for handover, wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell or a second handover to the second cell, wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell having the higher priority; a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cellbased on the suspension condition being met and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover, suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority within the allowed time duration; obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell, received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell; comparing the measurement to at least one of the received power of the serving cell, the received power of the first cell, or the received power of the second cell; selecting,
Wu in view of Yang does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly teach (Note i.e. see italicized portions): a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell; a lower bound of the received power of the first cell; an upper bound of the received power of the second cell;
and furthermore Wu in view of Yang (i.e. Wu i.e. in a single embodiment) does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest(Note – See italicized portions): sending, a random-access preamble for a random access;
To teach portions of claim elements which Wu in view of Yang as referenced does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest, the office action combines teachings from WU2 from a similar field of endeavor associated with handovers and handover conditions and reciting overlapping features, where:
WU2 which also teaches: A method (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0042 […] a method 360 […] block 370, a sequence of RATS is specified […] The specification of the sequence might be made by a network component sending a first list of RATs to a UE. The first list might specify a prioritized order in which the listed RATs should have their radio conditions tested; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0042 i.e. a method )
comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station, at least one control configuration message for a conditional handover to a first cell or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) a second cell (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0034 […] The network 306 might then send the UE 10 the priority list 308 ; ¶0035 […] the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second[…] the order of measurement might be reversed and/or measurements of additional RATs, not shown, might be specified […] Standard handoff procedures might then take place to hand the existing call off to the cell 102 that is using the second RAT 304 ; ¶0042 See above; ¶0036 […] if additional RATs are listed in the priority list 308, the UE 10 continues making measurements of the radio conditions of the additional RATs in the order specified in the priority list 308 until a RAT with adequate radio conditions is found ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0042 i.e. sending a first list of RATs to a UE and per ¶0034 i.e. network 306 might then send the UE 10 reads on: comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station , where per ¶0042 i.e. a first list of RATs and per ¶0034 i.e. the priority list 308 reads on: at least one control configuration message, where per ¶0042 i.e. The first list might specify a prioritized order in which the listed RATs should have their radio conditions tested and Thereafter, any communication handoffs or other related processes may occur and per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second […] Standard handoff procedures might then take place reads on: for a conditional handover where handover is subject to conditions at least associated with prioritized order. Furthermore per ¶0036 i.e. UE 10 continues making measurements of the radio conditions of the additional RATs in the order specified in the priority list 308 until a RAT with adequate radio conditions is found reads on: to a first cell among cell on the list in the condition the first cell is adequate, where per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list. Furthermore, per ¶0035 i.e. to hand the existing call off to the cell 102 that is using the second RAT 304 reads on: or a second cell in that conditions based upon priority might checked for a first cell or a second cell or others on the on the list, and Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.),
furthermore WU2 specific to this rejection teaches: wherein the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0035 […] the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first reads on: wherein the first cell has a higher priority and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second reads on: than the second cell. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.),
wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second […] Standard handoff procedures might then take place reads on: reads on: wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover i.e. per ¶0036 UE 10 continues making measurements of the radio conditions of the additional RATs in the order specified in the priority list 308 until a RAT with adequate radio conditions is found i.e. among cell on the list in the condition the first cell is adequate reads on: to a first cell )
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) a second handover to the second cell (WU2 – FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0035 Standard handoff procedures might then take place to hand the existing call off to the cell 102 that is using the second RAT 304 reads on: wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a second handover to the second cell. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.),
wherein the at least one control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell having the higher priority (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 […] As a user of one of the UEs 10 moves, the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate, and control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102. Radio condition parameters might include one or more of signal strength, path loss, propagation delay, received reference symbol power, and other signal quality parameters known to one of skill in the art. Several nearby cells 102 might be available to receive the handoff, and several different types of RAT might be available in each of the cells 102 […] the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; ¶0036 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify reads on: wherein the at least one control configuration message comprises: that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first where i.e. the radio conditions of the first RAT 302 fall below a quality threshold reads on: a first execution condition where per ¶0023 i.e. the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate, and control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102 and i.e. Several nearby cells 102 might be available to receive the handoff and several different types of RAT might be available in each of the cells 102 and per ¶0036 i.e. UE 10 continues making measurements of the radio conditions of the additional RATs in the order specified in the priority list 308 until a RAT with adequate radio conditions is found i.e. among cell on the list in the condition the first cell is adequate i.e. applied in ¶0035 to a first cell 102 with first priority reads on: for the first handover to the first cell per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first having the higher priority. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.);
a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0035 i.e. and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second and i.e. that the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 are above the quality threshold reads on: a second execution condition per ¶0023 i.e. where per ¶0023 i.e. the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate, and control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102 and i.e. Several nearby cells 102 might be available to receive the handoff and several different types of RAT might be available in each of the cells 102 i.e. applied in ¶0035 to a second cell 102 with second priority reads on: for the second handover to the second cell i.e. the second RAT 304 is to be checked second having a lower priority than the first cell . Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.);
obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell, received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0023 i.e. a user of one of the UEs 10 moves, the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate reads on: obtaining a measurement of at least one of where i.e. the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs, and i.e. control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102. Radio condition parameters might include one or more of signal strength, path loss, propagation delay, received reference symbol power, and other signal quality parameters reads on: received power of , i.e. the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session reads on: a serving cell. Furthermore per FIG. 3 per ¶0023 i.e. Several nearby cells 102 might be available to receive the handoff, and several different types of RAT might be available in each of the cells 102 and i.e. the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs reads on: [[the]] received power of the first cell, and [[the]] received power of the second cell. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.);
comparing the measurement to at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0023 i.e. a user of one of the UEs 10 moves, the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate reads on: comparing the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell where i.e. the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs, and i.e. control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.),
a lower bound of the received power of the first cell (WU2 – FIG.1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0023 i.e. a user of one of the UEs 10 moves, the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate, and i.e. control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102 and where i.e. the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs and per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first where i.e. the radio conditions of the first RAT 302 fall below a quality threshold reads on: comparing the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the first cell. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.),
or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
an upper bound of the received power of the second cell (WU2 – FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0023 i.e. a user of one of the UEs 10 moves, the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate, and i.e. control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102 and where i.e. the UE 10 might make measurements of the signal strengths and other radio conditions of the available RATs and per ¶0035 i.e. and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second and i.e. that the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 are above the quality threshold reads on: or an upper bound of the received power of the second cell. Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.);
selecting, (WU2 –FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0023 i.e. and control of the session might need to be handed off or handed over to a different cell 102 and per ¶0035 i.e. The UE 10 would find the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 adequate and would stop taking measurements and i.e. Standard handoff procedures might then take place to hand the existing call off to the cell 102 that is using the second RAT 304 reads on: selecting, where per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second reads on: based on the at least one control configuration message for the conditional handover , and per ¶0035 i.e. specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second and i.e. UE 10 would find the radio conditions of the first RAT 302 inadequate and The UE 10 would find the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 adequate reads on: and based on the comparing i.e. i.e. Standard handoff procedures might then take place to hand the existing call off to the cell 102 that is using the second RAT 304 reads on: a selected cell from between the first cell and the second cell . Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.)
using a set of selection rules (WU2 – FIG.1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0023 see above; ¶0034 See above; ¶0035 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0023 i.e. the quality of the radio conditions for an existing call or session might deteriorate and per ¶0035 i.e. the priority list 308 might specify that the first RAT 302 is to be checked first and the second RAT 304 is to be checked second, and i.e. the radio conditions of the first RAT 302 fall below a quality threshold, UE 10 would find the radio conditions of the first RAT 302 inadequate and i.e. that the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 are above the quality threshold, The UE 10 would find the radio conditions of the second RAT 304 adequate reads on: using a set of selection rules . Furthermore per FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 any of the cells 102 depicted are subject to the first RAT and second RAT and prioritized list, where RAT 302 and RAT 304 correspond to separate cells.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang with teachings of WU2, since WU2 enables procedures where radio conditions of priority list of RATs are measured in sequence until a RAT with adequate or a threshold radio conditions is found, which may save battery power by eliminating unnecessary measurements of radio conditions (WU2 - ¶0026).
