Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA (Figure 2) and further in view of Flinn et al. (US PG Pub 20120285196), hereinafter referred to as Flinn.
With respect to claim 1, AAPA (Figure 2) teaches a method for natural gas processing, the method comprising: introducing a natural gas feed to a single column refluxed absorber (natural gas feed 204 is introduced into refluxed 203 column 205, AAPA specification paragraph 16); introducing an external rich reflux gas feed to the single column refluxed absorber (rich reflux stream 203, paragraph 16); processing the natural gas feed and the external rich reflux gas feed in the single column refluxed absorber to produce a first bottoms stream (206) and a first overhead stream (224), wherein the first bottoms stream and the first overhead stream are separate streams upon expulsion from the single column refluxed absorber (the streams leave the column at different locations); and outputting liquid from the single column refluxed absorber exclusively, the liquid output s the first bottom stream via bottoms outlet of the singled column refluxed absorber to the heat exchanger for downstream processing (single bottoms stream 206 enters reboiler 207, AAPA specification paragraph 16).
AAPA does not each the liquid from the single column refluxed absorber is exclusively output to a heat exchanger as the liquid is output to the reboiler.
Flinn teaches that when a fractionation column has a reboiler an internal or external reboiler can be used such that when the internal reboiler is used it is in the bottom liquid at the bottom of the fractionation column (paragraph 39-40). In the configuration shown in Flinn of the external reboiler (102) the bottom stream is output as a liquid (107) and as such it would be understood that if there was an internal reboiler then the only liquid would be in the bottom stream (107).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Flinn to have had an internal reboiler instead of an external reboiler in AAPA such that the liquid bottom stream would not pass into a reboiler released from the column and would be passed directly downstream to the heat exchanger as the only liquid stream from the column since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known elements for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby there are multiple known ways to provide reboil to column such as external reboiler (shown in AAPA) and internal reboiler (Flinn teaches internal as an alternative to external) and as they are both known ways of providing reboil it would have been prima facie obvious to have used an internal reboiler to provide the necessary reboil to the column whereas they are both known methods of doing the same process (providing reboil to the column) using an internal reboiler instead of external reboiler would have been prima facie obvious and one having common knowledge in the art would have considered it obvious to use an internal reboiler as it could result in a smaller footprint for the system using it or reduce the amount of overall piping needed for the system. Such modification would result in only a single liquid stream leaving the bottom of the column and passing directly to the heat exchanger as no external reboiler would be present.
With respect to claim 2, AAPA as modified teaches wherein the first bottoms stream is output from the heat exchanger to a stabilizer column, (as modified the stream passed from the column to the heat exchanger 210 and then to a stabilizer 211, paragraph 16).
With respect to claim 3, AAPA as modified teaches wherein the first bottoms stream is processed in the stabilizer column to produce a second bottoms stream and a second overhead stream (after the heat exchanger 210 the bottom stream as modified goes to stabilizer 211, AAPA Specification Paragraph 16, which produces a bottom stream, the stream that passes to 213 and an overhead scream 217).
With respect to claim 4, AAPA as modified teaches wherein a heavies rich reflux stream is formed from the second overhead stream (second overhead stream is cooled and separated in 228 which produces a heavies stream which passes through heat exchanger 230, and ultimately used as reflux 203, AAPA Specification Paragraph 16).
With respect to claim 5, AAPA as modified teaches wherein the heavies rich reflux stream is pumped to the single column refluxed absorber to be introduced into the single column refluxed absorber as the external rich reflux gas feed (a pump 232 is used to pass the reflux stream, AAPA Specification Paragraph 16)
With respect to claim 6, AAPA as modified teaches wherein a heavies rich reflux stream is formed using the first bottoms stream downstream from the heat exchanger, the heavies rich reflux stream being introduced into the single column refluxed absorber as the external rich reflux gas feed (the bottom stream is ultimately passed to 211 which is used to form the reflux stream from 228 that passes through 230 and back as reflux 203, AAPA Specification Paragraph 16, which means that the first bottom stream used to form the heavies rich reflux stream).
