Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 11-13, 16, 18-20, 22, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over by Matsumura and Nagata (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0394499), herein referred to as “Matsumura”, in view of Matsumura and Nagata (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0256522), herein referred to as “Matsumura II”, and further in view Guo et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0141693), herein referred to as “Guo”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Matsumura discloses: A method for information processing, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, first Downlink Control Information (DCI) on a first active Bandwidth Part (BWP) of a first component carrier (CC), wherein the first DCI is transmitted on a resource indicated by a first Control Resource Set (CORESET) corresponding to the first active BWP, a first Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the first DCI is carried on a second active BWP of a second CC
[0103] In a case where the TCI presence information is set to “enabled,” when a TCI field in DCI in a component carrier (CC) to schedule (a PDSCH) indicates an activated TCI state in a CC or DL BWP to be scheduled and the PDSCH is scheduled by DCI format 1_1, the UE may use, for determination of QCL of the PDSCH antenna port, a TCI depending on a TCI field value in a detected PDCCH including the DCI. When time offset between reception of DL DCI (to schedule the PDSCH) and a PDSCH corresponding to the DCI (PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is equal to or greater than a threshold value, the UE may assume that a DM-RS port for a PDSCH of a serving cell is QCL with an RS in a TCI state related to a QCL type parameter given by an indicated TCI state.
[0104] When a single-slot PDSCH is configured for the UE, the indicated TCI state may be based on an activated TCI state in a slot with the scheduled PDSCH. When a multi-slot PDSCH is configured for the UE, the indicated TCI state may be based on an activated TCI state in the first slot with the scheduled PDSCH, and the UE may expect that the indicated TCI state is identical through slots with the scheduled PDSCH. In a case where a CORESET associated with a search space set for cross-carrier scheduling is configured for the UE, TCI presence information is set to “enabled” to the CORESET for the UE, when at least one of TCI states configured for a serving cell scheduled by the search space set includes QCL type D, the UE may assume that time offset between a detected PDCCH and a PDSCH corresponding to the PDCCH is equal to or greater than a threshold value.
[0111] In Rel. 16 (or later versions), in a case where each of a PDSCH and a PDCCH to schedule the PDSCH exists in a different component carrier (CC) (cross-carrier scheduling), when a PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay is shorter than the time length for QCL or when a TCI state is absent in DCI for the scheduling, the UE may obtain a QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH based on an active TCI state having the lowest ID and capable of being applied to a PDSCH in an active BWP for the scheduled cell.
Note: paragraph [0111] above highlights “a different component carrier”. This is the second component carrier.
the first active BWP corresponds to two CORESET pools
[0105] In both of a case where TCI information in DCI (higher layer parameter TCI-PresentInDCI) is set to “enabled” in an RRC connected mode and a case where the TCI information in the DCI is not configured in the RRC connected mode, when time offset between reception of DL DCI (DCI to schedule a PDSCH) and a corresponding PDSCH (PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is less than a threshold value, the UE may assume that the DM-RS port for the PDSCH in the serving cell includes the lowest (minimum) CORESET-ID in the latest (most recent) slot in which one or more CORESETs in an active BWP for the serving cell are monitored by the UE, and may assume that the DM-RS port is QCL with an RS related to a QCL parameter used for QCL indication of a PDCCH for a CORESET associated with a monitored search space (FIG. 1). This RS may be referred to as a default TCI state for the PDSCH or a default QCL assumption for the PDSCH.
wherein the first CORESET belongs to a first CORESET pool of the two CORESET pools
[0272] For example, as shown in FIG. 4, the default spatial relation is a default TCI state for a PDSCH, TCI 1 is configured for CORESET 1, and TCI 2 is configured for subsequent CORESET 2.
wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, a first target Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state, wherein the first target TCI state is used to receive the first PDSCH
[0109] For example, the UE may assume that a DMRS port for the above-described PDSCH is QCL with a DL-RS based on a TCI state activated with respect to a CORESET corresponding to the above-described lowest CORESET-ID. The latest slot may be, for example, a slot for receiving DCI to schedule the above-described PDSCH.
