DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-10, 12, and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Objection to the Specification is withdrawn due to the amendments to paras. [0008] and [0035].
35 USC § 112(b) claim rejections to claims 9-14 are withdrawn due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-10, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the following limitation on lines 4-10 of the claim: “the positive temperature coefficient ink comprises conductive particles distributed in an organic crystalline polymeric matrix, and wherein the organic crystalline polymeric matrix material of the organic crystalline polymeric matrix includes high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, medium density polyethylene, copolymer of ethylene and acrylic acid, polypropylene, polyvinylidene fluoride, poly-1-butene, and fluorinated ethylene and propylene copolymer”, however the Specification recites in para. [0030]: “The PTC ink 224 (sometimes referred to as carbon resistor ink) may be made from a polymeric material. For example, and with reference to FIG. 4A, the PTC ink 224 may be made from an organic crystalline matrix material 230 having conductive particles 232 distributed therein. The organic crystalline polymeric matrix material 230 may include high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, medium density polyethylene, copolymer of ethylene and acrylic acid, polypropylene, polyvinylidene fluoride, poly-1-butene, fluorinated ethylene/propylene copolymer, and the like”, providing a list of materials the PTC ink may include, implying different materials are interchangeable depending on a desired result. The Specification does not disclose the PTC ink as a composition which contains all the materials in the list as claimed.
Independent claims 9 and 15 both objectively have the same limitation amended as claim 1 and thus have the same reasoning for rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 2018/0093455 by Jianhua Zou (“Zou”) in view of US Pub. 2020/0120760 by Jin Hu et al. (“Hu”), US Pub. 2013/0094116 by Quan-quan Yang et al. (“Yang”) and US Pub. 2012/0275774 by Rainer Goering et al. (“Goering”).
Regarding claim 1, Zou teaches a heater (Abstract, Fig. 3), comprising:
a first substrate (substrate layer 120) including a first silicone layer (high-consistency silicone rubber adhesive layer 410) and a first polyimide layer (polyimide layer 210);
a heating element (heating element 510) formed over the first polyimide layer (Para. [0032]); and
a second substrate (substrate layer 110) located over the heating element (Fig. 3), the second substrate including a second silicone layer (high-consistency silicone layer 400) and a second polyimide layer (polyimide layer 200). Zou does not expressly disclose the heater being self-regulating or that the heating element is a positive temperature coefficient heating element.
However, Hu teaches a similar flexible heating assembly (Fig. 3, para. [0015]) with a self-regulating positive temperature coefficient heating element (Para. [0015]: “[a] self-limiting positive temperature coefficient (PTC) heating material is used”),
wherein the positive temperature coefficient heating element comprises a positive temperature coefficient ink (Para. [0023]: “PTC heater 28 is an additively manufactured PTC ink on the surface of inner dielectric 26”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the flexible heater assembly of Zou with the additively manufactured PTC ink as taught by Hu. PTC inks are known in the art and considered advantageous for being “self-regulating heaters that run open loop without any external diagnostic controls” (Para. [0023]) and available to obtain as “PTC inks include DuPont® 7292 from DuPont USA or Henkel® EC1 8060 from Henkel” (Para. [0023]).
Zou and Hu do not teach wherein the positive temperature coefficient ink comprises conductive particles distributed in an organic crystalline polymeric matrix, and wherein the organic crystalline polymeric matrix material of the organic crystalline polymeric matrix includes high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, medium density polyethylene, copolymer of ethylene and acrylic acid, polypropylene, polyvinylidene fluoride, poly-1-butene, and fluorinated ethylene and propylene copolymer.
