DETAILED ACTION
Wet-Dry Vacuum Cleaner Device
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 09-05-2025 has been entered. Claims 1-10,12-14,16-20 are currently pending and have been examined. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09-05-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant's argument that the prior art fails to the limitation "liquid trap mounted to the tank outlet ... , wherein the liquid trap comprises: a first trap inlet to receive the clean air flow from the tank inlet, a trap chamber to contain the additional liquid captured from the clean air flow, and a first curved trap conduit connecting the first trap inlet to the trap chamber and to the tank outlet, wherein the
first trap inlet of the liquid trap is positioned at the second location of the tank and at a relatively higher position than the tank inlet to cause the clean air flow outputted from the tank inlet to travel inside the tank from the first location to the second location and upward to the first trap inlet before flowing down into the first trap inlet, and wherein the first curved trap conduit causes the additional liquid in the clean air flow received by the first trap inlet to fall into the trap chamber” disclosed within the independent claim, examiner respectfully disagrees.
Robieu as modified Levin teaches a liquid trap that has curved conduit (see Robieu 82; figures 2-9; Levin para 0028-0030), that is connected and mounted to the tank outlet ( Robieu 62, figures 2 and 5), where the air flow travels form tank inlet (92) through (Robieu 84) enter liquid trap (Robieu 82) via liquid trap inlet (Robieu 92) causing additional liquid to fall in liquid trap chamber (Robieu discloses Residual liquid that deposits overhead within the annulus 82 during operation of the surface cleaner 10 may be cached, in overhead operation, in the region of the annulus 82 that extends between the annulus outlets 94, 96 and the cover 48. It is therefore also at Operation over head virtually no risk that liquid can get into the air outlet duct 62 and through this to the suction unit 22; within the annular space 82, which forms a vortex chamber in which the air is swirled, also last liquid droplets are removed from the extracted air ; “From the liquid tank 42, the suction flow runs via the frontal opening 84 through the second outer pipe section 80 into the annular space 82 and extends therefrom via the two annular space outlets 94, 96 into the air outlet channel 62 and from there via the air outlet opening 66 and the air outlet line 68 to the suction unit 22 The air can be released to the environment via an exhaust opening 124 of the housing 12. The exhaust port 124 is covered in the assembled state of the liquid collecting device 16 from the liquid tank 42, wherein, however, an air gap between the housing 12 and the liquid tank 42 is formed, through which the exhaust air can be discharged.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9,14, 16-18,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robieu et al. (W02019052692A1) in view of Levine (EP0215165A1).
Regarding claim 1, Robieu teaches a housing (12, figure 2) including a dirty air inlet (14, figure 2) to receive a dirty air flow and a clean air outlet (124, figure 3) to output a clean air exhaust;
a motor-fan assembly (24 and 26, figure 2) mounted in the housing and arranged to generate a suctioned air flow between the dirty air inlet (14, figure 2) and the clean air outlet (124, figure 3); and
a tank (44 and 42, figure 2) removably attached to the housing and arranged to capture liquid entrained in the dirty air flow (Robieu discloses “the liquid tank in combination with the separation device forms a unit which can be detached from the housing in the form of a liquid collection device which is set up to separate and collect liquid from the extracted liquid-air mixture”), the tank comprising
a tank inlet (74, figure 2) positioned at a first location of the tank in fluid communication with the dirty air inlet of the housing to receive the dirty air flow from the dirty air inlet, the tank inlet comprising a deflector (70, figure 2) inside the tank to change a direction of the dirty air flow that enters the tank inlet wherein the change of the direction of the dirty air flow causes droplets of the liquid entrained in the dirty air flow to hit the deflector and drip down into a bottom of the tank, and a clean air flow to be outputted from the tank inlet, a tank outlet (62, figures 2 and 5), positioned at a second location of the tank that is spaced part from the first location, in fluid communication with the motor-fan assembly in the housing,and arranged to receive the clean air flow from the tank inlet and output the clean air flow to the motor-fan assembly in the housing, and