[0110] Note that the CORESET-ID may be an ID (ID for CORESET identification) configured by an RRC information element “ControlResourceSet.”
wherein the scheduling time interval of the first DCI refers to a time offset between reception of the first DCI and the PDSCH
[0105] In both of a case where TCI information in DCI (higher layer parameter TCI-PresentInDCI) is set to “enabled” in an RRC connected mode and a case where the TCI information in the DCI is not configured in the RRC connected mode, when time offset between reception of DL DCI (DCI to schedule a PDSCH) and a corresponding PDSCH (PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is less than a threshold value, the UE may assume that the DM-RS port for the PDSCH in the serving cell includes the lowest (minimum) CORESET-ID in the latest (most recent) slot in which one or more CORESETs in an active BWP for the serving cell are monitored by the UE, and may assume that the DM-RS port is QCL with an RS related to a QCL parameter used for QCL indication of a PDCCH for a CORESET associated with a monitored search space (FIG. 1). This RS may be referred to as a default TCI state for the PDSCH or a default QCL assumption for the PDSCH.
wherein in response to when the first CC and the second CC are different CCs and the first DCI does not carry a TCI state indication field or the scheduling time interval of the first DCI is smaller than to a first threshold, the first target TCI state comprises: a TCI state with a lowest identity among active TCI states corresponding to a downlink data channel on the second active BWP.
[0111] In Rel. 16 (or later versions), in a case where each of a PDSCH and a PDCCH to schedule the PDSCH exists in a different component carrier (CC) (cross-carrier scheduling), when a PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay is shorter than the time length for QCL or when a TCI state is absent in DCI for the scheduling, the UE may obtain a QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH based on an active TCI state having the lowest ID and capable of being applied to a PDSCH in an active BWP for the scheduled cell.
Matsumura does not disclose pool indexes corresponding to different CORESET pools are different.
However, Matsumura II discloses pool indexes corresponding to different CORESET pools are different.
[0090] Further, the TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE in Rel-15 NR includes a serving cell ID field to identify a serving cell for applying the MAC CE, and a CORESET ID field to indicate the CORESET for applying the MAC CE. Since one or a plurality of CORESETs is configured per BWP, the CORESET designated by the MAC CE may correspond to a CORESET included in an active BWP.
Note: paragraph [0111] of the specification states “According to some embodiments, the first CORESET pool includes at least one CORESET. In an example, the first CORESET pool includes one CORESET. In another example, the first CORESET pool includes multiple CORESETs.”
Matsumura and Matsumura II are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura include pool indexes corresponding to different CORESET pools are different as taught by Matsumura II so as to aid in hybrid beam communications.
Matsumura does not disclose: wherein in response to that the first CC and the second CC are the same CC, and a scheduling time interval of the first DCI is smaller than a first threshold, the first target TCI state comprises: a TCI state corresponding to a CORESET with a lowest identity among CORESETs corresponding to a pool index of a CORESET pool corresponding to the first CORESET in a latest downlink time slot on the first active BWP detected by the terminal device, wherein CORESETs in the first CORESET pool correspond to a same pool index.
However, Guo discloses: wherein in response to that the first CC and the second CC are the same CC, and a scheduling time interval of the first DCI is smaller than a first threshold, the first target TCI state comprises: a TCI state corresponding to a CORESET with a lowest identity among CORESETs corresponding to a pool index of a CORESET pool corresponding to the first CORESET in a latest downlink time slot on the first active BWP detected by the terminal device, wherein CORESETs in the first CORESET pool correspond to a same pool index.
[0296] In one example, if one or more part(s) of the multi-slot PDSCH has time offset from the reception of the corresponding DL DCI being less than the threshold Threshold-Sched-Offset, the UE can assume a default QCL configuration to receive the whole parts of the multi-slot PDSCH. The example of default QCL configuration can be: one particular TCI state among the TCI states selected/activated/configured/indicated for PDSCH transmission (e.g., the first TCI state, the TCI state corresponding to TCI field=000 in DCI, the last TCI state), one default QCL configuration indicated by high layer, the QCL configuration indicated by the TCI state configured to the lowest-index CORESET in latest slot in the same CC, the SS/PBCH identified during initial access, the QCL configuration corresponding to the scheduling DCI.
