Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages6-11, filed 01/26/2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over under over Zurko (US 20110078197 – hereinafter-- “Zurko”) in view of Easley et al. (US 20200351534 A1 ---hereinafter—"Easley”) and in further view of in view of Rice et al. (US 20170315677 –hereinafter—" Rice”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Easley et al. (US 20200351534 A1 ---hereinafter—"Easley”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zurko (US 20110078197 – hereinafter-- “Zurko”) in view of Easley et al. (US 20200351534 A1 ---hereinafter—"Easley”) and in further view of in view of Rice et al. (US 20170315677 –hereinafter—" Rice”).
As per claim 1:
Zurko discloses a method comprising:
receiving, from a second user device associated with a second user, a share indication associated with a data file, wherein the second user device has access to the data file shared by a first user device associated with a first user ([0017] According to one illustrative embodiment, a method for managing file resharing in an online file sharing system may include inviting a user to access a shared file hosted by the online file sharing system. The user may then be allowed to reshare the shared file through the online file sharing system with other users only to an extent permitted by a resharing policy stored by the online file sharing system. The resharing policy may be based on one or more elements attached to, for example, an initiator of a reshare, the receiver of a reshare, the author of a file, and/or the shared file itself; [0060] that for managing file distribution in an online file sharing system. The method (600) for managing the resharing of files on an online file sharing system may include inviting (step 602) a first entity to access a shared file hosted by the online file sharing system); and
displaying an indication displaying the content of the data file, wherein the indication indicates that the second user device is sharing the data file with a third device associated with a third user ([0054] The "Recent Activity" section (416) may display to a user, the various sharing, and resharing activities which a user has been associated with. If the user is an administrator, the recent activity may display all resharing activities relevant to the administrator which are occurring in the organization. This notification of reshares may also occur outside of the user interface. For example, an administrator may receive a message through a means of communication such as an email indicating that a particular reshare has occurred. In certain embodiments, an administrator may filter which notifications of which types or reshares with which he or she is notified. Additionally or alternatively, notification of reshares may be provided to an author or owner of a file).
Zurko does not explicitly disclose causing an application to display contents of the data file and displaying the indication in an interface of the application. Easley, in analogous art however, discloses causing an application to display contents of the data file ([0035] As can be appreciated, these functions can be implemented through an application on the UE 124, which can facilitate capturing and communicating the identification 206. Such an application may also allow the user to select media content to be put on the data stream 204 to the display 144 by the media server 202. For example, in at least one embodiment, the media server 202 is in communication with the UE 124, and thereby knows who the user is, where they are, and what media services (such as Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, etc.) to which the user subscribes. In any case, the media server 202 may provide a list of the media services to which the user subscribes to the UE 124, from which the user selects. Upon receiving the selection, the media server 202 puts that media content on the data stream 204 to be displayed on the display 144. Thereafter, the user may control the data stream 204 to the display 144, such as by changing the media content, fast forwarding, rewinding, pausing, etc. The list of the media services may be known to the application on the UE 124, such that the media server 202 does not need to send the list to the UE 124. [0036] In at least one embodiment, the UE 124 is a source of media content, in addition to or as an alternative to the content sources 125. For example, content, such as power point presentations, video, images, and/or live streaming, on the UE 124 may be mirrored on the display 144. This may be done via the media server 202 and data stream 204, thereby requiring no direct communication from the UE 124 to the display 144), and
displaying the indication in an interface of the application (0047] Any of the systems 200, 210, 220 may include a display being used as a portal for accessing messaging and other Web notification services. User text messages, IM, callerID, VM notification may be displayed via overlay to the display being controlled by a user. Displays used as described herein may expose WebRTC capabilities associated with the UE. The display may then be used to display content from the WebRTC session. Displays used as described herein may have a real-time overlay encoded on top of the media content being displayed thereon, which may allow the controlling user to draw on the display using the touch interface of their UE. The UE may share drawing capabilities with other devices by transmitting a message with a unique code/identifier that allows for control of the overlay. Using the known network location of the UE controlling a screen, the overlay and/or content stream may be customized to match location specific context, such as local attraction information, hotel maps, neighborhood traffic, etc. [0048] A display in use may expose its overlay via an API to allow for integration with third party services. The API exposure layer allows the third party service to use the overlay to display content, such as secondary video, messaging, audio over the top of the primary data stream. Third party services may also allow sharing of a stream to friends or other users. Access to any data stream might be granted based on subscription status of any of the users. Third party API access to a data stream may allow the third party to offer sponsorship of the data stream and/or control the content thereon. [0052] As shown in 234, a user wishing to control a display device 144, or a portion thereof, captures the respective identification 206 from the display device 144, or a portion thereof. This may be done by taking a picture or video clip of the display device 144, or a portion thereof. The identification 206 may be embedded in the media content being displayed on the display device 144, or a portion thereof. The identification 206 may be embedded in a logo overlaid on the media content being displayed on the display device 144, or a portion thereof. The identification 206 may be periodically flashed on the display device 144, or a portion thereof, faster than the human eye can register, thereby not being apparent (or otherwise be invisible) to the user, thereby not detracting from the media content being displayed on the display device 144. As such, the identification 206 may be embedded in the data stream 204 and/or sub-stream to the display device 144 continuously, or repeatedly, without requiring the user to request it or detracting from the media content being displayed on the display device 144. In one embodiment, the identification 206 may simply be a sticker or other placard on or near the display device 144). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claimed limitations of the data file disclosed by Zurko to include causing an application to display contents of the data file and displaying the indication in an interface of the application. This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the desire to provide a media server to facilitate sending a data stream that includes a first sub-stream and/or an identification that identifies the data stream and/or first sub-stream associates the data stream or first sub-stream with the first user. The media server then accesses account information of the first user, which may list media services to which the first user has subscribed as suggested by Easley ([0015]).