While WU in view of Yang and WU2 teaches: A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station, at least one radio resource control configuration message for a conditional handover to a first cell or a second cell, wherein the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell for handover, wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell or a second handover to the second cell, wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell having the higher priority; a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cellbased on the suspension condition being met and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover, suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority within the allowed time duration obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell, received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell; comparing the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell, a lower bound of the received power of the first cell, or an upper bound of the received power of the second cell; selecting,
Where Wu teaches and sending, by the wireless device via a radio resource associated with the selected cell from between the first cell and the second cell, a random-access preamble for a random access, as noted above i.e. via a combination of embodiments between FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 (See above), and where furthermore the office action notes that Wu in view of Yang and WU2 (i.e. Wu in a single embodiment) does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): sending, a random-access preamble for a random access;
Deenoo which also teaches: A method (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0098 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: diagram for i.e. reads on: A method for providing uplink based forward mobility)
comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from a first base station (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0099 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: a WTRU, while connected to the source gNB, i.e. a WTRU may receive reads on: receiving, by a wireless device forward mobility configuration information that may inform the WTRU that forward mobility may be allowed, i.e. FIG. 2 depicts receipt of forward mobility configuration information from the Source GNB reads on: from a first base station ),
at least one radio resource control configuration message (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0099 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: The forward mobility configuration may be provided as i.e. a part of RRC message for RRC connection setup, reconfiguration messages reads on: at least one radio resource control configuration message )
for a conditional handover to a first cell or a second cell (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0099 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: The WTRU may i.e. monitor for one or more potential candidate non-serving cells based on a criterion reads on: for a conditional handover (i.e. conditional criterion for choosing non serving cell(s) for forward mobility or handover to non serving Cell) i.e. potential candidate non-serving cells reads on: a first cell or a second cell, where the resource control configuration message (RRC connection setup, reconfiguration messages) triggers WTRU to monitor for one or more potential candidate non-serving cells based on a criterion),
wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0109… The configuration, which may be received from a serving cell, may be based on a characteristic of a measurement object; ¶0110…The configuration, which may be received from a serving cell…in an RRC setup or reconfiguration message; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0110 i.e. The configuration received in RRC setup or reconfiguration message reads on: wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message, and per ¶0109 i.e. The configuration based on a characteristic of a measurement object reads on: comprises a measurement object):
a first execution condition for handover to a first cell; a second execution condition for handover to a second cell (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0118 Forward mobility may be triggered based on one or more measurements; ¶0119 if a non-serving cell may be better than a source cell, and the source cell may be above a threshold, the WTRU may transmit a measurement report to the serving cell and attempt an uplink based forward mobility (e.g. a best effort uplink based forward mobility)… may be configured, if the non-serving cell has further desirable qualities, ….having a number of good beams higher than the serving cell…., a number of good beams in a non-serving cell may be higher than a number of good beams in a serving cell…; ¶0120… if the serving cell is lower than a threshold and multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility towards the best non-serving cell in terms of signal quality, channel occupancy and/or number of good beams, until success or RLF whichever is earlier; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: a first execution condition for handover to a first cell; a second execution condition for handover to a second cell where the multiple non-serving cells comprise a first and second cell each with at least a threshold execution condition triggering forward mobility to a non serving cell.);
and a condition for execution of the second handover to the second cell after the second execution condition is met (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0118 See above; ¶0119 See above; ¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: if the serving cell is lower than a threshold and multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility towards the best non-serving cell in terms of signal quality, channel occupancy and/or number of good beams i.e. prioritizing by the best non-serving cell in terms of signal quality, channel occupancy and/or number of good beams reads on: and a condition for execution of the second handover to the second cell where the best non-serving cell among the multiple non-serving cells is interpreted as the second cell among many second cells, where i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility reads on after the second execution condition is met cell);
obtaining a measurement of at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
received power of a serving cell, received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell; comparing the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell, a lower bound of the received power of the first cell (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) an upper bound of the received power of the second cell (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0120 see above NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. if the serving cell is lower than a threshold reads on: obtaining a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell and i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell , the WTRU may attempt forward mobility towards the best non-serving cell in terms of signal quality, channel occupancy and/or number of good beams. Furthermore i.e. if the serving cell is lower than a threshold reads on: comparing the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell the received power of the serving cell, and i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: or an upper bound of the received power of the second cell )
selecting, (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0099; ¶0188; ¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0118 Forward mobility may be triggered based on one or more measurements and per ¶0120 if multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility to a non serving cell reads on: selecting, where per ¶0099 The forward mobility configuration may be provided reads on: based on the at least one radio resource control configuration message for the conditional handover, where per ¶0120 i.e. if the serving cell is lower than a threshold and i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: and based on the comparing, i.e. the WTRU may attempt forward mobility to a non serving cell reads on: a selected cell from between the first cell and the second cell where at least a cell is selected from among non serving cells. Furthermore i.e. if the serving cell is lower than a threshold and i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: per using a set of selection rules, where each of multiple non-serving cells comprising the first cell and second cell are at least above one measurement threshold execution condition triggering forward mobility of the one or more measurements i.e. conditional trigger condition based handover i.e. rules);
furthermore Deenoo specific to this rejection teaches: and sending, (Deenoo ¶0121… The WTRU may send an uplink indication; ¶0123… uplink indication may include the Cell ID of the non-serving cell where the WTRU may perform a forward handover…. the identity of one more measured beams (e.g. the best measured beams…. The indication may permit the non-serving cell to transmit to the WTRU a dedicated configuration (e.g. CFRA resources) to perform the random access; ¶0124…The WTRU may monitor a non-serving cell for a handover command ; ¶0129… WTRU may monitor two or more non-serving cells …. for the handover command; ¶0130… WTRU may perform UL access in the non-serving cell for forward mobility. To perform UL access in the non-serving cell, the WTRU may be configured to acquire resources in the non-serving cell, for example, by transmitting an UL signal (e.g. RA preamble or SRS) to obtain the resources in the non-serving cell; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: WTRU may perform UL access in the non-serving cell for forward mobility i.e. by transmitting an UL signal (e.g. RA preamble or SRS) reads on: sending , where to obtain the resources in the non-serving cell i.e. UL signal e.g. RA preamble reads on: via a radio resource, i.e. to obtain the resources in the non-serving cell for forward mobility that meets threshold including the best prioritized non serving cell reads on: associated with the selected cell from between the first cell and the second cell, where WTRU may monitor two or more non-serving cells, and furthermore i.e. transmitting RA preamble reads on: a random-access preamble i.e. RA reads on: for a random access );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang and WU2 with teachings of Deenoo, since Deenoo enables dedicated CFRA resource set signaling and selection procedure, beneficial for WTRUs with low mobility or a well-defined path (e.g. drones, high speed trains etc.) (Deenoo - ¶0132).