Matsumura and Guo are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura include the concept of and two component carriers being the same and having the lowest CORESET ID corresponding to a pool index of a CORESET pool corresponding to the first CORESET in a latest downlink time slot where the CORESETs in the first CORESET pool corresponds to a same pool index as taught by Guo so as to aid in hybrid beam communications.
Regarding Claim 7,
Matsumura does not explicitly disclose the following final limitation of this claim.
Matsumura discloses the first CC and the second CC are different CCs.
[0111] In Rel. 16 (or later versions), in a case where each of a PDSCH and a PDCCH to schedule the PDSCH exists in a different component carrier (CC) (cross-carrier scheduling), when a PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay is shorter than the time length for QCL or when a TCI state is absent in DCI for the scheduling, the UE may obtain a QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH based on an active TCI state having the lowest ID and capable of being applied to a PDSCH in an active BWP for the scheduled cell.
However, Matsumura II discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein in response to that the first CC and the second CC are different CCs
[0102] In addition, the update of the TCI state may mean that an active TCI state is changed by MAC CE (a new TCI state is activated or indicated), or may mean that an active TCI state is changed by DCI (a new TCI state is indicated). In addition, the DCI may correspond to DCI for scheduling a PDSCH for a UE on which TCI-Present information is set as “enabled”.
[0103] FIG. 1 is a diagram showing one example of grouping of CCs related to the TCI state. This example shows a band 1 including CCs #m and #n, and a band 2 including CCs #p and #q. Further, it is assumed that the CCs #m and #n belong to the same group (e.g., first group). It is assumed that the CCs #p and #q belong to a group (e.g., second group) different from the first group.
Matsumura and Matsumura II are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura include a CORESET being configured with an information element indicating that the first DCI contains a TCI state indication field as taught by Matsumura II so as to aid in hybrid beam communications.
Regarding Claim 8,
Matsumura discloses: The method according to claim 7, wherein the first target TCI state comprises: a TCI state indicated by the TCI state indication field carried in the first DCI.
[0098] DCI used for scheduling of the PDSCH may include a given field (which may be referred to as, for example, a TCI field, a TCI state field, and so on) indicating a TCI state for the PDSCH. The DCI may be used for scheduling of a PDSCH in one cell, and may be referred to as, for example, DL DCI, DL assignment, DCI format 1_0, DCI format 1_1, and so on.
[0099] Whether the TCI field is included in the DCI may be controlled by information notified from a base station to the UE. The information may be information (e.g., TCI presence information, TCI presence in DCI information, or a higher layer parameter TCI-PresentInDCI) indicating whether the TCI field is present or absent in the DCI. For example, the information may be configured for the UE by higher layer signaling.
Regarding Claim 9,
Matsumura discloses: The method according to claim 7, wherein the scheduling time interval of the first DCI is equal to, or greater than or equal to the first threshold.
0102] In a case where the TCI presence information is not configured to a CORESET to schedule a PDSCH or the PDSCH is scheduled by DCI format 1_0, when time offset between reception of DL DCI (DCI to schedule the PDSCH) and reception of a PDSCH corresponding to the DCI is equal to or greater than a threshold value, the UE may assume that a TCI state or QCL assumption for the PDSCH is, for determination of QCL of a PDSCH antenna port, identical to a TCI state or QCL assumption applied to a CORESET used for PDCCH transmission to schedule the PDSCH.
Regarding Claim 11,
Matsumura discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first threshold is determined by one of the following: network device configuration, pre-provisioning and UE capability reporting.
[0108] The time length for QCL may be based on a UE capability, and may be based on, for example, a delay in PDCCH decoding and beam switching. The time length for QCL may be a minimum time required for the UE to perform PDCCH reception and application of spatial QCL information received in DCI for PDSCH processing. The time length for QCL may be represented by the number of symbols for each piece of subcarrier spacing, or may be represented by time (e.g., μs). Information about the time length for QCL may be reported as UE capability information from the UE to the base station, or may be configured for the UE by higher layer signaling from the base station.
Regarding Claim 12,
Matsumura does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 6.