Zurko and Easley do not explicitly disclose the displayed indication is based on the share indication. Rice, in analogous art however, discloses the displayed indication is based on the share indication ([0032] User interface 150 may be generated in response to a user clicking on or otherwise selecting a file within data store 110 and indicating or requesting sharing of the selected file. [0033] When the user selects share confirmation button 160, the various e-mail invitations will be provided by messaging component 108 to the selected recipients. Accordingly, processor 102 detect such re-sharing and engage messaging component 108 to additionally send a notification (via any suitable route or modality), to the owner or other responsible party (user 130) of the electronic file. In one embodiment, upon detecting the share operation, processor 102 will first check to see person sharing the electronic file is the owner or responsible party for the electronic file. If the sharer is not the file owner, or responsible party, processor 102 will causing messaging system 108 to compose and transmit an electronic notification to the file owner or responsible party containing the name of the electronic file, identification of one or more recipients, and any other suitable information that may be of interest to the file owner or responsible party. [0035] A notification provided by data storage system 100 to an owner/responsible party relative to a re-sharing of an electronic file. Notification 200 includes an identification of the re-sharing party/user (kat@fabrikam.com) as indicated at reference numeral 202, an indication of the re-shared electronic file (Financial-forecast.pptx) as indicated at reference numeral 204 as well as an indication of the recipient(s) of the re-share invitation as jacky@fabrikam.com, indicated at reference numeral 206. A notification 200 provides a summary display of the electronic file including an icon 208 based on file type, date of last modification 210, and file size 212. [0043] Generating notifications relative to re-sharing of electronic files …where an original electronic file is created or otherwise uploaded to an on-line storage provider. Next, at block 354, the owner or other responsible party of the original electronic document sets one or more first-level shares with respect to the electronic file. Examples of first-level shares are the owner or responsible party directly sharing the file with one or more other users. At block 356, the on-line data storage provider detects that one or more of the users with whom the owner/responsible party has shared access to the electronic file has re-shared the electronic file. This re-sharing may be with respect to additional users within the same organization as the user and/or with respect to one or more external users. Further, the notification generated relative to the detected second-level share can provide an indication whether the second-level share included any external users. The generation of the notification with respect to the second-level share is indicated at block 358. When one or more of the recipients of the invitation for the second-level share accepts the invitation, such acceptance is detected at block 360. This means that the user that has accepted the second-level share now has access to the electronic file. Method 350 automatically generates a notification to the owner/responsible party for the electronic file, as indicated at block 362). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claimed limitations of the data file disclosed by Zurko and Easley to include the displayed indication is based on the share indication. This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the desire to automatically detect re-sharing of selected electronic file and actively determine re-sharing based on sensitivity of the selected electronic file being shared as suggested by Rice ([0002-0004]).
As per claim 2:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose wherein the share indication comprises an indication that the second user device is attempting at least one of: sharing the data file, sharing a screen presently outputting contents of the data file, sending the data file, copying the data file, or processing the data file (Rice [0031] User 132, Kat, may wish to share file 120 with another user, such as user 134, Jacky. In order to do this, user 132 interacts with one or more user interfaces provided by user interface component 104 to select the electronic file and identify Jacky as the user to which document 120 will be shared with).
As per claim 3:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose wherein the share indication comprises one or more of: an identifier associated with the data file, an identifier associated with the second user device, or an identifier associated with a third user device (Rice [0032] the users are identified by their e-mail address. [0085] wherein the messaging component is configured to compose and transmit the notification using at least one of the modalities selected from the group consisting of email, short message service, and in-application notifications).
As per claim 4:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose wherein receiving the share indication comprises receiving, from the second user device, image data associated with an output of the second user device, the method further comprising determining, based on the image data, contextual data associated with the data file (Rice [0025] The user interface displays illustratively include user input mechanisms that allow the users to control and manipulate data storage provider 100, in order to upload, access, share, and manage electronic files stored within data store 110. The user input mechanisms can include a wide variety of different types of user input mechanisms, such as links, icons, buttons, drop down menus, text boxes, check boxes, etc. In addition, the user input mechanisms can be actuated by the user in a wide variety of different ways. [0037] Notification 200 also includes, in one embodiment, context portion 218 that provides the owner/responsible party with additional information regarding the re-share. Specifically, context portion 218 provides information regarding when and where the re-sharing operation (generated by Kat Johnson) occurred)
As per claim 5:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose based on the indication the second user device is sharing the data file, the first user device to output an alert indicating the second user device is sharing the data file (Rice [0038] when the recipient of the re-share invitation accepts the invitation, such as by clicking on a “accept” link or other structure or control in the e-mail notification, access control component 106 will be updated to grant access to the recipient of the re-share invitation (Jacky), unless access has been previously revoked by the owner/responsible party as set forth above. When a re-sharing invitation is accepted, processor 102 will detect such acceptance and/or the update of the information in the access control component 106 and automatically generate a notification to the owner or responsible party relative to the re-shared electronic file via messaging component 108. In one example, the message is provided in the form of an e-mail to the responsible party or owner (Stephen)).