a liquid trap (82, figure 2) mounted to the tank outlet on an inside of the tank and arranged to capture additional liquid entrained in the clean air flow before the clean air flow reaches the tank outlet (Robieu discloses “Residual liquid that deposits overhead within the annulus 82 during operation of the surface cleaner 10 may be cached, in overhead operation, in the region of the annulus 82 that extends between the annulus outlets 94, 96 and the cover 48. It is therefore also at Operation over head virtually no risk that liquid can get into the air outlet duct 62 and through this to the suction unit 22”), wherein the liquid trap comprises: a first trap inlet (92, figure 2) to receive the clean air flow from the tank inlet, a trap chamber (Robieu discloses “Residual liquid that deposits overhead within the annulus 82 during operation of the surface cleaner 10 may be cached, in overhead operation, in the region of the annulus 82 that extends between the annulus outlets 94, 96 and the cover 48. It is therefore also at Operation over head virtually no risk that liquid can get into the air outlet duct 62 and through this to the suction unit 22; within the annular space 82, which forms a vortex chamber in which the air is swirled, also last liquid droplets are removed from the extracted air ,”), to contain the additional liquid captured from the clean air flow, and a first trap conduit (80, figure 2) connecting the first trap inlet to the trap chamber and to the tank outlet (Robieu discloses “Within the annular space 82, a vortex of air is formed, since the air only in the radial direction in the air outlet passage 62 via the two annular space outlets 94, 96 and then can flow from this via the air outlet 68 to the suction unit 22.”), wherein the first trap inlet of the liquid trap is positioned at the second location of the tank and at a relatively higher position than the tank inlet to cause the clean air flow outputted from the tank inlet to travel inside the tank from the first location to the second location and upward to the first trap inlet before flowing down into the first trap inlet (Robieu discloses “The surface cleaning device 10 can be set by the user by operating the switching element 32 in motion. Under the action of the suction unit 22, a suction flow is formed, which extends from the suction opening 38 via the suction line 40, the inlet opening 64 and the inlet channel 60 through the 70 into the liquid tank 42. From the liquid tank 42, the suction flow runs via the frontal opening 84 through the second outer pipe section 80 into the annular space 82 and extends therefrom via the two annular space outlets 94, 96 into the air outlet channel 62 and from there via the air outlet opening 66 and the air outlet line 68 to the suction unit 22 The air can be released to the environment via an exhaust opening 124 of the housing 12. The exhaust port 124 is covered in the assembled state of the liquid collecting device 16 from the liquid tank 42, wherein, however, an air gap between the housing 12 and the liquid tank 42 is formed, through which the exhaust air can be discharged.), and ( wherein the first trap conduit causes additional liquid in the clean air flow received by the first trap inlet to fall into the trap chamber and the clean air flow without the additional liquid to flow to the tank outlet. (Robieu discloses “Residual liquid that deposits overhead within the annulus 82 during operation of the surface cleaner 10 may be cached, in overhead operation, in the region of the annulus 82 that extends between the annulus outlets 94, 96 and the cover 48. It is therefore also at Operation over head virtually no risk that liquid can get into the air outlet duct 62 and through this to the suction unit 22; within the annular space 82, which forms a vortex chamber in which the air is swirled, also last liquid droplets are removed from the extracted air ; “From the liquid tank 42, the suction flow runs via the frontal opening 84 through the second outer pipe section 80 into the annular space 82 and extends therefrom via the two annular space outlets 94, 96 into the air outlet channel 62 and from there via the air outlet opening 66 and the air outlet line
68 to the suction unit 22 The air can be released to the environment via an exhaust opening 124 of the housing 12. The exhaust port 124 is covered in the assembled state of the liquid collecting device 16 from the liquid tank 42, wherein, however, an air gap between the housing 12 and the liquid tank 42 is formed,
through which the exhaust air can be discharged.”),
However, Robieu fails to teach the first trap conduit is curved.