However, Matsumura II discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein at least one CORESET among CORESETs corresponding to the first active BWP is configured with a corresponding pool index.
[0090] Further, the TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE in Rel-15 NR includes a serving cell ID field to identify a serving cell for applying the MAC CE, and a CORESET ID field to indicate the CORESET for applying the MAC CE. Since one or a plurality of CORESETs is configured per BWP, the CORESET designated by the MAC CE may correspond to a CORESET included in an active BWP.
Matsumura and Matsumura II are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura include a CORESET among CORESETs corresponding to the first active BWP being configured with a corresponding pool index as taught by Matsumura II so as to aid in hybrid beam communications.
Regarding Claim 13,
Matsumura discloses: The method according to claim 12, wherein:
a pool index corresponding to a CORESET for which the pool index is configured is configured in a RRC configuration parameter; or
a pool index corresponding to a CORESET for which the pool index is not configured is a preset pool index.
[0105] In both of a case where TCI information in DCI (higher layer parameter TCI-PresentInDCI) is set to “enabled” in an RRC connected mode and a case where the TCI information in the DCI is not configured in the RRC connected mode, when time offset between reception of DL DCI (DCI to schedule a PDSCH) and a corresponding PDSCH (PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is less than a threshold value, the UE may assume that the DM-RS port for the PDSCH in the serving cell includes the lowest (minimum) CORESET-ID in the latest (most recent) slot in which one or more CORESETs in an active BWP for the serving cell are monitored by the UE, and may assume that the DM-RS port is QCL with an RS related to a QCL parameter used for QCL indication of a PDCCH for a CORESET associated with a monitored search space (FIG. 1). This RS may be referred to as a default TCI state for the PDSCH or a default QCL assumption for the PDSCH.
[0110] Note that the CORESET-ID may be an ID (ID for CORESET identification) configured by an RRC information element “ControlResourceSet.”
Regarding Claim 16,
Matsumura discloses: The method according to claim 12, wherein a value of a pool index of one of the two CORESET pools comprises: 0 or 1.
[0207] The default spatial relation may be a QCL assumption for CORESET #0 (CORESET having an ID with 0).
[0208] The specific DL resource may be CORESET #0.
Regarding Claim 18,
Matsumura discloses: The method according to claim 12, wherein the terminal device reports whether the terminal device is capable of supporting at least two CORESET pools through user equipment (UE) capability reporting.
[0105] In both of a case where TCI information in DCI (higher layer parameter TCI-PresentInDCI) is set to “enabled” in an RRC connected mode and a case where the TCI information in the DCI is not configured in the RRC connected mode, when time offset between reception of DL DCI (DCI to schedule a PDSCH) and a corresponding PDSCH (PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is less than a threshold value, the UE may assume that the DM-RS port for the PDSCH in the serving cell includes the lowest (minimum) CORESET-ID in the latest (most recent) slot in which one or more CORESETs in an active BWP for the serving cell are monitored by the UE, and may assume that the DM-RS port is QCL with an RS related to a QCL parameter used for QCL indication of a PDCCH for a CORESET associated with a monitored search space (FIG. 1). This RS may be referred to as a default TCI state for the PDSCH or a default QCL assumption for the PDSCH.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in Claim 1.
Matsumura discloses: A terminal device, comprising one or more processors, memory storing a plurality of programs that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the terminal device to:
receive first Downlink Control Information (DCI) on a first active Bandwidth Part (BWP) of a first component carrier (CC), wherein the first DCI is transmitted on a resource indicated by a first Control Resource Set (CORESET) corresponding to the first active BWP, a first Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the first DCI is carried on a second active BWP of a second CC
[0103] In a case where the TCI presence information is set to “enabled,” when a TCI field in DCI in a component carrier (CC) to schedule (a PDSCH) indicates an activated TCI state in a CC or DL BWP to be scheduled and the PDSCH is scheduled by DCI format 1_1, the UE may use, for determination of QCL of the PDSCH antenna port, a TCI depending on a TCI field value in a detected PDCCH including the DCI. When time offset between reception of DL DCI (to schedule the PDSCH) and a PDSCH corresponding to the DCI (PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is equal to or greater than a threshold value, the UE may assume that a DM-RS port for a PDSCH of a serving cell is QCL with an RS in a TCI state related to a QCL type parameter given by an indicated TCI state.