As per claim 6:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose determining one or more rights associated with the second user device; determining, based on the share indication, a violation of at least one right of the one or more rights; and sending, to the first user device, an alert (Zurko [0033] The policy data (112) may also define specific rights or privileges to be reshared. For example, a user may have the right to reshare "read-only" rights to certain other users. Additional reshare privileges such as "write" or "delete" may also be controlled by the resharing policy data (112)).
As per claim 7:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose receiving, from the first user device, a terminate command configured to cause the second user device to terminate sharing the data file (Rice [0036] If the owner/responsible party wishes to immediately remove access provided by the re-sharing operation, the user can select user interface component 216 which, in one embodiment, may follow or otherwise engage a customized link provided by messaging system 108 in the notification 200 to notify access control component 106 that access provided by the re-sharing of Financial-forecast.pptx by Kat Johnson should be removed. Accordingly, access control component 106 will remove such access by updating an access control list or performing some other suitable access control operation. Thereafter, if the recipient of the re-share should attempt to accept the invitation, access will still be denied. In one embodiment, if the recipient of an invitation relative to re-sharing accesses or otherwise accepts the invitation and the invitation has been cancelled or otherwise removed, the recipient of the invitation may be provided with a notification as such).
As per claim 8:
Zurko discloses a method comprising:
causing, based on an indication of a first share command from first user device associated with a first user, a first share alert to be displayed in a data file, wherein the first share command is configured to share a data file with a second user ([0017] According to one illustrative embodiment, a method for managing file resharing in an online file sharing system may include inviting a user to access a shared file hosted by the online file sharing system. The user may then be allowed to reshare the shared file through the online file sharing system with other users only to an extent permitted by a resharing policy stored by the online file sharing system. The resharing policy may be based on one or more elements attached to, for example, an initiator of a reshare, the receiver of a reshare, the author of a file, and/or the shared file itself. [0053] The "Tags" feature (414) may allow a user to tag a file which is to be shared. A tag may place certain kinds of resharing policy restrictions on a shared file. For example, if a shared file is confidential, a user may tag it with a "confidential" tag. The tagged file may then only be reshared with users who are authorized to view files tagged as confidential. There may be several levels of confidentiality and tags associated with each level);
receiving, from a second user device associated with the second user, a second share command configured to share the data file with a third user ([0044] Resharing polices may also be associated with groups or subgroups. FIGS. 3A-3B are diagrams showing illustrative group (312) resharing policy associations. FIG. 3A is a diagram showing a system wherein resharing of shared files is allowed based on one or more attributes associated with a group assignment of entities (306, 308, 310));
determining based on the second share command, a third user device identifier associated with the third user ([0044] Resharing polices may also be associated with groups or subgroups. FIGS. 3A-3B are diagrams showing illustrative group (312) resharing policy associations. FIG. 3A is a diagram showing a system wherein resharing of shared files is allowed based on one or more attributes associated with a group assignment of entities (306, 308, 310). According to one illustrative embodiment, entities may be placed within groups depending on their position within an organization. In the case that a first entity (306) receives a shared file (304) from an author or administrator (302), the online file sharing system may be configured to allow the first entity (306) to reshare the shared file (304) with another entity (308) within the group (312));
causing, based on the third user device identifier, a second share alert to be displayed ([0054] The "Recent Activity" section (416) may display to a user, the various sharing, and resharing activities which a user has been associated with. If the user is an administrator, the recent activity may display all resharing activities relevant to the administrator which are occurring in the organization. This notification of reshares may also occur outside of the user interface. For example, an administrator may receive a message through a means of communication such as an email indicating that a particular reshare has occurred. In certain embodiments, an administrator may filter which notifications of which types or reshares with which he or she is notified. Additionally or alternatively, notification of reshares may be provided to an author or owner of a file).