Regarding Claim 15. (Previously Presented) Wu in view of Yang and WU2 and Deenoo teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Deenoo teaches: wherein the first execution condition (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) the second execution condition (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) comprise at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): a handover execution condition (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
a secondary node addition execution condition (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
a secondary cell group addition execution condition (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
a secondary cell addition execution condition (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0118 See claim 1; ¶0119 See Claim 1; ¶0120 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : i.e. if a non-serving cell may be better than a source cell above a threshold, and multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: wherein the first execution condition or the second execution condition comprise at least one of a secondary cell addition execution condition where the multiple non-serving cells comprise a first and second cell as secondary cells for addition as forward mobility candidates with respect to primary serving cell); or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
an initiation condition of a random-access procedure for the random access (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of WU2 and Deenoo, further with the teachings of Deenoo, since Deenoo enables dedicated CFRA resource set signaling and selection procedure, beneficial for WTRUs with low mobility or a well-defined path (e.g. drones, high speed trains etc.) (Deenoo - ¶0132).
Regarding Claim 16. (Previously Presented) Wu in view of Yang and WU2 and Deenoo teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Deenoo teaches: wherein the first execution condition(NOTE: preceding limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) the second execution condition (NOTE: preceding limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) indicates at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
a measurement result of a cell becomes worse than a value(NOTE: preceding limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
a measurement result of the at least one first beam of the cell becomes offset better than a measurement result of the cell(NOTE: preceding limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
a measurement result of the at least one first beam of the cell becomes better than a value (Deenoo FIG. 2 & ¶0120 see claim 1 ; ¶0123 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold where UE indicates the identity of one more measured beams (e.g. the best measured beams) reads on: a measurement result of the at least one first beam of the cell comprising the multiple non-serving cells interpreted as the first cell and second cell , where identity of one more measured beams with i.e. the best measured beam identified reads on: becomes better than a value identifying a best criterion);
or a measurement result of the at least one first beam of the cell becomes offset better than a measurement result of another cell (NOTE: preceding limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang and WU2 and Deenoo, further with the teachings of Deenoo, since Deenoo enables dedicated CFRA resource set signaling and selection procedure, beneficial for WTRUs with low mobility or a well-defined path (e.g. drones, high speed trains etc.) (Deenoo - ¶0132).
Regarding Claim 21. (Currently Amended) Wu teaches: A wireless device (Wu – Wu FIG. 3 FIG. 8 & ¶0037 See claim 1; ¶0060 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : a target cell is determined by i.e. the UE reads on: A wireless device)
comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Wu _ FIG. 8 ¶0090… UE/Base Station 800 may include a processor 802, a memory 804, and a transceiver 810; ¶0091… processor 802, in one embodiment, may include any known controller capable of executing computer-readable instructions and/or capable of performing logical operations; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : a processor 802, a memory 804, processor 802, in one embodiment, may include any known controller capable of executing computer-readable instructions stored in the memory 804 reads on: comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors ),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 21 pertains to a wireless device associated with Claim 1, and recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 21. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) cause the wireless device to: receive, from a first base station, at least one radio resource control configuration message for a conditional handover to a first cell or a second cell, wherein the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell for handover, wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell or a second handover to the second cell, wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell having the higher priority; a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cellbased on the suspension condition being met and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover, suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority within the allowed time duration; obtain a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell, the received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell; compare the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell, a lower bound of the received power of the first cell, or an upper bound of the received power of the second cell; select, based on the at least one radio resource control configuration message for the conditional handover and the comparing, a associated with the (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 21 pertains to a wireless device associated with Claim 1, and recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 21. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 22. (Currently Amended) Wu teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device (Wu _ FIG. 8 ¶0090… UE/Base Station 800 may include a processor 802, a memory 804, and a transceiver 810; ¶0091… processor 802, in one embodiment, may include any known controller capable of executing computer-readable instructions and/or capable of performing logical operations…the processor 802 executes instructions stored in the memory 804; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : UE 800 with a processor 802, a memory 804, processor 802, in one embodiment, may include any known controller capable of executing computer-readable instructions stored in i.e. the memory 804 reads on: A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device )
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 22 pertains to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with Claim 1, and recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) to: receive, from a first base station, at least one radio resource control configuration message for a conditional handover to a first cell or a second cell, wherein the first cell has a higher priority than the second cell for handover, wherein the conditional handover comprises one of a first handover to the first cell or a second handover to the second cell, wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises: a first execution condition for the first handover to the first cell having the higher priority; a second execution condition for the second handover to the second cell having a lower priority than the first cell; and a suspension condition indicating an allowed time duration for suspending execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority after the second execution condition is met for the second handover to the second cellbased on the suspension condition being met and the first cell having the higher priority than the second cell for handover, suspending the execution of the second handover to the second cell having the lower priority within the allowed time duration; obtain a measurement of at least one of received power of a serving cell, received power of the first cell, and received power of the second cell; compare the measurement to at least one of a lower bound of the received power of the serving cell, a lower bound of the received power of the first cell, or an upper bound of the received power of the second cell; select, based on the at least one radio resource control configuration message for the conditional handover and based on the comparing, a (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 22 pertains to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with Claim 1, and recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 23. (Currently Amended) Wu in view of Yang and WU2 and Deenoo teaches: The method of claim 1,
Furthermore Yang teaches: whereinthe set of selection rules comprises: selecting the first cell based on the first execution condition being met (Yang ¶0047 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0047 i.e. When the TTT timer expires for the best neighbor cell(s), the UE sends a measurement report for the best neighbor cell(s).reads on: wherein the set of selection rules comprises: selecting the first cell , per ¶0047 i.e. When the TTT timer expires for the best neighbor cell(s) reads on: based on the first execution condition being met );
And selecting the second cell based on: the second execution condition being met; the suspension condition not being met; and the first execution condition not being met (Yang ¶0042 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0042 i.e. After a UE has determined a neighbor cell is a non-best neighbor cell, and after the non-best neighbor cell's TTT timer expires reads on: And selecting the second cell based on: the second execution condition being met , the UE does not immediately report the neighbor cell to a network. Rather, the UE delays sending a measurement report reads on: the suspension condition not being met; i.e. thereby delaying switching to the non-best neighbor cell via hand-over reads on: and the first execution condition not being met i.e. scenario covered when switching to the non-best neighbor cell via hand-over happens after the delay ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang and WU2 and Deenoo, further with the teachings of Yang, since Yang enables UE to determine whether a neighbor cell is a best cell based on a combination of priority level and signal strength, such as when the neighbor cell has the same priority as another neighbor cell, the determination may be based on the priority level indicated by a serving network and also based on the neighbor cell signal strength (Yang - ¶0010; ¶0041).
10. Claims 2-4, 7-9, 11-13, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo, further in view of Purkayastha et. al (US-20200413392-A1) i.e. “Purkayastha”.