[0104] When a single-slot PDSCH is configured for the UE, the indicated TCI state may be based on an activated TCI state in a slot with the scheduled PDSCH. When a multi-slot PDSCH is configured for the UE, the indicated TCI state may be based on an activated TCI state in the first slot with the scheduled PDSCH, and the UE may expect that the indicated TCI state is identical through slots with the scheduled PDSCH. In a case where a CORESET associated with a search space set for cross-carrier scheduling is configured for the UE, TCI presence information is set to “enabled” to the CORESET for the UE, when at least one of TCI states configured for a serving cell scheduled by the search space set includes QCL type D, the UE may assume that time offset between a detected PDCCH and a PDSCH corresponding to the PDCCH is equal to or greater than a threshold value.
[0111] In Rel. 16 (or later versions), in a case where each of a PDSCH and a PDCCH to schedule the PDSCH exists in a different component carrier (CC) (cross-carrier scheduling), when a PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay is shorter than the time length for QCL or when a TCI state is absent in DCI for the scheduling, the UE may obtain a QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH based on an active TCI state having the lowest ID and capable of being applied to a PDSCH in an active BWP for the scheduled cell.
Note: paragraph [0111] above highlights “a different component carrier”. This is the second component carrier.
the first active BWP corresponds to two CORESET pools
[0105] In both of a case where TCI information in DCI (higher layer parameter TCI-PresentInDCI) is set to “enabled” in an RRC connected mode and a case where the TCI information in the DCI is not configured in the RRC connected mode, when time offset between reception of DL DCI (DCI to schedule a PDSCH) and a corresponding PDSCH (PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is less than a threshold value, the UE may assume that the DM-RS port for the PDSCH in the serving cell includes the lowest (minimum) CORESET-ID in the latest (most recent) slot in which one or more CORESETs in an active BWP for the serving cell are monitored by the UE, and may assume that the DM-RS port is QCL with an RS related to a QCL parameter used for QCL indication of a PDCCH for a CORESET associated with a monitored search space (FIG. 1). This RS may be referred to as a default TCI state for the PDSCH or a default QCL assumption for the PDSCH.
wherein the first CORESET belongs to a first CORESET pool of the two CORESET pools
[0272] For example, as shown in FIG. 4, the default spatial relation is a default TCI state for a PDSCH, TCI 1 is configured for CORESET 1, and TCI 2 is configured for subsequent CORESET 2.
wherein when the plurality of programs are executed by the one or more processors, the terminal device is further caused to: determine a first target Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state, wherein the first target TCI state is used to receive the first PDSCH
[0109] For example, the UE may assume that a DMRS port for the above-described PDSCH is QCL with a DL-RS based on a TCI state activated with respect to a CORESET corresponding to the above-described lowest CORESET-ID. The latest slot may be, for example, a slot for receiving DCI to schedule the above-described PDSCH.
[0110] Note that the CORESET-ID may be an ID (ID for CORESET identification) configured by an RRC information element “ControlResourceSet.”
wherein the scheduling time interval of the first DCI refers to a time offset between reception of the first DCI and the PDSCH
[0105] In both of a case where TCI information in DCI (higher layer parameter TCI-PresentInDCI) is set to “enabled” in an RRC connected mode and a case where the TCI information in the DCI is not configured in the RRC connected mode, when time offset between reception of DL DCI (DCI to schedule a PDSCH) and a corresponding PDSCH (PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is less than a threshold value, the UE may assume that the DM-RS port for the PDSCH in the serving cell includes the lowest (minimum) CORESET-ID in the latest (most recent) slot in which one or more CORESETs in an active BWP for the serving cell are monitored by the UE, and may assume that the DM-RS port is QCL with an RS related to a QCL parameter used for QCL indication of a PDCCH for a CORESET associated with a monitored search space (FIG. 1). This RS may be referred to as a default TCI state for the PDSCH or a default QCL assumption for the PDSCH.
wherein in response to when the first CC and the second CC are different CCs and the first DCI does not carry a TCI state indication field or the scheduling time interval of the first DCI is smaller than to a first threshold, the first target TCI state comprises: a TCI state with a lowest identity among active TCI states corresponding to a downlink data channel on the second active BWP.
