DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The previous rejections of claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims (filed 06/12/2026).
The previous rejections of claims 1-2, 6, 9, 11-12, 16, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims (filed 06/12/2026). However, as necessitated by amendments, the claims now stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 further in view of newly cited art “Stewart,” as presented in detail below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 3-5, 7-8, 10, 13-15, 17-18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
See rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, as presented in detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 11-13, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruner in view of Heubel and US 11,294,474 (hereinafter “Stewart”).
Regarding Claim 1 and related method claim 11, Bruner discloses a processing hardware (fig. 1A; par. 0004: “through at least one processor configured to translate the received information;” par. 0075: “processors by which information may be processed”); and
a system memory storing a software code (fig. 1B; par. 0005: “processing instructions stored in the processor readable memory;” par. 0075: “memory storage into which data may be saved”);
the processing hardware configured to execute the software code (figs. 1A-1B; par. 0004: “through at least one processor configured to translate the received information;” par. 0005: “processing instructions stored in the processor readable memory”) to:
receive a primary content (par. 0037: “translation platform may be configured to receive and process a variety of information in one of multiple different format (e.g. audio, video, images, textual elements as well as other forms of text-based speech such as subtitles… the translation platform can capture or receive information in formats such as, but not limited to, audio content, video content, image content, photographs, and/or other such information”);
execute at least one of a visual analysis or an audio analysis of the primary content (par. 0037: “At optional step 203, received information is processed to identify information and/or speech elements to be translated. For example, voice recognition software can be applied to recorded audio to convert audio information into textual information. As another example, an image can be scanned and/or optical character recognition (OCR) can be performed to identify words, numbers, phrases and/or other such relevant information. Similarly, one or more frames and/or portions of a video can be scanned, OCR performed, image recognition preformed, tracking movement over multiple frames, or otherwise processed to identify information”);
generate an accessibility track including a performer providing a sign language performance (par. 0037: “translation platform may be configured to receive and process a variety of information in one of multiple different format… and provide a translation to one or more translated formats (e.g., sign language, text, audio, video, and other such formats or combinations of such formats);” par. 0020: “The translation of information from one format to another format can be very beneficial to many users and/or audiences... benefit from alternative forms of accessibility translations;” par. 0025: “some embodiments are configured to receive information and translate that information into a corresponding sign language translation, which may be manifested, for example, in one or more video clips, displayed through animation and/or presented by one or more avatars, and/or other such manifestations or combinations of such manifestations”);
synchronize the accessibility track to the primary content (figs. 3a-3d; par. 0021: “the Translation Platform allows for rapid conversion of Closed Captioning text feeds to a sign language video stream that may be displayed, for example, in a picture-in-picture box on a television or other display medium alongside the corresponding broadcast, thereby providing hearing impaired individuals with an alternative and possibly more effective accessibility option;” par. 0045: “In one implementation, the current word, phrase, letter, number, punctuation mark, and/or the like for which [a sign language] video clip is being played in the picture-in-picture window is also highlighted in the Closed Captioning display”); and
supplement the primary content with the accessibility track to provide an accessibility enhanced content (pars. 0004-0005; figs. 3a-3d: the accessibility track is played alongside primary content).
Bruner discloses a visual and/or audio analysis which is used to generate an accessibility track including a sign language performance (see above) but does not disclose an accessibility track including haptic effects. However, Heubel discloses determine, based on executing the at least one of the visual analysis or the audio analysis (par. 0071: “tablet computer 320 may analyze the portion of the received content, such as… audio, and/or video, to determine whether an occurrence of one or more of the predefined events has occurred”), one or more word strings each corresponding to one of a plurality of haptic effects configured to be actuated when the primary content reaches a location corresponding to each of the plurality of haptic effects (par. 0015: “a predefined event can be the word "rain" being displayed on a display and the predefined event may be associated with a predefined haptic effect from the plurality of predefined haptic effects that is configured to provide a "raining" haptic effect;” par. 0052: “For example, a predefined event may comprise the word "crashing" being displayed on a display and the plurality of predefined haptic effects may contain a predefined haptic effect configured to provide a "crashing" sensation;” par. 0049: “a predefined event includes a particular phrase, variations of a particular word or phrase… in an image or pre-recorded video or live video stream”); and generate an accessibility track including the plurality of haptic effects (fig. 5: steps 540 and 550; par; 0078: “a signal is generated before an occurrence of a predefined event is determined to have occurred. For example, as a user scrolls through the electronic content, the processor 210 may generate a signal as a predefined event becomes closer to occurring;” par. 0016: “electronic device 100 then identifies an occurrence of the predefined event by analyzing at least a portion of the electronic content. In response to identifying the occurrence of the predefined event, the predefined haptic effect or haptic effects associated with the predefined event can be generated”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the generation of an accessibility track as disclosed by Bruner with the generation of haptic effects as disclosed by Heubel in order to introduce tactile sensations to the content (Heubel, par. 0002), which is widely understood to be an accessible feature, and/or to increase user immersion by applying relevant tactile effects to particular detected words (Heubel, pars. 0015-0017).