Zurko does not explicitly disclose causing an interface of the application displaying contents of the data file. Easley, in analogous art however, discloses causing an interface of the application displaying contents of the data file ([0035] As can be appreciated, these functions can be implemented through an application on the UE 124, which can facilitate capturing and communicating the identification 206. Such an application may also allow the user to select media content to be put on the data stream 204 to the display 144 by the media server 202. For example, in at least one embodiment, the media server 202 is in communication with the UE 124, and thereby knows who the user is, where they are, and what media services (such as Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, etc.) to which the user subscribes. In any case, the media server 202 may provide a list of the media services to which the user subscribes to the UE 124, from which the user selects. Upon receiving the selection, the media server 202 puts that media content on the data stream 204 to be displayed on the display 144. Thereafter, the user may control the data stream 204 to the display 144, such as by changing the media content, fast forwarding, rewinding, pausing, etc. The list of the media services may be known to the application on the UE 124, such that the media server 202 does not need to send the list to the UE 124. [0036] In at least one embodiment, the UE 124 is a source of media content, in addition to or as an alternative to the content sources 125. For example, content, such as power point presentations, video, images, and/or live streaming, on the UE 124 may be mirrored on the display 144. This may be done via the media server 202 and data stream 204, thereby requiring no direct communication from the UE 124 to the display 144. [0047] Any of the systems 200, 210, 220 may include a display being used as a portal for accessing messaging and other Web notification services. User text messages, IM, callerID, VM notification may be displayed via overlay to the display being controlled by a user. Displays used as described herein may expose WebRTC capabilities associated with the UE. The display may then be used to display content from the WebRTC session. Displays used as described herein may have a real-time overlay encoded on top of the media content being displayed thereon, which may allow the controlling user to draw on the display using the touch interface of their UE. The UE may share drawing capabilities with other devices by transmitting a message with a unique code/identifier that allows for control of the overlay. Using the known network location of the UE controlling a screen, the overlay and/or content stream may be customized to match location specific context, such as local attraction information, hotel maps, neighborhood traffic, etc. [0048] A display in use may expose its overlay via an API to allow for integration with third party services. The API exposure layer allows the third party service to use the overlay to display content, such as secondary video, messaging, audio over the top of the primary data stream. Third party services may also allow sharing of a stream to friends or other users. Access to any data stream might be granted based on subscription status of any of the users. Third party API access to a data stream may allow the third party to offer sponsorship of the data stream and/or control the content thereon. [0052] As shown in 234, a user wishing to control a display device 144, or a portion thereof, captures the respective identification 206 from the display device 144, or a portion thereof. This may be done by taking a picture or video clip of the display device 144, or a portion thereof. The identification 206 may be embedded in the media content being displayed on the display device 144, or a portion thereof. The identification 206 may be embedded in a logo overlaid on the media content being displayed on the display device 144, or a portion thereof. The identification 206 may be periodically flashed on the display device 144, or a portion thereof, faster than the human eye can register, thereby not being apparent (or otherwise be invisible) to the user, thereby not detracting from the media content being displayed on the display device 144. As such, the identification 206 may be embedded in the data stream 204 and/or sub-stream to the display device 144 continuously, or repeatedly, without requiring the user to request it or detracting from the media content being displayed on the display device 144. In one embodiment, the identification 206 may simply be a sticker or other placard on or near the display device 144).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claimed limitations of the data file disclosed by Zurko to include causing an interface of the application displaying contents of the data file. This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the desire to provide a media server to facilitate sending a data stream that includes a first sub-stream and/or an identification that identifies the data stream and/or first sub-stream associates the data stream or first sub-stream with the first user. The media server then accesses account information of the first user, which may list media services to which the first user has subscribed as suggested by Easley ([0015]).
Zurko and Easley do not explicitly disclose the share associated with the data file is a share indication. Rice, in analogous art however, discloses the share associated with the data file is a share indication ([0032] User interface 150 may be generated in response to a user clicking on or otherwise selecting a file within data store 110 and indicating or requesting sharing of the selected file. [0033] When the user selects share confirmation button 160, the various e-mail invitations will be provided by messaging component 108 to the selected recipients. Accordingly, processor 102 detect such re-sharing and engage messaging component 108 to additionally send a notification (via any suitable route or modality), to the owner or other responsible party (user 130) of the electronic file. In one embodiment, upon detecting the share operation, processor 102 will first check to see person sharing the electronic file is the owner or responsible party for the electronic file. If the sharer is not the file owner, or responsible party, processor 102 will causing messaging system 108 to compose and transmit an electronic notification to the file owner or responsible party containing the name of the electronic file, identification of one or more recipients, and any other suitable information that may be of interest to the file owner or responsible party. [0035] A notification provided by data storage system 100 to an owner/responsible party relative to a re-sharing of an electronic file. Notification 200 includes an identification of the re-sharing party/user (kat@fabrikam.com) as indicated at reference numeral 202, an indication of the re-shared electronic file (Financial-forecast.pptx) as indicated at reference numeral 204 as well as an indication of the recipient(s) of the re-share invitation as jacky@fabrikam.com, indicated at reference numeral 206. A notification 200 provides a summary display of the electronic file including an icon 208 based on file type, date of last modification 210, and file size 212. [0043] Generating notifications relative to re-sharing of electronic files …where an original electronic file is created or otherwise uploaded to an on-line storage provider. Next, at block 354, the owner or other responsible party of the original electronic document sets one or more first-level shares with respect to the electronic file. Examples of first-level shares are the owner or responsible party directly sharing the file with one or more other users. At block 356, the on-line data storage provider detects that one or more of the users with whom the owner/responsible party has shared access to the electronic file has re-shared the electronic file. This re-sharing may be with respect to additional users within the same organization as the user and/or with respect to one or more external users. Further, the notification generated relative to the detected second-level share can provide an indication whether the second-level share included any external users. The generation of the notification with respect to the second-level share is indicated at block 358. When one or more of the recipients of the invitation for the second-level share accepts the invitation, such acceptance is detected at block 360. This means that the user that has accepted the second-level share now has access to the electronic file. Method 350 automatically generates a notification to the owner/responsible party for the electronic file, as indicated at block 362). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claimed limitations of the data file disclosed by Zurko and Easley to include the share associated with the data file is a share indication. This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the desire to automatically detect re-sharing of selected electronic file and actively determine re-sharing based on sensitivity of the selected electronic file being shared as suggested by Rice ([0002-0004]).