[0111] In Rel. 16 (or later versions), in a case where each of a PDSCH and a PDCCH to schedule the PDSCH exists in a different component carrier (CC) (cross-carrier scheduling), when a PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay is shorter than the time length for QCL or when a TCI state is absent in DCI for the scheduling, the UE may obtain a QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH based on an active TCI state having the lowest ID and capable of being applied to a PDSCH in an active BWP for the scheduled cell.
Matsumura does not disclose pool indexes corresponding to different CORESET pools are different.
However, Matsumura II discloses pool indexes corresponding to different CORESET pools are different.
[0090] Further, the TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE in Rel-15 NR includes a serving cell ID field to identify a serving cell for applying the MAC CE, and a CORESET ID field to indicate the CORESET for applying the MAC CE. Since one or a plurality of CORESETs is configured per BWP, the CORESET designated by the MAC CE may correspond to a CORESET included in an active BWP.
Note: paragraph [0111] of the specification states “According to some embodiments, the first CORESET pool includes at least one CORESET. In an example, the first CORESET pool includes one CORESET. In another example, the first CORESET pool includes multiple CORESETs.”
Matsumura and Matsumura II are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura include pool indexes corresponding to different CORESET pools are different as taught by Matsumura II so as to aid in hybrid beam communications.
Matsumura does not disclose: wherein in response to that the first CC and the second CC are the same CC, and a scheduling time interval of the first DCI is smaller than a first threshold, the first target TCI state comprises: a TCI state corresponding to a CORESET with a lowest identity among CORESETs corresponding to a pool index of a CORESET pool corresponding to the first CORESET in a latest downlink time slot on the first active BWP detected by the terminal device, wherein CORESETs in the first CORESET pool correspond to a same pool index.
However, Guo discloses: wherein in response to that the first CC and the second CC are the same CC, and a scheduling time interval of the first DCI is smaller than a first threshold, the first target TCI state comprises: a TCI state corresponding to a CORESET with a lowest identity among CORESETs corresponding to a pool index of a CORESET pool corresponding to the first CORESET in a latest downlink time slot on the first active BWP detected by the terminal device, wherein CORESETs in the first CORESET pool correspond to a same pool index.
[0296] In one example, if one or more part(s) of the multi-slot PDSCH has time offset from the reception of the corresponding DL DCI being less than the threshold Threshold-Sched-Offset, the UE can assume a default QCL configuration to receive the whole parts of the multi-slot PDSCH. The example of default QCL configuration can be: one particular TCI state among the TCI states selected/activated/configured/indicated for PDSCH transmission (e.g., the first TCI state, the TCI state corresponding to TCI field=000 in DCI, the last TCI state), one default QCL configuration indicated by high layer, the QCL configuration indicated by the TCI state configured to the lowest-index CORESET in latest slot in the same CC, the SS/PBCH identified during initial access, the QCL configuration corresponding to the scheduling DCI.
Matsumura and Guo are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura include the concept of and two component carriers being the same and having the lowest CORESET ID corresponding to a pool index of a CORESET pool corresponding to the first CORESET in a latest downlink time slot where the CORESETs in the first CORESET pool corresponds to a same pool index as taught by Guo so as to aid in hybrid beam communications.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in Claim 1.
Matsumura discloses: A non-transitory storage medium having an executable program stored thereon, wherein when the executable program is executed by a processor, the processor is caused to:
receive first Downlink Control Information (DCI) on a first active Bandwidth Part (BWP) of a first component carrier (CC), wherein the first DCI is transmitted on a resource indicated by a first Control Resource Set (CORESET) corresponding to the first active BWP, a first Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the first DCI is carried on a second active BWP of a second CC
[0103] In a case where the TCI presence information is set to “enabled,” when a TCI field in DCI in a component carrier (CC) to schedule (a PDSCH) indicates an activated TCI state in a CC or DL BWP to be scheduled and the PDSCH is scheduled by DCI format 1_1, the UE may use, for determination of QCL of the PDSCH antenna port, a TCI depending on a TCI field value in a detected PDCCH including the DCI. When time offset between reception of DL DCI (to schedule the PDSCH) and a PDSCH corresponding to the DCI (PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is equal to or greater than a threshold value, the UE may assume that a DM-RS port for a PDSCH of a serving cell is QCL with an RS in a TCI state related to a QCL type parameter given by an indicated TCI state.
