DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-11, and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2886900 (Flannery hereinafter) in view of US 4120674 (Haag hereinafter) and further in view of US 4336040 (Haberl hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Flannery teaches a debris collection apparatus (Figure 1) that discloses a blower assembly (Figure 1, blower 22); a collection assembly (Figure 2 with components 40/82/84), wherein the collection assembly defines an upper aperture (Upper aperture 28), a lower aperture (Lower aperture 80), and a hollow structure extending between the upper aperture and the lower aperture (Area for blade 40 between the upper and lower aperture); a wiper positioned within the hollow structure (Wiper 40); a valve coupled to the lower aperture (End plate 90 per Column 2 Line 55 through Column 3 Line 4 is coupled to the lower aperture via 82), wherein the valve is movable between an open position and a closed position relative to the lower aperture (Column 2 Line 55 through Column 3 Line 4); and a filter coupled to an inner surface of the hollow structure (Filter 56).
Flannery is silent with respect to a flapper valve and that wherein operation of the blower assembly generates a negative pressure within the collection assembly.
However, Haag teaches a debris filtering assembly that discloses an operation of a blower that generates a negative pressure within a collection assembly (Column 2 Lines 47-57 with flapper valve 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the location of the blower of Flannery such that a negative pressure is used to draw air and debris through the filter of Flannery since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse. 86 USPQ 70. This orientation will also allow for the air to be filtered prior to entering the blower.
Flannery is silent with respect that wherein the flapper valve, in the absence of the negative pressure, is biased toward the open position, and wherein the negative pressure generated within the collection assembly actuates the flapper valve toward the closed position.
However, Haberl teaches a debris/dust collector and filter that discloses a flapper valve, in the absence of the negative pressure, is biased toward the open position (Figure 1, valve 13 operable to close the opening 14 which would equivalent to opening at 82/90 of Flannery), and wherein the negative pressure generated within the collection assembly actuates the flapper valve toward the closed position (Column 3 Lines 39-61 and Column 4 Lines 40-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the operation of the valve of Flannery/Haag with the vacuum biased closed valve of Haberl to ensure previously discarded debris does not get sucked back up into the hollow structure.
Regarding claim 2, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that the debris collection apparatus is coupled to a laundering appliance (Evident from Figure 1 of Flannery), wherein the laundering appliance comprises: a drum (Drum 18 of Flannery); a cavity defined by the drum (Evident form Figure 1 of Flannery); and a heating device that heats air that is provided to the cavity (Column 2 Lines 2-4 of Flannery).
Regarding claim 3, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that the blower assembly and the collection assembly are coupled by a conduit (Evident from Figures 1 and 2 of Flannery with conduit 70 due to the relocation of claim 1 to produce a vacuum).
Regarding claim 4, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that the blower assembly is horizontally offset from the collection assembly (Evident from Figures 1 and 2 of Flannery).
Regarding claim 5, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that the blower assembly comprises: a blower motor positioned opposite the conduit (Motor 20 is relatively opposite to the conduit 70 with an arbitrary plane); a fan wheel that is driven to rotate by the blower motor (Wheel of the blower in Flannery and vacuum producing blower of Haag); and an outlet (Inherent outlet of the blower).
Regarding claim 6, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 5 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose an exhaust conduit that extends from the outlet of the blower assembly (Exhaust outlet continuing from the outlet of the blower for recirculation).
Regarding claim 9, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose a bulk debris collection vessel positioned below the lower aperture (Vessel 84 of Flannery).
Regarding claim 10, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that the wiper is operated by rotational motion (Evident of Figure 2 of Flannery with the rotation from 34/36).
Regarding claim 11, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 11 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that the wiper is a helical wiper (Wiper 40 of Flannery).
Regarding claim 14, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose a receptacle that extends upwardly away from the upper aperture (The broadest reasonable interpretation of the receptacle is a structure to hold or retain something smaller, and therefore the cabinet 10 can serve as the receptacle).
Regarding claim 15, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 14 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose a wiper motor positioned within the receptacle (The broadest reasonable interpretation of the definition of motor, which states that a motor is something that imparts motion, would allow for the use of the ratchet drive 36), wherein the wiper motor drives movement of the wiper (Evident from Figure 2 of Flannery).