As per claim 9:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose wherein the first share command comprises an access command and wherein the second share command comprises a screenshare command (Rice [0032] compose an e-mail to jacky@fabrikam.com containing an invitation to share Financial-forecast.pptx. Once the user has suitably configured the sharing of Financial-forecast.pptx, the user can confirm the sharing by selecting share button 160. When button 160 is selected, the one or more electronic notifications are sent to the recipients inviting them to receive access to the selected file. Additionally, user interface 150 includes an alert 162 that notifies the user that the file is only shared with the user. This may alert the user to the fact that the file may contain potentially sensitive or at least not widely disclosed information. Additionally, user interface 150 also includes a user interface component 164 that, when actuated, allows the user to see other users with whom the file has been shared).
As per claim 10:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose wherein the first share alert comprises an indication that a second user associated with the second user device is accessing the data file (Rice [0032] When button 160 is selected, the one or more electronic notifications are sent to the recipients inviting them to receive access to the selected file. Additionally, user interface 150 includes an alert 162 that notifies the user that the file is only shared with the user. This may alert the user to the fact that the file may contain potentially sensitive or at least not widely disclosed information. Additionally, user interface 150 also includes a user interface component 164 that, when actuated, allows the user to see other users with whom the file has been shared).
As per claim 11:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose wherein the second share alert comprises an indication that a third user device associated with the third user device identifier is outputting the data file, wherein the third user is not associated with the first share command (Rice [0072] generate a user interface that allows a first user to select an electronic file to be re-shared with second user. The processor is configured to detect re-sharing of the selected electronic file by the first user and automatically generate a notification to a third user. The notification is configured to allow the third user to cancel the re-sharing of the electronic file.)
As per claim 12:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose determining the third user device is not authorized to access the data file; and based on the third user device not being authorized to access the data file, sending an alert to the first user device (Rice [0036] It may be that the owner/responsible party needs to review the contents of the re-shared file in order to determine the propriety of the re-share. If the owner/responsible party wishes to immediately remove access provided by the re-sharing operation, the user can select user interface component 216 which, in one embodiment, may follow or otherwise engage a customized link provided by messaging system 108 in the notification 200 to notify access control component 106 that access provided by the re-sharing of Financial-forecast.pptx by Kat Johnson should be removed. Accordingly, access control component 106 will remove such access by updating an access control list or performing some other suitable access control operation. [004] Message 260 also indicates that kat@contoso.com viewed the re-shared document. This may be an indicator of unauthorized access).
As per claim 13:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose wherein causing the second share alert to be output in the data file comprises causing an icon to be displayed in the data file (Rice [0059] a display capable of displaying images including application images, icons, web pages, photographs, and video, and control buttons for selecting items shown on the display..
As per claim 14:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose determining contextual data associated a display of the second user device; and determining, based on the contextual data associated with the display, an identifier associated with the data file (Rice [0039] The owner/responsible party may revoke or otherwise remove access to the re-shared electronic file by engaging control 216. Notification 250 also includes a context portion 218 that provides the context of the viewing operation with respect to the re-shared file. In the example shown in FIG. 5, the context of the viewing of the re-shared electronic file indicates that Kat viewed the Financial-forecast.pptx file on Dec. 30, 2015. Further, Kat was employing a browser entitled “Firefox” and using the Windows operating system).
As per claim 15:
Zurko discloses a method comprising:
receiving from a first user device associated with a first user, a share command, wherein the share command is configured to share a data file with a second user ([0017] According to one illustrative embodiment, a method for managing file resharing in an online file sharing system may include inviting a user to access a shared file hosted by the online file sharing system. The user may then be allowed to reshare the shared file through the online file sharing system with other users only to an extent permitted by a resharing policy stored by the online file sharing system. The resharing policy may be based on one or more elements attached to, for example, an initiator of a reshare, the receiver of a reshare, the author of a file, and/or the shared file itself);
displaying, via the first user device, and based on a determination that the data file is currently on the first user device ([0054] The "Recent Activity" section (416) may display to a user, the various sharing, and resharing activities which a user has been associated with. If the user is an administrator, the recent activity may display all resharing activities relevant to the administrator which are occurring in the organization. This notification of reshares may also occur outside of the user interface. For example, an administrator may receive a message through a means of communication such as an email indicating that a particular reshare has occurred. In certain embodiments, an administrator may filter which notifications of which types or reshares with which he or she is notified. Additionally or alternatively, notification of reshares may be provided to an author or owner of a file);
an alert on the data file indicating that the second user is sharing the data file via a video conference with a third user ([0053] The "Tags" feature (414) may allow a user to tag a file which is to be shared. A tag may place certain kinds of resharing policy restrictions on a shared file. For example, if a shared file is confidential, a user may tag it with a "confidential" tag. The tagged file may then only be reshared with users who are authorized to view files tagged as confidential. There may be several levels of confidentiality and tags associated with each level);
wherein the third user is not an authorized user (Rice [0036] It may be that the owner/responsible party needs to review the contents of the re-shared file in order to determine the propriety of the re-share. If the owner/responsible party wishes to immediately remove access provided by the re-sharing operation, the user can select user interface component 216 which, in one embodiment, may follow or otherwise engage a customized link provided by messaging system 108 in the notification 200 to notify access control component 106 that access provided by the re-sharing of Financial-forecast.pptx by Kat Johnson should be removed. Accordingly, access control component 106 will remove such access by updating an access control list or performing some other suitable access control operation. [004] Message 260 also indicates that kat@contoso.com viewed the re-shared document. This may be an indicator of unauthorized access);