However, Yang teaches the positive temperature coefficient ink (Para. [0003]) comprises conductive particles distributed in an organic crystalline polymeric matrix (Para. [0003]: “PTC conductive composite materials usually include a matrix of crystalline polymer material in which conductive fillers are uniformly dispersed”), and wherein the organic crystalline polymeric matrix material of the organic crystalline polymeric matrix includes high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, medium density polyethylene (Para. [0015]: “the crystalline polymer is one of or the mixture of … the polyethylene also includes high-density polyethylene, low-density polyethylene, linear low-density polyethylene and ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene and so on”), copolymer of ethylene and acrylic acid (Para. [0015]: “ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer”), polypropylene (Para. [0015]: “polypropylene”), polyvinylidene fluoride (Para. [0015]: “polyvinylidene fluoride”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the self-regulating heater of Zou and Hu the PTC conductive particle composition materials as taught by Yang. Various PTC polymer materials are known in the art for various reasons depending on the application, Yang teaches various ratios and combinations in order “to provide an overcurrent protection component with this PTC conductive composite material. And the component has low resistance at room temperature, good reproducibility of resistance and well PTC intensity” (Para. [0005]).
Zou, Hu, and Yang do not include poly-1-butene, and fluorinated ethylene and propylene copolymer as possible materials.
However, Goering teaches a temperature controllable coated pipe (Para. [0003]) with a PTC effect (Para. [0064]) wherein the suitable materials for the electrically conductive polymers include poly-1-butene (Paras. [0042]-[0043]), and fluorinated ethylene and propylene copolymer (Para. [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the heating system of Zou, Hu, and Yang with the compositions as taught by Goering. One of ordinary skill would choose the most appropriate composition of materials based on various conditions such as the type of material being conveyed in a pipe, external conditions such as weather, and flexibility (Paras. [0007]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Zou and Hu do not expressly disclose wherein the positive temperature coefficient ink wherein the conductive particles comprise carbon black.
However, Yang teaches a method for producing a PTC ink composition wherein the positive temperature coefficient ink comprises conductive particles, wherein the conductive particles comprise carbon black (Para. [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the PTC ink of the flexible heating assembly of Zou, Hu, Yang, and Goering with the composition of carbon black conductive particles as further taught by Yang. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include this feature in order to improve resistance stability (Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Zou further teaches a dielectric adhesive deposited between the first polyimide layer and the positive temperature coefficient ink (Fig. 3, para. [0032]); and
a dielectric adhesive deposited between the second polyimide layer and the positive temperature coefficient ink (Para. [0032]: “the heating element 510 is disposed between the first and second substrates 110 and 120 … substrate layer 110, which comprises a polyimide (or other polymer) layer 200, an adhesion primer 300 disposed on one side thereof, and a high-consistency silicone rubber adhesive layer 400 disposed on the primer layer 300 and another substrate layer 120 which comprises a polyimide (or other polymer) layer 210, an adhesion primer 310 disposed on one side thereof, and a high-consistency silicone adhesive layer 410 disposed on the primer layer 310”).
Regarding claim 7, Zou does not expressly disclose wherein the first silicone layer and the second silicone layer form an exterior surface of the self-regulating heater.
However, Hu teaches a self-regulating flexible heater wherein the exterior surface layer is formed with silicone (Fig. 3, paras. [0022] and [0033]: “Inner dielectric 26 can be polyimide, polyurethane, silicone, or other materials deemed suitable by a person of skill in the art … Outer dielectric 34 can be, for example, a polyimide, polyurethane, or silicone”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the flexible heater of Zou, Hu, Yang, and Goering with the feature of having a silicone exterior surface as further taught by Hu. One of ordinary skill would choose this type of material in order to provide added protection and “electrically insulates bus bar 30 from the external environment, preventing shorting” (Para. [0033]).
Regarding claim 8, Zou further teaches wherein the first substrate has a thickness of between 0.0065 inches and 0.0085 inches (Para. [0019]: “the polyimide layers can have a thickness of 2 to 5,000 micrometers (μm) (0.08 to 200 mil), para, [0020]: “the primer layers can have a thickness of 1 to 2,000 micrometers (μm) (0.04 to 80 mil), and para, [0025]: “the silicone adhesive layers can have a thickness of 2 to 10,000 micrometers (μm) (0.08 to 400 mil)”, all thicknesses vary depending on the intended use but the three layers added together as a substrate fall within the range of 0.0065-0.0085 inches). Zou does not expressly disclose a positive temperature coefficient heating element.