Levine teaches cleaning apparatus (abstract) that includes a liquid trap (268 + 256 +250+252, figures 11-17; para 0025-0028) comprises a filter (256, figure 11) in between the first inlet conduit and the second inlet conduit (see annotated figure 11 below) and changing the shape of liquid trap to different shapes (para 0028-0029); a tank (224, figure 10) that includes a tank outlet (para 0024) at a back of the tank; wherein the liquid trap (268 + 256 +250+252, figures 11-17; para 0025-0028) is located at a back of the tank (224, figure 10).
Based on the teachings of Levine, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of Robieu so that the trap conduits of the liquid trap are curved to ensure the capture of excess liquid for protection of the motor. (see Levine para 0028-0030)
Regarding claim 2, modified Robieu teaches the first location of the tank is a front of the tank(see Robieu, figures 1 -8), but fails to teach the second location of the tank is a back of the tank.
Levine teaches cleaning apparatus (abstract) that includes a liquid trap (268 + 256 +250+252, figures 11-17; para 0025-0028) comprises a filter (256, figure 11) in between the first inlet conduit and the second inlet conduit (see annotated figure 11 above) and changing the shape of liquid trap to different shapes (para 0028-0029); a tank (224, figure 10) that includes a tank outlet (para 0024) at a back of the tank; wherein the liquid trap (268 + 256 +250+252, figures 11-17; para 0025-0028) is located at a back of the tank (224, figure 10).
Since both Robieu and Levine disclose wet dry cleaning appliances that include liquid traps and tank outlets arranged in different positions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robieu to have the tank outlet and the liquid trap are at a back of the tank, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Further examiner notes applicant has not assigned any criticality to the position of liquid trap and tank outlet.
Regarding claim 3, modified Robieu teaches all limitations stated above , but fails to teach the deflector is to change the direction of the dirty air flow that enters the tank inlet by 180 degrees.
However, since Robieu discloses the deflector can change the direction of the direction of the dirty air flow that enters the tank inlet by 90 degrees , there would be reasonable expectations of success. Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the angle of the direction change of the dirty air flow to be 180 degrees, because the claimed angle does not appear to provide any unexpected results.
Furthermore, the angle of the direction change of the dirty air flow is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that greater the angle of deflection increases separation of liquid from dirty air flow. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim are met (e.g. in this case Robieu discloses the dirty air can be deflected) then it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range/value by routine experimentation. Thus, as set forth above, it would have not been inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified have the deflector is to change the direction of the dirty air flow that enters the tank inlet by 180 degrees.
Regarding claim 4, modified Robieu teaches a second trap inlet (Robieu discloses “The annular space 82 surrounding the inner tube 54 in the circumferential direction extends from the cover 48 to the free end of the first outer tube section 78 and forms at its end facing away from the cover 48 an annular space inlet 92”; see Levine para 0028) to receive the clean air flow from the tank inlet, and a second curved trap conduit (“Robieu discloses “The annular space 82 surrounding the inner tube 54 in the circumferential direction extends from the cover 48 to the free end of the first outer tube section 78 and forms at its end facing away from the cover 48 an annular space inlet 92”; see Levine para 0028-0030) connecting the second trap inlet to the trap chamber and the tank outlet, and wherein the second curved trap conduit causes the additional liquid in the clean air flow received by the second trap inlet to fall into the trap chamber and the clean air flow without the additional liquid to flowing to the tank outlet.
Regarding claim 5, Robieu teaches all limiations stated above and wherein the tank inlet (see Robieu 74, figure 2) is at a front of the tank (see Robieu 44 and 42, figure 2) first trap inlet (92, figure 2) of the liquid trap at a first side of the tank (see Robieu figures 1-3, 7-9) and the second trap inlet (Robieu discloses “The annular space 82 surrounding the inner tube 54 in the circumferential direction extends from the cover 48 to the free end of the first outer tube section 78 and forms at its end facing away from the cover 48 an annular space inlet 92”) of the liquid trap conduit at a second side of the tank (see Robieu figures 1-3, 7-9), but fails to teach the tank outlet and the liquid trap are at a back of the tank.