With respect to claim 8, AAPA (Figure 2) teaches a system for processing natural gas, the system comprising: a single column refluxed absorber (column 205, AAPA specification paragraph 16) comprising a natural gas feed inlet at a lower elevation than an external rich reflux gas feed inlet (natural gas inlet for stream 204 and reflux inlet for stream 203, AAPA specification paragraph 16, where it can be seen that the natural gas inlet feed is at a lower point on the column), the single column refluxed absorber configured to expulse liquid exclusively as a single bottoms stream (206); and a heat exchanger downstream from the single column refluxed absorber (heat exchange 210), such that the bottoms stream is output from the single column refluxed absorber (bottoms stream 206 enters reboiler 207, AAPA specification paragraph 16).
AAPA does not teach the single bottoms stream is output from the single column refluxed absorber directly into the heat exchanger; however, the bottom stream (206) is output first to a reboiler (207) and then to a heat exchanger (210) which in the context of the claims is not considered to be outputting the bottom stream to a heat exchanger because the stream is passed first to the reboiler1.
Flinn teaches that when a fractionation column has a reboiler an internal or external reboiler can be used such that when the internal reboiler is used it is in the bottom liquid at the bottom of the fractionation column (paragraph 39-40). In the configuration shown in Flinn of the external reboiler (102) the bottom stream is output as a liquid (107) and as such it would be understood that if there was an internal reboiler then the only liquid would be in the bottom stream (107).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Flinn to have had an internal reboiler instead of an external reboiler in AAPA such that the liquid bottom stream would not pass into a reboiler released from the column and would be passed directly downstream to the heat exchanger as the only liquid stream from the column since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known elements for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby there are multiple known ways to provide reboil to column such as external reboiler (shown in AAPA) and internal reboiler (Flinn teaches internal as an alternative to external) and as they are both known ways of providing reboil it would have been prima facie obvious to have used an internal reboiler to provide the necessary reboil to the column whereas they are both known methods of doing the same process (providing reboil to the column) using an internal reboiler instead of external reboiler would have been prima facie obvious and one having common knowledge in the art would have considered it obvious to use an internal reboiler as it could result in a smaller footprint for the system using it or reduce the amount of overall piping needed for the system. Such modification would result in only a single liquid stream leaving the bottom of the column and passing directly to the heat exchanger as no external reboiler would be present.
With respect to claim 9, AAPA as modified teaches a stabilizer column downstream from the first heat exchanger (211, AAPA Specification Paragraph 16), such that the single bottoms stream is output from the heat exchanger into the stabilizer column (as modified the stream from 210 passes to the stabilizer column 211, paragraph 16) the stabilizer column configured to produce a natural gas by processing the single bottoms stream (overhead stream 217 would be natural gas).
With respect to claim 10, AAPA as modified teaches wherein the natural gas is further produced by processing a rich solvent (rich solvent 212 is passed into 211, AAPA Specification Paragraph 17, and thus would be used to produce the natural gas).
With respect to claim 11, AAPA as modified teaches wherein a rich reflux is produced downstream from the stabilizer column using the natural gas (rich reflux 103 is formed from the overhead 217 of 211, AAPA specification paragraph 16).
With respect to claim 12, AAPA as modified teaches wherein the rich reflux is introduced as an external rich reflux to the single column refluxed absorber using the external rich reflux gas feed inlet (the inlet where 203 enters the column would be the feed inlet).
With respect to claim 13, AAPA as modified teaches wherein an external rich reflux is pumped into the single column refluxed absorber using the external rich reflux gas feed inlet (pump 232 is used to pass the reflux 203 into the column, AAPA specification paragraph 17).
With respect to claim 14, AAPA (Figure 2) teaches a system for processing natural gas, the system comprising: a single column refluxed absorber (Column 205, AAPA specification paragraph 16) comprising a natural gas feed inlet at a lower elevation than an external rich reflux gas feed inlet (natural gas inlet for stream 204 and reflux inlet for stream 203, AAPA specification paragraph 16) the single column refluxed absorber configured to expulse liquid exclusively a single bottoms stream via a bottoms outlet (206 is the only liquid stream), the single bottoms stream produced by processing natural gas received via the natural gas feed inlet and an external rich reflux received via the external rich reflux gas feed inlet (those are the two inlet stream and thus the bottom stream would be formed of those); and a heat exchanger downstream from the bottoms outlet of the single column refluxed absorber (heat exchange 210).