However, Hu teaches the positive temperature coefficient heating element has a thickness of between 0.015 inches and 0.025 inches (Para. [0028]: “The PTC ink of additively manufactured PTC heater 28 should have a thickness of approximately between 0.0001″-0.010″. Multiple passes are done by the print head when applying the conductive ink. Each layer deposited through individual passes of the print head should have a thickness of approximately 1-100 microns”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the flexible heater assembly of Zou, Hu, Yang, and Goering with the PTC heating element dimensions as further taught by Hu. One of ordinary skill would adjust the thickness of the heating element depending on the intended use of the heater and desired temperature ranges or flexibility.
Claims 9, 10, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 2020/0116388 by Kevin Edward Roach (“Roach”) in view US Pub. 2018/0093455 by Jianhua Zou (“Zou”), US Pub. 2020/0120760 by Jin Hu et al. (“Hu”), US Pub. 2013/0094116 by Quan-quan Yang et al. (“Yang”) and US Pub. 2012/0275774 by Rainer Goering et al. (“Goering”).
Regarding claim 9, Roach teaches an aircraft wastewater system (Abstract), comprising:
a waste tank (Para. [0004]: water tanks);
a conduit fluidly connected to the waste tank (Para. [0003]: tube for a water system); and
a self-regulating heater (Para. [0020]: heater 10) coupled to an exterior surface of at least one of the waste tank or the conduit (Para. [0018]: “additively manufactured heaters designed and printed for aircraft components needing heating, for example, water system components such as tubes and tanks … additively manufactured heaters can be printed onto stretchable (or fabric) substrates, which can conform to the geometric shape of the surface of the component to which it is applied”), the self-regulating heater including:
a first substrate (Para. [0024]: substrate 14) including a first polyimide layer (Para. [0039]: “where the assembly surface is electrically conductive (metallic), this necessitates the use of an intermediary dielectric layer between the assembly and additively manufactured heater … such as polyimide”), wherein the positive temperature coefficient heating element comprises a positive temperature coefficient ink (Paras. [0003]-[0005]);
a positive temperature coefficient heating element (Para. [0034]: conductive ink 12) formed over the first polyimide layer (Para. [0039]); and
a second substrate (Para. [0036]: closeout material) located over the positive temperature coefficient heating element (Para. [0036]), the second substrate including a second silicone layer and a second polyimide layer (Para. [0036]: “[a]fter heater 10 is additively manufactured onto substrate 14, it may be closed out with a dielectric material, such as acrylic, neoprene, polyurethane, polyimide, silicone, or an epoxy-fiberglass matrix”).
While Roach teaches the heating element between substrates having a silicone or polyimide layer, Roach does not expressly teach the substrates having both a layer of silicone and a layer of polyimide.
However, Zou teaches a similar flexible heating system (Abstract) comprising a first substrate (substrate layer 120) including a first silicone layer (high-consistency silicone rubber adhesive layer 410) and a first polyimide layer (polyimide layer 210); a heating element (heating element 510) formed over the first polyimide layer (Para. [0032]); and a second substrate (substrate layer 110) located over the heating element (Fig. 3), the second substrate including a second silicone layer (high-consistency silicone layer 400) and a second polyimide layer (polyimide layer 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the heating system of Roach with the substrate layers as taught by Zou. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include the features of Zou in order to lower cure times during production and improve longevity (Paras. [0003]-[0004]).
Roach and Zou do not teach wherein the positive temperature coefficient ink comprises conductive particles distributed in an organic crystalline polymeric matrix, and wherein the organic crystalline polymeric matrix material of the organic crystalline polymeric matrix includes high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, medium density polyethylene, copolymer of ethylene and acrylic acid, polypropylene, polyvinylidene fluoride, poly-1-butene, and fluorinated ethylene and propylene copolymer.
However, Yang teaches the positive temperature coefficient ink (Para. [0003]) comprises conductive particles distributed in an organic crystalline polymeric matrix (Para. [0003]: “PTC conductive composite materials usually include a matrix of crystalline polymer material in which conductive fillers are uniformly dispersed”), and wherein the organic crystalline polymeric matrix material of the organic crystalline polymeric matrix includes high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, medium density polyethylene (Para. [0015]: “the crystalline polymer is one of or the mixture of … the polyethylene also includes high-density polyethylene, low-density polyethylene, linear low-density polyethylene and ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene and so on”), copolymer of ethylene and acrylic acid (Para. [0015]: “ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer”), polypropylene (Para. [0015]: “polypropylene”), polyvinylidene fluoride (Para. [0015]: “polyvinylidene fluoride”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the self-regulating heater of Roach and Zou the PTC conductive particle composition materials as taught by Yang. Various PTC polymer materials are known in the art for various reasons depending on the application, Yang teaches various ratios and combinations in order “to provide an overcurrent protection component with this PTC conductive composite material. And the component has low resistance at room temperature, good reproducibility of resistance and well PTC intensity” (Para. [0005]).