sending, based on the third user not being an authorized, a message to a second user device associated with the second user (Rice [0036] It may be that the owner/responsible party needs to review the contents of the re-shared file in order to determine the propriety of the re-share. If the owner/responsible party wishes to immediately remove access provided by the re-sharing operation, the user can select user interface component 216 which, in one embodiment, may follow or otherwise engage a customized link provided by messaging system 108 in the notification 200 to notify access control component 106 that access provided by the re-sharing of Financial-forecast.pptx by Kat Johnson should be removed. Accordingly, access control component 106 will remove such access by updating an access control list or performing some other suitable access control operation. [004] Message 260 also indicates that kat@contoso.com viewed the re-shared document. This may be an indicator of unauthorized access);
wherein the message is configured to cause the second user device to stop sharing the data file (Rice [0036] It may be that the owner/responsible party needs to review the contents of the re-shared file in order to determine the propriety of the re-share. If the owner/responsible party wishes to immediately remove access provided by the re-sharing operation, the user can select user interface component 216 which, in one embodiment, may follow or otherwise engage a customized link provided by messaging system 108 in the notification 200 to notify access control component 106 that access provided by the re-sharing of Financial-forecast.pptx by Kat Johnson should be removed. Accordingly, access control component 106 will remove such access by updating an access control list or performing some other suitable access control operation. [004] Message 260 also indicates that kat@contoso.com viewed the re-shared document. This may be an indicator of unauthorized access).
Zurko does not explicitly disclose contents of the data file are currently being displayed in an interface of an application configured to display the contents of the data file. Easley, in analogous art however, discloses contents of the data file are currently being displayed in an interface of an application configured to display the contents of the data file ([0035] As can be appreciated, these functions can be implemented through an application on the UE 124, which can facilitate capturing and communicating the identification 206. Such an application may also allow the user to select media content to be put on the data stream 204 to the display 144 by the media server 202. For example, in at least one embodiment, the media server 202 is in communication with the UE 124, and thereby knows who the user is, where they are, and what media services (such as Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, etc.) to which the user subscribes. In any case, the media server 202 may provide a list of the media services to which the user subscribes to the UE 124, from which the user selects. Upon receiving the selection, the media server 202 puts that media content on the data stream 204 to be displayed on the display 144. Thereafter, the user may control the data stream 204 to the display 144, such as by changing the media content, fast forwarding, rewinding, pausing, etc. The list of the media services may be known to the application on the UE 124, such that the media server 202 does not need to send the list to the UE 124. [0036] In at least one embodiment, the UE 124 is a source of media content, in addition to or as an alternative to the content sources 125. For example, content, such as power point presentations, video, images, and/or live streaming, on the UE 124 may be mirrored on the display 144. This may be done via the media server 202 and data stream 204, thereby requiring no direct communication from the UE 124 to the display 144. [0047] Any of the systems 200, 210, 220 may include a display being used as a portal for accessing messaging and other Web notification services. User text messages, IM, callerID, VM notification may be displayed via overlay to the display being controlled by a user. Displays used as described herein may expose WebRTC capabilities associated with the UE. The display may then be used to display content from the WebRTC session. Displays used as described herein may have a real-time overlay encoded on top of the media content being displayed thereon, which may allow the controlling user to draw on the display using the touch interface of their UE. The UE may share drawing capabilities with other devices by transmitting a message with a unique code/identifier that allows for control of the overlay. Using the known network location of the UE controlling a screen, the overlay and/or content stream may be customized to match location specific context, such as local attraction information, hotel maps, neighborhood traffic, etc. [0048] A display in use may expose its overlay via an API to allow for integration with third party services. The API exposure layer allows the third party service to use the overlay to display content, such as secondary video, messaging, audio over the top of the primary data stream. Third party services may also allow sharing of a stream to friends or other users. Access to any data stream might be granted based on subscription status of any of the users. Third party API access to a data stream may allow the third party to offer sponsorship of the data stream and/or control the content thereon. [0052] As shown in 234, a user wishing to control a display device 144, or a portion thereof, captures the respective identification 206 from the display device 144, or a portion thereof. This may be done by taking a picture or video clip of the display device 144, or a portion thereof. The identification 206 may be embedded in the media content being displayed on the display device 144, or a portion thereof. The identification 206 may be embedded in a logo overlaid on the media content being displayed on the display device 144, or a portion thereof. The identification 206 may be periodically flashed on the display device 144, or a portion thereof, faster than the human eye can register, thereby not being apparent (or otherwise be invisible) to the user, thereby not detracting from the media content being displayed on the display device 144. As such, the identification 206 may be embedded in the data stream 204 and/or sub-stream to the display device 144 continuously, or repeatedly, without requiring the user to request it or detracting from the media content being displayed on the display device 144. In one embodiment, the identification 206 may simply be a sticker or other placard on or near the display device 144).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claimed limitations of the data file disclosed by Zurko to include contents of the data file are currently being displayed in an interface of an application configured to display the contents of the data file. This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the desire to provide a media server to facilitate sending a data stream that includes a first sub-stream and/or an identification that identifies the data stream and/or first sub-stream associates the data stream or first sub-stream with the first user. The media server then accesses account information of the first user, which may list media services to which the first user has subscribed as suggested by Easley ([0015]).
