DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 6, the claim recites, “having the single thickness,” in the final line of the claim. It is unclear if this merely requires the third gate dielectric to have a single thickness, if it requires the third gate dielectric to have the same thickness as the first gate dielectric layer’s “a single thickness” from line 5 of claim 1, or both a single thickness that is the same as that of the first gate dielectric layer, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination with regard to the prior art, this limitation will be read as if requiring the third gate dielectric to have a single thickness that is independent of the single thickness of the first gate dielectric layer in order to comport with the disclosure and claims 7 and 8 depending from claim 6.
Claims 7 and 8 depend from claim 6 and inherit its deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (US 2015/0187957).
With regard to claim 1, Ding teaches, in Figs 7A-7D and 8A-8D, a transistor structure, comprising: a substrate (712); a first gate (734) and a second gate (742) located on the substrate; a first gate dielectric layer (relevant portion of 724) located between the first gate and the substrate and having a single thickness; and a second gate dielectric layer (relevant portion of 724, 726) located between the second gate and the substrate and having a plurality of thicknesses, wherein a maximum thickness of the first gate dielectric layer is the same as a maximum thickness of the second gate dielectric layer ([0036]), the second gate dielectric layer comprises at least one protruding portion (724), and an entire top surface of the protruding portion is covered by the second gate (see Fig 8D).
With regard to claim 3, Ding teaches, in Figs 7A-7D and 8A-8D, that the protruding portion has a top surface and a sidewall, and the sidewall is connected to the top surface (see figures).
With regard to claim 4, Ding teaches, in Figs 7A-7D and 8A-8D, that the sidewall is not perpendicular to the top surface (see figures).
With regard to claim 6, Ding teaches, in Figs 7A-7D and 8A-8D, a third gate (738) located on the substrate; and a third gate dielectric layer (relevant portion of 726) located between the third gate and the substrate and having the single thickness.
With regard to claim 7, Ding teaches, in Figs 7A-7D and 8A-8D, that a maximum thickness of the second gate dielectric layer is greater than a maximum thickness of the third gate dielectric layer ([0036], see figures).
With regard to claim 8, Ding teaches, in Figs 7A-7D and 8A-8D, that a minimum thickness of the second gate dielectric layer is equal to a maximum thickness of the third gate dielectric layer (thickness of 726).
With regard to claim 9, Ding teaches, in Figs 7A-7D and 8A-8D, that the first gate and the second gate are separated from each other (see figures).
With regard to claim 10, Ding teaches, in Figs 7A-7D and 8A-8D, that the first gate dielectric layer and the second gate dielectric layer are separated from each other (see figures).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RAJ R GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893