Roach, Zou, and Yang do not include poly-1-butene, and fluorinated ethylene and propylene copolymer as possible materials.
However, Goering teaches a temperature controllable coated pipe (Para. [0003]) with a PTC effect (Para. [0064]) wherein the suitable materials for the electrically conductive polymers include poly-1-butene (Paras. [0042]-[0043]), and fluorinated ethylene and propylene copolymer (Para. [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the heating system of Roach, Zou, and Yang with the compositions as taught by Goering. One of ordinary skill would choose the most appropriate composition of materials based on various conditions such as the type of material being conveyed in a pipe, external conditions such as weather, and flexibility (Paras. [0007]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 10, Roach does not expressly disclose wherein the first silicone layer contacts the exterior surface of the at least one of the waste tank or the conduit.
However, Hu teaches a similar flexible heating system (Abstract) wherein the first silicone layer contacts the exterior surface of the at least one of the waste tank or the conduit (Para. [0022]: “inner dielectric 26 can be … silicone”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the heating system of Roach, Zou, Yang, and Goering with the exterior silicone layer as taught by Hu. Silicone is a known material in flexible heating systems and would be selected by a person of skill in the art depending on the intended use of the heater (Para. [0022]).
Regarding claim 12, Roach further teaches wherein the positive temperature coefficient ink has an equilibrium temperature between 15° Celsius and 40° Celsius (Para. [0022]: “PTC inks include … Loctite RCI 8001 from Henkel”), evidenced by Pg. 9 of the attached Loctite® digital brochure.
Regarding claim 14, Roach further teaches wherein the organic crystalline polymeric matrix is formed directly on the first polyimide layer (Para. [0039]: “an integrally bonded layer such a polyimide”).
Regarding claim 15, Roach teaches a method of making a heating system for an aircraft wastewater system (Para. [0018]), the method comprising:
forming a positive temperature coefficient heating element (conductive ink 12) over a first substrate (substrate 14), the first substrate including a first polyimide layer (Para. [0039]: “an intermediary dielectric layer between the assembly and additively manufactured heater … such as polyimide”), wherein the positive temperature coefficient heating element comprises a positive temperature coefficient ink (Paras. [0003]-[0005]);
locating a second substrate over the positive temperature coefficient heating element (Para. [0036]: closeout material), the second substrate including a second polyimide layer and a second silicone layer (Para. [0036]: “[a]fter heater 10 is additively manufactured onto substrate 14, it may be closed out with a dielectric material, such as acrylic, neoprene, polyurethane, polyimide, silicone, or an epoxy-fiberglass matrix”); and
curing the first substrate and the second substrate (Para. [0029]: “the substrate must be cleaned or cured before printing using conventional curing methods”).
While Roach teaches the heating element between substrates having a silicone or polyimide layer, Roach does not expressly teach the substrates having both a layer of silicone and a layer of polyimide.
However, Zou teaches a similar flexible heating system (Abstract) comprising a first substrate (substrate layer 120) including a first silicone layer (high-consistency silicone rubber adhesive layer 410) and a first polyimide layer (polyimide layer 210); a heating element (heating element 510) formed over the first polyimide layer (Para. [0032]); and a second substrate (substrate layer 110) located over the heating element (Fig. 3), the second substrate including a second silicone layer (high-consistency silicone layer 400) and a second polyimide layer (polyimide layer 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the heating system of Roach with the substrate layers as taught by Zou. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include the features of Zou in order to lower cure times during production and improve longevity (Paras. [0003]-[0004]).