Zurko does not explicitly disclose the share associated with the data file is a share indication. Rice, in analogous art however, discloses the share associated with the data file is a share indication ([0032] User interface 150 may be generated in response to a user clicking on or otherwise selecting a file within data store 110 and indicating or requesting sharing of the selected file. [0033] When the user selects share confirmation button 160, the various e-mail invitations will be provided by messaging component 108 to the selected recipients. Accordingly, processor 102 detect such re-sharing and engage messaging component 108 to additionally send a notification (via any suitable route or modality), to the owner or other responsible party (user 130) of the electronic file. In one embodiment, upon detecting the share operation, processor 102 will first check to see person sharing the electronic file is the owner or responsible party for the electronic file. If the sharer is not the file owner, or responsible party, processor 102 will causing messaging system 108 to compose and transmit an electronic notification to the file owner or responsible party containing the name of the electronic file, identification of one or more recipients, and any other suitable information that may be of interest to the file owner or responsible party. [0035] A notification provided by data storage system 100 to an owner/responsible party relative to a re-sharing of an electronic file. Notification 200 includes an identification of the re-sharing party/user (kat@fabrikam.com) as indicated at reference numeral 202, an indication of the re-shared electronic file (Financial-forecast.pptx) as indicated at reference numeral 204 as well as an indication of the recipient(s) of the re-share invitation as jacky@fabrikam.com, indicated at reference numeral 206. A notification 200 provides a summary display of the electronic file including an icon 208 based on file type, date of last modification 210, and file size 212. [0043] Generating notifications relative to re-sharing of electronic files …where an original electronic file is created or otherwise uploaded to an on-line storage provider. Next, at block 354, the owner or other responsible party of the original electronic document sets one or more first-level shares with respect to the electronic file. Examples of first-level shares are the owner or responsible party directly sharing the file with one or more other users. At block 356, the on-line data storage provider detects that one or more of the users with whom the owner/responsible party has shared access to the electronic file has re-shared the electronic file. This re-sharing may be with respect to additional users within the same organization as the user and/or with respect to one or more external users. Further, the notification generated relative to the detected second-level share can provide an indication whether the second-level share included any external users. The generation of the notification with respect to the second-level share is indicated at block 358. When one or more of the recipients of the invitation for the second-level share accepts the invitation, such acceptance is detected at block 360. This means that the user that has accepted the second-level share now has access to the electronic file. Method 350 automatically generates a notification to the owner/responsible party for the electronic file, as indicated at block 362). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claimed limitations of the data file disclosed by Zurko to include the share associated with the data file is a share indication. This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the desire to automatically detect re-sharing of selected electronic file and actively determine re-sharing based on sensitivity of the selected electronic file being shared as suggested by Rice ([0002-0004]).
As per claim 16:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose wherein the indication of the share command comprises a message comprising one or more of: a first user device identifier associated with the first use device, a second user device identifier associated with the second user device, and a data file identifier associated with the data file (Zurko [0037] Notification 200 also includes, in one embodiment, context portion 218 that provides the owner/responsible party with additional information regarding the re-share. Specifically, context portion 218 provides information regarding when and where the re-sharing operation (generated by Kat Johnson) occurred).
As per claim 17:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose wherein the share command comprises one or more of: sending the data file to the second user device, granting access to the data file to the second user device, or screensharing with the second user device (Zurko [0059] The "Permissions" section may allow a user to add a few additional properties to an uploaded file. The user may have the option to allow author access (520). This may give those who have the right to view the uploaded file, the right to edit or make changes to the uploaded file. The user may also explicitly allow resharing (522) of the uploaded files. The resharing may be further restricted by other resharing policies associated with the online file sharing system).
As per claim 18:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose receiving, from the second user device, a termination confirmation (Rice [0036] If the owner/responsible party wishes to immediately remove access provided by the re-sharing operation, the user can select user interface component 216 which, in one embodiment, may follow or otherwise engage a customized link provided by messaging system 108 in the notification 200 to notify access control component 106 that access provided by the re-sharing of Financial-forecast.pptx by Kat Johnson should be removed).
As per claim 19:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose wherein the share command is configured to cause a second user device to output the data file and wherein outputting the data file comprise at least one of: displaying contents of the data file, sending the data file, copying the data file, or processing the data file (Rice [0033] detect such re-sharing and engage messaging component 108 to additionally send a notification (via any suitable route or modality), to the owner or other responsible party (user 130) of the electronic file).
As per claim 20:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose receiving, from the second user device, at least one rights request comprising an identifier associated with the second user device; and determining, based on the at least one rights request and the identifier associated with the second user device, one or more rights associated with the second user device (Zurko [0059] The "Permissions" section may allow a user to add a few additional properties to an uploaded file. The user may have the option to allow author access (520). This may give those who have the right to view the uploaded file, the right to edit or make changes to the uploaded file. The user may also explicitly allow resharing (522) of the uploaded files. The resharing may be further restricted by other resharing policies associated with the online file sharing system).