AAPA does not teach such that the single bottoms stream is received by the heat exchanger form the bottoms outlet; however, the bottom stream (206) is output first to a reboiler (207) and then to a heat exchanger (210) which in the context of the claims is not considered to be outputting the bottom stream to a heat exchanger because the stream is passed first to the reboiler2.
Flinn teaches that when a fractionation column has a reboiler an internal or external reboiler can be used such that when the internal reboiler is used it is in the bottom liquid at the bottom of the fractionation column (paragraph 39-40). In the configuration shown in Flinn of the external reboiler (102) the bottom stream is output as a liquid (107) and as such it would be understood that if there was an internal reboiler then the only liquid would be in the bottom stream (107).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Flinn to have had an internal reboiler instead of an external reboiler in AAPA such that the liquid bottom stream would not pass into a reboiler released from the column and would be passed directly downstream to the heat exchanger as the only liquid stream from the column since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known elements for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby there are multiple known ways to provide reboil to column such as external reboiler (shown in AAPA) and internal reboiler (Flinn teaches internal as an alternative to external) and as they are both known ways of providing reboil it would have been prima facie obvious to have used an internal reboiler to provide the necessary reboil to the column whereas they are both known methods of doing the same process (providing reboil to the column) using an internal reboiler instead of external reboiler would have been prima facie obvious and one having common knowledge in the art would have considered it obvious to use an internal reboiler as it could result in a smaller footprint for the system using it or reduce the amount of overall piping needed for the system. Such modification would result in only a single liquid stream leaving the bottom of the column and passing directly to the heat exchanger as no external reboiler would be present.
With respect to claim 15, AAPA as modified teaches a stabilizer column downstream from the first heat exchanger (211 AAPA Specification Paragraph 16), the stabilizer configured to receive the single bottoms stream from the heat exchanger (the stream from the heat exchanger 210 is passed to the stabilizer, paragraph 16).
With respect to claim 16, AAPA as modified teaches stabilizer column configured to produce a natural gas by processing the single bottoms stream (overhead stream 217 would be natural gas).
With respect to claim 17, AAPA as modified teaches wherein a rich reflux is formed from the natural gas (rich reflux 103 is formed from the overhead 217 of 211, AAPA specification paragraph 16).
With respect to claim 18, AAPA as modified teaches wherein the rich reflux is input as the external rich reflux to the single column refluxed absorber (the inlet where 203 enters the column would be the feed inlet).
With respect to claim 19, AAPA as modified teaches wherein a heavies treated natural gas is formed from the natural gas (the overhead stream 217 is ultimately used to form a heavies traded natural gas which passes through 240 AAPA specification paragraph 16)
With respect to claim 20, AAPA as modified teaches as modified teaches wherein the natural gas is further produced using a rich solvent (rich solvent 212 is passed into 211, AAPA Specification Paragraph 17, and thus would be used to produce the natural as).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA/Flinn and further in view of Mak et al. (US PG Pub 20080264100), hereinafter referred to as Mak.
With respect to claim 7, AAPA as modified does not teach wherein the first overhead stream is output from the single column refluxed absorber through a condenser for partial separation of the first overhead stream into heavies-treated natural gas.
Mak teaches (Figure 2) that to form reflux for a column that the overhead from the column (8) is condensed in part in a heat exchanger (paragraph 35) and separated to form a reflux stream (12) and a lean vapor stream (paragraph 35).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have, either instead of or in addition to the reflux 203 of AAPA, to have sent the overhead stream (224) to a heat exchanger where part of the stream condenses (which would make said heat exchanger thus a condenser) and is separated into a vapor stream and a condensed portion which is used as reflux back to the column (205) of AAPA based on the teaching of Mak since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby condensing the overhead stream would both provide a reflux from the columns own stream but provide an even leaner overhead stream with less heavier hydrocarbons than the column produces in the unseparated overhead stream. Thus, after the condenser, the separated vapor stream would be a heavies-treated natural gas.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see page 1, filed 7/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s)1-6, 8-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Flinn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN M KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
1 See Decision on appeal, 6/23/2025, page 5.
2 See Decision on appeal, 6/23/2025, page 5.