Roach and Zou do not teach wherein the positive temperature coefficient ink comprises conductive particles distributed in an organic crystalline polymeric matrix, and wherein the organic crystalline polymeric matrix material of the organic crystalline polymeric matrix includes high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, medium density polyethylene, copolymer of ethylene and acrylic acid, polypropylene, polyvinylidene fluoride, poly-1-butene, and fluorinated ethylene and propylene copolymer.
However, Yang teaches the positive temperature coefficient ink (Para. [0003]) comprises conductive particles distributed in an organic crystalline polymeric matrix (Para. [0003]: “PTC conductive composite materials usually include a matrix of crystalline polymer material in which conductive fillers are uniformly dispersed”), and wherein the organic crystalline polymeric matrix material of the organic crystalline polymeric matrix includes high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, medium density polyethylene (Para. [0015]: “the crystalline polymer is one of or the mixture of … the polyethylene also includes high-density polyethylene, low-density polyethylene, linear low-density polyethylene and ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene and so on”), copolymer of ethylene and acrylic acid (Para. [0015]: “ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer”), polypropylene (Para. [0015]: “polypropylene”), polyvinylidene fluoride (Para. [0015]: “polyvinylidene fluoride”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the self-regulating heater of Roach and Zou the PTC conductive particle composition materials as taught by Yang. Various PTC polymer materials are known in the art for various reasons depending on the application, Yang teaches various ratios and combinations in order “to provide an overcurrent protection component with this PTC conductive composite material. And the component has low resistance at room temperature, good reproducibility of resistance and well PTC intensity” (Para. [0005]).
Roach, Zou, and Yang do not include poly-1-butene, and fluorinated ethylene and propylene copolymer as possible materials.
However, Goering teaches a temperature controllable coated pipe (Para. [0003]) with a PTC effect (Para. [0064]) wherein the suitable materials for the electrically conductive polymers include poly-1-butene (Paras. [0042]-[0043]), and fluorinated ethylene and propylene copolymer (Para. [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the heating system of Roach, Zou, and Yang with the compositions as taught by Goering. One of ordinary skill would choose the most appropriate composition of materials based on various conditions such as the type of material being conveyed in a pipe, external conditions such as weather, and flexibility (Paras. [0007]-[0010]).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Roach further teaches coupling the first substrate to a component of the aircraft wastewater system, wherein coupling the first substrate to the component comprises conforming a shape of the first substrate and the second substrate to a radius of curvature of the component (Para. [0028]: “manufactured heater 10 can also be applied to geometrically complex surfaces … can be applied to, but is not limited to, hoses, tubes, panels, tanks, valves, or other composite or metallic components for use in aircraft water systems”).
Regarding claim 18, Roach does not expressly disclose wherein forming the positive temperature coefficient heating element comprises: forming a first electrode over the first polyimide layer; forming a second electrode over the first polyimide layer and spaced apart from the first electrode; and depositing a positive temperature coefficient ink over the first polyimide layer and between the first electrode and the second electrode.
However, Hu teaches wherein forming the positive temperature coefficient heating element comprises: forming a first electrode (hot bus bar 124) over the first polyimide layer; forming a second electrode (cold bus bar 126) over the first polyimide layer and spaced apart from the first electrode (Para. [0055]: “[b]us bar 126 is shorter than bus bar 124 to keep the bus bar electrical connections separate); and depositing the positive temperature coefficient ink over the first polyimide layer and between the first electrode and the second electrode (Para. [0055]: “layer 130 is added locally on top of longer bus bar 124 to electrically isolate the bus bar connection 126A from bus bar 126”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the PTC heating element of Roach, Zou, Yang, and Goering with the method as taught by Hu. One of ordinary skill would utilize this method “depending on the desired PTC heater pattern, desired heater resistance range, heating consistency, and other factors affecting required heating of fluid running through the printed heater tubes” (Para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 19, Roach further teaches depositing a dielectric adhesive over the first polyimide layer prior to depositing the positive temperature coefficient ink (Para. [0039]: “dielectric layer is thin, and acts as an insulator and adhesive”).
Regarding claim 20, Roach further teaches depositing a dielectric adhesive (Para. [0045]: adhesive 217) over the positive temperature coefficient ink (Para. [0045]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL WARD HATTEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761