DETAILED ACTION
This application is in response an Election/Restriction filed on 05/06/2026.
Claims 1-5 are pending. Applicant has elected without traverse Group I, claims 1-2, and claims 3-5 are withdrawn as non-elected group II claims. Claims 1-2 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2 in the reply filed on 05/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 05/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite: “especially a sensitizing solution for sensitizing surfaces” and “especially for sensitizing non-conductive surfaces” renders the claim indefinite because one of the ordinary skill in the art is uncertain whether such limitation followed after “especially” a part of the claim or just simple example. Clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 2, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Clam 1-line 2 and claim 2-line 2, it is suggested to amend “SnCl2” to “(SnCl2)” to provide clarity in the claim.
Claim 1-line 3 and Claim 2-line 1, it is suggested to amend “it” to “the sensitizing solution” to provide clarity in the claims.
Claim 2-lines 1 and 2, it is suggested to amend “%o” to “%” in order to correct the typographical error in the claim.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Roger et al (GB-1174851, IDS cited reference by applicant) in view of Nagatani (JP 2014141712, machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Roger discloses a sensitizing solution for electroless plating comprising precious metal salt, stannous salt (i.e., SnCl2) and water soluble hydroxyl group-containing organic compound (i.e., glycerol which is same as glycerine that has same compounds, see page 1 lines 36-40 thru page 3 lines 1-67).
Roger does not explicitly disclose sensitizing solution containing distilled water.
However, Nagatani discloses sensitizing solution for electroless plating comprising of palladium salt, tin salt (i.e., stannous chloride), and distilled water and water soluble organic solvent wherein tin salt concentration in the solution is in the range from 0.001-5.0 mol/L (see abstract, paragraphs 0010-0014, 0026).
Given, Roger and Nagatani both disclose sensitizing solution for electroless plating therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant invention to modify a sensitizing solution of Roger with Nagatani to include distilled water which would provide superior plating accuracy, lower processing solution costs and provides good adhesion as taught by Nagatani (see paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 2, Roger discloses preferred concentration of glycerine in amount of 30 to 50 g/l (page 2 lines 50-54) while Nagatani discloses stannous chloride in range from 0.001 to 5.0 mol/l (paragraph 0014). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/SMITA S PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732
06/08/2026