Regarding Claim 2. (Currently Amended) Wu in view of Yang and WU2 and Deenoo teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Deenoo teaches: wherein at least one configuration message comprises random-access parameters for the random access to a cell (Deenoo - ¶0123 See claim 1… The indication may permit the non-serving cell to transmit to the WTRU a dedicated configuration (e.g. CFRA resources) to perform the random access or to notify the selected target cell whether it may accept or reject the WTRU; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : i.e. transmit to the WTRU a dedicated configuration (e.g. CFRA resources) to perform the random access reads on: wherein at least one control configuration message comprises random-access parameters for the random access to a cell ),
the random-access parameters comprising at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): first resource configuration parameters indicating a first radio resource associated with at least one first beam of the first cell (Deenoo FIG. 2 - ¶0120 See claim 1; ¶0123 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : if multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility where transmit to the WTRU i.e. a dedicated configuration (e.g. CFRA resources) to perform the random access reads on: the random-access parameters comprising at least one of: first resource configuration parameters indicating a first radio resource , where per ¶0120 and ¶0123 i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold and include the first and second cell where per 0123 an identity of one or more beams are identified for forward mobility read on: associated with at least one first beam of the first cell ); or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
second resource configuration parameters indicating a second radio resource associated with at least one second beam of the second cell (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
and wherein the first radio resource or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) the second radio resource (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) comprises the radio resource (Deenoo FIG. 2 - ¶0120 See claim 1; ¶0123 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : if multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility where transmit to the WTRU i.e. a dedicated configuration (e.g. CFRA resources) to perform the random access reads on: and wherein the first radio resource comprises the radio resource i.e. used for performing random access).
Wu in view of Yang and WU2 and Deenoo does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note – See italicized portions): the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises;
Purkayastha teaches: wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises random-access parameters for the random access to a cell (Purkayastha - FIG. 2 & ¶0070 source base station 105-a may provide CHO configurations to the UE 115-a, which may be used by the UE 115-a to autonomously initiate a handover to a second communication connection with a target cell; ¶0071 …. CHO configurations provided to the UE 115-a may include RACH configuration information (e.g., beam quality thresholds, beam quality threshold offsets, one or more CFRA resources, one or more CBRA resources, …for improved random access procedures with a target cell triggering CHO. UE 115-a may, upon detection that a handover condition in a CHO configuration has been satisfied, select a target cell beam 205-a ….for transmission of a random access request based at least in part on the RACH configuration information included in the CHO configuration…include an association of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (or channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs)) with time-frequency RACH resources (e.g., occasions) to be used for preamble transmission, …, configured CFRA resources (e.g., dedicated preamble) for each beam 205 of the set of beams 205 for which CFRA should be used if selected, CBRA resources, etc.; FIG. 5 & ¶0099… At 525, the source base station 105-f may transmit CHO configuration information to the UE 115-c (e.g., in a RRC reconfiguration message)… ;NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : CHO configurations (i.e. per ¶0099 in a RRC reconfiguration message) provided to the UE 115-a includes i.e. RACH configuration information (e.g., beam quality thresholds, beam quality threshold offsets, one or more CFRA resources, one or more CBRA resources,) reads on: wherein the at least one radio resource control configuration message comprises random-access parameters …for improved random access procedures with a target cell triggering CHO i.e. reads on: for the random access to a cell ),
the random-access parameters comprising at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): first resource configuration parameters indicating a first radio resource associated with at least one first beam of the first cell (Purkayastha - FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 ¶0071 See above; ¶0085 At 340, the source base station 105-c may transmit CHO configuration information to the UE 115-b (e.g., in a RRC reconfiguration message). …. the CHO configuration message may indicate that the first target base station 105-d and the second target base station 105-e are configured for CHO, may provide information for accessing the associated base stations 105 (e.g., random access information, C-RNTI, etc.), and may provide handover thresholds associated with each target base station 105 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : CHO configuration message may i.e. indicate that the first target base station 105-d and the second target base station 105-e are configured for CHO, may provide information for accessing the associated base stations 105 (e.g., random access information, C-RNTI, etc.), and may provide handover thresholds associated with each target base station 105 i.e. reads on: the random-access parameters comprising at least one of: first resource configuration parameters indicating a first radio resource associated with at least one first beam of the first cell where at least one beam is associated with the first cell and the second cell 105c and 105d, where per ¶0071 configured i.e. CFRA resources (e.g., dedicated preamble, for each beam 205 of the set of beams 205 for which CFRA i.e. reads on: indicating a first radio resource associated with at least one first beam of the first cell);
and wherein the first radio resource or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) the second radio resource (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) comprises the radio resource (Purkayastha - FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 ¶0071 See above; ¶0085 At 340, the source base station 105-c may transmit CHO configuration information to the UE 115-b (e.g., in a RRC reconfiguration message). …. the CHO configuration message may indicate that the first target base station 105-d and the second target base station 105-e are configured for CHO, may provide information for accessing the associated base stations 105 (e.g., random access information, C-RNTI, etc.), and may provide handover thresholds associated with each target base station 105 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : CHO configuration message may i.e. indicate that the first target base station 105-d and the second target base station 105-e are configured for CHO, may provide information for accessing the associated base stations 105 (e.g., random access information, C-RNTI, etc.), and may provide handover thresholds associated with each target base station 105 where at least one beam is associated with the first cell and the second cell 105c and 105d, where per ¶0071 configured i.e. CFRA resources reads on and wherein the first radio resource comprises the radio resource for random access (e.g., dedicated preamble, for each beam 205 of the set of beams 205 for which CFRA i.e.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang and WU2 and Deenoo with teachings of Purkayastha, since Purkayastha enables a target base station to reserve CFRA resources (e.g., such as CFRA time-frequency resources, a CFRA preamble, a dedicated RACH preamble, etc.) for a UE to reduce latency associated with a random access procedure should CHO be triggered for the target base station (Purkayastha - ¶0097).
Regarding Claim 3 (Currently Amended) Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha teaches: The method of claim 2,
furthermore Yang teaches: whereinthe set of selection rules comprises: selecting the first cell based on the first execution condition being met and selecting the second cell based on: the second execution condition being met the suspension condition not being met and the first execution condition not being met (See the rejection of Claim 23, Claim 3 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 23, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 23. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha, further with the teachings of Yang, since Yang enables UE to determine whether a neighbor cell is a best cell based on a combination of priority level and signal strength, such as when the neighbor cell has the same priority as another neighbor cell, the determination may be based on the priority level indicated by a serving network and also based on the neighbor cell signal strength (Yang - ¶0010; ¶0041).
Regarding Claim 4 (Currently Amended). Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha teaches: The method of claim 2,
furthermore Purkayastha discloses: wherein the first base station receives, from a second base station, the random-access parameters for the random access to the cell (Purkayastha – FIG. 5 & ¶0098 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : At 520, the target base station 105-g may transmit a handover request acknowledgment to the source base station 105-f….include information for use by the UE 115-c to establish a connection (e.g., any reserved CFRA time-frequency resources, random access preamble, C-RNTI, etc.) …..The source base station 105-f may receive i.e. reads on wherein the first base station receives from the target base station i.e. reads on: a second base station, the handover request acknowledgment, and determine CHO criteria for the target cell, for use by the UE 115-c to trigger a CHO. The CHO criteria may include, for example, one or more measurement thresholds (e.g., measThreshHO TgNB) of the target base station 105-g (and for any other configured target base stations) i.e. reads on: the random-access parameters for the random access to the cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo and Purkayastha further with teachings of Purkayastha, since Purkayastha enables a target base station to reserve CFRA resources (e.g., such as CFRA time-frequency resources, a CFRA preamble, a dedicated RACH preamble, etc.) for a UE to reduce latency associated with a random access procedure should CHO be triggered for the target base station (Purkayastha - ¶0097).