Levine teaches cleaning apparatus (abstract) that includes a liquid trap (268 + 256 +250+252, figures 11-17; para 0025-0028) comprises a filter (256, figure 11) in between the first inlet conduit and the second inlet conduit (see annotated figure 11 above) and changing the shape of liquid trap to different shapes (para 0028-0029); a tank (224, figure 10) that includes a tank outlet (para 0024) at a back of the tank; wherein the liquid trap (268 + 256 +250+252, figures 11-17; para 0025-0028) is located at a back of the tank (224, figure 10).
Since both Robieu and Levine disclose wet dry cleaning appliances that include liquid traps and tank outlets arranged in different positions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robieu to have the tank outlet and the liquid trap are at a back of the tank, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Further examiner notes applicant has not assigned any criticality to the position of liquid trap and tank outlet.
Regarding claim 6, modified Robieu teaches wherein the first and second trap inlets (see Robieu 92, figures 2-8) of the liquid trap are located near a top of the tank (see Robieu 44 and 42, figures 2,4-8) and the first (see Robieu 80, figure 2) and second curved trap conduits (“Robieu discloses “The annular space 82 surrounding the inner tube 54 in the circumferential direction extends from the cover 48 to the free end of the first outer tube section 78 and forms at its end facing away from the cover 48 an annular space inlet 92”; Levine para 0028-0030)of the liquid trap project down into the tank.
Regarding claim 7, modified Robieu teaches the first curved trap conduit (see Robieu 80, figure 2; Levine para 0028-0030) and the second curved trap conduit (“Robieu discloses “The annular space 82 surrounding the inner tube 54 in the circumferential direction extends from the cover 48 to the free end of the first outer tube section 78 and forms at its end facing away from the cover 48 an annular space inlet 92”; Levine para 0028) of the liquid trap project down into the tank and away from the tank inlet (figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, modified Robieu teaches wherein the first and second trap inlets (see Robieu 92, figures 2-8) are laterally offset from the tank inlet (see Robieu 74, figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, modified Robieu teaches wherein the first and second trap inlets (see Robieu 92, figures 2-8) of the liquid trap are offset from the tank inlet (see Robieu 94, figures 2-8) in first, second and third orthogonal directions to cause the clean air flow from the tank inlet to change directions in an X-axis, a Y-axis, and a Z-axis to reach and enter the first and second trap inlets of the liquid trap. ( Robieu discloses see figures 2-9“Residual liquid that deposits overhead within the annulus 82 during operation of the surface cleaner 10 may be cached, in overhead operation, in the region of the annulus 82 that extends between the annulus outlets 94, 96 and the cover 48. It is therefore also at Operation over head virtually no risk that liquid can get into the air outlet duct 62 and through this to the suction unit 22; within the annular space 82, which forms a vortex chamber in which the air is swirled, also last liquid droplets are removed from the extracted air ,”; “The annular space 82 surrounding the inner tube 54 in the circumferential direction extends from the cover 48 to the free end of the first outer tube section 78 and forms at its end facing away from the cover 48 an annular space inlet 92”).
Regarding claim 10, modified Robieu teaches wherein the first trap inlet of the liquid trap (see Robieu 74, figures 2-6) is located in a ridge in an upper surface of the tank (see Robieu 42 and 44, figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Robieu teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the tank comprises baffles mounted adjacent to the first and second trap inlets.