As per claim 21-23:
Zurko, Easley and Rice disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the indication is displayed while the application is actively rendering the contents of the data file for viewing or editing (Easley [0047] Any of the systems 200, 210, 220 may include a display being used as a portal for accessing messaging and other Web notification services. User text messages, IM, callerID, VM notification may be displayed via overlay to the display being controlled by a user. Displays used as described herein may expose WebRTC capabilities associated with the UE. The display may then be used to display content from the WebRTC session. Displays used as described herein may have a real-time overlay encoded on top of the media content being displayed thereon, which may allow the controlling user to draw on the display using the touch interface of their UE. The UE may share drawing capabilities with other devices by transmitting a message with a unique code/identifier that allows for control of the overlay. Using the known network location of the UE controlling a screen, the overlay and/or content stream may be customized to match location specific context, such as local attraction information, hotel maps, neighborhood traffic, etc.).
BRI (Broadest Reasonable Interpretation)
The above claims under examination have been given their BRI consistent with the applicant’s disclosure as they would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention. In order to construe, appraise boundary and scope of the claimed limitations, the following claim words or terms or phrases or languages have been given to them their BRI considerations and context in view of the applicant’s disclosure. For example, for the following claim words or terms or phrases or languages, the examiner recites BRI considerations from the applicant’s disclosure as follows:
Application: [Applicant’s Disclosure: 0029] The application 104 may be configured to interface, for example through one or more Application Program Interfaces (APIs), with one or more applications and/or programs. For example, the application 104 may be configured to interface with and/or otherwise interact with the one or more underlying applications and/or one or more share applications. The one or more underlying applications may comprise one or more native applications hosted on the user device 110A and/or the one or more applications may comprise browser-based applications hosted on a remote computing device. For example, the one or more underlying applications may comprise one or more word processing applications (e.g., MICROSOFT WORD, GOOGLE DOCS, or the like), one or more data entry or processing applications (e.g., MICROSOFT EXCEL, GOOGLE SHEETS, or the like), one or more content presentation applications (e.g., MICROSOFT POWERPOINT, GOOGLE SLIDES, or the like), one or more web browsers, or any other applications. The one or more share applications may comprise one or more applications configured to share (e.g., send, receive, output, generate, store, or otherwise process) data. For example, the one or more share applications may comprise MICROSOFT TEAMS, GOOGLE WORKSPACE, SKYPE, ZOOM, SLACK, AIM, FLOCK, TWIST, GOTOMEETING, DISCORD, combinations, or the like.
Share Indication: [Applicant’s Disclosure:0035] An indication from a user device that a user has accessed a data file may be received. For example, the monitoring component may be configured to receive an indication, from a user device of the one or more user devices, that a user has accessed a data file of the one or more data files. Similarly, the monitoring component may be configured to receive a notification from the first underlying application 112A that the first user has accessed a data file. It may be determined that two devices are simultaneously accessing the data file. For example, the monitoring component may determine that two devices are simultaneously accessing the data file. For example, the monitoring device may determine the first user and the second user are simultaneously accessing the first data file. For example, the first user may access the first date file at a first time. The first user may share the first data file with the second user. Sharing the first data file with the second user may comprise sending the first data file to the second user. If the first user and the second user are in a videoconference, sharing the first data file with the second user may comprise selecting the first data file for sharing with the second user. For example, the first user and the second user may be participating in a videoconference. The first user may execute a share action. The share action may comprise sharing the data file. Sharing the data file may comprise selecting the data file and selecting a share option, as opposed to simply sharing a display of the first user device that is presently displaying the first data file. Based on the first user sharing the first data file with the second user, the computing device 102 may receive a first share indication.
Notification : [Applicant’s Disclosure:0072] At step 730, a notification to the one or more user devices associated with the one or more user accounts may be sent. The notification may indicate the data file is being shared. For example, based on receiving the share indication, the monitoring component may determine the share right associated with the second user device indicates the second user device is not permitted to share the data file. Based on determining that the second user device is not permitted to share the data file, the monitoring component may send, to a first user device a share alert configured to output, on the display associated with the first user device an alert, or other indication indicating the second user device is attempting to share the first data file. The share alert may be agnostic with respect to the intended recipient of the share action or the share alert may indicate the intended recipient of the share action.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the notice of reference cited in form PTO-892 for additional prior arts.
Hancock et al. (US 10938864 B2) discloses a real time communications between service provider subscribers and a web server that is operable to provide a network-to-network interface (NNI) with a plurality of service providers, to communicate with the service providers through WebRTC links, and to retrieve contact information of subscribers to the service providers over the WebRTC links. The web server includes a database operable to store the contact information of the subscribers. The web server is operable to process a connection request from a first of the subscribers to connect with a second of the subscribers, to retrieve the second subscriber's contact information from the database, to push a notification message to a device of the second subscriber using the second subscriber's contact information (e.g., a user identity), and to establish a WebRTC connection between first and second subscribers when the second subscriber accepts the connection.
Contact Information
/TECHANE GERGISO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494