[0104] When a single-slot PDSCH is configured for the UE, the indicated TCI state may be based on an activated TCI state in a slot with the scheduled PDSCH. When a multi-slot PDSCH is configured for the UE, the indicated TCI state may be based on an activated TCI state in the first slot with the scheduled PDSCH, and the UE may expect that the indicated TCI state is identical through slots with the scheduled PDSCH. In a case where a CORESET associated with a search space set for cross-carrier scheduling is configured for the UE, TCI presence information is set to “enabled” to the CORESET for the UE, when at least one of TCI states configured for a serving cell scheduled by the search space set includes QCL type D, the UE may assume that time offset between a detected PDCCH and a PDSCH corresponding to the PDCCH is equal to or greater than a threshold value.
[0111] In Rel. 16 (or later versions), in a case where each of a PDSCH and a PDCCH to schedule the PDSCH exists in a different component carrier (CC) (cross-carrier scheduling), when a PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay is shorter than the time length for QCL or when a TCI state is absent in DCI for the scheduling, the UE may obtain a QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH based on an active TCI state having the lowest ID and capable of being applied to a PDSCH in an active BWP for the scheduled cell.
Note: paragraph [0111] above highlights “a different component carrier”. This is the second component carrier.
the first active BWP corresponds to two CORESET pools
[0105] In both of a case where TCI information in DCI (higher layer parameter TCI-PresentInDCI) is set to “enabled” in an RRC connected mode and a case where the TCI information in the DCI is not configured in the RRC connected mode, when time offset between reception of DL DCI (DCI to schedule a PDSCH) and a corresponding PDSCH (PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is less than a threshold value, the UE may assume that the DM-RS port for the PDSCH in the serving cell includes the lowest (minimum) CORESET-ID in the latest (most recent) slot in which one or more CORESETs in an active BWP for the serving cell are monitored by the UE, and may assume that the DM-RS port is QCL with an RS related to a QCL parameter used for QCL indication of a PDCCH for a CORESET associated with a monitored search space (FIG. 1). This RS may be referred to as a default TCI state for the PDSCH or a default QCL assumption for the PDSCH.
wherein the first CORESET belongs to a first CORESET pool of the two CORESET pools
[0272] For example, as shown in FIG. 4, the default spatial relation is a default TCI state for a PDSCH, TCI 1 is configured for CORESET 1, and TCI 2 is configured for subsequent CORESET 2.
wherein when the plurality of programs are executed by the one or more processors, the terminal device is further caused to: determine a first target Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state, wherein the first target TCI state is used to receive the first PDSCH
[0109] For example, the UE may assume that a DMRS port for the above-described PDSCH is QCL with a DL-RS based on a TCI state activated with respect to a CORESET corresponding to the above-described lowest CORESET-ID. The latest slot may be, for example, a slot for receiving DCI to schedule the above-described PDSCH.
[0110] Note that the CORESET-ID may be an ID (ID for CORESET identification) configured by an RRC information element “ControlResourceSet.”
wherein the scheduling time interval of the first DCI refers to a time offset between reception of the first DCI and the PDSCH
[0105] In both of a case where TCI information in DCI (higher layer parameter TCI-PresentInDCI) is set to “enabled” in an RRC connected mode and a case where the TCI information in the DCI is not configured in the RRC connected mode, when time offset between reception of DL DCI (DCI to schedule a PDSCH) and a corresponding PDSCH (PDSCH scheduled by the DCI) is less than a threshold value, the UE may assume that the DM-RS port for the PDSCH in the serving cell includes the lowest (minimum) CORESET-ID in the latest (most recent) slot in which one or more CORESETs in an active BWP for the serving cell are monitored by the UE, and may assume that the DM-RS port is QCL with an RS related to a QCL parameter used for QCL indication of a PDCCH for a CORESET associated with a monitored search space (FIG. 1). This RS may be referred to as a default TCI state for the PDSCH or a default QCL assumption for the PDSCH.
wherein in response to when the first CC and the second CC are different CCs and the first DCI does not carry a TCI state indication field or the scheduling time interval of the first DCI is smaller than to a first threshold, the first target TCI state comprises: a TCI state with a lowest identity among active TCI states corresponding to a downlink data channel on the second active BWP.