Regarding Claim 7 (Previously Presented). Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha teaches: The method of claim 2,
furthermore Purkayastha discloses: wherein the first base station determines, based on the random-access parameters, the first execution condition or the second execution condition (Purkayastha – FIG. 5 & ¶0098 See claim 4 above; ¶0099 See claim 1…the CHO configuration message …. may provide handover thresholds associated with each target base station ;NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : At 520, the target base station 105-g may transmit a handover request acknowledgment to the source base station 105-f….include information for use by the UE 115-c to establish a connection (e.g., any reserved CFRA time-frequency resources, random access preamble, C-RNTI, etc.) …..The source base station 105-f may receive from the target base station the handover request acknowledgment, and determine CHO criteria for the target cell i.e. any reserved CFRA time-frequency resources, random access preamble reads on: wherein the first base station determines, based on the random-access parameters , for use by the UE 115-c to trigger a CHO which includes thresholds used compare each of a set of beam measurements of the target cell with the beam quality threshold, and one or more measurement thresholds (e.g., measThreshHO TgNB) of the target base station 105-g i.e. to trigger a CHO which includes thresholds at least reads on: the first execution condition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha further with teachings of Purkayastha, since Purkayastha enables a target base station to reserve CFRA resources (e.g., such as CFRA time-frequency resources, a CFRA preamble, a dedicated RACH preamble, etc.) for a UE to reduce latency associated with a random access procedure should CHO be triggered for the target base station (Purkayastha - ¶0097).
Regarding Claim 8. (Previously Presented) Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Deenoo teaches: wherein a base station determines at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): the first execution condition for at least one first beam of the first cell (Deenoo – FIG. 2 & ¶0118 See claim 1; ¶0119 See claim 1 ; ¶0120 See claim 1; ¶00123 See claim 1 and Claim 2; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : i.e. multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold reads on: wherein a base station determines at least one of: the first execution condition i.e. and include the first and second cell where per ¶0123 an identity of one or more beams are identified for forward mobility reads on: for at least one first beam of the first cell where the multiple non-serving cells comprise a first and second cell each with at least a threshold execution condition triggering forward mobility); or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
the second execution condition for at least one second beam of the second cell (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest: determining by a second base station;
Purkayastha teaches: wherein a second base station determines at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): the first execution condition for at least one first beam of the first cell (Purkayastha – FIG. 3 & FIG. 5 & ¶0071 See Claim 2; ¶0085 See claim 2; ¶0098 See claim 4 above; ¶0099 See claim 2…the CHO configuration message may indicate that the target base station 105-g is configured for CHO, may provide information for accessing the associated base stations 105 (e.g., random access information, C-RNTI, etc.), and may provide handover thresholds associated with each the target base station 105-g ;NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : At 520, the target base station 105-g may transmit a handover request acknowledgment to the source base station 105-f….include information for use by the UE 115-c to establish a connection (e.g., any reserved CFRA time-frequency resources, random access preamble, C-RNTI, etc.) The source base station 105-f may receive from the target base station the handover request acknowledgment, and determine CHO criteria for the target cell i.e. the target base station sending the thresholds for CHO to first base station i.e. wherein a second base station determines at least one of: the first execution condition for at least one first beam of the first cell, where at least one beam is associated with the first cell and the second cell 105c and 105d per FIG. 3 ¶0071; ¶0085); or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
the second execution condition for at least one second beam of the second cell (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo with teachings of Purkayastha, since Purkayastha enables a target base station to reserve CFRA resources (e.g., such as CFRA time-frequency resources, a CFRA preamble, a dedicated RACH preamble, etc.) for a UE to reduce latency associated with a random access procedure should CHO be triggered for the target base station (Purkayastha - ¶0097).
Regarding Claim 9 (Original). Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha teaches: The method of claim 8,
furthermore Purkayastha discloses: wherein the first base station is the second base station (Purkayastha – FIG. 1 FIG. 5 & ¶0037…. In some cases, the target cell may be associated with the same base station as the source cell….;¶0045… different geographic coverage areas 110 associated with different technologies may overlap, and overlapping geographic coverage areas 110 associated with different technologies may be supported by the same base station 105…. a heterogeneous LTE/LTE-A/LTE-A Pro or NR network in which different types of base stations 105 provide coverage for various geographic coverage areas 110; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : per ¶0037 i.e. target cell may be associated with the same base station i.e. reads on: wherein the first base station is the second base station, where the same base station supports different geographic coverage areas associated with different technologies which may overlap and the CHO between a source coverage and a target coverage associated with the same base station applies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha further with teachings of Purkayastha, since Purkayastha enables a target base station to reserve CFRA resources (e.g., such as CFRA time-frequency resources, a CFRA preamble, a dedicated RACH preamble, etc.) for a UE to reduce latency associated with a random access procedure should CHO be triggered for the target base station (Purkayastha - ¶0097).
Regarding Claim 11. (Previously Presented) Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Deenoo teaches: further comprising sending, by the wireless device to the first base station, measurement results of a cell, wherein: the measurement results comprise at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): at least one first beam of the first cell;
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
at least one second beam of the second cell (Deenoo FIG. 2 & ¶0120 See Claim 1; ¶00123 See Claim 1 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : i.e. The uplink indication may include the Cell ID of the non-serving cell reads on: further comprising sending, by the wireless device to the first base station, measurement results of a cell where the WTRU may perform a forward handover, where i.e. the indication may further include the identity of one more measured beams (e.g. the best measured beams) reads on: wherein: the measurement results comprise at least one of: at least one first beam of the first cell or at least one second beam of the second cell where multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility for at least the first cell and second cell comprised in the multiple non serving cells);
Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. Note – See italicized portions): a first received power of at least one first beam or a second received power of at least one second beam; the first execution condition is based on the first received power; and the second execution condition is based on the second received power,
Purkayastha teaches: further comprising sending, by the wireless device to the first base station, measurement results of a cell (Purkayastha - FIG.5 & ¶0037 See claim 9; ¶0045 See claim 9; ¶0095…. At 505, the UE 115-c may transmit a measurement report to the source base station 105-f. The measurement report may include one or more channel measurements for the source base station 105-f, as well as measurements for one or more cells (e.g., neighboring base stations), which may include the target base station 105-g: NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : UE 115-c may transmit a measurement report to the source base station including one or more channel measurements for the source base station 105-f, as well as measurements for one or more cells (e.g., neighboring base stations) including the target base station, where furthermore the target cell may be associated with the same base station i.e. reads on: further comprising sending, by the wireless device to the first base station, measurement results, where the measurement include cells including the target base station i.e. reads on: of a cell),
wherein: the measurement results comprise at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
a first received power of the at least one first beam of the first cell (Purkayastha – FIG. 2 & ¶0068…. supports beam selection for initiating random access during CHO execution;¶0069…. UE 115-a may transmit one or more measurement reports in which the UE 115-a may provide one or more cell measurements of the source base station 105-a and a number of neighboring base stations …. include the target base station 105-b…..based on the measurements in the measurement report, the source base station 105-a may identify one or more neighboring base stations 105 (e.g., one or more target cells) that are good candidates for handover of the UE 115-a (e.g., based on cell signal strength measurements being above a threshold value) ; FIG. 3 & ¶0071; ¶0085 See claim 2 ;Fig. 5 & ¶0095 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : measurement reports in which the UE 115-a may provide measurements of the source base station, target base station, Target cell, where candidates for handover are based on cell signal strength measurements associated with at least one depicted beam i.e. reads on: a first received power of the at least one first beam where at least one beam is associated with the first cell and the second cell 105c and 105d per FIG. 3, ¶0071; ¶0085 reads on: of the second cell ); or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
