DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 8-10 have been withdrawn.
Claim 5 has been canceled.
Claim 1 has been amended; support for the amendment can be found in Fig. 1.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Aziz is now relied on to teach the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott (US 20090061302 A1) in view of Aziz (Aziz, MS Abdul, et al. "Influence of pin offset in PCB through-hole during wave soldering process: CFD modeling approach." International Communications in Heat and Mass Transfer 48 (2013): 116-123 ), Saito (JP-H0883966-A, machine translation used for rejection below, previously cited) and Liskow (DE102011086898A1, machine translation used below, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Scott discloses a battery module (Fig. 1; element 100), comprising:
a plurality of battery cores (Fig. 1; element 120-124);
a plurality of metal sheets (Fig. 3; element 300, 305), electrically connected ([0026]) to the plurality of battery cores (120-124),
wherein each of the metal sheets (300, 305) comprises a metal bump (Fig. 3; element 315A-315D; 325A-325B), and the metal bump (315, 325) has an upper surface (annotated Fig. 3; US), a first side (annotated Fig. 3; 1S) and a second side (annotated Fig. 3; 2S) opposite to each other (Fig. 3), wherein the upper surface (US) connects the first side (1S) and the second side (2S);
a circuit board (Fig. 4; element 135), disposed on the plurality of metal sheets (300, 305) and having a plurality of openings (Fig. 4; openings of 135 wherein 315 and 325 are inserted; “O”), wherein the plurality of openings (O) respectively expose the metal bump (315, 325) of each of the metal sheets (300, 305).
Scott fails to disclose wherein the metal bump divides each of the openings into a first cavity and a second cavity; and
a solder, covering the upper surface of the metal bump of each of the metal sheets and each of the openings, wherein the solder fills the first cavity, and the solder completely covers the first side and exposes the second side such that there is an air gap in the second cavity.
Aziz discloses wherein a metal bump (annotated Fig. 10; MB) divides an opening (annotated Fig. 10; O) into a first cavity (annotated Fig. 10; 1C) and a second cavity (annotated Fig. 10; 2C includes a faint red line indicating filling of solder; and AG); and
a solder (annotated Fig. 10; S), covering the opening (O), wherein the solder (S) fills the first cavity (1C), and the solder (S) completely covers (in annotated Fig. 10, solder rises to the height of 1S at L, thus solder covers 1S completely in the X direction) the first side (1S) and exposes (annotated Fig. 10 shows dark blue at AG, indicating 0 volume fraction of the solder) the second side (2S) such that there is an air gap (annotated Fig. 10; AG) in the second cavity (2C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scott by employing the solder and pin configuration taught by Aziz, such that the metal bump divides each of the openings into a first cavity and a second cavity; and a solder, covers each of the openings, wherein the solder fills the first cavity, and the solder completely covers the first side and exposes the second side such that there is an air gap in the second cavity, because offset metal bumps (Saito “lead of the component”; [0012]; Fig. 1; 3) such as that disclosed by Aziz are known in the art to produce a reliable circuit board by reducing the amount of cracks generated in the soldered portion (Saito [0016]) as evidenced by Saito.
Scott in view of Aziz and Saito still fails to disclose covering the upper surface of the metal bump of each of the metal sheets.
Liskow discloses a solder (Fig. 8; element 30), covering an upper surface (Fig. 8; element 44) of a metal bump (Fig. 8; 8) and an opening (Fig. 8; 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scott in view of Aziz and Saito by covering the upper surface of the metal bump of each of the metal sheets as taught by Liskow in order to prevent the formation of sharp edges on the soldering side of the circuit board and avoid the risk of the metal bump piercing other components of the circuit board (Liskow ([0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Scott in view of Aziz, Saito and Liskow fail to explicitly disclose wherein the upper surface of the metal bump is lower than a top surface of the circuit board.
Liskow discloses wherein an upper surface (Fig. 8; 44) of a metal bump (Fig. 8; 8) is lower (Fig. 8) than a top surface (Fig. 8; surface at 12) of a circuit board (Fig. 8; 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scott in view of Aziz, Saito and Liskow by making the upper surface of the metal bump lower than a top surface of the circuit board as taught by Liskow in order to prevent the formation of sharp edges on the soldering side of the circuit board and avoid the risk of the metal bump piercing other components of the circuit board (Liskow ([0041]).
Regarding claim 3, Scott in view of Aziz, Saito and Liskow fails to disclose wherein the circuit board has a solder bonding area surrounding a periphery of each of the openings, and the solder extends from the upper surface of the metal bump to the solder bonding area to cover each of the openings.
Liskow discloses wherein a circuit board (Fig. 8; 4) has a solder bonding area (Fig. 8; 52) surrounding a periphery (Fig. 8; periphery of 20) of an opening (Fig. 8; 20), and a solder (Fig. 8; 30) extends from an upper surface (Fig. 8; 44) of a metal bump (Fig. 8; 8) to the solder bonding area (52) to cover the opening (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scott in view of Aziz, Saito and Liskow by adding the solder bonding area taught by Liskow such that the circuit board has a solder bonding area surrounding a periphery of each of the openings, and the solder extends from the upper surface of the metal bump to the solder bonding area to cover each of the openings in order to prevent the formation of sharp edges on the soldering side of the circuit board and avoid the risk of the metal bump piercing other components of the circuit board (Liskow ([0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Scott in view of Aziz, Saito and Liskow fails to disclose wherein a surface of the solder is aligned with the top surface of the circuit board.
Liskow discloses wherein a surface (Fig. 8; 54) of a solder (Fig. 8; 30) is aligned (Fig. 8) with a top surface (Fig. 8; surface of 22 directly contacting 54) of a circuit board (Fig. 8; 4 and 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Scott in view of Aziz, Saito and Liskow by making a surface of the solder aligned with the top surface of the circuit board as taught by Liskow in order to prevent the formation of sharp edges on the soldering side of the circuit board and avoid the risk of the metal bump piercing other components of the circuit board (Liskow ([0041]).
Regarding claim 6, Scott in view of Aziz, Saito and Liskow discloses wherein each of the metal sheets (300, 305) further comprises a connecting portion (annotated Fig. 3; element CP) and a support portion (annotated Fig. 3; element SP), the support portion (SP) vertically connects (Fig. 3) the connecting portion (CP) and the metal bump (315, 325), the connecting portion (CP) of each of the metal sheets (300, 305) is connected to the plurality of battery cores (120-124), and the circuit board (135) is disposed (Fig. 4) on the support portion (SP) of each of the metal sheets (300, 305).
Regarding claim 7, Scott in view of Aziz, Saito and Liskow discloses wherein a size (Aziz annotated Fig. 10; size of 1C) of the first cavity (Aziz 1C) is different (Aziz annotated Fig. 10; size of 1C is larger than size of 2C) from a size (Aziz annotated Fig. 10; size of 2C) of the second cavity (Aziz 2C).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723