Levine teaches cleaning apparatus (abstract) that includes a liquid trap (268 + 256 +250+252, figures 11-17; para 0025-0028) comprises a filter (256, figure 11) in between the first inlet conduit and the second inlet conduit (see annotated figure 11 above) and changing the shape of liquid trap to different shapes (para 0028-0029); a tank (224, figure 10) that includes a tank outlet (para 0024) at a back of the tank; wherein the liquid trap (268 + 256 +250+252, figures 11-17; para 0025-0028) is located at a back of the tank (224, figure 10) and using a baffle protect motor (see 274, figure 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robieu to have the tank comprises baffles mounted adjacent to the first and second trap inlets. This modification would help ensure the motor is protected from liquid. (see Levine para 0017 and 0028)
Regarding claim 16, Robieu teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach the liquid trap comprises a filter located between the first curved trap conduit and the second trap conduit.
Levine teaches cleaning apparatus (abstract) that includes a liquid trap (268 + 256 +250+252, figures 11-17; para 0025-0028) comprises a filter (256, figure 11) in between the first inlet conduit and the second inlet conduit (see annotated figure 11 above) and changing the shape of liquid trap to different shapes (para 0028-0029); a tank (224, figure 10) that includes a tank outlet (para 0024) at a back of the tank; wherein the liquid trap (268 + 256 +250+252, figures 11-17; para 0025-0028) is located at a back of the tank (224, figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robieu to include the teachings of Levine’s filter positioned within liquid trap. This modification would ensure that lighter particles are removed from the air as it advances to the motor (see Levine para 0026).
Regarding claim 17, modified Robieu teaches the filter (see Levine’s 256, figure 11) is mounted in the trap chamber.
Regarding claim 18, Robieu teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach the liquid trap is removably mountable on the tank outlet.
Regarding claim 20, modified Robieu teaches wherein the clean air flow that enters the liquid trap follows a serpentine path through the liquid trap (Robieu teaches “The aspirated liquid-air mixture flows through the inlet channel 60 and the adjoining the inlet channel 60 hollow body inlet line 72 and is then deflected by 90 ° and delivered via the two hollow body outlet lines 74, 76 in the liquid tank 42. A majority of the liquid impinges on the wall of the liquid tank 42 and separates therefrom, whereas the air passes via the frontal opening 84 into the second outer pipe section 80 and flows from the latter substantially in the axial direction via the annular space inlet 92 into the annular space 82. Within the annular space 82, a vortex of air is formed”) .
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robieu et al. (W02019052692A1) in view of Levine (EP0215165A1) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Mueller (US 5901406 A).
Regarding claim 12, modified Robieu teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to the tank comprises a releasable lid which is only releasable once the tank is removed from the housing.
Muller teaches an extraction cleaner (abstract) with a tank (510, figure 5) the tank comprises a releasable lid (552, figure 5, col 5 lines 10-15) which is only releasable once the tank is removed from the housing (figure 8b, col 4 lines 27-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robieu to include the teachings of Muller releasable lid. This modification would help with reducing spilling when the tank is removed (see Mueller col 5 line 10-15).
Regarding claim 13, modified Robieu teaches the tank (see Levine 224, figure 11) comprises a latch mechanism (see Muller’s col 5 lines 10-15) for releasing the releasable lid (see Muller 552, figure 5, col 5 lines 10-15) from the tank.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robieu et al. (W02019052692A1) in view of Levine (EP0215165A1) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Conrad (US 20190298133A1)
Regarding claim 19, modified Robieu teaches all limitations stated above but fails to explicitly state a finger guard is mounted at an outlet conduit in fluid communication with the tank outlet and the motor fan assembly in the housing and the finger guard is arranged to engage the tank outlet when the tank is mounted on the housing.
Conrad teaches a cleaning appliance (abstract) that includes a finger guard (para 0137).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robieu to include teachings of a finger guard that is located at an outlet conduit based on the teachings of Conard. This modification would ensure a user does not accidentally contact the motor during operation of vacuum cleaner operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Neshat (US5504970A) discloses a mechanism that prevents liquid from contacting vacuum motor.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723