Regarding claim 16, Flannery teaches a debris collection apparatus (Figure 1) that discloses a blower assembly; a collection assembly(Figure 2 with components 40/82/84), wherein the collection assembly defines an upper aperture (Upper aperture 28), a lower aperture (Lower aperture 80), and a hollow structure extending between the upper aperture and the lower aperture (Area for blade 40 between the upper and lower aperture); a conduit that couples the blower assembly to the collection assembly (Conduit from 26 to 70 in Figure 2); a wiper positioned within the hollow structure (Wiper 40); a valve coupled to the lower aperture (End plate 90 per Column 2 Line 55 through Column 3 Line 4 is coupled to the lower aperture via 82), wherein the valve is movable between an open position and a closed position relative to the lower aperture (Column 2 Line 55 through Column 3 Line 4); a filter coupled to an inner surface of the hollow structure (Filter surface 56); and a bulk debris collection vessel positioned below the lower aperture (Vessel 84).
Flannery is silent with respect that operation of the blower assembly generates a negative pressure within the collection assembly.
However, Haag teaches a debris filtering assembly that discloses an operation of a blower that generates a negative pressure within a collection assembly (Column 2 Lines 47-57 with flapper valve 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the location of the blower of Flannery such that a negative pressure is used to draw air and debris through the filter of Flannery since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse. 86 USPQ 70. This orientation will also allow for the air to be filtered prior to entering the blower.
Flannery is silent with respect that a flapper valve coupled to the lower aperture and, in the absence of the negative pressure, biased under a force of gravity to an open position wherein the negative pressure generated within the collection assembly by the blower assembly actuates the flapper valve to a closed position.
However, Haberl teaches a debris/dust collector and filter that discloses a flapper valve coupled to the lower aperture and, in the absence of the negative pressure, biased under a force of gravity to an open position (Figure 1, valve 13 operable to close the opening 14 which would equivalent to opening at 82/90 of Flannery), and wherein the negative pressure generated within the collection assembly by the blower assembly actuates the flapper valve to a closed position (Column 3 Lines 39-61 and Column 4 Lines 40-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the operation of the valve of Flannery/Haag with the vacuum biased closed valve of Haberl to ensure previously discarded debris does not get sucked back up into the hollow structure.
Regarding claim 17, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 16 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that the debris collection apparatus is coupled to a laundering appliance (Evident from Figure 1 of Flannery), wherein the laundering appliance comprises: a drum (Drum 18 of Flannery); a cavity defined by the drum (Internal cavity of the drum 18 of Flannery); and a heating device that heats air that is provided to the cavity (Column 2 Lines 2-4 of Flannery).
Regarding claim 18, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 16 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that the blower assembly comprises: a blower motor positioned opposite the conduit (Motor 20 is relatively opposite to the conduit 70 with an arbitrary plane); a fan wheel that is driven to rotate by the blower motor (Wheel of the blower in Flannery and vacuum producing blower of Haag); and an outlet (Inherent outlet of the blower), wherein the blower assembly is horizontally offset from the collection assembly (Evident from the Figures 1-3 of Flannery).
Regarding claim 19, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 16 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that the wiper is a helical wiper or a planar wiper (Helical wiper 40 of Flannery).
Regarding claim 20, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 16 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that a receptacle that extends upwardly away from the upper aperture (The broadest reasonable interpretation of the receptacle is a structure to hold or retain something smaller, and therefore the cabinet 10 can serve as the receptacle).
Regarding claim 21, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 15 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that the blower assembly directs air through the receptacle (Blower of Flannery/Haag will direct air within the conduits and physically through the receptacle as described with respect to Flannery) and into the hollow structure via the upper aperture (Evident of the air flow path of Figure 2 of Flannery), wherein the air flows around the wiper motor and into the hollow structure (The air passes through conduits 26 then 56 then into 70 as seen in Figure 2 of Flannery which is around the ratchet 36).
Regarding claim 22, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 20 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, and Haberl would further disclose that the blower assembly directs air through the receptacle (Blower of Flannery/Haag will direct air within the conduits and physically through the receptacle as described with respect to Flannery) and into the hollow structure via the upper aperture (Evident of the air flow path of Figure 2 of Flannery), wherein the air flows around the wiper motor and into the hollow structure (The air passes through conduits 26 then 56 then into 70 as seen in Figure 2 of Flannery which is around the ratchet 36).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2886900 (Flannery) in view of US 4120674 (Haag) in view of US 4336040 (Haberl)) and further in view of US 2020/0123697 (Molin hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 10 but are silent with respect that the wiper is a planar wiper.
However, Molin teaches a dryer that discloses that the wiper is operated in an oscillating fashion (¶ 283).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to perform a substitution of the ratchet drive of Flannery with the oscillating motion of Molin to obtain the well0known and predictable result of clearing the filter of lint.
Regarding claim 13, Flannery’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Flannery, Haag, Haberl, and Molin would further disclose that the wiper is a planar wiper (Evident of Figure 12 of Molin).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 9-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2012/0151712 (Oh) and US 5066315 (Haberl ‘315) each detail a vacuum based flap valve.
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762