a second received power of the at least one second beam of the second cell (Purkayastha – FIG. 5, FIG.1, FIG.2 , FIG. 3 & ¶0068 See above; ¶0071 See above; ¶0085 See above; ¶0099 See above; ¶0100 See above; ¶0101 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : UE 115-c determines that a condition for handover to the first target base station 105-g is met based on one or more channel quality measurements or target cell measurements by the UE 115-c that are compared to the CHO configuration results in a selected beam i.e. reads on the CHO configuration comprising conditions, thresholds for comparison with UE measurements for a set of beams i.e. reads on at least a first and a second beam, and identify one or more beams of the set of beams including for the execution of selection of a beam out one or more beams that meet beam quality threshold i.e. reads on the first and the second beam meeting a second execution condition qualifying the second beam as a candidate for selection where the selection is based upon cell signal strength measurements being above a threshold value i.e. reads on: a second received power of the at least one second beam where at least one beam is associated with the first cell and the second cell 105c and 105d per FIG. 3, ¶0071; ¶0085 reads on: of the second cell);
the first execution condition is based on the first received power (Purkayastha – FIG. 5, FIG.1, FIG.2 & ¶0068 See above; ¶0099 See Claim 1; ¶0100 See Claim 1; ¶0101 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : UE 115-c determines that a condition for handover to the first target base station 105-g is met based on one or more channel quality measurements or target cell measurements by the UE 115-c that are compared to the CHO configuration results in a selected beam i.e. reads on the CHO configuration comprising conditions, thresholds for comparison with UE measurements for a set of beams, including for the execution of selection of a beam out one or more beams that meet beam quality threshold, and further narrow down to the selected beam via the highest RSRP or beam with the earliest configured CBRA time frequency resource i.e. reads on comprising a first execution condition for the selection of the beam, for random access request transmission to the first target base i.e. reads on for at least one first beam of the cell, where the beam is selected via the highest RSRP i.e. reads on the first execution condition is based on the first received power);
and the second execution condition is based on the second received power (Purkayastha – FIG. 5, FIG.1, FIG.2 & ¶0068 See above; ¶0099 See above; ¶0100 See above; ¶0101 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : UE 115-c determines that a condition for handover to the first target base station 105-g is met based on one or more channel quality measurements or target cell measurements by the UE 115-c that are compared to the CHO configuration results in a selected beam i.e. reads on the CHO configuration comprising conditions, thresholds for comparison with UE measurements for a set of beams i.e. reads on: at least a first and a second beam, and identify one or more beams of the set of beams including for the execution of selection of a beam out one or more beams that meet beam quality threshold i.e. reads on: the first and the second beam meeting the second execution condition qualifying the second beam as a candidate for selection where the selection is based upon cell signal strength measurements being above a threshold value i.e. reads on: the second execution condition also being based upon a second received power of the at least one second beam i.e. the second received power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo with teachings of Purkayastha, since Purkayastha enables a target base station to reserve CFRA resources (e.g., such as CFRA time-frequency resources, a CFRA preamble, a dedicated RACH preamble, etc.) for a UE to reduce latency associated with a random access procedure should CHO be triggered for the target base station (Purkayastha - ¶0097).
Regarding Claim 12 (Previously Presented). Wu in view of WU2 and Deenoo and Purkayastha teaches: The method of claim 11,
furthermore Purkayastha discloses: wherein a second base station determines (Purkayastha - FIG. 1 FIG. 5 & ¶0037 See claim 9, 10…. In some cases, the target cell may be associated with the same base station as the source cell….;¶0045 See claim 9, 10; ¶0098…. At 520, the target base station 105-g may transmit a handover request acknowledgment to the source base station 105-f. The handover request acknowledgment may include information for use by the UE 115-c to establish a connection…. source base station 105-f may receive the handover request acknowledgment, and determine CHO criteria for the target cell for use by the UE 115-c to trigger a CHO. The CHO criteria may include, for example, one or more measurement thresholds (e.g., measThreshHO TgNB) of the target base station 105-g; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : Where source base station and target base station are the same, determining the thresholds i.e. reads on: wherein a second base station determines ),
based on the measurement results (Purkayastha - FIG. 5 & ¶0096 ….. Source base station 105-f may select the target base station 105-g for the handover request based on associated cell measurements from the measurement report of the UE 115-c (e.g., based on neighboring base station measurements that are above a threshold value or that are better than other of the neighboring base station measurements); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : determining thresholds at 515 by target which can be also be the source base station i.e. the second bases station is based upon need for CHO triggering 510 which is based upon associated cell measurements from the measurement report of the UE 115 i.e. reads on based on the measurement results),
the first execution condition (Purkayastha – FIG. 5, FIG.1, FIG.2, & ¶0099 See Claim 1; ¶0100 See Claim 1; ¶0101 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : UE 115-c determines that a condition for handover to the first target base station 105-g is met based on one or more channel quality measurements or target cell measurements by the UE 115-c that are compared to the CHO configuration results in a selected beam i.e. reads on the CHO configuration configured comprising conditions, thresholds for comparison with UE measurements for a set of beams, including for the execution of selection of a beam out one or more beams that meet beam quality threshold, and further narrow down to the selected beam via the highest RSRP or beam with the earliest configured CBRA time frequency resource i.e. reads on: comprising determining the first execution condition required for the selection of the beam, for random access request transmission to the first target base) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
the second execution condition (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo and Purkayastha further with teachings of Purkayastha, since Purkayastha enables a target base station to reserve CFRA resources (e.g., such as CFRA time-frequency resources, a CFRA preamble, a dedicated RACH preamble, etc.) for a UE to reduce latency associated with a random access procedure should CHO be triggered for the target base station (Purkayastha - ¶0097).
Regarding Claim 13 (Previously Presented). Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha teaches: The method of claim 11,
furthermore Purkayastha discloses: wherein: the first base station determines, based on the measurement results of the cell, to initiate a handover of the wireless device to the cell (Purkayastha - FIG. 5 & ¶0096 See claim 12 ….. 510, the source base station 105-f may transmit a handover request to the target base station 105-g; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : transmit a handover request to the target base station, where Source base station 105-f may select the target base station 105-g for the handover request based on associated cell measurements from the measurement report of the UE 115 i.e. reads on: wherein: the first base station determines, based on the measurement results of the cell, where the handover request is to initiate a handover of the wireless device to the cell i.e. ¶0096 See claim 12 ….. 510, the source base station 105-f may transmit a handover request to the target base station 105-g reads on: to initiate a handover of the wireless device to the cell );
the first base station sends, to a second base station, a handover request message for the handover (Purkayastha - FIG. 5 & ¶0096 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : at 510 transmit a handover request to the target base station i.e. reads on: the first base station sends, to a second base station, a handover request message for the handover);
and the first base station receives, from the second base station, a handover request acknowledge message indicating acceptance of the handover (Purkayastha - FIG. 5 & ¶0098 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : At 520, the target base station 105-g may transmit a handover request acknowledgment to the source base station 105-f i.e. reads on: and the first base station receives, from the second base station, a handover request acknowledge message indicating acceptance of the handover),
wherein the handover request acknowledge message indicates the random-access preamble and the radio resource (Purkayastha - FIG. 5 & ¶0098 See above…NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : The handover request acknowledgment may include information i.e. reads on: wherein the handover request acknowledge message indicates , for use by the UE 115-c to establish a connection …e.g., any reserved CFRA time-frequency resources, random access preamble i.e. reads on: the random-access preamble and the radio resource, C-RNTI, etc.….with the target base station ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha further with teachings of Purkayastha, since Purkayastha enables a target base station to reserve CFRA resources (e.g., such as CFRA time-frequency resources, a CFRA preamble, a dedicated RACH preamble, etc.) for a UE to reduce latency associated with a random access procedure should CHO be triggered for the target base station (Purkayastha - ¶0097).
