DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant's amendment, filed 01/05/25 is acknowledged.
2. Claims 1-2,6-8,10,12,14,18,20,23-28,30,31,49,50 are pending.
Claims 23-28,30,31 stand withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-,12,14,18,20, 49 and 50 read on a method of delivering an antibody to CNS are under consideration in the instant application.
The following new ground of rejection is necessitated by the amendment filed on 01/05/25
5. Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-,12,14,18,20, 49 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 20160243192 in view of Walter et al ( J of Extracellular Vesicles , 2017,v.6 supp.1 pp29) and US Patent Application 20250122565 in view of newly cited US Patent Application 20210322327 and US Patent Application 20220088215
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/05/25 have been fully considered but have not been found convincing.
Applicant assets that as amended the claims now recited that antibody is covalently conjugated to the surface of extracellular vesicles. None of the prior art references teaches said feature.
Newly cited US Patent Application’327 teaches an extracellular vesicles (exosomes ) wherein antibody covalently conjugated to said exosomes. US Patent Application’327 teaches that said exosomes can be used for various immunoassay and immunotherapy ( see entire document, paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0209, 0400
Newly cited US Patent Application’215 teaches an extracellular vesicles (exosomes ) wherein antibody covalently conjugated to said exosomes. US Patent Application’327 teaches that said exosomes can be used for various immunoassay and immunotherapy ( see entire document, paragraphs 0030, 0055, 0149 in particular)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to covalently conjugate antibody to exosomes with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests that said exosomes can be used for various immunoassay and immunotherapy
As has been stated previously,
US Patent Application’192 teaches a method of delivery an antibody to specific location in a subject comprising administering to the subject an extracellular vesicle ( exosomes) loaded with antibody. US Patent Application’192 teaches that exosomes can be obtained from any cell capable of secreting exosomes ( see entire document, Abstract and paragraphs 0004,0008, 0013 in particular).
US Patent Application’192 does not explicitly teaches exosomes derived from neural cells or that antibody attached to the surface of exosomes by way of linker.
Walter et al., teach the use exosomes derived from neural progenitor cells for delivering therapeutic agent to the subject. ( see entire document)
US Patent Application’565 teaches a conjugate comprising antibody attached to the surface of exosome by way of linker that can be used for delivering antibodies to specific locations when administered to the subject ( see entire document, paragraphs 0122,0180,0220,0303
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skill in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention ( see KSR International Co v Teleflex Inc., 550U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 2007).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute exosomes taught by US Patent Application;192 with exosomes taught by Walter et al and attaches antibody to the surface of said exosomes by the way of linker with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests that : both types of exosomes can be used for delivering therapeutical agents (antibody) when administered to the subject and that antibody can be attached to the surface of said exosomes via linker.
Claims 14, 20, 49 and 50 are included because it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to : (i) identify an optimal means and linker to conjugate antibody to the surface of exosomes Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP § 2144.05 part II A.
It is well settled that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts in diuretic compositions considered a matter of routine experimentation and therefore obvious).
From the teachings of the references, it was apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
7. Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-,12,14,18,20, 49 and 50 stand provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US Patent Application 20230173094 A1 for the same reasons set forth in the previous Office Action, mailed on 09/03/26.
Applicant argument filed on 01/05/26 have been fully considered but have not been found convincing.
Applicant asserts that the claims of the pending Application’094 are directed to an ER comprising an exogenous binding agent that specifically binds to CELSR3.
Contrary to Applicant’s assertion it is noted that the claims of the pending Application’094 broadly recited an ER comprising an exogenous binding agent (i.e. antibody see claim 12 in particular) that specifically binds to a protein expressed by brain endothelial cells.
It is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute an exogenous binding agent that specifically binds to a protein expressed by brain endothelial cells with any antibody broadly recited in the instant claims.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims 1 claims of US Patent Application 20230173094 A are drawn conjugate comprising extracellular vesicle and antibody that are used in the presently claimed methods, and wherein the presently claims methods are disclosed in the specification of the US Patent Application 20230173094
This rejection is necessitated by the decision of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in Pfizer Inc. v Teva pharmaceuticals USA Inc., 86 USPQ2d 1001, at page 1008 (March 2008), which indicates that there is no patentable distinction between claims to a product and a method of using that product disclosed in the specification of the application and that the preclusion of such a double patenting rejection under 35 USC 121 does not apply where the present application is other than a divisional application of the patent application containing such patentably indistinct claims.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
8. No claim is allowed.
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609(B)(2)(i). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michail Belyavskyi whose telephone number is 571/272-0840. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. A message may be left on the examiner's voice mail service. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Gregory Emch can be reached on 571/ 272-8149
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644