[0111] In Rel. 16 (or later versions), in a case where each of a PDSCH and a PDCCH to schedule the PDSCH exists in a different component carrier (CC) (cross-carrier scheduling), when a PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay is shorter than the time length for QCL or when a TCI state is absent in DCI for the scheduling, the UE may obtain a QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH based on an active TCI state having the lowest ID and capable of being applied to a PDSCH in an active BWP for the scheduled cell.
Matsumura does not disclose pool indexes corresponding to different CORESET pools are different.
However, Matsumura II discloses pool indexes corresponding to different CORESET pools are different.
[0090] Further, the TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE in Rel-15 NR includes a serving cell ID field to identify a serving cell for applying the MAC CE, and a CORESET ID field to indicate the CORESET for applying the MAC CE. Since one or a plurality of CORESETs is configured per BWP, the CORESET designated by the MAC CE may correspond to a CORESET included in an active BWP.
Note: paragraph [0111] of the specification states “According to some embodiments, the first CORESET pool includes at least one CORESET. In an example, the first CORESET pool includes one CORESET. In another example, the first CORESET pool includes multiple CORESETs.”
Matsumura and Matsumura II are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura include pool indexes corresponding to different CORESET pools are different as taught by Matsumura II so as to aid in hybrid beam communications.
Matsumura does not disclose: wherein in response to that the first CC and the second CC are the same CC, and a scheduling time interval of the first DCI is smaller than a first threshold, the first target TCI state comprises: a TCI state corresponding to a CORESET with a lowest identity among CORESETs corresponding to a pool index of a CORESET pool corresponding to the first CORESET in a latest downlink time slot on the first active BWP detected by the terminal device, wherein CORESETs in the first CORESET pool correspond to a same pool index.
However, Guo discloses: wherein in response to that the first CC and the second CC are the same CC, and a scheduling time interval of the first DCI is smaller than a first threshold, the first target TCI state comprises: a TCI state corresponding to a CORESET with a lowest identity among CORESETs corresponding to a pool index of a CORESET pool corresponding to the first CORESET in a latest downlink time slot on the first active BWP detected by the terminal device, wherein CORESETs in the first CORESET pool correspond to a same pool index.
[0296] In one example, if one or more part(s) of the multi-slot PDSCH has time offset from the reception of the corresponding DL DCI being less than the threshold Threshold-Sched-Offset, the UE can assume a default QCL configuration to receive the whole parts of the multi-slot PDSCH. The example of default QCL configuration can be: one particular TCI state among the TCI states selected/activated/configured/indicated for PDSCH transmission (e.g., the first TCI state, the TCI state corresponding to TCI field=000 in DCI, the last TCI state), one default QCL configuration indicated by high layer, the QCL configuration indicated by the TCI state configured to the lowest-index CORESET in latest slot in the same CC, the SS/PBCH identified during initial access, the QCL configuration corresponding to the scheduling DCI.
Matsumura and Guo are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumura include the concept of and two component carriers being the same and having the lowest CORESET ID corresponding to a pool index of a CORESET pool corresponding to the first CORESET in a latest downlink time slot where the CORESETs in the first CORESET pool corresponds to a same pool index as taught by Guo so as to aid in hybrid beam communications.
Regarding Claim 22,
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 24,
Claim 24 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in Claim 16.
Regarding Claim 25,
Claim 25 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in Claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on November 3, 2025 is acknowledged.
The following claims were amended as part of applicant’s response: 1, 19, and 20.
The following claims are canceled: 23.
Claims 1, 7-9, 11-12, 16, 18-20, 22, and 24-25 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 19, and 20 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411