Regarding Claim 19. (Previously Presented) Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Deenoo teaches: the at least one first beam or the at least one second beam (Deenoo FIG. 2 & ¶0120 See Claim 1; ¶00123 See Claim 1 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : i.e. The uplink indication may include the Cell ID of the non-serving cell where the WTRU may perform a forward handover, where i.e. the indication may further include the identity of one more measured beams (e.g. the best measured beams) reads on: the at least one first beam or the at least one second beam where multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility for at least the first cell and second cell comprised in the multiple non serving cells)
Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note _ See italicized portions): wherein the beam comprises at least one of: a synchronization signal block (SSB) beam; or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) beam,
Purkayastha teaches: wherein the at least one first beam (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
the at least one second beam (NOTE: limitation presented in the alternative) comprises at least one of: a synchronization signal block (SSB) beam (Purkayastha - ¶0090 …. more than one target cell satisfies HO conditions indicated by the CHO configuration message (e.g., when more than one target cell measurements exceed the source cell measurement by at least some offset), the UE may select a target cell based on a number of beams (e.g., beam measurements) above a suitable beam threshold 405 that are measured from the target cell; ¶0091….. UE may thus perform measurements of beams of the source cell (e.g., ‘Source cell’) and target cells (e.g., ‘Target cell 1’ and ‘Target cell 2’), and may derive cell measurements (e.g., of the Source cell,’ ‘Target cell 1,’ and ‘Target cell 2’) from beam measurements; ¶0092… A measurement configuration (e.g., which may be included in the CHO configuration message) may indicate a set of beams (e.g., each beam associated with an SSB index or CSI-RS index); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : the at least first beam selected on the basis of each beam associated with an SSB index or CSI-RS index i.e. reads on: wherein the at least one first beam comprises at least one of: a synchronization signal block (SSB) beam); or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) beam (Purkayastha - ¶See above; ¶0091 See Above; ¶0092 see above indicate a set of beams (e.g., each beam associated with an SSB index or CSI-RS index); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : the at least first beam selected on the basis of each beam associated with an SSB index or CSI-RS index i.e. reads on: wherein the at least one first beam comprises at least one of: a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) beam. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo with teachings of Purkayastha, since Purkayastha enables a target base station to reserve CFRA resources (e.g., such as CFRA time-frequency resources, a CFRA preamble, a dedicated RACH preamble, etc.) for a UE to reduce latency associated with a random access procedure should CHO be triggered for the target base station (Purkayastha - ¶0097).
11. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha, further in view of SAHLIN et. al. (US-20200288503-A1), i.e. “SAHLIN”.
Regarding Claim 5. (Previously Presented) Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha teaches: The method of claim 2,
furthermore Purkayastha teaches: wherein the random-access parameters comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): a first preamble associated with at least one first beam of the first cell (Purkayastha - FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 ¶0071 See Claim 2; ¶0085 See claim 2; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : CHO configuration message may i.e. indicate that the first target base station 105-d and the second target base station 105-e are configured for CHO, may provide information for accessing the associated base stations 105 (e.g., random access information, C-RNTI, etc.) and per ¶0071 i.e. CFRA resources include dedicated preamble, for each beam 205 of the set of beams 205 for which CFRA used i.e. reads on wherein the random-access parameters comprises at least one of: a first preamble associated with at least one first beam of the first cell where at least one beam is associated with the first cell and the second cell 105c and 105d); or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
a second preamble index associated with at least one second beam of the second cell(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha further with teachings of Purkayastha, since Purkayastha enables a target base station to reserve CFRA resources (e.g., such as CFRA time-frequency resources, a CFRA preamble, a dedicated RACH preamble, etc.) for a UE to reduce latency associated with a random access procedure should CHO be triggered for the target base station (Purkayastha - ¶0097).
While Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha teaches: wherein the random-access parameters comprises at least one of: a first preamble associated with at least one first beam of the first cell; or a second preamble associated with at least one second beam of the second cell,
Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (note – i.e. see italicized portion): preamble index;
SAHLIN teaches: wherein the random-access parameters comprises at least one of(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): a first preamble index associated with at least one first beam of the first cell (SAHLIN – FIG. 20…. step 2002 with transmitting information to a wireless device. The information indicates whether a one-to-one or many-to-one association exists between a downlink signal that the wireless device can use for beam selection prior to a random access procedure (e.g., SSB or CSI-RS) and PRACH preamble indices; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : transmitting information mapping CSI-RS for beam selection is mapped to PRACH preamble indices i.e. transmitting information indicating association reads on: wherein the random-access parameters, which map i.e. preamble indices read on: comprises a first preamble index associated with, to i.e. a selected beam via CSI-RS reads on: at least one first beam of the first cell where a beam is associated with at least a coverage area cell); or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
a second preamble index associated with (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha with teachings of SAHLIN, since SAHLIN enables a network node (e.g., gNB) to transmit the RAR in another beam than related SSB, and allows the network to define the gNB behavior for a case of many-to-one associations between SSB and PRACH preamble indices and includes enabling the use of “silent nodes” for PRACH detection and RAR transmission in an NR network, which improves detection performance in heterogeneous networks (SAHLIN - ¶0047).
Regarding Claim 6 (Previously Presented). Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo, Purkayastha and SAHLIN teaches: The method of claim 5,
furthermore SAHLIN discloses: wherein the first preamble index (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
the second preamble index (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) indicates the random-access preamble (SAHLIN – FIG. 20…. step 2002 with transmitting information to a wireless device. The information indicates whether a one-to-one or many-to-one association exists between a downlink signal that the wireless device can use for beam selection prior to a random access procedure (e.g., SSB or CSI-RS) and PRACH preamble indices; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : beam selected prior to random access mapped to PRACH preamble indices i.e. preamble indices reads on: wherein the first index and a second index (preamble indices) i.e. indicates PRACH preamble for the random-access reads on: indicates the random-access preamble).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo, Purkayastha and SAHLIN, further with teachings of SAHLIN, since SAHLIN enables a network node (e.g., gNB) to transmit the RAR in another beam than related SSB, and allows the network to define the gNB behavior for a case of many-to-one associations between SSB and PRACH preamble indices and includes enabling the use of “silent nodes” for PRACH detection and RAR transmission in an NR network, which improves detection performance in heterogeneous networks (SAHLIN - ¶0047).
12. Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha, further in view of Kim et. al (US-20190349822-A1), i.e. “Kim”.