Bruner discloses dynamic color grading within the display window featuring the sign language performer but not that it is based on the colors of the primary content (pars. 0050-0052). However, Stewart discloses dynamically adapt a color grading of the performer based on one or more colors of the primary content (col. 3, lns. 43-58: “a version of the overlay image can be selected as a function of contrast, color, brightness, and visual complexity differences between the overlay image and a background of the output video data. For example, if the background of the output video data is predominantly light colored, then a contrasting dark color of the overlay image may want to be selected;” Examiner notes that automatically swapping differently-colored versions of the overlay images based on the background color is being interpreted as equivalent to dynamically adopting a color grading; col. 5, lns. 45-55: “the overlay image can include an icon of a hand that is more easily visible… because of the… color”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the dynamic color grading of Stewart with the avatar overlay of Bruner in order to ensure the overlay/performer can be clearly seen against the primary content/background of the video (Stewart, col. 3, lns. 43-58; col. 5, lns. 45-55).
Regarding Claim 2 and related method claim 12, Bruner further discloses the processing hardware is further configured to execute the software code to: synchronize the accessibility track to the primary content contemporaneously with generating the accessibility track (par. 0140: “Further, some embodiments provide a conversion, translation or the like of substantially any type of communication and/or information into sign language or to another form of information data or communication [the accessibility track]. Additionally, the translation or conversion can be implemented in real time. Still further, in some implementations, information to be translated is capture in real time and the translation provided in substantially real time”).
Regarding Claim 3 and related method claim 13, Bruner further discloses the sign language performance is configured to be displayed as a picture-in-picture (PiP) overlay on the primary content (figs. 3a-3d; par. 0041: “In one embodiment, the translation platform may be configured to output SL video clips… the outputted video clips may be displayed as a picture-in-picture style window”).
Regarding Claim 6 and related method claim 16, Bruner modified by Heubel further discloses the primary content comprises audio content (Bruner, par. 0037: “The translation platform may be configured to receive and process a variety of information in one of multiple different format (e.g. audio, video, images, textual elements as well as other forms of text-based speech…)”), and wherein the plurality of haptic effects (see claims 1 and 11 above for explanation of combination/integration of the haptic effects of Heubel with the disclosed accessibility track of Bruner) are generated based on the audio content using natural language processing (NLP) (Bruner, fig. 1A; par. 0029: “The translation platform 101 may contain a number of functional modules and data libraries. A platform controller 105 may orchestrate the reception and distribution of data to and from the translation platform, as well as between various other translation platform modules. A grammar engine 110 may communicate with a rules database 115, containing a collection of language grammar rules, to process contextual aspects of audio, textual and/or written speech inputs. A similarity engine 120 may communicate with a thesaurus database 125, containing lists of speech elements with associated synonyms, to find synonyms for input speech elements. A translation engine 130 may communicate with a sign language (SL) video library 135, containing video clips of words/phrases 140 and letters/numbers 145, and/or the like in sign language format, to produce sign language video clips corresponding to speech element inputs”).
The combination of the generation of an accessibility track as disclosed by Bruner with the generation of haptic effects as disclosed by Heubel described above for claims 1 and 11 would have included that the haptic effects are ultimately generated from the audio content using the same processing method described by Bruner for other accessibility/multimedia tracks.
Regarding Claim 9 and related method claim 19, Bruner further discloses the accessibility track further comprises one or more video tokens, wherein each of the one or more video tokens includes a pre-produced video (figs. 3a-3d; par. 0025: “For example, some embodiments are configured to receive information and translate that information into a corresponding sign-language translation, which may be manifested, for example, in one or more video clips;” par. 0147: “In other implementations, the translation can be performed in pre-recoded content with or without time constraints on the translation process”), and wherein each of the one or more video tokens expresses a single word sign, a sequence of signs, or a shorthand representation of a sequence of signs (par. 0165: “the translation platform, when using pre-recorded videos for example, combines sign language video clip for "son" and the sign language video clip of the appropriate letter to provide the translation;” par. 0173: “the user interface can present the proposed translation (e.g., playback a sequence of pre-recorded videos”)
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruner in view of Heubel and Stewart as applied to claims 3 and 13 above, and further in view of Shintani.
Regarding Claim 4 and related method claim 14, modified Bruner does not disclose user selections for the PiP overlay. However, Shintani discloses the PiP overlay is configured to be repositioned or toggled on or off based on a user selection (abstract: “The sign language window can be selectively disabled by a user that does not wish to view the sign language video. Also, in some implementations, the user can move the sign language window to a desired location on the display”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the PiP overlay of Bruner with the user selections of Shintani in order to offer user preference features and therefore improve the user’s experience (Shintani, par. 0059).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruner in view of Heubel and Stewart as applied to claims 3 and 13 above, and further in view of Habili.
Regarding Claim 5 and related method claim 15, modified Bruner does not disclose alpha masking. However, Habili discloses the PiP overlay of the sign language performance employs alpha masking to show only the performer, or the performer having an outline added for contrast (figs. 11-12: the steps of alpha masking are shown, and only a sign language performer remains in the video afterwards; fig. 8: the hands of the sign language performer have been outlined; pg. 1092: “The FHSM is a binary map where a binary “1” indicates a moving skin color region, and a binary “0” indicates a background pixel. The FHSM is analogous to the alpha map in the MPEG-4 standard”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avatars performing sign language as disclosed by Bruner with the alpha masking of Habili in order to compress the video size (Habili, pg. 1086) and to enhance the appearance of the placement of the PiP overlay of the sign language performance (Habili, figs. 11-12).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruner in view of Heubel and Stewart as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Marey.
Regarding Claim 7 and related method claim 17, Bruner further discloses the performer is an animated model (figs. 3a-3d; par. 0025: “displayed through animation and… presented by one or more avatars), and wherein the accessibility track includes the sign language performance performed using the animated model and a plurality of emotive data sets and utilized to control the animated model to perform emotions or gestures (par. 0025: “For example, some embodiments are configured to receive information and translate that information into a corresponding sign language translation, which may be manifested, for example, in one or more video clips, displayed through animation and/or presented by one or more avatars, and/or other such manifestations or combinations of such manifestations;” par. 0050: “Similarly, when an avatar is used to present the sign language translation, facial expressions of the avatar, the pace of the avatar, the intensity of the avatar can be defined to portray some of these parameters and/or changes in parameters (e.g., detect based on volume, pace, intensity that a user is happy or mad, and modify the facial expressions of the avatar to reflect the detected parameter(s));” par. 0157: “Similarly, the facial expressions of the avatar can be adjusted to show emotion, such as narrowed eyes when angry, wide eyes when surprised, crying when sad and other such characteristics;” Examiner interprets that these facial expressions, emotions, and gestures necessarily come from some sort of data set), wherein the emotions or gestures are performed with at least one of a speed, forcefulness or emphasis (par. 0159: “numerous different parameters that can be obtained, tracked and/or modified over time that can be used in controlling and/or customizing the translation and/or presentation of the translation. Some of these parameters include, but are not limited to a speed of output and/or playback,… speed of translation, speed of presentation”).
Bruner does not disclose that the plurality of emotive data sets correspond to the one or more word strings. However, Marey discloses the accessibility track includes the sign language performance performed using the animated model and a plurality of emotive data sets corresponding to the one or more word strings and utilized to control the animated model to perform emotions or gestures (par. 0003: “the emotional state may be determined by at least spoken words of the first language;” par. 0005: “the translation application performs sentiment analysis, such as… an emotion identifier word in the spoken words (e.g., the word ‘happy’). The determined emotional state of the character is reflected in the face and body of the avatar to mimic the emotion of the character;” par. 0035: “a virtual avatar performing signs corresponding to the lines spoken in the video;” Examiner interprets that these facial expressions and emotions necessarily come from some sort of data set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine emotive data sets corresponding to word strings as disclosed by Marey with the avatar performing sign language with emotions as disclosed by Bruner in order to offer a method of determining the intended sentiment/emotions based on the detected words (Marey, par. 0005) and/or to accurately reflect the intended emotion in the avatar (Marey, par. 0005).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruner in view of Heubel, Stewart, and Marey as applied to claims 7 and 17 above, and further in view of Zelenin.
Regarding Claim 8 and related method claim 18, modified Bruner does not explicitly disclose the model changing orientation. However, Zelenin discloses the animated model changes orientation during a scene to appear as facing a camera (figs. 10, 11, 13A-13B, 17: animated models are shown moving and changing orientation to face the camera or to conversely look away from the camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ability of avatars to change orientation as disclosed by Zelenin with the avatars of Bruner in order to increase the overall realism and immersion—and therefore the user experience (Zelenin, abstract; pars. 0004 and 0029).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruner in view of Heubel, Stewart, and Marey as applied to claims 7 and 17 above, and further in view of Menefee.
Regarding Claim 10 and related method claim 20, modified Bruner does not disclose facial scanning. However, Menefee discloses the plurality of emotive data sets are derived from facial scanning (fig. 1: the device 110 scans the user’s (101) facial expression; par. 0047: “This process can be inverted by the device in that an outgoing communication of the second party, which now may also be in an audible language, is identified and translated for the first party. The device may output the translation as an incoming communication for the party as a type of visual language or a textual language. The device may input the visual language, audible language, facial expression, or textural language or input as an outgoing communication from the party… In some embodiments, the video rate of the sensor data capture may be selected based on the sign language input due to the increased complexity of some sign languages. The digital representation of the sign language communication may include one or more gestures, facial cues, body cues, or environmental factors;” par. 0059: “embodiments of the disclosed technology may leverage data that has previously been captured and digitized to reduce the amount of data that needs to be stored when the device is being used in real-time, either locally or in a remote setting.” Examiner interprets this to mean that there are sensors used for facial scanning, which retrieve data including facial cues and motions, and at least some of that data is stored in a data set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the facial scanning of Menefee with the avatars of Bruner in order to more accurately depict emotions and other facial expressions since they are an important—and complex—part of communicating with sign language (Menefee, pars. 0004, 0044).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.G.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715