Regarding Claim 14 (Previously Presented). Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha teaches: The method of claim 11,
furthermore Purkayastha discloses: wherein: the first base station determines, based on the measurement results of the cell, to initiate a secondary node addition for the wireless device (Purkayastha – FIG. 3 & ¶0082… Further, at 315, the source base station 105-c may transmit a handover request to the second target base station 105-e. In some cases, the source base station 105-c may select the first target base station 105-d and the second target base station 105-e for the handover requests based on associated cell measurements from the measurement report of the UE 115-b; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : transmit a handover request to the second target base station 105-e where the source base station 105-c may select the first target base station 105-d and the second target base station 105-e for the handover requests based on associated cell measurements from the measurement report i.e. reads on wherein: the first base station determines, i.e. associated cell measurements from the measurement report reads on: based on the measurement results of the cell (i.e. cell measurements from the measurement report), where to transmit a handover request to the second target base station i.e. reads on: to initiate a secondary node addition (i.e. Target Base station 2) for the wireless device(i.e. for CHO for UE 115 b));
and the first base station receives, from the second base station, a secondary node addition request acknowledge message indicating acceptance of the secondary node addition, wherein the secondary node addition request acknowledge message indicates the random-access preamble and the radio resource (Purkayastha – FIG. 3 &¶0084 – NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : Further, in this example, at 335, the second target base station 105-e may transmit a handover request acknowledgment to the source base station 105-c. i.e. reads on: and the first base station receives, from the second base station, a secondary node addition request acknowledge message indicating acceptance of the secondary node addition, …In some cases, the handover request acknowledgments may include information for use by the UE 115-b to establish a connection ..e.g., reserved CFRA time-frequency resources, random access preamble, i.e. reads on: wherein the secondary node addition request acknowledge message indicates the random-access preamble and the radio resource ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha further with teachings of Purkayastha, since Purkayastha enables a target base station to reserve CFRA resources (e.g., such as CFRA time-frequency resources, a CFRA preamble, a dedicated RACH preamble, etc.) for a UE to reduce latency associated with a random access procedure should CHO be triggered for the target base station (Purkayastha - ¶0097).
While Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha teaches: wherein: the first base station determines, based on the measurement results of the cell, to initiate a secondary node addition for the wireless device, and the first base station receives, from the second base station, a secondary node addition request acknowledge message indicating acceptance of the secondary node addition, wherein the secondary node addition request acknowledge message indicates the random- access preamble and the radio resource.
Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (Note See – italicized portions): wherein node addition comprises configuring a secondary cell group comprising the cell; the first base station sends, to a second base station, a secondary node addition request message;
Kim teaches: determines, to initiate a secondary node addition for the wireless device (Kim – FIG. 3GA & ¶0550….. the source gNB prepares for the inter-gNB Type 2 handover at step 3g-20 and requests to the target eNB, at step 3g-25, for adding an SeNB for dual connectivity via Xn signaling (inter-gNB control signaling, e.g., X2 signaling) ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : source gNB prepares for the inter-gNB Type 2 handover involving adding an SeNB for dual connectivity i.e. reads on comprising: determines, to initiate a secondary node addition (i.e. adding an SeNB for dual connectivity) for the wireless device (I.e. pertaining UE 3g-01 depicted) ),
wherein the secondary node addition comprises configuring a secondary cell group comprising the cell (Kim – FIG. 3GA & ¶00548… receive the downlink control signal and transmit the uplink control signal through the PCell of the source gNB and perform further data transmission/reception through an SCell under the control of the gNB ;¶0550 See above … The request message includes PDCP configuration information for a PDCP entity reserved per SCell to be added; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : requests to the target eNB, at step 3g-25, for adding an SeNB i.e. reads on: wherein the secondary node addition comprises configuring a secondary cell group(i.e. SCell to be added under the control of the gNB) for dual connectivity );
the first base station sends, to a second base station, a secondary node addition request message for the secondary node addition (Kim – FIG. 3GA & ¶00548 See above; ¶0550 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : at step 3g-25, for adding an SeNB i.e. reads on: the first base station sends (i.e. source gNB) to a second base station (i.e. target GNB), a secondary node addition request message (i.e. message at step 3g-25) for the secondary node addition (i.e. Adding an SeNB) );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2, Deenoo and Purkayastha with teachings of Kim, since Kim enables protecting against erroneous operations of a terminal by restricting a validity of configuration information received from a base station only to the corresponding base station and, when the terminal moves to a new base station, allowing the new base station to have all necessary configuration information (Kim - ¶0015).
13. Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo, further in view of Cheng et al. (US-20180332520-A1) i.e. “Cheng”.
Regarding Claim 20. (Previously Presented) Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Deenoo teaches: at least one first beam, of the first cell; and at least one second beam, of the second cell (Deenoo FIG. 2 & ¶0120 See Claim 1; ¶00123 See Claim 1 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : i.e. The uplink indication may include the Cell ID of the non-serving cell where the WTRU may perform a forward handover, where i.e. the indication may further include the identity of one more measured beams (e.g. the best measured beams) reads on: at least one first beam, of the first cell; and at least one second beam, of the second cell where multiple non-serving cells are above a threshold, the WTRU may attempt forward mobility for at least the first cell and second cell comprised in the multiple non serving cells).
Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note – See italicized portions): wherein: first beam is associated with at least one first spatial domain filter and second beam is associated with at least one second spatial domain filter;
Cheng teaches: wherein: first beam (Cheng – FIG. 1 & ¶0067…. target base station 108 broadcasts coarse beams 116x, 116y and 116z, and fine beams 118p, 118q, 118r, 118s, 118t, 118u, 118v, 118w, 118x, 118y and 118z in the coverage area of target cell 110; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : coarse beams 116x, 116y and 116z, and fine beams 118p, 118q, 118r, 118s, 118t, i.e. reads on: at least one first beam ) is associated with at least one first spatial domain filter (Cheng FIG. 3 & ¶0084… action 386….and over request ACK message may include a transparent container (e.g., having a Handover Command) to be sent to UE 302 as an RRC message to perform the handover; ¶0087…. upon receiving the mobility control information, UE 302 may communicate and associated (e.g., perform CFRA) with target base station 308 and access the target cell via RACH. In action 390, target base station 308 may monitor and detect a random access preamble ; ¶0088 … Target base station 308 may monitor the beam-related PRACH and/or RACH resources using the same spatial domain filter that is used for transmitting at least one of the SS block index or the CRI indicated to UE 302 in the Handover Command; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : each individual coarse beams and fine beams utilized by UE to access the target cell via RACH are associated with spatial domain filter that is used for transmitting at least one of the SS block index or the CRI indicated in the Mobility control information transparently from target i.e. reads on: wherein: the first beam is associated with at least one first spatial domain filter ); and one second beam (Cheng – FIG. 1 & ¶0067…. target base station 108 broadcasts coarse beams 116x, 116y and 116z, and fine beams 118p, 118q, 118r, 118s, 118t, 118u, 118v, 118w, 118x, 118y and 118z in the coverage area of target cell 110; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : coarse beams 116x, 116y and 116z, and fine beams 118p, 118q, 118r, 118s, 118t, i.e. reads on: at least one second beam in addition to a first beam ) is associated with at least one second spatial domain filter (Cheng FIG. 3 & ¶0084… See above; ¶0087…. See above ; ¶0088 … See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING : each individual coarse beams and fine beams i.e. including the second beam utilized by UE to access the target cell via RACH are associated with spatial domain filter that is used for transmitting at least one of the SS block index or the CRI indicated in the Mobility control information transparently from target i.e. reads on: wherein: the second beam is associated with at least one first spatial domain filter );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu in view of Yang, WU2 and Deenoo with teachings of Cheng, since Cheng enables performing beam refinement during a handover procedure such that the target base station can apply higher data rate and better link quality immediately after the handover procedure to maintain the quality of service. (Cheng - ¶0158).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MALICK A SOHRAB whose telephone number is (571)272-4347. The examiner can normally be reached on Mo-Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
03/28/2026.
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414